Jiangling Landwind X6 Crash Test – Passenger Cabin

Jiangling Motors Corporations Landwind X6 four wheel drive crash test video as recorded by Germany’s ADAC which conducts tests for Euro NCAP safety standards.

This video was recorded inside the passenger cabin.

Times Online reports the crash test was conducted with 2 tests, a frontal 40mph (64 km/h) crash test and a side collision at 30mph (50 km/h).

The testers calculated that the driver would likely not survive the 64 km/h frontal collision, and the side collision would result in severe chest and neck injuries.

Just look at how the steering column together with the air bag smashes into your face. Renders the air bag totally useless… your neck would definitely have snapped.

Click here for a video recording of the crash test recorded outside the vehicle from a side profile.

Jiangling Landwind X6 gets zero score in crash test
Jiangling Landwind X6 re-tested by TUV

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Chris_the_Germ on Oct 07, 2005 at 9:49 pm

Impressive! Does Myvvi score as bad as this Jiangling, since it also gets 0 points in the same crash test?

• marlboro on Oct 07, 2005 at 9:58 pm

wow! shiok man! good car.

• rafreez on Oct 07, 2005 at 10:27 pm

u can see the dummy legs was crushed…urghhh…this car should be band on the road as well as others who scores 0 in this crash test…64kmh is nothing man normally we Msian drive up to 160kmh…imagine this car hitting a lorry at that speed, I'm sure this Jiangling length will reduce to Kancil size….

• Chris, not nicelah saying that to myvi, we dont want myvi to crawl up 40km/h only on our road!

• I love Landwind on Oct 07, 2005 at 11:11 pm

Landwind…your face lands like a wind…smashed very hard hahahaha

Jiangling..wat a name..brand name fit for a dried cabbage from Guangzhou..sucks!!

• Chris_the_Germ on Oct 07, 2005 at 11:13 pm

Jake, I'm afraid that Myvi is the same. Better make a prayer first and then go faster than 40 … hahaha

• Xoomie on Oct 07, 2005 at 11:24 pm

My exGF just booked a MYVI.

Too late to persuade her..

Anyway, i hope its not true MyVI scored 0 star.

• err…how come i cant find any savvy word here for comparison?…myvi word onli…ahahahah…pity myvi owner

• any link or news showed Myvi crash test??

i most National car, wira, saga, satria, kancil, rusa,kembara aint safe also..

got nay crash test news on those car too for comparison..

The big SUV..anyway.. before u know anything happen. d steering wheel will smack u to death 1st… yucks..

• Drakkar on Oct 08, 2005 at 12:23 am

Wow! Now i know how they want to reduce their population!

• deutsche volks on Oct 08, 2005 at 1:10 am

its true man…and all the germans car magazine published this story full coverage…front page too…..so they banned china carmakers to land on germans soil..

• blackhead on Oct 08, 2005 at 1:20 am

Xoomie u really believe that shit that myvi score 0? lolz

or u believe daihatsu allow their child company selling thing like china guys done?

• diabloCruiser on Oct 08, 2005 at 2:16 am

hmmm….I guess we have to have a comparison topic of Myvi and Savvy and also the figures to show the actual comparisons….I think that will be fair to both proton and perodua supporter…. =)

• How come you guys are discussing about Myvi and Savvy? Amazing! :P

• this people only jellos cause can't afford myvi, cause no full lone. there only eat there own shit cause no body so cleaver like Malaysia.

• Great Wall Of China on Oct 08, 2005 at 6:46 am

Cheap cars…

at least Malaysian made car is better….

• MutantTomato on Oct 08, 2005 at 8:44 am

Landwind huh? Really la… I think to get the same crash effect, all you have to do is eat some kacang rebus and jagung, wait for an hour for digestion, then give one power "wind" towards the car! Heck, I think your "wind" will be enough to melt the metal, let alone crash the car!

What in the blue hell are they making these cars out of la?! Tin foil is it?! Or the foil from used condom packets?! Well, couldn't be the second one la cos otherwise, they wouldn't be having a population crisis!

• Charger on Oct 08, 2005 at 9:38 am

Where the hell did you get the idea that MyVI has 0 for Euro NCAP test?? HUH?!?!

Got proof???

• This is old news Paul, The Landwind passed another test with the German TUV, probably under the 96/79/EG requirements and it passed the test.

There were some minor changes done.

The European importer will bring the ANWB (Dutch sister from ADAC) into the court.

This is politics. They do not want the Landwind in Europe because he is so cheap

Please see the TUV test on www.jmclandwind.nl

• noisy_tin on Oct 08, 2005 at 3:51 pm

Our almighty (at least they themselves think)built cars that are not road worthy (just read the small print on the user manual, guarantee died if crashed)sell it to their own people. Later they found that our people are not dying fast enough so they let those heartless AP holders imported cars that are at least 10 yrs behind in terms of technology from countries like India and China.

Many of us has no choice and can only said to themselves, "died ma died loh, what to do?"

Some of us wanted to buy a basic entry, decent imported cars only to find that almighty imposed few hundred percents of tax on top of the original price. How can anyone in this world deny others of a basic right of protecting their own life, their love one? They made tons of tax money out of car sales yet they are so sour about petrol subsidization.

• wooz2002 on Oct 08, 2005 at 4:10 pm

Sigh…. since 1985 we're 'forced' to buy Proton's; come 2005 we're 'forced' to buy Chinese cars…. no anti-Proton or anti-Chinese products here mate (I'm Chinese-Malaysian btw) but when will Malaysians ever get *real* buying power i.e. choices (at least for cars) for their hard-earned $$$? So much for the 'rewards' of globalization……

• jan: the fact of the matter is, they only made the changes AFTER adac tested the vehicle and scored it zero stars. the proof is right there in the video? why on earth are they suing adac for? they think they can fix the car, then pretend the previous version did not exist? plus the TUV crash test was done at lower speeds.

• dont no what to say all this stupid government all still the same corruption , lazy, busybody n only know how to take other people fortune , do u think this type of government is good for all of us. if this government there all know how to do something so late them all do n give us money so we no need have to work. this type of government only burdening all Malaysians.

• Kevin Crawford on Oct 18, 2005 at 6:07 pm

This SUV looks Fantastic! I am going to buy one as soon as it hits the market! I really hope they don't make any changes to this gem! What a beauty!!

• Diana on Oct 21, 2005 at 2:29 am

my brother had an accident las year with a renault clio of 2000 at 60 km/h and he was completely ok.. i don't want to imagine the result of crashing with this car….

• . . and they call this a car in your country i will feel much safer in my 1200kg 2 door nissan then in a 2 tonne 4wd made in china

• alan penton on Nov 02, 2005 at 5:07 pm

i,m an orang-puti(english)malaysia is trying to protect malaysian jobs by restricting imports,its tough world rover-cars dead ,chinese cars well you get what you pay for(perodua is cheapest in uk) safety is campaigned for by the public and govenments must listen and enforce,fords gm used to be death-traps too!

• raymond on Nov 08, 2005 at 8:24 am

check out this : http://www.euroncap.com/content/safety_ratings/ra…

• Eric Miller on Nov 18, 2005 at 7:58 am

That is scary video of a crap-bag car. What is even more scary is the english used on this site. For God's sake don't use a language that way.

• stonee on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:08 pm

wow, where can i get one of these cars. i want to buy one for my ex

• Stugatz on Nov 18, 2005 at 12:22 pm

What a piece of crap. If you want to sell a car cheap, you MUST cust corners somewhere. As you can see here, saftey and materials were definately cut. This car would never fly with the DOT in the US, let alone any European automotive saftey administrations. I am sure there are issues with "politics" becuase of the cost and protectionism, but as you can see from this video, its more about the saftey. If the Chinese want to produce cars for other markers, especially the US, then they need to spend the money for saftey R&D, and production. This will probably bring the price in line with the other low end cars that have been on the market for a while. So instead of cutting corners, the Chinese will be forced to make safe cars and work on their marketing skills. If its not safe, it should be banned. If its safe, let it in and it can compete with the other established brands on a more level playing field (ie – cost is not drastically lower due to artificial influences)

• Vivaecia on Nov 19, 2005 at 7:59 am

Ha Stonee I am with you… There will be all these people walking around with giant steering wheel shaped bruises on the faces, and eveyone will be "Oh, so your ex got you one of those Landwinds, huh? Sucks to be you!"

• CLIFF NYC on Nov 23, 2005 at 4:18 am

THIS IS FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!! I CAN BUY MY WIFE ONE BEFORE SHE REAM MY ASS OUT IN CHILD DIVORCE COURT!!!!!! THIS IS THE PERFECT CRIME!!!! I WANT ONE HERE IN NYC HECK I WILL EVEN DOUBLE HER INSURANCE PREMIUM

• Jim Snow on Nov 25, 2005 at 8:07 am

I wouldn't buy that crap!

• fatih esmer on Nov 25, 2005 at 9:15 am

böyle bir arac ancak isviçreli fifa asbaskanı Mr.BLATTER'e yakışır.hatta bizim federasyon ona armagan edebılır.

• DN.Cuong on Dec 20, 2005 at 5:28 pm

Dear Sirs,

Good morning !

am DNCuong From Vietnam. I would like you to contact us for Jiangling auto info and I also want to place order from you. Please contact us for more details.

I emailed to Mr Dai with following address, but receive nothing:

JIANGLING MOTORS IM-EX CO.,

MR DAI, WEIPING,

ROOM 601-616, 6/F

GLORIA PLAZA HOTEL

88 YANJIANG NORTH ROAD – NANCHAN

JIANGXI – CHINA

Hope to hear from you soonest.

SIncerely,

DN.Cuong

• tekdemon on Dec 22, 2005 at 9:58 pm

Actually, it's not that much worse than SUVs and pickups made by much more established manufacturer's…

In fact, check out the comparison with a 2003 Ford F-150 pickup truck and you'll see that the F-150 does just as badly.

http://landwind.bootnetworks.com/

SUVs in general have horrible safety records, and if you thought otherwise then I have a bridge to sell you.

A good read about SUVs:
    http://www.gladwell.com/2004/2004_01_12_a_suv.htm…

So really, the Landwind is no worse than even a relatively late model year F-150, or a slightly older Isuzu Rodeo/Honda Passport (1997).

Depending on the perspective then, the Chinese are only anywhere from 2 to 8 years behind in safety technology compared to Ford and Isuzu (and Honda by proxy since they rebranded the Rodeo).

• Tapsula (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 8:23 am

When you have a GOOD car then 60 kmh is not killing you. My friend drove an accident about 60 kmh. Black ice and couldn't stop and ho drove to the rear end of a stopped bus. Car stopped basicly in 10 cm but he hurted only some musculars. Another man in the car broke one rib. Car was Saab 9000 CD.

• Hello it’s not Myvi lah ok?!u guys should go back to school and learn some english!PLS read first!Landwind X6 four wheel drive!(China car)!!!