Volkswagen Passat Coupe

Volkswagen will be developing a five-door coupe form factor version of it’s Volkswagen Passat to take on the Mercedes Benz CLS coupe.

The coupe will be positioned between the Volkswagen Passat and the Volkswagen Phaeton and is expected to make a debut at the 2007 Frankfurt Motor Show.

The car will come with front-wheel drive or all-wheel drive options and have a choice of four and six cylinder engines.

I’m not sure if the market’s perception of Volkswagen will change by 2007. Despite the Phaeton being a great car, many buyers shy away because of the badge stuck on the car. Volkswagen just isn’t equals to luxury to the car buyers yet. This Passat coupe might suffer the same fate as the Phaeton if not positioned correctly.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• blackhead on Oct 14, 2005 at 11:59 pm

the front light look like gen2's…

• SEE FU on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:02 am

Who will buy it in BOLEHLAND?

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 15, 2005 at 12:20 am

This one also only SOW HIGH and SOW LOW will buy it lah!!

• diabloCruiser on Oct 15, 2005 at 2:37 am

Looks so normal….I mean looks like Mercedes Rebadged….sigh! Also at that price range most people would buy Mercedes or BMW's…….VW is only good for its Golf GTi versions I would say…… :P

• gegaoff on Oct 15, 2005 at 3:12 am

ah, i thinking that VW should have one group of ppl to think on their car model's name… what Phaeton, Passat ( this one damm, 'put shit' in hokkien)??! goff better…

they should think some name just prounce in one sounds… like 'coca cola ' to 'coke'… well, just an example…

anyway, this car look not special for me.. just another sedan… ah, but will be great if it happens to produce in malaysia through POTONG… emm… not bad idea right?

cheers…

• Dando on Oct 15, 2005 at 5:02 am

i tot coupe is supposed to be 2 doors…. how come this one got 4 doors?

can u giv enlighten me… coupe is 2 doors rite?

• narrowband on Oct 15, 2005 at 6:45 am

Here's my two cents': "Coupe" as I understand it, is a two-door car like Proton Putra or BMW 330Ci or BMW M3. (Got backside one lah. If no backside, called hatchback)

But with the recent introduction of the Merc Benz CLS, the definition of Coupe has somewhat been blurred, and I have to admit that after seeing some journos actually describing the CLS as a "Coupe", I got kinda confused myself.

I think they just meant to say that the CLS has Coupe lines on it (body-design).

The Passat Coupe here doesn't look coupe to me at all. Like other ordinary sedan/saloon.

• all these luxury automobile manufacturers have invented this new strange form of coupe where if the roof line follows a certain shape, they call it coupe already. can u believe the mazda cx SUV is also called a coupe? so will the bmw x6 suv.

• December on Oct 18, 2005 at 12:09 am

Im sick of dumb comments like the first one up above, the headlamp looks like gen 2's, what the fork, comment something else please, looks beyond the freaking headlights, this looks same like that, likewise and shit, shallow minded ignorants fools, Paul sue me! :D

• Sexythang on Oct 18, 2005 at 11:32 am

i always though coupes are two doors with small rear seats. at least we know this one might have awd. maybe brought over from the audi s4. awd with 4 doors.

• get_a_life on Dec 09, 2005 at 8:11 pm

Keep on dreaming VW you'll never compete w/Benz. VW it would looks like bicycle compared to Benz. hahahha nevermind lol. oh please stop tickling me VW compete/Benz huhuhuhahahaha lol.

• bajiskh (Member) on Nov 08, 2006 at 3:26 pm

Some people say that they would buy the mercedes over this, for God sake the car price will start around $30,000 and max up to $50,000.

people, do some reading before you post a stupid commet or don't do it at all.

Volkswagen is the cheapest german car with the a great performance and handiling, if you can afford the mercedes go for it just don't say that you would go for the CLS.