2007 Volvo XC50 in development

You have to give it to the boys at Volvo. They’ve turned the marque from making boring boxy cars to sweet Swedish beauties. I’ve always considered the XC90 to be one of the nicest looking SUVs around. Volvo also has a cult following, comprised mainly of owners who value safety and the little thoughtful considerations which Volvo cars have that make your daily commuting alot more comfortable.

Volvo is now developing an XC50 cross-over small SUV to compete with the likes of the BMW X3 and it’s own sister Land Rover Freelander. This is the third member of the Volvo Cross Country (XC) lineup since the XC70 and the XC90. The Volvo XC50 will be built on the C1+ platform which is also used by the Land Rover Freelander.

Expect the 2007 Volvo XC50 to debut in mid-2006.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• aksMs on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:09 am

I agree with you Paul. I've been fancying the XC90 for a long time too. It looks better in every angle compared to Land Rovers, BMW X5 and others. It just simply in its own class.

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:19 am

Nice looking SUV!!! GOOD job!

• yhtan on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:30 am

nice looks SUV

• ex-mivec on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:31 am

**** star

• SEE FU on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:43 am

So so only lah!! Boleh tahan lah!!

The best looking SUV is Mitsubishi OUTLANDER SUV just launched in this Month, paul go and BLOG it first!! Thanks DOG THE WAN info.
    http://outlander.jp/

YAU MO KAU……CHOU!!!

• aksMs on Oct 26, 2005 at 12:49 am

SEE FU, where got Outlander best looking???? My outdated Pajero looks even better lah! Haiyyoohh! :)

• SEE FU on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:11 am

aksMs arr!!!

You eyes got sand arr?? Clear it first and have a look again……….YAU MO KAU….CHOU!!

• Marmitecrab on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:30 am

The only thing nice about the Outlander as it's website. Come on, lah! The thing looks so square, like a car made from Lego parts.

I wouldn't say the XC90 is the prettiest SUV, nor the X5 but the Outlander? You gotta be kidding.

Btw, I washed my eyes and backside. The car still looks like a hearse.

• Michael Chua on Oct 26, 2005 at 1:48 am

This XC50 looks even better than the XC90. Since BMW has X3 after its X5, surely Volvo can't be sitting idle, can it?

• SEE FU on Oct 26, 2005 at 2:02 am

Just to remind you all that pls don't wear SUNGLASSES (especially RED color) to see this OUTLANDER!!

also, to Marmitecrab!!

Wash your backside doesn't helps your eyes VISION better.

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!

• hfrshah on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:53 am

Looks good.. Gonna be one hell of a fight for class honours with BMW X3, Mercs planned X-Class, and Audi Q5

• peter on Oct 26, 2005 at 6:46 am

Beats the X3 easily anyway. Like to see the back too before I'd be sure though. But two thumbs up from me. Should be a sweet SUV. Let's hope they put a nice diesel engine in there.

• Marmitecrab on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:09 am

C'mon, See Fuul. Sunglasses or not, it's butt ugly. The Outlander is way out in terms of design and probably can't land a modelling job on the moon if it's life depended on it.

XC50 however, can pass the interview.

MOU KAU CHOU!

• Vince on Oct 26, 2005 at 9:17 am

When it comes to automotive design the Germans and Italian does a better job. the Thats why I only drive German or Italian made cars. Proud owner on an X5 and a Cayenne.

• E-nabill on Oct 26, 2005 at 9:51 am

seriously,noting can rival the x3 wen it comes to driving…it drives like a small hatch GTI..read the reviews…its not the bigest,or most spacious,or most practical…bt it drives like a 3 series…i always like the xc90 .if uve been inside one,my god the interior is soooo HUGE! really comfy n the quality damn nice…lots of clever touches here n thr.and ofcourse…everywer u look thrs a luvly sign that says 'srs airbag"…i tink it has 8 if im nt mistaken….its really practical..bt i tink its expensive to run though….btw the front looks like the s40 n notice the car rides lower now..see the gap now is small between the tyres and the fenders…

• carlos on Oct 26, 2005 at 4:16 pm

outlander is better than xc90……..

• SEE FU on Oct 26, 2005 at 5:58 pm

Hei marMITeCraB ar!!

Do you know about OUTLANDER in details?

1) Aluminium ROOF panel (lower the CG)

2) Aluminium Block Engine.

3) NEW MIVEC DOHC 2.4liters 16 valves, INVECS-III 6 speeds CVT transmission.

4) A/T and M/T selection control system and Speed control/selection pedals at Steering Wheel just like F1 racer use or Alfa R.

5) 2WD and 4WD mode control by Electronic system not mechanically.

6) AWC: All Wheels Control system.

7) 5 stars NAS and 6 stars JNCAP Crash test results.

8) 7 seaters (normally only 5 seater for competitors CRV or Harrier other SUV maker)

9) ROCKFORD FOGATE audio system (650Watt as Standards) with 9 speakers including one 8 inch SUBWOOFER at the rear.

10) 18 inches Alloy Rims.

11) All seasons Tyres as standards.

12) Fuel consumption 11.6km/l at highway

13) HiD Head lamps

14) LED Rear lamps

15) Total weight: 1620Kg only

16) Sporty interior design (All black)

17) Special foldable rear seat for easy access to rear seats (1 touch switch)

18) KEYLESS entry as standard feature.

19) UV cut Windshield and all glasses.

20) New chassis and suspension system.

Price only 270,0000yen (Equal to RM90k) , more…..find out by yourself!!

Enough?? anything else?? Who can beat it????

You ask for it!! YAU MO KAU………CHOU!!!! I want one!! Who will reject it??

• Marmitecrab on Oct 26, 2005 at 6:21 pm

See Fu,

I thought we were talking about it's looks. Why you give me specs? Besides, the specs doesn't sound that interesting to me…Ho hum!

And you say it comes with CVT? I used to drive a Fiat Punto with CVT. Helluva lot a problem and when need to fix, costs a bomb!

I dont' know which planet you come from but generally, continental cars are much better than Japanese. Volvo in particular has a strong following especially in the area of safety. Can anyone else claim to have the safety standards Volvo has?

You want an Outlander, your problem. Give me a Volvo anytime!

Ngoh mou kau chor! Hahahaha!

• epalhead on Oct 26, 2005 at 7:29 pm

marmitecrab:

hey mit, leave the kid (SEE FU) alone. he's just a kid. have pity on him. he knows notin'. always out of subject….always…(sighs)

Char Kuey Teow…HaHaHaHaHa

• SEE FU on Oct 26, 2005 at 8:33 pm

MarmitECRab:

Fiat is famous as "Fix It All The time", that's why your Fiat BODOooH CVT KONG all the time. haaa :) fix and repair …fix and repair…..infinity!! :P

Japanese car is more reliable in terms of Engine components and low maintenance cost!! I just wanna to tell you Outlander looks better and good specs too. :)

epalhead arr!!

Don't START THE FIRE!! You are Kids too!! :P

Eat your CHAR KUEY….Lah

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 26, 2005 at 10:17 pm

As mentioned by SEE FU, this Outlander has scored 6 stars JNCAP (japanese crash test) which is equal to 5 stars in EUROPE or NAS, Why question on Safety issue of Outlander compare to XC90?

So, how many stars score on this models (XC90)? Paul do you have the no.?

Just My opinions: In terms of safety or crash performance, most of the NEW developed cars are perform well and this Volvo only had a corporate image or brand causing you all feel safer. I believed most of the japanese models nowaday have the same performance as continental cars and some even better. (example: LEXUS)

Besides the safety on XC90 and good looking in styling, what else?? Just the quality is better compare to Japanese car? I don't disagreed on it, But in general the Outlander score more points on features and technologies, Don't you agree? Pls correct me if I am wrong!!

• Marmitecrab on Oct 27, 2005 at 8:22 am

See Fu,

That bodooooh CVT you referring to is manufactured by Fuji Industries of Japan. Most CVT's come from Japan. Want to take back your words? :-)

I agree with Dog The Wan that most Japanese cars are on par in terms of safety but they still don't lead the field, choosing instead to leave it to their European counterparts, Note that ABS and airbags first debuted in Mercs, traction control in Saabs, etc. You get what I'm saying. They're happy playing follow the leader and that's what makes the Continental marques better, regardless of marketing or branding.

• SEE FU on Oct 27, 2005 at 4:49 pm

Crab Arr!!

Are you sure is from JAPAN?? maybe you KENA CHEAT by FIAT lol. You like European or Continental car but this Company use JAPANESE products and sell it to you as CONTINENTAL models…..WAH!! you KENA TIPULAH!!! Wah…ha..ah…. :P

YAU MO KAU…….CHOU!!!!! So high ma!!

• epalhead on Oct 27, 2005 at 6:15 pm

SEE FU,

i did? really? where?

• DOG THE WAN on Oct 27, 2005 at 7:11 pm

Marmitecarb: I do agree wtih you lei, if you ask me to choose RM180k for Japanese models or Continental models, I will choose Continental. Just the bottom line is Japanese models design and quality is still a distance away from Europe.

For me, Japanese models should be around RM80k to RM100 max. If more than RM100K, I feels it was over price!! Don't you think so??

• Streamyx User on Oct 31, 2005 at 11:57 am

I'd always suggest you to buy a Proton. Much better QC.

• Mike Smith on Dec 07, 2005 at 4:28 am

Volvo has done it again… bringing out the most stunning and phenominal cars available in this day and age

the XC50 will merely add to a outstanding range

• offroader manix (Member) on Sep 18, 2006 at 11:55 pm

Wah……….OUTLANDER only 90K in Japan…….looking good for them but down here……….ng sai lam…….minimum…….180K so look see look see loh.

At the rate the goverment….goes……looks like we are going to buy proton for sure and forever ……..( only for salary workers like me ) Loh sai no problem.

:(