Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Archive for October, 2005

UMW Toyota 2006 offerings to be CBU

In a report by StarBiz, UMW Toyota has indicated 2006’s new model line-up will focus mainly on CBU models instead of CKD models. Rumoured models are Toyota Vitz, Toyota Wish and Toyota Harrier.

Click here to read the rest of UMW Toyota 2006 offerings to be CBU

Comments (34)

Myvi break-even sooner than expected

Perodua has revised it’s break-even timeline to 2 years and 3 months instead of the original 3 years for the Perodua Myvi’s investment of RM210 million based on overwhelming sales.

Click here to read the rest of Myvi break-even sooner than expected

Comments (31)

Nissan goes 40% CVT

The future is CVT, at least in Nissan’s eyes. Nissan is ramping up CVT installations up to almost 40% of total vehicles sold, which are about 400,000 vehicles a year in North America alone.

Click here to read the rest of Nissan goes 40% CVT

Comments (12)

Petrol Stations to stop accepting credit card payments?

The raising retail petrol prices at the pumps have been hurting the dealers as well as consumers. President of Petroleum Dealers Association of Malaysia Alang Zari Ishak mentioned in a report to Bernama on Monday that dealers have had to pump in extra working capital to purchase stocks that don’t contribute to revenue.

Petrol dealers currently get 8 cents sales margin per litre of petrol and 3.5 sen per litre for diesel. These figures have not changed since 2001, even though fuel prices have been hiked a few times.

Click here to read the rest of Petrol Stations to stop accepting credit card payments?

Comments (22)

J.D. Power Malaysia Quality Study

This is the third J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2005 Malaysia Initial Quality Study (IQS) conducted so far. The study measures new-vehicle quality in the first two to six months of ownership.

Click here to read the rest of J.D. Power Malaysia Quality Study

Comments (20)

One Citizen, One AP?

I will quote a report from MalaysiaKini and let you guys comment what you need to comment. Mohd Nazri is a Minister in the Prime Minister’s Department, and also the MP for Padang Rengas.

Mohd Nazri said based on the list, ordinary people did not know that every Malaysian citizen is entitled to one AP in a lifetime.

I would like to know how I can apply to my one AP in my lifetime that I am entitled to. I hope he does not mean Student AP, which requires me to study abroad and own a vehicle there first, where in this context the MPs that received APs did not require to do.

Edit: The Student AP I mentioned doesn’t necessarily mean for students, I just didn’t have any other name to call it. I was refering to the type of AP where a Malaysian abroad can use to bring their overseas-owned car in after returning to Malaysia permanently.

Comments (25)

Proton R3 Amprex to race at Zhuhai, China

Proton R3 Amprex will be participating in Round Nine of the FIA GT Championship at the Zhuhai Circuit in China.

Click here to read the rest of Proton R3 Amprex to race at Zhuhai, China

Comments (43)

Proton Volkswagen Stake Purchase Updates

Prime Minister Abdullah Ahmad Badawi said yesterday that Proton will sell stake to Volkswagen AG yesterday, causing Proton shares to go up as much as 3.6 percent to an eight-day high of 8.55 ringgit.

Volkswagen wants to lessen it’s dependance on China, where it’s market share fell from 2/3 in 1985 to just 18 percent now. If the deal goes through, Volkswagen will get it’s first factory in South East Asia.

However both parties did not quote any details so far and said talks were still being held.

In other news, the government has promised that the National Automotive Policy will be unveiled in November. I think they originally said end of September.

Source: Bloomberg

Comments (46)

2006 Toyota Vios Facelift

With the new Honda City facelift coming soon on the 11th this month, it’s time it’s direct competitor the Toyota Vios got updated too to keep up with the competition. This is the facelifted Toyota Vios which is already available in Taiwan, launched on the 28th September 2005.

Click here to read the rest of 2006 Toyota Vios Facelift

Comments (140)

New Honda City facelift in Malaysia

Honda has been marketing teasers of their new Honda City facelift that’s to be launched really soon. It’s already available in Thailand as the Honda City ZX.

I don’t know whether it will be known as Honda City or Honda City ZX in Malaysia, but either way it’s just a name.

UPDATE: Check out spyshots of the 2009 Honda City!

Launch date is 11th October 2005. 9 days more. Honda fans brace yourselves!

Click here to read the rest of New Honda City facelift in Malaysia

Comments (84)

Page 9 of 10«12345678910»