Proton reviews non-core investments

Sources say that Proton Holdings Bhd is reviewing it’s investments in MV Agusta Motor and the Lotus Group International.

No decision made so far, but Proton might cut down on such investments that are non-core assets.

Proton had made a RM137 million provision for bad debts that contributed to a net loss of RM12.4 million last quarter, and most of that amount is suspected to linked to loss-making MV Agusta.

Proton’s cash reserves had dwindled down to RM 2.8 billion this year, from RM 6 billion in 2001.

I doubt Proton would let go of Lotus – the main subject here seems to be MV Agusta, but we cannot rule it out just yet.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wilfred on Nov 12, 2005 at 1:59 am

Rule out Lotus?????

then what Proton left???

nothing…..

that will turns them into pieces of junk steel….

Improve….Proton…

or you will keep on losing…..

you had failed to find a standing ground for yourself

given time of 20 years…

what had you done for this 20 years….

• Lotus does not make any profit. It's not a economic scale industry, more like cottage industry. The same goes with MV Augusta.Not much technology transfer between Proton and those company which keep all of us wondering.Even Lamborghini many times have financial difficulties.The same goes for MG Rovers. They have to do something on the Proton management.Desperately.Proton have a bad image among us.It's not because we don't believe in our local product.It's our experience with proton that make it like it were now.I am one of proton owner to.

• neurra on Nov 12, 2005 at 2:49 am

i don't know why would proton invest in agusta in the first place.. it's not like proton is producing motorcycles.. >.

• yhtan on Nov 12, 2005 at 2:55 am

Why they bought over MV agusta at the 1st?

they manufacture car,not motorbike…..

since they bought over lotus,there's a improvement for them,

this investment is ok,but why agusta??????

they really blur blur……

• MV Agusta = Superbike

That's my opinion.

Why? Proton KR?

Waste of money…

• Take a look at MV Agusta F4. I heard something like this..MV Agusta F4 is a Ferrari of motorbikes. In a motorbikes, U can see and hold the art and design of a machine..e.g. from its engine block, suspension arm, exhaust pipe, etc..

So, by acquiring MV Agusta they can have this kind of engineering (the touchable art and design). I believe that Proton not into making motorbikes. As for Proton KR..I've got no comment. That 3 cylinders bikes always at the back rows on the starting grid..pity!

• SEE FU on Nov 12, 2005 at 4:33 am

YOu all thing if the COMPANies making profits like Hell one example TOYOTA and Nissan can be bought by POTONG???

Of course only the problems company will sell CHEAP and can be bought by POTONG!!

THis is not something really unexpect for the BUSINESS man points of view……agreed??? :)

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!!!!

Hei, do you guy wanna to see the new Honda city with Toyota ALtis interior….copy by BYD……some more made in China selling like HOT cakes or Siew Mai har gal??? Click my BLOG now….fasterlah!!! Enjoy!!

• Handsfree on Nov 12, 2005 at 5:42 am

SEE FU wat is yr blog add??

• E-nabill on Nov 12, 2005 at 5:48 am

i tink its basically MZ thy wana get rid off,Tm bought into MV for long term investment as he wanted to enter superbikes biz n make a name …wen thy bought into MV few yrs back i tink,proton wer making tons of money la….bt wen have so much bad debt now,its not the time to make long term tings like that,thy wil definalty keep lotus…bcos it wil be a af actor for the fucture for whoeva wants to buy into proton….i wd have likes the amount spend on MV to be spend on lotus R&D…..hopefuly sting good comes of it

• MutantTomato on Nov 12, 2005 at 6:05 am

Apparenlty Proton isn' the only one considering or getting rid of some of their investments. DaimlerChrysler sold their remaining stake in Mitsubishi. Here's the link:

http://news.yahoo.com/s/ap/20051111/ap_on_bi_ge/g…

Paul, bro, you have any more to report on this? :)

• keniji on Nov 12, 2005 at 6:46 am

non-core,

sell proton too,

that is non-core, or rather disgrace", of bolehland!!

• toolan on Nov 12, 2005 at 7:16 am

POTONG bought MV agusta at first to help them with their designing capability. well u know.. LOTUS for the engineering n MV agusta for the design. so we might see DESIGNED BY MV AGUSTA + ENGINEERED BY LOTUS at the back of future POTONG which might look like hot italian supercars hahaha i must be dreamin… pity if they want to cut off mv agusta thou.. they yet to gain anything.

• trav da man on Nov 12, 2005 at 7:53 am

i can say that 2005 perhaps the worst year for proton. The 20th anniversary of proton has been a disaster!

Let me summarize:

1. Norwich city, the premier league team sponsored by proton, has relegated to 1st dvision after being bulllied kao kao by other premiership teams!

2. The launch of Proton Savvy, although the car is slighty better than the gen2, but it was a tremendous flop compared to Perodua's Myvi. 5000 sawis VS 50,000 myvi and still counting. Need to compare more?

dont forget the proton savvy did appear on Top gear, the planet's fav automotive tv show, for wrong reasons!!!!

"looks like it's gonna be my last lotus if u asked me" – Richard Hammond of Top gear. hahaahahahah!!!!!

3. Proton end up in front pages for no good reasons. TDM blamed APs and underdeclared cars for the drop of Proton sales. Then we have the front news that Mahaleel pointed fingers at the gov that the gov did not protect proton enuff!

4. Mahaleel got shacked!!!! Finally rejoice for all proton bashers! That for being teh ultimate sohai CEO!!!Also in the front pages of the news somemore!!!!

5. Proton negotiations with Volks doesnt look good, and could be a possible failure! 1st Volks, then suddenly Hyundai then sime darby mysia wanna buy over proton!!! What next? General Motors?

6. For the 1st time in yrs Proton suffered a lost of 12million on the 1st quater! Proton’s cash reserves had dwindled down to RM 2.8 billion this year, from RM 6 billion in 2001.More to come!!!!

7. Sales of proton continued to dropped like hell. Proton market domminance, which has been reduced since a few years ago frm 60, then 50 ,40,30 and now 20%++!!!!

8. TDM says just close Proton if the rakyat dont need it!! Wow, even the advisor feddup with his proton power windows?

Ops, he drives a prosche cayenne……..

9. Proton showrooms started to hit flies while its younger brother perodua is started to accept more payment, undertable style………ops!

10. Lotus is now wanna get rip from proton. They now cancelled their proposed production plans of the new esprit in mysia, and moved back to UK. Man proton shoudl get rip of lotus and MV agusta a long time ago!!!

Man, looks like Proton needs lilian too to improve their fung sui!!!!!

• doc2mee on Nov 12, 2005 at 8:07 am

Wat's non core biz?

Now only looking into non core biz?

Wat biz ? no need to mention non core biz…..

Do Potong have a biz ah ?

Of it has …………. making better cars?

Let get rid on the Potng tat make lousy car and keep the Potong tat make good car LOR………!

• this article can give some info on what's next…. bye bye lotus

http://www.autocar.co.uk/News_Article.asp?NA_ID=2…

• Nederlander on Nov 12, 2005 at 10:41 am

"do you think that they need Agusta (motorcycle company)? Maybe they need LOTUS. But after 10 years owning lotus, what is the major changes can be visualized by us besides handling and so-called CAMPRO? By assuming that an employee salary (lotus and agusta) is about pound 2000 or euro 3000 (RM 13700!!) per month for a fresh graduate engineer according to European standard, guess, how much PLOTONG pay each month to them. By assuming in total (lotus and agusta) there have 200 employees and all of them earn only Euro 3000 per month, PLOTONG pay euro 600 000 (RM 2.75 million) per month and about RM33 millions per year at least. In return, what PLOTONG get?? Can someone tell me? Are the return is equivalent to what has been invested? Not mentioning the proton sale department in UK. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!"

I guess they should hire me as Proton new CEO liao. Even I can foresee what will be next why dont all genius in proton "think before do". After invested a lot $$ earned from the "poor-malaysian-hard-$$", then they "think" to review the non-core biznes!! Pity malaysian!! I guess proton going to increase the car prices liao (to covered the lost). and at the same time G will implement a new tax car policy then end up everyone has to buy car from Proton! That's we called that as BOLEHLAND!!! Syabas!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 12, 2005 at 10:47 am

trav da man said,

November 11, 2005 @ 11:53 pm

i can say that 2005 perhaps the worst year for proton. The 20th anniversary of proton has been a disaster!

Let me summarize:

1-10

————————————————————

Mr Trav Da Man,

You're right, 2005 has not been a good year for proton. And I should say nice way of summarizing your points. But I have to disagree with you with some points.

1. Norwich city being relegated, doesn't have any direct impact on Proton. Having said that, from the marketing point of view, it has been good for Proton. 1stly, Norwich beat Man U last year (bengang betul!) was good publicity for Proton. Norwich got relegated also good publicity, because you know what people say…there's no such thing as bad publicity!

2. Savvy sales outperformed by Myvi due to only one fact… there was no Savvy automatic at that time. Who in their right minds would buy manual transmission in Malaysia? I agree with you, it was a flop. But at least they know what they did wrong, and hopefully they wont do the same mistake again.

Alot of cars that went on Top Gear got bashed. I know, because I've never missed a single episode, I've even went to one the recordings. Everyone in England knows that Jeremy Clarkson is a joke, but they still watch him because it's always fun to hear sarcastic and patronizing remarks about everything just for laughs. No one actually takes anything he says seriously.

3.Can't argue with your third point, absolutely true…

4. Mahaleel got sacked. Yes, that was the best news ever both for proton and lotus. You know what, I personally think the positive things that can come out from Mahaleel leaving could by itself outweigh all the negative things that are going on. I can confidently say (from my conversations with top Proton people and Lotus people) that this event was the best thing that could have happen to Proton, and everyone is relieved that he's gone. That is how bad he was managing the company. He costed Proton alot of money, ruled Proton like a dictatorship making decisions based on his own judgement (a malay would say "mcm bapak die punye company"), and no one dared to question him because they would get sacked. Ironically, this one event could actually make 2005 the best year for Proton in a long time.

5. The dealings with VW or any other OEM are really deep internal affairs. What we can do is just speculate what's going on behind the scenes. I just think it would be unfair to give our judgement based on speculations.

6 & 7. Yes, first time Proton incurred losses. Having said that, their forecasted loss was much higher then what the actual value was. Yes, they expected to lose money. So in retrospect, I think it was a positive thing that the amount they lost wasn't as bad as what they expected it to be.Although I agree with you that there's no reason for them to incur losses with all the g'ment's protection for them. That is a disgrace. Yes, the non-core businesses did cost Proton a lot of money, however, they can't deny the fact that their mismanagement causing SRM to yet be launched, wrong marketing strategy for the Savvy (not coming out with auto transmission soon enough) etc also cost the company dearly. So they need to improve themselves, and can't just blame other factors for their failure. Hopefully this new management can rectify all these problems soon, and don't make the same mistakes anymore.

8. TDM is just an old man, that shouldn't be involved anymore in dealings in this country. He should be resting at home. He's done enough for the country already (both +ve AND -ve things).

9. No comment. I refuse to comment on things that I don't know about.

10. I don't fully understand your 10th statement. You said "Lotus is now wanna get rip from proton…" by that do you mean Lotus wants out, or Proton wants out? I disagree. From my own personal experience, I can tell you that Lotus can't afford to lose Proton, and Proton also can't afford to lose Lotus.

Regarding cancellation of building the esprit in Malaysia, I can't comment much because of confidentiality. But how do you know that this is a bad move? You don't know whats going on behind the scenes do you? Please don't just comment based on speculation. You've got to know the facts before judging things.

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 12, 2005 at 11:30 am

Mr Nederlander,it's obvious that you have no idea how a company works. How the hell did you come up with the idea that Proton is the one paying for Lotus' and Agusta's employees salary? I am sorry to say this man, but honestly, this is the worst piece of crap that I've read from people who just speculate without knowing the actual facts, and post their comments on this blog.

Assuming 200 total employees? You can assume better than that, can't you? I'll tell you now that the total number of employees working in Hethel is around 800-900 people. That doesn't include the people working in LEI, LEC, and LEM. The employees are not supported by Proton, I know because I am one of those employees. So who pays our sallaries you ask? Think harder man, I'm sure you can figure that answer out yourself. MALAYSIA BOLEH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

You want to be the next CEO? You can foresee what to do next? You're wondering why the geniuses in Proton don't "think before they do"? Let me ask you, did you foresee what my response to your comments was going to be? Did you actually think yourself, before posting that comment? Seriously man, you dont need to pity the M'sian people, you should just pity yourself.

Ok, at least you did ask for someone to tell you what Proton got in return from Lotus. So I wont disappoint you then.

Everyone knows how Mitsu screwed us up. They sold obsolete designs to us for ridiculous prices. Royalties for their IPs of 2% was needed to be paid upfront, instead of when the products were actually sold. They were very stingy to share knowledge and technology. Basically, it costed Proton alot of money, and what Proton got in return was basically nothing.

Owning Lotus, is a different matter. Lotus is willing to share all of their knowledge, and technology transfer occurs at a very healthy rate. The Proton engineers get training and development, by being sent to Lotus to work together with Lotus engineers. They gain valuable knowledge and experience, and become more capable and advanced engineers when they return to Proton, bla bla bla (I've commented about this before, and I can't be bothered to repeat it again. If you really want to know more, please refer to my comments for the article that Paul posted earlier, the one about revisitting the Mitsu partnership)

With all due respect mr Nederlander, please please, don't speak from your arse. It is a really really bad habit. If you want to give opinions and comment about something, please do. I'm open to healthy discussions. But make sure that it is based on facts, not just some thing you THINK is occuring. Especially if you are bashing someone else. Because you might find (as what is happening right now) that someone else would bash you instead. Syabas!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• where is this top gear i keep hearing of and where can i see it? im not so poor (ive got astro) but buying the dvds burns a hole in my goddamn wallet T.T

• Even GM and Ford sales dwindling right now. GM owns many other small marques companies. Ford too. I think they should merged, and sell under different name. Cost cutting. Lotus plant in Malaysia, done by malaysian, local contents, still top quality and same like the UK counterpart. This can be reflected to other Proton's make to. How about that. We don't need to publicise our name more. Furthermore, jusk look at Hyundai. They just copy the other design but it is well blended. Just look at the new Sonata. Honda Accord ma. The old one, Jaguar S-type. Gen-2=Mazda 6 hatchback, but not well design and blend. My friends said one thing to me and i think it is one of the failure of proton. Waja seem to look like for old people, and Gen-2 for younger people. If someone saw a teenagers drove Waja you probably think it is his father car. The same goes with Waja. If a pakcik drove it, guess what. I think it is his daugter car. Cakap banyak pun sama je. People don't trust Proton due to self experience. Experienced it yourself.

• copied from autoworld forum

Posted by T.W.O

Posted – 08/11/2005 : 17:46:10

———————————————————————-

Well I went and talk to some of my friends in Proton R&D because I'm

buying a Perdana V6 and wanted to make sure that there's no new model

thats coming out in 4 years time (so that my car will still have some

value if i want to sell it later). Here's what he told me…

The Passat as the next Perdana replacement model? pure fantasy, they have

started work on it using their own chasis but it was scrapped when TM

left. It's hard to have a direction as they have no CEO yet. He said if

there's a new CEO maybe a PRM project will get underway, but that'll at

least took 2-3 years.

So I asked him what the latest model thats going to roll out from proton

in 2 years time? He said the closest is the SRM (but that got some

problem that he's not at liberty to say) and IRM (iswara replacement

model). I was pretty suprised at this as he told me about 2 years ago

that Proton are going to keep punching out the current iswara for at

least 10 years which is why they make radical upgrades with the car. I

asked how far is the progress with the IRM prototype, he said they

already have a final design and now testing the car "virtually". And he

said it's a wee bit bigger than a savvy in some area (which i think is

the interior) but he's not at liberty to say more.

MPV, he was pretty excited with the Proton MPV but he said if they ever

built one, Malaysian cant afford to buy it. Why I asked? Simple, it got a

3.5L V6 engine and all aluminum chasis he said. (What kind of an idiot

built a bloody MPV with an all aluminum chasis?!!!) He said it's TM

(Mahalel) idea and they (engineers) just built it. The floorpan and wheel

wells are all cast aluminum which makes the MPV very very light and

pretty quick since the 3.5L engine punches more than 220 horsepower.

Then I said, must still be in design phase right? Nope… there's a full

working prototype at running at the factory (they regularly test the mpv

on the test track just for shits and giggles and it's much much quicker

than any proton models, save the R3 GTi). He cant talk about the

performance detail but he said it's safe to say there's no other MPV in

Msia than can top this one in performance and handlig. How does it look I

ask? He cant go into details but he said it's a lot like the Wish.

And the SRM as most of you guys know, is planned for release in Q1 in 06

but it could be delayed up till June.

And I ask about if there's any SUV model in the works? None…

—————

• yhtan on Nov 12, 2005 at 5:06 pm

So what ur mean?

u mean TM mess up whole proton R&D?

i'm glad that they really can built up new models,let us wait or another few yrs

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 12, 2005 at 5:51 pm

Mmm…seems that that particular R&D engineer was not trying good enough to keep quiet hehehe he must be quite high up to be willing to open his mouth giving informations like that. although I think the quote was wrong. a 3.5L engine only producing 220 hp? that is crap. a 3.5L engine should be producing at least 300hp (typically, engines are designed to give 70 to 80 hp per litre)

two things…First, TM had vision, to develop Proton into this a world player, embracing all the technology in the world. Unfortunately, he was unrealistic. Too ambitious, and the small volume of cars being produced meant the technology wasn't feasible to be used. Ended up losing tonnes of cash.

second, seriously, there are alot of pretty interesting stuff going on behind the scenes. Just hope the new management can reorganise and restructure soon to move the company forward. I think the Malaysian people are tired of waiting already…right? heh

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 12, 2005 at 6:09 pm

since when we can buy what sales people talk?

• trav da man on Nov 12, 2005 at 7:04 pm

keke thanks for ur inputs zongtwi :)

I once read anissue frm autocar asean on lotus's future plan article. On that article they did plan to built the esprit in mysia. Now see this link to know what happends next! http://www.autocar.co.uk/News_Article.asp?NA_ID=2…

swee:

well i do trading of top gear show frm season 4-6, DVD and VCD. Interested?

• andrewhtf on Nov 12, 2005 at 7:46 pm

most of the times, it is not about doing the right thing (expanding capacity and more products offering) but it's about doing things right in the first place.

if Proton concentrates on making one model until they can hammer down their defective parts per unit until 0.somethingsomething, thus making an excellent car, wouldn't customer confidence will be back? plus with the efficiency of doing something again and again (practice makes perfect, remember?) until it is right, i'm sure one day Proton could make a car that is as reliable as a BMW or a Toyota!

but then of course the idea to build only one car model is quite extreme, but maybe around 2-3 cars, with different model and engine capacity, perhaps may share the same platform or most of the parts inside, thus Proton shall be able to achieve a reasonable level economies of scales.

workers that concentrate on that few work will become better skilled and faster in executing their work. QC ppl would be easily detect defects since it's a routine work with a proper and clear benchmark.

imagine that, higher purchase volume of similar parts, leads to lower cost per unit. highly skilled and efficient workers will lead to lower labour cost because 1) increased productivity, more cars assembled per worker per hour, and 2) less workers are required to accomplish the same amount of jobs. All in all, this should translate to a lower cost per car for Proton.

how they want to position the pricing, is up to them to decide, as long as the car is worthy of the price. not because the cost is such and such so have to price it like this. there is this thing called target costing… i guess the planners in Proton have to re-learn they management accounting stuffs.

Proton is not only a national pride (or shame to some) but it is, for god's sake, A BUSINESS!!! Proton should not think of itself as a badan kebajikan to keep people in jobs and to support other peripheral businesses that is unworthy of surviving. More even so when Proton is facing the prospect that it will soon have to be the one to struggle to live. in business world,if u're unfit, u're a goner. no amount of help and protection can save any business from doom (gulung tikar), both the parts supplier or the main company itself.

For 15 years (until 5 years ago, if i'm not mistaken but do correct me if i'm wrong) Proton has been "learning" from the Japanese (Japanese here does not necessarily only means Mitsubishi), what did they learn? did they actively search for knowledge or did they just sit around waiting to be spoon fed as is our education has always taught us? we all know how Japanese does things… they make sure they can complete one job flawlessly before moving onto the next job. but do we see it incorporated in Proton's work culture? So much for the Look East Policies (Dasar Pandang Ke Timur). the intention's noble but the implementation… err… u komen sendiri-lah…

Proton should axe whichever position that is living off Proton like parasites, i.e lousy parts vendors and manufacturers, and underperforming employees. in times of heavy competition most companies that faced hardships cuts off alot of non-essential subsidiaries and suppliers, initiated lay-offs and retrenchments to stay afloat and focusing, concentrating only on what they does best, and most of them managed to turn around back into profitability.

in other words, we called it core competencies. core competencies is what a company has or does, better or faster or cheaper compared to its competitors. some refers it as an absolute advantage that will attract buyers to choose them over others.

so what is Proton's core competencies? do they have one? if they have none, then it is high time for them to create one for themselves in order to overcome its current problem. Proton needs to stay lean and be focused to do their things right. do what it takes to be fit and competitive, no matter what the costs are. and these costs cant be judged based on the figures and book value alone. there are intangibles as well.

this leads to the goodwills… when they can build a car as reliable as a BMW, Volvo or a Mercedes, and provide equally top-notch services and parts, surely these qualities will travel by words of mouths like fire spreading on dry grass, without having to spend as much on telling the world themselves that they're "TUV certified" or "Das ist Perfekt". it will help rebuilding the brand image and prestige and also restores the pride it once had. put ur action to ur mouth. taglines like "Asia's answer to BMW" and "My first Lotus" are meaningless if u dont have a product that attests to it.

• outspoken on Nov 12, 2005 at 9:09 pm

MV Agusta was bought for business expansion, However, probably too little were done since the purchase and it becomes more of "Proton :the owner of MV' , rather than " Proton: the beneficiary of owning MV" . Letting MV go does make business sense, but i do hope atleast they try to look at other possibilities to make MV a profitable company and not just a liability. I am not a staunch supporter of Proton, but for the sake of all the people involve in that company (employees, vendors, suppliers etc), I hope they do their best. It's time to work smart and focus. Hopefully the next CEO would someone more practical and no more "selective decisions" made.

• keniji on Nov 12, 2005 at 9:41 pm

dr. Mess to blame

• Nederlander on Nov 13, 2005 at 4:41 am

To my dearest zongtwi a.k.a. speed junkie

Maybe I am too young to understand a lot of bizness stuffs, could someone please tell me if "Proton now own 100 per cent of Lotus" cited from http://uk.cars.yahoo.com/car-reviews/car-and-driv… plus if lotus dont generate $$, where lotus get $$ for their employees (if i remember correctly that u r one of the employees).

Btw, I am curious wat is ur job position in Lotus since u r oni 24-25 years old. U can choose not to answer is ur right.

Haha! I really predicted u will shot me kao kao one!! So, please inform ur boss (Lotus or Proton) I am a good candidate!! heyhey!! Soon I become new CEO, I will certain promote u coz u love and protect lotus so much! how abt head RnD department?

Also, to you, "THINK, if you are bashing someone else,someone else would bash you instead" Syabas!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• doc2mee on Nov 13, 2005 at 6:16 am

yo

and now we want to axe LOTUS..

Funny .. maybe POtong has learned everything from Lotus …hehe

Our Malaysian engineer damn smart lot ah?

Hopefully we will see an IMPROV PROTON . eh?

• MutantTomato on Nov 13, 2005 at 7:08 am

Nederlander: Bro, if I'm not mistaken, Lotus does provide service to many other car manufacturers as well la. And I really don't know much about business either but, I think Proton is the biggest shareholder, i.e. 100%. Something like Roman Abramovich owns Chelsea F.C. Fine, so he owns the club. But that don't mean he takes all the revenue from it. Neither does he contribute entirely to the revenue. They generate their own revenue by buying&selling players, getting sponsorship and advert deals, ticket sales, etc. Of course major decisions pass through him first la. But smaller things, like selling players, buying players; he leaves Chelsea to do it themselves. So, as much as he owns Chelsea, he doesn't "own" it… Now did that make sense? :P

• LotusGT1 on Nov 14, 2005 at 12:54 am

malaysia everything also want to be the best. people have what they also want to have it. people produce car they have proton. people have bike they got MV Agusta. they what also want but after they have it they did not really put effort to produce it. they do not know what malaysian want. try to look at korea they are so successful in their car production(Hyundai & KIA). KIA also a partnership with mitsubishi how come they are so successful? why PROTON can't? why people can produce a car with such a low cost Malaysia can't? coz they all makan makan till the cost goes up.

• aksMs on Nov 14, 2005 at 4:24 am

LotusGT1: Errr…what are trying to say there?

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 14, 2005 at 6:21 am

Well said, Mutanttomato…it's not lotus aren't generating $$ (as how Mr nederlander put it) they aren't generating ENOUGH $$ to make PROFITS. Do you know what profit is? Or do I need to explain?

I am an R&D engineer in Lotus, why are you so curious?

So if you already predicted that you are going to get "shot kao kao one" why did you still post your comments? I mean, if I knew what I was about to say was total bollocks and people would bash me for that, I am not STUPID to post those comments then, am I?

FYI, I don't love Lotus or Proton so much. I like them only the appropriate amount. But if any of them forks up, ofcourse la I'll bash them as well. What I hate to see are people who don't know their facts, who are talking from their arses, speculate and assume things, and suddenly think they are good enough to become the next CEO of a company. WTF?!?

• To Zongtwi:

If the person is not an employee or related to 1 company. Do you think he knows abt how the co. runs or functioned?? I am not too sure how ur co. runs neither do you know how mr. Nederlander's co. runs. The thing we do is to assume and voice out their view. Speculations and assumption not come with nothing. Atlease mr. Nederlander did not mention that lotus or potong is hiring employee from MARS or they have hire an eight legs freaks as their CEO. thats nothing wrong or right with his assumption nor 'speculation'. Probably one patriotic employee would defend his co. if something abt his co. is not right…truly understandable…Syabas!

To Nederland:

Be 'humble' in your question and expect to be 'bashed' kao kao if u are putting ur view to someone esp. an engineer ok? ur point may not sound harsh but maybe idiotic or probably from ur arsh (smelly?). So please be humble ya…esp. question abt protong and err…lotus?

To MutantTomato:

Exactly right man! but roman still have to sign the cheque to his freak manager if he wants to buy someone worth 21m (worth that?) i think the matter of 'owning' means he still needs to invest to improve the club….make sense ar?

Be cool man! its a blog afterall…harmony we are! YAO MOU GAO……CHOR!!! :D

• Marmitecrab on Nov 14, 2005 at 6:17 pm

Abu,

How can you "hijack" other people's sign-off?

Yao Mou Gao…Chor??? :-)

• SEE FU on Nov 14, 2005 at 7:00 pm

Handsfree said,

November 11, 2005 @ 9:42 pm

SEE FU wat is yr blog add??

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!!….MY blog add!!??…..Just click my Name above lah!!! Anyway…..I had added new Topics already……wanna to see your comments too!!!

abu, have you registered your ID before using YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!!?? Please login yours now.

again….YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!!! :)

• ei SEE FU told u i am using pirated from pasar malam lo…u check on the dot ar? a bit less than urs leh…u know la this bolehland…everything boleh 1 ma….YAO MOU GAO……..CHOR!!!!!

p.s. SEE FU's blog got lotsa karma…so its goodie man :P

• Jazzy on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:00 am

I have been reading stuff here on Paul's blog on a frequent basis. On Nederland vs. Zongtwi issue… I really cant help but laugh out aloud on these posts. As a Lotus employee myself… I cant agree more to statements made by Zongtwi. So, Nederland…I guess you ought to do some homework before you pop some opinions.

• SEE FU on Nov 15, 2005 at 1:37 am

abu arr!!

You are great…..closed to COPYCAT China, they COPY almost 99% the same!!! Kudo!! Malaysian Also BOLEH not only China!!! abu BOleh!!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!! BTW my trandmark doesn't cares about …. or ,,,,.as long as close to the shape and sound you will get SUE due to copyright issue. Cheers!! :)

• kanasai on Nov 15, 2005 at 6:19 am

SEE FU

u r the CEO of BMW ka?

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!

LOL

• zongtwi a.k.a. speed on Nov 15, 2005 at 8:36 am

To Abu, I appreciate you trying to be a peacemaker heh I don't mind people giving out views. I just don't like it when someone comes out with all guns blazing, bashing other people with their comments, and the comments are based on some stupid fairy tale information that that person gets from his own little world. Btw, if you think properly, saying that Proton pays the sallary for Lotus employees are as bad as saying the CEO is from Mars. Those statements have the same level of ridiculousness!

• outspoken on Nov 15, 2005 at 6:13 pm

kecoh la diorang berdua ni!!

• abe pie on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:36 pm

If Tgku Mahalel write a book . I'l make sure i will get one. so anybody interested with his book? for me TMahalel is great guy. he got great vision to drive the proton. Great in manage the proton .hmm..dunno., no idea. wat do u think. but proton can built the tanjung malim plant w/o any finance help from gov.( or bcoz of gov protection)..

soorry . friend.. out of topic

• what u all talking about?

• zongtwi, you should be saked, you are a lotus R& D engineer and you have done nothing to improve proton or our country car's campro, what are you doing zongtwi, shaking your legs, go home

• dozz vader on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:23 am

typical malaysian.

only knows how to complains.

I have no interest in Proton's internal affairs nor i care about it's rival Myvi.I still have confidence in proton's cars eventhough some of it's model is juz not my taste.Perodua for me is total daihatsu and I don't like daihatsu.I would like to give some suggestions to proton..if they care lah.

proton should juz concetrate on their recent model such as the satria,wira,V6,gen2,savvy and not to mention the ugly aerobacks.

Why not bring back the putra model?

Why not try to improve the TECHNOLOGY and DESIGN in the recent models instead of thinking creating a new ones?

Proton should try to think from consumers point of views.Do some research in whats in and whats not.Like me,I don't give a f## if a cars comes with a CD player or not coz I can put an mp3 player and a PSP anytime.And my car will look cool internaly than other car.Proton should also considering the material they used for the interior.There's nothing wrong if proton used leather for the seats and wood for the dashboard panel and gear knobs.Think about the cool factor to attract buyer.It's not what proton designers or marketing thinks that counts,its the target market point of view that proton should consider because we're the ones that gonna buy your car.Give us a GOOD and QUALITY car plus good services,we don't mind paying extra.

Try to think globally.Try to think about the MAJORITY who thinks like me.The ones who keep bashing proton is the one who thinks driving a honda or a mitsu make him or her looks soooooooooooooo cool.But 70% can't afford any of it.heheh

Bash me for all i care.

peace.

• dozz vader on Nov 29, 2005 at 8:26 am

Oh..one more thing..Proton loss or profits doesn't effect me in any way.So be it. :)