Volkswagen Jetta R GT

Volkswagen unveiled a series of vehicles under the R GT concept line for the 2005 SEMA auto show. This is the first of the three vehicles based on a Volkswagen Jetta. Let’s have a look at the Volkswagen Jetta R GT concept.

Volkwagen in collaboration with HPA Motorsports took a standard Volkswagen Jetta with a 2.5 litre normally aspirated engine and plonked in a version of the 3.2 litre V6 that powers the Volkswagen Golf R32. But that’s not all, the already monstrous 240 horsepower 3.2 litre V6 was twin turbocharged to produce a total of 550 horsepower.

Every other aspect of the car is tuned up as well. Brembo World Rally Championship specification brakes have been fitted, and suspension is a KW FIA 3-way coil-over set. Power is sent to the wheels via a DSG twin-clutch sequential transmission and 4MOTION all-wheel drive.

Wheels are 9.5 x 19 inch Avus DTM-spec wheels wrapped with Michelin ultra high performance tyres, which can be replaced easily with 9.5 x 18 inch wheels when the car needs to hit the track. Changing wheels is also easy, with AP Racing air jacks built onto the frame. This is a pure GT car!

The chassis also has an integrated roll cage, Recaro bucket seats, Schroth harnesses and F1-style electronic gauge displays by Stack. The whole interior is styled with black alacantra, carbon fibre and black leather. Classy and sporty at the same time!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Wow…very nice indeed. But the price will be a bom down here ! I think Proton Cars should go for more advance technologies…like HONDA & Toyota. The VW above is simply uncomparable to Proton. 2 different world.

Come on Proton or else everyone else is going to overtake. You can't just facelift models after models. Need to be little bit creative and try coming out with something new. Most important quality products.

Not like our current models. The Q C is very important for customer satisfaction.

Wake up guys….Myvi is doing very well !

• wow, like my pa in law's waja

;-)

• blackhead on Nov 15, 2005 at 10:34 pm

lol not GT-R, it's R-GT?

• Terenceg on Nov 15, 2005 at 10:51 pm

Paul, i nak kereta ni boleh ? find a wayto curi it in 60hours

• @ bong on Nov 15, 2005 at 11:04 pm

wow! looks a bit like toyota altis. the road tax must be very expensive. must be hard to find the spare parts. however, VW did a great job. the golf GT will be a smaller version of their sport car. i guess VW is heading towards younger market who likes sport and powerful car.

Good to see but no $$ to buy

our tax so very high

Wanna buy, my parents cry

all my bill goes high high………huh!

• roni_united on Nov 15, 2005 at 11:05 pm

REAL COOL MAN……………… THINK THE BEST IN THIS YEAR

• SEE FU on Nov 15, 2005 at 11:19 pm

Awesome!!! Especially the RED LINE on that Tyres. I want to add it on my BABE!!

YAU MOU GAU…CHOR!!!

• Lao Ta on Nov 15, 2005 at 11:34 pm

Looks like honda city to me

• wah….wah…. Fantastic car… but i think not suitable in Malaysia road condition… sure the tyres will hit the wheel compartment badly if carry more passengers. no way to speed until max in malaysia highway & risk is too high if you want to speed until max in 'bolehland' highway.

• rafreez on Nov 15, 2005 at 11:43 pm

whoaaaaa…..look at this babe exhaust, is it intergrated with the rear bumper?…such an awsome design, please P1 come up with something like this and I'm sure no no other cars will rule Msian road accept proton…

• deutsche volks on Nov 15, 2005 at 11:51 pm

another topic bout germans car..must comment..its actually not come with only 1…but they have 3 R-GT..Jetta,Passat and Toureg…and all of them are actually only for the SEMA Tuning Motoshow which took place in Las Vegas…wolfsburg, VW HQ on the other hand said that those 3 come from pure US tuner with collabo Vw US…plus they said it never gonna come in series..especially here in DE since just the look of it, 1 can tell that all the germans element being ripp off by these crazy US tuner…!.

extract from AUTO BILD Wochenschau

• terran on Nov 16, 2005 at 12:38 am

ahh damn wat a beauty.

• Kungfu Karipap on Nov 16, 2005 at 12:40 am

the rear end looks like city……but depan quite nice…but from belakang really look like city…like Pisau potong daging design

• December on Nov 16, 2005 at 12:51 am

holysmokin shit, this is hot man…vox are getting better…rapidly

• Icarus on Nov 16, 2005 at 1:14 am

Great looking car! If it ever hits our shores, it will be too expensive to drive and maintain! Hmmm. Wonder which AP King would bring this car in first? ;)

• drool drool…. but cannot get here *sign*

• CarNut on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:09 am

Beauty…. Sheer beauty. All it needs now is 200hp shot of NOS.

• aksMs on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:22 am

Woah! That's a damn fierce looking car. The red line on the rubber sidewalls are a nice touch. "Drool~~". 550HP? If I have this car I would drive slowly around the city. Show off to the AhBengs a bit. Lol!

deutsche volks: That reminds me of the V8 XC90 Volvo together with the S60R Evolution they showed on SEMA last year. Those crazy American Tuner sure does go nuts when it comes to SEMA.

• nohiddenagenda on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:24 am

ah beng car, not mine.

a very rich ah beng.

• peter on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:39 am

I thought it was cool before I saw that it was twin turbo charged. This is awesome looking. Of course the price will be very high, but the performance should be massive. Good stuff. I remember when the Jetta was a box on wheels with door handles that didn't work properly after the first two years. I never imagined that I'd ever want a Jetta!! But I want this one!! Good stuff VW.

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 16, 2005 at 2:48 am

I took this from the Motor Trader website:

One day, I believe, a PROTON will be the recipient of this accolade.

Following the announcement of the Japanese Car of the Year 2005/2006 recently comes the announcement of the European Car of the Year (COTY) for 2006 – the Renault Clio III. The winner is significant because this is the first time in the history of the European event that a model has won again; the original Clio was European COTY in 1991.

According to a statement by the European COTY judging panel which consisted of 58 motoring journalists from throughout Europe, competition was close in this year’s event. There had been 28 contenders for the award after an initial round of voting and from these 28, seven were short-listed. All of seven cars were put in the first place by two or more of the 58 members of the international Jury and the Clio III, with 256 points, emerged as the winner just 5 points more than the Volkswagen Passat.

The Alfa 159 was third with 212 points while the new BMW 3-Series was fourth with 203 points. Fifth place went to the Mazda5 which scored 198 points while the jointly-developed model by Peugeot, Toyota and Citroen (the 107, Aygo, C1) was sixth with 187 points. The new Toyota Yaris scored 143 points to take seventh place.

Past winners

1964 Rover 2000

1965 Austin 1800

1966 Renault 16

1967 Fiat 124

1968 NSU Ro80

1969 Peugeot 504

1970 Fiat 128

1971 Citroen GS

1972 Fiat 127

1973 Audi 80

1974 Mercedes-Benz 450S

1975 Citroen CX

1976 Simca 1307

1977 Rover 3500

1978 Porsche 928

1979 Simca/Chrysler Horizon

1980 Lancia Delta

1981 Ford Escort

1982 Renault 9

1983 Audi 100

1984 Fiat Uno

1985 Opel Kadett

1986 Ford Scorpio

1987 Opel Omega

1988 Peugeot 405

1989 Fiat Tipo

1990 Citroen XM

1991 Renault Clio

1992 VW Golf (3rd Gen)

1993 Nissan Micra (March)

1994 Ford Mondeo

1995 Fiat Punto

1996 Fiat Bravo/Brava

1997 Renault Megane Scenic

1998 Alfa Romeo 156

1999 Ford Focus

2000 Toyota Yaris

2001 Alfa Romeo 147

2002 Peugeot 307

2003 Renault Megane

2004 Fiat Panda

2005 Toyota Prius

• altruis on Nov 16, 2005 at 3:24 am

What's with that completely different topic post?

• albagmane on Nov 16, 2005 at 4:16 am

wow! check out the exhaust pipes and wheels! love it very much!

• Twoxer Hayzen on Nov 16, 2005 at 4:26 am

Sorry about that "lost" post.

Actually I wanted to add that VW has been missing from the COTY list for a while now. Their last win was some 12 years ago.

But their latest models, including that beauty you see on these pages are making people stand up and take notice.

Golf… hmmm… "sexy" depicted in metal form.

• peter on Nov 16, 2005 at 5:35 am

I only just noticed this on second viewing, but the front grill is very Audi-like. The best thing about the car has to be the wheels though. Awesome.

• karem on Nov 16, 2005 at 5:53 am

man, this car rocks…. with all that config, sure can compete along with the japs monsters…

somehow the rear looks like the new honda city…

• yhtan on Nov 16, 2005 at 6:39 am

Wow…this car damn freaking nice,

exterior and interior design make my slivar drop down already….

plus the engine hp very high….

too bad i can't afford it

• damn. this is the bomb.. hahhaa..

like the subtle vinyls on the sides of the car.. and the red tire lines..

it's these small things that i believe can accentuate a car's likability to a person..

the 550 horses are another 550 attractive reasons also la.. minus the 5 or 6k road tax.. hahah..

• abc_whatever on Nov 16, 2005 at 8:00 am

WOW very nice indeed, hope to see this in Malaysia soon

• HumanSanzz on Nov 16, 2005 at 8:06 am

The front looks like toyota altis.I mean modified altis.Like some people purposely darken their grill.It looks alike lar.Our local people is also quite creative.hehe

• neurra on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:28 am

the whole view without the perspective field of view effect looks much or less like the new honda city..

but the thing is.. this is million times cooler

• aksMs on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:40 am

eric: I won't be suprise if someone copy this on their Altis in a month or 2. Or maybe in the next 2 weeks! Hahaha! Hey, it looks damn good mah! Why not?

Btw, the rear kinda remind me of the Accord Euro. Hmmm….

• I must say this is an awesome car. Look so 'garang'. Maybe the VW answer to Beemer's M3 and Honda/Acura Type-R.Like it very mush. But it seem the front and the back is from different cars. Something is wrong with it. Maybe a squarish front facade of the care like EVO will change this.

• eMalaysian on Nov 16, 2005 at 4:12 pm

Wow what a car.

Now I know why proton want to buy VW platform.

• Haiyo wait and see atas jalan la….now dont huh hah huh hah…..super damn nice all that kind of things…the way i see it is like as i saw a honda city after having a major surgery

• takumi_trueno on Nov 16, 2005 at 5:44 pm

wah lau…wey…. i think it can take da corner site with high speed.. the combination of sportrim n tyre is superb maa… the 550 hp can give the torque to speed anytime… i think were dreamz only to c da car drive with top speed on our highway in m'sia lorrr… there r many car today lorr… until on weekend have the jammed at da highway… bayar mahal2!!!! damn shit..

• Another Honda Driver on Nov 16, 2005 at 6:19 pm

very nice car, i like the back…..

• Xoomie on Nov 16, 2005 at 6:34 pm

The design doesn't look that good. The front look loke honda city, it's "sloping down". The side lokks like 3 series. The ends looks like our local fibre workshops, Not bad!!. It's the monsterous 3.5l V6 550hp that makes it special. Anyway, I dont think it'll be ever hit our shores. Let's see how the passat R-GT goona look like.

• Nameless on Nov 16, 2005 at 7:36 pm

Rim too big,like monster car,big foot! Tyre totally not fit the car.Somemore,they copy New Honda civic rear design,Comment:not nice in look!

• mitsu_galant_2000 on Nov 16, 2005 at 8:03 pm

nice car n design.. then i saw many p1 + VW basher mula lah sokong2.. then kata wah.. so good ah VW!.. what a lalang lah..

good shape , stylish and sporty.. also look 'garang' .. like this car..

PAUL.. there's no post abaout PROTON SAVVY AMT (Auto Manual Transmission) launched yesterday?.. seem the post by the someone in here is true!.. Auto Transmission Gear.. the revolution of transmission?.. make new topic for this.. let bashing there.. haha. (sory out of topic)

• Charger on Nov 16, 2005 at 8:39 pm

Phewwwittt! What a beauty.

Now, that's one heck of a dream car!

The rear, reminds me of BMW though. ;)

• wow………………….wow……………………..wow!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!it's superb

• accord kia on Nov 16, 2005 at 10:33 pm

can i change it with my honda accord 2.4L???

• ddkwh on Nov 16, 2005 at 11:13 pm

all i can say about this…sweeeettt!! its damn nice!! but owning one and maintaining it here in malaysia will be a drag!!

• accord kia on Nov 17, 2005 at 1:01 am

the back looks like new honda civic!!!

• Xoomie on Nov 17, 2005 at 3:37 am

Bumpers & archers looked like a copy from Ford Focus Ghia

• damion on Nov 17, 2005 at 5:17 am

now that's a highly worthy entry into the "list of cars you should make way on the road"…

nice review!

btw, linked you from my site.. hope u dont mind..

cheers mate!

• Simply awesome, exhaust vent neat. Look muscular and busy.

• rikeys on Nov 17, 2005 at 8:10 am

wow… superb ah beng car man! no need further modds cool!

• sir paton on Nov 18, 2005 at 1:37 pm

wow!!!! much better thhann the stock car!!!

the spoilers change everything.

• hail for euro-style

• BLAH!!!!! on Jan 02, 2006 at 6:44 am

i think its a relly nice car and volkswagen should start to sell in north america and germany.

• T-Vios on Jan 06, 2006 at 12:33 am

What a BMW rear look with M3 bumper + Skirting.

anyway, is a pretty nice car from ER.

Proton, do learn from others and create own style. Wira is 14 years model. is the time to change.

• afor2 (Member) on May 17, 2006 at 7:13 pm

wa!!! drool..drool.. hot hot!

• @ndrej (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 2:52 am

it is bad becouse it is concept and only one,and how much $$?

• Summer on May 05, 2010 at 10:59 pm

I love to get this car, but as hell, it is a little over priced,if the price was brought, I would buy it in a heart beat.
    Not going to lie, I fell in love with this car, like no other!:D

• Reoggecough on May 11, 2013 at 12:25 pm

Why these private charters are so expensive? What is included in their cost?