Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

2007 Suzuki SX4

Suzuki has announced the third of a series of new models, joining the Swift and Grand Vitara. The SX4 is the Grand Vitara’s ‘little brother’ and it’s platform is a joint venture development with Fiat. Fiat’s model is called the Fiat Sedici.

The Suzuki SX4 was styled by Giugiaro’s ItalDesign. The car is powered by a 98hp 1.5 liter petrol, a 106hp 1.6 liter petrol and a 118hp turbodiesel. The SX4 will also come with a 2.0 liter DOHC engine for the U.S. market.

The transmission runs a three-mode all wheel drive system, which are 2WD, AUTO (AWD High) and LOCK (AWD Lock). Four speed auto or five speed manual transmissions are available.

The Suzuki SX4 is expected to debut at the Geneva Auto Show in March 2006.

48 Comments »

1. weilun said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:32 am

no butt pics ar

2. Charger said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:44 am

Not.Another.S.U.V……

3. muthu said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:55 am

just like VW golf from front look……..

4. SEE FU said,

December 2, 2005 @ 10:09 am

Wanna to see Fiat Sedici 2 models?

Click this -> http://wongseefu.blogspot.com/2005/12/spy-suzuki-sx4-or-fiat-sedici-ii.html

The trend is going towards SUV!! I love SUV…..but Smal compact SUV not my taste!!

YAU MOU GAU…..CHOR!! Cheers! :P

5. Andelulu said,

December 2, 2005 @ 10:13 am

more butt pics, pls logon to
    http://www.channel4.com/4car/gallery/spyshots-2005/S/suzuki/sx4/sx4_page_6.html

6. Marmitecrab said,

December 2, 2005 @ 10:46 am

Lovely looks. Although need to see the interior first. I love the new Suzukis, esp. the Swift.

And once you’re used to the height of an SUV, you’ll never want to ride in a low sedan anymore. Moreso in Malaysia where floods are commonplace.

7. 8555 said,

December 2, 2005 @ 11:19 am

it doesn’t look like an suv.

8. EDDIE FANS said,

December 2, 2005 @ 12:10 pm

NICE , I LOVIN IT

9. suanie said,

December 2, 2005 @ 12:12 pm

buy one for me kthxbai

10. stewpid said,

December 2, 2005 @ 12:24 pm

the new trend, small SUV like kembara, getz…

11. ulet said,

December 2, 2005 @ 12:31 pm

somehow i feel it look like hyundai getz.
    who design hyundai getz ? is it Giugiaro’s ItalDesign also ?

12. wyejon said,

December 2, 2005 @ 2:06 pm

there are shades of the hyundai matrix don’t u think?

13. jx said,

December 2, 2005 @ 2:28 pm

I am really sorry to all SUV fans but I really think that SUV now days should stand for Stupid Useless Vehicles (SUV). But not all SUV’s are bad. Some are nice like rexton, BMW X5, toyota fortuner. Although some like the Suzuki SX4 are just plain ugly to me.

14. aksMs said,

December 2, 2005 @ 3:31 pm

The front look resemble ‘a bit’ of its big brother the Grand Vitara. It got a nice look on the front, but for overall look, I don’t favour it much. Taking a peek at the side profile looks kinda funny to me. It seems too ‘heavy’ at the front. All boobs and no butts kinda thing.

By the way, Paul, is this model under SUV catergory or small 4×4 catergory? It look kinda representing both. If its a 4-wheeler, then I’ll pass. If I want to go into mud and flood, might as well get a real 4-wheeler. I’d rather buy a second hand Ninja Turtle or Landcruiser II. Or just get the Land Rover. Now that’s a winner 4×4!

SEE FU arrr. What kind of ‘poison’ you use, huh? Paraquat ka? The more I look at the Outlander the more it appeals to me. Haiya! I take back my words la. Hehehe.

15. eCUN said,

December 2, 2005 @ 3:49 pm

Savvy front design should follow this one, then possibly can be acceptable as ‘my first lotus’…

16. karim alias said,

December 2, 2005 @ 4:05 pm

coool.

17. pendek said,

December 2, 2005 @ 4:14 pm

huh Grand Vitara reminds me of Monster Kojima or tajima.. bleh whatever, Escudo Grand Vitara used for Mount Climbing rally.

real HP there….

18. eMalaysian said,

December 2, 2005 @ 4:22 pm

how much it cost ah?

19. aksMs said,

December 2, 2005 @ 4:28 pm

pendek: Monster Tajima’s Escudo uses two engine. Sure got real HP maa. 900+HP. A sure winner la at the Annual Pike Peak Rally. =)

20. wafiess said,

December 2, 2005 @ 5:39 pm

lol…. again cannot recall but seem like hyundai model .. arghh

21. Susuki said,

December 2, 2005 @ 7:07 pm

SX4…??? Sounds like ‘4Sex’ hehehehe

22. haji said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:26 pm

From my observation, something look like a hybrid of Kia Rio and Matrix. It’s nice.

23. SEE FU said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:30 pm

aksMs said,
    December 2, 2005 @ 3:31 pm

Poison?? No poison lah only DETTOL.

Outlander is super man. check this out -> http://www.autobytel-japan.com/tie-up/outlander/index.cfm

Click the movie too. Sure you like it! http://www.autobytel-japan.com/tie-up/outlander/movie/index.cfm

YAU MOU GAU….CHOR!! cheer! :P

24. KY said,

December 2, 2005 @ 9:43 pm

looks like an MPV to me.

25. narrowband said,

December 2, 2005 @ 10:19 pm

Like Matrix and Aveo size oni… Super small. Too small to be registered as an SUV in my head.

26. Sleepyhollow said,

December 3, 2005 @ 12:15 am

Eeks!…hyundai matrix lookin shape…esp the tail part..

27. E-nabill said,

December 3, 2005 @ 12:16 am

like the new kia rio….dono y ppl obsesed with such cars anyway…

28. ahmad ariff said,

December 3, 2005 @ 2:11 am

just wanderin’….if it’s true u can transfer myvi booking, i think i wanna cancel my booking for myvi,anybody interested. i booked right b4 launching suppose to get myvi anytime but loan not approved!..fed up already coz they insist on guarantor..mine is for auto premium.

29. Ova Boost said,

December 3, 2005 @ 12:49 pm

Urgh… hideous!! SWIFT lagi chun!!

30. Ihateproton said,

December 3, 2005 @ 2:16 pm

Well looks like GM now has the entire field covered when it comes to SUVs.. starting form this 1.5 machine, followed by the Grand Vitara then the S3X all the way to the huge Hummer H1 Alpha. Only the Kembara is smaller then anything GM has.
    I’m sure the decision to build these SUVs came in the days when fuel prices were lower… really wonder if GM can keep themselves from going bankrupt.

31. iQbaL said,

December 4, 2005 @ 4:47 pm

yo, anybody seen the kancil special edition?

32. [Half-Half PBâ„¢] HatukNgkau said,

December 4, 2005 @ 9:16 pm

yup… the interior underwent some cosmetics change… nothing special, but enough to differentiate it from the usual kancil… y?

33. mata-motob said,

December 5, 2005 @ 7:39 pm

gosh… the italdesign name shocks me..
    the rear design might be “whoooosh!”

34. Traliccio said,

December 6, 2005 @ 11:49 am

Suzuki’s favourite colour dude..

35. Steve Udovenko said,

December 6, 2005 @ 10:44 pm

Cannot wait to buy one! Already one Vitara and I’love to trade our second car for this one! Great idea!

36. Let-VW-takeover-protong said,

December 7, 2005 @ 12:51 am

Shift the name around and you’ll be having Suzuki 4SX=”Suzuki for Sex”.
    hahaha…

37. Rock said,

December 8, 2005 @ 11:51 am

from the side looks like peugeot or saxo

38. get_a_life said,

December 9, 2005 @ 12:46 pm

once again Suzuki stick w/motorcycles. Not cars you don’t belong there. shame

39. Adi lotry said,

December 12, 2005 @ 4:36 pm

Arghhh!!! i hate suzuki….but accept the wagonR la….
    is it SUV???? tk nampak mcm SUV pun???? the front looks like VW golf

40. Paul Tan’s Automotive Blog » Blog Archive » Suzuki SX4 WRC Concept said,

February 19, 2006 @ 7:19 pm

[...] This is Suzukis’ SX4 WRC Concept. I previously blogged about the third in Suzuki’s new trio of cars the Suzuki SX4 here. The four wheel drive equipped Suzuki SX4 is a joint-venture together with Fiat, which will produce the same car as the Fiat Sedici. More details at the original 2007 Suzuki SX4 blog post. [...]

41. Paul Tan’s Automotive Blog » Blog Archive » Suzuki SX4 WRC Concept said,

February 19, 2006 @ 7:19 pm

[...] This is Suzukis’ SX4 WRC Concept. I previously blogged about the third in Suzuki’s new trio of cars the Suzuki SX4 here. The four wheel drive equipped Suzuki SX4 is a joint-venture together with Fiat, which will produce the same car as the Fiat Sedici. More details at the original 2007 Suzuki SX4 blog post. [...]

42. Suzuki SX4 WRC Concept » said,

March 7, 2006 @ 9:07 pm

43. 2006 Fiat Sedici » said,

April 12, 2006 @ 6:36 pm

[...] You might find the look for the Fiat Sedici a bit familiar. It’s actually the same car as the Suzuki SX4, as the Fiat Sedici and the Suzuki SX4 were the result of a joint development program between Fiat and Suzuki. The word Sedici means 16, which is what you get when you multiple 4X4. Clever huh? It’s somewhat of a crossover, combining the comforts of a saloon with the off-road ability of a 4X4, which is the direction most SUVs are going these days anyway. [...]

44. FAW Xiali C1 said,

September 4, 2006 @ 8:03 pm

[...] FAW Tianjin Xiali Automobile is Toyota’s partner in China. They’ve recently launched a few compact car called the FAW Xiali C1 back in the first half of 2006, but I did not notice it until reader ShadowFox pointed it out to me. The front lights look like it was taken off the Suzuki SX4, and the rear lamps are clearly inspired by Audi’s eagle head shaped rear lamps. But the whole shape of the car in it’s entirety looks very familiar, I’ll let you decide for yourself what it reminds you of. More photos after the jump! [...]

45. Suzuki SX4 Sedan said,

September 10, 2006 @ 4:36 am

[...] Remember the Suzuki SX4? That joint venture car-SUV crossover platform between Suzuki and Fiat which spawned two cars - the Suzuki SX4 and the Fiat Sedici. Styled by Giugiaro ItalDesign, the little car could look like either a hatchback of a mini SUV depending on the trim level you choose. There was even a WRC Concept released by Suzuki. As if an SUV and a sporty hatch form was not enough, now photos of a sedan version has surfaced on the internet. [...]

46. Fiat Sedici wins towcar award said,

October 9, 2006 @ 3:50 am

[...] Remember the Fiat Sedici? It’s Fiat’s version of the Suzuki SX4, in 4X4 form as the SX4 in the Suzuki stables is available both in hatchback and crossover four wheel drive form. The Fiat Sedici recently won the an award in the Caravan Club Towcar of the Year 2007 Competition, pwning competitors like the Daihatsu Terios 1.5, the Kia Magentis 2.0 CRDi GS Manual, the Nissan Note 1.6 SVE and the Vauxhall Meriva Active 1.3 CDTi. [...]

47. Suzuki SX4-based sedan to be unveiled at Geneva said,

February 15, 2007 @ 4:33 am

[...] Suzuki will be unveiling it to the world at the 2007 Geneva Motor Show next month. Despite the Suzuki SX4’s all-wheel drive capability, the SX4 Sedan will be a front wheel drive vehicle, featuring [...]

48. haroldz said,

September 4, 2007 @ 7:31 am

i saw a few of this in miri oredi
    of course le they r from brunei..
    will d price be competitive with latio?

previous post: 2006 Honda Accord Facelift
next post: 2006 Mitsubishi Eclipse Ralliart

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!