Subaru to develop turbodiesel boxer engine

small_subaru.gifWhile Subaru has decided to use Toyota hybrid technology in it’s efforts to improve fuel economy for it’s petrol-powered vehicles, it has decided to develop it’s own turbodiesel engine to address demands for diesel cars in markets like Europe.

Subaru’s new turbodiesel engine would be modular, and will be introduced as a 2.2 litre 4 cylinder boxer, as well as a 3.3 litre 6 cylinder boxer. Since it is modular, technically a 4.4 litre 8 cylinder boxer could also be possible. It will be designed to be compatible with Subaru’s all-wheel drive technology. There is currently no turbodiesel engine using the boxer (horizontally opposed) cylinder configuration in the world, so Subaru’s will be the first.

Subaru expects half of total Subaru sales in Europe to be diesel-powered by 2010. The engine is expected to be complete by 2007 or 2008. It will be developed by a 40-member R&D division based in Japan.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 5:15 pm

all r turning to diesel……….but not so suitable for Malaysia………haizzzzz, how???

• rexis (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Maybe malaysia will consider diesel a few years later because of introduction of EnvoDiesel. But now… hai~~~

• Tourist (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 7:46 pm

I have fond memory of my previous early 80's boxer engined Subaru 1.6L. One incident stuck in my mind. Was having an argument with a Toyota SA who, when told the Corolla 1.3 was very thirsty on fuel, said the Corolla was powerful. I shut him up good when I told him that it can never be more powerful then my Subaru 1.6L and yet my Subaru uses so much less fuel then his Corolla.

• motorhead (Member) on Mar 27, 2006 at 8:38 pm

Whoa.. dasat la.. but when la it will arrive in m'sia.. but sure few people can afford 2 buy.. subaru cars expensive la..here in msia la.., plus still high road tax for diesel vehicles… but this boxer engines has weakness right??.. their horizon cylinders make the pistons loose quick.. & subaru cars can not left idle for a long time.. in long run will makan minyak hitam.. can someone verify this?

• honda_driver (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 3:14 am

subaru cars are expensive here, because they are all CBU. they are a niche car maker, and only sell in smaller volumes, hence it doesnt make sense for them to assemble cars in malaysia.

subaru boxer engines are reliable and strong, even their turbo engines. ask any subaru owner. they are known to blow the standard gearboxes, but only in highly modified engines, and not stock or mildly tuned engines.

• nissan130Y (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 4:17 am

goodla. maybe in future we can buy subaru cars and get all the spare parts easilly. Will the impreza using diesel? then less fuel consumptionla?

• rexis (Member) on Mar 28, 2006 at 7:42 pm

Perhaps we should look into whats the benefit of making a boxer TDI?

• Sam Chung on Apr 19, 2011 at 11:27 am

whatever it is…i will sure buy subaru…the best in safety…