Geely investment plans on hold again

small_geely.jpgGeely Automobile Holdings Ltd is once again rethinking it’s RM100 million investment plans in Malaysia. It was not very happy with the new National Automotive Policy which stated that any new foreign car manufacturers who want to enter the Malaysian market would have to export 80% of it’s production here in Malaysia. It used to be 30:70.

It was also not very happy with the government ruling that no new manufacturing licenses will be granted until overcapacity problems are addressed. I’ll leave you to think of your own definition of what overcapacity. And there’s always that case-by-case basis clause. :)

small_geely_2.jpgIf Geely does not invest in an assembly plant, Geely’s local partner IGC Corp will still continue assembling the right-hand drive Geely cars at Oriental Assembly in Johor.

If I was Cam Soh, I would be pretty frustrated by now. First his Chery A160 vehicles encounter AP problems, now there’s a problem with his venture into assembling Geely vehicles.

It makes me wonder, does the government really intend to develop Malaysia into a regional automotive hub is it just hot air when the policies it formulates do not look very encouraging. But then again, the ‘case by case’ clause is a very good wildcard.

Related:
Geely CK1 Freedom Cruiser
Geely Freedom Cruiser assembled in Malaysia

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 6:06 am

put on hold again………..haizzz………now i seriously doubt whether it will be materialized or not………sigh…….

• E-Nabill (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 6:46 am

i tink the G want to let manufacturers in bt perhaps proper manufactures…i mean if ur nt able to commit 80% of ur biz here thn be it…i tink wat the G found out is that on the 70-30 ratio , few car makers wer seriously tinking of shifting operations to thailand or the newly highly sought after,the philipenes…i heard mazda are tinking seriously of seting up a plant here…dat shows the NAP rules are after good and long term biz here not like chinse makers who dont hav much history n mite close shop after a while if things dont work out for thm , i dont think thy are well funded either….so the ting is , the G wants Quality Investment or Bust…

• kendo (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 6:47 am

rubbish" car policies

that make rakyat suffer,

thai and chinesea are LAUGHING at us.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 01, 2006 at 7:00 am

Not sure what the NAP is doing. Basicly its strenghtening current non national car makers. Honda, Toyota, would benefit a lot from this. Though I am a little sceptical about the Geely, I am pretty sure the gov is planning to kill off any new car makers who want to find a market in malaysia

• motorhead (Member) on Apr 02, 2006 at 3:33 am

haiyoo.. Datuk Camsoh better just forget la the plan.. never saw his cars on the road oso.. can sell or not??.. when talking about cars, msian have high taste… i ve one account clerk only, but bought a brand new Altis..but everyday eat roti… Geely?? even my acc clerk wont buy….

• kody (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 4:44 pm

Wahlaueh…

Geely… just go thailand & assembly dun come to this hopeless auto industry country… later the RM100mil…. become 'tong kuo ham sui hoi' (cantonese)

• nkhhenry (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:34 pm

basicaly, i think Geely shld open to talk to Govt for the biz plan in Malaysia n be sincere that on long term investment in M'sia. i personally feel that Geely shld go ahead their plan cos M'sia very close relationship with China!!! i believe all things r possible n can discuss with the Govt… M'sia Govt is the one most polite, considerate, helpful, undestandable & friendly over the world… do u think so………dun worry abt Govt policy cos they all can change anytime once feel not right or bad feedback fr other party….car price 4 Geely also be the main issue here n quality also….

• outspoken (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:48 pm

i read it in the newspaper yesterday that the cherry alado already sold 140+ cars.. who ever owns them, please do give feedbacks. at the price they are offering, gen2 is far the best choice for me..

Geely factory in malaysia will definitely create more jobs, but to some extent, their presence does not add the competitive quality to push malaysia as an automobile hub.. anyway, time will tell…

• Tracks (Member) on Apr 03, 2006 at 7:56 pm

If I am not mistaken, there is a discussion on-going discussion on Proton assembling cars in China witha particular Chinese car manufacturer. But the catch is that Chinese car manufacturer could also assemble their cars here in Malaysia. Looks like another failed project by Proton since government introduced unfavourable policies. But, if other companies like Naza or HICOM embark on the project to only assembling the cars here, sure they would get the approval.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Apr 04, 2006 at 11:54 pm

Which foreign car makers do not pull a break looking on this Nonesense Automotive Protection? In economic sense, world class players or even small players from China have to think twice when dealing with Proton and our auto industry environment which is not condusive for longterm growth.

• nkhhenry (Member) on Apr 07, 2006 at 6:05 pm

Govt shld not "campur tangan"on auto industry matter n shld focus more on other plan more benefits to the M'sia people…. n build up strong economy..u c thailand Govt policy on auto ind….why much be "Malaysia Boleh" in all the areas????plssss… can to car innovation n design ….." Malaysia Mana Boleh"…

shld open market n humbly learn fr otherslah Big Brother!!! like Jepun & China…u wait n seelah all the policy implemented just "3 min panas"!!