Perodua overtakes Proton in market share

Proton and Perodua has been at each other’s heels since December last year when Perodua outsold Proton in monthly sales by 99 cars. Perodua’s lead was shortlived when Proton outsold Perodua the following month by 550 cars. In February, Perodua outsold Proton again, beating Proton monthly sales figures by 763 units.

This time however, the Malaysian Automotive Association reports that Perodua’s monthly sales have topped Proton by a massive 4,284 units, making it have a market share of 44% (13,574 units) as opposed to proton’s 30.35% (9,290 units). For every Proton Savvy sold by Proton, Perodua sold 6 Perodua Myvis. The Myvi has proven to be a stunning success.

Hopefully the Proton Satria Replacement Model due to be launched before the end of this month will help with Proton’s downward sliding sales figures.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Initial D (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:39 pm

its expected…….when their market share start sliding down……..

now the important thing is how they r going to stop the tumbling down…….

• whodz (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:39 pm

Wow, that a good news. I hope that P2 will always be a passion throught Malaysian.

p/s : P2, don't sell the myvi for 15 years to come, ok? :p

• pycazu (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:41 pm

This clearly show that M'sian dun really care whether it's rebadge/original M'sian design model or not, in 1 word, WE need good car! But however, buying P2 cars still a patriotic move, P2 still holding a very much significant national car status instead of Naza. P1 must reflect themselve of how P2 success path…

So, me also contribute to this figure lo!

Cheer…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:47 pm

yes…agree with u all…actually malaysian dun care of rebadge or wut..perodua has done a good job for many years…give us a new car….the service also ok i thing…not perfect but acceptable…yup…p1 must reflect themselve of how p2 success path…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:48 pm

yes…agree with u all…actually malaysian dun care of rebadge or wut..perodua has done a good job for many years…give us a better and quality car….the service also ok i think…not perfect but acceptable…yup…p1 must reflect themselve of how p2 success path…

• kody (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 7:52 pm

Wahlaueh…

haha :) good P2 to overtake P1… i dun think the SRM will tremendeously boost the sales figure for P1. The market segment for the SRM is not as wide as MyVi—->young, old, family…. SRM—-> only young… family xx, old man xx,…

:) :) P1 u still have a long way to surfer before you will really grow up or die…

• drM (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 8:00 pm

hahahha..enough said. but dont close shop. its not about a man's pride anymore. its about how malaysia automotive industry to change. i believe P1 can be better if it is in the hand of right people. move over G. lets me do it.

• KY (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 8:17 pm

Lets hope they take the cue and start to concentrate more on quality control, major beef on alot of ppl when deciding between P1 & P2.

• vin_ann (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 8:22 pm

last time, we dun have P2 yet, whatever car model is launched by P1, we terus beli, now with the emergent of P2, and also other cars, P1 is not become our 1st choice anymore…. we have more variety and quality car to choose…

horey…

• kendo (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 8:39 pm

well,

p1 should just close SHOP,

save RAKYAT PAINs forever,

or merge with

NO.1 World auto maker= toyota group!

that is ALL!

SO SIMPLE!

(kampong mentality to change)

• accitzone (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:04 pm

now just wait for the rebadged 206. ppl dunt give ahoot as badging or anything else is concerned…PRCI will control evrithing for average ppl like us…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:13 pm

SRM will boost P1 sales – day dreaming!

What P1 need to do is back to genuine talk on "strategic alliance" with say VW, not "main main" in the media for the sake of boost share price. Once the is foreign tie-up, there is endless opportunity or the sky is the limits for P1 to expand and conquer the world market. But if P1 still "hardrock head" by want to maintain its current structure, then may let Naza (P3) do the job. Back to cracking P1 codes again.

REVIEW: BOLEHLAND P1 CODES – "BIZ PLAN", not Europe Holyland "Da Vinci Code" ah…..

Code 1: VW + P1 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P1

Applicable after 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

Code 2: P1 > VW = GOOD!

Applicable presently up to 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

Back to topic, VW invest 42 Million is based on their expectation on Code 1, but and at the end, P1 back up by NAP want to maintain Code 2, then the proposed alliance failed.

We can hypothesize that P1 negotiation with so many manufacturers (past, present and future) will doom to fail if both parties have this 2 mutual exclusive codes!

So Code 1 and Code 2 applicability is in relation to different timeline! One for current and one for future! P1 still can use Code 2 with NAP backup for its present short term survival. If P1 want to look for future long term survival, then they have to learn to embrace Code 1.

REVIEW:

Any probable that Code 1 & 2 can synergize if third party replace P1 roles?

Say the 3rd party is P3 = Naza

Code 1: VW + P1 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P1

Applicable after 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

So P3 replace P1, the variation, Code 1a: VW + P3 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P1

Code 2: P1 > VW = GOOD!

Applicable presently up to 2010 (changes subject to further NAP extension)

So P3 replace P1, the variation, Code 2a: P3 = or

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:16 pm

What happen to this posting, can come up partially only, 2nd time oledi!

Continued ………….

So P3 replace P1, the variation, Code 2a: P3 = or

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:18 pm

MyVi 6: Savvy 1, as mentioned by motorpro previously the "fighting" between 6 MyVi and 1 Savvy at Batu Kawan, P1 "win the sabung ayam, but lost the kampong to P2", he, he, he, …….

Now P3 come from behind and not surprising they will overtake P1 after 2010 or earlier.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:21 pm

Continued …….

So the variation, Code 2a: P3 = or

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:33 pm

Try to "Continued" for final time …….

The variation, Code 1a: VW + P3 = Wise + Wise + Wise only if VW > P3

So the variation, Code 2a: P3 = or

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:34 pm

So, VW have to explore othe opportunity. Since P3 is not so "nationalistic" and more incline toward biz interest, opne/more trusted party and price innovative, then P3 i more suitable and potential VW partner. In addition, P3 can get and enjoy similar protection as extended to P1 under CarTaxLand. So, it is sensible that VW and P3 go into nego to form genuine biz partner by synergize each other biz interest. VW contribute car tech/products, P3 provide protection privilege under CarTaxLand. Therefore, VW can salvage its RM 42 Million investment in Bolehland under this alliance. P3 can accept VW (51%) and P3 (49%) ownership just like Daihatsu and P2.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:36 pm

Sorry Paul Tan and other visitor, "spoil the flow" oledi, minta maaf!

• E-Nabill (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:47 pm

althought this is a bad news for proton , i hope its a good news for customers …it wil spur on P1 to regain market share…n hopefully it wil work doubly hard to do beter than p2…p2 success solely depedant on myvi sales..once sales dies down…im sure p1 wil regain some lost ground…

• Dogster (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:47 pm

LONG LIFE PERODUA!!!!

Perodua is doing what clicks with the rakyat!

Hope one day perodua will buy out proton or proton disintegrate by itself!!

Look at the Myvi quantity 6 to 1 Savvy. The Myvi doesnt even have the sports edition to boost sales yet and its doing a good job. :)

The best news that I have all day. Will this news be published in thestar?

~MYVI SUPPORTER!~

• kody (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:52 pm

Wahlaueh…

Joe…. my eyes become blur blur oredi *_* …. halo 'Math teacher'… my P1…. P2… codes calculation all drop to 'longkang' left 'unknown' surviver… :)

• StingRayINC (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 9:57 pm

I hope this will make proton drop its price again to 20k – 30 k for a Wira….hahaha, no surprise right, since the technology is damn old already.

• cratzelogy (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 10:08 pm

now, let say SRM came out this month. Is SRM any cheaper to P3 206? In KLIMS'06, u guys have a clear view of these P1,2 and 3 next models… that is if they dare to showcase their clay models (Prototypes). After SRM, what is P1 targeting to come out with? All replacement models for their current lineup? I know P2 sure comes out with Kembara-RM, Kenari-RM… and that japanase van in 1.5cc version. To be a contender, let say P2 will just come out with a 1.5cc version of Myvi(as they have a big bro supporting em). What will P1 and P3 come out with? Agh… our local car industry is getting exciting.. aint it?

• assimo (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 10:14 pm

As a ex-proton owner..i feel little bit sad…but proton must WAKE UP FROM LONG SLEEP NOW!!..Don't come out with SYIOK SINDRI MODEL and please take attention what people want…I'm also not P2 owner,but this will show P1 what action they need to take after this..National Proud but no point if suck rakyat blood….Congtrats P2!

• jules (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 10:48 pm

..rebadge car ..as some said is ok. Yes, but must be the current model..like Myvi but pleaseee not like 'bestari' … 7-8 years.. fantastic and got people get excited some more. Sad man…

• motorhead (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 10:53 pm

Savvy sales can still keep up.. it has it's own attraction.. i tested AMT many times.. really fun.. like driving toy car, really solid oso…. just, the back seat too small for me.. & rear looks need improvement.. I think poton sales rely on savvy now…

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:11 pm

naza should approach vw and start selling cars like:

1. polo 1.4 for 50k a.k.a. naza bororia…(sound weird though..especially if u r hokkien)

2. jetta 1.6 for 70k a.k.a. naza yedaria

3. golf 1.8 for 90k a.k.a. naza kolfia

4. passat 2.0 for 110k a.k.a. naza basaria

5. beetle 1.4 for 80k a.k.a. naza bituria

6. touran 1.6 for 100k a.k.a. naza tulan (sound even weird especially if u r a hokkien)

name a bit weird but who care as long as can sell. Naza, if you manage to pull off this coup i can bet 50% of the market share will be yours…shiok sendiri only…

the above comments is reproduced here it was originally posted to Bestari in-dept column.

• whatsoever (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:14 pm

for me, perodua car also overpriced. before everyone start bashing me, i'm driving myvi.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:26 pm

whatsoever said,

May 23, 2006 @ 3:14 pm

for me, perodua car also overpriced. before everyone start bashing me, i’m driving myvi.

no worry you said a right thing and you are driving Myvi so I believe your talking base on your experience.just to strenghthen your words all car in TAXLAND IS OVERPRICED.

but this news is good….PROTON ..going to die….

BYE BYE PROTON.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:27 pm

So P2 beat P1 in term of overall sales. Now P3 come in the arena and further diluted P1 market share with Sutera and Bestari. Hope P2/Toyota will launch more products and heard P3 also want to introduce new models by Sept 06.

Wah, our market suddenly "over crowded" with rebadge cars. Dunno whether G which suppose "pro" P1 will "outlaw" rebadge cars in order for P1 to outdo P2 & P3, or tarik balik "national car status". I think this scenario is very "remote" to take place.

SRM – like P1 dig it own graveyard, produce car not the market want but P1 think the products that sell in the market.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 23, 2006 at 11:45 pm

whasoever & mycar_stolen, both of you are right, all car in CarTaxLand is overprice, even P1 cars. Long long life and "thousand thousand years" rakyat, P1, huh, the sooner die is better. P2 & P3 pick up momentum, I know both won't die if G dismantle NAP, but not P1. As I mentioned before, P1 is like "Rubbish" and NAP is like "Maggots". P1 need NAP in order to survive at expanse of the rakyat suffering, and NAP need P1 to existence in order for it act like "monster money grabbing machine" to suck rakyat until last drop of blood.

G now "very blood thirsty" as many GLCs losing money including P1. So not only they suck local rakyat with fuel hike, NAP, etc, etc. Now they want to find other way including to suck foreigner/outsider as local rakyat blood already dried up. They now propose entry levy RM 20.00 per car for foreign vehicles with reason of "reduce congestion". If implemented, see how it will affect neighbour tourists like Thailand at Padang Besar and Bukit Kayu Hitam or Singapore at JB. If implemented and "successful in sucking money", then it may apply to local who want to enter city like JB, KL or Penang with same excuse.

G so desperate ah! ……….. so next election, at least have to give "protest votes". In democracy, BN future is in the hand of rakyat because it is chosen by us, not as some BN politician claim that our future is depend on them. What a rubbish talking, if tomorrow don't choose them, they "balik kampong tanam jagong", there are endless qualified candidate to be a leader(s) in democratic country like our beloved Bolehland. Wah, 1st time come out with "political statement"! he, he, …. just layment view……

• assimo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:00 am

P1 will not 'tutup kedai' easily….our G will make sure it. And i also dun think if P1 really 'bungkus'…the other car prices will drop even RM 1 ……heh…

Mr Joe Ooi,if i'm not mistaken,P1 still hope this SRM will 'BOOM' in the market because only them produce 2 doors national car now..so they think no need to compete which other because SRM standing on its own category alone..I think the 'young professional' also very professional to choose their own car laaaa…hihi…keep dream P1 in G blanket…ZZZZZ…ZZZZZ…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:25 am

assimo – this is P1 attitude, there "freak gene" mentality is more or less is like this: –

1. P1 is borne to this Bolehland as a "pamper child that never grow". Rakyat is comply to provide "golden spoon" to feed him even it is reaches 21 years old.

2. P1 is the "golden child" among GLCs formed durig TDM time. P1 already use up RM billion tax payers money mah, so rakyat have to sacrifice everything and anything to ensure that P1 always in "comfort zone" – protected under CarTaxLand.

3. P1 is "national car status" – P1 is "national icon" just like Malaysian Idol, so all rakyat have give compulsory me including make "patriotic contribution" under CarTaxLand no matter what the "shit" I release and churn out into market, rakyat have to buy and support this "Rubbish products", to show "patriotic" to Bolehland.

4. P1 don't need "Improvement" just do lazy work of "Replacement" is more than enough to show rakyat that P1 produce something that Bolehland have to be proud of.

5. P1 always dream and believe NAP is its "birth right", G have to implement it and rakyat have to suffer under it. But excuse given is P1 need protection!

On macro economic view, environment is change, AFTA and WTO come in, still try to manuever but there is limitation (2010), if still P1 i G/NAP blanket …. ZZZZZZ ……. ZZZZZZZ, then after 2010 ….ZZZZZZZ ……. "PERMANENTLY" …………

• motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:30 am

i hope perodua will improve their cars quality oso.. they oso rebadge, but quality not like the real thing.. quality still cheap.. body so soft like milo tin.. i think milo tin is harder than myvi front hud.. go ahead and try.. one hand press medium size milo tin.. the other hand press myvi's front hud.. & see which dent 1st… sexy models cant pose & sit on myvi.. it will spoil the car.. i saw sexy Sazzy Falak sat on savvy….

Perodua, u got the No. 1 title now!! Jangan kira untung saje!!! Dont manipulate the consumers!!! Value for money pls….

• purity (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:46 am

as much as i want SRM to be out ASAP i hope P2 stays ahead of P1 for a little while more. with the slap in the face, hopefully P1 will take the positive side of it and step up… after all, i believe all malaysians want them to make better and affordable cars for us…

we are what we are. and what we are is malaysians. we all want us all to do well…

• disillusioned (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:46 am

Is this even a shock given that P1 has been churning out pieces of rancid crap they try to pass off as cars for what, the last 10 years?

The point is, P1 obviously has no idea what the consumer wants, they've totally lost touch with the market hence their aging, mediocre product portfolio. How many damn limited edition Iswaras/Wiras do we need? Jesus, just stop with this already.

Relatively to P1, P2 seems to take their QC a lot more seriously, and are actually putting considerable effort into bringing good cars to market at affordable prices. P1 on the other hand, is just happy trying to rip off consumers at every turn. P1 should just turn over and die.

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 12:57 am

Hrmph… do u really need such a hard… errrrrr… "hud"..?? If you crash.. the frame wud be taking most of the damage and absorbing the impact.. Im not sure how important the body panels are in dispursing the impact..

Dont see how the comparison of whether a model can sit on the "front hud" is relevant.. I havent seen that picture of that model sitting on a savvy.. so i cant quite comment.. but i think that even a camry's bonnet wud cave in if u sit dead centre of it..

And when was Perodua ever manipulating customers?? thats a harsh word 2 use.. Maniupalting wud be stg like making false claims to attact buyers..

But yeah.. improvement is always welcomed..

• cyborgx (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 1:16 am

Purity

You are wrong. Not everyone here hope to see Proton goes well. I for one hope that Proton would just end it right now (*close shop*).

Joe Ooi

P1 is “national car status” – P1 is “national icon” just like Malaysian Idol, so all rakyat have give compulsory me including make “patriotic contribution” under CarTaxLand no matter what the “shit” I release and churn out into market, rakyat have to buy and support this “Rubbish products”, to show “patriotic” to Bolehland.

ahaha.. I couldnt agree more.

• motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 1:29 am

Gallardo..

The relevancy is to show that the hud is hard enuf.. not only for someone to sit on it, but to make sure it can stand minimal impact.. for instance if knock down a small dog only got easily dent.. you don’t have to spend so much money for small2 touch up… and when u driving at high speed small stones oso can dent soft body cars… my kancil for instance, have these dents caused by small stones… Sikit2 kemik.. susah la… if major accident, then will be worse…

The picture was in Malay mail in auto review, when savvy was recently launched….But u can try sit on savvy yourself…

I don’t know if u own a perodua.. how they manipulate?? Well, actually their cars r not that cheap, many people think so..but quality is cheap.. use low quality parts (absorber for instance).. the screws are very soft.. cheap dashboards, get shrink in long period… but they sell expensive genuine parts (from produa service).. for instance, 1 set drive shaft for kancil can cost more than RM1000.00.. a lamp for kenari more thanRM500, kancil’s clutch plate more than RM300… Myvi’s don’t know yet.. but sure not cheaper….

Thats how the manipulate.. especially poor people… kancil maintenance is higher than wira….

• kendo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 1:58 am

in KOREA,

those who started and

decided these

screwed up project,

slaughtering on citizens,

will have been in

JAIL!

• Jason (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 2:02 am

I just wish Toyota, Honda or Nissan will over take this two Malaysian babies.

• Fairman (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 2:32 am

The loser P1 should close down immediately, it caused losing of national resoures, let rakyat suffering on poor quality car with uncompatible price, cunning management always cheating the G & rakyat for offer them more and more chances, and take for granted from the stupid G to implement funny NAP policy….. enough ! my pity wira's power window break down again yesterday morning, F*** U !!!!!!!! it spended me not less than rm 80 to replace a new set power window…..

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 2:42 am

Hrmph.. okie dokie.. thx 4 the explanation.. =).. and no.. i dont own a wira.. im 18.. haha.. dont have a steady income..

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 2:44 am

Ooopz.. not wira.. a peroduaaaaaaa.. typo

• REDDEVIL (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 3:06 am

As expected, P2 sooner or later will take over P1 as 'tai lou' in the national car segment.. if P1 still persist on "TOTALLY MADE IN MALAYSIA". Malaysia may be good in making pewter, keropok, batik etc.. but definitely not car. We still lack in expertise to produce a quality and reliable car.. It's good for P1 to produce our own Malaysian car but the fact is we don't have such expertise and incapable management team, P1 is control by a bunch of jokers only know playing politics.. what national pride is if P1 going to shut down one day??? Isn't it better for P1 to partner with other famous car manufacturers such as VW, Toyota, Mitsu etc.. who cares who controls P1 as long as P1 can produce a good quality car with reasonable price.

I doubt SRM can boost the sales of proton as the matter of fact SRM is only suitable for those younger generation and it's not targetted to the overall potential buyers. SRM is just another typical proton product, change there and here little bit. Let's wait and see how the sales volume tells..

• motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 3:41 am

Ok Gallardo… later find yrself a good income & buy a better car…

I own a kancil for more than 5 years… some minor repairs i do it myself.. many of kancil parts i opened oredi.. so i know P2 punya kerja…. not even body.. the chasis oso very fragile… welding work not so good oso… lucky i found one pomen can deal with the chasis repair… i saw how he opened up my kancil's body & saw what inside…

Wat i can conclude for kancil.. the produce cost is not more than RM12K only.. & the engine is the only part value for money.. the other parts sux… for instance standard kancil's rear absorber, can get the same quality in spare part shops for only RM30+… i have changed it with better ones… for better driving…

Still cant believe i bought it for RM29k in 2001 after i ve found out the level of its quality…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 3:52 am

fuuuyooo….joe…math teacher…dunno wut is the formula…hehehek….btw…ure rite…

go p2….perodua rule….predict in the future p3 WILL overtake p1….im not suprise….hahaha…

wake up protong…u hv to work with vw….jz imagine how vw is working with skoda…skoda dulu bullshit…nowadays…best…wake upla protong…or ure despair and goin to die???

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:02 am

www.autozine.org said…

“reliability problem is a hurdle Savvy must overcome. In Malaysia, Proton has poor reputation about quality and honesty. Every time it launched a new car it promised vast improvement in quality, but every time its customers found being cheated. Today there are less and less patriots willing to put their hard earned money on the gamble. No wonder Proton set a pessimistic domestic sales target of 40,000 Savvys in its first full year. That accounts for only 20-30% share of the local small car market. If it cannot shine in the protected home market, how can it export to Europe ?”

-from proton savvy article

“Quality and reliability used to trouble Proton. It is likely to continue in the Gen.2. Although production is taken place at a brand new factory with 60% assembly process performed by robots (compare to 30% of the old factory), the way its component suppliers work and the way it performs quality check still leave a lot of room for problems. Proton may be able to sell 50,000 to 80,000 Gen.2s a year as planned in the domestic market, but European customers are unlikely to take risk, especially the car has so many flaws and so little advantage in price.”

-from gen.2 article

“For political reasons, Waja is default to be a success in home market. In the next 10 years, it will overcrowd Malaysian roads. However, export business will be tough considering its below-standard quality and unattractive pricing. Buy Korean or Yugoslavian cars instead.”

-from proton waja article

www.topgear.com said…

“The interior isn’t quite as handsome and definitely not as well built as the rest of the car, though Proton reckons things will improve by the time the Impian cruises onto British roads in June or July. Some of the plastics, such as those on top of the facia, look like items from the VW Group parts bin, whereas other bits look as if they’ve been made from a plastic bin.”

-an article about waja

“Proton’s suggestion of a sporty drive is a bit optimistic. The harsh truth is that you could pick up an old-model Ford Focus for the same sort of money as this and it will be easier to sell on when the time comes. As for when my time comes, maybe Proton will have assumed a mysterious appeal by then.”

-an artical about gen.2

www.whatcar.co.uk said…

Quality & reliability ( 1 star out of 5 )

Proton has tried hard to give the Savvy a modern exterior look and has achieved a degree of success. The cabin is less convincing, however, because the plastics are hard to the touch and look dated already. A three-year warranty with breakdown cover is included, but it’s too early to comment on reliability

Refinement ( 1 star out of 5 )

The Savvy’s engine is gruff at all times and becomes wheezy and noisy at motorway speed. Wind noise also increases and becomes tiring, although road noise is less of a problem. Most rival superminis provided more refined transport.

-savvy article

Quality & reliability ( 1 star out of 5 )

Although the cabin’s styling is neat and modern, it is well behind the times for quality. The interior is awash with unappealing hard, shiny plastic and in many places the finish is poor. Overall build quality is similarly disappointing, while many of the controls have a flimsy, insubstantial feel. It’s too early to comment on its engine reliability.

-gen.2 article

Some of the trim feels plasticky and flimsy, and the engine is weak and noisy.

-waja article

protong…ubahla sikap…WAKE UP…DONT DREAMLA…plz la…dont make us shame anymore with this kind of comment from journalist…..really shame u know…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:09 am

yes reddevil…it is true…they should partner with big manu…especially vw group…they should…really respect wut they're doing to skoda and seat…

• cyborgx (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:34 am

nice findings from raybrig85

Proton icon now is officially a national SHAME.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:45 am

Thank raybrig85, we are not alone but all over the world, where P1 go, then got left-right-front-back-top-bottom bullets (from all directions). Ha, ha, ha, ha, ………. on home ground still want to claim as "national car project", want rakyat treat P1 as "patriotic icon". As one of our state MENTERI BESAR said, "Go to Hell lah"……..

• cbljkkj (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:59 am

As long as it matters to me, being "nationalistic" is a silly excuse to use when buying a car. It doesnt really matter if Naza is more business oriented.If they can churn out cars that are well built and priced reasonably in terms of manufacturing cost, they are more than welcome in my book.

I don't see any other countries rambling about national pride. Noone really cares. Patriotism must be earned and not demanded. People in other countries don't really care what car make they drive, it hasnt stopped them yet so why stop them now.

If a product is really that good, the public will love it for what it is. I just hope Proton can really revamp themselves mentality wise. Build cars out of passion, not solely for money making purposes.

• alamak (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:00 am

How is P2 a "national" car maker when 51% of it is owned by a foreign entity?

Which part of it says national car? The branding and advertising and PR that has brainwashed us! hahaha…

If P2 can be a national car, so is UMW toyota, or DRB Honda…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:03 am

this is one example of stupid person:

flizzardo said,

May 23, 2006 @ 8:19 pm

those who condemned this car before testing or even see one in real life are obviously retarded , there is no need to waste your time reading their comments

Joe Ooi said,

May 23, 2006 @ 8:37 pm

flizzardo – So by same argument, any Miss Universe or Miss World have to let all the judges to “test, touch and see real naked” only they are in the position to be judge and the girl can only have a chance to be crown as Miss Universe/World? Is that is the case? You ask yourself who is “obviously retarded” with this kind of low rung of shit statement! Proof me wrong, if you come out and defense your statement, that is your right but face the “consequences”! And of course you have to learn to face the “truth”.

raybrig85 said,

May 23, 2006 @ 8:59 pm

wei flizzardo…ure stupid…existance of spy shot picture….concept car…u know wut…u c wut the public will react….stupidla u…all carmakers comeout with spyshot pic…concept car…the reason…to get a comment frm public and to know wut the public will react…actually it will help them to improve the car…stupidla u…

with this kind of ppl like flizzardo…caner malaysian automotive nak maju….x sanggup trime kritik…huh…no wonderla proton kuar kete mcm ala kadar je n syiok snirinye model…plzla flizzardo…face the truth la…like wut joe said…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:17 am

"If P2 can be a national car, so is UMW toyota, or DRB Honda…"

haiyo…as i said before…alamak…umw toyota can be a national car…it is the main toyota distributor in malaysia…like auto bavaria…auto italia…cycle and carriage…i dunnola umw is wat..but i think it is wakil toyota distributor in m'sia….sori if im wrong…actually perodua is joint venture with daihatsu…but then..wut happen in japan…toyota bought daihatsu…and daihatsu become anak syarikat toyota…kalau nak tau lagi…anak syarikat toyota includes subaru,hino,lexus…including daihatsu as i said before…how come toyota wants to be our national carmaker??think about itla…tht's y u can saw perodua myvi…but then daihatsu sirion…and toyota passo….all of them was in the same design studio…and share the same platform…thts wut i knowla…sori if im wrong..actually this is the truth..daihatsu is anak syarikat toyota…then perodua joint venture with daihatsu…automatically hv link with toyota…ok…

if ure thinking like that…sime darby auto italia which distributor of alfa romeo also b national car la…cycle carriage mercedes-benz pon can be national car la…stupidla…

• disillusioned (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:31 am

I don't see any loss of national pride in shutting down the joke that is P1. If the government were that serious in promoting the national car, give me a damn tax break whenever i buy one. I can be bribed you know.

As far as i can tell, P1 has used up whatever goodwill or patience the people had for it. It's nothing more than a relic of one man's ego, unfortunately, poisoning a whole nation's automotive industry for years to come. The smart move now is for the goverment to remove whatever protective barriers / restrictions between the local car manufacturers. Let them fight it out on even ground. And may the better company win.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:32 am

alamak said,

May 23, 2006 @ 9:00 pm

How is P2 a “national” car maker when 51% of it is owned by a foreign entity?

Which part of it says national car? The branding and advertising and PR that has brainwashed us! hahaha…

If P2 can be a national car, so is UMW toyota, or DRB Honda…

Joe Ooi – what I know is Engine maker division is 51% own by Daihatsu. they still retain "national car sdtatus" by virtue of Perodua still majority own by Malaysian. So, alamak, the engine of Savvy is supply and 100% own by Peugeout, then by same argument, Savvy is also not a "national car"?

Which part, the most important part is the Perodua badge stick in front and backside of MyVi!

Ai yo yo yo, you drag in UMW Toyota or DRB Hicom, they are not "national CARS PRODUCERS/ASSMEBLERS" but "national car DISTRIBUTORS" UMW selling Toyota, DRB-Hicom, Chevy, Mits, Mahendra, etc, etc. See see n look look at Oxford Dictionary to diffentiate the menaing of producers/assembler and distributors!

• Paul Tan on May 24, 2006 at 5:38 am

Joe Ooi: The Savvy's engine is sourced from Renault not Peugeot.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:34 am

We Malaysian don't even have the true capability,yet want to waste Billions of Ringgit on a White Elephant just to show off so called 'Malayisa Boleh' Arroagant attitude…

So…what other "national project' the Barisan Nasional goverment wants to embark on????

SPM Pendidikan Moral also teach us to show our 'patriotic' by supporting our 'kereta nasional'.

So,the goverment's brainwash plan is very comprehensive……you buy national car,you are Patriotic…….

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:39 am

Well as long as there'll be BN, wot to do *sigh* … But thanks for the new on Proton overtaken by Perodua. It's good news to me. To many as well I'm sure.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:41 am

buy national car becoz dun enough money to own import cars…too pricey here…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:21 am

Thanks Paul Tan, "a combination of typo error and remembered wrongly". Suppost belong to Renault engine used in Clio I. Noted, your comment shall take precedent.

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:23 am

motorhead, Perodua is the next cheapest local producer of cars. Dont be so stingy la. Malaysia is many light years from where toyota at the moment thanks to proton. If u say u want quality, go buy TOYOTA la, or MErc. Sure good one. Sit on the bonnet no bengkok. Ask u smtg, why and how p2 overtake p1? I dont see any other reason besides being good in quality and design and pricing. If u r so worried abt accident, then drive properly. Kancil isnt built to widstand big accidents, unlike Merc or BMW……U pay for what U get. pay more , better q, pay less,

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:27 am

Plz allow me to do a survey here.

Folks, plz response by saying if you want P1 to go down right away or to continue to be our national pride.

I am for P1 to go down right away.

• kendo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:31 am

where ON EARTH

one see a MAJOR selling Model

like WAJA…

that

never Face-LIFT!!!!

Now,

even

Indian and chinese

are LAUGHING

at these KAMPONG TOYS!!!!

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:31 am

less q, i am sure u know how it goes….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:49 am

Dogster……U pay for what U get. pay more , better q,

Joe Ooi –

In our CarTaxLand – U pay more … for P1, get worst q………

If you want acceptable quality, U have to pay much more ….. for Toyota, Honda, VW, etc……

If you want tip-top quality, U have to pay sky high ……… for Mercs, BMW, Audi, etc ……..

So, we don't pay for what we get in this CarTaxLand! Your argument apply if no NAP and P1 – open market.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:52 am

Shame, malu, bu yau lian, tor sui ka…

Few words that summed up what is P1 today, overtaken by P2 even with NAP for protection.

Below is MORON’s Guide to NAP:

1. NAP helps to address traffic jam problem, without NAP, roads will be swamped by cars.

2. NAP helps to stabilize exchange rate, without NAP, money will flow out for buying foreign cars.

3. NAP helps to fund social projects, without NAP, there will be limited funds for roads, schools, hospitals, drainage….

4. NAP helps to maintain some people’s social status, without NAP, there will be many people driving Audi, BMW, Mercedes…

5. NAP encourage local R&D in car technology, without NAP, foreign auto makers will dump their substandard cars here.

6. NAP helps to nurture patriotism, without NAP, all will buy foreign cars.

7. NAP promote safe driving, without NAP, people will start driving recklessly because of the many safety standards fitted onto their cars.

8. NAP helps parts vendors/ service centers to survive, without NAP, less repairing and less parts replacement required.

9. NAP helps klims06 to remain attractive, without NAP, people will not buy tickets to see cars that otherwise can be seen on the road.

10. NAP helps to preserve social harmony, without NAP, people will start comparing cars with each others, as for now, less choice, almost the same cars, less comparison less jealousy.

11. NAP helps banks to operate efficiently, without NAP, bank workers processing auto loan will need to know so many prices of so many types of cars.

12…NAP helps to boost the competitiveness of the car industry, without NAP, foreign cars will eat local cars alive.

13… NAP helps car blogs to prosper, without NAP, there will be less negative things to comment.

Well, u may want to add to the above list in MORON’s Guide to NAP.

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:57 am

yeah no offence, but hmm. maybe i was in overseas for way too long. but it still applies to a certain degree mah here. in logical sense?

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:57 am

peace and no offence , motorhead :D

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:11 am

14. NAP help and create more opportunity to insurance company to make more money by virtue of higher insurance coverage due to high and higher prices for cars.

15. ……NAP help tow truck doing good biz as more cars prone to accident due to many unsafe cars on the road.

16. NAP spur crap vendor to produce more low quality component yet can sell at higher price… suck more money.

17. NAP is the most "patriotic" policy in Bolehland even compare to income tax by compel every consumer to make the world highest "patriotic contribution" – can put in Guiness World of Record.

18. NAP is a conduite and source of feeding the world largest Bolehland crocs species.

19. NAP is encourage rakyat to "change lifestyle" by buying smaller and smaller size car at higher price.

20. NAP is so good in creating liability to nation.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:24 am

21. NAP help bank doing brisk business in auto by virtue of higher car loan and longer period of repayment – more income to bank.

22. NAP help P1 to adopt "tidak apa" attitude and easy go lucky in producing car at leisure pace.

23. NAP help and change mindset of some local consumers see even low end budget cars like Jazz or Yaris as "high standard and luxury" due to pricey pricing.

24. NAP helping create unique species of King in Bolehland – AP Kings.

Let me sleep first and tomorrow think again still got anything to add to MORON guide's to NAP.

• stanleyshyeoh (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 8:43 am

Reading this, my bloody pressure also rise! Damn it.

• akari (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:49 am

is really perodua are 51% own by other? y i found this in their web or they forgot to update their own web? lol

http://www.perodua.com.my/perodua.php?sub_page=co…

• intermilan (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 11:17 am

6 Myvi vs 1 Savvy in sales??

Maybe the wave of rejection (of potong car) by the market still strong, sampai savvy menerima nasib this bad. i heard savvy sales is increasing over time.

now after some time being release, haven't heard serious complaints / defect about Savvy.

i don't like potong myself, but i believe market react too harsh on Savvy.

yes, interior is fill with dated hard plastic and engine could be whiny sometime etc 3x….

But overall, it is not a bad car at all. Sayang lah.

Imagine if Perodua yg release Savvy.

How would market react? this bad?.. don't think so..

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 3:19 pm

Why on earth did they name it the SAVVY.. Bloody idiotic name.. Watch the latest episode of topgear and see how Jeremy Clarkson says its an ok looking car, but considers it not cool coz its named the Savvy.. Worse is what s.a.v.v.y stands for. Stg like Sleek, avantagarde, very…… very….. and y… dun quite remember it but its … gahhhh.. nvm..

If perodua releases the savvy… they wudnt get such a bad response i guess.. they do have a better reputation out there.. but sales wont be that strong either coz it just looks like crap.

• shaun (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:08 pm

I remember when they first released the Waja in Australia at a price of AUD$29,990.

That's in the same price bracket as a Camry and Mazda 6.

And guess what? They didn't even sell a single one and had to reduce the price to AUD$22,000.

I guess their delusions of grandeur (BMW of Asia remember?) was a sign of over confidence.

Oh btw the Savvy is selling in Aus for AUD$13,990 (roughly RM38,124) fully loaded.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 4:11 pm

25. NAP is the "mother-of-mother" of "money-god" to P1, G, AP King, crocs, etc. So pray pray and pray pray hard to NAP generate more money from rakyat to them!

This is the greatest achievement by NAP in MORON guide’s to NAP.

• assimo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:03 pm

Todays news Najib said " …ia adalah persaingan sihat dan mesra antara Proton dan Perodua…"…hihihi…thats from outside la..inside nobody's now what happened. Thanks Mr raybrig85 for the article info…really opposite with the Readest Digest ' Trusted Brand Award ' for proton.I not see what reason P1 still want to cheating 'rakyat' maybe they think rakyat so stupid thats why they come out the most stupid advertising for savvy and see the result now what happen rakyat dun want a car that the monster like to take savvy to 'garu dia punya ketiak'.

Out of topic – Be carefull when visit usedcar at Bagan area because 2 bom found already there…wow the terrorist now dun like to BOM the embassy anymore, they like to BOM usedcar dealer…what the hell !!!!

• rexis (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:23 pm

P2 eating P1 for breakfast, many people want to comment! So better read from bottom…

Why not we print out this page, fotostate 10000 copies(anybody office has fotostate machine contribute 100) and distribute it thru out the lrt stations…

My family own 3 protons, basically 3 generation of protons! Saga -> Wira -> Perdana! Really no idea why it is still failling?? I know i will stick with my wira for some time, but one day, if i ever buy car, I will not buy P1!

My friend driving a new wira sat into my wira, i told him 10+ years old liao, he shocked and ask "why same with my car one….."

• Initial D (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:27 pm

the simple reason proton is not doing well…………IMO, its not a profit-based company…….its more like a sosial-based company…….

Cheers!!!!!

• Tracks (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:29 pm

To Joe Ooi and other non believers that Perodua should be claimed as Car Distributor instead of National Car producer, you are all wrong. Alamak was correct in the first place by saying that Perodua was merely an distributor.

akari said,

May 24, 2006 @ 2:49 am

"is really perodua are 51% own by other? y i found this in their web or they forgot to update their own web? lol"

The info you mentioned was correct however you should have look at the Perodua Group of Companies breakdown as well. Perodua Auto Corporation S/B (PACSB) is 51% owned by Japanese. PACSB controls the Perodua Manufacturing S/B (PMSB) and the Perodua Engine Manufacturing S/B (PEMSB) which is effectively the whole manufactring arm of Perodua. Perodua itself only controls the Perodua Sales S/B (PSSB) which is effectively the sales and distribution arm. Now, considering the above, how could it be called national car when it doesn't have a controlling stake in the manufacturing arm in the first place.

Secondly, the price for Perodua original part are expensive. This is so because it is a method to siphone back money to the parent company Toyota through its minions daihatsu, denso and etc. A simple fog/sport lamp switch for the Kenari cost around RM80 which is ridiculous. IMHO, no thanks to all this smart practice, the price for Perodua cars are above the affordable range.

Think about what I have said above and now do you still think that Perodua is a National Car.

I agree with everyone that NAP is a bullshit used to fooled Malaysian. One of the reason why P1 is in bad shape because there are suppliers who not only supplies below par parts but at a price that is way higher than the other suppliers of the same parts. All these happen because the P1 management & political party leader has vested interest in these compaines. Unless the new CEO could do something about it, things would hardly change.

• rexis (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:34 pm

We are just making our hard decision among these bad options.

• jtshin (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:43 pm

Well, P2 is aiming the right market so the sales boost up, the myvi really is a success as like wat others said, is for all range… young, old, family… n it's compact for street but roomy enough for families. an engine which is not bad, and even got airbags! P1, no ABS, no airbag, cheap materials… strange models, not tageting for the market needs… only keep on introducing their own concept which the market doesn't need that much, how can P1 survive like tat? n the SRM, I don't think it can boost the sales up, it'll continue be like Savvy… and i found out local models all don't have airbag which only left a hole above the console box… while export models all got airbags there filled in the hole, covered up nicely. and the price? same like local prices… Malaysian out there… don get cheated… getting an expensive car with no safety features… low quality materials… hmmm… pity… n they don;t even care about the complaints from public… how to improve sales?

• motorhead (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 5:43 pm

I think Joe oredi answered yr statement.. but its ok Dogster.. maybe u misunderstood… i was talking about manipulation of quality & over priced cars in TaxBolehland… it doesnt mean i can not afford to buy better cars.. i am sure many of us can.. but they just dont want make patriotic contribution to our generous gov, like me..

I oso wish NAP will fail & let them learn some lesson…. i really hate to see our gov & their capitalist frens keep manipulate us like morons… Recent Sarawak election gave them 1st signal….It gave one slap on the face…

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:06 pm

tracks,

if u saying like that..jz want to confirm of wut about at the top of the chart which malaysian group (umw,pnb,mbm,dmsb) 71.58% and japanese group (dmc,mitsui) 28.42% ???

can u explain about that???jz want to know and confirm about that…

• kendo (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:11 pm

our elected G Heads

all

TALKING cock…

on auto policy..

because..

they NEVER drive a

Potong…

(they drive Maybach…porshe,BMW….

no WONDER…

WONDERING where

their buying POWER from….)

rakyat..oh rakyat!!!!

make u choice wisely,

NEXT!

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:24 pm

if u wanna know…that's comment is journalist frm europe and hong kong…protong export thier car outside…and got a lot of complain like that…the car thier export is better than the car they distribute to the local/rakyat(rakyat di anak tirikan)….in term of quality wise…but then still kene kutuk frm journalist…i dunnola protong…x sampai standard lg…

coz ive got a fren who bought proton at uk…then he come to m'sia and drive my cuzin's car..which same model like he own to…after that he told me that y my cuzin's car is not like him…i mean in term of quality wise…bla..bla…driving pleasure….he said it is worst than his car…it shows that protong anaktirikan rakyat….is it true..then to confirm it…ask my fren at singapore…he owned the wira…dia pernahla bwk wira spec. m'sia…then same comment i got…confirmla…rakyat dianaktirikan…

NeedGoodCar…

ok…for ur survey…actually…i dun want protong to die…i want them to improve and wake up frm thier dream…but kalau da trok sgt n x dapat diselamatkan….its better for them to diela…

• Dogster (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:26 pm

kendo, wat ar u trying to do? Poem or rapping? hehehe

• Tracks (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:51 pm

raybrig85 said,

May 24, 2006 @ 10:06 am

tracks,

if u saying like that..jz want to confirm of wut about at the top of the chart which malaysian group (umw,pnb,mbm,dmsb) 71.58% and japanese group (dmc,mitsui) 28.42% ???

can u explain about that???jz want to know and confirm about that…

Aiyoh, you want me to explain the corporate structure methodology in a business environment. I suggest that you ask a friend who has a business background so that he/she could give you a lengthy explanation and examples. Too long for me to explain clearly.

• goingberserk (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 6:57 pm

sincerely, i dont like P1 at all. I hd few very bad experiences with P1 before from the Saga series to Wira models. All of them gives me major headache. However P1 did come out with a better quality car like Savvy but then again Savvy design sucks big time. Though it is a good, robust, agile ( i did tested it myself) but the space, design and aerodynamic shape of the car is just not there ! Myvi on the other hand , looks functionally and attractively designed but cant be said about the agility and chasis strength. I do believed public react negatively to all P1 models but the worst hit is Savvy which shd hv performed better. But u cant blame the people .. its the P1 team that SUCKS BIG TIME…. Cant do a single thing rite..No wonder P2 improves leaps and bounds. But then again warning to P2. do not let this success blind u !!. Keep on improving and my God… Pls lah P2 . dont make milo tin chasis lah.. improve the strength lah .. aiyoh…………. and i guarantee that u will reap the fruits of ur labour one day !!!!!!!!.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 7:04 pm

okla tracks…

this is wut i knowla…if we refer to the pie chart of the shareholder…perodua 49%…mitsui 7% and the rest is daihatsu…but…u hv to remember that mitsu and daihatsu is not anak syarikat toyota…only daihatsu…mitsubishi is other large carmakers in japan…as i said b4…mbe u all x prasan..anak syarikat toyota is lexus,daihatsu and subaru…if u look at the percentage…perodua still got a high percentage of the shareholder and still consider as a national car…:)…if..if mtsu is anak syarikat toyota…it consider that perodua is not belong to the us…but then automatically japanese and toyota's company…actually there are conflict at the joint venture of the mitsu and toyota bcoz they are the bigger company….in the pie chart…if only daihatsu hv large percentage…itss consider as a toyota's(perodua)…but then in the pie chart daihatsu is not the large percentage…if adding with the mitsui…baru tinggi dr perodua…like protongla….they bought lotus…protong pegang share paling bsar..and lotus is ours…but in this chart…ade 3 carmakers…perodua paling besar…so then perodua still ours….except in the future if toyota bought mitsu…and it will affect the perodua…time tu barula kate perodua bukan national car….hopefully all of u understand of wut im saying above…

i dunnola…tahts wut i thoughtla…my opinion..jz based on the pie chart and the structural chartla…

dun worryla…perodua is still ours…

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:16 pm

for me the best way is to show msians have the right to choose and Proton can close shop. who say cannot the G want to protect …if "rakyat' dont buy what can they do. if Proton dont close shop and they make "rakyat' suffer all the times then no need to call msian working in overseas as non-patriotic…how about ministers son and daughters study in International School…

set target one by one…we KILL OF PROTON first.

• Abu (Member) on May 24, 2006 at 10:23 pm

Joe Ooi said,

May 23, 2006 @ 3:45 pm

G now “very blood thirsty” as many GLCs losing money including P1. So not only they suck local rakyat with fuel hike, NAP, etc, etc. Now they want to find

G so desperate ah! ……….. so next election, at least have to give “protest votes”. In democracy, BN future is in the hand of rakyat because it is chosen by us, not as some BN politician claim that our future is depend on them. What a rubbish talking, if tomorrow don’t choose them, they “balik kampong tanam jagong”, there are endless qualified candidate to be a leader(s) in democratic country like our beloved Bolehland. Wah, 1st time come out with “political statement”! he, he, …. just layment view……

—> The impact already shown in recent Sarawak election…and we are glad to see this really happen and fellow city-zen has spoke out of themselves by casting the vote 'apropriately'.

Out of topic: is the election going to be next year? Rumour says election will be next year as Anwar will be eligible again if the election is held on 08.

• Abu (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 1:26 am

whodz said,

May 23, 2006 @ 11:39 am

Wow, that a good news. I hope that P2 will always be a passion throught Malaysian.

p/s : P2, don’t sell the myvi for 15 years to come, ok? :p

—> P2 may doing that but not for Toyota and Daihatsu…they dont practise that. Thats why we dont see outdated charade and corolla in the production anymore.

• Tracks (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 2:31 am

Hmm… raybrig85, ever wonder why they set up Perodua Auto Corporation S/B (PACSB) seperately in the first place since all the share holders in Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua S/B (Perodua) and PACSB are in fact the same. Simple reason is too give the controlling stake of the manufacturing arm to the Japanese while maintaining the controlling stake in its Sales and Distribution arm.

Point to ponder. Perodua owns 49% of PACSB and Japanese Co. (combined) own 51%. However, Japanese Co. (combined) owns 28.42% of Perodua and therefore owns 13.93% of the 49% of PACSB. Conclusion, Japanese Co.(combined) owns 51% +13.93% (Japanese stakes from Perodua) of PACSB making a total of 64.93% Japanese controlling stake. Manufacturing arm controlled by non Malaysian should not be called a National Car status anymore.

• raybrig85 (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 4:19 am

ic..but its wierdla…coz not heboh…i try to find other website…but didnt say about that…anyway…thanx for the info but still not sure about the perodua satus…i still assume it as a national car…:)

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 7:31 am

Only in Bolehland we talk about national car, this topic maybe hot even in Japan, UK, Continental or US after WW II up to 1980s. Most of you all also "terikut-ikut dengan cakap kosong P1 and boost of national car sentiment". Let us ponder on how far world class players like Toyota and DaimslerChrysler doing and achieve:-

1. Talk about content – if metal base component in the car, fairly to say all are imported because Bolehland only produce tin (now also almost minimum). So "national car" but "imported content"? This is just like British claim of "tea drinking" is part of "Britishness" identity, yet all tea are imported.

So, this is non issue and redundance but P1 make it so serious as one of criteria to define "national car".

2. "National" (except National brand for electrical appliances) is a bygone word for today free market commercialism. Please don't follow P1, still in 1980s mentality – "body grown but baby mentality after 21 years". Today commercial world is so challenging and sometime brutal in fighting for customers. We live in ICT knowledge base economy. Globalization, open market and trade liberalization is the jargon of today world class achievement. As I mentioned previously, Toyota never boost of "Japanese Icon" (at least can't find in Toyota Corporation website) but strive for continous improvement, innovation, strong tradition of R & D, seek smart partnership, "Local Best" and "World Best".

For DaimlerChrysler merger, it don't make Daimler Mercs less German and Chysler less American. What both of them fighting for is the world class player. No issue on national car, as there are Accord, Camry, etc fully make in America and some of them export back to Japan. No CBU and CKD issue – this is just NAP self created classification just like AP design to suck more money from rakyat.

3. Talk about P2 is not national car, but if this hold true by virtue of majority % not own by Malaysian, then also is not an issue because P2 is part of greatest big brother Toyota – P2 future is very secure even if go global. On the other hand, P1 harping on "National Car" sentiment even got beaten up by P2 in term of sales as recent as now!

4. Today jargon for the best of the best in commercial world are multinational (MNC not GLC), world class player not "minnow national player like P1". This is new millenium, not 1980s! lol ,……….

MNC is always better than GLC lol ……… P1 learn this code.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 8:02 am

What a big deal about "national car" status. This together with CBU, CKD, AP, etc is NAP "self created" classification design to suck more money from rakyat. Talk about majority % ownership also another criteria use by P1 to differentiate it from other as "national car" status. What is so great with this TITLE until many of us have to pay attention! and as it is deem lost face and patritism if we do not defend it.

Talk about "national", it is the yesteryear of jargon of 1980s, in which "patritic and nationalism" also incorporate into commercial project(s) and mainly own by GLC. What is the big deal about "national car" and GLC if this white elephant project suck more money from rakyat? Produce products that the majority of rakyat don't want? Luckily P2 "tidak terikut-ikut dengan cakap cakap P1", otherwise also get "P1 freak gene syndrome". P1 still go the gut to be claim as "national car"? At least P2 is part of greater big brother Toyota that can take on the world! P1 even can't survive in it own turf? WTF.

In today internal commercial world, ICT, knowledge economy, world class players, MNC is the jargons. P1 need to transform from GLC to MNC, Can P1 just like Toyota or Mercs become world class players? This is the real issue and challenges P1 have to tackle, not on "Limited Edition" on quality and "strategy alliance" talk cock in media! Remeber Toyota achieve world class player – local best and world best in products, not even mentioned as "Japanese Icon"! Mercs is part of DaimlerChryslers never make Mercs less German and Chrysler less American.

Actually there is no real invention by P1/NAP in auto sector, all are copy with the exception of AP, CarTaxLand, CBU, CKD, "national car", crocs, etc. is the "original invention" in this Bolehland. That is the only invention in our car market! Blood sucking money grabbing monster…………..

• cyborgx (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 11:09 am

I agree with Joe about transforming Proton from GLC to MNC, but unfortunately it's not going to happen. Najib announced that Proton will be given a "same level of competition". They still wouldnt let go of protectionism and it will still continue for coming years. No more Proton cars for me ,from now and the future.

• Dogster (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 5:14 pm

No more Proton cars for me ,from now and the future. and grand sons & daughters and grand grand sons and daughters and grand grand grand sons and daughters. hahahahahaha

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 5:49 pm

So to add more, just like Princess Mahsuri in Langkawi Legend, I swear that my "next 7 generations" won't use Proton cars! he, he ,he…..

• neurra (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 8:30 pm

huhu raybrig happily la calling people stupid.. i wonder if he has a PhD

• mycar_stolen (Member) on May 25, 2006 at 10:57 pm

Ooi said,

May 25, 2006 @ 12:02 am

What a big deal about “national car” status. This together with CBU, CKD, AP, etc is NAP “self created” classification design to suck more money from rakyat. Talk about majority % ownership also another criteria use by P1 to differentiate it from other as “national car” status. What is so great with this TITLE until many of us have to pay attention! and as it is deem lost face and patritism if we do not defend it.

agree with you this stupid terms only in TAXLAND…in other countries they have their minimu specifications requiremnts to ensure their "rakyat" satisfied and save.

in Malaysia it ensure CROCS to eat more and "rakyat" suffer and die.Malaysians is not the richest people in the world but need to pay more than the Americans, who can eplain this?

can we put this to an end? if we cant why we went to school at least for 17 years?

can decide how to use our own money? can we get thr FREEDOM to drive a better car? we cant wait for our MP's to fight for us? they got their AP then they keep quiet..we have to fight on our own proton must close shop.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 12:05 am

Strongly agree with you mycar_stolen, what we can do as rakyat and consumers is "DON"T BUY P1 PRODUCTS" – then P1 will "die naturally" – don't need to fight or ask MP to fight for us. Let P1 fight for their survival!

• jtshin (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 3:31 am

P1 wont die naturally la… if P1 die… means G-ment already die la… then rakyat cham le… haih…

• ingolstadt (Member) on May 26, 2006 at 7:21 am

EXPECTED.

When Proton use the tagline "Dare to change!" and right under the banner, they're still selling the Saga … I know this will come. Good job BODON

• topgunthang (Member) on May 28, 2006 at 3:52 am

to be honest to ourselves……p1 will never become a global player when it cant even succeed in its homeground……that is guaranteed…….we all know it but dont speak it…..

and its not that they were not protected or given incentives by the gman and support from loyal msians for 20 years…….

that trust and loyalty cannot be earned back….especially now that msians know that there are better cars out there that cost less and are more reliable besides having better performance. ….but its still true that the gman can still 'influence' us to buy proton….economically….whether u like it or not

proton of course will lose marketshare……just one look at the savvy explains all…….even for people who dont even know about proton.

• Driven2020 (Member) on May 30, 2006 at 7:59 pm

P1 sucks. buy savvy no airbag. gives crap specs locally but buffs up on export models.

http://www.channel4.com/4car/road-tests/road-test…

put savvy on the track test and showed commendable performance. but sales is still 1 p1 = 6 p2. it shows overall package is the real deal.

hmm p1 ppl might think "wow it takes 6 p2 to defeat 1 p1…" dumb-founded ass.

put ppl in F1 and say we are in F1. put some ppl on top of mt everest then say we are on top of the world. buy lotus then say we make sports cars. cmon i'd rather be humble than be fake.

msia has got the potential and the resources to do proper r&d. but seeing how things are running, i'd rather migrate.

P1 should go back to its roots starting back from its humble beginning and start making cars the way it should be. y not throw away p1 and start a new line all over again? throw away the rotten apple in the basket. give it a new name or something. though managed by same ppl i assure u the impression will be different coz name is different.

we just want something that we can be proud of. when i was studying abroad whenever i hear an angmo say p1 sucks i just stayed quiet coz i malu.

we are not asking much but they shouldnt ask much from out pockets the first place.

P1, the rakyat is ur only lifeline. pls pls pls if u can understand simple english dun throw it away.

• goldenduzz (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 3:33 am

Is there really any new model coming from Perodua soon?

I intend to purchase a Kenari now, anyone can provide me advise?

• WiraMan (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:11 am

Is about time now P2 shows how quality WILL make a difference.