Audi A1 artist impression

autobild_audi_a1_1.jpg

There are rumours that Audi may consider developing an Audi A1 to go against the likes of the BMW MINI Cooper. It may be based on the Volkswagen Fox platform. Autobild has artist’s impressions of how the Audi A1 might look like and frankly I think it looks horrible. More details after the jump.

autobild_audi_a1_2.jpg

Volkswagen group head Bernd Pischetsrieder does not confirm these rumours. He says that a small Audi would be a tricky thing to make. If it is of Audi standards, it might be too expensive and too close to the price range of the Audi A3. But if Audi makes compromises to keep the price low, it might damage the brand.

audi_a2_450.jpg

Audi’s previous foray into the compact car segment was the Audi A2, which was considered a flop and had it’s production stopped last year. The Audi A2 (photo below) was a competitor to the Mercedes Benz A-class, and weighed less than 1000kg for the petrol models. It came in 1.2 and 1.4 diesel models, and 1.4 and 1.6 petrol models.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• sewell (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:42 pm

the audi looks like our proton savvy !

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:44 pm

Well, i must say the look is actually unique.. if colored red, it may look like a car from hell.. not ugly.. but have an evil looks.. i like it.. look like a creature from hell or like aliens….. the designer has darkside touch…

• pycazu (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:49 pm

Urgghhh…. Yes Paul, this look really ugly! This first photo showing the car seem like having 2 big fierce eyes staring on u. Next more horrible thing is the big mouth full of jaws. But the real ugliest part is: the Audi 4 rings logo look like nose piercing to me…

• Zabimaru794 (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 7:55 pm

The front look needs a major facelift surgery..urghh..The grills remind me of my ikan bandaraya mouth..hahahaha…

• jtshin (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:34 pm

er… the lights doesn't look fierce to me… I think its horrible… haha… Savvy better looking la… aduh… but from the side n back it doesnt look horrible… quite nice lines there… just like wat Zabimaru794 said.. it needs a major facelift… haha…

• tbcheese (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 9:45 pm

They've confirmed that they're making a new A2. Supposedly due to appear in 2010. Although this time there wont be any high-tech aluminum. It's supposed to be sporty as the clever design of the old one was what killed it.

I hate the Darth Vader photoshop though.

• marmitecrab (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:38 pm

I love the design!

If I saw one of these in my rearview mirror, I'd get the hell out of the way. I also love the rear. Very sleek looking. The headlights look a bit like the BMW's 5 Series, though. Not sure if it's original enough.

If they launched this car and it's affordable enough, I'd buy it but only in 5-door configuration, please.

• silverfish (Member) on Jun 06, 2006 at 11:42 pm

And I thought the Beemers from the other post was ugly…this tops them easy.

• aesthari (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 1:42 am

Weird front, rear is not bad though. Kind of reminds me of a fish with big eyes with a mouth to match.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:03 am

Looks like a mouth of a fish wide open :D

• motorhead (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:13 am

Demonic.. The word I was looking for….

• szw (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:36 am

yucks , da front totally a failure .

da grill is totally wrong !

• raptorclans (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 4:13 pm

i think this is definitely a love it-or-hate it design. i like the lamps, and the oval grille, but now that pycazu mentioned d nose piercing, i cudn't stop laughing at it… lol! the rear's totally out too…

i liked d A2, but yeah, it was way too expensive. there's one running around in bangsar, real slick :D

• gepochai (Member) on Jun 07, 2006 at 5:38 pm

give it a facelift and remove that ugly pig nose and i think this car will look great.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 3:33 am

really ugly nose impression…ya…really need a major change…but the rear n side okla…quite nice i think…

• assimo (Member) on Jun 08, 2006 at 6:06 pm

i also said….UGLY!!!…from rear end is okey….

p/s – Just laughing when saw SSang Yong Kyron rear view…hahahaha…

• ingolstadt (Member) on Jun 09, 2006 at 9:03 am

These so called UGLINESS are actually a touch of dark, ugly art, such as the Fiat Multipla. UGLY? I'd vote the Toyota Unser and Hyundai Elantra. These are the true shit designs. Oh, the term 'Design' shouldn't be used at all, perhaps like they say, the designer of Toyota Unser was only given a ruler.

• claxxion (Member) on Jun 11, 2006 at 11:36 pm

I like the design. Cool. But if it comes here sure mahal wan.. Like mini cooper price. Damn. Audi mah.. Tax meh.. Oh yeah, the rear is damn nice.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Dec 05, 2006 at 4:32 am

Actually I kind of like the concept but the Bangled side gashes and front end might need a bit of tweaking before it can look acceptable.