Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Petronas launches new PRIMAX 3 fuel

Petronas domestic masketing arm Petronas Dagangan Berhad launched yesterday it’s new fuel called Petronas Primax 3. Primax 3 will replace Primax at existing Petronas petrol stations and will be priced at the normal RON97 price of RM1.92 per liter.

Petronas Primax 3 features a newly developed additive - SINAR G-05. The new additives in Primax 3 functions as a detergent, demulsifier, and also has anti-corrosion properties. SINAR G-05 was tested in labs in Malaysia, US and Europe. The result is a cleaner engine and improved fuel economy of a 5.6 percent on average compared to other lower quality fuels.

Petronas currently has 790 stations in Malaysia and plans to add another 60-70 this year. This would be a total of RM 350 million in investment, or an average of RM 5 million per petrol station. Petronas expects that the Primax 3 would help it gain double digit market share growth. It currently holds 31% of the fuel market share, and 40% of total petroleum product market share.

17 Comments »

1. pycazu said,

June 6, 2006 @ 11:41 am

Currently used to with Petronas fuel already, pump out big buck of money every months and contribute to Petronas a lot. Hope this fuel really help as i’m suffering a lot on petrol price hike due to long distance travelling. :P

2. sewell said,

June 6, 2006 @ 11:46 am

it is only 5.6% of fuel economy. but i will go and try it out.

3. Zabimaru794 said,

June 6, 2006 @ 11:48 am

Ya larr..can used kad mesra oso..rm1=1point maa..:)

4. fookeatmin1989 said,

June 6, 2006 @ 1:01 pm

what addictive is that?detergent?
    is it hazardous to human??

5. Paul Tan said,

June 6, 2006 @ 1:17 pm

it’s to clean the engine’s insides.

i think any petrol is hazardous to humans… -_-”

6. jtshin said,

June 6, 2006 @ 1:30 pm

well… 5.6% erm… at least save some? fuel prices are so expensive nowadays… hope this new fuel will increase the milege of the cars… n save it for few more yrs cos fuel is nearly coming to an end here…

7. Tourist said,

June 6, 2006 @ 2:49 pm

5.6% improvement in fuel economy is a lot and you don’t have to pay extra! For instance, using expensive Fully Synthetic oil only give you 4% better fuel economy compared to using cheap mineral oil.

Well worth trying out.

8. Joe Ooi said,

June 6, 2006 @ 4:17 pm

But rumour or “angin” is that G may increase fuel price again as earlier as next month eventhough after last increment told us no more for this year and “change your lifestyle”. The increment may be more than one time to match the “market price” of around RM 2.50 per L.

Agreed with Tourist that it is worth to try it given that it is at same price.

9. Initial D said,

June 6, 2006 @ 7:36 pm

all same de la…..maybe put abt 3x more addictives inside tat petrol…..tat’s y call primax3……..

or maybe wanna fight V-power?

Cheers!!!!!

10. mystvearn said,

June 6, 2006 @ 8:04 pm

I thought some super petrol, or biodiesel, or something. This is hardly something

11. motorhead said,

June 6, 2006 @ 8:19 pm

I use to tuang minyak petronas!.. it got power.. but sometimes I tuang minyak Caltex.. not as powerful as primax, but engines run smoother… dunno how primax 3.. need to fill full tank & drive long distance.. then can know the difference….

12. szw said,

June 6, 2006 @ 8:30 pm

if dey find a way to reduce petrol price i’ll be even happier !

13. wmzhaffran said,

June 6, 2006 @ 10:48 pm

i agree wif u szw
    :)

14. yytellmey said,

June 7, 2006 @ 1:20 am

i might have a try since its RM1.92/L

no harm for trying

15. alamak said,

June 8, 2006 @ 1:50 pm

“”The new additives in Primax 3 functions as a detergent, demulsifier, and also has anti-corrosion properties. SINAR G-05 was tested in labs in Malaysia, US and Europe. The result is a cleaner engine and improved fuel economy of a 5.6 percent on average compared to other lower quality fuels.”"

It says a Primax 3 better compared to low quality fuel…

Is there any low quality fuel in our market? Or just some clever marketing spin to allow themself to say they are better (compared to inferior product - ah but then).

16. intermilan said,

June 10, 2006 @ 3:41 pm

alamak,

bukan kah suma fuel here (Sell ke, Esok ke, Mau bill ke) is low Q fuel.. all ppl should know this what. maybe exception the vi-Paw wow from Sell.. maybe.

Can we have comment, insight from O&G ppl out there?

17. motorhead said,

June 12, 2006 @ 2:09 pm

This petrol good la.. poweful like b4, but smoother like caltex…

previous post: Audi Q3 and Audi Q5 Artist Impressions
next post: Audi A1 artist impression

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!