Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Mahindra wants to CKD pick-ups

small_scorpio.jpgIndian automotive manufacturer Mahindra & Mahindra and DRB-HICOM’s unit USF-HICOM (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd are currently studying a proposal to assemble CKD pick-up trucks via a joint-venture in Malaysia. USF-HICOM’s management is currently studying the feasibility, and in-depth talks have not been held yet.

USF-HICOM currently distributes the Mahindra Scorpio SUV in both petrol and diesel variants here in Malaysia. Mahindra’s pick-up truck arsenal includes the Mahindra Utility, the Mahindra NC640DP, the Mahindra Pik-up and Mahindra Pik-up CBC.

DRB-HICOM also distributes pick-up trucks from Mahindra’s main Indian rival, the Tata Group. DRB-HICOM’s unit Scott & English (Malaysia) Sdn Bhd sells RM60 million worth of Tata vehicles yearly. Previously, there was news about Tata assembling cars here in Malaysia, which might include the Tata Indica small-sized city hatchback.

Related News:
Possible Tata Indica local assembly
Mahindra to assemble pick-up trucks in Malaysia
Proton and Mahindra strategic alliance

15 Comments »

1. raybrig85 said,

June 16, 2006 @ 10:44 am

i dun like this car…it is rubbish..

2. jtshin said,

June 16, 2006 @ 10:53 am

Well, this is Indian car and every country got their designing concept… At my place here, I only saw one Tata Safari and few Tata 4×4 forgot wat’s the name.. and no Mahindra… wonder how’s west Malaysia’s market for Mahindra… seems like USF HICOM is selling a lot of strange vehicles…

3. cratzelogy said,

June 16, 2006 @ 10:59 am

i dont trust HICOM much.

4. Initial D said,

June 16, 2006 @ 11:13 am

i saw tata vehicles…….but no mahindra wo……….

well, CKD then CKD la…….

Cheers!!!!!

5. torq said,

June 16, 2006 @ 11:53 am

If is comes with Renault engine, sorry lah!

6. rexis said,

June 16, 2006 @ 12:35 pm

Got 1 mahindra in my condo, another one in my office, haha, but no doubt rare sight.

7. gen2rocks said,

June 16, 2006 @ 2:12 pm

OI , where the hell is the new satria neo posting?!

8. Paul Tan said,

June 16, 2006 @ 2:25 pm

gen2rocks: Press embargo until 6pm. I can’t do anything. Sorry!

9. KY said,

June 16, 2006 @ 2:27 pm

gen2rocks: just chill like a good boy. kthxbai

10. motorhead said,

June 16, 2006 @ 3:04 pm

Can hardly see 1 scorpio on the road.. tp lantaklah, nak CKD, CKDlah.. tgk ada org nak beli x….

11. xg9 said,

June 16, 2006 @ 5:25 pm

no one cares about mahindra.. lol.. poor thing

12. szw said,

June 17, 2006 @ 10:53 am

good luck 4 surviving in m’sia !

13. ryan_foong80 said,

June 17, 2006 @ 11:22 am

hMMM…..

14. jtshin said,

June 17, 2006 @ 11:22 am

Is just like Proton selling in UK… hahahaha… nobody cares bout it…

15. Akazamabamaboo said,

July 21, 2006 @ 9:08 am

YUCK!

previous post: New Toyota and Lexus CBU models by end 2006
next post: Proton Satria Neo 1.3 and 1.6 In-depth

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!