R3 Waja and Gen2 coming up?

small_r3_1.gifA little bird told me that Proton’s Race Rally Research division will be launching new R3 special edition variants of the Proton Waja and the Proton GEN2 very soon. While these will not be R3 Limited Edition Vehicles like the Proton Satria R3, anything with R3’s touch is likely going to be special.

Full specifications and perhaps photos to come later! Target launch date is sometime in August 2006. For now, I’ll post a photo of the GEN2 R3 Concept previously displayed at the Dreamcars Asia Motorshow 2005 for you to put your imagination at work.

gen2r3concept.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i'm run (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:05 pm

Woo.. finally.. Can't wait to see both of the cars.. I wonder how much would it cost?

• Jay (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:06 pm

Wow this is what i've been waiting for….having already being the owner of waja & then gen2, i still love modified r3cars. Despite having some defect problems here & there but it's still cheap & more affordable than the vios (limited space) & city (ugly duckling).

I hope to go for either 1 of these 2 models. Preferably R3 gen 2….because of it's stunning looks and rigid handling & of cause lighter..

I would skip that waja mainly because of it's large fuel tank….with that current fuel price……as long as i have a r3 will do…..satria r3 was a bit too expensive then.

The moment is here…thanks paul for the update…..!

• i'm run (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:08 pm

Hey Paul.. you got the pictures already right?? So, you have to wait untill the launch date, to post it??

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:09 pm

no lah, don't have picture yet. but soon maybe.

• OvaBoost (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:12 pm

cool.. can't wait to see it on the road… will it be the same specs as the previously displayed? Hopefully with Variable Valve Timing this time round… Add more power to existing campro machine!

• OvaBoost (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:18 pm

PROTON GEN.2 R3 CONCEPT

Engine

* In-line four cylinder 16 valve DOHC transverse mounted PROTON S4PH

* 1597cc, Stroke 88.0mm, Bore 76.0mm

* Max Power : 135hp @ 6,490rpm

* Max Torque : 154Nm @ 5,480rpm

* Max RPM : 6,800rpm

* Performance : 0 – 100km/h 9.7secs, Top Speed 215km/h

* R3-tuned Siemens EMS

* Multi-point injection fuel system

* Recommended fuel quality : 98RON Super Unleaded

* R3-tuned camshafts

* Larger fuel injectors

* Exhaust system : R3-tuned Full Exhaust System

Transmission

* F5M41 Five-speed manual

Chassis

* Lightened and stiffened chassis developed from PROTON Gen.2

Bodywork

* Weight optimised body

* R3-designed ground effect bodykit

* X28 Incognito Black with R3 Blood Stripe

* Total weight ~ 1100kg

* Black full leather Momo Tuner steering wheel with red-stitching

* Recaro SR4 front seats with matching rear seats trim

* Lightened interior trim in black and R3 red

Suspension

* MacPherson Strut with anti-roll bar front and Multilink with anti-roll bar rear

* R3-tuned suspension geometry

* R3-tuned front and rear anti-roll bar

* R3-tuned spring and damper rates with lowered ride height

* R3 stiffer rubber suspension bushes

Braking System

* Non-ABS system

* Cross-drilled and slotted ventilated discs with R3-Mintex high performance brake pads front

* Cross-drilled and slotted solid discs with R3-Mintex high performance brake pads rear

Rims / Tyres

* Lightweight R3-Advanti RSW-01

o Front / Rear : 7J x 17

* Yokohama Advan AD07

o Front / Rear : 215/40 R17

Electrical System

* Foglamps removed for weight reduction

• my accord has gone.. (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:22 pm

OvaBoost……

how u get there information???

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:35 pm

The specs OvaBoost posted are of the GEN2 Concept shown at Dreamcars, which may be an indication of how the final product might be like but not necessarily.

• Chapree Da Grande (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 7:58 pm

Finally! I'm looking forward for Gen.2 R3 ^_^

• xg9 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 8:05 pm

Paul, is gen2 r3 gonna be using led taillight? i saw one in bangsar on the road… maybe it was the concept car. it was sooooo nice and im thinking of getting one..

• hazri99 (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 8:14 pm

waja R3
    http://i67.photobucket.com/albums/h304/wisedowner…

• drM (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 8:14 pm

I am drooling about the prospect of Waja R3. Any possibility of a turbocharger or supercharger to be mount in?

• Deodorant (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 9:14 pm

Well, the thing about the Satria R3 was that you were supposed to buy it, and then do absolutely nothing to it – the package was "complete."

Of course that didn't stop someone from modding his Satria R3 to forced induction.

With the Gen2/Waja R3, it does seem like R3 is just going to do "minor" mods, as in the "Savvy R3 version" currently available for rm46k that comes with only R3 springs, muffler & bodykit.

• szw (Member) on Jul 22, 2006 at 10:57 pm

i would like to see da waja r3 oni .

• Paul Tan on Jul 22, 2006 at 11:32 pm

check out the image in hazri99's comment, looks great.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 2:29 am

according to the spec dat overboost posted it…in term of performance still slowla…i know dat jz a concept…hopefully for production will be much faster…

• freeze (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 2:59 am

Hope that the Gen2 interior would be of dark colour. But its not possible right?

• ... (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 5:03 am

Hopefully its really a "special edition", coz AFAIK they would be launching a "zerokit" version of Gen2 and Waja; something similar to what they have done to the Savvy. Hopefully it doesnt go down the line like all the previous proton's "special edition" models; special for the 1st few months and suddenly the "kit" is free with all protons!

• pixie_wawan (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 6:51 pm

when i look at hazri99 post.. im sure waja r3 not like that..

• Celicazz (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 7:07 pm

aiyya deodorant, bout the savvy r3, as you thought, it is not r3… the advert is clear when they say " r3 zerokit" not the whole r3 modification… it just a variant… u want to see our locals doing dynamic improvement rite? then thats it maaa… juz like subaru and others did… savvy r3 zerokit only maa, not real r3 savvy…

• charleswkc (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 7:12 pm

According to R3's media manager, Amin, he said the 'real' R3 version of Gen.2 will be out in 2-3 years time. Certainly the version that is coming up will be like the Savvy's R3 Zerokit type.

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 23, 2006 at 10:18 pm

Well, Gen2 R3 doesn't look bad. but the waja R3, I don't think its only that right? seems there's not much changes, just changing the rims? n take off the badge n some stripes on? I don't think its that easy. That's my point of view. I'll wait till the launching… hope it can amze me… btw, hope it doesn't hv any technical problems n other bugs around… it'll be a pity…

• carlover (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 2:01 am

i saw the cars like 3 months back…i even saw the Kleemann's version of waja, estimated to be produced around 3000units. I was told by the Tuning Company (which isnt r3) for those cars that they are going to showcased at the motorshow but didnt.

Why?

First its surprising that R3 is launching the models because sources in Proton told me they want to get rid of the R3 Group, hence theyre losing money and payments by R3 to their partners are not paid…Proton are refusing to! So no cant do! This was a month ago, dont know if they've settled it. They should, proton needs to blend in some youth in the Company to grow and ofcourse, no more political powers in there la ha ha

As for the 'K' Waja, god knows why they didnt put it up at the motorshow, ive seen the model in person….but the car is dead ugly :)

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 2:12 am

aiya, that waja r3 r fake maa..d you guy notice about the race rally research sticker? the ori colot is white not silver mehh…and the ral r3 oso got red word like show at gen r3..i have seen this pic before, some1 say it is customize by r3 die hard fan.

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 2:13 am

If real waja r3 oso maybe they will not remove the proton emblem..like in gn2 and r3 savvy…

• i'm run (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 3:46 am

Just a clearer picture of Waja R3 posted by hazri99 earlier.
    http://img221.imageshack.us/img221/654/wajar32ne9…

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 4:07 am

??what the different??

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:28 am

Huyoo.. this is intersting… specs quite good… 135hp? max speed 215kmp?.. can be a chase car for police.. or brake the law & runaway from police.. mana-mana pun boleh… it has evil look, like Darth Vader… mmg racing punya nih… if rear drive, can be a hell driver, and make KL drift, a personal movie.. hahaha…

• szw (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 6:00 am

da waja looks standard lar

i was expecting sum bodykit so i can get .

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 10:28 am

fact is…the the r3 team is dying to reli dish out a stunnin waja…but like i said FACT IS..as we all know..the waja is based somewhat on the mitsubishi lancer evo series…accordin to an engineer i know that works for mitsu…proton;s not allowed to do so as it can hurt sales of its evo series..as we all know. its a major product for mitsu…..and fact that mitsu still provied a lot of engineering know how…tats the agreement….although many dudes out there try to make their waja's like evo's and sometimes they just fool u until u take a realy good look….imagine if proton actually came out wit a killer of a waja look that even looks just like the evo..that hurt the image of the evo series…i mean yes.proton is a small time carmaker compared to mitsu but they cant risk hurting their most popular product even by a 'small' company and we all know proton does design nice cars on their own and the japs are scared that one desingner mite have his CHRIS bangle moment and thats it…this is are the real reasons why we still dont have variable valve timing in our engines or any kind of paddle shiftin mecanism..i mean apart from the savvy where renalut sold to them firt generation AMT..'S…the AMT;S of today are much smoother in bigger makes…i guess we will continue to get a short hand of the stick in technological tersm just like the koreans suffered wit lacklustere engines and suspensions from the japs and europeans..the koreans got out of it and if we have our malaysia boleh spirit i guess we will too…we surely cant beat them in technology for now….but we got the japs were never knows for artistic flair..excludin certain brans such as mazda which seem to be very european nowdays…..and our local carmakers should be brave and bring out bold and never seen b4 desgins instead…in this way we will be noticed and be given better support to grow just like wat happeed to da koreans..as for now…dun hope for a stunnin car by r3 in terms or performance just yet..the performance figures on even the gen2 accodrin to the spec sheet can be beaten easily by hot versions of jap cars of da same or lesser displacements….u cant do much on da waja…but as for the gen2 and neo….its all in their hands…..

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 5:05 pm

Well, not just models that nv seen before, but also much more better qualities! not only never seen before quality a.k.a lousy quality. Give ppl more faith in the quality n design, then it'll do better,

• theyein (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 8:21 pm

hey, where'd you get the picture of that black Waja!?? That can't be an R3 car… I've seen it around my housing area, it has no bodykit..

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 9:51 pm

those R3 PROTONS…so good ka? no more faulty power window?

p/s Only in Msia when a car in front you paying the toll or parking with open door DEFINITELY a Proton. it is a signature move.

• superman (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:30 pm

mycar_stolen said,

July 24, 2006 @ 1:51 pm

those R3 PROTONS…so good ka? no more faulty power window?

p/s Only in Msia when a car in front you paying the toll or parking with open door DEFINITELY a Proton. it is a signature move

Aiyo friend ,

R3 is the performance division not the fix-power-window-problem-division

• Bbingbong (Member) on Jul 24, 2006 at 11:46 pm

kah kah kah u r rite superman…

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 12:40 am

i can just see it now, R3 power window motors upgrade kit, open-window position to closed-position in just 1.5 seconds.

if im a bimmer owner, I will probably want the "M" badge on my powerwindows also, to complete the look of the "M" badge on the engine cover, side strips, rims, rear boot…etc.

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 1:03 am

ok ok my point is

"is it worth to spend extra thousands RM for this R3 versions?"

if PROTON ALLOW A TUNING HOUSE/ARMS/DIBVISIONS/ to sell this kind of car with money spend on r+r+r do they solve the initial probelms?

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:14 am

SoMeOnE, Waja = Mitsu Carisma

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:16 am

1.5s? wanna chop head izzit

• SoMeOnE (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 8:20 am

i know driven 2020….thats why i said SOMEWHAT BASED….not the same platform..they do share identical drivetrains..the regular lancer and the waja ya know….

• WiraMan (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:06 am

Doesn't look any difference to me,… just another plotong with face-lift??

• WiraMan (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 9:08 am

Looks the same to me,… hopefully not another plotong with face-lift only ??

• Driven2020 (Member) on Jul 25, 2006 at 5:34 pm

So this is what p1 does with overstock.

At singapore using the AYE expressway left hand side going towards Jurong there are loads of overstock p1 as far as the eye could see. Every Singaporean/Johorean can see this.

Wira came out with limited edition Aerobacks. Limited Edition? of course it is. Limit is 5 million units? gimme a break.

I dun understand why we have to put up with this. Singaporeans maybe kiasu but they get the quality they pay for. they would not settle for anything less than this load of kaka.

• scudracer (Member) on Jul 26, 2006 at 12:01 am

What happened to the "KLEEMAN WAJA"?

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:38 pm

Gen2 R3!!! I'm lovin' it!!! :D

• renz..... on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:56 pm

where is the picture of proton waja????

• renz..... on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:58 pm

any special edition cars coming???

• how can i get more information about R3 waja.

how cost to change