Brunch @ BMW Photo Gallery and Experience

BMW had their Brunch at BMW session over the weekend, with Saturday as a private affair for selected people and Sunday as an event open to the public. They also had test drives for the public. A myriad of cars were available for selection, 3-series, 5-series, 7-series, and MINI Coopers. I decided to go check the place out and grab photos for you guys who didn’t manage to make it there, at least you’ll be able to enjoy the event virtually here. :) Click each photo for a larger version.

My Brunch @ BMW Experience

I arrive at the Bukit Kiara Equestrian and Country Club after hunting for the venue for quite some time. From my experience with Starlight Cinema, I decided I would not bother with the parking near the event and parked slightly further. Felt abit out of place, as I was driving a 1984 Nissan Sunny while everyone else rolled in with nice German wheels of the 3-point star and Bavarian variants.

I walked up to the venue. There were plenty of families and young couples. Dads holding their sons’ hands, pointing at the sleek BMWs. Bad move uncle, they’ll be asking for a BMW 335i for their 18th birthday. Was wondering where the registration counter was, when I noticed the sleek white and black BMW 1-series adorned with M-Sport decals. Started taking photos. After I was done with the cars at the entrance, I walked in and was greeted by a BMW M5. Sweet. Took pictures of whatever angles I could. Wasn’t really able to get good rear shots as they parked the car close to the mirror. Walked around and took more photos, then I decided it was time for a test drive.

The counter girls were very friendly. Signed an indemnity form and proceeded to the next counter to sign up for a test drive. Since I just tested an Audi A4, naturally chose it’s closest competitor in terms of power, the BMW 325i. After letting them inspect my driving license, I proceeded outside to the test drive counter. Gave them the form and they brought out the BMW 325i. I tried to get in, but the seat was pushed too far forward. So I sat in the car with half my butt on the chair and used the electric seat controls to move the seat rearwards. The electric seats move slower than the ones on the Audi, and there was another car waiting to pass from the opposite direction and my open car door was blocking him. Whoever that was, sorry!

Once I got in, the helpful Auto Bavaria personnel showed me how to start the car. You insert the key into a slot, and press an engine start button. The six-pot fires up. I shift into D, and press the throttle. Feels very spongey, and roll-off was seriously slow and laggy. Took really long to rev up to about 2,500rpm and then it shifted into 2nd gear. It felt like a clutch that was slipping very very badly, but this was a BMW 325i with a 6-speed automatic transmission. What on earth was wrong with the car? Drove out to the highway and took two laps up and down the Hartamas highway. Managed a speed of about 140km/h before cars got into the way. The power is not bad, but it screams in at high RPMs instead of the Audi’s massive torque at low revs. The screaming BMW is fun, but big torque is very addictive as well. I am not really decided which one I like better since my time with the 325i was so short. Strangely, the 325i’s engine is no torque underperformer either, quoted to have 250Nm of torque peaking at 2,750rpm. Horsepower peaks at 6,500rpm – 218 horses to play with. But somehow it felt weaker than the 2.0 TFSI. Of course, remember this is a really really short test drive. The car felt more agile and steering was more precise than the Audi, I suppose this is because the BMW is rear-wheel driven.

After the short run on the highway, we rolled back into the venue. The BMW felt horrible at low speeds. I didn’t believe this was how the car was supposed to feel like. So I went through the whole test drive sign up thing again and picked a 525i instead to see if the engine and transmission was supposed to feel like that. Strange, when I want to test drive a 3-series, they just pointed me to the test drive counter, but when I wanted to test drive the 5-series, they had a cute girl escort me. I recognised her as one of the models that usually grace car events. She was one of the girls at the Honda Civic launch. Back to the car. The BMW 525i felt totally different. Throttle response was exactly what I imagined it to be. I am convinced that there was something wrong with the BMW 325i that I tested. I was there pretty late in the evening so perhaps it was trashed earlier in the day, so something had gone wrong with the transmission.

The BMW 525i I tested was equipped with the M-Sport package, so it had a nice M steering wheel as well as a sporty suspension. Damping was typical of a sporty suspension, not as comfy as the standard one on the 325i’s. The BMW 525i felt really good on the highway. The Auto Bavaria personnel told me to slow down to 80km/h on a certain stretch because of speed traps, so I did. Believe me, I think you can’t blame drivers of the E60 5-series for speeding on the highway because 80km/h felt annoyingly slow in the car. My driving experience with the car was mostly straight-line, but the lane change composure at high speeds felt extremely sure and steady. Impressive.

I wanted to get my dose of mega torque at low revs (I miss the A4!) with the BMW 525d, but there was only one unit and it was a pretty hot item, with the car not getting a rest from test drives, going in and out of the venue repeatedly. I guess people are really taking a good look at diesels these days with the rising fuel prices. Didn’t want to wait, so I left. It was a pretty good experience, and I got to try out the BMW 3-series so I can compare it somewhat to the Audi A4, even though it was for a really short while. Now all I need to do is get my hands on a C-class.

I hope you enjoy the photos I’ve uploaded. Click on each image to view a larger copy.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• infinity (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:17 am

the coupe nice leh…can satria neo be coverted to tat way?like proton putra…

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:27 am

paul post bigger pics la thn we can put as wallpapers! atleast 1280*1024

• Paul Tan on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:32 am

just click on the photos, got bigger version. if you want an even bigger version, use the contact form and email me and tell me which one you want. i will send high res to you.

• stephen_ksf (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:36 am

paul…wats wif the mini seven, parklane and checkmate? new models or rename of the existing models or new variants?

• cnc (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:48 am

The red X5..nice!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 10:44 am

The white and black roof 120i looks great eh? Especially in BMW 'M' Sport colours and body styling. But it should've been the 130i, which would do more justice to the motorsport appearance.

The RM1 million bucks BMW M6 may be one of the most gorgeous coupes produced by BMW but really, besides the performance (which is already mighty fine in the cheaper M5), subtle body styling and alloys, you need only spend RM200k less with the 645i and still look like a playboy.

The red X5 4.8i is a scorcher of an SUV(a match for the Cayenne, I'd say) but the problem is, there's an all-new X5 which makes the 4.8i sound expensive.

Same thing with the MINI. Whether it is now called a Park Lane or not, there is also an all-new model out in Europe. And if I'm a rich fella, I'll either order one privately or wait for the new one to arrive.

• armandd (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 1:39 pm

the M6 coupe in that colour is one of the most beatiful car ever!

• armandd (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 1:42 pm

infinity said,

August 28, 2006 @ 1:17 am

the coupe nice leh…can satria neo be coverted to tat way?like proton putra…

it is an insult to the coupe that u compare it to neo and putra…

• FarinaRacer (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 2:50 pm

THE COUPE REALLY NICE………………….

• KY (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:06 pm

where're the pictures of those "friendly" girls???

• pirate (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:14 pm

The event was not at KLGCC lah, Paul.

• raz_R (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 6:32 pm

joanne escorts you while you were out thrashing the car? lucky you O_o

they dont have the 535d out there?

the car has an immense amount of torque low end

the acceleration is relentless :D

• terenceg (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 7:36 pm

i saw a chick driving m6 coupe !!! DAMN KAU NICE THIS DAMN KAR. but i feel is abit too thick at the back…might " LAT MEI" more

• scottaliano (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 7:59 pm

Paul..i thot i saw u yestesday when I was about to leave.

• redragon (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:11 pm

Paul, my suspicion with the 325i that you tested was in the snow/winter mode. maybe someone accidentally pressed it. that way you drive off in 3rd gear ( meant for not slipping on ice/mud).

you should really get a test drive in a Golf Gti if you like the A4. Go to Amazing Tempo or Brooklands and ask for one, they'll oblige you. If you're in Penang, I'll get a test drive for you, anytime.

• bringeroflite (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:30 pm

Hi Paul, I was the first counter girl you met, the one that handled your registration and passed you your first indemnity form. Had to take a second look at the registration before I realized it was you. They had a X3 available to test drive as well, but hardly any of the staff knew about it til much later in the day.

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:31 pm

armandd, infinity only asks whether the colour scheme can be done on the Proton lah. And it can what, just a simple black roof with white paint.

It's not a first for BMW either what. Merc E-class already doing it and so does many other European cars.

I'm so glad that BMW Malaysia brought in the 320d Touring, now we can experience one of the world's best diesel engines on a premium estate!

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 8:37 pm

That M6 colour scheme, believe it or not, is officially called Sepang Bronze by BMW!!!

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:03 pm

ya correct , the m6 shown above is indeed called the sepang bronze! time to sing negaraku!

• armandd (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:23 pm

owh like that huh.. i see..

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 9:52 pm

first time i saw that color or a close similar shade was on the usdm integra type s. make the car look expensive.

i reckon the gti will shadow the market share of the audi turbo fwd. the gti is just too good for its own extended family sake.

paul u got any pics of yourself to post? hehe

• asimo (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 10:04 pm

joe oiii u suka enggak?

• szw (Member) on Aug 28, 2006 at 11:08 pm

i saw dat 1-series in glenmarie b4.

if im not mistaken it has twin exhaust.

• pycazu (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 12:38 am

How lucky Paul u deal with so many show gals around…

So, next time wish to see u pose with those beauties, but remember don't park ur current car anywhere nearer, walking is a good exercise…

• narrowband (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:04 am

Are there redundant pics or is it just me?

The interior shots (dashboard and rear aircond vents) aren't the M5's. Because..:

1) M5's gearknob very short one, with "M" logo.

2) Missing paddle shift behind the steering wheel.

3) The M5 was parked inside a covered area.

The M5 and M6 are really beautiful!!!

HUGE rims always make BMWs look stunningly sexy. Love those quadpipes and the rear bumpers – nice integration.

And yes, that's Sepang Bronze. The same colour is also offered for M5 as well.

SatriaGuy,

Black roof with white paint? Or is it the other way around?

BTW, the roof on some of the E-class could actually be a panoramic glass roof.

Those black-coloured roof on the 1-Series, are they simply a paintjob??

• KingKong (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 2:33 am

Paul, you also there?

really hope to see new X5 but unfortunately, they still showcase the old X5.

quite a nice event, but not much chicks around.

• Paul Tan on Aug 29, 2006 at 3:42 am

redragon: i checked for that, but the snow/winter mode was not on. to make sure, i selected the manual shifting mode and started off on "M1", it was the same.

the interior shots were of the BMW 325i i drove.

• TheGunner (Member) on Aug 29, 2006 at 7:02 pm

Paul,

I have test driven the 325i and 525i last year, and concur with your findings. Whereas the 525i felt responsive and went all the way to 180 before I had to slow down, the 325i felt no different than the entry level 320i.

You didn't lose much by not test driving the 525d. It felt underpowered to me, like the 523i.

• malayman (Member) on Aug 30, 2006 at 7:38 am

haha paul…wanna ask you..after driving those babies….how was the drive back in the nissan sunny?…hehehe….

• topgunthang (Member) on Aug 31, 2006 at 12:38 am

maybe it was a nissan 350z paul called 'sunny'. :)

and you'd call the bm's a pass.