Funke & Will Yes! Roadster

yesroadster1.jpg

German specialist automaker Funke & Will has updated their Yes! roadster, a hand-built Lotus Elise competitor with a new engine – Audi’s 3.2 litre V6 engine.

There are 2 options for the 3.2 litre V6 – in normally aspirated form or turbocharged form. In normally aspirated form, you get stock figures of 250hp, but when forced induction is added to the mix, power goes up to 355hp and 488Nm of torque! This power together with the roadster’s light weight of 997kg results in a 0-100km/h acceleration time of 3.6 seconds. For those hungry for more power, there is an additional boost kit upgrade which brings power up to 385hp.

Prices for the Yes! Roadster start at US$72,000, which is actually far from the Elise price range – the base Elise only costs US$42,990. While the car is already light, there is an even more stripped down version called the Yes! Cup/R for track enthusiasts.

yesroadster2.jpg

yesroadster3.jpg

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• armandd (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 2:40 pm

a civilised version of the ariel atom.

• Charger (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 6:53 pm

Lotus Exige FTW!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:03 pm

I'd rather go for the Tommy Kaira ZZ, now being built as the Leading Edge 240RT, 29,355 pounds sterling for the 240horse version, 22,995 for the 160 horse version. But if weatherproofing isn't a concern – why not just go for an Ariel Atom, Strathcarron SC5A or a Brooke 200/260/300 Double R or the good old Caterham Seven?

I really wonder why no 'carmaker' in Malaysia has the stones to do something even remotely like this. Lightweight, respectable power, good handling.

• aesthari (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 7:08 pm

Nice, the styling is subtle for performance car like it.

• exodust (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 8:25 pm

@maibatsu_thunder: In case you didn't know, the costs of creating masterpieces like these are at least in the hundred millions. I don't think there is a carmaker out there who wouldn't want to make a car that only has one sole pupose, that is to race.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 9:05 pm

wat a name ! sound like a comedy show!

• mitlanevo (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 9:07 pm

Great car, but I prefer NO…..

If I want a convertible, BMW 645Ci will be my car.

But somehow, did u guys notice that the taillights are similar to Mitsubishi Eclipse's?

• DtG (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 10:01 pm

looks like they used the bmw z4 as a platform…..

• Gallardo1988 (Member) on Oct 07, 2006 at 11:07 pm

I'd settle for the atom.. =).. haha.. its WILD.. it goes like MAD.. and hell yeah.. It looks better.. =).. but it would be totally madness to drive it here.. By the time u reach your destination, you'd be a few shades darker.. SAD… and ud probably smell like exhaust fumes.. Wonder what would happen if they shove this 3.2 litre engine into the ariel..

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 12:29 am

izit replacement 4 s2000??

• SatriaGuy (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 1:02 am

The Yes is based on the Nissan 350Z.

But just look at how the Germans made it look even better!

• exodust (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 4:08 am

@raybrig85: Where in the world did you get that idea?? Honda was not mentioned even once in the article! Did you even bother reading the article?? Else you would have realised that its a roadster by Funke & Will, not Honda.

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 4:54 am

This version looks much better than the first one. That design was just too extreme.

This came from somewhere else and might interest you.

Why a VWAG engine? We asked Funke & Will’s Jens-Uwe Viehrig this very question, and he told us, “When Herbert Funke and Philipp Will wanted to realize their diploma thesis in the form of a prototype, they contacted thirty-six boards of directors of German automobile companies and asked for support. Thirty-two of them offered their help and so our company founders received services, material and of course financial support. VWAG was very liberal and offered many parts which flow into the production of the YES!.

• raybrig85 (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 6:39 am

owh…sorry…maybe my mistake…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 8:58 am

Exodust, nah I didn't know Funke & Will spent hundreds of millions, so whats stopping some carmaker from blowing a hundred million? BTW hundreds of millions of what? RM? Pounds? USD? Yen?

• exodust (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 10:31 am

@maibatsu_thunder: In case you forgot, money doesnt grow on trees. Proton cant risk spending that much money on something and not have anyone buy it. Funke & Will can do it because they have already established a reputation in Germany, a place where there is a market for this kind of cars. Malaysia, on the other hand, has people that ask for these kind of cars but in truth they probably wouldnt buy it or cant afford it. And about currency, I meant it'll reach at least in the hundred millions of any currency, even if we were talking about it in pounds.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 10:52 am

So, Exodust, you're saying the Funke & Will roadster costs at least a hundred million pounds sterling? Where did you get such a figure?

Money doesn't grow on trees. No need to be childish.

Proton spent a lot on the Juara, Arena, APV, Prodrive Putra, etc. and not many people bought those. Not enough to justify development, at least so I'd say they're pretty brave in the risk department.

• tanasi (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 6:53 pm

part of the Proton stable are the vehicles from Lotus.

Even the Mk1 is not doing well here locally. And that's probably about the cheapest no-holds-barred type of roadster. So, its true then, that there's simply not enough demand here to develop from scratch a lightweight, performance vehicle.

• aksMs (Member) on Oct 08, 2006 at 8:54 pm

tbcheese said,

October 7, 2006 @ 8:54 pm

—————————

Bro, where did you get that one? So, you're saying that it was all started with a Diploma thesis? Makes me shudder though. In some other place, they go an extra mile in supporting the young and bright. Herbert Funke and Philipp Will were probably lucky enough to hit the right place at the right time. Without a bit of luck, no matter how solid or feasible their thesis were, this lightweight roadster wouldn't be materialize at all. I could be totally wrong about them. Here in Malaysia, if you do the same, it's either your letter got lost in the way, or you'll be the laughing stock of the board members at their tea brake. How sad…

Back to the car, a 3.2 litre on feather weight chasis is really…they must be out of their mind. Added a turbo some more? If they send it here and let our 'mesti boleh punye' pomen fiddle with it in try and error way, I'm sure they could've squeeze out some 400 horses easily….without the safety factor, of course! Hehe….

Just a thought, I wonder, if our local mechanic can manage to mount a B16A into a Kancil for a drag race, I wonder what else they could do. If you give them some financial aid and the right tools, to build up a proper race machine from scratch, say, using a Kancil chasis, what would be the outcome?

• exodust (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:04 am

I said that the costs of development will reach that mark, read my post properly. I think that isnt such a hard task, even for someone of your level of IQ. And I said money doesnt grow on trees, what's so childish about that? The only childishness I've seen is the one shown by people saying "Proton should make this, make that" when these people never thought if they'd even buy the car if proton made it. As with those Proton models, they assumed that there would be a market for it. Producing this kind of car on the other hand, obviously there isnt a market for it. Who among us is willing to spend a lot of money buying a Proton sports car?

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:55 am

aksMs here you go

http://www.fourtitude.com/news/publish/Features/a…

Its part of a series of articles about VW AG powered cars

http://www.fourtitude.com/features/special_featur…

Their design has certainly matured. I can imagine this looking very nice as a coupe.

• szw (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 5:12 am

weird…

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 6:24 am

Exodust, what is ur proof or basis of stating that development cost for this Funke and Will Roadster will run into the hundreds of millions of pounds sterling?

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 9:55 am

Maybe hundreds of millions of pounds sterling might be overstated but its not entirely unlikely. Consider this, in their petition for exemption from airbag laws in the US they stated that they spent over 3 million USD to make the car design compliant with US regulations. This is excluding the airbag. Development of a standard airbag would cost 630k USD and further development into an advanced airbag system required by US regulations at an additional 1.1 million USD.

4.7 million USD just to make it compliant with US standards. I wonder how much would the initial development cost be? Additionally, they are a startup company, not an established company. So they'd need to finance a manufacturing facility and the required tooling. Aluminum isn't as cheap to work with compared to steel too. Although they do receive subsidies in the manufacturing facility as the regional government of Lower Saxony where they're based has a stake in the company as well.

The petition can be found here

http://a257.g.akamaitech.net/7/257/2422/01jan2006…

I might have interpreted it wrong so please do feel free to correct me if it is so.

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 9:58 am

err Paul do you know if they completely dumped the 1.8T version or if they're selling them side by side?

• exodust (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 12:36 pm

Okay, I'll admit it probably wouldnt reach it in pound currency, but definitely in most other currencies. However, the point I was trying to make here was that it is highly irrational to expect proton should make a car in this category, if you are so desperate in need to find any excuse to win an arguement then here you go, I made a mistake about the development costs, but my main point has already been made ages ago and that was my main objective.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Oct 09, 2006 at 1:22 pm

Exodust, IMHO you're totally wrong.

a) I say development of a small volume car will NOT reach 'hundreds of millions', not even ONE hundred million Pounds Sterling, US Dollars or Euros. However you say 'DEFINITELY'. Where did you get such a figure anyway? What's your point of reference for development cost?

b) Why is it 'highly irrational' about Proton making a car in this category? Is it then rational to make a 5+2 minivan (Juara), an aluminium crossover MUV or a pickup (Arena)? Explain the rationality or irrationality of positioning such a product.

c) What's the point you're trying to make? I don't think you've justified anything or made any point so far. You tried to post in a very authoritative manner to contradict my suggestion but failed to give any convincing reasons or evidence.

On the hundred million bit, I doubt Funke & Will ever spent that much even in ringgit 'definitely' as you said, but I perhaps Proton spent that much in RM or close to it for the shelved aluminium MPV project. But the bottom line is you posted as if you were sure, but you have no basis to say what you said.

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 10, 2006 at 1:52 am

Why does it always have to be about Proton…

• Deodorant (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 5:51 pm

I recall reading somewhere about R3 saying that the break-even sales point for a limited-edition mod of an existing car was 2,000 units. Even if you assume Proton goes the "modifying an existing Lotus" route, I don't see them selling 2,000 units … R3 for example took quite a while to sell off 150 SR3s, and those cost only 70-something thousand.