Proton Cars UK Sep 06 sales double

A short news update on Proton performance in it’s export markets. Proton sales in the UK have doubled in September 2006 compared with the same month in September 2005, which is very good considering year to date car registrations in the UK have actually dropped 3.5% so far.

“I am extremely pleased that we have again sustained a sales increase; we have achieved a rise in sales every month this year. Coming top in 11 different questions in the recent National Franchised Dealers Association Survey and our growing sales figures demonstrate that our dealers are responsive to our commitment and support,” said Proton Cars UK General Manager of Sales and Marketing Simon Park.

Sales look to continue in the upward trend, and the Proton Satria Neo will be launched in early 2007.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 3:07 pm

That's must be the SAVVY loh!

• J (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 3:23 pm

Or the $1 pound downpayment ?

• shaif (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 4:12 pm

Good news fom Proton, should able to tap the European market with Savvy and Neo. Aggressive S & P is needed not only at foreign market but also local. Currently, sales quite slow unlike previous year which Proton give huge reabate for every car sold.

• ChipS (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 4:37 pm

Hey P1, what about orang kampung here ? When can get better deal ah ? Or should I say, hey "G" jagalah orang kampung sikit…. anyways, keep up the good work P1, do share share more a bit here at home ground.

• rexis (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Hmmm, should say thanks to the TopGear for their coverage to get the people know about Proton. Tuned by lotus ya'know?

• figo (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 4:45 pm

Good news for proton and bad news for malaysia's 'rakyat' to sudsidy more for the "ang mo". If they can't survive in local environment (without protection), can they survive oversea? no logic right!

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 4:56 pm

Good for P1 overseas… espc since overseas specs/ package much mre better than ours – lol

• Dogster (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 5:14 pm

Neo? W*F, Anyone bigger than the normal asian size cant fit in, I am looking forward to what they will say…

• Mayonaise (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 5:28 pm

Sales doubled? Selling from 5 cars a month to 10 cars a month is also considered "sales doubled" what… So what's all this big hoo haa? Sheesh…

• rexis (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:09 pm

neo is truely too small. I basically cant move anymore after i squezz myself into the driver seat.

• choonwae (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:34 pm

neo…small?!…well pity those kelisa and kancil owner la..around the same price somemore…

the question is..why wud i wanna buy a sports hatchback the size of a SUV!?!?

it doesnt make sense..sheesh

we bash n bash P1….are u guys saying you will do a better job at the helm?its easy to criticise others..

give some credit to them la…

• bobdbuilder (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:40 pm

What mayonaise said is right. increase from 5 to 10 cars is 100% increase in terms of percentage. Proton will again boost that sales have increase 100% in UK but in terms of numbers the increase is only by five units. c the point that i am trying to stress. Give us the numbers of unit sold at each country we exported to. No point making a big hoo hah when no figures are given.

• kimikim (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 6:44 pm

its not tat we like to bash n bash p1, but Dogster absolutely right. I'm malaysian of 5'9", already felt cramped in Neo

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 7:23 pm

I totally agree with Mayonaise and Bobdbuilder. A proton in UK is as rare as a Pagani Zonda and you probably see more Ferraris than a Proton in UK (or have more in existence than Proton). Maybe it's the "It's good enought for Ang Mo, It's good enough for us" exercise. Just do the basics right and ppl will naturally buy.

• penguin (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 7:40 pm

u r right kimikim n Dogster.. about the space for Neo. Compare to old Satria…the old one is more space for driver n passenger…can u imagine the mat salleh sit at the back in Neo…huhuhu…

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:09 pm

People, you're missing the point here. In the UK, besides the Ang Moh, you have the other Asians migrants too; i.e. Pakistanis, Indians, Chinese, etc etc. Therefore, height is not the only measurement of potential success here. Those market segment only wants a private vehicle without the frills and thrills. These buyers will save every pennies and shillings for their next generations. If you were to migrate to these Ang Moh countries, are you going to buy a Volkswagen/BMW/Mercs/what nots? Don't think so, you're gonna be extremely stingy on every penny saved to cross to the next day. Keep in mind of a migrant's psychological profile. Do you really think the Savvy (or even the Neo) is targeted to the savvy Ang Moh?

I say, well done Proton UK! There is a whole new alternative market out there to be tapped!

• mangkuk (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:31 pm

Agree wif choonwae and good point KelvC,

Hv u ppl ever think y there r increased? Must be gud item izzit?

Yeah…well done Proton.

• bobdbilder (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:42 pm

There is this assumption that the typical Englishman is higher than a local Malaysian? Other than Fish n Chips and boiled greens, they would not have a single meal known as English. For ages and more to come, they will not reach more than 5ft 11in unless the whole nation falls behind Jamie Oliver and do something about it.

Savvy probably would be tapping into a market where the overtly priced Yaris yearned to be in. Mention of a Clio engine and the AMT is not such a bad thing if you're living there.

• najibest (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 8:43 pm

paul… any chance you can get the exact or estimated numbers of proton cars sold in the UK for the past few years? when i was visiting London, the only proton car that i saw was an old proton saga, and a malaysian friend of mine bought a proton wira 1.8 (better spec than malaysian wira of course). but i don't really know if proton is really selling well in the UK since i've only heard about percentage and not numbers from proton about their overseas sales.. (the australian market should be better because down under they like to drive cars like the Arena – which we hate a lot here)

• outspoken (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 9:07 pm

well done.. improvement is what matters. critics will always be there, dulu kini dan selamanya…

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 9:47 pm

I have found the press release from Proton UK (http://www.proton.co.uk/pressroom/index.asp) which quoted it source at

The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders Limited (SMMT).

At the SMMT website, i have found the link to the '05/'06 statistic which you can analyse at your pleasure: http://lib.smmt.co.uk/articles/news/News/Car_09_0…

Sept '06 %market share Sept '05 %market share % Change

497 0.12 247 0.06 101.21

YEAR TO DATE

2006 %market share 2005 %market share % Change

2,199 0.12 1,395 0.07 57.63

Despite the big percentage increase, however the actual numbers remains small. The good news is Proton UK is now at the 4Q and has a good chance to break the 3K point.

MARQUE 2006 %market share

Daewoo 0 0.00

Isuzu 0 0.00

Tata 37 0.00

Perodua 366 0.02

Lotus 667 0.04

Other British 674 0.04

Bentley 1,374 0.07

Ssangyong 1,548 0.08

Aston Martin 1,880 0.10

MG 1,906 0.10

Proton 2,199 0.12

Rover 2,496 0.13

Other Imports 3,297 0.17

Daihatsu 3,366 0.18

As you can see above, Proton has outperformed Perodua (since height was the measurement earlier) and is within the reach to outdo Rover by this year. I didn't want to mention the other marques shown above as they may represent different market segments/price range (i.e. Isuzu, Tata, Lotus, Bentley, Aston Martin, etc).

Proton you better do well 'cos i'm not giving you my lunch money!

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 9:59 pm

Reedit for better statistic clarity

————————–

KelvC said,

October 12, 2006 @ 1:47 pm

I have found the press release from Proton UK (http://www.proton.co.uk/pressroom/index.asp) which quoted it source at

The Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders Limited (SMMT).

At the SMMT website, i have found the link to the ‘05/’06 statistic which you can analyse at your pleasure: http://lib.smmt.co.uk/articles/news/News/Car_09_0…

Sept ‘06 – 497

%market share – 0.12%

Sept ‘05 – 247

%market share – 0.06%

% Change – 101.21%

YEAR TO DATE

2006 – 2,199

%market share – 0.12%

2005 – 1,395

%market share – 0.07%

% Change – 57.63%

Despite the big percentage increase, however the actual numbers remains small. The good news is Proton UK is now at the 4Q and has a good chance to break the 3K point.

MARQUE : 2006 – %market share

Daewoo : 0 – 0.00%

Isuzu : 0 – 0.00%

Tata : 37 – 0.00%

Perodua : 366 – 0.02%

Lotus : 667 – 0.04%

Other British : 674 – 0.04%

Bentley : 1,374 – 0.07%

Ssangyong : 1,548 – 0.08%

Aston Martin : 1,880 – 0.10%

MG : 1,906 – 0.10%

Proton : 2,199 – 0.12%

Rover : 2,496 – 0.13%

Other Imports : 3,297 – 0.17%

Daihatsu : 3,366 – 0.18%

As you can see above, Proton has outperformed Perodua (since height was the measurement earlier) and is within the reach to outdo Rover by this year. I didn’t want to mention the other marques shown above as they may represent different market segments/price range (i.e. Isuzu, Tata, Lotus, Bentley, Aston Martin, etc).

Proton you better do well ‘cos i’m not giving you my lunch money!

• asimo (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 10:40 pm

it must be savvy!!!!!!!!!

• u5 (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 10:48 pm

xcuse me , no car expert here.. whats p1 n p2 ? anyways i wonder which proton model is selling so well..?? wil be puzzled if its savvy cos once a video published on this website says savvy is used as monster trucks in some western countries…

• Hikaru (Member) on Oct 12, 2006 at 11:28 pm

KelC,

I think the point is not the height but the design itself, which I think it's a design fault or designed carelessly by the designer. Why would anyone buy a Proton unless they are comfortable in it (Caterhams and Westfields aside)? I think in the world car market now, success equals Toyota. I don't believe that the Savvy or Neo is targeted at foreign market, as the design shows :)

Just because every penny needs to be squeezed doesn't necessarily mean that you go for a cheaper product but not well designed at all (in terms of practicality). There are plenty of other no frills car around in UK as their car consumer choice is much wider than Malaysia. Not to talk about 2nd hand market which a '96 Peogeot 106 (no frills car) can be had for GBP 1K (RM7k). The question that everyone in UK would ask before they buy a Proton is "Why Proton? Why not French/German/UK marques?" If i am there as a migrant (I was a uni student there before), I doubt I would even consider Proton. Maybe the OAP contributed to the figures as I believe they have some deal for pensioners (imagine this in a imagine conscious country like UK!).

Figures only tell a part of the story.

• malaysiakeepdreaming (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 12:22 am

what's the price?

1 dollar down payment?

1 dollar sales price?

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 12:51 am

Do they really know,

How the industry really works,

If they did they wouldn't be whining,

And blame those really responsible,

Proton bashers!! (bang, bang, bang)

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 12:56 am

Here is £1 deposit offers conditions:

Finance is available to people aged 18 and over, subject to status when purchasing a new vehicle through Proton Finance Ltd. Indemnities may be required. Offer ends 31st December 2006. Regular finance payments required. 0% Finance and £1 deposit offers cannot be used on the same vehicle. Terms and conditions apply, please see your local Proton dealer for further details.

http://www.proton.co.uk/savvy/offers/finance_term… http://www.proton.co.uk/savvy/index.asp http://www.proton.co.uk/savvy/specifications/pric… http://www.proton.co.uk/savvy/gallery/road.asp

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:00 am

Somemore click this –> http://www.proton.co.uk/offers/index.asp

Proton is offering 3 years 0% finance on Gen-2 at UK now.

Plus "Proton RAC Assistance" for Savvy.

Proton RAC Assistance =>>

For the first three years of ownership you will automatically receive full RAC cover providing complete peace of mind motoring. The cover includes roadside assistance, vehicle recovery and "at home" assistance.

As a Proton owner you are also entitled to take advantage of other services including free legal advice and other discounts and special offers. Additional cover can be purchased. Please ask your dealer for details or contact Proton Insurance & Financial Services on 01953 713924.

Proton also operates, in conjunction with the RAC, a 24 hour Proton Accident Care line. This line gives Proton owners essential advice on what to do in the event of an accident.

Your accident specialist will provide reassurance and advice including arranging recovery of your vehicle (if necessary) and reporting your accident to your insurance company. They can also give further help after the event, including arranging a temporary vehicle. Your Accident Pack will be in your new vehicle when you collect it.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:11 am

Thats good.

We'll see if Proton can maintain its momentum. For that they get a commendation.

However, it still stings to see that they are offering better equipped modles at less cost to overseas market than locally (despite shipping etc). For that, Proton still gets thumbs down by me.

• adlanar (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:15 am

seems like wahtever news of P1 posted here will be bashed regardsless if its good or bad.

i know there's quite a following for proton here in the uk. it all started with the aeroback but the persona compact (original satria) was popular as a cheaper colt alternative. then came the gti which was better received due to good reviews when it was introduced back then. it fared better compared to the 206 in autocar magazine. the coupe (putra) was also popular among tuners over here as other jap imports are pricey. its a better choice for performance and value than beefing up the saxos/corsas/novas. just look at the max power forum . the people there also liked the gen2 despite getting bad press in every uk magazine. seems to me that its also a good basecar for tuners since they liked the looks and chassis. the pooor powerplant and interior will be ripped out anyway for 'pimped' purposes.

for more info on proton in uk visit the official owners club . theres even a discussion of a photoshopped gen2 sedan over there

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:18 am

yes, definetely savvy. can u c a waja with full bodyfit n 3 years free maintenance offer over here. all r3 style neo offer here? only those non mover & discontinue model will get special treament. like the r3 gti. ex pm have admit they dump the price of p1cars in foreign soil as a marketing move. is a international practise. but he only allow p1 2 exercise it oversea & condemn the korean practise it over here.

p1 record braking export was 1997 when anwar ,still finance minister, tighten hp loan & p1 have 2 export a lot out. some dealership even can take the car 1st & pay later. the consequence of this act show up recently in p1 result. huge bad debts which have 2 write off cos the dealership cant b trace. it just a history repeat again event, just 2 solve backlog problem.

not really value 2 the money issue. i'm not going 2 waste my time 2 elaborate on this issue as this blog feature topgear have comment on it in the episode of "all afta car show case".

• narrowband (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:32 am

That's good news indeed. Good that Proton is doing well in the export market. Goes to show that it doesn't really need to survive domestically. Then again, those are of higher-specs…

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:58 am

I see plenty enough of Wajas and Wiras here since the cops drive them. Mostly Waja now though. Don't know if it only applies to the Humberside police of ir any other regions use Proton too.

There are some Sagas as well and a couple of Savvys. Oo oo and a gen2 too.

• tbcheese (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:03 am

Ah yeah a few Satrias as well.

• Celicazz (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:11 am

Suddenly all become the KIA type…it's Know-It-All…Hate U guys, nothing more than talking craps…

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:38 am

I think its the free dual controls that come with the gen2. All car instructors would want to pick that car up. LOL

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:58 am

I tell you what. Only asian loves Japs design. Though most Malaysian hates the looks of the Savvy, I believe the English don't look at it that bad. Maybe it even looks cool to them.(You know savvy have the continental look). I dont know how much a savvy cost there, but a renault clio cost about 9k pound. I believe the savvy is much cheaper at maybe 6-7k. So why not? The Savyy is using the Renault engine, Renault AMT and TUV certified. Some europeans believe that a Renault is anytime better than a toyota or honda or whatever. So I believe it can sell well there. Also if you say the Neo is too cramped for Mat Sallehs, how bout those Ferrari, Lotus and Z3 and GT40. How come still got mat salleghs buying those cars?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:07 am

KelvC said,

Sept ‘06 – 497

%market share – 0.12%

Sept ‘05 – 247

%market share – 0.06%

% Change – 101.21%

narrowband said,

"That’s good news indeed. Good that Proton is doing well in the export market. Goes to show that it doesn’t really need to survive domestically. Then again, those are of higher-specs… "

—————-

Proton Sept 05 sales figure is 247 and increased to 497 (additional 250 units) units in Sept 06. If translated in %, it is 101.21%. Huh, huh, for mass car producer with this meagre sales figure consider as improvement in "big %" but "negligible" in term of number or market share 0.12%. So in term of number/volume, Proton sold 497 units out of total approx. 414 K units still consider as improvement?

What KelvC listed from Daewo to Daihatsu (14 manufacturers/other) in total aggregate just amounting to 1.05% of the market share. And now want to big and boast P1 at 4th place?

KelvC, Where is the statistic for 98.95%? This percentage might included but not limited to Aixam, Ferrari, Marlin, Saab, Alfa Romeo, Fiat, Maserati, San, Ford, Maybach, SEAT, Audi, HMC, Mazda, Sebring, Honda, Mercedes-Benz, Skoda, BMW, Hyundai, Microcar Smart, Bristol, MINI, Ssangyong, Cadillac, Jaguar, Mitsubishi, Subaru, Caterham, Jeep, Morgan, Suzuki, Chevrolet, Kia, Nissan, Tata, Chrysler, Lamborghini, Noble, Toyota, Citroen, Land Rover, TVR, Coleman Milne, Lexus, Peugeot, Vauxhall, Daihatsu, Ligier, Porsche, Volkswagen, Daimler, Lotus, Volvo, De Tomaso, MacNeillie, Renault, Dodge, Marcos and Rolls-Royce???????????????

So you conclude something based on 1.05% percentage of the sample/volume? And you call it (0.06% to 0.12%) as improvement! This is the worst conclusion I ever found in my life and perhap happen in P1 only.

So Proton sales is ahead of sport cars like Aston Martin (1,880 – 0.10%) and MG (1,906 – 0.10%), and Proton (2,199 – 0.12%) behind UK mass producer car Rover (2,496 – 0.13%)? What I know about Rover is already ceased production and bought over by Chinese car manufacturer and still inside the statistic, perhaps clear their old stock?

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:17 am

Most of us dont give a damn how proton is performing there. But it is really sick to see ppl trying to condamn this and that. Only know how to give negative criticism but not constructive one. I heard that satria is actually sort of a cult car in UK. Also the Renault Clio(which savvy is based on except the look of it) achieved the success similar to Pasoo/Boon(Myvi) back in europes. For me, the Savvy is a cool car(except the rear design really sucks)

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:40 am

Not sure new news or not, but I just saw starnews ch70 astro just now mentioning Dr.M stepping down as P1 advisor

• Igloo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:44 am

oh yes… proton! Malaysia Boleh! If it is not the sales strategy created $1 deposit – Proton – wait & di*.

But hey, something to be proud of – at least we know the ang moh is selling 'malaysia'

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 3:47 am

when proton is not making money.. u guys kutuk and bark on their door to improve or close down. when they make money.. u guys go and blab about this and that. aiyoh no wonder business in malaysia susah progress. the public always got something to say behind every failure and success. dont like dont buy.. if like then go buy and enjoy. simple as that.

• u5 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:13 am

klazy said .. dun like dun buy, i wish i wasnt driving a proton, but with our govt imposing high taxes on imported cars, how are we gonna afford those? so , the next best thing .. is to fall back on overly priced local cars. this is the reality…it's as simple as that …

• szw (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:30 am

proton is always better den perodua

• shaif (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:34 am

Ha..ha..proton is popular subject here. It like maths, most hate it but some others appreciate it beauties. So give a break to those who know how to appreciate it. Most of us anyway will just still whining about it.

Anyway, the tax imposed by G is something that beyond our control. G have a very good reason for it eventhough slowly AFTA will minimize the tax. Its a revenue for the G and like other capitalist businessman, revenue is something that need to be protected. Like it or not, we just have to adjust our live to it.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 4:46 am

When saga came into productionI hate the car, with its stupid wheel cap and stupid logo,. Wira came, still far from my taste, still with its stipid logo. Then, the gti came in, its change my perspective a bit, well a lot . I know its not the super hi tech with high power but it looks professionally sporty, then came waja , gen 2 and neo ,non of those have a cheap, light weight Japanese look, (I know its old engine , plastics, fall offs, etc.). its Germanic look with tiger in the crest, makes it special. I know imports are good, but they aint special enough. ….strange isn’t it. anything else dono la

• adlanar (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:07 am

aiya… how come my links not includedin my comment. is it not allowed?

as for the £1 deposit issue…

it is a popular scheme in the UK started by KIA with the Rio a couple of years back. not only proton dealers are doing them, infact proton are too slow as only started doing them this year. free first 3yrs insurance and raodside cover is also very common for sometime now esp with smaller cars due to the high insurance premium rates for first time buyers in UK.

• DAN (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 5:31 am

bull shit. even there can sale will , all is subsidy from all of us Malaysians .

never been proud about it .

• ck (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 6:33 am

If P1 is doing well in UK, we should at least gives credit were it is due. They are doing bad locally, because they sxxk in M'sia. Just look at their recent advert on TV, balik kampung advert. If you don't have quality, you use gimmick to attract buyers… really pity their marketing pitch.

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 6:55 am

Hikaru,

The fact here is Proton UK could not dictate the designing of the core car hence they would have to market it according to the UK market environment. The diversity of the UK market environment allows the marketers to pick and position their product offering in accordance to the available market segment. My best guess is they’re targeting the following groups:

1. Migrant community as mentioned earlier.

2. Pensioners – limited funding however require private transportation (similar to the group #1, especially if living in the rural areas therefore the AMT sounds good here)

3. Whoever wants to look for car OTR £6k-£8k cash.

4. Modders who needs “low entry cost” vehicle and write off later.

In every sports or even movies I've always cheered for the underdogs, having said that, I'm not giving my lunch box away.

• drifting4eva (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 7:16 am

Not to rain on all you proton lover's parade but let's face the facts, proton sales are up in the UK because its cars are being dumped with M'sian buyers subsidizing the costs. Can you imagine its sales numbers for M'sia if proton sold their cars for RM1 down, 3 years insurance + roadside cover at UK specs + prices. They would capture >90% of the market. Consumers are not dumb.

What amazes me are the people who feel proud to see westerners driving a proton at any cost. I'm not that vain to want to pay twice the global average cost for a car just to see some englishman drive a proton. I'd rather spend my money on drifting :)

• chenyl (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 7:27 am

let me tell everyone a thing in europe and us if u hav a car no matter wat car proton or zonda they treat u as the same one people with a car

• V8 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 8:02 am

well, wish u gudluck p1.

• asimo (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 8:37 am

go go for renault……go go renault ….

renault power…renault engine more better than honda,and ferari perhaps..so mat salleh beli savvy….cos it cheap!!!good quality,superb handling….

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 8:57 am

i can feel the proton is chocking now. for the sake of keeping the marque lives on, move the plan to vietnam or indon, or sell it ,but who is willing to buy and retain the brandname(share) with existing platform. if there is one, sorted then.

still like that tiger.

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 10:11 am

u5 said… i wish i wasnt driving a proton, but with our govt imposing high taxes on imported cars, how are we gonna afford those? –

the thing is, u're driving a proton eventhough u hate it is because the govt imposed high taxes on imported cars. its not about whether proton is wrong or right to make make money by doubling the number of their uk sales (check the topic post). see.. like i said earlier.. some of u like to bark on the wrong tree for the wrong reason. c'mon.. if u dun like proton, nobody is stopping u from getting honda or a maserati. just put the money and its all urs. and when u talk about money.. lets not mixed it up with personal preference of brand choice. coz we're all free to choose whatever maker we like. honda is still the majority of buyers choice over proton, so dun act like its all about proton this and proton that. g'nite.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 10:21 am

asimo, "renault power…renault engine more better than honda,and ferari perhaps..so mat salleh beli savvy….cos it cheap!!!good quality,superb handling…."

———–

What thingy you try to talk like Renault power, engine, cheap, aiyoyo "good quality" (perhaps turth for export specs), superb "lotus" handling. So failed P1 "power window"! spoiled absorber, etc? So GBP 1 to get the car c/w 1001 problems as standard features?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 10:29 am

klazy pipel said,

"like i said earlier.. some of u like to bark on the wrong tree for the wrong reason. c’mon.. if u dun like proton, nobody is stopping u from getting honda or a maserati. just put the money and its all urs. and when u talk about money.. lets not mixed it up with personal preference of brand choice. coz we’re all free to choose whatever maker we like."

—————-

The best conclusion for the above statement is you have good knowledge of Protonomic but NOT free economy!…………………. another poor soul Protonian keep on "barking dead wood with no reasons"!

• topgunthang (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 11:57 am

hmm…..proton has to try so hard to get itself on the news. only time is when a new model launches and they achieve a blip in % of sales before sliding back down into oblivion.

• mits27 (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 1:07 pm

But few hundred of all the proton models in 1 years, it is really tiny number. This is not going to help a lot with the financial problems that proton facing right now.

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 2:21 pm

The best conclusion for the above statement is you have good knowledge of Protonomic but NOT free economy!…………………. another poor soul Protonian keep on “barking dead wood with no reasons”!

———–

aiyah paul, thats why i said it doesnt matter what the brand is. it can be perodua that gets the protection from the govt, it can be naza it can be lmg auto. in this case its proton. so we cant mix the sentiment of non "free economy" practise by the govt and put the blame on a brand name.

its the govt that should be blamed for unfair practise in defending proton and left us with with higher taxes duty on other alternative. they dont like mahalel.. they chop him off and put their own people. when u disrupt a plan in the making, its gonna take a whole lot again to start back from scratch. so its back to square one with proton hounding every corner to find a new partner and reshuffle back the company's roadmap.

in this case ur posting is regarding the doubling of profit margin sales for proton uk and im commenting on the issue and not on the local sentiment or personal preferences for the brand (proton). i just dont know why some people like to bash and flame each other just because they dislike something or oppose one view. im sorry if u dont agree with me and i take it as a normal differ in opinions with respect. proton is just a brand just like other automaker. its the people who runs the company and the people behind it that matters. but sadly our local people just go on rampage when they hear the word proton and the word low class car came onto mind.

im happy to see that the brits doesnt fall into this category. it doesnt matter if the $1 pound promotion caused the sales to doubled up in uk coz they have more wider range of other cars better than proton if they were to invest on a car. that proves at least the brits do respect proton in a way and willing to drive them and put money on it. unlike some people who even drove a proton but constantly bashing nasty words about the car. i wish we malaysian could just chill on issues and move on for the sake of progress rather than stuck forever with ramblings.

from public transport to telco, enviromental and local politics, malaysian is the king in making comments and coffee talk. in the end, stop addressing the real issue and lets rebrand foreign brand and stick our local logo and sell it to our people. lower down the import tariff welcome more foreign brand to flood the market. afterall our local made goods are all lame and cheap right? good.

• dorjee (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 7:46 pm

I live in British Isles and i need to admit that i hardly see any new proton on the road…. though it comes with very attractive package but so do loads of other makes! Honestly, it is nothing to shout at, considering the huge cars market here!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Oct 13, 2006 at 10:46 pm

klazy pipel

I do not agree that all local made goods are all lame and cheap. But all proton's car are surely lame and expensive with low quality. n u do not understand the main reason y most rakyat curse and bash proton. If proton were to come up with Toyota Quality or Honda Tech and can compete with other makes in terms of overall, even proton is protected, the rakyat will be happy to own one.

Is it too late n too lame to tell people like me that give proton a chance or give proton credits when it deserve one or ask us to respects proton. i sold of my 3 years old wira with 3 power window keep failing and change it with Myvi. n up to now i have no problem driving myvi. but my fren bought his wira for the 1st 3 months got huge cooler break down. even it is under waranty, he have to wait for 2 weeks to get his wira repaired, or use his own money to replace that cooler if cannot wait (that's the reply from proton).

this is not coffee talks or any excuse to bash proton. this is the facts and it is also the old story and the old problem which proton up to now cannot solve it. brits have no problem owing proton cause i understand their quality and makes is of higer standard than our local ones.. how can we even respect proton. I wonder if perodua having the same treament in our local or not. So all of u pls keep bash proton and paint a really ugly name on it to make sure proton's feel the pain in order to change to a better national car. that's the 1 st plan, follow by don buy it if u know it is low quality and hope it die a natural death.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 12:48 am

klazy pipel said, "proton is just a brand just like other automaker. its the people who runs the company and the people behind it that matters. but sadly our local people just go on rampage when they hear the word proton and the word low class car came onto mind.

im happy to see that the brits doesnt fall into this category." ………

———————-

P1 bad biz model with no corporate social responsibilities: –

1. Local market – selling expensive at low quality yet unsafe car that put consumer life damn "cheap" on the road.

2. Export market – selling low price at high specs which is done at the expanse of local consumer subsidize it.

So, klazy pipel you mentioned "sadly our local people just go on rampage when they hear the word proton………" demonstrate that to use your word, you are the one who are actually "bark on the wrong tree for the wrong reason".

So you want constructive criticism? Then have to "bark on the right tree for the right reason" – P1 and NAP for their sinful, unpatriotic and manipulation in our auto market!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 1:47 am

A person’s greatest talent given by god is the power to choose. A person is the sum total of the choices they make up until this power to choose is manipulated by NAP and P1. Luckily uk consumers are not subjected to this kind of manipulation which is "force to choose". Therefore, P1 market share improvement for Sept 05 to 06 sales figure is 247 and increased to 497 (additional 250 units) units. Luckily the number is small, yet taken into consideration shipping cost (CBU) and high specs (ABS, EBD, airbag, etc), the additional cost per unit in UK is say GBP 1,500 (RM 10,000) per unit, 497 units mean local consumers have to subsidize around RM 5.0 million. Total export for 2005 around 13,000 units which may translated into local consumer subsidize in excess of 130 millions for the oversea user to enjoy high quality and better specs car. See how P1 can afford to use local consumer to subsidize how many unit car to be exported and in relation to less income (or loss) due to shrinking local market.

So P1 intend to export 100,000 units by 2008. So the "subsidy" may surge to RM 1 billion? See how they can do it if still adopt current bad biz as mentioned above. Definitely they can't do it, unless P1 has new strategic partner or change the bad biz model.

• asimo (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 2:12 am

What thingy you try to talk like Renault power, engine, cheap, aiyoyo “good quality” (perhaps turth for export specs), superb “lotus” handling. So failed P1 “power window”! spoiled absorber, etc? So GBP 1 to get the car c/w 1001 problems as standard features?

u aready test or own savvy??is it u having a power window problem with savvy?if not just shut up!!!!

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 2:28 am

okay i rest my case. i'll let u people do the talking. good luck.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 2:53 am

If it is a truth that we r subsidizing every single unit of p1 sold in fish&chip land, then p1 should be F@#$ upside down. I do know that the export version is very much better than the one offered here. The sales performance for p1 in fish&chip land is negligible to comment, don't be fooled by mathematics, like one of us here had rightfully pointed out.

Compared

a) 2005 : 10 units, 2006 : 13 units = 30% increase

b) 2005 : 10,000 units, 2006 : 9,000 units = 10% drop

which one you prefer?

0.1% market share? ha ha ha…p1..stop the joke please.

Off topic, don't give the excuse that you don't have choice now. In fact, there is subsitute for every p1 model, get other makes and not p1, like all my friends did, they would not touch p1 ever after having experienced its top-of-the class quality.

When the buying stops, the killings too. See?

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 3:00 am

Will go to see the Camry 2.4 now, why the H$#@ is that it is selling for about 90k in lanjauwi but 160k in penis-suila? Obvious reasons right?

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 5:53 am

Another Great Malaysian Malaise…

Proton…

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 7:36 am

asimo said, "u aready test or own savvy??is it u having a power window problem with savvy?if not just shut up!!!!"

————-

aiyoyo, I experience it for Iswara and Waja models, and test the freaking power window failuresssssssss (not plural, but 1001-ral) bad experience. About Savvy, never own and also never heard Savvy owners complaint about it but ask me to teest or own it definitely big NO NO as even the good power also won't influence me to buy it simply because this car design is SUCK …… especially turtle shape backside. You mentioned "if not shut up", so I interprete it as as far as Savvy power window not fail, I will "shut-up" (indeed I never condemn about Savvy window). So I still reserved my right to "shout" on other aspects of Savvy or other models within P1 product inventory.

By the same principle look at yous previous post at 2007 Daihatsu Materia as shown below: –

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/10/08/2007-daiha…

asimo said, October 8, 2006 @ 8:16 pm

"kereta mayat ooooooooooooooooooooooo"

"u aready test or own Daihatsu Materia?? is it u having a power window problem with Materia? if not just shut up!!!!

Or, since you "shout out" without test or own Materia, I also can comment as follow: – O O kereta mayat ah? This small size kereta mayat just nice to fit in dwaft 1.20 Meter SHORT robot !!!!!!!!!!!!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 7:50 am

NeedGoodCar said,

"When the buying stops, the killings too. See?"

So, I proposed another version, "When the buying stops, the sucking too. See?"

In free economic mechanism, the greatest threat to "protective NAP/P1" is consumer sentiment – purchasing power. When the purchase stop today, so the existence of NAP/P1 will be to history by tomorrow! It is better "not to choose P1" compare to "force to choose P1".

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 7:57 am

klazy pipel said,

"okay i rest my case. i’ll let u people do the talking. good luck."

How can dude you rest your case since you have your points and other have different perspective only! Remembered, eventhough I don't agree with what you said, but I still respect your right of constructive opinion that balance with respect to other! Aiya, just to reciprocate on your statement on – "im sorry if u dont agree with me and i take it as a normal differ in opinions with respect".

So, keep continue "speak your mind"!

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 8:34 am

I had enough of this mindless bashing, as much as I would like to abandon this "son" of ours but, like reality, we're stuck through thick and thin. If you're a parent, go figure how to reeducate this unfilial “son” of yours too.

The difference about bickering amongst in-laws is the verbal diarrhea which will go with the wind and never kept to heart. Whereas online, it is permanently recorded like a sore record forever blemished with no redeeming value.

Lastly, I drive an Iswara '98 daily which requires major overhaul so don't lecture me about Proton. I too am waiting for 2010 like everyone else. I'm gonna enjoy watching Nanny tonight on Hallmark.

• intermilan (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 10:34 am

syabas to drifting4eva for putting it simple and short.

this comment really 'ngam' with the topic.

To show my appreciation… allow me to re-post it again, just as a refresher to the rest.

by: drifting4eva

Not to rain on all you proton lover’s parade but let’s face the facts, proton sales are up in the UK because its cars are being dumped with M’sian buyers subsidizing the costs. Can you imagine its sales numbers for M’sia if proton sold their cars for RM1 down, 3 years insurance + roadside cover at UK specs + prices. They would capture >90% of the market. Consumers are not dumb.

What amazes me are the people who feel proud to see westerners driving a proton at any cost. I’m not that vain to want to pay twice the global average cost for a car just to see some englishman drive a proton. I’d rather spend my money on drifting

• geminas (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 12:20 pm

certain people just cant accept what to do..

gud luck to proton!:D

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 5:50 pm

Asimo…

i have power window problem with wira and not savvy. i din talk anything bad about savvy on the power window failure. y asking poeple like me complain about wira's power window failure to shut up? people call us mindless basher, or is it the other way round?

if savvy's power window din fail, that's good news. but y the heck it still happen for model like wira? even Gen-2 got door problem and i m sure when people complain about Gen-2's door, r u going to tell them that Neo's door have no problem n tell this poor Gen-2 driver to shut up? pls understand the general users.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 6:35 pm

my p1's front passenger power window failed and i use a wire to hold the glass pane so that it won't drop, and the power window behind the driver seat also failed already, luckily the service people managed to place the glass pane there. do u know how much these 2 power windows cost??? and it won't last long!!!

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 6:37 pm

btw, it's a WAJA, in Hokkien, it is "change car", "WAH JIA"

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 7:59 pm

KelvC said,

October 14, 2006 @ 12:34 am

"I had enough of this mindless bashing, as much as I would like to abandon this “son” of ours but, like reality, we’re stuck through thick and thin. If you’re a parent, go figure how to reeducate this unfilial “son” of yours too."

Joe Ooi – Easy and simple only, to re-educate this unfilial "son" is stop spoon feeding and unnecessary protection. Throw and dump far away from home this grown-up son. When this unfilial son find out no-automatic feeding (local consumer), home protection and take away crutches (NAP), as the case in UK, then he know how to think of survival by doing a good job – give best quality at low price. That very simple mah, what a big fuse, the only irritating is he give his energy to look after other country wellbeing, which forget that he growth up by eating and shitting at Bolehland. Anak kera dihutan disusukan, anak sendiri mati kebuluran dirumah – so this unfilial son not deserve the title of "national icon" or be given "national car status"!

———————-

The difference about bickering amongst in-laws is the verbal diarrhea which will go with the wind and never kept to heart. Whereas online, it is permanently recorded like a sore record forever blemished with no redeeming value.

Joe Ooi – What you mean by "no redeeming value" since it is a burden, liability and cost a lot of tax payer money!

The fastest P1 get out of business is better because this is the biggest parasite ever found in Bolehland that keep on sucking blood. It is better to bite the bullet, cut the losses from accumulating as it is economically not viable. We are developing country. We can’t afford to dump so much money (i.e. “subsidize” the price or dumping price) in developed country (e.g. UK and Australia) for the sake of P1 car saleable at the expanse of local consumer wellbeing but looking after rich country’s people welfare. This country is belong to future generation and we just “borrow” from them. We can’t left debt, liability and hopelessness to future generation but wealth, opportunity and bright future!

————–

Lastly, I drive an Iswara ‘98 daily which requires major overhaul so don’t lecture me about Proton. I too am waiting for 2010 like everyone else. I’m gonna enjoy watching Nanny tonight on Hallmark.

Joe Ooi – So, don't lecture you about P1, enjoy kah with your 98 Iswara? I believed you talk thing definitely not based on your Iswara experience! So what is your real agenda, better watching Nanny and enjoy it rather than your Iswara. But don't come out with "I had enough of this mindless bashing" by employ "blame-shifting" dirty tactic as try to "cover out your foul mouth and seal-off your stinking @@$hole" yet let other P1's victims to bear the burden on pay high price, low quality yet unsafe car that put the their life very "cheap" on the road. Remembered you are one of the victim as well since you drive 98 Iswara – "Milo-Tin-On-The-Wheel".

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 10:29 pm

jeo ooi just cant seem to give it a rest. seems that anyone who is okay with proton are gonna get targeted and shoved with opposing comments. easy jeo.. have a cup of coffee. lol.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 14, 2006 at 11:18 pm

what's ok with p1? it's a piece of $#!#, what do u think that the incestuous nap is for? nap is a direct produce of protecting p1, i do believe p1 can survive on its own since there r so many supporters here, for all of u who like p1 so much , plz walk the talk by buy one p1 for yrself, p1 doesnt need nap. For p1 bashers, i do believe they will stop bashing p1, in fact, they don give a @#$% of p1, if the nap is abolished and everyone has a choice of getting a car at reasonable price. e.g. camry 2.4 selling for 99k instead of 168k. (Went to see the camry, so many people there, don't have a chance to sit it there bcos in a rush.) i do hope all the p1 supporters r driving a p1 and not other makes.

• bmpower (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 1:07 am

…. and tahat joe oi still talking about power window in any proton topic..

what a pity basher. good news still bad news for then.. even worse.. they had a bad stinky mouth and black heart..

i give credit on proton.. how hard the way Syed Zainal handle that hot seat.

Gud luck proton.. wish next year the Neo will make next hit record again in UK. The car that some people claim 'tak cukup tinggi' for them those 5.9ft something.. err but do they knew ferrari also 'not enough tinggi space?, even any other sportcar out there?'.

Oh.. that's typically BASHERS as well.. nmind

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 2:20 am

if u do give credit to p1, by all means make sure u walk the talk, 4ever stick to yr beloved p1 and shall never drive another brands, or throw yr nonp1 cars away and get yrself a p1, to u, p1 is the best and u can forget the rest, plz prove to the world yr allegiance to p1, if u think p1 is so good, just do us the basher a little favour, go and ask lah the administrator to abolish the nap loh, telling them that p1 is capable enough to compete without any form of protection bcos people like u will support p1 no matter what, let us have the camry 2.4 for 99k not 168k, why we buy 168k here whilst 99k in lanjauwi? Why they so special? can u see what's happening to our economy, look at the geely case, how much do every one has to sacrifice just to protect p1, i can tell u that the benefits of letting p1 down far outweigh the costs. Otherwise p1 deserves nothing but bashing.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 2:21 am

bmpower said,

"…. and tahat joe oi still talking about power window in any proton topic..

what a pity basher. good news still bad news for then.. even worse.. they had a bad stinky mouth and black heart.."

Simply can't agree with you because talk about "power window failured" is a fact that I experience for approximately 10 years out of using 12 year P1 car. Do you think talk about power window failure tantamount to and constitute as "bad stinky mouth and black heart". I can't agree with you 200%, but if you want to continue talk like that, don't "bark at the wrong tree with wrong reasons". The "right tree and right reason" for you to bark is the power window vendor who make the lousy component. Why shoot at me alone as there are hundred of thousand out there who talk about this? And why target and select me only? Perhaps your own statement applicable to you.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 2:30 am

KelvC said,

October 14, 2006 @ 12:34 am

"I had enough of this mindless bashing, ………………..

—————————————-

Joe Ooi – O O, "self confession" ah, ah, aaaah ……. See-see and look-look who is the real mindless guy in this blog with self confession c/w evident.

—————————————-

KelvC said, October 12, 2006 @ 10:55 pm

The fact here is Proton UK could not dictate the designing of the core car hence they would have to market it according to the UK market environment. The diversity of the UK market environment allows the marketers to pick and position their product offering in accordance to the available market segment. My best guess is they’re targeting the following groups:

1. Migrant community as mentioned earlier.

2. Pensioners – limited funding however require private transportation (similar to the group #1, especially if living in the rural areas therefore the AMT sounds good here)

3. Whoever wants to look for car OTR £6k-£8k cash.

4. Modders who needs “low entry cost” vehicle and write off later.

In every sports or even movies I’ve always cheered for the underdogs, having said that, I’m not giving my lunch box away.

—————————————————–

Joe Ooi,

Look at The CIA World Factbook

The CIA World Factbook is one of the best geographic resources on the Internet. It is a collection of maps, flags, and comprehensive geographic information for every country and territory in the world (over 270 entries).

Click on: http://geography.about.com/library/cia/blcindex.h…

MALAYSIA

GDP (Purchasing Power Parity): USD 229.3 billion (2004 est.)

GDP – real growth GDP growth rate: 7.1% (2004 est.)

GDP per capita: USD 9,700 (2004 est.)

UNITED KINGDOM (UK)

GDP (Purchasing Power Parity): USD 1,782 billion (2004 est.)

GDP – real growth GDP growth rate: 3.2% (2004 est.)

GDP per capita: USD 29,600 (2004 est.)

Now look at entry level car for Proton’s cars selling price:

1. Savvy: 1.2 Street = £5,995 (MT), 1.2 Style £6,995 (MT); £7,695 (AMT)

2. The exchange rate is £ 1 = USD 1.85560 = RM 6.8247

(Source: http://www.xe.com/ucc/ )

The following are “realistic” assumption: –

Say Savvy is the economic sub-compact car entry level target at the low income group.

Malaysian motorist on average use approximately 30% of their income to acquire car for the reason best known to them or suite their budget.

So, GDP per capita: USD 9,700 (2004 est.) x 30% = USD 2,910 (RM 10,767) or RM 897.25 per month for installment, petrol, insurance, maintenance, etc. which is consider conservative estimate.

Say based on same percentage, UK consumers on average spent 30% of their income on car.

So, GDP per capita: USD 29,600 (2004 est.) x 30% = USD 8,880 (RM 32,560) or RM 2,713 per month. Same that this figure is consider “conservative”.

Therefore, the ratio on Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) for UK and Malaysia motorist is 3:1. Since Savvy selling price is approximately same in Malaysia and UK market, but when factor in the PPP the level of affordability in UK is approximately 3 times more than Malaysia. So in UK, the same level of “affordability” when factor in the PPP = RM 40,000.00 x 3 = RM 120,000.00.

Therefore, any car price up to RM 120,000.00 (£ 17,600.00) in UK is considered “entry level” and/or economical car targeted at low income group. So, by UK standard, the car considered “entry level” and “affordable” (below £ 17,600.00) may include but not necessary limited to the following: –

Source: http://cds.virtual-showroom.co.uk/scripts/newVehi…

1. BMW – 116I Hatchback 5d 1596 cc (£ 15,250)

2. Daihatsu Sirion – 1.3 Hatchback 5d 1295 cc (£ 7,952)

3. Honda Jazz – 1.2i – DSI S Hatchback 5d 1246cc (£ 8,112)

4. Honda Civic – 1.8i – VTEC ES Hatchback 5d 1798 cc (£ 14,987)

5. Hyundai Accent – 1.3 GSi Hatchback 5d 1341 cc (£ 8,134)

6. Hyundai Getz – 1.1 GSi Hatchback 5d 1086 cc (£ 8,134)

7. Kia Picanto – 1.0 S Hatchback 5d 999 cc (£ 5,307)

8. Renault Clio – 1.2 16v 75 Authentique Hatchback 5d 1149 cc (£ 9,087)

9. Toyota Aygo – 1.0 VVT-I Hatchback 5d 998 cc (£ 6,372)

10. Toyota Yaris – 1.0 VVT-I Ion Hatchback 5d 998 cc (£ 7,827)

Now look at your statements and my comment on your opinions: –

1. Migrant community – they are mostly from Indian sub-continent especially Pakistan but to a lesser extent Africa whose body built is on average big frame. Even if they are the target, but they have plenty of choice given that the “entry level” and “affordable” car in UK are those prices below GBP 18,000 (including BMW 1 series). Furthermore, the migrants profile over there is different from Malaysia. In our country, most of the migrants are Indon low skills and low educated people mostly involved in construction, plantation and other manual job categories. In UK, those migrants are mostly well educated and professional workforce with high income only welcome and permitted to be PR or citizen of UK. So your guess will remain a guessing – perhaps P1 marketing guy also don’t have this kind of guessing without basis.

2. Pensioners – remembered that Savvy is classified as low entry with economic fuel consumption car design for city driving (perhaps they has add advantage on “lotus handling”). So, this type of car should be targeted at students, lady, second car or third car owner. Talk about pensioner perhaps it is valid through observation in 1990s. Although Proton Saga is intended to appeal to low budget car at large, but it happen to be attracted and majority of the owners of Saga is pensioners, just like Satria GTI attracted considerable number of lady and young driver. So you mentioned P1 car like Savvy, Gen-2, Impian are all mass production car (suppose for general market) with market aim of pensioners? It is just “co-incident” that unfortunately it attracted a “fraction” of the buyers as mentioned above. That is why the % sold in UK is negligible (i.e. 0.12 %).

3. Whoever want to look for car OTR £ 6 to £ 8 k cash. First the range given is not valid (shall be below £18k) and second even with this range UK’s consumers have plenty of choice offered by competitors.

4.Modders who needs “low entry cost” vehicle and write off later. Modders! I interpreted it as those who want to modify their car for reason(s) best known and suite to their “taste”. It can be for drifting, illegal racing, for show off, to be different from other owners, etc. But fairly to said not for top speed or more than 200 km/h given the size of the car and engine. Since Savvy is good in handling, so drifting is one of the possibility. If this is the case, I don’t think it is the choice of UK guys to mod Savvy for this purpose given their deep pocket and choices available. Even back home, our “drifting king”, non other than the son of former CEO of P1, Tengku Djan did not chose the Savvy but cling to his trusty 22 year old Toyota Trueno. For his opinion, drifting does not required powerful engine or “lotus handling” but “to stay in control” of the car.

Normally good marketing planning and strategy might encompass but not necessary limited to the following factors: –

1. Matrix on products & geographical area – Can be existing product at existing or new location, or new products at existing or new locations.

2. Pricing strategic – (a) low entry cost to acquire the product like “£ 1” offer. (b) lowest/competitive pricing. (c) give out “freebies” or the like to entice potential buyers, etc.

3. Based on demography, age group, income range, buyer’s budget, “affordability”, single, family, etc.

4. Market preferences and expectation in term of type of vehicle (sedan, SUV, Truck, MPV, etc), quality, specs, design, styling, pricing, trend and attractive features.

5. Segmentation – mass market at large with lowest price or niche market with premium price.

6. Market environment like competitive “market price”, interest rates, percentage of loan allowed (i.e. up to 90%) and tenure (repayment period).

7. Good sales after service or second hand value of the products.

So, if this “constructive solutions for marketing plan” as forwarded by you if ever reach to the top management of P1. MD SZ will straightaway shoot down this guessing and throw it into dust bin! You can say what you want including always cheered for the underdogs, but having taken into consideration all aspects, who ever accept your opinions or ideas, he will go no where or always a loser!

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 4:17 am

nobody said proton is the best. in every business, in every product, in any country.. there's problem. all we have to do is chill down a little on issues and move on.

theres no point yapping about the same topic over and over again without considering other aspect in growth and progress. dont just look on the down side of the matter. be neutral.

talk about good cars.. then talk about the high end brand from the world class makers. even honda and toyota took years to get to what it is now, so dont expect proton or perodua to have the same build quality or same top of the range performance. perdana is no camry and neo is no jazz.

again, all we need to do is stop the senseless bashing and move on and have some respect of others in making your voice heard.

cheers.

• ckengyo (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 5:29 am

ferrari & other famous car r not famous bcos of their tight driving position. is the other "benefit" come along the whole package. p1 definitely cant give this extra value. so just dont so clamp minded that just compare the neo disadvantage 2 other branded name. PLEASE. ferarri have improve alot due 2 american market. so dont just comparing p1 with last century ferrari. 22th century's ferrari is nothing compare 2 p1.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 6:38 am

i do agree that toyota and honda took years to be what they are now, but it was then and it is now, the competition and the business landscape of the automotive industry is totally different from yesteryear, too bad p1 had came to the industry a bit late, because its competitors are very much ahead. Nobody will wait for you before they move ahead, p1 is simply not a viable project, stop talking giving p1 more time, they have been in the industry for 20 years, look at the automotive industry now, how players operate and compete, what is the best business model, sentiment alone doesn't lead you anywhere, it is the bread and butter, p1 is a business venture, if it is a political tool, then it's too bad, whatever it is, p1 deserves bashing, p1 is the root of the suffering of the people here in terms of getting a decent car at reasonable price.

• NeedGoodCar (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 6:45 am

fyi, i am not a typical p1 basher, i am a ardent p1 basher, the day when nap or something similar to it abolished is the day we see light in the automotive industry and the smile on the face of the people, many of them i dare to presume except those minority supporting p1. None of my fren buy a p1 as their second car once they get rid of their p1.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 7:50 am

klazy pipel said,

1. "nobody said proton is the best. in every business, in every product, in any country.. there’s problem.

2. all we have to do is chill down a little on issues and move on."

————–

Totally agree with you 200% on the 1st point. Anywhere and anything got problems, and man made problems (P1) shall come with solutions, not cover it and ask other party (rakyat) to take the burden and suffer as a result of this manmade (P1) problems.

Not only Proton is not the best, even BMW, Mercs or Toyota also not the best and can't claim the best of the best trophy (at least this is still 3 horse race). But the sad truth about P1 is despite rakyat support and use of tax payer money, it make the problems from bad to become worst! Again your 2nd statement on "we have to do is chill down a little on issues and move on" demonstrate you bark a wrong tree with a wrong reasons. The right tree with a right reason for you to bark is if P1 is good enough (but not perfect or the best), NAP have to be dismantled, P1 have to improve quality and to be competitive enough to fight in oversea market to bring back Euro, GBP, USD, Yen,Yuan, Rupee, Rupiah, Baht, Peso, Sing Dollar, etc to enrich our nation. Not suck RM like nobody biz to sustain its existence! Think of what P1 can do in corporate social responsibility by contribute to the nation wealth and protect rakyat welfare! THIS IS THE REAL DEAL DUDE!

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 8:31 am

klazy pipel said "again, all we need to do is stop the senseless bashing and move on and have some respect of others in making your voice heard."

———-

Aiya, still bark a wrong tree with a wrong reason. P1 do the shitting, you can't blame rakyat make noise on the stinking smell, but have to ask P1 clear the shit!

• KelvC (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 10:07 pm

Dear Paul, firstly thank you for the silver lining you have provided to us all these time. I truly enjoyed reading your updates that have provided the automobile updates that I need for my daily bread. Like you, likewise, am just a petrolhead who loves cars. The objective of PT.org has been noble at heart to keep us auto fans much abreast of the going-ons in the auto world and to allow commentors to provide feedbacks of some value to readers all over the world which has been neutral and intellectually constructed despite the criticism.

Like many others, both you and I drives a Proton, therefore I anxiously wait for new updates from this manufacturer be it officially or just word of mouth. Everytime you post a Proton update naturally I would read that post first before venturing to the other materials. The news you have posted earlier regarding the possibility of Proton joint venturing with Petronas and Volkswagen (of course others too) raised my interest further of the possibility that this “son” of ours may make good after all. Despite the collapse in talk by these parties, it has been a good updates from you and many others too.

There has been many comments on Proton doesn’t hear the commentors feedbacks hence venting anger in the forums but truly how many of us really provide the right feedback to the right channels? To date, I have not seen a concerted effort to bring Proton and the Ministry of Transport to the fore and ensure they receive the word of the majority that we want (1) safe, (2) secure, and (3) affordable mode of transportation (if this is without Proton then so be it!). Have any of us actually written to Proton, the Cabinet or even the press to voice your dissatisfaction? Write to your State Assemblymen Representative, or anyone else for the matter, afterall General Election could be near so what better time to have this raised and squeezed!

Alternatively, if you have zero confidence on your reps and to ensure that your views are brought to the fore, the most effective way would be picketing in front of the Proton HQ and the Parliament simultaneously with the major news network invited. Forget about the local news network, bring in CNN, BBC, AlJazeera and others! I am sure many other motorists by the thousands (more than the recent Black Sunday at KLCC) would wave their flags and raise the banners the moment organizers put the word out. I am sure someone here might take up the challenge, let us know where and when and we’ll be there too!

Like many Proton owners out there, I too have my own problems with my car but that doesn’t mean I should or could burn my car like JClackson because I would have to think of the cause/effect too; i.e. environment, my wallet, neighbors, local authorities, etc.

Lastly, moving forward, I would like to suggest putting up a “do-and-cannot-do-on-the-Forum” to maintain civility and at least everyone has a chance to provide feedbacks within civilized boundaries. The flaming and bashing here is just too …… deconstructive.

This is KelvC, signing out.

• nadia (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 11:27 pm

huhhu..can be more interesting..quite cool huh?i support 'em…honestly..

• nadia (Member) on Oct 15, 2006 at 11:28 pm

erm..good

• asimo (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 4:02 am

#

Joe Ooi said,

October 13, 2006 @ 11:36 pm

asimo said, “u aready test or own savvy??is it u having a power window problem with savvy?if not just shut up!!!!”

————-

Joe oiii said

aiyoyo, I experience it for Iswara and Waja models, and test the freaking power window failuresssssssss (not plural, but 1001-ral) bad experience. About Savvy, never own and also never heard Savvy owners complaint about it but ask me to teest or own it definitely big NO NO as even the good power also won’t influence me to buy it simply because this car design is SUCK …… especially turtle shape backside. You mentioned “if not shut up”, so I interprete it as as far as Savvy power window not fail, I will “shut-up” (indeed I never condemn about Savvy window). So I still reserved my right to “shout” on other aspects of Savvy or other models within P1 product inventory.

By the same principle look at yous previous post at 2007 Daihatsu Materia as shown below: –

http://paultan.org/archives/2006/10/08/2007-daiha…

asimo said, October 8, 2006 @ 8:16 pm

“kereta mayat ooooooooooooooooooooooo”

“u aready test or own Daihatsu Materia?? is it u having a power window problem with Materia? if not just shut up!!!!

Or, since you “shout out” without test or own Materia, I also can comment as follow: – O O kereta mayat ah? This small size kereta mayat just nice to fit in dwaft 1.20 Meter SHORT robot !!!!!!!!!!!!

Hello MR Joe Oii

So u not own a new batch of proton,(Savvy Or Neo) then u complain about the power window..yes,u not inform what type of the proton car…we are talking about savvy here…so when u talking about proton cars,it also reflecte to proton…this is what u said…."So failed P1 “power window”! spoiled absorber, etc? "u not own savvy and can make a conclusion that savvy also a power window problem..haiya……..

another think,i comment about that daihatsu car about the design,not the power window problem or absober problem or etc…i just condem the suck design from them,which like a kereta mayat……u know kereta mayat??

ok bye bye Joe Oii..Take Care…..luv u…na na na na…..

• Joe Cole (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 11:58 am

hi..newbie here….

this video show how good savvy it is..enjoy
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXcCxhht-y4

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 5:44 pm

Proton wont make it to the next decade, it will be take over and later abolished the brand name. if the "rakyat" prefer to change the G to killf off Proton then the current G will sell off Proton first to stay in power.Rakyat have to be smart..if not you will being bully the rest of your life and your grand children will suffer the same…but please do not compare Proton with Ferrari and also do not try to use Renault name to promote Savvy(no backside turle)…hey will you say your friend have a good sexx skills so you can pick up a girl? the girl sure will look for your friend…

STOP BUYING PROTON…no more new PROTON TO BE REGISTERED

• jeanloo (Member) on Oct 16, 2006 at 10:04 pm

mycar_stolen , do you know that savvy use the same Renault Quickshift5 gearbox and engine with the Renault Clio which is very sucessful in Europe? If you dont know then can search Paul's previous post on the Savvy. Some more tuned by Lotus and certified by TUV wor. Maybe it is as good as or even better than the Clio. (Don't start talking bout tax and pricing ok,dats old story and u can not escape it like you can not escape death, lol). Only the look mah, but taste is subjective to individuals. I bet your friend also got some more handsome than you, then you no need to hope to get married already lar, dude

• mycar_stolen (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 12:27 am

jeanloo said,

October 16, 2006 @ 2:04 pm

mycar_stolen , do you know that savvy use the same Renault Quickshift5 gearbox and engine with the Renault Clio which is very sucessful in Europe?

Savvy is Proton and Clio is Renault it is a total different thing. One is a car with award winning engine, formula one champion constructor and the other one is only "milo tin on wheels" or "coffin car" not to play role as a car or transportation but only to give big money to the G.

If you drive Renault you have the right to be at F1 races, if you drive Proton go away… you are making the race cheap..because that is what you are..cheap overprice metal on wheels that make masian life no price…

errrr DO YOU THINK RENAULT ENGINEER WILL AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT THE TECHNOLOGY SHARING. A BIG NO…this rojak Proton will not do any good…but keep posting I just dont like to see the tiger head emblem…look stupid and useless

• Joe Cole (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 12:38 am

a nother BLIND BASHER…………..never test or drive savvy and condem easyly….

why aa jealous lol??the imort thing is savvy is no more tin milo…your car is tin milo thats why your car is stolen lol….for use as besi buruk….

wah…………the important thing is savvy is generated by renault engine..that is the truth…"DO YOU THINK RENAULT ENGINEER WILL AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT THE TECHNOLOGY SHARING"if no why the give the akses?hahhaha…crazy statement ……dude….it is a good colabration between proton and renault…a 1.2 engine can go up to 170kmh with a good stability!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 12:55 am

hard to say when live in this situation, need revelution. that leads to a total mess, boicoting, how many would? do we really have the will to quickly change with our own will..

people who loves car and appreciate cars within their capapacity its an enjoyable hobby,

but yes we hope for a change, time can tell, wheather the tiger will perish,

…………still like that tiger.

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 6:25 am

jeanloo said,

"mycar_stolen , do you know that savvy use the same Renault Quickshift5 gearbox and engine with the Renault Clio which is very sucessful in Europe?"

———————

mycar_stolen said,

"Savvy is Proton and Clio is Renault it is a total different thing. One is a car with award winning engine, formula one champion constructor and the other one is only “milo tin on wheels” or “coffin car” not to play role as a car or transportation but only to give big money to the G."

———————

Joe Cole said,

"a nother BLIND BASHER…………..never test or drive savvy and condem easyly….

why aa jealous lol??the imort thing is savvy is no more tin milo…your car is tin milo thats why your car is stolen lol….for use as besi buruk….

wah…………the important thing is savvy is generated by renault engine..that is the truth…”DO YOU THINK RENAULT ENGINEER WILL AGREE WITH YOU ABOUT THE TECHNOLOGY SHARING”if no why the give the akses?hahhaha…crazy statement ……dude….it is a good colabration between proton and renault…a 1.2 engine can go up to 170kmh with a good stability!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!."

————————-

Joe Ooi said,

The Renault Clio III using latest engine (3-door model) was launched in UK market on 15th October 2005, and 5-door was introduced in Jan 2006. Clio II model fitted with DF4 engine was introduced in 1998 and cease production in 2005. The D4F engine is acquired by P1 to be fitted into it Savvy model. P1 procures this outdated Renault engine to be “re-cycled”, re-package and re-launched it in 8th June 2005 by dump this junk into Malaysian market and claim as a “brand new product fitted with new engine”.

So, Savvy use outdated Clio II engine ………… Use latest Clio III engine! maybe in future waite another 8 year until Clio IV out……….

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 6:37 am

Joe Ooi said,

You mentioned “if not shut up”, so I interprete it as far as Savvy power window not fail, I will “shut-up” (indeed I never condemn about Savvy window). So I still reserved my right to “shout” on other aspects of Savvy or other models within P1 product inventory."

————–

asimo said,

“u not own savvy and can make a conclusion that savvy also a power window problem..haiya…….."

————–

So, the above is my statement but below is your conclusion, not mine as my statement is self-explanantory – I never condemn about Savvy power window failure. So the burden is on you to retract or remedy your statement…….. Good luck to you asimo……..

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 7:27 am

KelvC said,

"Lastly, moving forward, ………………."

"This is KelvC, signing out."

—————-

Joe Ooi,

If moving forward, why "signing out"? Or straight to the point – "Shift Out" 0r "KO-Knock Out"?

A determine guy and righteous person even DOWN but never OUT! Still have to climb up, that is so call struggle in our life. Talk a little bit in Paul Tan Blog "signing out" already – very "small air"! Do you hear Westerner said – "If can't beat them joint them". That a few word for you.

Ahemmmm…….., anyway I am just like you a visitor to PT Blog, and Paul Tan never authorized or consented to me to act or talk on behalf of him. But I strongly believe, and always believe in the event you decided to make a comeback, Paul Tan as a landlord always welcome you……..

Lastly, just to let you know that if I want to pries open on your last post like you’re guessing on P1 car market in UK, it just like open up a Pandora box – "all-hell-get-loose". Believe me or not ……. it is very and 100% constructive – why you proposed something with 99% risk that may need to do it under hot sun – likely get water canon from FRU and doesn't reflect our peace loving people attitude.

Some more want to bring in CNN, BBC, Al-Jazeera and others! Very funny, is that say "power window failured" in Joe Ooi's Waja car has any newsworthy in international event? Just wonder this kind of nitty-gritty issue can attract how many international audiences and/or how much income can generate to them? Very un-realistic talking.

Anyway, I can propose a very constructive yet peace of mind with at most 1% risk to overcome this. Just to borrow from Martin Luther King famous phrase – "I have a dream" – One day (2010) I have a dream I will take back my consumers right of "free to choose" under FTA rather than currently "force to choose" under NAP by just do a very basic and conscience "DIY" action from the comfort of sofa in aircond living in my house – STOP THE BUYING!

Why need to approach assembly man, P1, MITI or sleeping MP – Shout about "Mer-De-Ka", they are sleeping. Shout about "Mau-Duit-Kah", mata terbuka!!!!!!!!!!!

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 9:00 am

haiyah still not finish ar? u guys talk like nobody bisnes. blab and blab non stop and shout at each other as far as this post can go.

give it a rest lar. if u dislike a particular brand/person, then laugh it off or top it off once and for all and move on. its not the end of the world. but if u kept barking on the same issue over and over again…

its annoying.

• protonGL (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 9:02 am

way off from this topic….

disel car is the best for budget consumer. able to drive bigger car instead of driving an unsafe kelisa simply to save pocket, just a bit of trade off on r tax , but once a year,

performance a bit let down, but 3000 rpm capable of 140 0r 160. batter init rather than the buzzing 4500s .more with td.

a cup of disel please….

• klazy pipel (Member) on Oct 17, 2006 at 9:05 am

and joe, u need to chill dude. ur words is getting to sound like a dictator trying to make the public accept ur every view and comments.

not all people think the same. just remember that. said it once and thats it.. but now u kept repeating the same sentiment of hard bashing and brushing aside other people's point of view like u own the world or some shit like that.

who are u to influence me/other people? dont get too far dude. try to chill down or u really should consider committing suicide for world peace.