Mercedes Benz B170 Test Drive

b170_1.jpg

Mercedes Benz seems adamant at filling up every niche possible with their recent slew of alphabetical soup attacks on the car industry – the new A, B, R, as well as models with multi-alphabet designations like the new CLS, one of the very few coupes around that come with four doors. Here well be having a look at the recently launched B-class, a Mercedes Benz B170 with high spec trim to be exact. Read my report after the jump.

dsc_0027-1.JPG

Mercedes Benz calls the B170 a Sports Tourer, a 5-seater that gives you the versatility of a 5-door hatch small MPV combined with a sedan-like driving experience. At first glance you might think this is just an A-class with a big boot, much like how the Seat Altea XL is a larger Altea, or the Colt Plus is a larger Colt. Yes, the B-class shares the same sandwich floor platform with the A-class, and a similar suspension setup, but this isnt just an A with a big boot, the growth in size has been distributed in the interior proportionately. The rear seats are designed to fit proper full-sized adults, and they even get rear air conditioning vents. On the exterior, you wont find family resemblance with the A-class, but will rather see that the B class seems to be a smaller version of the larger R-class, which also shares the Sports Tourer moniker.

The B-class does not look overly big, from the front or back, it is only when viewed directly from the side that you notice it actually has a pretty long wheelbase. I would say interior space is somewhere between the C class and the E class, which makes it great for someone who wants to own a Mercedes Benz, wants the versatility of an MPV hatch, and was previously stuck in a rut because the E class is too expensive and the C class is too small.

dsc_0002.JPG

Step into the interior and youll be greeted by a nice dark and light grey (almost white!) interior, with a big 4-spoke steering wheel in the middle. The dash panel is easy to read, with two large dials showing speed and engine RPM, flanked by two smaller dials with temperature and petrol tank indicators on the left and right, and in the middle of all of that you have an informative LCD panel showing details like average fuel consumption, temperature, gear position, and etc. I have one qualm about the temperature gauge though, while the engines normal running temperature is about 90 degrees Celcius, the 90 mark is not at the middle of the gauge (the middle is about 80 degrees or so), leading you to believe that the engine is overheating, since the normal perception is that if the temperature goes anywhere above the middle somethings gone wrong.

dsc_0036.JPG

There is only one steering column stalk, with controls for both the lamps and the wipers on the left. Not having anything on the right makes it easier to put the key in I suppose. The shift lever is of the gated type, typical of higher-end cars. Comfy white leather seats that match the rest of the interior trim. A pretty good sound system that has small buttons that might be a little hard to press when youre also concentrating on driving. The in-car entertainment system also has the option for an in-car phone, an RM735 option non-inclusive of installation and other misc charges, where you can plug your Nokia, Siemens or Sony Ericsson phone in a space in the center armrest. The phone book of the in-car phone can be accessed via the LCD panel in the middle of the dashboard dials, and you can make calls via the keypad on the center dash area. I suppose this is why all the buttons have been made kind of small, there are just so many buttons to fit on the dash area.

dsc_0006.JPG

The seating position is pretty much car-like, but of course you are positioned higher than the average sedan. With no transmission tunnel or gearbox in the way, footwell space is very comfortable, the arm rest is in just the right location, the armrest on the door is angled upwards towards the front so that the power window buttons are more comfortably accessed. Generally the in-cabin ambiance of the car is great. Having a sunroof over your head also enhances the feeling of spaciousness, though there is an inherent design problem with the louvered sunroof which I will talk about later. It handles pretty much like a car, with good feedback from the steering, and characteristics are pretty much the usual for a front wheel drive car. I didnt push the car much around bends as despite a car-like seating position it does feel abit high, yet somewhat grounded at the same time. Like a Pajero.

dsc_0039.JPG

The 1.7 litre engine is just barely enough to propel the B170 forward, so I was surprised to hear that there is actually a B150 model in some markets. The brakes that come with the car are more than enough for its power, and there is not much drama during hard stopping from highway speeds. The brakes do lack the somewhat progressive feel of other Mercedes cars though. It’s more jumpy like the Audi A4’s. While the AUTOTRONIC CVT transmission does help the engine stay in the torquey sections of the rev band, you cant help but feel as if youre driving through some really really thick and dense air – thats the best way I can describe the feeling, theres just not enough shove. Switching to Sports Mode on the CVT transmission did not really help much there. An indirect steering combined with the slugginess of the powertrain makes this not a very agile drive – but if you’re buying a 5-seater MPV and wanting a fun drive, you’re looking at the wrong segment! There seems to be a void in the Mercedes Benz B-class model line-up here in Malaysia. There are two B170 models, one low spec and one high spec, then theres no middle ground and the next model is the insanely fast B200 Turbo. DaimlerChrysler Malaysia should introduce the normally aspirated variant of the B200 to fill the gap.

Right, so I mentioned that this is the high spec B170. What it has over the low spec version is mainly nicer and bigger wheels, as well as a louvered sunroof. I love the sunroof. The louvered design makes it possible to make a long sunroof that extends to the rear passenger area despite the relatively short roof length. Just be careful when you open it on rainy days. Because of the way the sunroof panels open, if there is water on the roof of the car, the whole interior will get wet. This doesnt really happen with normal sunroof designs, as the amount of water that might drip in is quite minimal. Its a lot more water that will be damping your interior carpets in the Bs case because the louvered panels tilt from a horizontal to vertical position, so all the water on the roof will drip into the cabin. A possible scenario would be you getting up in the morning and not realising it had rained the night before, or perhaps morning dew has collected on the roof. Then you drive off and open the sunroof to enjoy the cool morning air. Your interior gets wet. GG!

dsc_0043.JPG

The high spec version also gets an iPod connectivity kit integrated into the sound system. The connector for the iPod is located in the glove compartment. This isnt a normal aux input, you can actually control your iPod from the sound system.

Naturally this type of car is going to be driven by alot of soccer moms, and the general stereotype is that ladies aren’t very good at parking (paultan.org does not endorse this stereotype, heheh) so the car doesn’t just have reverse sensors, but sensors for the front and sides as well! A warning system alerts you if you’re too near to another car on the sides, with LEDs lighting up to show how close you are – the closer you are, the more LEDs light up! There are two sets of LEDs, one on the front and one at the back – you can look at the one at the back through the rear view mirror.

dsc_0013.JPG
“I like big boots and I cannot lie!”

The boot is spacious, over 500 litres, and the rear seats can be folded down to make more space, however they cannot really be folded down if the front seats are positioned too far back. As I have long legs and have the seat pushed quite far behind, this rules out the rear bench being folded down whenever I am driving. Other than the boot space, the rest of the car interior seems to lack much storage space. You have the usual glovebox, but there doesnt seem to be anywhere else you can keep your stuff. There is usually a secondary storage area inside the arm rest, but since the B170 has air conditioning blowers for the rear seats built into the arm rest, theres no space for a storage compartment there.

On the overall, I like the B-class, but calling it a Sports Tourer in B170 form would be a lie. The B200T would be a real Sports Tourer. Mercedes Benz has managed to Bangle-fy the B-class without ending up looking Korean, so thumbs up there. Worth considering if small European sedans just isnt your thing, the interior space of this boy is much better than cars like the A4, 3-series or the C-Class – and theyre all to be had at the same amount roughly, the low RM200K range.

dsc_0044.JPG

dsc_0011.JPG

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Anonymous (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 9:45 am

a bit dissapointed with the interior design.. (look at the mat…)

nice paul, it's another test drive ! : )

• Anonymous (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 9:51 am

a bit dissapointed with the interior design. (look at the mat)

nice paul, it's another test drive ! : )

• e-nabilll (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 11:14 am

its hard to tink of this car as a first or main car for usage…its probably made for those who r dying to get anyting with the merc badgeon the bonet…its quite a heavy car for a 1.7litre..and the rear really does look korean…if uve seen the ssangyong chairman car..u wil know wat i mean…!

looks and sounds like a boring car..bt thn again..its probably made for soccer mums and ladies as u mentioned…

• normal_user (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 3:57 pm

Its spacious, I read somewhere that is rear passenger space is between that of E-class & S-class (if the front passenger has shorter legs than Paul). I think its a better buy compared to A4, C-class or 3-series, because of the intelligent cabin design to maximize space and also its price tag. It looks elegant too compared to the older C-class.

Hmm where's the sunroof pic anyway?

• honda_driver (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:21 pm

Agreed, the B-class is roomy, practical and sensible, but best of all, has the 3 pointed star on its bonnet.

The BIG difference is, the A4, C-class, and the 3 series are proper sporting saloons, with excellent driving dynamics..with engine choices that give you real power and performance.. whereas the B-class is as exciting to look at, as an aerodynamic bread van.

• KY (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:22 pm

Every time I read "after the jump." I half-expect you actually take a photograph of yourself jumping

• karheng (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:29 pm

Hmmm…..so not being that tall has its benefits after all! :P

• waimak (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 5:52 pm

I like B more than A..

• RM (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 6:03 pm

Never really seen what an A or B class merc looked inside before. It's a bit dissappointing to say the least when compared against its more established siblings. Agree, badge aside it does look very korean. Cheap plastic and materials give it away. Being a merc, I trust it should drive better than it looks.

• HMMaster (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 6:33 pm

The boot is huuuuugggeeeee!

• msmar_453 (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 6:56 pm

“I like big boots and I cannot lie!”

what the exactly big boots do you mean, mr. paul? hehehe :-)

• Kaboda (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 7:16 pm

I like Mercedes and I reckon they build great cars but this car is an utter waste of money. Its totally overpriced and there is no reason in the world why you would buy a 1.7 on such a big heavy car at this price no matter if its a Merc or not.

• protonGL (Member) on Nov 14, 2006 at 9:01 pm

rear looks like its just another ORDINARY mpv, a bit like renault scenic .

the VITO or A sitll have the sense of mercedes-ness …

but this (particularly the rear light design) loosing its touch.

aiyaaaa, remember your ANCESTOR?!!

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 12:05 am

Why beige? Looks so Korean.

• drM (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:30 am

Hamster doenst like it. James May doesnt like it. I also dont like it. the reason is very simple – it cost a bomb. but technically, it is a good MPV. and mercedes is a good company.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 1:32 am

Dear Paul,

May I suggest you to take of photo of yourself while seating on Front seat especially driver side and one at the Rear seat side for the next TEST DRIVE or future TEST DRIVE? When you did it that, we can easily knows or judged the room space of the model.

That's only my suggestion, its up to you to decide. If you worry your face to be exposed, then you should wear a M.I.B specs. or Mickey mouse MARKS, I guess it might be good enough to cover your face. :P

Okay?

• Paul Tan on Nov 15, 2006 at 2:08 am

Coming up soon: Volvo V50 T5, Alfa GT, BMW 325i. The next car after the 325i will have a pretty girl to demonstrate interior space, I hope, heh.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 4:46 am

Thanks for considering my suggestion, you idea even better with a Pretty Gals.

But, please make sure the Gals are pretty enough ;P and the body size should be the same all the time. If not, Sometime BIG sometime TINY, we might get confused about the actual room space of it. ha..ha..ha :)

Okay?

• Joe Ooi (Member) on Nov 15, 2006 at 6:20 am

auctioncenter2u, the body size should be the same all the time!…… How about if the boob are as big as head, perhaps will confuse and distract your attention as well! …. ha, ha, ha, …… just joking, no offence …………..

• transformer (Member) on Nov 16, 2006 at 8:40 pm

Dear, All

Anyone know if CVT required to be service/change spare parts ?

eg. the belt ? or the pulley ? how long would it last ?

Anyone ?

Car price is already high but maintenance cost also played the most important role for TCO(Total Cost Ownership).

Dear, Paul

Anyway to get something like the maintenance cost(2years) for few hot/common model in M'sia ?

say, Vios, Altis, Sentra, Civic, City, Accord, Camry

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Nov 17, 2006 at 12:11 am

Joe Ooi said,

November 14, 2006 @ 10:20 pm

//auctioncenter2u, the body size should be the same all the time!…… How about if the boob are as big as head//

In that case, we all will FOCUS only the BOOB not Paul's Report and comments.

Good points! I like BIG BOOB but around 36" should be set as MAX. Over it mm….too big for me. :P

• chrisbangle (Member) on Nov 18, 2006 at 2:53 am

Good, why dont you include 0-100km/h, power-to-weight ratio, lateral G-Force figures, how many seconds can it go through a 6-cone slalom course and of course, maintenance cost.

And get some moving shots. It would be nice to see how this sedated B-rate vehicle goes around corners. Where do you go to test drive the car? Awana? Sepang-PD? Kuala Kelawang?

• shopaholic (Member) on Jan 04, 2007 at 9:50 pm

I had the chance to drive the std version of the B170 for about a week.

This car drinks unlike the sedany C200. It has a terrible turning circle for a small car. The transmission is rough and noisy, especially on sports mode, and sound (from outside) insulation is poor. What really annoyed me the most was the huge central instrument panel(for the radio, cd and air con controls)-I was constantly banging my knee against it and on long drives it is pretty tiring cramming your left leg into the narrowed foot space.

Car designers should wake up-who smokes in an air con car these days-so why the redundant ash tray and lighter kit on cars (including the B170) which translates into at least a couple of hundred bucks for the consumer. Also some idiots should wake up and realise in these days of high tech mobile phones who really needs a car phone, with buttons on the steering wheel which the driver can control! Imagine splashing a thousand bucks to fit a phone console and a cell phone on the B170, or paying for those useless phone buttons and phone cradle pre-installed on the B170 if you don't wish to install a car phone! Putting the menu and phone buttons (8 in all) means that you cannot "toot" a car that's sliding over into your lane with your thumb-instead you have to use your palm to press on the centre of the steering column giving everyone a frght with your loud horn.

The height difference is not noticeable especially when you are parking as the nose of the car dips too steeply in front, so front distance sensors make sense, even if men are driving the B170. Design wise I wouldn't recognise this as a Benz if not for the star in front.

On the plus side, the car interior and the boot (luggage) space are really great compared to C200 or C230.

• dantesco Nig Ltd on Nov 13, 2009 at 8:12 am

tell us the price of yr mercedes benz B170, the price of yr spareparts for mercedes benz cars

• fizah abu bakar on Apr 28, 2010 at 4:34 am

my brother has this car.
    i don’t like it.
    i feel uncomfortable,i don’t know why.

• haizar on Jun 25, 2010 at 10:42 am

I am a lady driver who commute daily for 70km/day to and from work (35kms each way). I used to commute with my husband on his Honda Civic 2.0 – and many times took the wheel – as I am an equally efficient driver. I define efficient driver as those alert drivers who always look ahead so he/she always know what to do next, as a result of with, they always change lanes efficiently, drives fast yet still a safe and patient driver.

When I bought my own car , Merc B170 sometimes in early 2009 , initially, compared to Civic 2.0, I can feel B170 lacked of pick-up especially during hill climbing and overtakings. I had my few complains on this. But to my surprise, after a while, you get used to it and tend to adjust your driving style. This drawback is more than well compensated on how smooth the car is. The power steering is excellent and the braking is simply wonderful. It is also a very quiet and really, after a day at work, to be in this car for an hour long journey to get home, sometimes longer in bad traffic, is just a bliss.

I am someone who hate to spend money on something luxury just for the sake of status, but paying more than RM2K a month for this car is well worth my effort to go to work because I spend 2 hours commuting daily.

I have been using this car for a year now and never a day did I regret buying it. Even my husband who simply loves his Honda Civic 2.0, now loves the smoothness of my B170 that we often balik kampung using B170. It is just that comfortable feeling you have in the car. Even my maid complains that she feel like vomiting if we travel on Civic, but feels nothing when we travel on B170.

The only thing I like to improve on this car is, I wish they put blower for back seats and more storage space for front seat passenger. Otherwise, I think I can live with this car for many years ahead.

Now, me and my husband recently tested drive Peugeot 3008. Beautiful car and a lot of storage space and smooth driving as well. Almost same to B170 when put side by side. A price difference of 50K, so a lot of financial saving to choose 3008 compared to B170. It is also roomier because 3008 base is lower. B170 is a bit high, sometimes my father complain about it being too high for him to climb into the car. So 3008 has its plus point there. But, really, the test drive experience suggest to me that while 3008 has more pick up, it cannot match by half the smoothness of both during you cruise and when you brake with Merc B170.

Let me sum it up this way, had I not bought B170 a year ago, I might have bought 3008 now in split second for the price difference. But after driving B170 for a year, I think I’ll still go for B170. It is a car you dont feel tired of. You really wouldn’t know until you use it on daily basis. But of course this car is not for you to race. It is really a car which helps you escape (psycologically) your daily commuting.

Only my 2 cents. Others may disagree based on their purpose of having a car.

• Can anyone here advise on the average standard servicing of b170? How often does the car need servicing?
      Is the parts gonna be more expensive since it’s fully imported?
      What bout a 3 yrs car, does it need any major servicing and parts changing?
      Any good recommendation on service centers other than c&c or hs since it’s no longer under warranty?

Thanks!!

• Kelly on Jan 13, 2011 at 9:14 pm

hi Haizar,

it is great to know another efficient driver out there… (as i consider myself 1 too).
        I am thinking to change to B170 recently. Keen to know how is the fuel consumption and have you try the top speed of your car?
        I am currently driving a 2 door RAV 4. I prefer SUV than sedan. This car (at least to me) is somewhere between a SUV and sedan… MPV sounds like van..haha

Thanks…

• Frankie Tan on Apr 22, 2015 at 10:42 pm

Hi Haizar, thank you for sharing the ride experience. Are you still using the car now & after all the years is there any quality issues on the CVT gear & electrical ? I’m in the market for a used 2009/2010 B170/B180 face lifted unit now, thanking in advance.

• Garvey on Jul 07, 2013 at 11:53 pm

Nice car I like (B170 petrol), but where or how do I adjust cruise control as mine is refusing to go more than 120km/hr and I just suspect ot was cruise control set. Please correct me if I am wrong. Thanx.

• Ivan yong on Aug 31, 2013 at 5:10 pm

Hello…I’m looking for Mercedes-Benz b170 parts…please contact me ass soon 0168808807 Sam yong thank you.

• Woot, I will ceirntaly put this to good use!