2007 Honda Civic Type R Sedan Details

Civic Type R Sedan

[UPDATE: The Honda Civic Type R Sedan has been launched in Malaysia. Click here for details.]

The sedan version of Honda’s new Honda Civic Type R will go on sale in Japan beginning today, Friday March 30th 2007. Key features include the high performance high revving K20A 2.0 litre normally aspirated engine found in the Europrean Civic Type R hatch mated to a 6-speed manual transmission, a torque-sensitive helical LSD, large 18 inch wheels providing a peek at the huge 17 inch disc brakes with 4-pot Brembo calipers behind them, as well as a sporty bodykit. The bodykit includes a new bonnet design with a more prominent dome. Suspension has also been tuned for sporty performance and features thicker stabilizer bars.

Interior enhancements over the normal sedan include a new black color scheme, bucket seats exclusively designed for the Civic Type R Sedan, a new dash featuring i-VTEC engine revolution indicator alerts, a small-diameter leather-wrapped oval steering wheel, an aluminum ball-type shift knob, a short stroke sports shift linkage, metal sports-type pedals and footrest, and a button-type engine starter.

In this edition, the K20A revs all the way up to 8,000rpm with an output of 225 PS, and churns out a peak of 215Nm of torque at 6,100rpm. Throttle activation is via drive-by-wire, and the intake and exhaust manifolds are tuned for high revolution engine output. The 6-speed gearbox ratios are perfectly matched to the rev range and torque curve, as can be seen from the gear position, revolution and torque curve chart after the jump. It also sports a highly rigid aluminum transmission case and a baffle plate to mitigate oil starvation during high speed cornering.

Check out more photos and interesting graphs after the jump.

Civic Type R Sedan

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• riderx (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:14 pm

4 door? ermm i rather like the old one than this.. this bodykit doesn't look as stunning as like the rendering pics.. they should just follow the rendering design rather than playing safe with this already produced bodykit..

• ys (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:14 pm

awesome dude.. bravo Honda.

really looking forward to meet this good looking monster (er.. will Honda introduces it to Malaysians????)

anyway, the modifications really make this monster a dream car.

any idea what is the selling price in Japan?

• itchibawa (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:21 pm

Lovely :)

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:24 pm

My friend said he will hold back his Civic 2.0 purchase until the 2.0 Type R comes!

• nmh (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:26 pm

they shud make an semiauto version of type R…of course with paddle shifter mated with DSG gearbox. Err is it still FWD?….then make it AWD. Nice body kit

• syauqi (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:30 pm

check out the spoiler….it kinda suits this sexy looking honda, but i still of the opinion that it looks best on an Evo….dont u think?

• cyder300 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:32 pm

It is a great looking car and a big bang engine! Too bad it will be just a dream car since it will not be avai here, the comment on Motor Trend said that this is due to the fuel quality level? Anyhoo, shame.

• Hikaru (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:49 pm

I saw a few 2.0 Civic (current ones) with the modulo bodykits. Definately increases it's desirebility.

• superman (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 7:57 pm

Nice, The Boy Racer's favorite toy grows up.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 8:06 pm

Last 4DR Type R was the 4DR Integra and the almost Type R-ish Accord Euro R.

• ed0r (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 8:07 pm

Niceeeee…!!

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 8:43 pm

this is so cool!!! the normal version oredi so eye-catching now comes the type-r… i heard tat there oso has a mugen version too! the new civic type-r is the best and nicest sports sedan i ever seen…!!! check out the start engine button… looks like this car does not require any key… last time watch jenson button having a spin with this awesome car on video… drooling!!!

• DeathBringer (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 8:46 pm

The Civic Type-R will never be officially brought in by Honda Malaysia. You can wait till the cows come home and HM will not budge. Heck, DC5 fans have been waiting even longer.

Even we had to wait for a long time b4 HM decided to bring in DOHC i-VTEC models here, let alone Type-R models.

• silverfish (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 9:31 pm

I'm sure this will be a very good car, as most Honda type-Rs are.

I just can't get over the look of it sometimes. It isn't ugly, just fundamentally wrong somehow. The front and back is just too short compared to the huge, fat middle portion. The smooth streamlined shape is what keeps it from being ugly.

• motherker (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 9:52 pm

why dont honda msia bring in type r models like the ep3 and dc5?

if im not mistaken, dc5 and ep3 are officially sold under honda in singapore..

why why why?!!?!

• meejawa (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 10:59 pm

Paul,

Will the newly introduced low sulphur petrol conform to the fuel requirement by this civic? Or Honda meant different things when they say our petrol is the reason we can't have this car here?

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:08 pm

this car, like other japanese sports cars like the rx8 needs RON100 fuel. we only have up to RON97.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:11 pm

hahhhh! why oh why we have only RON97 fuel!! this car is the bomb!

• motherker (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:15 pm

so how come grey importers are bringing the ep3s and rx8s around here??

doesnt our RON97 affect the cars?

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:16 pm

probably the ignition timing automatically retards.

• kei9 (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:18 pm

honda civic owners out there…modify ur car same as this with the trademark white colour some type-R bits.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Mar 30, 2007 at 11:59 pm

Awesome looking car. I prefer to have a hatchback Civic Type R. Wait a minute! We don't even have the standard futuristic looking Civic hatcback to start with. But still, this 4 door Type R looks sweet!

• hameed koyakuti (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:02 am

Yummyyyyyyyy…………wish it had semi-auto transmission……

• jazz1011 (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:15 am

That's one HOT looking car.

The red & black interior is simply stunning. Looks cool & soothing.

The "redesgined" front makes the car looks sporty yet not so aggressive. Just the right blend.

Like the rest – wish it had come with a semi-auto box.

Cheers!

• gokibin (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:51 am

I used to lusted for Toyota Vios but now I'm lusting for Civic! Wen my aunt got one, I was drooling looking at it. I'm a Toyota fanatic so u can imagine my surprise wen Honda came out wit the new civic. I used to love what my frens n i called Honda Civic Mayat from d 90's. This one is too beautiful. Now it get even more beautiful wit the type-r. Haiya… why am i so poor that i can't afford one… anihoo… let's hope honda keeps it up n come out wit more great models.

• alamak (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 2:24 am

according to inside sources, type-r will be available later part of the year as limited editions, just like the 100 units of mugen civic

• seperlinky (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 2:34 am

Quote from MotorTrader :-

"Honda fans in Malaysia have long wished for official imports of Type R versions but due to various issues, among them the fuel quality and octane, Honda has been reluctant to offer it here. In order for the model to be marketed here, Honda R&D would have to give their approval and since things are not ideal for the high-performance engine, the engineers would be unwilling to agree"

I don't think you can buy that from Honda Malaysia

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 2:36 am

It is indeed quite a waste that we are only running RON97 here instead of RON100. All that wasted performance potential plus the greater hazard it poses to the engine and combustion in comparison to richer fuels.

This Civic Type R looks great from the exterior but kinda gave me a feeling that underneath, its like a Integra DC 5 put on a McDonalds diet. It looks like a fatter version of it but with two extra doors.

The engine on this is fantastic outputting 112.5 horsepower per liter and torks aren't too too bad at 215NM but I couldn't help but notice that as always, the torques are a little high up on the rev counter.

Does it have a flat torque curve all the way to the top or is it like all Type R models that constantly suffocate unless you floor it or rev it like a madman. Most people would like a high revving engine but fuel economy has played an important role in our car buying aspect nowadays.

• seperlinky (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 2:37 am

Quote from MotorTrader:-

Honda fans in Malaysia have long wished for official imports of Type R versions but due to various issues, among them the fuel quality and octane, Honda has been reluctant to offer it here. In order for the model to be marketed here, Honda R&D would have to give their approval and since things are not ideal for the high-performance engine, the engineers would be unwilling to agree."

I do not think you can buy the car direct from Honda Malaysia

• seperlinky (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 2:43 am

Qoute from Motortrader:-

"Honda fans in Malaysia have long wished for official imports of Type R versions but due to various issues, among them the fuel quality and octane, Honda has been reluctant to offer it here. In order for the model to be marketed here, Honda R&D would have to give their approval and since things are not ideal for the high-performance engine, the engineers would be unwilling to agree"

I do not think you can get the car direct from Honda Malaysia

• milkysusu (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 3:39 am

How about using V-power fuel. But V-Power octane number also vary among other countries. Anybody knows what is the octane-number of V-power in Malaysia? Maybe the engineers would allow the Civic Type R to be sold here if they use V-power…

• mrshaharin (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 11:24 am

hmmm…headlight..if its using projector headlight would be more sexier…

• jtshin (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:50 pm

whoa… great design!! love it more than Euro Civic…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 12:57 pm

After doing some research from petrol stations and online testimonials, it can be said that V Power has a minimum of RON97 but no sufficient evidence of it being any higher. Honda engineers must be sure that the car is running on RON100 for optimum efficiency. This could be the reason why nearly all cars with these sport engines are rarely brought into Malaysia e.g. DC2, DC5, EP3 Type R models.

• bpkid (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 3:31 pm

Uwaaaaaaaaaaa!!!!!!!! Tak dapat Msia pulak kete ni!!!!!! SEDIH S**L!!!! :((

• bpkid (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 3:32 pm

*Tak dapat masuk Msia pulak kete ni!!!!!!

• motherker (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 6:27 pm

ermm, so the dc5 and ep3 from naza are running fine here ryte??

+ this is only NA ryte, how about the evo 9 then?? its CBU and doesnt it need 100RON fuel as well??

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 10:38 pm

Yeah how come Mitsubishi has the eggs to bring in the EVO!?

• transformer (Member) on Mar 31, 2007 at 10:39 pm

i think a car with such an exciting engine sure can still use our RON97, the electronics would re-adjust automatically… the timing, the injection, the sparking and etc… auto sensing and auto adjusting/adapting to whatever available RON grade fuel… hopefully…. but the performance would be decrease slightly…. see those Ferarri, Porsche and others drive within bolehland, still can move!!!

IMHO, what held HM to bring in this R would be our TAX!

An EVO IX sold for Rm280K+, guess how much HM want to sell this ?

• dolanmin (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 1:57 am

the price in japan is 2.85 million yen which is eq to rm84.5k…

the price of a honda city????!!!

i wna migrate to japan!!!!

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 11:56 am

Well the biggest difference between a lower numbered RON fuel and a higher number RON fuel is how much you can compress the fuel without it exploding.

Higher octane fuel is less prone to exploding at higher pressure which leads to less engine power. As these Honda machines are high revving creatures, Honda probably did not want RON97 fuel to be used in these cars as it will lead to higher wear and tear.

Can you imagine driving a car which constantly combusts exploding prone fuel at high RPMs on a daily basis? It would be expensive in the long run and would not be cost efficient to run.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 11:58 am

Mistake in second paragraph. What I meant to say was higher octane fuel is less prone to exploding at higher pressure which leads to more engine power not less.

• motherker (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 5:31 pm

but if the evo can take it, considering its a turbo-beast,

even the DC5s can take it,

RX8s,

CALDINA GT4,

Celica,

then why not this type-r ? !

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 01, 2007 at 6:28 pm

Ooooh, nice bodykit, nice performance, nice car, everything is good. All it needs now is perhaps 4WD and this car would be so perfect.

• azolkipl (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 7:37 am

Unfortunately, I am still very very very keen on the design of the UK/EU Civic Type-R. The wedge shape coupe/hot hatch design really is a design of the future, compared to the local market civic, which looks plain next to it. Why can't Honda make the body the same? A proper 'global car' like the Ford Focus. Everywhere you go, exactly the same looking car. Does a Impreza WRX STI look different in Japan, UK or Malaysia? Does a Evo IX look different anywhere else in the world? Sama jer… But the Civic.. different… so that it fits better with the 'local market'. I dare anyone say that the other Civic in Europe looks ugly, or even the coupe Civic in the US.

• cbljkkj (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 8:40 am

motherker:

Its probably due to the fact that Honda wants to hold up their reputation of non-failing VTEC engine units so they choose not to take a risk by introducing these high revving engines to lower grade fuel offered in countries like Malaysia with RON97 for example.

It's not whether it can be introduced or not but rather if they wanted to or not. Different companies have different preferences on where their cars are sold.

A lot of cars from other companies regardless of RON levels in fuels choose not to introduce their cars in Malaysia but in neighboring countries like Thailand and Singapore.

Easiest example: Toyota Vios Turbo in Thailand is not offered in Malaysia.

• davidtch (Member) on Apr 02, 2007 at 6:30 pm

Paul, i think u need to change the size of the brake rotor. It should be front: 320mm & rear: 282mm.

• mynnDAWG (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 1:02 am

i still dont quite like it…mayeb coz im so sued to accept Type R civic being a 2 door hatch than a 4 door sedan…

rims could habe been better in design yeah

• ceteh (Member) on Apr 03, 2007 at 10:39 pm

Saw it somewhere that the torque is not flat .. it suffered a drop somewhere at 3000 RPM …. maybe from motortrader

• ericboon (Member) on Jun 03, 2007 at 7:42 am

In malaysia, where can i oder this honda Civic Type-R ! PENANG CAN get it ???

• chanlman (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 12:17 am

ericboon,

Come to singapore and see it yourself. I just went to Suntec City where they have a small roadshow and I'm so so so proud to sit into Honda Civic Type-R, white color, with pride. It's awesome car. The salesman never look down on me as Malaysian who just see see look look. Respect for that.

One thing, even though I didn't test drive, the suspension is super duper hard. 2 persons was trying to push the car, not shaking at all. Very stiff abs/ spring i guess. The body, you have to feel it yourself. Its fiber glass i think, very solid. Interior seats and all finishing and lining… JDM quality. Superb. Seriously speaking, whoever have Malaysia AP (Approved Permit), you may consider import this beast.

One thing ya… not sure you all aware, this civic does not have Spare tyre. It came with a tire recovery kit (pressure pump, some glue) where you do self-service inflation in case of tire puncture. (fren, one piece of that tire cost you S$800, okay… dun simply burn)

• kei9 (Member) on Jun 11, 2007 at 5:26 am

wah no spare tyre…..really lightens the car man…….

• boulala (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:09 am

Honda Malaysia have comfirmed that they will bring the new 2007 JDM Honda Civic Type R to Malaysia market. It will be launch in August this year. The estimated price will be RM213,000.

• boulala (Member) on Jun 28, 2007 at 3:12 am

Honda Malaysia has comfirmed that they will be marketing the new 2007 JDM Honda Civic Type R in Malaysia. It will be launched in August this year. The estimated price for the car is around RM213,000.

• Starz (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:13 pm

Is it going to be sold in Brunei?..If it is anyone know the price?..

• Starz (Member) on Jun 29, 2007 at 11:15 pm

RM213000??..So expensive..It's only sold for 2,835,000 yen in Jpn..which is equivalent to around RM80k..

• civickidd (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:18 am

my dad's a honda dealer for kedah states….well umm yea boulala is rite…it will be arriving malaysia's shore in august..all da salesman will be going for a training tis 24th july for the hybrid and the type r….well still not sure if honda malaysia is gonna take in da uk ver or da fd..so lets pray it will be da fd =)

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:22 am

so its ture then….too bad dat im still a studd…….haih……………

• civickidd (Member) on Jul 08, 2007 at 7:58 am

wad do u mean a studd? student? lols…..fyi im turning 17 tis 28th…so its gonna be like my present….haha

• Jason_k20A (Member) on Jul 09, 2007 at 6:28 am

all u guys out ther…wad do u think ? the uk type R…or da fd ?

• dann_ong (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 11:33 am

can u give me your HP NO:????????

• amin_ctr (Member) on Jul 23, 2007 at 1:07 pm

a few units of type r and hybrid has been spotted in port klang..

• bigmac (Member) on Jul 27, 2007 at 2:58 pm

wait for the AP to be opened or abolished by March 08……till then, we can only drive our dreamed machine in our dream…..

• AMDunFreak (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 8:29 pm

whow……..whoaaaawwwww
    whowwwaaawwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww…..

nice and pretty…
    i want one….

• amin_ctr (Member) on Aug 01, 2007 at 10:46 pm

jdm ctype R will be launched tomoro in malaysia…cheers**

• august77 (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 8:49 pm

JDM Civic Type R (FD2) now available in shores of Brunei. Price range will be around 51k. Car are brand new from Honda Motor Factory.

You can email me at [email protected] for more details.

• shianghorng (Member) on Aug 02, 2007 at 11:09 pm

0-100 km/h stats ?

• amin_ctr (Member) on Aug 03, 2007 at 1:10 pm

6.5secs my frend

• august77 (Member) on Aug 05, 2007 at 5:04 pm

Sorry.. Price update OTR BND56,800.

• derrick_cls (Member) on Aug 15, 2007 at 6:52 pm

looks nice! but i prefer the civic si!! hmm..how fast can he go? if add in a turbo can he win evo 9? vtec rite?

• amin_ctr (Member) on Aug 16, 2007 at 7:06 pm

lols…ppl dun use turbos on vtec engines…hmmph well dey do but not much hehe…will cause lots of trouble…

• mr_bass54 (Member) on Sep 15, 2008 at 11:57 pm

can anyone tell me whether there is a similar brake pad from another car which is of the same application as the front brake pads of this type r jdm?

• mira mira on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:43 pm

im hunting for the type R..im sooo crazy over it..

• mira mira on Jun 29, 2009 at 6:47 pm

price mcm mana?

i dengar around rm 199k to rm 220k..

btol ke?

i tot dia ada 2 pintu ja..

i slp tgk or i ni mmg x uptodate..

teehehe :D

• zamzam on Sep 09, 2009 at 6:42 am

wuuuu bila la blh pakai kete ni..brapa ek harga? dh ada ke kt msia skang kete ni????

• zamzam on Sep 09, 2009 at 6:56 am

mudah2an aku blh pakai la kete ni nt…. !! hehehe.

• haha spoiler tu aku pun pakai kat saga memang lawa wahhaa adoi kecian sama jerk

• hahehehehe smart lagi seat kete aku dari yang tu adeh.. spoiler pun aku dah pakai kete malaysia nice to moddy ma wahhaa better seat buckrt audi rs4 more nicer

• Rasheeda Sameera on Apr 17, 2011 at 9:06 pm

How much doest the car cost in malaysia. A new car and a second hand.?