The Alfadana disease spreads!

Alfa 159 and Lancer Twins

Oh my, it seems that Proton has infected it’s old partner Mitsubishi with the Alfadana disease. Mitsubishi’s latest Lancer bears quite a significant similarity to the sexy Alfa Romeo 159 doesn’t it? What do you think? ;)

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• NiceCar (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 3:19 pm

Agree.. especially the the rear lamp design..

• azrai (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 3:34 pm

The front of this Lancer actually drive from the shark look of Mitsubishi Galant VR4. Yes, it look quite same with the Alfa. Maybe the designers in Proton have influenced the Mitsubishi when they were working together not so long ago. :)

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:06 pm

Hey Paul, Whose copied WHose is not important, the most important is the Total look. Mitsu had they own style compare to Alfa. I would say Sporty style vehicle are almost looks the same, with Spoiler, Big Wheel arc,…..etc.

Not a bad moved by the way.

• Paul Tan on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:11 pm

This is just a joke lah, for those who have Monday blues :)

• BrakeFader (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:23 pm

Alfadana.. LOL! Especially the frontal shark inspired design and the rear slim rear lamps and the side profile line.

• acbc (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:32 pm

I can't wait for the new Evo X…

• aksMs (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:46 pm

LOL!

But between those two, I'd definitely go for the Alfa. Doesn't matter if it will break down, but, hell…it's an Alfa!

Btw, Paul, when will they bring the 159 to our road? Any news on that? I really can't wait.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:49 pm

lol..there is no way one can compare an Alfa to a Mitsu…haha

Alfas have always been great looking cars (well, perhaps short of the odd looking 145, 146, 155….). That tail light design has always been an Alfa design cue.

• h2k (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:53 pm

mitsu ran out of ideas…haha…but better than subaru…159 looks more muscular in the big….hmm…delicious

• haroldz (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 4:57 pm

twins dat r separated at birth

one taken by european, one japanese

hehehehe

• rhoma (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 5:02 pm

anyone notice the design of the door handle is like myvi's?

haha..jokes aside..anyway i think this new lancer truly has its own identity to portray

• aesthari (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:30 pm

Yes, it does look very alike. I'll go for the Alfa, unless the Lancer is an Evo, of course :p

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 6:40 pm

I think this is the best lancer (don't count evo) ever, 2.0 Dohc MIVEC 152hp with CVT transmission. They need some improvement for changing mitsubishi bad name, btw, the new outlander is not bad too.

http://www.mitsucars.com/MMNA/jsp/lancer/08/index…

• 3den (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:00 pm

drooling wish can buy car like tht

• blazerSST (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:29 pm

yeah it does but nowadays almost every other car looks like another car

• albagmane (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:39 pm

looks like everyone is running out of designing concepts and ideas!!!

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 7:43 pm

whenever japanese car ( fine car) side to side with european car (fine car)

the japs look shabby,

why?

• kei9 (Member) on Apr 23, 2007 at 10:53 pm

i truly agree! still i like the previous design better.sucks right? this lancer shares the same platform with the dodge …ummm forgot already the name……

• Tommy Peters (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 1:14 am

Agreed, the cues are evident but I'm sure, with the inscreen 3rd brakelight, Alfa did not commission its rear spoiler but Mitsubishi did. With the exception of Subaru, the japanese have always cued the Europeans.

• intermilan (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:12 am

buy original.

• mystvearn (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:27 am

Well just shows that people have run out of ideas on designing cars

• transformer (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 4:54 am

i'll take the LANCER !

• reizan (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 10:31 am

I personally think that the rear lamp is actually more Lexus IS than Alfa, especailly how the lamp housing was protruding out. Take a look at the IS and you will know why…

Lancer has started to roll out on the road here in US since early this month…

• acbc (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 5:09 pm

That MyVi-handle-look-alike has been around for more than 20 years… first on a Galant VR4.

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 9:56 pm

Didn't I see that Pininfarina door handle on a Sutera?

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 24, 2007 at 11:42 pm

maibatu_thunder

pininfarina do have cilent like korean or cihinese, the thing is that they have the design, but do not execute it in a manner of the it has a soul of pinifarina, in other word its crafted by chinese or korean in tune with their taste, and material,

example, matrix by pininfarina- body line and grille 100 percent korean taste,

• proton GL (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 12:03 am

159 is by gugiaro

• mits27 (Member) on Apr 25, 2007 at 6:30 am

When you looks at the pic, it looks nice; actaully the rear lamp is placed too high for what i see.

• Hasan on Jun 16, 2009 at 9:23 am

Jap s always stealing something from Europeans and selling cheaper. But who produces brilliant models of course Europeans specially Italians. What ever they do you can not compare. They do not have any classic value ( Japs )