Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Hyundai H1 Starex 11-seater van

Hyundai H1 Starex

Hyundai has just launched the new Hyundai H1 11-seater van at the 2007 Thailand Motor Expo. The Hyundai H1 - also known as the Hyundai Starex in certain markets - is a van that can be configured with either 8 or 11 seats aimed at customers who wish to have a people mover but do not want to spend so much on luxury MPVs. The Hyundai Starex goes head to head against vehicles such as the Ford Transit, the Volkswagen Transporter and the Mercedes Benz Vito. The Thai model is configured with 11 seats.

There are two engine options available - a 2.5 liter turbocharged intercooled oil burner with 100 PS and 226Nm of torque, a 2.5 liter CRDi turbocharged intercooled oil burner with a variable geometry turbocharger making 170 hp and 392Nm of torque, as well as a 2.4 liter Theta family gasoline engine delivering 170 horsepower and 223Nm of torque.

Hyundai H1 Starex

30 Comments »

1. flizzardo said,

December 7, 2007 @ 2:13 pm

first post…

is this competing with alphard and elgrand?

2. noCar said,

December 7, 2007 @ 2:24 pm

mahal lah, why bother when u can buy 7 seater kancil here in malaysia.

3. tHe CuLpRit said,

December 7, 2007 @ 2:33 pm

ermm Paul, the seating configuration pic looks like it’ll seat 10 people, or 11.

the second and third row has got its seats folded to present the cupholders… no?

4. ndmervin said,

December 7, 2007 @ 2:56 pm

Its nothing compared to the Alphard and Elgrand! Its a direct competition with the Nissan Urvan.

I like vans like this, to modify it like the ones in Japan - airbrushing and huge bodykits here and there. Yummy!!

5. ob8 said,

December 7, 2007 @ 3:07 pm

koreans design are improving as we speek. proton, openup ur eyes.

6. ahmadmckk said,

December 7, 2007 @ 3:14 pm

Well, if they want to sell it here as an Inokom, then I would like them to name it the ‘I1′

7. BrakeFader said,

December 7, 2007 @ 3:29 pm

Hahaha the front is Alphardish. This is Hyundai’s workhorse van. They already have the old Starex in Philippines which is like a sibling to Kia Pregio. The design looks good which gives that Luxury MPV feeling but actually its a 12 seater type of Van like Urvan and Hiace.

8. freeze said,

December 7, 2007 @ 4:23 pm

Will make a nice ambulance.

9. freeze said,

December 7, 2007 @ 4:27 pm

I think this is the 11 seater. The 8 seater may be without the last row. But why would people want to face each other like in a train?

10. tHe CuLpRit said,

December 7, 2007 @ 5:08 pm

The seats can turn around la…. i think the BangBus crew will love this van…. cos can hv alot of ermm, “positions”

11. LittleFire85 said,

December 7, 2007 @ 5:53 pm

tHe CuLpRit so dirty minded… LOL!

Anyway this car engine spec is great especially the CRDI 2.5L diesel engine. Better then the louzy Nissan urvan selling in Malaysia. They only have 3.0L diesel engine without a Turbo!!! Even u put in the 2.5L frontier engine also better.. stupid NTCM.

12. proton GL said,

December 7, 2007 @ 6:41 pm

http://www.chinacartimes.com/wp-content/dongfeng_xiao_kong.gif

bmw?

13. zafedz said,

December 7, 2007 @ 7:00 pm

The last row of the seat doesn’t have a seat belt…don’t want to buy lah…dangerous wooo!!!

14. nazrin said,

December 7, 2007 @ 7:45 pm

not bad…
    compare with hiace & urvan..,

15. auctioncenter2u said,

December 7, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

No more called as Van, should called it as BUS! Micro BUS.

2.5L with 11 ppl, WHERE got enough POwer to go up GENTING Hill?

16. BigFish said,

December 7, 2007 @ 11:11 pm

Nice van and look confortable seat.

17. e-nabilll said,

December 7, 2007 @ 11:17 pm

is the market really crying out for a HUGE van that can carry one entire football team? i doubt it…

18. shamel said,

December 8, 2007 @ 12:10 am

I’ll pick this people mover (or minibus) rather than Hiace or Urvan. Just look at the engine performance, very close to Nissan Navara 171hp 403Nm.

Just imagine if Hyundai can sell around Hiace/Urvan/Pregio pricing.

19. mystvearn said,

December 8, 2007 @ 12:13 am

very nice van, useful for the extended family

20. abe said,

December 8, 2007 @ 1:41 am

what is BangBus?

21. hyundai said,

December 8, 2007 @ 10:06 am

Wow… This van is so nice especially the interior is lot better than the Hiace and Urvan… Nice job Hyundai!

22. aesthari said,

December 8, 2007 @ 10:14 am

Wow, looks nice! And the power output for the CRDi version is good too!

23. mzfnd said,

December 8, 2007 @ 12:00 pm

#
    abe said,

December 8, 2007 @ 1:41 am

what is BangBus?
    ____________________________________________________________________________

Hahaha. If you’re U18 abe, go see the Haitian and have your memory erased.
    Look what you’ve done tHe CuLpRit! You silly van loving hippie :)

24. shamel said,

December 8, 2007 @ 1:00 pm

#
    auctioncenter2u said,

December 7, 2007 @ 7:59 pm

No more called as Van, should called it as BUS! Micro BUS.

2.5L with 11 ppl, WHERE got enough POwer to go up GENTING Hill?

You’re you know what are you talking about? CRDi with 300 over Nm (torque) more capable than our Urvan and Hiace (all below 260Nm). Please do some research dude.

25. LittleFire85 said,

December 8, 2007 @ 1:59 pm

i think auctioncenter2u don’t even know what a Turbo diesel engine works…

26. szw said,

December 8, 2007 @ 2:45 pm

luckily not make by ssanyong

27. BW said,

December 9, 2007 @ 3:53 am

wow i like the design of this van…. not bad.. but then the middle seats (the one facing back) and the 3rd back seat roll looks very near.. I wonder how passengers can put their legs… unless they are legless

28. LittleFire85 said,

December 9, 2007 @ 10:07 am

Well, u can buy a Thule and put it on the roof.

29. mitlanevo said,

December 9, 2007 @ 4:25 pm

competing with Alphard and Elgrande?

I don’t think so, this Starex isn’t from the luxury MPV category…….

bangbus? lol~

30. uma said,

May 10, 2008 @ 11:53 pm

i think it will be agood car

previous post: 2008 Audi A3 Cabriolet
next post: Dinan BMW 335i ECU upgrade - 384 horsepower!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!