Proton sells over 1,000 cars in Thailand in 2 weeks

GEN2 CPS

Proton’s Thailand distributor Phranakorn Auto Sales has managed to chalk up sales of over 1,000 cars since Proton’s debut at the 2007 Thailand International Motor Expo two weeks ago. 50% of sales consisted of the Proton Savvy, while the remainder consisted of 28% GEN2 and 22% Satria Neo.

Phranakorn was only expecting between 700 to 800 unit sales, so this good response came as a surprise to them. Phranakorn currently has 6 outlets in Bangkok and 8 more in other provinces. This will be expanded to 20 initially, and up to 40 outlets within the next 4 years. Phranakorn targets 3,000 units a year of combined Proton car sales for its first year in operation.

The Thai Motor Expo was also used to unveil for the first time the facelifted Proton GEN2 (shown above), which in HL trim has the new Campro CPS engine.

New facelifted Proton GEN2 with CPS engine launched in Thailand!

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:40 pm

Hope proton makes it in thailand.

btw… i remember commenting about this some time ago

*wink*

• msmar_453 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:43 pm

YES-year end sale
    Yes to Proton!

• Wind_chaos (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:44 pm

good job proton

• osh_kosh (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:55 pm

wah.. based on this, look like Thai people like savvy more than Malaysian..

• ndmervin (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:56 pm

Yes, i blogged about this too and kudos to Proton! :D

Now they have to really buckle up for the ride towards recovery!

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:58 pm

New Toyota Vios can get 2000 booking in Malaysia for the first week, in Thailand they have CPS engine and manage to 1000 booking so? I don’t felt really proud about it, just a small victory ahead of a big storm.

Anyway kudos to P1 for giving foreign better spec then us. This already confirm Proton sell better spec in foreign compare to us.

• tHe CuLpRit (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 4:58 pm

people like variety. I bet the Thais are sick to death with all the Vios, City,and Latios, hence them flocking to get a Proton.

Rather interesting that the Savvy is doing well, always thought it being one underrated little car.

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:15 pm

The Thais are already sick of looking at too many City and Vios. To be honest, i’m sick of seeing City and Vios everyday too.

Btw, back to the topic, 1000 sales of cars is not a bad start for Proton for the ultra competitive Thai market. Just make sure that the numbers keep on increasing.

• auctioncenter2u (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:19 pm

Thai’s ppl started to test our SAWI and GEN2. Hopefully they can continue the SUPPORT as reported now.

Jangan 3 minit Hangat!

• megatron (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:20 pm

A good start for Proton. It’s good to have people in Tomyamland to be the guinea pig…Congrats….

• frossonice (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:33 pm

I think the real reason on why Thais like Savvy more than Gen.2 is that they have to small care segment there. I remember that the most popular confiscated cars being sold to Thais by the Thais Immigration is Perodua Kancil and Kelisa. And with Bangkok traffic jams, I guess Savvy is far better option than any Vios or City of Latio.

The Thai Motor Expo was also used to unveil for the first time the facelifted Proton GEN2 (shown above), which in HL trim has the new Campro CPS engine.

• BW (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:36 pm

y people like savvy more in thailand? hehe

• MrDDR (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:48 pm

it’s already prove somebody is wrong…ehheh

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Another factor they might like the Savvy is that their fuel price is almost Bt30/L for petrol, Which is almost RM3.40/L in here. When the fuel price is so high, do u think they will buy bigger cars?

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:49 pm

Savvy is already a good car in the first place…… this shows that pathetic local sales figures doesn’t also mean pathetic sales figures in other countries.

• White Jack (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 5:55 pm

Luckily Proton did not marry with Volkswagon… haha
    If not, profit sharing with foreign partner already :)

• Alifz (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 6:11 pm

GOOD JOB PROTON !!! BRAVO…!!

Now there is a proof Proton is better without Volskwagen..

Where all the BASHER now??

• legacy88 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 6:57 pm

Ah, don’t worry about the BASHER.

They are lurking and waiting here for Thais owner complaining about their Proton in Thai language, heh heh.

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 7:07 pm

This is just small success as far as i can c, nothing to proud about, but proton should b given credit n thai partner too. if this trend continues, and improve upon, thai can be a good stepping stone for proton

• nanashisan (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 7:09 pm

if it is something good, it is better to hear that. i hope to hear more good news than bad news with the new management under DSZ. so far so good.

• tech.titan (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 7:14 pm

50% savvy…not bad… i guess they bought it because of its fuel saving…
    petrol is quite expensive in thailand…

and speaking of jimat minyak…. honda is here already with their hybrid…

i wonder what happened to Proton-Lotus bolt-on hybrid system (demo with Gen2) ?

• armandd (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 7:43 pm

LittleFire85 said,

December 12, 2007 @ 4:58 pm

New Toyota Vios can get 2000 booking in Malaysia for the first week, in Thailand they have CPS engine and manage to 1000 booking so? I don’t felt really proud about it, just a small victory ahead of a big storm.

Anyway kudos to P1 for giving foreign better spec then us. This already confirm Proton sell better spec in foreign compare to us.
    —————————————————————-

proton has only penetrated the thai market a few months ago, while toyota has been there for so many years, so i think 1000 bookings is not bad at all.

• digiman (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 8:16 pm

impressive

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 8:50 pm

YEAAAH…! bashing time
    those ppls must be brainwashed or some malaysians that living in southern thai. for that price tag u can get a toyota and honda quality. they r wasting money for such a lousy car. maybe after the first customer complain the sales will drop 99% i.e 10 cars sold

• mitlanevo (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 8:50 pm

1000 in 2 weeks? not bad, very good……

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:51 pm

First 2 week sold 1,000 unit. 2nd 2 week sold 500, 3rd 2 week sold 250 units. End of the year 3K unit unachievable.

• transformer (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 9:53 pm

“Lotus Handling”
    “Renault Engine”

Maybe these would be some of its tagline used….. that why its sold!

Anyway, let see how things workout after, say 6 months, from Customer feedback…

• narrowband (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:05 pm

I hope it didn’t make a pact with some company/agency to purchase xxxx number of cars one-shot. Like how Proton Chancellor finds its buyer – the government itself.

Anyway if it’s all private registration (individual ownership) then I am happy for them. Any success outside Malaysia is most welcomed.

• kei9 (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:13 pm

because its the cheapest out there.. And btw, that shot of the gen2 is marvelous. pretty euro looking. XD

• kingglim (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:13 pm

Aiya, happy too soon lah…new toilet always smell good 3 days mah…wait until the thais realise proton’s power window can fall off, power door lock cannot unlock, dashboard display cannot display, engine can mati suddenly, whole car can burst into flame…then only verdict is out. When waja came out, everything was supposed to be good; but turned out a junk. Now, a lot of people also initially say Persona is very good; but already there are rapidly growing complaints on Persona.

Malaysians also didnt complain much initially, but after 24 years of kena conned by proton, how could we not complain. Fool us once shame on Proton, fool us twice shame on ourselves, fool us for 24 years we better suicide! Really good car will sell for life…con job can last only for while.

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:21 pm

the trend will just mimic the trend of proton in other markets. starts of with a bit of good news. and then gradually dissapear off the map. only way they can compete is to price it way below most other makes in thailand.

all u need to note is how many proton cars out of 10 cars u see on the road. say after 6 months to 1 year. all those figures released by proton and gang are meaningless bullcrap. they are just blowing your horn.

i see more porsches on the road than i see protons. that says alot about how successful a mass market car manufacturer is.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:33 pm

topgunthang said,

December 12, 2007 @ 10:21 pm
    i see more porsches on the road than i see protons. that says alot about how successful a mass market car manufacturer is.

talk cock

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 10:44 pm

When Proton sold 1,000 units, they said it is above expectation as they target 700 to 800 units.

Good job!

If they manage to sell 500 units, then same statement said it is impressive sales since they targe 300 to 400 units only.

If Proton nos of car sold is too small, as in the UK not long ago, then they manipulated % to present as impressive achievement. “Previous year sold 100 units, this year sold 250 units, and increase of 150%”!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:01 pm

Look at Proton website: –

http://www.proton.com/about_proton/facts_figures/car_sales.php

Year 2007 sales up to Sept 07: –

Persona sold 5,435 units!

Satria Neo sold 5,196 units!

Savvy just sold 4,794 units!

Previous thread show the booking for Persona is more than 8K units for the first 2 week launched is bull-crap!

• megatron (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:17 pm

BigFish said,
    December 12, 2007 @ 11:01 pm

Previous thread show the booking for Persona is more than 8K units for the first 2 week launched is bull-crap!

————————————————–
    Saga -just sold 2 ?????? doesn’t make sense

I think the figure isn’t correct.!!!!!!

• hyundai (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:33 pm

———————————————
    The booking figure of Persona doesn’t mean the car sold!!

This is quite a good news… Hope they will be better

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Dec 12, 2007 at 11:40 pm

wow…still a lot of basher la…
    i think nothing proton can do change their perception
    anyway good luck proton….i think many thai people already boring looking at
    vios everywhere….

• mystvearn (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:22 am

Its still too early to say its good. The quarterly target is there for something you know

• Paul Tan on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:22 am

I think figures SOLD means cars registered and on the road… cars booked but still in the waiting list and not delivered are not included.

• mits27 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:31 am

I think the savvy is one of the cheapest car in Thailand, that’s why savvy has the best sale among the proton models…

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:36 am

Well. paul.. you already knew ‘what’s the way bashers think’. They don’t even try to be honest . :D

Toyota = for the long time , only 2K booking vs new but already heard.. 1K in 2 week. That was great enough.. Perhaps you can deduct canceled booking, but what if more booking after this?

Savvy well known in UK. Local? Nah.. that was only myvi overated here. Rarely to find savvy in used car. Maybe all owner really satisfied with their own car. But there were many Myvi 1.0 at the used car, maybe underpowered case. Big body, small engine.

BTW.. Phranakorn is a big player in Thai. They wont let thing just going down like that (as bashers here wish). And i dont think Phranakorn making a wrong step importing proton in Thai. They knew better the thai market .. better than BigFish at least. Prtthhhhh (wooww!) :D

I do believe.. there’s many thais in the middle class need this kind of car.. and the taste is subjective.

Go Proton Go!.. But remember.. there’s very long way…

• 9166 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:38 am

Promising start for Proton in Thailand. A step towards the right direction.
    Keep pushing on, the market for a 65million nation is enormous.

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:53 am

There are two ways to look at things:

1) Proton is giving the thais a CPS engine before malaysians. (albeit only on the HL variant of a car that is not their biggest seller there)
    2) Proton is using the thais as a guniea pig for their CPS engine.

It’s sad to see some people comparing a nationwide launch of a well known established brand with a small launch of a young brand (with only 6 distributors). Perhaps it is due to such naysayers that Proton is not getting a fair chance in lieu of recent improvements in QC. There are people who wouldnt even test drive a savvy before deciding to buy a viva or myvi.

I’ve mentioned this before and i’ll mention it again, I feel that Proton cars are reasonably priced for what they offer. We’ll see how it performs in the coming months.

• carcrazed (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:05 am

It’s too early to comment from that initial sales figure. Anyhow, it’s interesting that they had lower estimate during the lauch and that the actual figure is higher by 200 units. All these achieved within two weeks of its launch via its limited outlet, it’s impressive. I see great potential.

I also wonder why Proton didn’t make this move earlier on considering they export their cars to other countries before. But I still believe to make that quantum leap, Proton should not discard the idea of forming strategic partnership.

• armandd (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:18 am

‘some’ people think this is too good to be true! heheh..

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:52 am

If they like savvy, then can try to sell Juara there, hehe…who knows they might like it…

• cbljkkj (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 4:35 am

I would say job well done to proton for selling 1000 units in 2 weeksbut as most people have said before me, only a quarterly review will shed some light on the true sales figures of proton’s cars.

It is great for any company to have an initial sales boom upon introduction but proton would have to work very hard to maintain customer loyalty i.e reliability, after-sales service etc, something which they have more or less failed to uphold in the eyes of malaysians over the course of the past 20 years.

• azrai (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:19 am

“Savvy well known in UK. Local? Nah.. that was only myvi overated here. Rarely to find savvy in used car. Maybe all owner really satisfied with their own car. But there were many Myvi 1.0 at the used car, maybe underpowered case. Big body, small engine.”

It’s logic no one can spot Savvy in used car shop compound. Low 2nd value, and low volume sale in our country. For Gen-2 CPS, it is usual for any automaker to release new breed beside from their country especially during World premiere. Now we can see proton slowly find its true identity, the ‘Volswagen’ a.k.a. Peoples car. Good job. Keep on striving and improving. Bring more money inside Malaysia.

• arcana (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:24 am

a full 1 year sales figure will speak for itself whether proton is successful in tomyam land or not. too early to tell with just 2 weeks, but nonetheless good job.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:31 am

megatron said,
    December 12, 2007 @ 11:17 pm

BigFish said,
    December 12, 2007 @ 11:01 pm

————————————————–
    Saga -just sold 2 ?????? doesn’t make sense

I think the figure isn’t correct.!!!!!!
    —————————-
    Others – 2 units ???????

I believe this figure is correct and shall belong to Waja elongated “CANCEL-LOR”

• ys (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:54 am

agree with arcana.
    too early to judge at the moment.
    anyway, we shall hope the best for proton.
    with more car sold means more fund to finance R&D.
    end up malaysian get a better car.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 8:23 am

fuyyyooohhhhh….. 1000 units already want to ‘shout’ about…. it is a good start… but even 1000 units in 2 weeks may not save a huge company like Proton…. the margin for each car is small… so a good volume per annum for companies like Proton is more like 200,000 to 300,000 cars (all markets, all types/categories of cars). So the point is… if it’s only 1,000…. it is still A LONG LONG WAY TO GO….

By the way, think about this for a second… the buyers are first time Proton buyer (but not necessarily first time car buyer) e.g. they don’t know what Proton reliability problems could be… once stung by that, they may not come back…. so there you go… if Proton screw up the reliability of their cars in Thailand, they will get less customers in the future…

only time will tell… so we shall then see.

• farghmee (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 8:45 am

jual cket salah, jual byk pn salah…
    ape yg korang pk?
    “dia punya rezeki, dia makan,
    kita punya rezeki, kita makan.
    apa salah makan sama2?”
    -kata2 pak guard dlm cte seniman bujang lapok.

sorry upon my rude words, but i think, instead of blindly bashing the P1, one should or must give constructive ideas, so that P1 would be better.

may be i don’t have much money to spend on a car, which i seldomly use, carefully driven or whatsoever, but i’m happy at least having a car that would fullfil my need.

P E A C E :)

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:45 am

Good first shot at the thai market for Proton.

However, if proton doesn’t seize the occation and put the money earned into more R&D and new models, this wont last long.

I wonder why the thai customs don’t slap big taxes on Malaysian cars like we do to Thai made cars. After all, they were quite pissed at our NAP.

• rexis (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:47 am

Aiyoo, Savvy itself no doubt is a good car, just the the LOOK… if they can design the toilet bowl just to look better, and sound better…

now good thing is thais is going to get first hand test on CPS…

• wildthingz (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:52 am

at least they sell something there good job p1

• lembagatanah (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:12 am

perhaps bcoz they got CPS, that’s y sell very good. btw, good job proton, and seize it up out there

• yippi33 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:15 am

90125 said,

December 13, 2007 @ 2:52 am

If they like savvy, then can try to sell Juara there, hehe…who knows they might like it…
    —————————————————————–

its actually not a bad idea there..the fact that savvy is being accepted in thailand
    shows that they manage to see what most of us malaysians can’t see on the advantages of it…who knows juara will be a hit..kudos to proton and keep up the good work!!!

a basher will always be a basher…unless they open up their mind of course..

• oversight (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:44 am

bmpower said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 1:36 am

Well. paul.. you already knew ‘what’s the way bashers think’. They don’t even try to be honest .

—————————————————————
    you think all bashers are the same?. i own wira and it always make piss on my ass when the same problem occurs. so i don’t have right to be a ‘basher’ to my own car?

yippi33 said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 10:15 am

—————————————————————
    if they own car got so many problem, then cannot kutuk?……you think all people satisfied with their own car like you?

• peYno-1 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:51 am

savvy is designed to meet GLOBAL TASTE not only bolehland taste
    prrfthh

• syanas (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:08 am

oversight said,

December 13, 2007 @ 10:44 am

bmpower said,

Well. paul.. you already knew ‘what’s the way bashers think’. They don’t even try to be honest .

—————————————————————
    you think all bashers are the same?. i own wira and it always make piss on my ass when the same problem occurs. so i don’t have right to be a ‘basher’ to my own car?

me also own the wira but so far i dint find any problem unless minor problem such as bold tayars as their achieve the limit

• bzmatt (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:29 am

Bravo to the new Proton Management. My advice: pay attention to details. Do this by getting production people who are committed, smart and those with technical background (such as those from polytechnics) and not fresh SPM school leavers. Proton, you owe it to us and the country to succeed. Don’t ever let your market share drop due to some people who are ‘kurang bijak’ to run the show anywhere in Proton.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:45 am

big fish, sorry dude, but this time, you are the one talking bullcrap.

as paul said..
    “sales figures” = cars sold, registered and on the road. These are also the numbers reported by MAA.

bookings do not count into that number. We all know you are very emotional with proton topics, but at least try to get the facts right before you post. you have posted the wrong facts many times over in the past in this blog.

anyways.. i think its good strategy for proton to launch the CPS in thailand. after all, the focus for them today is the export market. They can only sell so many cars in malaysia. to survive and expand, they need to sell more cars overseas. In fact, when was the last time a large manufacturer launched a new model in their own country? even honda and toyota launch overseas first, likewise the germans.

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 12:01 pm

proton should have been in 3rd world country like thailand or indonesia ages ago. but that tengku guy prefer sell our cheap car at wealthy country like britain and australia. becos he can get free airticket to go jalan2 rather than working at tomyamland.anyway, my new honda emits kriuk2 sound but I consider myself unlucky. jgn marahkan nyamuk, kelambu dibakar.

• bzmatt (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 12:55 pm

Bravo Proton and the new team. Keep up the good work.

• 350D (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 1:43 pm

with only 6 + 8 they managed to get that figure, good job proton.

what’s wrong with thais buying our product?

• carsut (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:07 pm

Jz wandering the situation where Siam guys drove a GEN2, Neo or Savvy with Thai no plate in our country, especially in northern region (Kedah, Perlis, P.Pinang). even more they drove CPS in our soil 1st than ours.. huhu.. but I don’t care.. its our pride to have our products in other country.. normally I saw pickup Siam with siam plate.. but letter Neo with siam plate :D

• aksMs (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:08 pm

Paul, do you have the spec for Gen2 with CPS sold there? I’m interested to find out the new power output it made.

• Paul Tan on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:14 pm

125 horsepower at 6,500rpm and 150Nm of torque at 4,500rpm

• yippi33 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:23 pm

oversight said,

if they own car got so many problem, then cannot kutuk?……you think all people satisfied with their own car like you?

thats what im trying to say here..youre the clear example of what i meant by bashers need to open up their mind..what happened to your wira doesnt mean it will also happen to all proton’s new products…bashers just cant change their negative thinking..every single issue about proton is being seen as a negative one even though it is clearly a positive one…that is being unfair

• oversight (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 2:37 pm

syanas said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 11:08 am

me also own the wira but so far i dint find any problem unless minor problem such as bold tayars as their achieve the limit

—————————————————————
    then we can do tukar ‘suka sama suka’. you can take my problematic wira and i can take your ‘healthy’ wira.

ob8 said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 12:01 pm

my new honda emits kriuk2 sound but I consider myself unlucky. jgn marahkan nyamuk, kelambu dibakar.
    ————————————————————-
    ala just kriuk, i consider not critical enough. if my front side signal fall off 2-3 times without a trace and have to buy it 2-3 times i think it’s ridicolous. to tell myself unlucky like you, it’s hard for me to accept and need MONEY to replace it.

• carsut (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 3:00 pm

poor you oversight, may be u should consider to buy a by bycycle or jz naik LRT… now i drive honda civic.. still it have a defect, it is normal… becoz we drove it every single day, even BMW, Merc or even Bently have problem.. here in Malaysia so so many people own proton.. so its normal to hear proton owner merungut pasal kereta dia, bcoz they are many compare to other brand…. but if Malaysia peoples drive Honda most.. sure org selalu complain about honda…

• oversight (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 3:12 pm

yippi33 said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 2:23 pm

thats what im trying to say here..youre the clear example of what i meant by bashers need to open up their mind..what happened to your wira doesnt mean it will also happen to all proton’s new products…bashers just cant change their negative thinking..every single issue about proton is being seen as a negative one even though it is clearly a positive one…that is being unfair
    —————————————————————
    to ask people to open their mind only by your so called wisdom word is just coffee shop talk. my wira only 3 years old i consider barang baru but not new product. it’s near 10 years this product already been in market. so they should improve better in this product. if it’s new product like persona i still can accept but still i heard people talkng about the defect. you can proceed ‘ with your open mind’ but nothing can compare my pain dealing with this car and you can simply say what ever you want to say because it doesn’t involve your hard earning money.

• oversight (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 3:35 pm

carsut said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 3:00 pm

poor you oversight, may be u should consider to buy a by bycycle or jz naik LRT… now i drive honda civic.. still it have a defect, it is normal… becoz we drove it every single day, even BMW, Merc or even Bently have problem.. here in Malaysia so so many people own proton.. so its normal to hear proton owner merungut pasal kereta dia, bcoz they are many compare to other brand…. but if Malaysia peoples drive Honda most.. sure org selalu complain about honda…

—————————————————————-
    if it’s happen 1 time and just small problem i never get piss until this stage.
    i will consider it’s normal. but it’s odd my old proton saga and stilll realiable compare to my wira. i don’t want to say it’s perfect but only few minor problem compare to my wira.

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 4:06 pm

yippi33 said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 10:15 am

90125 said,

December 13, 2007 @ 2:52 am

—————————————————————–

its actually not a bad idea there..the fact that savvy is being accepted in thailand
    shows that they manage to see what most of us malaysians can’t see on the advantages of it…who knows juara will be a hit..kudos to proton and keep up the good work!!!

=============================================
    Surely someone liked my idea…!!!

• planet (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 4:35 pm

Erm…..pada saya laa…saya bangga dgn PROTON…
    org nak kata apa pon tak kisah laa….kita kan rakyat M’sia…
    klau rakyat negara Thai ke….S’pore ke lantak laa……

kiranya ada laa kemajuan skit dibwh pengurusan baru ni…..

• yippi33 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:26 pm

oversight said,

December 13, 2007 @ 3:35 pm

but it’s odd my old proton saga and stilll realiable compare to my wira. i don’t want to say it’s perfect but only few minor problem compare to my wira.
    ———————————————–

this is not coffee shop talk man..your two different models that show two diff level of probs shows that not necessarily every protons product is a piece of junk rite??there are flaws n such but to accused them of selling cars just for the sake of profit and not quality is an old issue..they are improving a lot under the new management..and what ive been saying is that its not fair to judge their newer product just because the previous model sucks..if you see them improving but still ur giving a negative comment, that is the bullshit mindset that needs to be changed..it has no relation with ur hard earn money whatsoever..changing mindset will not cost u a cent bro….

• mrm (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 5:55 pm

someone mentioned rather than bash Proton, we should be offering a constructive ideas for Proton:

How about these:

1) Stop coming out with low quality cars (perceived quality) Have you actually been inside a Proton car. Had the duty on other cars are lower, if you can buy Vios, City at Persona price, which one would you choose? Nationalism and patriotism aside, surely you would buy something THAT GIVES YOUR MONEY”S WORTH.

2) Try to survive without protections. No protection will increase competition, competition will drive the determination to succeed and hopefully, the objective of getting out better quality product.

3) Try to get better review from overseas motoring press/journalist, not some stupid award at a convention or the like. You see, if anyone is aware of the Hyundai i30, this car has manage to beat the Golf, Focus, Astra in UK/Europe when the press reviewed the car, and it manage to sell at a lower price also. If Proton follow this as an example, then I would be a very happy person to buy Proton anywhere on this planet Earth, let alone Malaysia. But until then, all the P1 supporters, please just admit all the cars that Proton is offering now is merely AVERAGE product that will disappear into the unknown had it not been because of protectionism in its own country.

I want to support Proton but will not support them blindly like some do. My choice between P1 and P2? Of course, it looks likely P2 is moving ahead better in current conditions.

By the way, from my own experience/observation, I can compare 2 cars in current use. One Gen2 and another a small 1.5 Jap CBU car. The Gen-2 only covered 38,000km but already felt as if it is 10 years old. And the Jap CBU have covered 50,000km, although it does ‘kriuk’2 (no denying the rattles in most Jap cars) but the rest of the drive still feels good and solid. So what does this tell? It’s all about Proton quality in the long term.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 6:07 pm

By the way…

If Proton continue to think that just because of one or 2 cars, it can already survive, then it must have been blinded by false hope.

There is only one word to remind Proton management if it continues to think that by selling its currently AVERAGE products in a competitive market in the long term, it can survive:

ROVER (please learn from this sorry lesson about the downfall of a mainstream car manufacturer)

If you need a case study for turnaround, look at Fiat with its Fiat 500 (an iconic car in Europe currently also Car of the Year 2008)

or may be something with a brand name like the Mini. The Mini has become a success for BMW. If Proton can come up with something like this, only then I can believe that it can survive based on one-model-only sales.

• peYno-1 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 6:15 pm

mrm said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 5:55 pm

someone mentioned rather than bash Proton, we should be offering a constructive ideas for Proton:

I want to support Proton but will not support them blindly like some do. My choice between P1 and P2? Of course, it looks likely P2 is moving ahead better in current conditions
    ===========================
    p2 seems better just simply becoz p2 is not a nasional car maker
    eventho gorv and media keeping saying p2 is our 2nd nasional car yet ppl knows they just assemble a japanese car..
    this is simple as ABC.. just let p1 assemble a honda or nissan for example

• mrm (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 6:17 pm

oh yeah,

one more way for Proton to survive in the long term and continue what it is currently doing:

all the P1 supporters, please keep pouring your hard earned cash into buying a Proton regardless whether it is your money’s worth or not. please please always buy Proton. Help Proton to help cronies who is part of ‘G’ or whoever is distorting the system.

• Infinitt (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 6:29 pm

Feel proud when go to Thai see our Proton cars there. Good luck proton!!.

• 2ST (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:00 pm

Yeahh..bashing time.
    Yeahh..thai buyer..ur car is just skejap lagi will give u problemm(always)…
    Yeahh..u will regret till death buying this crap potong…
    Mlaysian new potong buyer..u guys kene tipu saje dgn potong..
    Note: All basher are way better thinking than potong supporter. We always look forward. Hate something,change something.
    Tq,

• peYno-1 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:04 pm

Thais mentality not like malaysian mehhh
    they not stupid as Japs wannabe in malaysia

• nobodyatuk (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 7:17 pm

Hi guys, no matter what the bashers said, the new Proton ranges are just plain better cars. Proven in every aspects, the facts are shown in statistics and there’s absolutely nothing we can do about it. So bashers, grab yourself a Proton or you’ll regret for life.

• 90125 (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 8:25 pm

2ST said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 7:00 pm
    Note: All basher are way better thinking than potong supporter. We always look forward. Hate something,change something.
    Tq,
    =============================================

Yes..agree with you..masuk bakul angkat sendiri and go forward!! brilliant!!

• hypermount (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 8:28 pm

wah somebody must be talking cock here…my savvy clocked more than 50000 km already – no ‘kriuk2’sounds or rattles and still going smooth and strong..

Jap CBU is worse than that?? ehehehe padan serve basher’s face rite!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:18 pm

2ST said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 7:00 pm

Tq,
    ————–
    They are not proton supporter, but blind defender with narrow katak dibawah tempurong view!

• altis_fan (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:23 pm

Wow, it shows that Proton car is acceptable internationally. I feel proud to be Malaysian. Now, I must own Persona.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:36 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 11:45 am

big fish, sorry dude, but this time, you are the one talking bullcrap.

as paul said..
    “sales figures” = cars sold, registered and on the road. These are also the numbers reported by MAA.

bookings do not count into that number. We all know you are very emotional with proton topics, but at least try to get the facts right before you post. you have posted the wrong facts many times over in the past in this blog.
    ——————-

So next time P1 don’t talk crap like export Gen-2 30K unit to China if it is not sales figure, but just “MOU” with Jianhua Youngman to export! Why use this as one of “excuse” to ask G for one more chance to turn around P1.

Since Persona so far with over 20K units “booking” but delivered slightly 5K units up to Sept 07, then just talk about sales figure rather than crap on booking nos.

Previously, I personally visit Proton showroom and the salesman told me you can get Persona after 2 to 3 week booking. So fairly to say the booking figure of over 20K is either “over inflated” or talk big crap to create “feel good” scenario so that all blind defenders stick out their head giving congratulatory and crap-triotic statement?

• kimi (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:50 pm

Hey “Ikan besar”,r u been paid writing all that stuff??U look so obses about Proton,Proton this,Proton that.I”m not using Proton cars,but have some pride la about your own national car maker.it’s not perfect,but who does??..it is a lil funny to see someone like u …

• topgunthang (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 9:55 pm

altis_fan said,

December 13, 2007 @ 9:23 pm

Wow, it shows that Proton car is acceptable internationally. I feel proud to be Malaysian. Now, I must own Persona.

———————————-
    proton is the laughing stock of the world. only in malaysia they feed you these feel good news.

it is good that foreigners are able to see and understand what proton really is doing to the country rather than simply associating proton with malaysia.

• szw (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:06 pm

nice nice…
    when will it be launch in m’sia ?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 10:47 pm

bigfish, you will have to call toyota, perodua, honda, VW.. in short all manufacturers CR*P. ALL manufacturers quote booking figures, not just proton.

who cares what the delivery rate of proton personas are in sept07!?!? the car was launched in mid-august.. 5,000 cars delivered in that period is a huge number. if you multiply their delivery rate of about 4-5000 a month, by december, you’re talking about more than 15,000 cars delivered.

and your facts are all wrong as usual. youngman buys the cars from proton, and resells them in china. so it is sales to proton, and they dont have to worry about who youngman sells it too.so what exactly is your argument?

• proton GL (Member) on Dec 13, 2007 at 11:45 pm

from bernama,

Local Car & Component Makers To Meet Global Standards Next Year

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 13 (Bernama) — All motor vehicle and component producers in the country will be required to meet global technical standards from the middle of next year to enable them to export freely worldwide.
    —————————————————————

• cole planet (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:50 am

To all proton basher… does u all really want to see proton bankrupt, because I don’t think that it will do any good for us as a Malaysian when proton gone bankrupt… please do think over this… and hooray to proton…

• marvel (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 1:25 am

BigFish said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 9:36 pm
    Previously, I personally visit Proton showroom and the salesman told me you can get Persona after 2 to 3 week booking. So fairly to say the booking figure of over 20K is either “over inflated” or talk big crap to create “feel good” scenario so that all blind defenders stick out their head giving congratulatory and crap-triotic statement?——————————————-
    Very hard working dude,can spent time in Proton showroom and ask for booking…weird but true…I salute you!!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:47 am

kimi said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 9:50 pm

Hey “Ikan besar”,r u been paid writing all that stuff??U look so obses about Proton,Proton this,Proton that.I”m not using Proton cars,but have some pride la about your own national car maker.it’s not perfect,but who does??..it is a lil funny to see someone like u …

wow! kimi raikkonen from finland also give support to our lousy beloved national cars…! WHAT A JOKE……….!!

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:50 am

hi all potong supporters. have you been to theirs service centre and heard them said, “biasa lah, ini kan potong” !

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 7:44 am

do u know a story where a middle age malay woman when take her lousy potong to service and complaining ‘left and right door shuttling sound is not the same’. a third world problematic car with a third world mentality ppl living in a third world country

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:23 am

BanyakMasukWorkshop said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 10:47 pm

bigfish, you will have to call toyota, perodua, honda, VW.. in short all manufacturers CR*P. ALL manufacturers quote booking figures, not just proton.

who cares what the delivery rate of proton personas are in sept07!?!? the car was launched in mid-august.. 5,000 cars delivered in that period is a huge number. if you multiply their delivery rate of about 4-5000 a month, by december, you’re talking about more than 15,000 cars delivered.
    ————–
    I hope your facts is accurate?

But looking at the unconfirmed source from 2nd tier supplier supplying plastic component for Persona, which equivalent to one unit plastic component = 1 unit of Persona car. So far, they just delivered around 8,000 plastic component. Couple with buyers preference not to get car by end of the year due to 2nd hand value consideration, your 15K unit is a “bit too optimistic”.

Time will prove your 15K is a facts or fiction?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:30 am

kimi said,
    December 13, 2007 @ 9:50 pm

———–
    Its your statement that look a big joke, a person like you not using Proton can make such crap talk on a person who own proton car for his entire life up to the date of posting this comment.

• shaif (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:46 am

Kudos to proton for going Asean market rather than US or Europe market. Asian itself is a big market and proton need to take advantage on this. IMHO, its new range of cars such as Savvy, Neo, Persona and Waja Campro are now improved especially the interior. Now, impove more on the engine and its transmission system.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:55 am

Improve? The latest door handle component for Waja still broken after approx. 4 month replaced it?

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 9:00 am

PTAllTheBest said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 6:50 am

hi all potong supporters. have you been to theirs service centre and heard them said, “biasa lah, ini kan potong” !
    ————-

Proton supporter is OK, they will comment objecitvely and give credit where it due. The “kepala pusing” blind defender will stick out their head giving congratulatory and crap-triotic talk no matter what P1 do or what happen to P1.

Again chalk up sales of 1,000 unit within 2 week is another spin “feel good” news to impress us into believing P1 do something great and something to be proud for this Bolehland.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 9:14 am

Ok BigFish, cool down a bit. We get it that you dont like Proton… neighter do I. Most malaysians have been screwed upsidedown down by proton for the past 20 years and rightly so we feel sore.

For the kimi guy,
    Big words. But why does it sound a little hypocritical? The way I look at your statement, it can only mean 2 things

1) Oh, I’m well off Proton (ahem… umnoputera) affiliated dude/supplier that can afford not to drive a proton so I drive a (put in expensive continental marque)…

or

2) I’m just too damn poor to buy that new Persona so I’m driving a old Japanese car…..(that includes a Kancil)

-But take heart my friend, you will be able to afford it soon, with depreciation of Protons racking up records…. last checked a 2005 Gen2 HL is going for 33k 2nd hand. Thats 12k per year off the purchase price.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:23 am

Cannot believe some are just too “proud” of Proton. It is just a CAR after all. Something that is not a living thing.

But let the market decides the future of Proton. And as a sign whether things are improving for Proton or not, refer to 4G63T DSM comment:

“But take heart my friend, you will be able to afford it soon, with depreciation of Protons racking up records…. last checked a 2005 Gen2 HL is going for 33k 2nd hand. Thats 12k per year off the purchase price.”

Isn’t that a sign of long term value (reflecting the build quality of the car) that everyone knows the said car feel as if it is not going to last even 5 years. Future used car value is an indicator of how the car is built and engineered, also its perceived brand name, based on the above evidence, things have not improved much.

December 13, 2007 @ 8:28 pm

wah somebody must be talking cock here…my savvy clocked more than 50000 km already – no ‘kriuk2’sounds or rattles and still going smooth and strong..

Jap CBU is worse than that?? ehehehe padan serve basher’s face rite!”

Never said Savvy was a bad car. Good for you that you have a solid, no rattles Savvy but the point here is about the OVERALL buyer experience on all models. And I was referring to the Gen-2 which is worse than the Savvy based on what I can observe.

And to hypermount and all Proton blind supporters, take comfort with this also:

from bernama (extracted by Proton GL),

Local Car & Component Makers To Meet Global Standards Next Year

PUTRAJAYA, Dec 13 (Bernama) — All motor vehicle and component producers in the country will be required to meet global technical standards from the middle of next year to enable them to export freely worldwide.

Ask yourself this question, so based on the above news excerpt from Bernama,

are we saying all this while (over the last 20 years or so), the vehicle component producers DID NOT MEET global technical standards for the parts they supply to local/national car manufacturers (i.e. hint hint Proton & gang) ??????????????

The news cut says it all, doesn’t it. It already self-explains the substandard components that goes into the local make cars that gives customers such BAD experience with the car. The design & engineering may not have so many flaws but its the parts that go into so many units produced along the production lines that is causing such miseries to owners.

• dr_carz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:28 am

Now you know that car price in Mlaysia is quite okey…
    Siapa cakap harga kereta thailand separuh dari Malaysia?

• dr_carz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:29 am

The [price are just the same…

• ezralimm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 11:51 am

lol, well, the local car industry is only about 20 years old.

So what’s wrong with that?

From having no standards to global standards in 22 years seems ok.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 11:58 am

ezralimm said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 11:51 am

lol, well, the local car industry is only about 20 years old.

So what’s wrong with that?

From having no standards to global standards in 22 years seems ok.

You seem to missed the point here. It’s not about the how old is the industry, because it’s the nature of the industry where you have to comply to a certain standard from the very BEGINNING.

From your comment, I take it you are CONTENTED to whatever they throw at you without even thinking of what you are getting.

I assume you will let your loved ones, family and children out driving in a substandard product that do not meet a certain global standards whether it’s on quality or safety.

• hypermount (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:04 pm

Wanna talk about safety???!

Lok at the puny sized collision bar behind the front bumper of the rebadged nippon car!! That’s problem with the bashers, they can’t even see jap cars are not up to standard…since proton is the bigger bish, they’re being whacked from all corners unfairly w/o giving them chance to improve and indeed they are..

Collision bar in front of the radiator.
    Viva, I bet myvi’s look puny like this too hehe.
    http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/881/vivacompressorwt2.jpg

Savvy
    http://i215.photobucket.com/albums/cc187/zairulsalina/IMG_1186.jpg

White stuff polystyrene materials for pedestrian protection.
    http://i111.photobucket.com/albums/n137/mohdhaizi/nik%20accident/Image549.jpg

• mrm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:16 pm

Some of us here need reminding of how “good” the product we are getting from our beloved P1.

No matter how much you pay them to write a good review. You cannot change the fact if your product is POOR:

GEN 2
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Proton-GEN-2-1.6-GLS/210780/

SAVVY
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Proton-Savvy-1.2-Style/218592/

Quote “….But it must realise that any progress made by the TV campaign, low price and respected dealerships could soon be reversed by poor refinement and assembly quality issues.”

What else you want others to say?

SATRIA NEO
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/FirstDrives/Proton-Satria-Neo-1.6-GSX/224333/

If you compare the above to this piece of review and you can see that others are similarly impressed with the product (so it is not BIASED as some of us here ARE due to nationalism, patriotism etc):
    http://www.autocar.co.uk/CarReviews/RoadTestsHistory/Hyundai-i30-1.6-Style/226811/

Proton should keep a note on the wall and it should write:

MUST BEAT THE KOREAN. IF THEY CAN DO IT, WE CAN DO IT BETTER. MALAYSIA BOLEH.

(In all sense of the word, to the “Malaysia boleh” supporters)

• ganz (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 12:27 pm

old malay said…

” marah tandanya sayang”
    then i think what all basher trying to do here… they all just love proton… :D

1000 – 2 weeks… congratulation..

• ob8 (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:27 pm

marah tandanya sayang indeed hehe

• hypermount (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 2:32 pm

Brits ARE BADGE SNOBS and they can be bias! AND they admit it themselves!
    Not all reviews are -ve.. .heck man seems I’m very sastified with My savvy which had brought me to all corners of penisular – north south east and to the highest paved road in the whole country. And it doesn’t even break down a single time. And no so -called no weird sounds

http://www.carmagazine.co.uk/Home/
    “Snarled up in traffic trying to get into Chichester last Saturday
    morning, I spotted the rear of a snappy-looking supermini in the queue
    ahead that, for a few seconds, I couldn’t put a name to. I’d seen a press
    release about it, but just couldn’t place it.

I liked what I saw, though. Flared arches, clamshell bonnet, tidy lights,
    stepped glasshouse, central exhaust pipe. All very distinctive. But then
    I glimpsed the badge. It was a Proton Savvy. Almost immediately I caught
    myself thinking, ‘Oh God, it’s a Proton. It’ll be a right spudder’. Like
    a first-class badge snob, I’d junked my positive first opinion the moment
    I saw the car’s badge. So much for an impartial, experienced and unbiased
    journalist.

Yes, of course, style and design are hugely personal choices, and plenty
    of you reading this will disagree with my shortlist of uglies and
    beauties. But am I wrong to think that exclusive and expensive no longer
    have the monopoly on motorway eye candy? The next time you’re drawn in by
    a car’s looks – for the right or wrong reasons – look first, decide
    second and then badge spot last. Don’t repeat my schoolboy error.

• junky_man (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 3:10 pm

two things concerns me:

1) is the sales based on audited figures? I’ve been in the industry enough to not believe everything you read/hear, especially if the figures are not backed up by an independent opinion.

2) are the cost subsidised to sell the cars at a lower price over there? if they are, you know where the money comes from.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 3:26 pm

hypermount,

have to give credit for whatever reason you want to defend P1(hands up if you work for them or have an affliation through some other means, you look like you may come from an overseas “club” of some political parties also, if you get what I mean, with good education and making reference to the Brits), but bashing P2 also? Let’s have another forum for that….

Anyway, anything mentioned about Proton and its survival is always going to be a hot topic. And this thread can go on with millions of comments, which I think Paul will close it first before that happens.

come to think of it, one of the Govt Ministry have this campaign about being a smart consumer where you have to compare prices, quality etc before making decisions. So, if I or anyone, were to apply this before we choose and buy our cars, I bet the survival of Proton will be even more bleak….

isn’t it sad? even the Govt is promoting a campaign that can backfire on itself….

So, “JADILAH PENGGUNA YANG BIJAK”… muahahahahaaaa…. lighten up, P1 defender…. the future may not be soo bad after all….

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 4:26 pm

So MRM..

Chosing this : http://img138.imageshack.us/img138/881/vivacompressorwt2.jpg
    is pengguna yang bijak?
    Kah kah kah kah.. ROTFL
    Kah kah kah again!

I dare using/buying proton rather than giving our cashflow to japan or any other country.

Bijak konon..

• cetait (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:10 pm

Big ROFL HAHAHA at people who think that if they buy Proton none of their money ends up going overseas. They must think that VDO, Renault, Mitsubishi, Magneti Marelli etc. etc. are Malaysian brands? Cause Proton sends them money on a regular basis. Components and licensed technology in cars come from all over the world, so don’t mindlessly think all the money you spend on a Proton is staying in country.

Hell, even the cronies that Proton makes rich spend most of their cash overseas…benz/bmw from germany, kids studying in UK, holidaying abroad, swiss bank account…

At the same time, plenty of money from foreign carmakers stays in Malaysia. For example Toyota pumps tons of cash into the economy via operating expenses, taxes, employing thousands of malaysian citizens etc.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:20 pm

is pengguna yang bijak?
    Kah kah kah kah.. ROTFL
    Kah kah kah again!

I dare using/buying proton rather than giving our cashflow to japan or any other country.

Bijak konon..

Nice nick you are using. It must be Bahasa Malaysia Power rather than a reference to a Continental car I hope. Becos it seems like you do not know much economics as well as cars. You think I must be a P2 supporter too… So sorry, I am most probably a green peace guy riding a bike to work or LRT rather than buying P1, P2, P3 or whatever….

Anyway, talking about cashflow to another country, before you talk so much about buying P1 to protect the Ringgit cashflow. Think first before you write. Why on bloody earth do Proton use LG Design to assist in our car development. Proton also use Lotus to help with development work so money go out to pay some British engineers also, although Proton get some profit back because we own Lotus. But also where do you think all the high tech tooling machineries that cost billions of ringgit come from that they install in Proton Tanjung Malim. From the backyard factory in Kepong or Keramat, issit? Do you think Proton do not spend our $$$$$ paying foreign companies to help with its manufacturing, consultants etc etc?? Then you must be smart to think that by buying M’sian made car, your cash stays in Malaysia… kahkahkah… funny guy.

But anyway, enough bashing Proton, the supporters are not so smart after all. I’m enjoying this thread way too much.

Thank you, guys.

• mrm (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:24 pm

Nice point there, Cetait.

Just what I’m thinking also.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:40 pm

Bahasa Malaysia Power
    ————-
    This must be bm protonomic! Talk till the cow come home, still blind defender.

For P1 export to Thailand it is just “hot-hot chicken shit”!

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 5:45 pm

————
    The entire car body make of metal, all raw material like steel or besi is imported, especially from Australia.

Savvy engine is 100% imported from West? etc, etc, etc, etc.

Being protonomic mind set, it is always being blind defender by making too generalistic statement. Even not worth 2 sen ……….

• shooter (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 6:42 pm

Big Fish said:
    ‘For P1 export to Thailand it is just “hot-hot chicken shit”!’
    —–
    I guess I know whether your the half-full or half-empty type BigFish…or is it BigHeaded?

• nizam80 (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 7:04 pm

bmpower said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 4:26 pm

So MRM..

is pengguna yang bijak?
    Kah kah kah kah.. ROTFL
    Kah kah kah again!

Bijak konon..

Wow!, i didn’t know that Viva’s collision bar is sooooo puny in size. Now that’s what we call a car that has outsold Savvy.

• PTAllTheBest (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 8:46 pm

ganz said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 12:27 pm

old malay said…

” marah tandanya sayang”
    then i think what all basher trying to do here… they all just love proton…

1000 – 2 weeks… congratulation..

then would it be means “sayang tandanya marah”
    u all those blind supporters are just hating potong so much

• KL-ATR (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 10:50 pm

Paul failed to mention that the reason why Proton Savvy sold so well was because it was launched as the CHEAPEST car in Sawasdee-Land. Reminds me of the time when Kancil was launched and they sold like goreng pisang.

• BigFish (Member) on Dec 14, 2007 at 11:31 pm

shooter said,
    December 14, 2007 @ 6:42 pm

I guess I know whether your the half-full or half-empty type BigFish…or is it BigHeaded?
    ————
    You “shoot-here-shoot-there”, then where is your prove?????

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 12:14 am

mrm said,

December 14, 2007 @ 10:23 am

Ask yourself this question, so based on the above news excerpt from Bernama,

are we saying all this while (over the last 20 years or so), the vehicle component producers DID NOT MEET global technical standards for the parts they supply to local/national car manufacturers (i.e. hint hint Proton & gang) ??????????????

GOD DAMNIT, New Toyota Vios has 40% local parts!!

• bmpower (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 12:47 am

and there’s still ‘try to be smart’ basher..
    and always say other people wrong in any way.. just they right.. prtthhh..

LG = outsourcing for investment for fast developement.
    Lotus = we paid higher for good skillfull worker = investment

yess.. savvy engine well known good renault engine..
    but when came campro.. all basher like BigHeadFish (flowerhorn?) also kutuk so much.. nothing right in your eyes exept you bighead.

If i open my shop at the first time..
    i also the cheap price (but not RUGI), small profit at first is enough.
    That was a common action in business..

So let me ask you BigHeadedFish.. and please answer wisely and honest…

does this puny little thing is good crumple zone or REAL SUPER DANGER to the driver.. and can caused the driver losing both of thier leg?.

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:12 am

bmpower said,

December 15, 2007 @ 12:47 am
    So let me ask you BigHeadedFish.. and please answer wisely and honest…

does this puny little thing is good crumple zone or REAL SUPER DANGER to the driver.. and can caused the driver losing both of thier leg?.

Oh my god even my young little sister or my old weak grandma can break that easily.

• hypermount (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:46 am

Burnt shell: Firemen examining a Perodua Myvi which caught fire after an accident in Jalan Falim, Ipoh, yesterday. Ipoh traffic chief Deputy Supt Rodzi Rajab said the 5.15pm incident involved two other cars. No one was killed in the fire, which was probably caused by fuel leakage. It is believed that the Myvi driver was heading to Jalan Falim, when it was involved in a collision with another vehicle coming from the opposite direction

http://www.thestar.com.my/archives/2007/12/3/nation/n_33burnt.jpg

—————————————————————–

Just a little damage in the front and burrrnt. This was not the 1st case. One of many problems found on Myvi is fuel smell problem in the passenger cabin after refueling.

Quote from an eyewitness:
    “Really, besides a few burnt incident reported, I personally saw one with my own eyes. And the car looks quite little damage in terms of collision. Looks like MyVi design isn’t that safe. This remind me of someone complain about the fuel hose being loose and leak petrol.”

• hypermount (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:50 am

Burnt shell: Firemen examining a Perodua Myvi which caught fire after an accident in Jalan Falim, Ipoh, yesterday. Ipoh traffic chief Deputy Supt Rodzi Rajab said the 5.15pm incident involved two other cars. No one was killed in the fire, which was probably caused by fuel leakage. It is believed that the Myvi driver was heading to Jalan Falim, when it was involved in a collision with another vehicle coming from the opposite direction

http://www.thestar.com.my/archives/2007/12/3/nation/n_33burnt.jpg

—————————————————————–

Just a little damage at the front and burrrnt. This was not the 1st case. One of many problems found on Myvi is fuel smell problem in the passenger cabin after refueling.

Quote from an eyewitness:
    “Really, besides a few burnt incident reported, I personally saw one with my own eyes. And the car looks quite little damage in terms of collision. Looks like MyVi design isn’t that safe. This remind me of someone complain about the fuel hose being loose and leak petrol.”

As usual bashers are hypocrites…cannot bash p2 mah cos they are not proton..cannot bash the japs..the onlyone burnt gen.2 case riuh sedunia.

• shooter (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 4:05 am

Big…errr…whatever.. said:
    “You “shoot-here-shoot-there”, then where is your prove?????”
    —–
    actually it is you thats doing the shooting and need to do the proving. if you could just kindly re-examine some of the statements U made earlier, I think even you would find it somewhat ‘amusing’ and academically challenged:

-“first 2 week sold 1,000 unit. 2nd 2 week sold 500, 3rd 2 week sold 250 units. End of the year 3K unit unachievable.”

-“If they manage to sell 500 units, then same statement said it is impressive sales since they targe 300 to 400 units only.If Proton nos of car sold is too small, as in the UK not long ago, then they manipulated % to present as impressive achievement. “Previous year sold 100 units, this year sold 250 units, and increase of 150%”!”

-“Again chalk up sales of 1,000 unit within 2 week is another spin “feel good” news to impress us into believing P1 do something great and something to be proud for this Bolehland”
    —–
    I pose the same Q as ever- prove it…

• IsaacVky (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 9:44 am

shooter said,

December 15, 2007 @ 4:05 am

Big…errr…whatever.. said:
    “You “shoot-here-shoot-there”, then where is your prove?????”

He talks like a kid with a tiny brain.

• Max88 (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 12:39 pm

“Proton sells over 1,000 cars in Thailand in 2 weeks”
    Expect 1,000 sorts of complaints.
    Most, if not all Thai drivers say: “We like Toyota so much”.

“every single issue about proton is being seen as a negative one even though it is clearly a positive one…that is being unfair”
    It’s even worst unfair to all rakyat to pay more for just good quality everyday car.

“here in Malaysia so so many people own proton.. so its normal to hear proton owner merungut pasal kereta dia, bcoz they are many compare to other brand…. but if Malaysia peoples drive Honda most.. sure org selalu complain about honda…”
    Then open up car market here for all rakyat to buy car at FAIR price. Let see who got the biggest complaints.

“..it has no relation with ur hard earn money whatsoever..changing mindset will not cost u a cent bro….”
    But it’s cost RM Billions lost to Proton cronies fo the sake of buying faulty products. Whose mindset is the f-cking pathetic?

“Proven in every aspects, the facts are shown in statistics and there’s absolutely nothing we can do about it. So bashers, grab yourself a Proton or you’ll regret for life.”
    So, abolish NAP and open up car market. Be fair to all rakyat. F-cking cunt.

“From having no standards to global standards in 22 years seems ok”
    Fix the power window first.

“does this puny little thing is good crumple zone or REAL SUPER DANGER to the driver.. and can caused the driver losing both of thier leg?.”
    Go buy yourself a tank. In a protective car market, what can you expect?

“As usual bashers are hypocrites…cannot bash p2 mah cos they are not proton..cannot bash the japs..the onlyone burnt gen.2 case riuh sedunia.”
    But the whole world know Proton is such a pathetic, 3rd world class car maker.

• fastcx (Member) on Dec 15, 2007 at 1:38 pm

Max88 said,

December 15, 2007 @ 12:39 pm

“From having no standards to global standards in 22 years seems ok”
    Fix the power window first.

er, u still hear savvy n satria neo or even persona user complain about tat?

“does this puny little thing is good crumple zone or REAL SUPER DANGER to the driver.. and can caused the driver losing both of thier leg?.”
    Go buy yourself a tank. In a protective car market, what can you expect?

infact, max88, go see the picture urself, and compare it with smart fortwo’s whose small size in physical size? I wouldnt pay rm40k++ for a small car vf terrifying safety features while keep promoting it’s jap tech and assume the safety is the same, y not try to compare daihatsu mira previous gen(current viva) and see physically frame work is the same? bashers keep mentioning old news and talk as if they still current hot news. critiques are good, but doing so w/o any good reason is plain blind bashing, get it?

• abe (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:13 am

Myvi is fuel smell problem in the passenger cabin after refueling.

• abe (Member) on Dec 16, 2007 at 1:16 am

Myvi is fuel smell problem in the passengers cabin after refueling.