Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Volkswagen Touareg R50 now on sale in the UK

Volkswagen_Touareg_R50_UK

The monster Volkswagen Touareg R50 is now on sale in the UK, retailing at a price of £61,885 (RRP OTR), a premium of £3,885 over the normal Altitude V10 TDI Touareg.

The price premium comes from tune-ups such as an uprated 5.0 liter V10 TDI engine putting out 350 PS instead of the normal 313 PS - the engine hits this at 3,500rpm, and 750Nm of torque instead of the normal 650Nm, yet puts out the same CO2 emissions as the normal V10 TDI, which is 333g/km.

Other than the engine, the R50 is also differentiated from the Touareg Altitude V10 by its 21 inch Omanyt design wheels, Touareg R-design bodykit, wheel arch extensions, blue brake calipers, and R logos on the pedals, door sills and Nappa sports seats.

Volkswagen Touareg R50
Volkswagen Touareg V10 pulls a jumbo jet

12 Comments »

1. xenith said,

March 9, 2008 @ 5:58 am

What a monster…

2. charles27 said,

March 9, 2008 @ 6:20 am

great… make more monster.

lately in BMW forum, i hear that quit many people talk about vw engine reliability problem. Seem like there is bad side to it. Not designed for long run/term, thus badly effect the second hand value. vw owner… any comment on this?

3. naikmotoje said,

March 9, 2008 @ 10:53 am

wahhh…
    front look like proton saga RED…

4. raybrig85 said,

March 9, 2008 @ 11:57 am

handsome…bt dis will cost alot here…standard touareg is ok for me…

5. raybrig85 said,

March 9, 2008 @ 11:58 am

charles…which bmw blog did u visit???y dun u jz survey at vw blog…mabe u can find d answer..

6. e-nabilll said,

March 9, 2008 @ 1:33 pm

there is one black color i saw abt a week ago , infront of bukit bintang…couldnt believe it…obviously blackened windows couldnt see who was driving it

7. ryan_foong80 said,

March 9, 2008 @ 2:00 pm

Volkswagen my first choice…..

8. szw said,

March 9, 2008 @ 4:44 pm

the R50 sound like mini cooper’s model code…

9. AvE said,

March 10, 2008 @ 12:32 am

a mutated mini coop, mix marriegde with a bmw…GRrRRr~ ROoaARrgHH~!!! somebody call ultraman~~…p/s:nice color

10. mystvearn said,

March 10, 2008 @ 12:40 am

Maybe this can pull Boeing 747 at 50mph :P

11. AvE said,

March 10, 2008 @ 12:42 am

mutated mini coop…mix marriedge with bmw…GrrRRr…WHOoARRrGH! its a freaking cool freak~

12. juanbeibei said,

March 12, 2008 @ 6:34 pm

i saw this kind of body kit in the older version of touareg (without curve headlights) in japan.. a number of them there.. i saw black n 2 blue.. but this one looks better!! =)

previous post: VIDEO: Saab 9-3 Turbo “Power When You Need It”
next post: 2008 Skoda Superb featuring TwinDoor hatch

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!