Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

New Toyota Urban Cruiser unveiled at Geneva

New Toyota Urban Cruiser

Toyota has unveiled the Toyota Urban Cruiser at the 2008 Geneva Motor Show. The Toyota Urban Cruiser is essentially the Japanese market Toyota ist, which is in turn a restyled version of the American market Scion xD.

So we have the Urban Cruiser for Europe, the ist for Japan and the xD for the USA. Toyota says the Toyota Urban Cruiser was developed to fill up the void that the discontinued three-door version of the Toyota RAV4 left behind.

More angles after the jump.

Toyota Urban Cruiser SUV to debut at Geneva 2008
Toyota to develop new small SUV for Europe

New Toyota Urban Cruiser

16 Comments »

1. naikmotoje said,

March 13, 2008 @ 3:26 am

:clap:
    finally… this model soon rebadge into perodua lah

2. normaluser said,

March 13, 2008 @ 7:47 am

In order for this car to rebadge as perodua, it must be rebadge as daihatsu first. A cross-over hatch is nice if perodua can badge this one.

3. farghmee said,

March 13, 2008 @ 9:22 am

nape aku nmpk cm myvi? ;)

4. KF said,

March 13, 2008 @ 9:48 am

Hmmmmmmm…Myvi on steroids ??

5. tHe CuLpRit said,

March 13, 2008 @ 10:17 am

Im gona try my hand at mindless rumour-mongering here….

“this car, will be the Myvi replacement model, to be launced middle of next year. This is because Toyota got links with Perodua. They will sell it using P2’s badge, so it can be priced at under RM90k. I know, because my sister’s husband’s father’s brother’s son works for P2.”

Heh… :-P

6. Roti Naan said,

March 13, 2008 @ 11:36 am

So this might be a 4×4 toughie wanabe but only be driven in urban?

hey, how come the rear windows tinted? izit becoz the designers haven’t figured out the back seat and interior yet?

7. mockviper said,

March 13, 2008 @ 12:15 pm

hey, how come the rear windows tinted? izit becoz the designers haven’t figured out the back seat and interior yet?
    ———————————

it is common for SUV and MPV there to have darker rear window. so this is the new RAV4 replacement..

what does p2 got to do with this car? haha… u guys are damn funny. why dont u say that the upcoming Supra MK V will be rebadged as P2 as well? -peace-

8. hyundai said,

March 13, 2008 @ 12:27 pm

Can it beat Nissan Qashqai?

9. wat the said,

March 13, 2008 @ 1:40 pm

toyota rav4??
    this car is a lot smaller la bro
    toyota ist is a small car
    this is a copy of second generation ist

if,perodua rebadge it ,i don’t think the price will be like 80~90k
    the first generation just sell for 90k with a toyota badge

10. cutester said,

March 13, 2008 @ 1:55 pm

The rear wiper are so cute!

11. pOckeTbOcoR said,

March 13, 2008 @ 4:14 pm

rear wiper? i couldnt see any rear wiper…

12. mystvearn said,

March 13, 2008 @ 11:08 pm

Look carefully, its there.

13. MaverickNeo said,

March 14, 2008 @ 12:34 am

OMG dude, there is a rear viper, and by golly, it is cute…like a robot dog’s tail…

14. AlexKhoo said,

March 14, 2008 @ 3:17 pm

————————————————————–

In europe, they have an option when buying the car which they call privacy glass.
    Not only on SUVs and MPVs. they have it on Sedans, Hatches, etc. etc.

15. DtG said,

March 14, 2008 @ 6:29 pm

rear end very landrover-like

16. bobdbilder said,

March 15, 2008 @ 4:56 pm

Car Mfg really like to make SUV and hope its a growing trend. There’s not much technical requirement in an SUV. All you do when you select an SUV is to see how the interior feels. Nobody talks about fuel consumption or even how it handles around the bend. Just as long as it feels nice. They can charge you a lot for perceived value. Hell it doesn’t even have to look nice at all.

previous post: New Toyota Corolla Altis due this Friday!
next post: New 2008 Honda Accord spotted in Malaysia!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!