AV Ventures supplier for new Proton MPV

Proton LogoAV Ventures Sdn Bhd has received a Letter of Intent from Proton to develop and supply components such as steering, wiper and washer and window regulator systems for Proton’s new MPV.

According to the report by The Edge, supply for these components would commence sometime in Q1 2009, so I think we can expect the new Proton MPV to arrive on schedule. On a side note, we now know who to curse if the new MPV’s power windows fail ;)

Related Links:
First sighting of new Proton MPV-related test mule
Proton MPV due in early 2009

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• zidane (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 4:49 pm

Good joke Paul…

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:28 pm

nak launch 2009 takkan baru nak develop sekarang kot??
    hehe…
    neway nice joke

“On a side note, we now know who to curse if the new MPV’s power windows fail”

• Cyberkayu (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 5:58 pm

av venture is wat company?
    have good track of record of quality product?

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 7:27 pm

Hahaha good one Paul!!!

Now Proton has to compete with Perodua-Again!!! The show begins…

• Denniz (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 9:51 pm

AV Ventures. O.o
    Last I heard of this company is an empty company controlled by someone related to Repco Lau.

Unsure though, maybe it’s different one.
    But the AV Ventures I knew is dealing in parts too.

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:15 pm

Was this one of the companies that obtained a High quality product rating Proton did on its vendors few years ago?

• V8 (Member) on Mar 24, 2008 at 11:42 pm

naikmotoje said,

March 24, 2008 @ 5:28 pm

nak launch 2009 takkan baru nak develop sekarang kot??
    hehe…

well its still march now…kind of still having at least 8 months b4 the launch. so i think they do have enuf of time to build up the stock, its an mpv anyway, proton also nvr expect stock volume will be as much as saga. m i rite?

• BW (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:00 am

haha true true…. Wah Perodua coming up new MPV in 2009 as well as proton ar?

• infinity (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:45 am

if proton now 1 them to supply the parts, tat means the car is already developed…jz need to find suitable materials..
    tat means we should be getting some spyshots in about september or october perhaps?

all the best proton!!

anyone want to guess the name of the car?
    i hope proton won’t use “Juara”..haha..

• king (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 1:57 am

maybe they’ll call it proton jaguh…

• MyviKiller (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 2:07 am

king said,
    March 25, 2008 @ 1:57 am

maybe they’ll call it proton jaguh…
    —————————————————————-

Since most MPVs here are for the balik kampung purposes, why not name it as Jaguh Kampung instead…?

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:27 am

I suppose the MPV will be using a newly designed steering. I hope it will be better compared to the current hard ‘lotus-inspired’ steering.

• ys (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:43 am

yes, proton is moving on the correct position.
    MVP is what we expecting

• hyundai (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 4:52 pm

I really wonder how Proton is going to price the new MPV…

• theking (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:37 pm

you can see the proton mpv image in the paul tan’s automoive forums under malyasian makes!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:06 am

I know!! I know how Proton can solve the power window failure once and for all……

DON’T USE ANY WINDOW MECHANISM AT ALL.
    (EXCUSE TO USE: ALL WINDOWS ARE FIXED, FOR SAFETY PURPOSE. Heck can even cut cost too)

• azrai (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 6:49 am

Another crony vendor for Proton? This is the real situation here. Bribery, incompetent vendor. hopefully with the new era of political tsunami, it will be more open tender.

• ganz (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 11:37 am

hahaah.. nice joke on window..
    PROTON KPG.. (kereta pelbagai Guna) or

i much await for this car… just to see… is it going to be 1.6, 1.8 or 2.0..
    my “wish” is..below 70k, comparable spec to wish and not avanza..

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 2:04 pm

“I know!! I know how Proton can solve the power window failure once and for all……”

to be fair, the current new crop of proton cars are no longer known for power window failures to the level of what we used to see in the past. i have friends who drive the current gen2 and waja, even the neo and savvy who have not had any power window failures even up to almost 2 years of ownership.

• abtm (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 2:10 pm

what’s the company’s track record? i hope they were not the ones who supply power windows to the Wira or Iswara!

• ali38hak (Member) on Mar 29, 2008 at 7:33 pm

and which company will supply Diesel ???

• naikmotoje (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 8:08 am

my family iswara now 3 years… yet no power windows or central lock problem… yeeaaa…

• aeiry (Member) on Sep 25, 2008 at 2:51 pm

nice car.good job :)

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:51 am

AV Ventures Corp Berhad, better look or type this name at Yahoo, then u can look their company.

• God.of.War (Member) on Oct 17, 2008 at 1:56 am

From what i can see, AV Ventures was once the supplier for Proton in the year 1992 and 1994, got a lot of award, from Proton and also UMW, by that year, Proton do not have any quality issue with the parts rite?

So i thk it is wise to choose them !