Honda Mobilio and Mobilio Spike 7-seater MPV

The Honda Mobilio is a compact 7-seater MPV sold in the JDM market, built on one of the longest versions of Honda’s Global Small Platform ever, with a wheelbase of 2,740mm. It is part of Honda’s Small Max vehicle lineup which also includes cars like the Jazz, City, and Airwave, all built on the Global Small Platform and powered by the L-series i-DSI and VTEC engines. With it’s 1.5 litre i-DSI engine (1.5 litre VTEC in the Mobilio Spike), the Honda Mobilio returns 18.2km/l.

Like the Toyota Sienta, it features sliding rear doors. The Mobilio and Mobilio Spike’s packaging is similiar to the rest of the Small Max cars, featuring a low-floor cabin, and a central fuel tank layout located under the first row of seats. The cabin is 2,435mm long and 1,360mm wide. Versatile seats allow stowage of luggage up to 1,360mm tall or 2,600mm long. Folding the third row seats down creates a boot space of 579 litres. The second row can slide back and forth by up to 260mm to vary legroom.

Would you buy the Honda Mobilio/Mobilio Spike if it is available in Malaysia? I think most would feel awkward because of its Japanese boxy looks, but the unorthodox dimensions is the very thing which creates a large interior space inside.

View more photos and a video of the Honda Mobilio after the jump.

VIDEO: Honda Mobilio

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• chaku/maru (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 5:42 am

the design wont suit msian market…

• kakilubuk (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 7:47 am

Mmm!!! Ha! Ha! Ha! Kah! Kah! Kah! Maybe Honda want to challenge Mitsuoka.

Suka hati engkau la Encik Honda.

However, Odyssey RB1 MPV is still the one I want. Nice!

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:19 am

The large windows make the car feels large & airy inside.
    However, it makes the car looks weirder than ever.

• King Samurai (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:30 am

Malaysian are still very very conservative to accept such design for an MPV but not in Japan or US even EU. We Malaysian still prefer backdated designs..no wonder Toyota and Nissan took the advantage by selling ‘aged’ cars in Malaysia. Proton played safe as well until new management took over.Sadly we buy outdated cars without hesitation and simply become a proud owner.

• raptorclans (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:35 am

Eh nice! I like how it looks unconventional, and still cute at the same time. The roominess makes up for it, and the huge windows means parking is easy and when you drive it’ll feel airy and spacious. Good ideas there actually, but yeah, Malaysians dun value practicality over looks, sadly…

• King Samurai (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:45 am

Err.. Paul,

I think the TVC is the old one lah… it was the previous generation Mobilio TVC if you look carefully. Even at the end (written in Japs) said the car available at Honda Primo, Clio & Verno dealers. Currently in Japan there’s no longer 3 distribution channels for Honda. Since 2006 they have intergrated their distribution channel into one known as Honda Cars. Just my 2cents…

• farghmee (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:46 am

i like it :)

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:51 am

If it’s JDM, why California plates? Advertising purposes oni ar?

• mukhri88 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:55 am

Malaysians will never go for ‘butt ugly is cute’ market. Ref: Proton Juara.

• ynnad (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:41 am

Renault Kangoo with a Honda badge…

now imagine if this came with a Toyota badge ?? :)

• drebar (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:47 am

this is a more hensem cousin of renault kangoo !!!

• abtm (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 9:57 am

Such a car will definately sell in Msia, it’s practical, with a small engine. Maintenance should be easy for dealers too, since it shares parts with the City/Jazz

• fredcwk (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:28 am

Perhaps to the singles the look might not be appealing but to the family type, space and practicality is the key. Look at Renault kangoo, bad looks but spacious.

However, my grips has always been that for MPV such as Avanza, Innova and Rush, once you carry 7 people (or 5 adults and 2 kids) for long trips, there aren’t space to carry luggage for 7 . Can’t designer of cars for 7 people think of space to carry 7 bags? What is the point to be able to carry 7 people for holidays trip but you can’t bring the luggage for 7 people.

Or was the design to carry 7 people only for short trip and not holidays? Then it does not serve the purpose anymore, might as well drive a van :-)

Fred Chan
    How to Trade Share

• figo (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 10:47 am

This car definitly get the demand in malaysia. Come with fuel economy DSI-engine 18km/litre and roomy interior. If Kenari design able to be accepted by the public why not this car? No MPV in malaysia are able to acheive 18km/liter including the 1.5 sedan. Should be a big hit in malaysia if honda bring in this model.

• king (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:15 pm

rear reminds me of alphard. malaysians should like this…seeing how they like the alphard

• altimi (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 12:43 pm

Looks alot better than the Sienta….

• beauwlf (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 1:06 pm

Currently own a kangoo,
    space and better fuel consumption thats what ppl look for these days, expecially family man.
    if its about RM65k i would buy it.

• dzat46 (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 3:14 pm

Very practical car…FC should be gud if use the 1.5idsi engine…damn gud FC (i know since i’m using city idsi).

btw, i prefer the airwave looks….HM should consider bringing ths & the airwave. Sure sell like hot cake if price btw grand livina & avanza

• terracottaz (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 4:28 pm

Mahal la if want to tinted coz byk pakai tinted film!

• albagmane (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 7:02 pm

wow… the windows should make inside very spacious… i love it!!!

• faizfadil (Member) on Mar 25, 2008 at 8:41 pm

OH GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! IT’S HIDEOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! the centre console is kinda nice though…….

• mystvearn (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 12:40 am

Nice car. Looks like very friendly to frail/handicapped person with that rear door

• azrai (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 6:59 am

Look like Scion bB. No, malaysian market will not used to it. Space shuttle? Moving washing machine? That’s how people react when the now defunct Juara launched several years ago. but, it is a Honda. Maybe the ‘H’ will sell.

• sharkfish (Member) on Mar 26, 2008 at 9:13 am

it is reallu cute..the design is simple but aesthetic..

• normaluser (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 7:42 am

beauwlf
    care to share the fuel consumption figures for the kangoo?
    is yours the petrol version? 1.4L one?

beauwlf said,
    March 25, 2008 @ 1:06 pm

Currently own a kangoo,
    space and better fuel consumption thats what ppl look for these days, expecially family man.
    if its about RM65k i would buy it.

• AvE (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 8:42 pm

very practical interior…sliding doors more convenient for back passenger to go in n out…exterior looks modern…what if they come up with a sporty body kit…wah…boxy sporty car hehee

• batudelima (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:48 pm

If they bring in to malaysia with reasonable price surely it’s become hot sale .Once I saw this model , i remember of nissan cube that I saw on the road near my area attract people nearby. box/cube design but cute and atractive

• batudelima (Member) on Mar 27, 2008 at 10:58 pm

For sure if they bring in to Malaysia with reasonable price it will becoe hot sale.Design kotak’/cube but cute and attractive with fuel consumption efficiency

• azman4243 (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 6:41 am

2nd proton juara?? lol..

• figo (Member) on Mar 28, 2008 at 10:19 am

So, Honda,

Please bring in this model and sell it below 70k to complete with the mini MPV avanza. I will get one.

• batudelima (Member) on Mar 30, 2008 at 1:12 pm

To Fredcwk
    Should be no problem to carry luggage, just put carrier/ sampan on the roof of this vehicle then…start your journey for holiday or balik kampung .nice & confort

• zzzxtreme (Member) on Mar 31, 2008 at 9:30 am

Looks good

• www.kenyalang.net on Sep 22, 2009 at 9:23 am

Still cant beat Mitsuoka MPV or Nissan Cube. Their design very original and tie with their theme when designing a car….boxy shape? Who cares? Youre in the car…not outside of the car. Im proud became a Cube owner. Look at Alphard or Elgrand….selling like hot cakes……

• Mobilio on May 04, 2016 at 2:07 pm

I currently own a 2nd hand Honda Mobilio 7 seaters in Japan. It’s very cheap here. U can own this at ~RM3000++. The acceleration and fuel consumption is very good (around 16-17km/L)! Double thumb-up!