Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Toyota may increase Subaru stake to 17%

toyotalogo.gifJapanese business newspaper Nikkei Shimbun reported that Toyota is considering raising its current 8.7% stake in Fuji Heavy Industries (Subaru) to about 17%, in a deal that is valued at 30 billion yen, or RM937 million ringgit, pending a review by Japan’s Fair Trade Commission.

Subaru will remain somewhat independent and not be considered a Toyota subsidiary as the resulting shareholding by Toyota will be under 20%. In a response to Nikkei’s report, Subaru says it still does not have anything to announce at the moment as the stakeholding increase is not final yet and still under discussions.

Of course, such reports will always affect share prices. Subaru shares went up 6.6% on the day the Nikkei reported the news.

GM sells Subaru shares to Toyota

10 Comments »

1. Capt Shopalot said,

April 8, 2008 @ 7:29 am

Hopefully this is beneficial to all

2. azrai said,

April 8, 2008 @ 7:52 am

When will we see the Perodua Impreza AWD?

3. bmpower said,

April 8, 2008 @ 12:47 pm

first step for toyotanization .
    (to take over slowly)

4. altimi said,

April 8, 2008 @ 1:19 pm

Toyota is becoming more like Microsoft…

5. topgunthang said,

April 8, 2008 @ 3:11 pm

proton is becoming more like netscape

6. mitlanevo said,

April 8, 2008 @ 3:17 pm

Perodua Impreza AWD…. lol~

7. gonggok said,

April 8, 2008 @ 3:57 pm

Oh no! One day the imprezza will be a souped-up Altis with a torsion-beam suspension (purely for packaging reasons says Toyota, nothing to do with cost). But it will be the best selling Subaru ever because the ‘Toyota’ factor :(

8. bmpower said,

April 8, 2008 @ 5:32 pm

coming soon..
    Imprezza Dugong Version.

9. szw said,

April 8, 2008 @ 8:40 pm

is toyota ppl too free n rich ?

10. bavarian said,

April 9, 2008 @ 5:30 pm

slowly it will takeover

previous post: Volvo C30 optional decorative film
next post: BMW M3 “Revolution” TV Commercial by IdeaCity

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!