Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Mazda Biante: Japanese market MPV with a tall roof

Mazda Biante

Mazda has launched a new JDM-only MPV called the Mazda Biante. It’s an MPV designed to have a very tall interior roof, which is useful for those who have difficulties bending their backs when getting into the rear seats of MPVs with low interior roofs.

Mazda has not released any other information on the Biante other than a few photos, but expect the Biante to use similiar engines as the Mazda 8 and the Mazda CX-7 - this would mean the 2.3 liter turbocharged DISI engine or a similiar engine based on the new 2.5 liter engines which replace the old 2.3 liter engines.

Although the Mazda Biante is currently JDM-only, restyled versions could make it out of the Japanese market if Mazda deems it viable.

View more photos after the jump.

Mazda Biante

24 Comments »

1. Capt Shopalot said,

May 11, 2008 @ 9:35 pm

Nice looking MPV

2. kei9 said,

May 11, 2008 @ 9:46 pm

LOOL nice and handsome looks! like the fukia concept :)

3. raybrig85 said,

May 11, 2008 @ 10:07 pm

nice bt it will nt arrive at our shore….sayang

4. nanashisan said,

May 12, 2008 @ 12:19 am

raybrig85 said,

May 11, 2008 @ 10:07 pm

nice bt it will nt arrive at our shore….sayang
    ————————————————-
    I predict it will! perhaps u can try asking naza.

btw, since the engine is quite powerful, it might be rival for Toyota Estima.

5. xenith said,

May 12, 2008 @ 12:37 am

Is this a competitor for estima or alphard?

6. csv said,

May 12, 2008 @ 12:42 am

Proton Mpv? LOL.

interesting look, similar to the toyota sienta.

7. raybrig85 said,

May 12, 2008 @ 1:04 am

i think its nt bcoz mazda strictly limited dis unit onli in jap…bt..who know…naza can do anything…

8. azrai said,

May 12, 2008 @ 6:54 am

Nice. Just like the new Serena with zoom zoom character.

9. bmpower said,

May 12, 2008 @ 9:19 am

Nice look, really like the back seat adjustment. For the family, that’s childs playground in the car. :D . Mazda’s design always far better than other.

Ah!!.. no!.. don’t put 2.3 engine! noooo… then it become underpowered = gaz guzler just like nazaria.. put back the 2.5 or 3.0!.. Sell it at premium price but cheaper than overpriced alphard.

10. msmar_453 said,

May 12, 2008 @ 9:29 am

Why not ask BerMaz?
    New Mazda6, CX9 already land at our shore!
    Got info from CBT yesterday! Nice loh!

11. raptorclans said,

May 12, 2008 @ 10:01 am

the front lights damn cool la wei…

12. raybrig85 said,

May 12, 2008 @ 10:57 am

i tot bermaz bring in the cx-7..bt then cx-9…it is a cheaper than the 3.5 murano n harrier which is really good…value 4 money…

13. albagmane said,

May 12, 2008 @ 11:11 am

the front gives me a feeling of a peugeot… but overall the design innovation is speechless… mazda really has good taste in designing!

14. raybrig85 said,

May 12, 2008 @ 11:16 am

the dsg cues is look like new mazda mpv..bt they jz enhanced it to b more futuristic

15. proton GL said,

May 12, 2008 @ 12:27 pm

this is purely japanese taste,
    playing with exterior plastic embelishment,

16. mitlanevo said,

May 12, 2008 @ 2:06 pm

looks weird, but overall nice lah, i like the front bumper and headlights….

if available here, it still can’t beat the Estima….

17. williaml said,

May 12, 2008 @ 5:54 pm

I think Mazda Biante powered by 2.5L engine with higher torque, it should be positioned below Mazda MPV (Mazda8), if I’m not wrong.

Zoom Zoom…

18. mystvearn said,

May 12, 2008 @ 8:31 pm

This will give Alphard a run for its money. Looks better too,

19. szw said,

May 12, 2008 @ 8:34 pm

i thought japanese are short ?

20. Auto_crat said,

May 12, 2008 @ 9:05 pm

Maybe they’re getting taller. Anyway sweeeeeeet. Proton, look at this.

21. LHQ said,

May 12, 2008 @ 9:34 pm

Enough on MPV already, do they want to fill it up on the street until we can’t know what’s happening in front of the road. The rear reminds me of Alphard and the side mirror area looks a bit awkward.

22. hotwheelz said,

May 12, 2008 @ 11:19 pm

weird and ugly..

23. 4G63T DSM said,

May 13, 2008 @ 9:10 am

bmpower said,
    May 12, 2008 @ 9:19 am

Ah!!.. no!.. don’t put 2.3 engine! noooo… then it become underpowered = gaz guzler just like nazaria.. put back the 2.5 or 3.0!.. Sell it at premium price but cheaper than overpriced alphard.
    ———-

Mazda’s 2.3 is a turbocharged direct injection engine, first available ith the Mazdaspeed 6. Capable of at least 240hp and 380NM of torque depending on the state of tune.

I would err to say it as being underpowered.

That said, this is god awful ugly.

24. 4G63T DSM said,

May 13, 2008 @ 9:13 am

btw, the 2.3 DISI is a past 10 best engine winner, if you check Paul’s achive.

RSS feed for comments on this post

previous post: Subsidised petrol soon only for verified Malaysians
next post: Volvo wants injury-proof car by 2020

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!