Foreign cars banned from filling up near border

petronas_450.jpg

The government has banned all petrol stations within 30 to 50km from the Malaysia-Thailand border and the Malaysia-Singapore border from selling fuel to foreign cars beginning this Friday (30th May 2008) onwards. This would include all petrol stations in Perlis, Kedah, North Perak, Kelantan, and several Johor distrincts. Offending petrol station owners would be fined up to RM250,000 or jailed 3 years or both.

I know that there are some people, especially those who live in the northern states who buy and register cars in Thailand, but drive them around in Malaysia. They would certainly be in a fix as now they would have difficulty filling up their fuel tanks, as even though they are Malaysian and their cars are being used in Malaysia, their number plates are foreign. I can think of a probable but illegal solution they’d come up with: fake local number plates?

This ban is only temporary until a permanent solution is introduced to prevent fuel subsidies from being enjoyed by those who are not intended to receive them.

In the same report by Bernama, Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Minister Datuk Shahrir Samad said that the Federation of Malaysian Consumers Associations (FOMCA) has suggested petrol subsidies to be given out based on engine size would be considered. This seems logical as first as the rich would have cars with larger engines, but with the world engine trends moving towards displacement downsizing and the likeliness of the rich being able to access this latest technology in the first place, it is another idea which in practice is not going to be completely effective.

As it is the popular Mercedes-Benz E200K and C200K uses 1.8 litre engines, and the large Volkswagen Passat is available with a 1.4 litre engine. That is smaller than a Proton Persona’s engine in terms of displacement.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Martin (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:24 am

lol… fake car plate, might be a good solution too :D but this ban might bring some negative effects to our tourism. don’t know how big is the opportunity cost but it’s gonna be temporary.

anyway, i think the petrol subsidies to be given out based on engine size is quite logical to me. as bigger engine size uses up more petrol (=more polution) and hence taking up more subsidies from the govt’. so smaller size engine, not only the consumer save but also the govt’ can save from its subsidy. importantly, protect the environment by saving more energy! hope the new petrol subsidy structure not only benefits the middle/lower income group but also adds value to a greener environment.

• azrai (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 7:13 am

Too late action. At least they done something. They still have 4 days to bring drum barrel to fill with. :-)

• abtm (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 7:16 am

one suggestion, give fuel subsidies based on the current market value of a vehicle, updated every yr or 1/2, how’s that? That way a Naza Ria will pay less than a Mazda RX-8

• 2fast (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:17 am

Finally, some action to stop the pilfering of our subsidies by neighboring citizens. Wonder how much we have subsidized them so far.

I don’t think its a good idea basing subsidies according to engine capacity unless they impose the same road tax value to all cars. Higher engine capacity cars are already being penalized with high road tax.

• JonW (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:48 am

if based on market value, then those “cold” continental car owners would be jumping with joy
    finally the low resale value would be beneficial to them
    seriously, implementing a system so that the lower income group would get cheaper petrol than those getting higher income would be quite a daunting task, particularly in our country
    there would be many loopholes if it’s not carefully studied

• dr_carz (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:32 am

good job there..

the foreogners are not malaysian!

• mr.nice guy (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:48 am

how about sabah/sarawak -kalimantan indonesia border?

• RM (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:46 am

How much subsidy has been spent on on non-tourist folks from Thailand/Singapore i.e those who just come in to fill their tanks ? Pump prices in the Lion City is above SGD2.10 per litre which translates to nearly RM5 per litre. While lauding the ministry’s latest move, this price gap has always been wide so the logical question is why didn’t the Ministry impose this restriction earlier ?

Do away with fuel subsidies completely with a mechanism to give back some to the people, that’s the right way. However, before you can do that, the GOV must re-brand itself so the people have a better perception. Perpetrators and abusers of the current system are first brought to book, no more lopsided agreements, full transparency in the public procurement system. Re-brand, gain public confidence and then push through the plans.

• moha774 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 1:14 pm

My suggestion would be, the amout of subsidised fuel should be limited to only first 35 or 40 litre of fuel for any transaction and the rate would be charge in full without subsidy for the subsequent amount. This way it could benefit the poor directly since most of them driving a small car like Kancil, Myvy, Viva and Savvy which have smaller fueltank not more than 45litre and rarely fill up more than 35 litre per transaction. Not to forget motorbike.

Those who owns car with bigger fueltank might have to pay more after the first 35 or 40 litre of fuel. The only loophole for them would be, fill up twice in two transaction, but then only if they could withstand the stare of others and have time to kill…

• motberg (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:17 pm

*clap*clap**clap… congratulations once again to our leaders for coming up with half baked ideas…AGAIN! groan. Banning foreign vehicles from filling up within a 50km radius MAY SEEM like a good idea but it’s NOT!

1. What will happen to the livelihood of the petrol station owners? Sales cut by 50-60% but overheads will remain.

2. How will we enforce this ruling? Put cops at the pumps? Who has the authority to stop anyone from filling up? What if some smart aleck sued the G for discrimination?

3. Most important – foreigners will still be able to buy subsidized fuel out of the 50km radius. This subsidy which is coming out of our own pockets I might add.

Why can’t we make use of our MyKAD technology? Pump will display the actual rate or an even higher rate (ie. RM3 per litre to make back all our lost subsidies over the years). The moment we swipe our MyKad, it will display RM1.92 (our price) and we can pump will we’re contented. Foreigners will pay unsubsidised prices no matter which part of Msia they are in. Makes sense doesn’t it?

And we can also link the MyKAD to the car we drive so that the G can give different subsidies to say a Kancil owner or a Merc driver. And if the guy has a few cars, then an average rate can be derived.

This is surely a better plan than the 50km ban… sigh. After 50 years of independence, our policy makers are still stuck in some time warp.

• freeze (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 2:53 pm

If I was a desperate Singaporean, I would not mind driving 50KM for cheap fuel. Up and down, cost less than RM20 of Malaysian fuel.

• shaif (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 3:01 pm

Motberg good advice lah…perhaps every petrol station should have mycard reader enabled pump machine.

• topgunthang (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 3:04 pm

just stop the subsidy and abolish duties on cars. if they want to drive a big engine car then they pay for the petrol. coz all you’re going to end up with is 1.6litre engines in camry size cars(which takes up more petrol and emission for the same work) or 0.8litre proton coffins on the road when everyone is trying to skimp on safety to save weight. even the 2.0tsfi in the new skoda octavia sports version takes up just as much petrol consumption as a 1.8litre civic but gives 2.5 times pulling power and extra 50kws.

other ways for them to save money is not to provide politicians son’s and daughters with overseas scholarship money which includes school fees, food and exorbitant spending money. and dont send idiots who dont study at all.

why not penalize the car companies that give you broken windows, broken gear boxes and engine failures. that takes away productivity time and the petrol conumsption u have to drive to service station(and ask someone to pick u up) to get it fixed and charged a fee.

good luck trying to sue the G for discrimination. that would work….not

• irwinsim (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 3:05 pm

Using myKad can be a good idea in preventing foreigners to enjoy our subsidised petrol. PLUS create other job opportunity… somebody can just sell his myKad service… standing in front the pump & swipe for foreigners. What if a Malaysian driving a foreign car?

My idea is totally remove the petrol subsidy. use that $ encourage public buy more fuel efficient vehicle. Maybe reduce/remove the import tax and/or road tax for green car (toyota periud, honda civic hybrid, Golf GT, adv diesel car… Ops… National car no ready for this technology ), build more LPG station, more R&D on alternative energy like biofuel (We got a lot of palm oil).

We have to reduce the usage of petrol not reduce the price. Mean time we save our environment too.

Just my cents.

• kevin62 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 3:27 pm

My idea will be, sell the actual fuel price for foreign car. Or the other way, limit them for certain quantity.

Those who paid tax only allowed to get fuel subsidy..

Just my 2 cents..

• 2fast (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:19 pm

Found a link to compare petrol prices around the world.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gasoline_usage_and_pricing

Try to compare ours with other oil producing countries.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:33 pm

So if I live close to singapore or thailand, I can drive a locally registered Pajero with a 100L tank and fill up, then siphon it out and resell..
    Even simpler,
    If I were to fill a 250L drum with petrol, just who is going to stop me??

No way this is ever going to discourage anyone from making a quick buck. Its jsut going to end up what happend to the fishermen with diesel. Bone heads …they never learn.

Take away subsidies, and the problem goes away…remove all duties and road taxation.

As per giving subsidies based on CC, thats government thinking for you. You already get taxed higher for larger CC cars….why? you going to abolish road taxation based on CCs as well?

topgunthang got it right, what will this leave us with, 600cc Wajas?

Well to do people can change vehicles to match whatever new rules the governemnt comes up with. Its the middle income earners like most of us that are stuck with our cars.

My “big” 1.8 Satria burns less petrol than the excuse of a car called the Wira 1.5auto or my brothers 1.3 Satria. In fact our Accord 2.0, burns even less than my 1.8 Satria.

Newer cars/engines are more efficient. Take taxes off cars, and everyone will be driving more efficient cars, saving the everyone and the country money.

• charles27 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 4:53 pm

1. big CC, no subsidise wont work.
    I am getting a new honda 3.5, i just change the sticker to 2.0 and enjoy the cheap rate :P … the C220 will put the sticker to be C200 .. and so ON.
    Solution> special pump for mercedes, bmw, ferrari, aostin, etc. As we have special pump for bike now. no sub for you ya. Haha… kancil lane ONLY :)

2. to prevent 10k forigner to use out RM3, we have to implement 100millions card system? that is not good idea too. As i speak, some datuk really goin rich soon from this card system. :P

3. Its really simple, do the 50km rules thing. This is the best. The radious would have very little station compare country wide. Easy to monitor. Station is based on ‘franshise’ like, the shell wont let its station simply break this rule. They have to ensure their station do as new rule as well.

4. for foreign car, enter malaysia will 3/4 tank petrol. This is PLAN B. Beside teh 50km thing.

5. After 3&4 above done, time to revise the tax for vehicle. And you can manage by CC. Actually my new car 3.5 is already taxed 4.5k per year, and that goes to Gov at the end. Well, it make sense thought.

6. finally, hope to see import tax revised too. thats what causing our ashe to pain everytime getting a new car.

• charles27 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 5:00 pm

haha.. foreign car or bike entering malaysia… bayar entrance fee.. RM50 , RM25. DONE!

• SY0H (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 5:15 pm

Hi,

I was hoping the big “G” to commence the MyKad system after in-depth study. But they did mention that the banning is a temporary move (not a good one though). But in common sense, it means we’re actually forcing the so-called “tourist” to buy fuel at their own country before journeying into Malaysia, that’s quite a good move if you ask me. This move was made because we can’t simply let foreigners from neighbouring countries with modified extra-huge tank gulping our subsidized fuel. Trust me, most of this people only come to our border to buy fuel and go back to their hometown just across the border on a daily basis. This are at least very true at the Sarawak-Kalimantan (Tebedu) border and Malaysia-Thailand border.

Some brilliant guy in here (possible mad foreigners or a very rich CEO) told us to remove the oil subsidy altogether, that’s the all reasons why big “G” big defeat in the last 11th election. Keep on increasing fuel price. Fuel price is a very sensitive issue for all Malaysians. Only rich people can afford to say those daring words “Remove the oil subsidy”. How about low-income people and middle-income people? Too ignorant to think of them? I say we carry on with MyKad verification system first. Which are the fastest and cheapest way to implement fuel control. We have discussed “Fuel Subsidy Control” in at least 3 threads before at;
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/26/nor-revised-fuel-subsidy-to-be-decided-soon/.
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/21/epetrol-possible-fuel-subsidy-control-mechanism/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/11/subsidised-petrol-soon-only-for-verified-malaysians/

So please go through there first before starting to blind-bash possible good ideas like madman. As usual our mini-parliament come out with their very own “brialiant” ideas. Keep it up boys and girls!

• SY0H (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 5:24 pm

Hi,

I was hoping the big “G” to commence the MyKad system after in-depth study. But they did mention that this particular banning is a temporary move (not a good one though). But in common sense, it means we’re actually forcing the so-called “tourist” to buy fuel at their own country before journeying into Malaysia, that’s quite a good move if you ask me. This move was made because we can’t simply let foreigners from neighbouring countries with modified extra-huge tank gulping our subsidized fuel. Trust me, most of this people only come to our border to buy fuel and go back to their hometown just across the border on a daily basis. This is at least very true at the Sarawak-Kalimantan (Tebedu) border and Malaysia-Thailand border.

Some brilliant guy in here (possible mad foreigners or a very rich CEO) told us to remove the oil subsidy altogether, that’s the all reasons why big “G” big defeat in the last 11th election. Keep on increasing fuel price. Fuel price is a very sensitive issue for all Malaysians. Only rich people can afford to say those daring words “Remove the oil subsidy”. How about low-income people and middle-income people? Too ignorant to think of them? I say we carry on with MyKad verification system first. Which is the fastest and cheapest way to implement fuel control. We have discussed “Fuel Subsidy Control” in at least 3 threads before at;

http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/26/nor-revised-fuel-subsidy-to-be-decided-soon/.
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/21/epetrol-possible-fuel-subsidy-control-mechanism/
    http://paultan.org/archives/2008/05/11/subsidised-petrol-soon-only-for-verified-malaysians/

So please go through there first before starting to blind-bash possible good ideas like a madman. As usual our mini-parliament comes out with their very own “brilliant” ideas. Keep it up boys and girls!

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 6:33 pm

Unfair as some middle income group drives Singapore cars to work. While the rich malaysians driving BIG engine cars are allowed to use the subsidiesed petrol.

Bet next election will go to oppositions! Remember G, they voted for you to. Not all working in Singapore are rich. If they are, they will stay over in Singapore and not Johor!

Dumb G!

• lchan (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 6:45 pm

RM250,000 or 3 years jail? The only real ones who are cheering and laughing till the cows come home are the inspectors in charge of policing this policy. Time for them to renovate house!.

• chap_de_x (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 7:26 pm

hahaha another politic speculation crap for the day…so boring…dont subsidize anymore??? clear out all taxation and duties???….that is brilliant idea from someone that always want to use so call branded car at cheap price…very selfish crap…dun think about low income people eh…how about motorist…filling up petrol per day is more then the road tax they pay per year??…it will burden them…plzz think about them…the idea for cheap car is only good for you not for me at least…for this so called tourist….good luck to you to find another way to abuse our subsidy….50km is far enuf to make this so call tourist to think twice to travel 100 km just to get cheap petrol at our country…guys…abuse will always happen no matter what we do but the important thing is how we control/minimize them…g luck shahrir…its time to work….no more politics…wait for another 4 year then start talk about politics again

• gey2718 (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 8:37 pm

stupid G
    yes i’m driving singapore car and i’m genuine MALAYSIAN holding the useless MY CARD
    u think i’m rich? drive Singapore Car?
    i got no opportunity in malaysia, offer me rm1800 to work in malaysia, can not even afford a kancil
    then Singapore spare me a decent job of S$2500, and i need a CAR for that job, i struggle to buy a car but still better than the rm1800 offer in jb
    hey i still stay in jb and i bring back $$ to jb everyday, why i cannot buy cheap petrol here?
    ban foreign car from buying fuel?
    then u think low-middle income like me will be happy? NO NO
    last time was so ambitious to implement the so called MULTI FUNCTIONAL MY CARD? then now use for show
    just call a straight line of BAN all then affect poor ppl like me.
    use MY CARD to justify who gets subsidise if not just remove for all people! FAIR

• mystvearn (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 9:12 pm

All this while, we have thais and sg people fill in at our pumps. We have to make a rule at customs immigration point where -if you leave the country, your fuel tank must be at most 1/4 full. Not more than that. Like sg say their cars leaving their country need to have at least 1/2 full tank.

• irwinsim (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 10:53 pm

mystvearn… what a good point… for your information S’pore car need 3/4 tank before leaving their country border…

but Spore gov already force their ppl to fill up 3/4 tank, if m’sia limit their tank to 1/4 tank b4 leave… than mean they must spend 1/2 tank in m’sia before go back… Hahaha…

• ah liew (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:10 pm

I think S’porean are feeling the pinch especially those who travel in & out of JB for work everyday. This includes S’pore PR who drives S’pore car in JB. Thats a big problem too….. which means fellow M’sian who owns a S’pore car or especially bikes … how? headache!

• aliBaPa (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:37 pm

i drive kancil and almost never pump more than RM40.
    so i think the first 40 ringgit must be subsidy.
    or a combination of engine size, national car or not etc….busket policy i mean.

anyway don’t do it on bikes too since they are too small, and i own one too.

• aliBaPa (Member) on May 27, 2008 at 11:39 pm

if no choice, i’ll sell my bike.
    since jb and woodlands custom always jam, i seldom drive to spore oredi.
    park sgpore registered bike at jb.

• davidcks (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:14 am

Hi, Im a S’porean, and understand that M’sian gov have to do something, but then every SG car that leaves SG is already atleast 3/4 tank full. Pump also cannot pump alot.

Then again, not every S’porean goes to JB just for the petrol only. Not sure what will happen to the businesses in JB.

I think those coming from the thai border are more solid, come into MY with empty tanks and top up full. (saw on local TV news)

• Roti Naan (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:32 am

Singaporean not only come in with car to pump petrol in jb.

The oso makan until full in the stomach. Since harga tepung skyrocketed, can we ask the Govt. to make sure before Singaporean come in to JB, they must have half full stomach oso?? hehehehe

• cetait (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:35 am

Haha I bet those number plate makers in the border areas must be doing good business lately. 5 minutes making a Malaysian style number plate and anyone can buy petrol again.

And good point Ichan! Can add extra room already lah!

syoh, get a grip. why keep mocking the intelligence of other posters? after all, they’re not the ones living in a paranoid world full of super modified monster fuel tanks and foreigners and CEOs infiltrating malaysian blogs. lol

• Archer (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:56 am

Excellent move by the government but I’m afraid needs more thought into how control can be put in place. Not only Malaysians who own foreign registered vehicles will have issues but when the MyKad method is used for purchase of ePetrol for example, how does Malaysians who are married to foreign wives will deal with wife filling up gas when she has no MyKad? Tricky huh?

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 8:16 am

Those that pooh pooh the idea of removing subsidies….

You seriously think with this implementation they will not eventually remove subsidies? Dream on. Seriously, if the government has done any study on this, they will at least have a figure how much the foreigners are exploiting these subsidies. What no figures? no idea what this is costing us?

Besides, I view this as a get rich scheme for some one that is going to do the MyKad thing.

It looks to me the cost of the “fix” will be more than the cost of the problem. And then, after all is said and done, it wont work and excuses abound. This is not the first time this has happened. Do you really think this is in any way enforceable?

Lets face it, the country has been bankrupted by the government in the past 20 odd years. They can’t afford to give subsidies anymore. Since everything leading to the government is so secretive, do you really know the financial and economical health of the country? They can’t even get the CPI numbers correct for crying out loud.

• wookie00 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 12:22 pm

you can never imagine how desperate a Singaporean with their big cars can be… they would rather drive the 50KM and fill up their petrol tanks and make it back. I heard alot of them have their petrol meters altered so they can’t get caught exiting out of singapore as they need to adhere to the 3/4 tank full rule.
    These little nation never like to lose.. i think 100KM radius should keep them away.. hahaha

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 1:06 pm

I dont think that Singapore registered cars will use alot of Malaysia’s subsidised petrol. As pointed out all Singapore cars need to be 3/4 tankfull before exiting Singapore.

The main problems are the ones coming from the Thai border. Are the Thais required to fill up to 3/4 tank before coming over to Malaysia.

Futher more most of them uses 4WD due to their terrain. I think theese gulp more fuel than passenger cars.

• topgunthang (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 3:41 pm

scrapping the car tax will help anyone who buys a car….proton or not. not just for rich people who are indirectly related to the government itself one way or the other. tax or not they are still taking from the poor in middle class to pay for thier taxed high priced vehicles. you deny them buying expensive cars in mlaysia it would only make them buy more expensive mansions or private jets in other countries. by denying them this lucrative tax the government will need to save cost and not award so many dodgy contracts like MyKad or epetrol, JB port to compete with singapore(i.e no chance) or some shit to some useless contractor who just sells off the contract(keeps most of the money) to mini contractors to do a half done job that runs out of funds anyway. scrap the fuel subsidy and no need to accuse foreigners of stealing. after all we are big on tourism or something.

once you are playing in a level field in terms of car market….proton needs to do its job and keep toyota and honda in check. exactly what its suppose to do rather than cause trouble for our own citizens and reporting rubbish reports how successful it is overseas when its not. in terms of petrol there is petronas which is suppose to do its job as well but its more like the russian, south american and african types that hogs the countries natural resources.
    even without government intervention, car prices would need to compete to bring each other to the cheapest price for the market anyway.

rich foreigner or CEO will be too busy enjoying a holiday in some exotic island.

• ckcheong (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 8:09 pm

First of all, I am not rich for saying the below comment, I only drive a proton iswara AB.

The idea of setting the fuel pricing so that certain group enjoy subsidy and certain group does not is already a type of discrimination. As long as they are Malaysian, they should be treated equally.

Rich people or poor people should enjoy the same treatment la. Which clause in the Constitution that allows different treatment based on rich or poor?

There are many other ways that the Government can do to treat everyone equally.

Just my opinion.

• ah liew (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 10:02 pm

This will create shady businesses….

I have a friend who use to earn pocket money from selling oil to s’porean by almost emptying his bike fuel tank using the handheld pump.

I think Johorian who struggle to work in S’pore will start transfering oil from their M’sia registered car to their S’pore registered car or bike. hee! hee!

Just my 2 cent…..

• gey2718 (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 10:13 pm

i agree with ah liew, the scheme not perfect, further more encourage illegal activities.
    malaysian forever not being treated equally, SAD

and those supportive don’t be childish, u think if subsidised remove for foreigners will benefit us? NO, save more and pocketted by those big CROCODILE, end up poor become poorer, and CROCODILE eventually become GIANT CROC!

• csv (Member) on May 28, 2008 at 10:53 pm

ouch, foreigners probably cursing the government right now.

but there’s still loopholes in the system, wonder what they will do about it to fix it.

i still think removing taxes and lower prices of cars over a period of time will help better, no subsidy to take care of, and no one complaining about misuse.

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:20 am

A better solution is to eliminate the subsidies all together at petrol stations. Every year we submit our tax return, henceforth submit our bills for the fuel we purchased for that year and get the rebate from the government there. Everytime we filled our car, ask for a receipt and keep it for the tax return. This also a good way to catch any people who didn’t submit their tax return because for you to enjoy the subsidiaries, you must make a tax return. :) Killing two bird with one stone.

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:47 am

one more thought to ponder… by removing the subsidiaries, we will be more prudent in spending our hard-earned money on fuel. Neither rich or poor will spent excessively on fuel. If you rich enough, you wouldn’t be bothered by the price anyway. But for the rest of us, maybe it’s time to rethink about our priorities in regard to spending it on fuel. Thus it also help the environment as well with less vehicle on the road and less pollution. There is no need to cry about being victimized here because if you planned your journey and be light footed on the gas pedal, you might saved a lot during travels. Another benefits are there is less Mat Rempit/Minah Rempit out there because to race, they need to fill up but since the price is high, maybe they will give it up all together. Who knows, there maybe more hidden benefits with removing the subsidiaries all together. Don’t take the negatives parts but all look at the positives sides of things. :)

• Jeffrey1977 (Member) on May 30, 2008 at 9:28 pm

My opinion is scrap the subs and use the money to aid the food supply and electric bill.

Most of the lower and middle income may not be driving at all. Food and utility prices is the main concern.