Paul Tan's Automotive Industry News

Proton increases 2008 Thai sales target

Proton logoAccording to BKK Autos, Proton and its Thai distributor Phranakorn Auto Sales Co. Ltd has raised its Thai sales target for 2008 from 2,000 units to 5,000 units, based on a surprising Q1 2008 total sales of 1,500 units.

The majority of Proton sales in Thailand comprise of the Proton Savvy, which accounts for half of total sales while the GEN2 and Satria Neo take up 30% and 20% respectively. The Savvy is popular because of its fuel efficiency. Congratulations to Proton for outdoing your initial sales figures. We’re all waiting to see how much higher you can go.

On a side note, I wonder how the Naza Forza is doing in Thailand.

9 Comments »

1. azrai said,

June 16, 2008 @ 7:27 am

At least one good news. I heard Forza doing better, as they are increasing their output at kulim plant now. More money coming into our country. Tah’s good.

2. BW said,

June 16, 2008 @ 10:18 am

I’m waiting to see proton entering American market..

3. intermilan said,

June 16, 2008 @ 3:32 pm

look like the Thais are very ‘celik’ when it comes to the advantages of Savvy, unlike many of us here who almost hate it even till now. Pity.. coz..

Savvy impressive FC @ 12~13sen/km @ fuel price of rm1.92/L is almost unbeatable. its even better when considering the service interval of 10,000km and etc etc…

this car is the most fuel efficient car (with auto tranny) within Proton offerings, minus the new Saga that i don’t know its FC figure but given the fact that it uses the Campro engine, FC could be high, very high.

Malaysian, unfortunately might use their head less when evaluating this car when it came out to the market a few years back. too many critics and displeasure werevoice out against its looks and origin of engine & tranny. of course, that time fuel is ‘cheap’.. and myvi is king.

But now, sale of Savvy in Malaysia should pick up (in term of percentage within proton total sale at least). If its not then… we are still probably blind.

As a comparison, example of the nearest auto car with comparable FC figure that i know of are:
    1. vios 1.5 (13~16~17sen/km),
    2. myvi 1.3 (14~17~21sen/km) - see the huge range - not a good indication.
    3. naza 206 bestari 1.4 (12~13~15~18sen/km)

Perodua Kancil is excluded as its belong in its own league. This dont mean its have lower FC. its just that the engine cc is too low to compare it fairly against Savvy and the rest.

4. hypermount said,

June 16, 2008 @ 4:46 pm

Savvy owners in

Thailand
    http://www.protonclub.net/forum/index.php?showforum=10

Taiwan
    http://www.pncl.com.tw/index.php/component…id,2/board,26.0

5. mokkf82 said,

June 16, 2008 @ 5:50 pm

Good la, Savvy is a not bad car after all. They look tough
    Just that we are eyeing on others. And u are right Intermilan, most ppl would probably look at Myvi more than Savvy. Cause i’m that guy too. Sorry to say with that price range & fuel price is still considerable, sure ppl would chosse Myvi more than Savvy.
    Not until the fuel price hike, ppl would start to change their decision.
    I think if Paul willing to make one article showing the most fuel saving vehicle, i’ll bet most of the M’sian would go for the Savvy.

6. torishimeyakuin said,

June 16, 2008 @ 6:22 pm

BW said,
    June 16, 2008 @ 10:18 am
    I’m waiting to see proton entering American market..

Oh yeah, i’m waiting for Proton to enter Japanese, German and Italian market too.
    Anyway congratulations to Proton for surpassing their initial target sales in Thai. Or was it because they set it too low?

7. hazremi said,

June 17, 2008 @ 12:29 am

congrats proton..keep up the good job…
    certainly you are classier than other manufacturers that only copy and paste other car with their badge…

Give us the PROTON MPV YEAHH!!!

8. biggie said,

June 17, 2008 @ 1:45 pm

take note Savvy is the chepest car in Thailand now, however it is about RM3.5K more then in M’sia.

9. intermilan said,

June 17, 2008 @ 5:22 pm

Q1 sales for Savvy is approx. 750 units.

averaging 250 units / month….. 11.36 units per working day (22 days).

for the cheapest car in Thailand… with good FC… that’s a very miserable figure.

imagine kancil 660 got that sales figure when it first got out years ago.. perodua could kill themselves over n over.

Looks like the Thais also not that ‘celik’ after all.

perhaps the shine n glitter of toyota-honda badge have pukau them all… too.

previous post: China’s Miss Car Saleswoman 2008 Winner
next post: Initial details for Audi A7 four-door coupe revealed!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Don't have an account?

If you do not have an account on paultan.org, please click here to register. Note that first time commenters will have to be approved before your comment appears.

Please do not submit your comment twice, the system has accepted your comment, it just needs to be moderated first. Once your first comment is approved, all subsequent comments will show automatically.

What are you waiting for? Register now!