New Mitsubishi Pajero Sport based on Triton platform

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

Mitsubishi Motors will be unveiling the new Mitsubishi Pajero Sport (Montero Sports in South America, Nativa in Latin America and Challenger in Australia) at the 2008 Moscow Auto Salon 2008. This is not a replacement for the 4th generation Pajero introduced end-2006, but a separate model designed for certain markets such as Russia, the ASEAN area and the regions with alternate names mentioned above.

You may notice a huge similiarity with the Mitsubishi Triton at the front. This is because this new Pajero Sport is pretty much construction the same way the Toyota Fortuner is derived from the Toyota Hilux and the Ford Everest is derived from the Ford Ranger. It sits on the same ladder frame truck chassis (as opposed to the Pajero’s monocoque) and can be configured with either 2 row (5 seater) or 3 row (7 seater) configurations.

Engine options include a 2.5 litre turbodiesel, a 3.2 litre turbodiesel or a 3.5 litre V6 petrol engine. Power is transmitted to all four wheels via Mitsubishi’s Super Select 4WD system.

Look after the jump for a rear view photo.

Mitsubishi Pajero Sport

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pausch (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 8:16 pm

Waaa..nice..

• 2 dogs (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 9:25 pm

Wow, looks really good. Add the back cover to the Triton and the price doubles??

• mokkf82 (Member) on Jul 17, 2008 at 10:55 pm

Hey looks like a Tritron at the front and Lancer at the rear…..
    Aiya, no excitement on this car d…..

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 12:47 am

not nice at all, especially with the same sissy-looking front derived from its sister Triton….

• azrai (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 7:01 am

I like the idea. Cheap Pajero. Hope to see Pajero lite on the road sooner than we think. Bring it in Mitsubishi. Light, sweet crude for August delivery dropped $5.31 to settle at $129.29 a barrel on the New York Mercantile Exchange. Prices have fallen nearly $16 in just the past three days. So no worry for the bigger fuel efficient engine.

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 9:07 am

The name Pajero has strong value in Malaysia. So if this car is sold in Malaysia as Pajero Sport, priced similar to Toyota Fortuner and Ford Everest, it will attract buyers.

• mr42 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 9:08 am

Wow…nice!

Want to make it more affordable? Rebadged it to PROTON!

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 11:17 am

The Pajero image is getting “soft” after every launch….What happened to the “machoness” and ruggedness?

I guess ppl are getting lesser macho so cars oso have to follow the recent change…well, that is just me on how I see things around.

• kei9 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 3:09 pm

Macho’er cars means more air-resistance design?
    They wanna keep it flowy.

• Roti Naan (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 4:00 pm

kei9,

macho need not to be more air resistance design. The body form speaks for itself. If machoness is related to more air resistance, then the blue bas kilang will the more macho than hummer

• Paul Tan on Jul 18, 2008 at 4:24 pm

Just to add, the predecessor for this car is the Mitsubishi Challenger you sometimes see on our local roads.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 5:57 pm

we wont get it, we dont even have the present mitsu pajero

• n8cky (Member) on Jul 18, 2008 at 10:46 pm

Why there’s no round buttock?like the Triton?lol
    But this is nice^^
    Way to go Mit..

• Protonzdead2me (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 10:47 am

the new challenger… what took them so long?

• Auto_crat (Member) on Jul 20, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Call it challenger not Pajero. Pajero should have a distinct look than a triton. Well

• apamau77 (Member) on Jul 21, 2008 at 1:34 pm

The appearence looks more aggresive than the old facelift Pajero. A rivalry to Toyota Fortuner and Ford Everest. The rear looks nice. I wonder how much would it cost on the road in RM ? Really hope it’s build for “Off Roaders”..

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 28, 2008 at 9:09 am

Launched in Thailand. Wonder if it will be available in Malaysia.

• 9166 (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 2:07 am

I hope the car will have leather seats and an electronic stability program as standard features.

• It's quite sickening actually….add a roof….2 more seats…call it an SUV and you can double the price….it's the same with Fortuner…..we all should know better than to fall for this kind of marketing gimmick….

• jhuan on Apr 02, 2009 at 6:56 pm

When thinking of this pajero is actually on triton suspension set-up really puts me back. I once sat in triton back seat, and felt quite bumpy when going through hump or rough road surface. So we can imaging how is it feel when sitting in third row in this new pajero sports…

Like the look though…

• jose reynoso on Apr 15, 2009 at 2:44 am

i love it!!!!!!!!!!

• Rahman Mohti on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:59 pm

i like this car

• kochen on Jul 29, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Then in 97, they launched the pajero with wide mud guide(E-V45W), then 2000 come the big, fat, round-giant-turtle like pajero with the fencing like flamingo, yak…!!! now the pajero sport 'slims back' like that of 97. Alas…!!! I begin to like pajero again!!!

• Gavin Tan on Mar 02, 2010 at 8:06 pm

How much will it cost on the road?