Toyota Innova Facelift on test in Indonesia

Toyota Innova Facelift

A facelifted version of the Toyota Innova is due soon in face of “attacks” by other upcoming MPVs such as the Proton MPV. In these times of high fuel prices, UMW Toyota should put a turbodiesel into the Malaysian Toyota Innova. Its Toyota Unser predecessor had a diesel option in Malaysia.

In overseas markets a diesel Innova is available with the 102 PS 2KD-FTV D4-D turbodiesel. Despite diesel fuel being so expensive now since the last fuel hike, it still gives more km per litre compared to petrol engines.

These photos show the facelifted Innova on test in Indonesia. It has minor styling changes as usual on the front and rear. I have put a photo of the current Innova side by side for comparison purposes. You can see a front bumper with a slightly larger grille opening and a new front grille.

Toyota Innova Facelift

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• xenith (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:45 pm

It’s about time. There’s also a Fortuner in trade plates in front of the blue Innova.

• JULIANLEE2 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 5:50 pm

awful car

• mytouch (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:10 pm

Toyota is getting booorrriiinngggg….if they want to get people to buy their car,atleast show some sincerity by upgrading the car engine specifications,not by just blind fold the consumer with boring S,M,L,XL,XXL face lift…

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:15 pm

Its for modern grandmas

• mystvearn (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:19 pm

Our NAP is the problem. Toyota just making the car as cheap as it can so that people are tempted to buy away from national car maker. If not everyone would be driving a wish instead of an avanza

• e-nabilll (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 6:48 pm

abt time…this lump is one UGLY car….terrible taste

• desmodeci (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 7:49 pm

no INNOVAtion at all….

• David9988 (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:49 pm

Toyota does not need face lifts to sell most of it’s cars.
    Thing is most of their models are ugly. But who cares? Its a Toyota.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 8:50 pm

its t badge maaa. change nothing like altis but sure sell one…

• hvannees (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 10:00 pm

yeah.. granny car..

• ys (Member) on Aug 03, 2008 at 11:55 pm

common guys, innova is the only MPV in malaysia which offer true MPV size ( i mean real 7 seater) with affortable price. forget about advanza la, it is just built for short trip, those sit at 3rd row will understand what i mean. anyway, lets hope they will not increase the price by just a few changes here and there.

• mokkf82 (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 12:05 am

looks okay at the front, but the back. Oh Awful!~

• king (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 8:42 am

this van looks like it was designed in the 90’s . now it looks the same like avanza…which is even worse…

i got one word for this car…-FUGLY!!!

• szw (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:18 am

so what’s the point of testing a facelift ?

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:55 am

Why do people buy toyotas. they are always facelifting cars but doing nothing to the engines. look at altis for example, engine still same as old one but people don’t complain, toyota maa, but if proton does that, people will scream their heads of with complains. on top of that, toyota cheat us in south east asia, they give europeans a completely different car which is so much better.

• rsrulz (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:57 am

i can’t wait till proton mpv comes out, will probably be cheaper than this heap of UGLY and the proton will probably look better too.

• king (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 1:18 pm

rsrulz said,
    August 4, 2008 @ 11:55 am

Why do people buy toyotas. they are always facelifting cars but doing nothing to the engines. look at altis for example, engine still same as old one but people don’t complain, toyota maa, but if proton does that, people will scream their heads of with complains. on top of that, toyota cheat us in south east asia, they give europeans a completely different car which is so much better.

___

not only altis lar..but also vios and camry the same old pile of shit

• 2 dogs (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 2:50 pm

All u dudes only have Ferrari, Evo, GTI up your head only.
    Compare apples with apples lah. Paul talking MPV now. I’ve driven both Avanza & Innova & there’re the most value for money MPV in Malaysia. After 4 years, the Avanza don’t even have a squeak. Don’t expect 60K car be like Alphard or Cayenne. Avanza for running around town only lah, not for rally. Innova is great for family holidays. Toyota cars are PRACTICAL, cars people want, not dream. U think the millions of people who buy them are stupid (so u are the smartest)?? Even Proton woke up from their dream & want to follow. Wake up, dudes!

• capeplates (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 3:39 pm

My granny wouldn’t be seen dead in this car!

• juanbeibei (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 5:09 pm

kijang innova they call it there.. i dun know why its sooo popular there.. so sorry to say but i still dont really da design.. its actually small as da third row is crampy.. i would prefer mpv like naza ria although theyre bad in resale value n FC.. naza ria is a complete comform even for long travel full load (7 persons/adults).. innova too can travel in full load 7 persons but the third row is too small for 2 adults.. estima will fit better.. haha^^ back to kijang thingy, they have very big range of variation for KIJANG innova.. ive seen b4 got 2.0E, 2.0G plus 2.4,2.7 and also 2.5 which im not sure they are E, G or V.. haha.. maybe diffeent people from different countires got different taste.. juz like how japanese dont like camry (da JDM model)..

• hareshi (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 10:04 pm

Yeah indeed in design wise…

if only Grand LIVINA was 2.0 liter…cause i see LIVINA will be taking the throne Of this car so soon…for Best family mpv. In terms of 1.8liter its so needed this time around.

• I my (Member) on Aug 04, 2008 at 11:37 pm

btw, can the car makers made rear slide door for MPV???

• DRC (Member) on Aug 05, 2008 at 10:20 pm

2 dogs said,

August 4, 2008 @ 2:50 pm

All u dudes only have Ferrari, Evo, GTI up your head only.
    Compare apples with apples lah. Paul talking MPV now. I’ve driven both Avanza & Innova & there’re the most value for money MPV in Malaysia. After 4 years, the Avanza don’t even have a squeak. Don’t expect 60K car be like Alphard or Cayenne. Avanza for running around town only lah, not for rally. Innova is great for family holidays. Toyota cars are PRACTICAL, cars people want, not dream. U think the millions of people who buy them are stupid (so u are the smartest)?? Even Proton woke up from their dream & want to follow. Wake up, dudes!

———-

Agreed. Chances of getting a new car when problems arise in Day1 or after 2 weeks is less. And I really like their dedication in after-sale service (guess No 1 in Malaysia). And I am happy with my Innova.
    I have a friend in JUSA C post who got his new free car; one Day 1 of delivery, the car’s power window and air-con was rosak one; he must be telling lie!
    And my car’s LOUD cock sound on turning left is still unresolved since week 2 till waranty expired.
    I wish all the best to the P strong supporter, wish them always get a GOOD car at Avanza and Innova’s price. You know what I mean.

• ojlee1 (Member) on Aug 22, 2008 at 12:38 pm

Toyota have started to book the new facelift Innova.
    G spec increase of around RM2k+, while the E spec increase of around RM4k+.
    The E spec will also add in new SRS for driver side.

• Toyota kijang innova, the very common and popular car in indonesia