Suzuki Wagon-R launched in Japan

Suzuki Wagon-R

Suzuki has just unveiled its all-new Suzuki Wagon-R in Japan. It’s essentially the same car and model line-up as the Mazda AZ-Wagon, offering two different styling options, two engines and three choices of gearbox.

The base model is the Suzuki Wagon-R while the more upmarket racy version is the Suzuki Wagon-R Stingray, mirroring Mazda’s AZ-Wagon and AZ-Wagon Custom Style cars. You have the choice of either a 54 PS normally aspirated 660cc engine or a turbocharged 660cc offering 64 PS.

Look after the jump for more photos of the new Suzuki.

PHOTO GALLERY: Suzuki Wagon-R
Click thumbnails to view high resolution photo

[cpg_album:100]

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• jaygan (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 1:46 pm

Nice boxy car.

• freeze (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 2:16 pm

Turbocharged hahaha, my NA Saga is much more powerful and cheaper. Handles better too.

• lchan (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 2:26 pm

hahaha..i know…and its HALF your ngine’s capacity too!..:p

• adil2008 (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 2:30 pm

It’s a nice design car, welldone SUZUKI, but the engine capacity is too small, 1600 and above is the beeter choice, hope SUZUKI Malaysia will bring in this model soon.

• kerelbort (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 3:03 pm

ops.. somebody xerox alphard and accidentally press the reduce size button.

i can only imagine if Malaysian based car maker manufacture such boxy car..

with twin scroll turbo..

• setsuna (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 3:07 pm

Suzuki Wagon-R Stingray really nice, will P2 out something like this, i mean 660cc engine with turbocharged. hehe

• csv (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 3:14 pm

hmm, kei car?

nice center console though. like phone finish.

• ignas (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 3:18 pm

er…is that kenari? ops, sry i tot it was, my bad.

• theanswer (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 3:20 pm

freeze, yes..ur saga is much more powerful.. mira with L2 turbo also got around 60-70bhp..but the car can go 0-100kmh less than 10sec while saga around 13-14sec.

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 3:53 pm

Could this be kenari replacement?
    Looks sooooo cute!

• l3ryan (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 8:05 pm

the next kenari in 3 years time?

• ignas (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 9:56 pm

or the new inspiration for kenari mods for now

• LittleFire85 (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 10:49 pm

Suzuki Kei cars are one of the best seller in Japan. Rumours also said that the total Suzuki Kei cars sales volumn even more than the Toyota Corolla!

If you went to Japan, ppl buy Suzuki Kei cars more then Daihatsu. Even Suzuki have their own (name) Kei car! You can see a lot of animation and also japanese show that show their polise using Suzuki turbo kei cars in the city area.

I own a L5 turbo kancil, even the power is less then you SAGA. But my weight also lighter and compare power:weight ratio i will win ur ass in term of pick-up and also FC. Turbo has been proven to have better FC if you know how to drive it, if not why all the Europeans want to turbocharge their engine especially VW?

• rufus-x (Member) on Sep 29, 2008 at 11:24 pm

why wud u want more power for a boxy wagon?
    wanna go upside down each time entering corners is it?
    if go straight,sure the stock engine can be mod or watever…
    but its surely suicidal for entering corners with such power n boxy body aint it?

n dont tell me after u mod the engine watsoever to drive fast in straight line then when entering corners u gotta brake hard rite…? nonsense….

btw, it is a wagon..not a race car to begin with…unless of course there are morons out there wanna race with it..hahaa~

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 9:39 am

this car is freaking ugly, i thought they had some suzuki splash thingy to replace this horror

• hareshi (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 2:01 pm

How many times better then Kenari!

• dr_carz (Member) on Sep 30, 2008 at 2:18 pm

MY CUTE CAR IF I CAN SAY

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:24 pm

dashboard reminds me of current civic

• proud2BMalaysian (Member) on Oct 05, 2008 at 2:11 am

i don’t get it. 2 different brands, offering the exact same car in the same market. what for?

• hidrogentank (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 11:14 am

the jap box always clicks haha.cute funny things!!!

• kishor dhokale on Jan 25, 2011 at 6:28 pm

When it will come in india? what will price ? r u going compet with nana? what is mileage ?