2009 Honda City to hit Malaysia in mid-December!

New Honda City

Honda Malaysia has officially announced that the new 2009 Honda City will be launched in mid-December 2008! A date has been set for the 18th of December 2008. They are also having pre-launch competition where you’ll be able to win passes to the launch and the latest generation iPod Nano.

For everything you need to know about the new Honda City (except for driving impressions of course… that’s to come later), please check out my related posts below.

2009 Honda City: in-depth details and specifications (must-read!)
2009 Honda City set to hit the European market
2009 Honda City officially unveiled in Thailand
Modified Australian Honda City “Concept”

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• normaluser (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Paul, any indicative pricing at the moment? I hope Honda Malaysia can price it below RM80K. Surely will kill dugong Vios sales.

• madmarzio (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:47 pm

Christmas gift…

Retail price? +8k-10k from current City? Huhu…

• eng. (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:49 pm

I want 1..
    how about the price..

• rohaizad (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 3:49 pm

Well I saw it in the Top Gear (Jeremy Clarkson) tv program last year. Very impressive but unfortunately, I just bought MyVi SE 3 months ago… wahahaha…!

Anyway, MyVi never disappoint me at all.

• droll (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 4:02 pm

either way, I still think it will kill the Vios. have you seen the fit and finish on the new Vios? It’s miles apart from the first generation Vios and it’s going downhill, baby.

even the engine has the same problem – squeaks when you coldstart it, immediately turn on the air conditioner, and shift into a gear. sigh!

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 4:06 pm

RM73,999-RM82,999..or u’ll not sell good.believe me Honda.

• BlackJKX (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 4:38 pm

Price will be above 90k for min spec.2 var will be offered.
    Those buyer are who downgrade from camry/accord or other executive segment.Economic slow down maa.
    Honda dont care about latio,vios.Let it be..we are honda.

• a18 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 4:48 pm

times r bad now….everyone is aware of this. pricing structure is vital for new launch during bad times…just because is a new generation, doesn’t mean that is should be price higher, it should make every new model cheaper, this is the rule of manufacturing.

if base model is RM90k, personally, is expensive. as what other member has comment, RM73k onwards would be a good start.

for RM90k, i would go for a Continental make instead of a Japanese make.

• izamri (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 4:56 pm

So long we have been waiting for a new Honda City ( not just facelift ) and evently this happened.Let’s wait and see this new gems kills Vios…

• nyte_skater (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:00 pm

i heard someone saying its on 18 december.

• BrakeFader (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:06 pm

It is pathetic to expect this to be priced lower than existing City. 73K to 83K else not sell? Look at Vios and Altis which is overpriced and yet recycle the same old engine of previous generation. It still sells, no?

I hope they won’t sell this alongside with existing city and they would treat this as a full replacement.

It can be expected that the new City would put a dent in the sales of the vios however due to current financial situation, both would suffer in lower sales. Atleast, it will bring more numbers to Honda as City sales are quite low this year.

I also end with the same tradition of I’m not working for Honda.

• pirate (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:18 pm

My guesstimate: nothing less than RM84k (?maybe RM84,800) for the base model. Expect the premium-spec ’09 City to cross RM90k mark…perhaps RM93,800? ;)

• xstan (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:30 pm

Yup..agreed . Pathetic to hope its price starts with RM73K. Why not wish it priced at RM50K.

Be realistic..its a blessing if its price maintains from RM79,800 onwards.

Anticipate for its realase.

Even the outgoing City model are better featured & better quality then the current Vios, What more with this new model.

• n8cky (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 5:54 pm

above 90k?Well, as u wish..boom…buy it, then.

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:05 pm

it’s dec 18 i think.

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:06 pm

malaysians will buy anything with the “H” or “T” badge. doesn’t matter if it is good, bad or plain ugly.

• mitlanevo (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:28 pm

malaysians will buy anything with the H or T badge?

hmm, agree with u dude, but those who prefer H got more brain cells, lol

and H owners will much probably wont buy Apple iPhone, coz toy-otak and iphone sama sama overhyped, lol

80-90k is still acceptable, at least it is million times better than every of its closest competitors, especially the toy-otak vios…..

• maibatsu_thunder (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:33 pm

I’d wait for the 124PS, 1.6L Kia Forte

• hvannees (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:35 pm

at mudah.com, a salesman already post about new honda that can be booking right now and the price is 90+++. (donno it true or not) but if the price is 90k, how could it kill vios? bcoz vios the cheapest we can get is around 70k. a lot will go 4 vios lagi.
    yess like u all, I also hope the price is around vios. we wait n see je la…

• qozhx (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 6:42 pm

still fugly… shame to Honda’s designer but hell it’s a Honda… it’s surely sell..

• konchy (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:03 pm

Go OPTIMUS PRIME Go!!!!
    Autobots Roll out!

• alamak (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:09 pm

The factory will have limited output. Would you price the car so low to fight Vios, only to have 9-12 months waiting list and getting the ppl who order it pissed off?

The real trick is to price high enough to make the most profit and at the same time have a waiting list of not more than 6 months.

Why need to fight Vios? – As long as can sell all the car the factory produces, and enough blacklog / waiting list to ensure future sales.

What do u guys think?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:27 pm

i think its bout time honda in malaysia reacted to the vios.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:32 pm

i think honda will not fight with toyota head on.. they have a different audience, and different ideas product wise. they will not sacrifice their products brand and concept by selling cheap to get numbers which is what vios is doing.

• mystvearn (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:36 pm

A lot of people will want it to be delivered in 2009

• ignas (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:37 pm

Vios price ranged from RM69k – RM73k – RM79k – RM85 – RM88k.

Hopefully city is ranges from RM84k – RM89k to remain competitive.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 7:41 pm

Can’t wait to see it

• neverthar (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:35 pm

I’d doubt it’s gonna be competitively priced against Vios since if you read Autocar’s review on the City already launched in SG, it’s priced higher then even the top spec Vios there

• mofo (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 8:39 pm

mystvearn,

In fact HM SA mention there will be no YR2008 manufactured City. All will be @ YR2009.

Pricing, i would still hope its cheaper than dugong.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:04 pm

yea, in sg, it costs10k sing dollar more than vios, that is crazy scary. its in the range of altis already. anyway, just a wishful thinking :)

• shoon1983 (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:06 pm

if above 90k and nearing 100k, i think the new Mazda 3 can become a good alternative to City with the assumption that the new Mazda 3 price is between 100k and 105k for the 1.6L

• erichigc (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:15 pm

Those who are interestd, DUN BOOK first. LET THE MARKET FORCE determines the Pricing.

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:50 pm

The version with manual air conditioning control looks hideous. Even worst than those on Myvi. I wont buy those for price above 80k.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 10:58 pm

but once they launched the price, it will remain there until the next face lift increment. the most they can do is give discount later on, say, maybe 6 months later?

quality wise imo, current city is better than vios. but mazda owns city. from the pictures of the new city, looks okok only.

• Bebelon (Member) on Nov 10, 2008 at 11:00 pm

agree with erichigc, pls dun rush for it. They open for booking because they wan to test the market respond and price it accordingly. if above 100k, i will not wait for it anymore and i will buy mazda3 sedan .

• csv (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:36 am

wah, just in time for christmas ah.

i think base spec will be 85k, top spec 90 plus. close to latio sport.

this thing will kill the vios in fit, finish, and engine. but price wise, not really. you get what you pay for.

• king (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:44 am

Aiya…what are you guys mumbling about?? Obviously this city will be priced higher than the dugong vios. YOu are getting a better deal in every single category.
    Honda (city) and Nissan (Latio) already moved on to a higher level and are not in the same category as dugong vios.

Dugong vios is stagnant….i mean moving backwards to stone age and is now competing with persona and new saga.

Look at the buyer demograph… mostly only ladies ( generally less knowledgeable about cars) buy the ugly stone age dugong vios.

• king (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:51 am

be realistic guys….can new city kill saga sales??

so how can it kill dugong vios sales?

• BlackJKX (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:03 am

James Bond will be driving this new city in his next movie in 2010.
    How is that?

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:05 am

The new city most probably will be priced more than the vios..considering the feature offered base on previous review..the civic paddle shift style on the highest spec is awesome..but 5speed At will have higher FC than its predescor.

• lowprofile (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 8:53 am

maibatsu,

price indication of the forte? what engine size?

• xstan (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:22 am

Though launch in Mid Dec08, it will only start delivering vehicle by early 09. Just launched to see the unit displayed & place booking only.

Though Singapore priced ridiculously higher then the Vios, Honda sales top & position 1st while Toyo placed 2nd in ranking.
    Take note, in Thai, prce is much lower then the Vios despite a slight increase.

No matter how good the City is…as mentioned if its local productivity confine within 1,000 unit p/mth it will never beat Toyota production of 4,000 unit p/mth. Well as usual..toyota Vios fan will state, sales figure wins but overlook that Vios APPEAL to gentle gender such as elderly person, ladies, young boys etc. Those favour Vios would like Myvi vey very much..they think is cute.

Real man get real big boys stuff.

So…an Autobot Tranformer design car or real shapeless & roundish Dugung. U tell me…ur pick.

BTW..who the 1d1iot compere it with Myvi.

• anand (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 10:30 am

1st of all tis dugong vios and even tis new city still luk like wana vomit..both car shape always luk cacat for me..this new city frontlook like the designer alredy out of idea after he designed the civic..and rear part alredy look like from kereta potong.. look so cheap and even waja looks better…no class at all..sure the price will b more than 85k…i feel not worth to buy this ugliest car ever…i feel WAJA CPS stil more worth..

• Wisdom (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:06 am

Know what. A Proton branch manager persuade me of buying Waja CPS and asked me to test drive it back to back with Civic 1.8. Not done yet but he could mean something.

• erichigc (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:22 pm

Proton? Just forget it la..

Others countries all abandoned Proton already, only those whoc cant’ afford high quality car would buy it.

If you afford better car, just forget this crony car manufacturer, not forgetting the “quality” you will get

• Fridz (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:24 pm

I’ve been noticed this new City will priced at >90k..no IDSI version (only i-vtec). everyone know the idsi version has the good FC. so by tagging with 90k, hard to beat vios recently…

i dunno when the fuel price is sinking now, maybe ppl think ‘tak kisah’ about their car FC..

just my 2kupang only

• Automotive_Critics (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:28 pm

Waja CPS is another milestone from proton..even the Campro CPS is good engine..but it is mated with old 4AT (if comparison is the civic 1.85AT) mitsu invecs gearbox..this gearbox fuzzy logic system (downshifting when downhill) cause FC is very bad compare to civic..proton should look outsourcing the advance gearbox (like civic 5AT) to improve FC.

• xstan (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 12:56 pm

Oh gosh..there is still fuglies people here, who envy of cars like City that they call it fugly having not look at the mirror himselves. Hiya..if u think the car have better look then u, dont discrimate. Probably u suit the mini skirt car …Viva, Kanchil…shoo move over.

Anyway, City has Civic profile..side & rear (except its light).

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:05 pm

I like honda but honda city probably lose to vios in its price and strategy management. You can get Vios in 70k nowdays and its maintenance costs is cheaper than City.

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:06 pm

i means maintenance costs is cheaper than vios.

• doraemonkiller (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:06 pm

ops ignore the second reply

• catdeco (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 1:09 pm

i wan 2 get one.
    the next 2years.LOL

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:16 pm

erichigc said,
    November 10, 2008 @ 10:15 pm

Those who are interestd, DUN BOOK first. LET THE MARKET FORCE determines the Pricing.
    ———————————-

its a new car, there are no real market forces acting on the car. the manufacturer decides based on its own surveys and research and then looks at what their target audience is willing to pay for the car, and sets it as such.

honda is well known for not giving discounts and price cuts unlike toyota. this is good news for customers, as it helps maintain better 2nd hand pricing and doesnt de-value the brand.

so even if you didnt book first, the price at launch will remain the same, and based on what honda has always done in the past, the price will only increase in the future.

• 9211 (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 2:50 pm

Exterior looks beautiful & aerodynamic. The interior also ok. But its depend on the price. If more than 90k, I’m sure everybody especially the potential buyer will shy away, the same fate as the New Honda Jazz. Its all about perception, anything beyond that price in that class, they will come to conclusion this car is too expensive and not worth buying despite better quality & performance and the car becomes exclusive, just like Mini Cooper, Toyota Yaris, Honda Jazz etc. Btw I hope the price is cheaper than Vios and hammer the UMWToyota hard because of overpricing (Made in Thailand Camry & Altis but yet still sell here expensive), offering 3rd class car (Avanza, Innova, Fortuner & Rush). Toyota Japan, please look into this, its damaging Toyota reputation here.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:02 pm

definitely better than vios !!!!

• willpower (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:17 pm

9211 said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 2:50 pm

Exterior looks beautiful & aerodynamic. The interior also ok. But its depend on the price. If more than 90k, I’m sure everybody especially the potential buyer will shy away, the same fate as the New Honda Jazz. Its all about perception, anything beyond that price in that class, they will come to conclusion this car is too expensive and not worth buying despite better quality & performance and the car becomes exclusive, just like Mini Cooper, Toyota Yaris, Honda Jazz etc. Btw I hope the price is cheaper than Vios and hammer the UMWToyota hard because of overpricing (Made in Thailand Camry & Altis but yet still sell here expensive), offering 3rd class car (Avanza, Innova, Fortuner & Rush). Toyota Japan, please look into this, its damaging Toyota reputation here.

———————————————————

Definitely agreed. Honda, really dare to dream.
    I’m loving it, my next HC…Honda City
    (fyi, the front outlook is similar to 2009 US Version of new Civic)

• rpm (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 6:27 pm

talked to a honda showroom boss, said the new city will be priced slightly higher than current city vtec.

• erichigc (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 7:18 pm

BanyakMasukWorkshop, agree with your point. That’s the old way of doing things. H is going to suffer if no change is done to its marketing strategy. Malaysia economy going down in few months time. Our country rating was just downgraded yesterday. Definitely there are still “rich” ppl out there.

• erichigc (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 7:19 pm

I missed one point. Unless they hedge against risk of having higher yen value, due to global economy crisis.

• peYno (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 9:49 pm

erichigc said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 12:22 pm

Others countries all abandoned Proton already, only those whoc cant’ afford high quality car would buy it.

If you afford better car, just forget this crony car manufacturer, not forgetting the “quality” you will get

==============
    bro.. dont conn ppl la… other country ppl’ mentality not same like u laaa

• ignas (Member) on Nov 11, 2008 at 11:33 pm

the power of day dreaming…

• sakuragi (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 12:04 am

oh my.. this hideous baboon again. i would put it at the same level as the hideous dugong if not worse. totally overrated. surely will be overpriced like the dugong. its what u get for buying jap cars. prefer european cars.

anyway its just my opinion. you are entitled to yours.

• kh23 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:54 am

Wow!! Now we are talking paying rm90K++ for an entry-level car by Honda. If I have such budget I would expect more, i.e.:
    1. More safety features-airbags…2 airbags is outdated. Even a rm40K+ Perodua/Proton car can offer this. And has been this 2 airbags Honda car for decades!!
    2. Better interior, please! Look at the dashboard..so much plastic and the button is so BIG. Especially the air-cond knobs. I doubt HM will bring-in the digital control version. $$$
    3. Better hifi stereo!! Still 4-speakers…Nowadays most new car come with at least 6-speakers hifi.
    4. For long journey travelling, please give us cruise-control. Even the cheaper Korean made car come with this feature as standard.

Beside the good look and whatever new engine technology, what matter the most for me is when I seat inside and driving the car, what comfort/protection will it offers to me, as I will be spending hours inside it.

We all have a choice. Your decision to buy a certain brand car is your vote that agree on what they are offering to Malaysia users is right. So vote/buy carefully. Your decision will not change things over night but it will sure affect their decision on next model to roll-out and what extra values inside it.

• torque (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:36 pm

Aiyo….

This is mass production cars for the entry level market guys!!! You want it to be cun like what…like RX7 or 350Z meh? Come on lah, most cars manufacturer will not spend hundreds of millions or billions for entry level model. Ini bukan nyer Nissan which spend tons of money on their newest GTR or even Honda with their current project NSX. Apa nie…lame excuse lah. Tak suka sudah, jangan beli. Simple as that. So far, I see it at least better looking compare to the current Vios.

Regarding on the price, don’t expect it to be same level as Vios lah. Even Autocar Asian mag did a Singapore model review on it and it price well over than the Vios over there. Bottom line is, mahal than the Vios pun still people will buy wan…trust me…take a look at their current Accord la, sigh!

• torque (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:37 pm

sakuragi said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 12:04 am

anyway its just my opinion. you are entitled to yours.

That’s fair!

• xstan (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 1:42 pm

Yes price in Singapore is higher then Vios but then in Thai the price for City is lower then Vios.

In reality..be it any car made, if it s a new generation car , it will certainly priced sligthly more then its outgoing model.

If the City basic model priced higher then RM90K..it is certainly overpriced.

• torque (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 6:29 pm

kh23 said,
    November 12, 2008 @ 9:54 am

We all have a choice. Your decision to buy a certain brand car is your vote that agree on what they are offering to Malaysia users is right. So vote/buy carefully. Your decision will not change things over night but it will sure affect their decision on next model to roll-out and what extra values inside it.

I second that!! It’s time WE show them WHO’S actually the BOSS huh!!! I liked what you write man…

• erichigc (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 7:21 pm

peYno said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 9:49 pm

erichigc said,
    November 11, 2008 @ 12:22 pm

==============
    bro.. dont conn ppl la… other country ppl’ mentality not same like u laaa

How sure are you? Are you residing outside of Malaysia? Yes, Indeed I am. I understand the market outside.

• rodimus (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 8:36 pm

To kh23, u know what pal, at M’sia other car maker dun stand a chance 2 offer a better deals 2 the people cos of our NAP policies. I just came back from Macau/Zhuhai, tell u wat the new Altis is just the local taxi only compare 2 here a lot people see this car as a very premium car!! If without the all taxes, and the price range compare 2 our national cars is the same or slightly higher, which will u guys gonna choose? Dun tell me, u all know the answer!!!

• devilman88 (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:05 pm

i must get 1 for my wife!!nice car!!

• aliBaPa (Member) on Nov 12, 2008 at 9:22 pm

I want 70k.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:15 pm

i hope we get climate control, and price it lower than vios

• xstan (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 2:25 pm

This is a BASE LINE MODEL..so no luxurious features like the climate control mode. As seen from the pixs. Do u see any climate control at Vios? very unlikely it will price lower then Vios but can hope. It will be great if they launch 1.3L model & priced lower then Vios.

Again..In Thai, City priced cheaper then Vios. .

• jflee169 (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 3:14 pm

No matter how much the new city is priced in overseas, our g don’t f**king care. All go back to to the NEP. If you like it and within your budget and capability, just buy it or just wait until the NEP is abolished (if you have enough patient).
    Just look at the trend of how honda price their every new model, neither one of it is cheaper than the older model.
    At the end of the day, that’s your money to buy what ever you think it is worth it.

• BladeTech (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 5:33 pm

Malaysian..the booking figure for this new city was 2000 units when i booked for one last month…and now keep escalating..its gonna be a very long waiting list…can wait ah?

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 13, 2008 at 9:00 pm

Honda just put a picture in the website.

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:01 am

what picture and where? takla nampak pun…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:06 am

oh that one photo of launched city which was not in malaysia lol. its in the photo gallary in news and event.

• Hondababy (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 2:23 am

This car will defitenately kill vios, but think properly. For vios is remain the mid category car, and city is increase into 9xk category car. Im personaly feel that if i got such money why i dont spend a lil more to get mazda3,Altis, latio ?u think city can even win 1 ? think properly this is a mini size of the civic and it doesnt worth at this price because the design is outdated and not focus on future design even lose than POTONG CAR. please tell who intrested on this car dont book it first dont fool by honda malaysia. Spend ur cash with your brain but if u want to tell me u have alot of cash can burn it, then go for it brainless buyer.

• kh23 (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:27 am

My point of the fact that if I have rm90k budget to buy a car like City2009, what would I expect to come with it. It is not a dream. Hyundai Matrix comes with Cruise-control. Suzuki SX4 comes with 8-speakers hifi. Peugeot 308CKD due launched in 2009 will come with all these plus more..All these cars is priced at the same price range, i.e. rm85K-95K.. I do not want to bring Vios in, as I personally felt Toyota is even worst then HM in bring in cars with content that does not match the $$$.

We have to live with the reality of high car price with NAP still actively used to deprive us of affordable car. Just imagine in Singapore, Singaporean earned S$ and they pay at least 30% lesser than us in owning a Honda City. Not to mentioned Autralia and US which is only cost them a fraction of their annual salary to own a new Honda Accord. But we have to accept the facts that we are living in this country call Malaysia and car price will be higher with NAP still in place. If can afford the price and need a new car now, then choose wisely based on “Value for Money”.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:10 am

xstan said,

November 13, 2008 @ 2:25 pm

This is a BASE LINE MODEL..so no luxurious features like the climate control mode. As seen from the pixs. Do u see any climate control at Vios? very unlikely it will price lower then Vios but can hope. It will be great if they launch 1.3L model & priced lower then Vios.

Again..In Thai, City priced cheaper then Vios. .
    ——————————————————
    hope we get special…..cos the manual air con controls look terrible, spoilt the aesthetics of the car. in singapore, city is more expensive than vios

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 4:07 pm

in singapore, the price of the city is a joke. it comes from thailand and its fairly and reasonably priced in thailand too. starting from 524k to 694k for city while vios is priced 499k to 699k.

• erichigc (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 7:23 pm

Dear Bro,

NOt just Zuhai and Macau, our fellow countries in Indonesia and Vietnam also using VIos for their tAXIS.

Want a more affordable car pricing, VOTE wisely in NEXT Election lo.

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 9:00 pm

ignas said,

November 14, 2008 @ 4:07 pm

in singapore, the price of the city is a joke. it comes from thailand and its fairly and reasonably priced in thailand too. starting from 524k to 694k for city while vios is priced 499k to 699k.
    ——————————————-
    hope it wont be crazy priced here

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 10:55 pm

ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG said,

yup, me hope so too. it is buatan malaysia. hmm wonder what kind of excuses they would come out with, if its launched with crazy price here…

• ignas (Member) on Nov 14, 2008 at 11:00 pm

—-
    yup, me hope so too. it is buatan malaysia. hmm wonder what kind of excuses they would come out with, if its launched with crazy price here…

(sry, repost cos might cause misunderstanding haha)

• ALPINA Bukard Bovensiepen GMBH + Co. KG (Member) on Nov 15, 2008 at 3:09 pm

ignas said,

November 14, 2008 @ 11:00 pm

—-

(sry, repost cos might cause misunderstanding haha)
    ————————-
    im sure bmw and mercedes are pissed on how the audi a4 cbu can be priced cheaper than thier ckd’s

• corollaaltis (Member) on Nov 17, 2008 at 8:28 pm

Honda had just update the website

• gohhh (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 2:22 pm

SA called up said the prise will be…
    S RM84,800
    V RM88,800

I doubt the prise will change after reading http://paultan.org/archives/2008/07/15/nap-under-review-possible-changes-end-2008/
    as the SA eagerly ask me to take up loan immediately on launching date-18 December

• xstan (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 2:43 pm

Hey..thats not bad. My SE convey that it priceRM87K & RM92 for 2 specs.
    In Singapore..if I could recal its call LS model & LV Model.

• xstan (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 2:47 pm

Adding..The NAP meant for Imported vehicles as well as the electrical home appliances. BTW, City is assembled locally. No effect,

• gohhh (Member) on Nov 24, 2008 at 4:47 pm

Thanks for d infor.
    Any recommended bank that d loan interest rate lower than 3.8% for 7 years?

• jackoz (Member) on Dec 10, 2008 at 9:44 pm

Now the interest rate is about 3.2%. The launch date is confirmed on 18 Dec, for those that dont know.

• fretsurfer (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 12:30 am

Saw a truck ferrying the unmistakable new City on MRR2 just now. Wanted to take pics but phone out of batt. The behind, wheels and nose were covered by white sheets of plastics/paper.

They looked nice, but still subcompact size. They looked bigger in the pictures too. But overall, if I’m in the market for a B-Segment, and wouldn’t mind shelling out around 80-90k RM, this would be the car for me.

• calvinsoul (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 7:42 am

Saw the city with my own eye infront. next week Thursday it will launch price told by salesman is 84k to 94k, as the NHC came to one of the showroom in Klang yesterday. There are two specs: E which is high specs and S which is normal specs. All pricing will be release roughly around Wednesday, but Thursday will be an official date thought out whole Malaysia.

E & S different:
    -No Fog Lamp
    -Smaller Rims. 15″ inch. Design is much less nice compare to 16″ Y shape word around.
    -Rear seat non foldable
    -No side mirror turn indicator
    -Normal audio system
    -No paddle shifting
    -Steering is on can be adjust vertically
    -Lesser comportment for example: Place for you to place your drinks at rear seats.

I may miss out some of the differences

Picture, I did snap it, but it is just the same as those picture that we saw in Thailand, India and Singapore. I think in Malaysia, we are getting the same audio system as Singapore, which have CD player, instead off just having IPOD\ USB connector.

• derricklai (Member) on Dec 14, 2008 at 11:04 am

i am curious…. abt the audio control swicthes on wheel… is it available in malaysia’s Honda City? i already book liao leh…. seems like dont have /.\

• franson_CE (Member) on Dec 15, 2008 at 3:12 am

Below are the different between S spec and E spec (RM5000 Higher)

1. Fog lamps
    2. 16″ rims
    3. side mirror signal indicator
    4. Exhaust pipe finisher
    5. paddle shift
    6. steering wheel audio control
    7. leather steering wheel
    8. leather gear knob
    9. 6 speakers (S spec has 4 speakers)
    10. adjustable rear headrest
    11. rear armrest with cup holder
    12. rear foldable 60:40 seats
    13. rear reclining seats
    14. rear seat under tray (what’s this?)
    15. power retractable door mirror

• hi dear friend,i m looking forward to buy a city this month, according to my research, price is 1.5s-84,980 OTR and E-RM89,980 ,max discount i get is RM1,200 cash rebate,if i able to buy in group of 3.who want to join me in order to bargain for a better price?now we already got 2 ready buyer and wait for another person to join my group.any better offer from ur dealer?i hope i can get better deal;)please share with me at [email protected] or sms me at 012-9512911.thx!