Proton MPV video snapped in a traffic jam along Jalan Hang Tuah in KL

Proton MPV Brake Disc

Reader Nazril snapped these two videos of the Proton MPV stuck in a jam along Jalan Hang Tuah in Kuala Lumpur. That place has been continuously jammed for a long time now, making trips to Low Yat to get a dose of gadgety goodness frustrating to say the least. Anyway a prototype vehicle stuck in a jam is a golden opportunity to get snapshots of the interior, and I’m sure many motorcyclists who rode past the MPV have already seen the interior, but as our friend here was driving a car himself, it wasn’t quite possible to grab an image of the interior.

But anyhow, these are nearly as good as watching the MPV inch along in traffic in front of your very own eyes as the camera phone lense is pointed right at the MPV for quite some time – we’ve got over 2 minutes of video. We also get to see the size of the front brake disc which is larger than usual (it fills up nearly all the space right to the edge of the wheel) for a Proton, naturally because of the higher amount of weight it has to stop in comparison to other Proton cars.

The latest news is that the Proton MPV’s launch has been postposed to April 2009, so it’s another 3+ more months worth of waiting and we’ll be able to check this baby out in the showrooms! Thanks to Nazril for these shots!

Video: Proton MPV stuck on Jalan Hang Tuah #1

Video: Proton MPV stuck on Jalan Hang Tuah #2

Proton MPV exclusive initial details revealed!
SPYSHOT: 2009 Proton MPV sheds some of its disguise
Proton MPV design registered with UK patent office
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV next to a Nissan Grand Livina
SPYSHOT: Proton MPV on the road
VIDEO: Not one, but TWO Proton MPVs on the PLUS highway
VIDEO: 2009 Proton MPV on the MRR2

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:47 am

looks really large on the road, with all the other cars closeby for comparison.

• farghmee (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:01 am

could some1 give comment regarding the video, plz?
    i don’t have the access to the videos :(

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:48 am

really ugly

• sagaKNIGHT (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:55 am

farghmee said,

January 16, 2009 @ 10:01 am

could some1 give comment regarding the video, plz?
    i don’t have the access to the videos

————————————

me too!
    :(

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:12 am

hah..i juz can view the 2nd video..hmmm..quit large too,need a big heart to move this new baby..please,don’t use the 1.6 campro..

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:15 am

oh the shaky hands… makes my head ‘pening’, nothing much we don’t already know about the MPV.

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:23 am

the size just right…

aiyah.. but no interior shot again..
    maybe some1 those in lorry can get a spyshot.. :D
    since the car are lower than mpv. heh!

• stroller (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:50 am

omg… looks big enuf for mid-size family… can some1 help me here i cant watched the clip… however, gud postion u have there nazril. the best close up shot ever had here. lucky i’m not around… coz i will got of the car juz purposely to get the interior shot… hehehe…

• stroller (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

to p1 test driver, if u read this blog, plz come down to gombak area… so i cant take a shot….

• xstan (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 11:52 am

I wan interior shot…though I dont fancy MPV, I look forward for its launched. So also P2 MPV version.

• dzulx (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 12:49 pm

hopefully this MPV will impress me. Especially the interior quality and the goodies…

But certainly I will not buy it unless it has bigger/powerful power train.
    But who knows….

wahhh… proton is surely a dynamic company recently. Almost every week they have something..

Interesting isnt it? Just imagine what is the result of having lotus input in inherently bad handling MPV.

Make us proud.. make sure this MPV’s platform will be used by car companies around the world or at least by mitsu

• f1 (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 2:52 pm

Just viewed d v clip which is nothing that we havent seen b4 xcept in a closer view of d car, but anyway i’m impressed by our reader nazril who can hv 1 eye on d front & 1 eye on d camera. As 4 d car i hv good feeling that its gonna b roomy spacious but bad feeling it’ll be under power.

The car looks heavy though or maybe its d wheel bit small 4 d arch but hopefully d price would be rite coz thats what all buyer really desperate to know.

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 2:58 pm

Bulky~Naza Ria,Toyota Ipsum kinda Chassy..Hopefully the Engine size is compatible.

• madimat (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 3:08 pm

WE the consumers will never satisfy with Proton in any way … they make it big (MPV) the we say its TOO BIGGG and will drink your RM100 worth of fuel in no time. When they make it small we again say chit! so very small aaah..even my cat cannot sit inside ?..

Well, why we just leave the matter of design / functions / fuel efficiencies / comfort / safety / colors / tyre size / whether it can fit in your in laws and your school teachers in one trip / etc etc to the experts itself, which are the Proton engineers, designers and planners while we just go to sleep at night as usual and wait for the official launch date.

Not need lots of speculations as a few speculations will make onto more and more speculations.

.peace!

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 3:29 pm

Sokong Madimat!…..just sit back and relax…i know many people are anticipating it, but if if u r too anxious about it, then everyday will be a painfull wait. If u dont think much about it, then days and months will fly by be4 even u notice it….and stop speculating….because speculations will turn into rumours and people will beleive its true….and on the launch day, if it is not as speculated, then there will be dissapointment. so, guys dont worry, let it be a suprise for everybody!!!

Cheers!

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 4:35 pm

Can’t view the 1st vid only the 2nd 1. Seems like big enough for 7 adults. Thanks Nazril for the shot. Still wait and relax for the launching day. Make sure that the Q is better and better. Hopefully I can be there…

• ignas (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:01 pm

a new tank in town!

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Sex is …. said,
    January 16, 2009 @ 3:34 pm
    …cos my brain is in my underwear.

Now I know why you so stewpid.

• kingglim (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:33 pm

It is huge… makes the Kelisa behind it looks like tikus!! It better have a big powerful engine also to drive it… 1.6L Campro no way has enough muscle for it.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 7:50 pm

it already looks like a disaster, proton juara part 2

• stroller (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

overall view, my personal jugdement this baby is wat i’m waiting for.. wat ever the bashers say it bulky, thirsty, heavy, ugly, slowly…. i bet others m’siaan especially mid-range family like me, this baby can win their heart. only time will tell when p1 will ready to let this go on the rock… though it kind a tired hv to wait this baby until April… but tis will worth for to hv m’sian mid-size family… again… like me…

• fastcx (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 8:40 pm

dont judge campro cps isnt good enough to pull this baby yet, with correct gear ratio, cps is good enough to pull this baby in gear 1,2, n 3, while 4 n 5 for cruising on highway at better fuel consumption. just my speculation. pls test drive b4 comment. gear ratio can make a lots of difference

• alan6113 (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:00 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 16, 2009 @ 10:48 am

really ugly

…………………………………………………………………………………………..
    this guy really happy and enjoyfull when someone say him stupid(include me)

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:26 pm

Did i saw rear drum brake on clip #1?

Not good.

• baldwin (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

thanks for the vid Nazril… =)

• hazxkh (Member) on Jan 16, 2009 at 10:12 pm

what daa……. SPACE……Look like innova + Kenari + nissan MPV baru (tah hape name dia) ……….. rasa chassis is more weight like naza ria …..2000cc or 2400cc

• mct (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 12:44 am

hm?wonder why drum brake is present in this car !!
    maybe because it used torsion beam instead of multilink ??

• lmst (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 8:59 am

rear drum = low cost model… proton always think about people that want car/ mpv but not really mampu..that why proton always built low cost model….

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 9:25 am

Wisdom,

Yea, n I thought I’m the 1st to notice it. I just hope it’s for B-line or M-line version oni….. Hopefully, H-line will come with rear disc.

• 9166 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 9:35 am

I hope airbags, ABS and EBD will come standard with all MPV. Expected to be at least a 2 tonne loaded, without the safety features, it will be a coffin on wheels.

• ignas (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 10:12 am

before without knowing the specs, details and design, ppl already started to praise proton with high hope for its new mpv. the only reason that this tank will appease to many malaysian its because of its CHEAP price tag. with the lousy equipments they offer, its a huge ripoff as they always taken us for granted. what can we do?

again government will take this opportunity to rob citizens and force them to pay even more for soon to be increased price tag foreign mpv.

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 12:17 pm

Rear drums are not mandatory. Of course its good to have discs at the back but for a vehicle like this, i suppose drums will do.

It could be nice, but i’m not convinced about the 1.6L campro. Wonder if they would retune the 1.6 campro for more low end torque and less peaky.

Interesting to see how Proton would price this. Perfect sweet spot at 70, any more and it will have trouble. I would think the Rondo and/or Old Citra might be strong competition for it to keep its price not more than in the mid 70s range.

Unlike Proton’s sedans (ie. Persona/Gen2 competitors are @20-30k more), this MPV will be thrown into the thick of things with many similar priced competitors.

• OpenMind (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 12:39 pm

I am not a proton support at all.

I am the diehard supporter of full diskbrake. But, the comment that proton try to cheat people by offering the drum brake is joke of the year. When they offers Waja many years ago, it already comes with 4 disk brakes. Let’s look at the current market then.

This car doesn’t come with it and should i be dissappointed….not really this time, because, sylphy (>100k), Vios (E), old City, Avanza, Innova, livina, latio, sentra….all of these cost more than this MPV and ONLY equipped with a REAR DRUM Brake. And we are talking about 2009 ……

So, please be realistic when making such comment. What is your explanation that a Waja was equipped with 4 disk brake since the very beginning. I believe this is about positioning by putting certain model with full disk brake wihle some model without.

Overall, I am sad about the car industry in malaysia. its so easy to distinguish and by just offering a lit bit “so-called standard” features, people already so happy…..

• snack (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 1:04 pm

Hope to see 2 variants at launch 1.6 + 2.0 !!!
    That would be ideal .( Campro + Mitsu)
    Similar to the Nissan Gr Livinia.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 1:28 pm

should we install rear disc brake that cost more if the drum already fulfill the needs for rear braking (after engineering analysis, with the safety factor of 10 maybe, plus weight reduction purpose)?

or should we install rear disc brake just to mention to other ppl it looks great with it?

• devilman88 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 2:30 pm

hoho….not bad….i think the car body like NISSAN LIVINA,now have to c the price only,proton mpv also 5 nuts on wheel….if price below 70k,then can consider….

• Nazril (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 2:46 pm

Free sneak preview advert for Proton – having this mule wondering around in the centre of KL. I was thinking twice to shoot the video at first since there was passenger next to the driver and he was like staring at me most of the time.. Haha.

But this mpv is really huge u see. Good comfortable space for 7 ppl. Hopefully the speculated 1.6L tuned CamPro engine will do the trick. Hope it doesnt end up like Naza Ria – fuel consumption wise.

• Prem3377 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 3:10 pm

drum brakes has better stopping power compared to disc brakes.thats the fact.

but over a period of time say in a traffic jam situation disc brakes offer better performance.

why?because drum brakes has problem cooling faster.

but since most modern cars are front wheel drive having a disc brake at the rear is not as important as having one on the front!

and brake pressure are set for forward biased so rear drum brake has very little to do and most of the time serve as a parking brake only.

and its cheaper than disc brake..so in this competitive enviroment,drum brakes has to be the better choice because end of the day the cost will be transfered to the consumer.

i am not telling disc brakes are useless at the rear but its merely sales gimmick unless you buy a performance car or sports sedan and etc because of unsprung mass of the suspension and etc but mpvs are not meant to be driven in a sporty manner so its not really important.

• KuchingMali (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 3:27 pm

Looks bulky like a Toyota Innova. Wonder what engine is Proton using for this hippo.

• yippi33 (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 5:20 pm

some dangerous driving you got there nazril..haha..the engine looks good enuff to power this MPV..if you want more power..get a sports car…guess theyre calculating the FC for this MPV (city driving + highways)..hope to get good figures..goodluck proton!!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 11:15 pm

soon got people modify this to mitshubishi

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 17, 2009 at 11:42 pm

As expected. My comment got u guy’s attention.

The fact is, modern drums provide adequate stopping power to normal, family oriented roadcars.

Economy – Drums requires less maintenance than disk equivalent. Drums never warp due to normal usage.

Safety – Drums have a wider but limited operating temperature while disk most effective at higher temp. Which means drums has a better ‘cold start’ than disk. For those using 4 wheel disk setup, have u ever encounter ‘morning fade’ brake symptom? Disk also prone to loose grip during heavy downpour. Racecars never had this problem coz they maintain their disk temperature very well.

Reliability – beside never warp on normal usage, drums also not exposed to the environment and seldom oxidizes compared o disk which easily oxidize and could dirt the rims. Also, vehicle weight shift from 60 to 90% to the front on heavy braking. Floating rear is not good for disk and it can easily locks the wheels.

However, disk will always win, not only maximum grip wise, but also aesthetic wise. So Proton, make sure u have all-disk setup in your mpv lineup.

• f1 (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 11:31 am

Its common sense that disc brake is way better than drum coz otherwise they wouldnt use it on d front wheels instead of d rear rite. What would happen if its d other way round? WAR OF THE DRIFT…

• ago87 (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 4:34 pm

I wonder who is the guy that get get snapshots…

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 7:00 pm

im not gonna say antything until this MPV redy to be launched,….

• raptorclans (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 7:42 pm

looks pretty big… i’m sure spy-shooters were having lotsa fun during the jam… can’t wait till the big reveal~

Sex is …. said,
    January 16, 2009 @ 3:34 pm
    …cos my brain is in my underwear.

lolz! u’re comments are startin to sound like a retarded version of alpina bmw

• stroller (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 9:50 pm

i agreed with OpenMind bout double std mind especially disc brake matter… some RM100k mpv also dont hv OEM disc brake. y nobody bashed this co?? coz it’s japs co… japs supporters close 1 eyes on this matter… but when it comes to p1… they opened wide eyes until their eye ball can show it round shape… they c everything on p1 not gudd….
    dont worry p1 bashers, u guys dont hv to bother when others m’sian want to buy p1 coz it not ur money after all… u hv ur own choice..

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 10:24 pm

ignas said,
    January 17, 2009 @ 10:12 am

before without knowing the specs, details and design, ppl already started to praise proton with high hope for its new mpv. the only reason that this tank will appease to many malaysian its because of its CHEAP price tag. with the lousy equipments they offer, its a huge ripoff as they always taken us for granted. what can we do?

again government will take this opportunity to rob citizens and force them to pay even more for soon to be increased price tag foreign mpv.

• acbc (Member) on Jan 18, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Looks like a Mitsubishi Chariot or Space Wagon.

• moha774 (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:09 am

Sex is wonderful, . said,

January 17, 2009 @ 11:15 pm

soon got people modify this to mitshubishi

acbc said,

January 18, 2009 @ 10:41 pm

Looks like a Mitsubishi Chariot or Space Wagon

Fear not, it will be the other way around, since Mitsubishi is looking at rebadging this MPV as theirs for Japanese and other market that has no Proton presence and a team of Proton official is rumoured to be in Japan for patenting purposes…

• pepperarmyz (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 1:38 am

a proton insider told me the mpv will have a air cond vents for 3rd row passengers, and for the High line model there will be a tv screen to watch dvds

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:31 am

yep… good..

• nyte_skater (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 6:54 pm

i know why the delay. its the satria neo cps launching i reckon.

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 19, 2009 at 11:01 pm

Base line 1.6 cps

High line 1.8 mivec

• alansmithz (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 3:06 pm

Ladies & Gentlemen…..drum roll PLS…..Here I would like to present to all the reader here, the ORIGIN of Proton MPV….Well if you all have not already know:
    http://www.chinacarforums.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1723&page=2

Changan MPV : CV 11.
    I happened to stumble upon it while checking the background of the newly launched Chana EVA CV6 (yesterday) Yes, judge for yourself & I think the side profile of the Changan CV11 give u very good hint. In my opinion, the CV11 look quite good. Unfortunately, I feel a bit disappointed after I take a look at the Proton MPV. Not as refined. Too many design element from Savvy. Good lick Proton^^ Are Berjaya going to assemble CV11 in Malaysia?????????

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 5:14 pm

raptorclans,

“sex is…” is the same guy as “alpina bmw”. Change name bt nvr change attitude ahaha.

• cars-addict (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:45 pm

this looks so good….
    really looks like baby MITSUBISHI GRANDIS….

• cars-addict (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 8:47 pm

but it’s better to use 2.0 or 1.8 rather than 1.6….

• si-fu (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:55 pm

cars-addict,

if u feel this looks good, wait till u see the other ‘side’ of this baby….btw just to remind u, this MPV has nothing to do with the grandis ya!!! Regarding the engine, it wont be as u expected, but be prepared for a suprise!!!!

Cheers!

• adamccl (Member) on Jan 20, 2009 at 9:59 pm

No car is better than any saloon, anytime…
    All Asian cars suck big time.
    Japanese cars will just crumple upon collision.
    Korean cars are super-underpowered.
    Chinese cars are only for the museum.
    Malaysian cars are all copycats.
    Indian cars are super rigidly manual.
    As a whole, if you have the extra money, buy a European or American car…
    …but don’t be too happy!
    Swedish cars are too squarish.
    French cars tend to have lots of hidden defects.
    Italian cars have tendency of brakes failure.
    Czech cars are too monotonous.
    British cars are too old-fashioned.
    German cars are too expensive and too difficult to repair.
    American cars drink petrol like water.
    So, as a whole, what are we to comment?
    All cars are the same. (But personally, I like Honda Civic, Proton Savvy, Perodua Kelisa, BMW 316i and Ferrari F-355).

• awak (Member) on Jan 21, 2009 at 1:35 pm

sifu what do you mean ‘the other side of this baby’?

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 4:12 pm

Come on si-fu. just break it out here. we’ll tell nobody. i know u cant help holding those exciting news of Proton MPV.

• cars-addict (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 6:42 pm

alansmithz,i think PROTON MPV has nothing to do with that CV11…
    the size is really different la…CV11 looks like RONDO…but it quite nice la…
    hope to see it in malaysia son….

• tokmoh (Member) on Jan 22, 2009 at 10:58 pm

Wisdom….

Polis kata jangan.

• matyie77 (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 11:21 am

there is now interior spyshot at carigold forum..

• prancingScuderia (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:05 pm

interior leaking photo:
    http://cforum6.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=1483733&extra=page%3D1

• prancingScuderia (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:06 pm

http://cforum6.cari.com.my/viewthread.php?tid=1483733&extra=page%3D1

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:31 pm

Just visited the website that appears in this forum that being posted by prancingScuderia said. Is it true the photo had been leak from the P1 plant?

Not many parts from the interior had been shot. The steering wheel and a few shot of the panel meter and dashboard.

Anyway, maybe Paul Tan & si-fu can comment on this picture…

• Tengokaje.. (Member) on Jan 23, 2009 at 12:45 pm

One more thing that I notice in the picture that’s it’s seems like has manual version. Can see from the gear lever at the centre of the dashboard.