Proton-SAIC talks for Roewe 750-based Perdana?

Roewe 750
Click for enlarged image

Apparently Proton is revisiting an old “friend”. Proton was in talks with Rover to supply it with the Proton GEN2 to be rebadged as a Rover to replace the Rover 45, which was at that time a car based on a derivative of the Honda Civic EG (Honda Domani).

We first heard of this in the year 2000, but things only picked up in 2004. In return, Rover would supply Proton with the Rover 75’s platform, which would have been used to produce a Perdana Replacement Model. Towards the end of 2004, it looks like things turned sour and the collaboration was canceled without any fruitful outcome. All they said was the partnership was “not viable”, and that was the end of it.

Now it appears that Proton is once again in talks with Rover, only this time the people doing the talking are their new owners SAIC. According to a source in Proton, things are still at the discussion stage. The deal once again is for the Rover 75 platform (now the Roewe 750) to be used by Proton as a new Perdana replacement car, and in return Proton will allow SAIC to use one of their platforms to badge produce a Roewe.

This could be the GEN2 (which is also sold in China as the Europestar RCR) or even the Proton MPV, as despite there being so many shots of what everyone assumed to be a Roewe MPV out there on the internet (with rear sliding doors), but apparently this has turned out to actually be the Luxgen MPV.

The 2.5 litre KV6 engine from the Rover will also likely be bundled together with the platform. While this is considered by many to be an old engine, SAIC has made some changes to the new rechristened 188 horsepower Roewe KV6 with the help of Ricardo and updated it to Euro 4 standards. A variant of the KV6 is found in the Naza Ria.

So, a Rover Perdana and a Mitsubishi Waja it is? Can’t wait for something concrete.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:25 am

this would be a sweet deal, theo u should do a better and more proton-corporate ish grill

• mct (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:40 am

huh
    naza ria engine ??
    i bet if the perdana if placed with tat
    many people will not buy this car as the naza ria engine are really bad , not from the power but from the quality and durability . you can go into motortrader forum and find naza ria , you should see many problem with the engine !
    btw, why proton don’t find another company for platform ? or they can just enlarge that platform just like VW tat enlarge golf platform and give it to passat
    with is a large car actually

• mct (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:44 am

paul , you should see this post

Hahaha, the wonders of the internet They picked it up in China from here.

But someone called me yesterday to say ‘someone big’ at Proton may have killed the deal because he doesn’t like it.

Chips

deal is cut off just because someone big doesn’t like it !!!

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 6:24 am

Auto Express Test Drive Roewe 750

http://www.autoexpress.co.uk/carreviews/firstdrives/209011/roewe_750.html

• TheophilusChin (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 8:52 am

Actually, why would Proton want a Mitsubishi Lancer-based Waja replacement, and also a Roewe 750-based Perdana replacement? Why not just one car to replace both model?

The Roewe 750 platform is rather dated, though BMW had a hand in it. Otherwise, Proton is in better deal to do a Waja-and-Perdana-replacement using one model based on the Lancer.

Kevin, About the grille, well, it resembles the Saga’s doesn’t it?. I even copied the bumper from the Saga. Just that the headlights, I rendered it as I did with my Saga GTi and Saga Aeroback (Savvy replacement) chops, as seen in my flicker photostream.

ANYWAY… Happy Chinese New Year by the way you all. I had ‘lau sai’ since i came back to KL on wednesday. Hopefully today will recover well enough for reunion dinner.

Paul! Mamak tonight?

• Kevin Lee (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 9:37 am

well i’d think the proton perdana deserves an evolution of its own and its own identity. i know proton cars have no identity, especially when the old saga was ported to the new one, only the large square lamps look the same from the old one.

this was the old perdana. http://i80.photobucket.com/albums/j178/redblackstudio/SUKMA-merchandise/CAR/perdana.gif

i think perhaps its more feasible to make a lancer-ish badge, instead of a vw one. because trying to fit an european identity to an asian car, don’t work in my opinion, but thats solely my opinion. perhaps, its good to make an evolution of the perdana, where as the lancer 380 grill would be befitting.

• MisterBenjo (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 10:24 am

Rebadge is the way to go.Perdana is in niche market and impossible for Proton to sell expensive car outside. This car is quite OK for our ministers.

• Nakal (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 10:57 am

so..probably this year and future (next two year maybe)

1) New satria neo-confirm
    2) Proton MPV- confirm
    3) Waja Replacement-confirm
    4) New Hatchback-confirm
    5) Perdana replacement- maybe
    6) Persona facelift—????

btw….hurry up powertain and lotus engineer!!! brings to me your campro turbo!!

• shamel (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:11 am

It’s rather stupid to have very very old platform and LATER using sacred word of PATRIOTISM to force people to buy a Perdana (early 1990s model).

Why not take BMW 1990s model to be us as Perdana? Or Mercedes W124?

Be realistic Proton! Now is the best time to collaborate with bigger name as economic is not in their side either. Just BELI BORONG (12000 unit or so per annum) from big carmaker and simply rebadged them as Proton’s Perdana.

Say, Proton Perdana Camry (take JDM/USDM instead ofAurion/Asian Camry) and retailed it in RM120k region to justify it with rather ‘inferior’ brand of Proton (doing a Naza-ed KIA). Why not, isn’t?

Price-wise, as Yen appreciated to over RM4/Yen; a JDM Camry will cost from RM101k to as low as RM96k without consumption tax. A pretty decent price for decent car though previously mere RM72-75k. In Japan Camry is 2,505,000?(?????2,385,714?).

Or buy Toyota iQ to christen it as Proton’s micro car! I’m no supporter of Toyota but nobody will denied the car RELIABILITY and Proton can use them longer than Perdana, a 1992 car. Perhaps, 3 decades. :)

If Proton afraid of another Peroduanization of Proton (merely rebadge engineering brand) BUT from economic point of view that’s feasible and viable.
    Toyota Premio 1.5l, 1.8l and 2.0l from above Corolla price ¥1,753,500?????? ¥1,670,000??¥2,436,000?????? ¥2,320,000. Premio 2.0 retail at Y2.3m and they have recline-able rear seat, like found in new City E but too resembled older Camry. Not impossible as it rooted from common origin.

Other models more expensive than Camry 2.4, namely :

1. Crown ¥3,740,000?????? ¥3,561,905) start from RM144k
    2. Crown sedan (Singapore taxi cohort but more expensive 1990s technology) ¥2,629,200?????? ¥2,504,000?more expensive but very old model.

my dua kupang

• shamel (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:13 am

It’s rather stupid to have very very old platform and LATER using sacred word of PATRIOTISM to force people to buy a Perdana (early 1990s model).

Be realistic Proton! Now is the best time to collaborate with bigger name as economic is not in their side either. Just BELI BORONG (12000 unit or so per annum) from big carmaker and simply rebadged them as Proton’s Perdana.

Say, Proton Perdana Camry (take JDM/USDM instead ofAurion/Asian Camry) and retailed it in RM120k region to justify it with rather ‘inferior’ brand of Proton (doing a Naza-ed KIA). Why not, isn’t?

Price-wise, as Yen appreciated to over RM4/Yen; a JDM Camry will cost from RM101k to as low as RM96k without consumption tax. A pretty decent price for decent car though previously mere RM72-75k. In Japan Camry is 2,505,000?(?????2,385,714?).

Or buy Toyota iQ to christen it as Proton’s micro car! I’m no supporter of Toyota but nobody will denied the car RELIABILITY and Proton can use them longer than Perdana, a 1992 car. Perhaps, 3 decades. :)

If Proton afraid of another Peroduanization of Proton (merely rebadge engineering brand) BUT from economic point of view that’s feasible and viable.
    Toyota Premio 1.5l, 1.8l and 2.0l from above Corolla price ¥1,753,500?????? ¥1,670,000??¥2,436,000?????? ¥2,320,000. Premio 2.0 retail at Y2.3m and they have recline-able rear seat, like found in new City E but too resembled older Camry. Not impossible as it rooted from common origin.

2. Crown sedan (Singapore taxi cohort but more expensive 1990s technology) ¥2,629,200?????? ¥2,504,000?more expensive but very old model.

my dua kupang

• shamel (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:14 am

please la take honda or toyota.

• shamel (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:15 am

• lambov12 (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:54 am

that looks like audi …

proton plus rover = audi ..

that’s interesting ..

anyway, i think proton should replace some models such as Wira and Waja with a new car ..

this may reduce the production cost and u no need to spend too much R & D on the cars ..

• overflow (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:37 pm

“shamel said,

January 25, 2009 @ 11:14 am

please la take honda or toyota.”

honda ok, toyota no.. but maybe the rover platform may suited to perdana platform..
    HAPPY CHINESE NEW YEAR to all..

• nmh (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 12:53 pm

Use RWD platform larr, RWD,RWD,RWD,RWD,RWD,RWD,RWD,RWD,RWD,

• mct (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 1:37 pm

the rover platform are too old
    the engine also !!

• red7 (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:16 pm

just make it a decent car and everyone will be happy

cheers~

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:41 pm

the rover isnt even doing well in china

• pippen (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 2:57 pm

It clearly shown that our so called national car project is a total failure after so many years. We are returning to the same point of getting an old engine or platform from outsider, and make it a local brand, and selling higher price than their latest model due to import tax. This company has no direction or no strategy to benefit the citizen or the country in a long run. After all these years, it goes back to the starting point. So how about those R&D fund being dump into the company for these years? Just to make a re-badge car? This is a joke, and with new management, it probably will intend to earn money for the whoever it is, but practicing unfair market policies that the rakyat has no choice. Only open market can restructure the whole company to be compete and improve to meet the world standard. What will the other country who OEM from Potong and later realized Potong is actually OEM from another company? That is the biggest joke of the global industries I guess, and also end of Potong’s world market. Only the racket suffered by paying high price for a car, without decent public transport, increasing tol, and keep saying the G is working for the rakyet, but taxing in the petrol from subsidizing in 6 months time. Can we have something that is more confirm?

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 3:09 pm

a 7 series based perdana wdnt be so bad wd it?!!

it seems that the waja is already decided to be based on the new lancer platform…and perdana is the only car left without any successor insight….i wd say thy shouldnt hurry too much on the perdana replacement , its not a volume seller and most importantly , curent economic climate doesnt warenty any success on excutive cars …thy should concentrate to make the MPV successful and make the new waja irresistable !

• takuhai_ha_neko_dearu (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 4:08 pm

i will be happy if proton pick honda as partner…
    enough for toyota, my father’s car long time ago was corolla…
    it sucked more liters for kilometer…(old type engine)
    toyota engine is now better,but i still don’t like toyota…
    prefer honda civic to be the platform for perdana replacement…
    might be impossible, but who knows if honda rela to collaborate…
    just personal opinion…
    i’m sorry if toyota users feel uncomfort with my comment…

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 6:08 pm

pippen said,

January 25, 2009 @ 2:57 pm

It clearly shown that our so called national car project is a total failure after so many years. We are returning to the same point of getting an old engine or platform from outsider, and make it a local brand, and selling higher price than their latest model due to import tax.

————————————————–

From the article, it seemed like SAIC is going to rebadge one of the Proton models as a Roewe (BMW owns the Rover name, that’s why they’re stuck with Roewe. The name sucks, but I guess you gotta pronounce it like the Germans, with the “W” becomes a “V” :-). Besides, engine and platform sharing is done by all the carmakers…the MINI shares its engine with some Chryslers I can’t remember, then there’s the Toyota Aygo, whose platform is shared with I believe a Peugeot, although I could be mistaken. Besides, the Perdana isn’t a high-selling car like the Saga or Persona so it makes sense for Proton to invest its money on other models rather than the Perdana replacement. The Rover 75 isn’t that bad too, it was designed by BMW engineers.

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 8:27 pm

The 2.5 liter KV6 engine from the Rover is found in the Naza Ria/Kia Carnival? If i’m not mistaken, this engine has a manufacturer defect… click link below to view a comments about this engine…

http://www.carsurvey.org/viewcomments_review_68609.html

Just for sharing the information as we dont want proton blindly rebadge and produced another disaster for new perdana….and correct me if i’m wrong…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 8:40 pm

I don’t really understand why go with rover. How about the 407 or the new 408 Peugeot? Looks more pleasing to me. Well, considering the original perdana is based in the 90’s, this Rowe might be newer thus better :P

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 10:33 pm

pippen said,
    January 25, 2009 @ 2:57 pm

It clearly shown that our so called national car project is a total failure after so many years. We are returning to the same point of getting an old engine or platform from outsider, and make it a local brand, and selling higher price than their latest model due to import tax. This company has no direction or no strategy to benefit the citizen or the country in a long run. After all these years, it goes back to the starting point. So how about those R&D fund being dump into the company for these years? Just to make a re-badge car? This is a joke, and with new management, it probably will intend to earn money for the whoever it is, but practicing unfair market policies that the rakyat has no choice. Only open market can restructure the whole company to be compete and improve to meet the world standard. What will the other country who OEM from Potong and later realized Potong is actually OEM from another company? That is the biggest joke of the global industries I guess, and also end of Potong’s world market. Only the racket suffered by paying high price for a car, without decent public transport, increasing tol, and keep saying the G is working for the rakyet, but taxing in the petrol from subsidizing in 6 months time. Can we have something that is more confirm?
    ———————————————————-

New basher, old thought.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:09 pm

aiyz, miss the original rovers

• 4G63T DSM (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:14 pm

New basher, old basher, old thought perhaps. But has merit nonetheless.

Unfortunately for Proton, they are jsut too small in entity and volume to command more interest from potential partners.

One way is to use someone else’s old platform, in this case the 75 platform. Despite how good it is, it is still an old platform…..a 9 year old one at that.
    The only saving grace for Proton if it can actually come up with more than just a rebadged version of the same car.

• Xx- Ferrari -xX (Member) on Jan 25, 2009 at 11:17 pm

Hey Guyz……

I take this oppurtunity to wish all you guyz a ” HaPpY Chinese New Year 2009″……. Hope this festive season brings you an eternal happiniess and joy to your family……

“”””””******** Gong Xi Fa Cai *******”””””””

~ Cheers ~

Xx- Ferrari -xX

• julian-lee (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 11:47 am

proton is sux any brand after it rebages

• ideoteque_85 (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 8:26 pm

paul, you organized your posts by car brands…i like!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 26, 2009 at 9:51 pm

julian-lee said,

January 26, 2009 @ 11:47 am

proton is sux any brand after it rebages
    —————–
    proton should rebadge ferraris

• ali38hak (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 12:11 am

this is not good,
    why a so old car to base? do it you self !

• mitlanevo (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 12:15 am

wow, very un-proton, but nice !!!

• unitedtas (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 12:22 am

Makes me wanna puke!

• binarumah.com (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 2:24 pm

good job proton.keep on producing new model..

However,plz make sure u improve the quality and reliability of the car.

If u wanna give leather seat,plz give the best one ok. Don’t bullshit malaysian ok.

• corollaaltis (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 4:58 pm

New Toyota Rav4 Launching Soon?
    http://3.bp.blogspot.com/_dsnYAjtnGew/SX7H4OD-31I/AAAAAAAAAwU/_RAkYjuQbFU/s1600-h/rav4.jpeg

• bmpower (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 7:34 pm

it’s a new Roewe 750 lah..
    roewe 750 2009 version.

• claxxion (Member) on Jan 27, 2009 at 10:02 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,
    January 26, 2009 @ 9:51 pm

——————
    if proton really rebadges a 355 and sells it at 500k, will you buy it? I doubt you can even afford a kancil. Your comments are total nonsense. Stop spamming.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 12:24 am

claxxion said,

January 27, 2009 @ 10:02 pm

Sex is wonderful, but it’s like champagne.If you’re forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. said,

——————
    if proton really rebadges a 355 and sells it at 500k, will you buy it? I doubt you can even afford a kancil. Your comments are total nonsense. Stop spamming.
    ——————-
    just because u can’t afford a BMW let alone ferrari don try to make other people feel inferior, cause it aint gonna work. my advice, go study harder, of if ure working, work harder, play some shares, invest or buy lottery. casino doesnt work.

• Dj_VaniLLa (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 3:10 pm

waaaa…all of you..blame there blame here..hmmm..nevermind..ngee;)

this is jus my opinion,based from TC photoshop pic. if this is real,i’m sure P1 can sell it. but..P1 should do somethin’ if wanna boost up their sales..
    From TC pic,i think it such a luxury car..nice for pick this chasis..these is what i can call it a beauty..but..P1 should make it longer n wider. haha..what a big guy in our road huh;) hmm..juz dreaming a P1 car can be a competitor for merc n beemer;) About the fuel consumption,P1 hve their on R&D. so..get ur staff to make it work. nevermind what kind of engine will be use,as long as P1 wanna develop a good quality engine,they should try an error.

• autojohndoe (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:06 pm

January 28, 2009 @ 12:24 am

claxxion said,

——————
    ——————-
    just because u can’t afford a BMW let alone ferrari don try to make other people feel inferior, cause it aint gonna work. my advice, go study harder, of if ure working, work harder, play some shares, invest or buy lottery. casino doesnt work.

• MyviKiller (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 4:31 pm

Personally it’s a good plateform as a base, with minor tweaks here and there.

I was in the 75 before and I can tell you it’s like a Jag with different badge, sooo British!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 28, 2009 at 8:44 pm

autojohndoe said,

January 28, 2009 @ 4:06 pm

January 28, 2009 @ 12:24 am

claxxion said,

——————
    ——————-

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:56 am

The 2.5 liter KV6 engine from the Rover will found in the Naza Ria and also in Kia Carnival? i’ve read a comments, yes a lots of comments from carsurvey.org, this KV6 motor is a totally disaster. Kia Carnival owners from all over the world is facing to much problems with the engine. KV6 motor keen to failed (head gasket blown up) on average 40000km on the clock.

Come on Proton, don’t ever build another disaster… Just based-on new Mitsu evo platform to replace boths perdana and waja.

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:56 am

The 2.5 liter KV6 engine from the Rover will found in the Naza Ria and also in Kia Carnival? i’ve read a comments, yes a lots of comments from carsurvey.org, this KV6 motor is a totally disaster. Kia Carnival owners from all over the world is facing to much problems with the engine. KV6 motor keen to failed (head gasket blown up) on average 40000km on the clock.

Come on Proton, don’t ever build another disaster… Just based-on new Mitsu evo platform to replace boths perdana and waja.

• aenz81 (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 11:58 am

and Paul, where is my comment???

• not_ah_beng (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 1:47 pm

LOL.

So where are the Proton fanboys who attack Perodua for “rebadging” Myvis?

OH NO, don’t tell me now Proton also now want to rebadge their own cars? Gasp!

LOL!

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 3:56 pm

proton aslways rebadge become mitsu evo

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 6:02 pm

not_ah_beng said,
    January 29, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

LOL.

LOL!

——————————-

lol… it’s rumours and u already believe in it… no wonder u always sound so stupid….

• tiadaid (Member) on Jan 29, 2009 at 10:06 pm

not_ah_beng said,

January 29, 2009 @ 1:47 pm

LOL.

LOL!

———————————————————

Well at least Proton have the Saga, Gen-2, Persona & the Savvy that they designed. What car have Perodua designed? NONE!

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 9:32 am

tiadaid
    “Well at least Proton have the Saga, Gen-2, Persona & the Savvy that they designed. What car have Perodua designed? NONE!”
    Yes-proton design, manufacture and produce from scratch for the above cars you mention and perodua have none. so what? are you proud?

what is so proud when all other makes tax is so high and we are force to buy proton sedan?

i do not understand people like you… whether proton rebadge or build an airplane, what is the point when people are “FORCE” to buy, use and purchase proton’s products?

until then, any new model from proton sux big time cause new model for proton is a sure selling model due to current tax structure. at least for the lower income group of people.

to tiadaid and all the supporters of proton… the MAIN reason protection for proton does not remove entirely is because proton have NOT improved up to today!! if proton really have improved as claim by those hu hu ha ha bunch of proton supporter, then the protection should be removed years back then.

• LogicallyMad (Member) on Jan 30, 2009 at 11:10 am

LMAO…. NotToLowQuality….. why is it always proton when u talking about TAX?

Have you not noticed that PERODUA also got tax protection????

BTW proton cars also taxed…

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 2:33 am

but not as much tax

• julian-lee (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 10:34 am

proton sucks, bmw better

• aenz81 (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 4:19 pm

BMW= Big Mouth Woman :D

• NoToLowQuality (Member) on Feb 01, 2009 at 8:47 pm

LogicallyMad
    “Have you not noticed that PERODUA also got tax protection????”

indeed yes perodua also got tax protection… do u know why people rarely bash perodua? that’s bcos perodua have it’s limitation in car industries yet they can succeed proton in a matter of few years time. limitation such as no sedan car are allow to compete with proton. yet that bloody proton can compete with perodua by coming up with savvy.

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Feb 02, 2009 at 8:09 pm

NoToLowQuality said,

February 1, 2009 @ 8:47 pm

LogicallyMad
    “Have you not noticed that PERODUA also got tax protection????”

indeed yes perodua also got tax protection… do u know why people rarely bash perodua? that’s bcos perodua have it’s limitation in car industries yet they can succeed proton in a matter of few years time. limitation such as no sedan car are allow to compete with proton. yet that bloody proton can compete with perodua by coming up with savvy.
    ———————————-
    savvy?

• nikos on Sep 25, 2009 at 7:58 am

Even in the U.K, Rover cars are not so popular…why then Proton want to use Rover for their future based model? In my opinion, better go for Ford, Audi, VW, Seat.

For me Proton + Rover = Disaster

• puspa arini on Oct 14, 2009 at 12:20 am

ini berapa harga ??