Proton Exora MPV: BCM and a few more juicy details from the prototype test drive

Proton Exora

Now that we’ve covered the initial driving experience with the upcoming 7-seater Proton Exora MPV, let’s get down to some technical details such as the chassis, dimensions, specifications and equipment level of the people mover.

Have a look after the jump for the juicy details.

Exora Weight and Dimensions Comparison

Exora Livina 1.6 Avanza 1.5 Rondo Innova
Kerb Weight 1,380kg 1,245kg 1,120kg 1,563kg 1,575kg
Length 4,592mm 4,420mm 4,150mm 4,545mm 4,580mm
Width 1,809mm 1,690mm 1,630mm 1,800mm 1,770mm
Height 1,691mm 1,590mm 1,695mm 1,650mm 1,755mm
Wheelbase 2,730mm 2,600mm 2,655mm 2,700mm 2,750mm
Fuel Tank 55L 52L 45L 55L 55L
MPV+7 Weight 1,880kg 1,745kg 1,620kg 2,063kg 2,075kg
MPV+2+5 Weight 1,730kg 1,595kg 1,470kg 1,913kg 1,925kg
Horsepower 125hp 105hp 107hp 145hp 136hp
Torque 150Nm 150Nm 141Nm 189Nm 182Nm
MPV+7 kg per hp 15.04 16.62 15.14 14.23 15.26
MPV+7 kg per Nm 12.53 11.60 11.48 10.91 11.40

Above you can see a weight and dimensions comparison between the Exora and its similiarly-priced Rivals. The Exora is actually longer and wider than the Innova and even the Rondo but it is much lighter, instead being closer to the Grand Livina’s weight despite being a bigger vehicle. I’ve also added two gross vehicle weight calculations – one with a load of 7 adults and another with 2 adults (MPV+7) and 5 children (MPV+5+2).

What’s also interesting is the two rows at the bottom – how many kgs of metal, flesh and bone (as in the MPV and occupants, not some Terminator cyborg) the engine has to pull along. This is not a completely accurate indicator of performance as there are many other variables such as the weight of fluids, gear ratio and transmission loss, but it can be used as a rough indicator.

The MPV actually has to pull along the most kg per Newton meter of torque, though its actually by only a small margin of about slightly over 1kg compared to the Innova. Thus performance under full load could likely similiar to what I experienced in my prototype test drive. 1kg out of 12kg is slightly less than 10%, so in a way can it be said the Exora would feel approximately 10% less powerful than its competitors? Does anyone here have experience with the listed competitors under full load? Please share your experience in the comments section for benefit of all? Once again, I’d like to say this is not a completely accurate way of comparing performance as there are many other factors such as gear ratios and transmission loss.

Proton Exora Chassis

Underpinning the Proton Exora MPV is a monocoque chassis with a 2,730mm wheelbase. Using a car-like monocoque chassis gives it superior ride comfort and handling over body-on-frame rivals. It rides on MacPherson struts at the front and a torsion beam at the rear. Development time for this chassis benefitted from many ideas and experiences gained from developing the Saga and Savvy’s platforms, which also use a similiar suspension setup.

Thus in some ways you could say the Exora chassis is a larger and stronger version of the Saga chassis because the people who were behind the development are the same, thus its only natural that some ideas and techniques are reused.

An improvement over all Proton models is the usage of a Body Control Module. It essentially controls some various basic car functions such as wipers, signal lamps, brake lamps, and etcetera. It allows Proton to program some intelligence into various car features so that in some cases they might even function automatically when deemed needed, instead of everything having to require some kind of driver input or activation to work. Alot of modern cars already have the ability to do all of these so Proton has caught up. Here are the features that the BCM allowed Proton to add to the Proton Exora:

Proton Exora Body Control Module

• A battery saver for room lamps, luggage and key ring illumination. These turn off after 30 seconds to ensure they do not make your battery flat if for some reason they are left in a situation where they are on all the time.
  • Follow-me-home headlamps stay on for a certain period of time to help light up your walkway when you park and want to enter your house.
  • The battery level for the remote key is indicated on the car’s instrument panel briefly when you turn the ignition on. The remote key has a range of 20 meters.
  • The remote control will not work if your front door is not closed. The vehicle will also remind you if you activate a remote command if the rear door is not closed.
  • There is a door open indicator on the instrument panel that indicates exactly which door, engine bay hood or rear hatch is not closed.
  • There is a door opening warning when you reach a speed of 7km/h if any doors are open.
  • Tap feature for the signal indicator stalk. This is similiar to alot of modern cars – you just have to tap the indicator stalk (not press fully) for the signal to flash 3 times to indicate a lane change and stop automatically, no need to press fully to turn on and reach for it again to deactivate it.
  • Dim-in and dim-out feature for the interior room lamps – Proton says this is better for the eyes at night and it also adds a certain touch of class. The interior room lamps turn off automatically after you lock the car, or they also stay on for 30 seconds and then fade out in 2.8 seconds. When you unlock the car, the room light fade-in in 3.4 seconds.
  • Front and rear wiper washer drip wiping – automatically wipe to remove excess water. What happens is when you operate the front washer, it will wipe 4 times and then pause for 5 seconds and then wipe one more time, to remove all the excess water effectively. This is because some of the washer liquid from the top of the windscreen will slowly drip down after the initial wiping, so the last wipe completely removes the washer water.
  • Programmable front wiper interval. This can be anything from 1 seconds to 25 seconds. The default is 4 seconds. This is how you program it – you put it into INT and then back to off. Then you wait for the duration you want and turn switch it to INT again. The time duration you waited will become the new interval, up to a max of 25 seconds.
  • The rear wiper turns on automatically when you engage reverse gear if your front wipers are on.
  • If in SLOW mode, the front wiper changes mode to INT mode when you bring the MPV to a complete stop, let’s say in a traffic jam in the rain.
  • The remote unlocks the drivers door only if pushed once – probably push twice to unlock all doors. Apparently you are able to configure this to unlock all doors at once by default.
  • There is an alarm activation history kept but I am not sure how to access it, perhaps only at the service center.
  • The doors will lock automatically once you reach a speed of 20km/h.
  • The doors will unlock automatically once you remove the key from the key barrel.
  • All doors unlock automatically upon a crash via a signal coming from the airbag control unit.
  • If you perform any sudden braking at speeds of at least 96km/h, the hazard lights will flash automatically.

So there we go, quite an interesting and extensive list of the features that the BCM provides the Proton Exora. It will be easy to add other features such as automatic headlamps and rain sensing wipers to the Exora because of the BCM, as all you need to do is add the appropriate sensor and programming so this may be a preview of what might come during the facelifts in a few years time.

Proton Exora H-Line DVD Entertainment System

The H-Line model that we tested also came with a DVD entertainment system mounted at the roof of the 2nd row for both the 2nd and 3rd row’s enjoyment. It can accept DVDs and can also read files from an SD card. I didn’t try whether the system supports reading DIVX or AVI files from the SD card but apparently picture viewing works so it will be quite interesting for a family to view photos from a trip to Sunway Lagoon, Port Dickson or any other destination immediately on the way home.

The DVD entertainment system sends its audio signals to the head-unit at the front via a FM transmitter system. This probably cuts some assembly cost and time as you don’t need to wire the system up, but this also means audio quality is the same as FM. You can set what frequencies you want to transmit at from the DVD system, and then tune in to the corresponding frequency on the Exora’s headunit.

We were driving prototype models without the finalised speakers and sound stage setup so its pointless to talk about sound quality at this time. All I can say is at least the prototype had commendable sound proofing so you can at least watch movies without much outside noise disturbing your experience.

The H-Line model also had leather seats and an armrest for the driver, as well as a spoiler at the back while the M-Line did not. I believe there’s only 1 month left until the Exora rolls out into the showrooms as a tentative launch date of mid-April 2009 was indicated. There will be a full write-up based on the production model then, so stay tuned!

Perodua MPV: Toyota Passo Sette 7-Seater
Proton Exora Prototype Test Drive Experience

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• dunno on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:19 pm

Most of the BCM function can be found in the "old" Naza Bestari 1.4

but nice to see proton equipping its cars with this function.

• madboy on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:20 pm

Not bad at all

• nomad on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:21 pm

swweeeettt!!!

• dr34mkill3r on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:23 pm

message to livina,avanza,rondo,innova. peace!

• nabill on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:25 pm

from the sides its looks huge , thrs so much metal…bt it seems its goona sell well , even for those who dont actualyl need an mpv…the space and high driving position is a big factor…

• atieus on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:26 pm

nice!!!!

• cars-addict on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:27 pm

i'm the second one!!!!

exora looks like a great competitor!!!!

it's also as great as 2.0L mpv…..

• cars-addict on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:29 pm

[quote comment="221222"]i'm the second one!!!!

it's also as great as 2.0L mpv…..[/quote]

i'm not the second one anymore…..

• cars-addict on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:31 pm

[quote comment="221222"]i'm the second one!!!!

it's also as great as 2.0L mpv…..[/quote]

i'm not second one anymore…..

• Littlefire on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:39 pm

"The MPV actually has to pull along the most kg per Newton meter of torque, though its actually by only a small margin of about slightly over 1kg compared to the Innova"

The 1kg is already divided into ratio, and 1kg is almost 100kg heavier than G.Livina! 100kg mean that the MPV have to work hard to move the car, which in the chart you can see the ratio is not working good againt Exora. Proton must improve the Torque and not hp.

• Littlefire on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:44 pm

The H-line Exora will be sure add in more kg, as the leather seat and spoiler is add in. So in the end, H-line will be more heavier… Please be prepare as i heard that only Auto H-line is offered currently..

• XDM LVN on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:46 pm

wah hebat!

• XDM LVN on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:47 pm

it would be good if they equipped this function on other proton models, especially the one who got rear wiper, like Neo.

• dayyan (Member) on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:52 pm

Woww, more points for me to upgrade my Waja to Exora!

• NeoUser on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:54 pm

Good job p1.. But i wonder… Exora is bigger than innova and yet only 1.6 only..

how bout FC? i used neo and my GOD!! FC is like h**l!!

• sick and tired on Mar 16, 2009 at 8:58 pm

so fast already got exoraclub.com :p

• takin on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:30 pm

good job proton..

cant wait to see the real exora..huhu..

when is the exact date for exora to come out ?

• EricG on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:33 pm

10% less undertorque i guess. well maybe change the airfilter will just do it.

regarding FC, well..maybe u just have to go for a surgery to get rid excessive flesh in ur foot.

OR..proton might just surprise us on the launch date there will be turbo in the cps. *fingerscrossed.

• i like the features in this exora… Very good… But then i think should add in automatic on headlights when in dark places or automatic wipers when it rain will be better….

• EricG on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:34 pm

Oh yes, lets hope BCM's reliability is …reliable.

• pulltea on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:34 pm

Good and interesting BCM features. Only problem will be, how good are the service centre in diagnosing and repairing if there are faults with the BCM features… Proton service famous with the tagline 'Proton mah….' , when they cannot fix it…

• osh_kosh on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:40 pm

"What’s also interesting is the two rows at the bottom – how many kgs of metal, flesh and bone (as in the MPV and occupants, not some Terminator cyborg) the engine has to pull along. This is not a completely accurate indicator of performance as there are many other variables such as the weight of fluids, gear ratio and transmission loss, but it can be used as a rough indicator."

good thinking Paul, thanks! it does help… as 'Littlefire' already said, P1 need to do something with their torque output & not hp, & i'm sure they've already look into this for future development… surprisingly (to me), Rondo do better in both weight:hp & weight:torque ratio.. hmmm… overall dimensions almost the same as Exora but of coz it's a 2.0L mpv…

nice BCM for Exora, so far to me it's all looking good except in the engine department… yosh! need to TD myself to answer my doubts :)

• msian on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:48 pm

impressive list of stuff…good job proton…..harap the end product will be as good as it looks and sounds on paper…

• [quote comment="221256"]Oh yes, lets hope BCM's reliability is …reliable.[/quote]

how about 3ppm for the defect. is it satisfing you?

• lambar on Mar 16, 2009 at 9:57 pm

lambat nye mpv ni kuar

• off the line pick up test who would win,

for this ,hp does count, lets say all are manual transmission, (ignore ratio gap between gear)

the winner of sprint test (launch control wannabe)

1 exora

2nd avanza

3rd rondo

4th innova

5th livina.

• Take That on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:13 pm

It'd be interesting to see if the BCM can add a function to automatically turn off the high beam (when it is turned on) when sensing a vehicle coming from an opposing direction. Just a thought.

• mkrafz on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:18 pm

actually proton Exora quite good..

campare between G.Lavina and Rondo..

Congrats proton!..

• in gear pickup goes to (butt o meter)

1 rondo

2 innova

3 avanza

4 livina

5 exora.

• theanswer on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:31 pm

wow..what a nice equipment for exora. for 1.6 mpv..worth it la. and it's first mpv from p1..hopefully the electronics stuff can last long…or should i say reliable.

• fndluvbaby on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Wow… not bad features from Proton. They definitely heading on the right lane. I'm pretty satisfied with this new Exora. The only main thing to be worried about is still the rather small "cukup makan"engine displacement size (to me la huhu). Really wishing there will be a TURBO version like what i heard from rumours. hehehe.

I've been using Hyundai Matrix 1.6 Manual for quite sometime. And already thought that this car is heavy as it has a min kerb weight of 1323KG. Performance wise, acceptable if you have 1 or two occupants, more than that and you can feel the car is not moving at your pace anymore. The engine only have 102Hp / 140Nm. So I was really excited when i saw this exora that i was planning to buy it and sell this matrix.

Campro CPS 125HP with 150Nm of torque, good enough maybe? have to test drive this baru boleh tahu.

• stroller on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:36 pm

nice figure u hv there Paul… informative enuf…

• nabill on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:36 pm

higher hp than torque gives u higher more relaxed top speed…that y in the few reviews i read , all say once u get to 140/150km/h , its smooth quite and willing….for daily usuage in city , i tink midrange is more important , ur driving at 50 , u wana overtake a slower car,how much power u hav to overtake or have to drop 1 or 2 gears ?

• terminatorkun on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:37 pm

Interesting….well done proton..R3 division need to modified the engine…or why not put the same engine on satria neo R3

PAULTAN SAID :

What the Satria Neo R3 is: a cheaper, more hardcore version of the Suzuki Swift Sport oozing Malaysia boleh-ness. 135 horsepower out of a 1.6 liter with just ECU and exhaust adjustments while still remaining JPJ compliant is impressive.

• terminatorkun on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:41 pm

Yeah R3 department need to modified cps engine…if normal campro they can tweak to 135hp why not campro cps…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:47 pm

[quote comment="221274"]in gear pickup goes to (butt o meter)

1 rondo

2 innova

3 avanza

4 livina

5 exora.[/quote]

correct me if i'm wrong.. but butt-o-meter means you have driven all the above cars including the exora?

coz to me, butt-o-meter doesnt mean sitting on your butt in front of your computer screen and typing.

• I drive a Rondo and never knew it was so close to the Innova in terms of size and power.

With 7 passengers on board, the Rondo strains so I am very surprised to read in another review written by a very egoistic writer, that the performance is very good, even with full load and bla bla bla. Top speed at xx km/h bla bla bla. The top speed is no big deal as I usually travel at that same speed on the highways as well in the Rondo with no issues at all.

The BCM controls are very welcome on a Proton. It's about time they started offering some Continental car features on their cars (apart from their reverse stalks, loud horn and ride/handling).

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 16, 2009 at 10:49 pm

[quote comment="221283"]Based on my opinion, instead of buyng a PROTON EXORA ill rather spend a little more and get a TOYOTA ALPHARD or TOYOTA ESTIMA. thats because i can afford, [/quote]

a little more? so i'm assuming the alphard costs around what? RM85,000, and the estima goes for RM79,000??? ;)

• jhuan on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:13 pm

[quote comment="221283"]Based on my opinion, instead of buyng a PROTON EXORA

ill rather spend a little more and get a TOYOTA ALPHARD or TOYOTA ESTIMA.

thats because i can afford, but i dont know whether u guys can afford or not.

thats based on my opinion.

huhuhuhuh :P[/quote]

a lil more? so you do think double or triple of exora price is 'a lil more'?? So we now know you are rich…

btw, exora really sound, look and tested impressive, at least for me. haaa. A white unit with full sport bodykits and 16" rim will look just too fine for me :)

• so many goodies

lighter so maybe the engine has some HOPE…

ehehheheh

• akupunya on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:18 pm

apa2pun, kereta proton, tunggu dulu kasi orang lain pakai..lepas tu baru komen elok ke tak…

but for typical malaysian..this spec in exora is quite enough…

nak power2…ambik picasso or alphard…tak payah gebang lebih la…hahahaha

• akupunya on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:24 pm

paul, exora ni ada HID headlamps ker?

i think proton put BCM because they know that the campro itself cannot attract buyers..1.6 for a big MPV and 15 inch rim? who wanna to buy it…kalau naik ramai2 rasa macam kereta lembu..slowww…

sayang…spec dah ok…tapi guna current engine (no new innovation) and low cc…better 2.0…

• mynameis on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:29 pm

kang letak enjin besor harga mahal… korang bising plak.. haihhhh .. serba tak kena…

• madimat on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm

[quote comment="221303"]paul, exora ni ada HID headlamps ker?

i think proton put BCM because they know that the campro itself cannot attract buyers..1.6 for a big MPV and 15 inch rim? who wanna to buy it…kalau naik ramai2 rasa macam kereta lembu..slowww…

sayang…spec dah ok…tapi guna current engine (no new innovation) and low cc…better 2.0…[/quote]

I suggest you wait for the launch day, and register your name for a test drive. Then maybe you can get back here and give a more constructive and intelligent comments. Thank you.

• henryee on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:33 pm

http://thestar.com.my/lifestyle/story.asp?file=/2…

Hey guys, look at the rear lamps of Exora!!!

Haiya Proton, no need to do camo to this Exora already, there's pictures everywhere, including the Newspaper.

Faster introduce la~~~

BTW, the autoheadlamp and Follow-me-home headlamps is available on Myvi, but thanks to Proton introduce this name "Follow-me-home headlamps", thus I know the functions of my Myvi's autoheadlamp called Smart Beam. But sometimes, I am so nervous, coz whenever I'm in carpark bay and going to shop at shopping center, there are some helpful people asking and reminding to switch off the headlamp, so I'm don't know what to say bcoz, I don't want to explain so much to them and saying me very arrogant.

But since this Exora comes all in one, I'm very pleased coz no need to dump money to add-in these features.

• NeoUser on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:41 pm

Paultan,

Pls write somting bout Exora FC during your testdrive.. my dad really looking forward this mpv.. our major concern is FC.. probably compared it with nearest compettitor such g.livina or avanza..

• farghmee on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:51 pm

[quote comment="221310"]Paultan,

Pls write somting bout Exora FC during your testdrive.. my dad really looking forward this mpv.. our major concern is FC.. probably compared it with nearest compettitor such g.livina or avanza..[/quote]

this was the preliminary test drive.

later when the mpv is officially available, there'll be the FC data.

• kimi_ on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:54 pm

EXORA rocks !!!

we as malaysia should support PROTON….

Anyway,i heard from the salesman that exora has chalked up 7000 plus booking!

Wow, that is interesting

• stanley on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:59 pm

what is 'follow me home headlamps'?

• arr_TanSri on Mar 16, 2009 at 11:59 pm

paul, add more row please:

– fuel consumption

– price

– engine tech (eg: vvt-i / campro cps with turbo :) etc)

• [quote comment="221291"][quote comment="221274"]in gear pickup goes to (butt o meter)

1 rondo

2 innova

3 avanza

4 livina

5 exora.[/quote]

correct me if i'm wrong.. but butt-o-meter means you have driven all the above cars including the exora?

coz to me, butt-o-meter doesnt mean sitting on your butt in front of your computer screen and typing.[/quote]

its a rough idea, of how do we transklate data from, kg/NM. given by paul

-weight to be handle per 1newton meter, all in the table.

roughLY.

and also theres data of kg/hp, where this case exora is the winner.

these data can be put into discussion, or analysed, it almost or nearly true data, which is next to the real test, like you see the data of power to weight ratio where you can guess the car accleration which is batter,

and butt o meter of course i know its areal sensation of how the car pulling power, well shouldnt use the word in the first place, i confess not suitable sorry aa

yeah i agree with you, it need some ground provig before saying something. not just digesting some data, but those data does give some impression and can to be put into some perspective at least

• arr_TanSri on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:03 am

[quote comment="221318"]what is 'follow me home headlamps'?[/quote]

:) i think the name 'follow-me-home' is not suitable… we sit behind the headlamp in the car… :) i suggest 'ligth-me-up' headlamp

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:07 am

[quote comment="221309"]but thanks to Proton introduce this name "Follow-me-home headlamps",[/quote]

the follow me home lights are actually a very common feature in many European cars.

stanley, the feature basically leaves your headlights on for a short duration after you've turned off the engine and exited the vehicle. its supposed to give you some light to go to your front door and get inside your house.

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:09 am

basically follow-me-home term isnt created by proton, volvo used that term b4, n other car manufacturer also used it. its just on the headlight even after u off the engine n armed alarm. just to light up the front of the car for brighter path for owner. if u r in ur car n on the headlight, its just "switch on the stupid light", term follow-me-home isnt apply when u in ur car -.-"

• henryee on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:12 am

[quote comment="221321"][quote comment="221318"]what is 'follow me home headlamps'?[/quote]

:) i think the name 'follow-me-home' is not suitable… we sit behind the headlamp in the car… :) i suggest 'ligth-me-up' headlamp[/quote]

It is a light from the car's headlamp (where u already turn off the engine), and it'll lights up for about 25 seconds, in order to light ur ways up to the door of ur home,

• aku bagi fakta jer…. 3PPM is the actual figure seriously.

• The Unicons (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:20 am

Wow, I kinda like the Proton's BCM. Well, I really hope Proton will put this feature into all their new models at least as optional accessories or for medium and high line variants for each model.

How about in their Gen.2 replacement, Waja replacement, Persona replacement and Satria Neo replacement? Err…. Saga too perhaps. Hahaha…. Well, that will be cool. Really cool.

As what Paul has said, I also hope Proton will add other features such as automatic headlamps and rain sensing wipers to the BCM systems.

All the best to Proton!

• arr_TanSri on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:21 am

[quote comment="221328"]

It is a light from the car's headlamp (where u already turn off the engine), and it'll lights up for about 25 seconds, in order to light ur ways up to the door of ur home,[/quote]

it's a good feature indeed… can i switch it off?… i'll always park my car infront of my restaurant… sure many of my client will say " tokey, lampu lupa tutup ka?…" hahaha

• arr_TanSri on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:24 am

[quote comment="221333"]…Proton will add other features such as automatic headlamps and rain sensing wipers to the BCM systems.

All the best to Proton![/quote]

i wonder how a car with this feature drive through automatic car-wash? and the driver forgot to switch it off… :)

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:25 am

[quote comment="221334"][quote comment="221328"]

It is a light from the car's headlamp (where u already turn off the engine), and it'll lights up for about 25 seconds, in order to light ur ways up to the door of ur home,[/quote]

it's a good feature indeed… can i switch it off?… i'll always park my car infront of my restaurant… sure many of my client will say " tokey, lampu lupa tutup ka?…" hahaha[/quote]

haha js say, proton bcm ma, tak tau meh? :P

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:29 am

[quote comment="221334"][quote comment="221328"]

it's a good feature indeed… can i switch it off?… i'll always park my car infront of my restaurant… sure many of my client will say " tokey, lampu lupa tutup ka?…" hahaha[/quote]

it turns off automatically after a short duration.. some cars are 25 secs, some 40…etc.

• osh_kosh on Mar 17, 2009 at 12:45 am

[quote comment="221320"][quote comment="221291"][quote comment="221274"]in gear pickup goes to (butt o meter)

1 rondo

2 innova

3 avanza

4 livina

5 exora.[/quote]

coz to me, butt-o-meter doesnt mean sitting on your butt in front of your computer screen and typing.[/quote]

roughLY.

and also theres data of kg/hp, where this case exora is the winner….[/quote]

bro… i think u don't understand the data… Exora is not a winner there… it's kilogram per horsepower meaning that how much 'weight of the car + 7ppl' compare to hp produce by the vehicles… it mean that the lesser kg per hp is preferred.. not higher… 1hp = 745Watt & u can't change it, in this case all vehicles will be compare base on 1hp… if u r 'pulling' a much heavier load with the same power then obviously u r not in great shape… get it?

• Proud2BMalaysian on Mar 17, 2009 at 1:02 am

Check out the price here: http://www.proton-edar.com.my/onlinebooking/index…

• good improvements.

• moha774 on Mar 17, 2009 at 1:19 am

I've read somewhere, where Syed Zainal, in a Press conference said that the MPV FC are targetted to be comparable or better than similar midsize MPV from Japan… anyone?? I personally think he is talking about Livina 1.6.. or could it be Grand Livina 1.8 ??… open for guessing

• BCM is good in a way that only premium makes has it .

i hope proton make a good publicity on this one as they didn't really advertise all those small features they got in the gen2 or neo as compared to Toyota and Honda who alwasy advertise their small things …

selling in malaysia means pople care about all those features .

however , when we compare it to innova, it isn't underpowered much . the ratio is almost there , doesn't differ much .

if you were to compare to avanza , let's take the 1.3avanza as comparision. it is even worse off in terms of it's weight-power ratio.

of course it will be underpowered , but are you transporting your people in a rush way? paultan first review is based on people onboard, when there is single person in the car, i think the acceleration will be quite ok.

let's get the fact right , this is an mpv. it isn't a SuperMPV like elgrand and alphard, it is a MPV as people mover .

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 1:34 am

[quote comment="221228"]"The MPV actually has to pull along the most kg per Newton meter of torque, though its actually by only a small margin of about slightly over 1kg compared to the Innova"

The 1kg is already divided into ratio, and 1kg is almost 100kg heavier than G.Livina! 100kg mean that the MPV have to work hard to move the car, which in the chart you can see the ratio is not working good againt Exora. Proton must improve the Torque and not hp.[/quote]

Its not almost 100KG like you mentioned. Its 135KG different.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 1:38 am

[quote comment="221253"]10% less undertorque i guess. well maybe change the airfilter will just do it.

regarding FC, well..maybe u just have to go for a surgery to get rid excessive flesh in ur foot.

OR..proton might just surprise us on the launch date there will be turbo in the cps. *fingerscrossed.[/quote]

The manufacturer would have done it 10 years ago if you can increase the 10% by just changing the airfilter (and with out any side effect). I don't believe you can get a free ride by just changing the air filter.

• mokkf82 on Mar 17, 2009 at 1:44 am

[quote comment="221338"][quote comment="221334"][quote comment="221328"]

it turns off automatically after a short duration.. some cars are 25 secs, some 40…etc.[/quote]

Gosh~!.. so many features..

Hey, i thought of something, why not put a sign and tell other "lampu tutup automatic", i believe ppl will stop telling u this.

Must test out this car when it comes out.

• Littlefire on Mar 17, 2009 at 1:54 am

Changing full flow air-filter does improve hp & torque, but the problem is not until 10% more.. if they is no proper tuning..

The best way to improve is to add in low-pressure turbo, or supercharger. the most i think add another RM5-10k depending on turbo type, intercooler, lower pressure piston and tuning should be ok and running. If turbo is expensive, why VW is going for turbo for a mass-produce company?

• Noname Takadanama on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:00 am

So theoretically the Exora has a better power-to-weight ratio compared to the Livina. Still, as Paul had mentioned, this is not a true measure of the car's performance (we must take into account the gear ratios, performance curves and what not). After all, there are lots of other factors to be considered in deciding on which car to go for. Let's wait for the launch so we can share our verdicts on the test drive! =)

• [quote comment="221343"][quote comment="221320"][quote comment="221291"][quote comment="221274"]in gear pickup goes to (butt o meter)

1 rondo

2 innova

3 avanza

4 livina

5 exora.[/quote]

roughLY.

and also theres data of kg/hp, where this case exora is the winner….[/quote]

bro… i think u don't understand the data… Exora is not a winner there… it's kilogram per horsepower meaning that how much 'weight of the car + 7ppl' compare to hp produce by the vehicles… it mean that the lesser kg per hp is preferred.. not higher… 1hp = 745Watt & u can't change it, in this case all vehicles will be compare base on 1hp… if u r 'pulling' a much heavier load with the same power then obviously u r not in great shape… get it?[/quote]

winner means its the lightest per hp. compare to other,

under high rev in launching the exora it may surge quite fast.it could win.

ofcourse its not what we want. burning clutch. and the engine work too hard.

but if short shift action pulling from traffic light, like everyday ,that time you hp is not the main concern anymore,

in torque exora loosing out, because its the heaviest per unit torque,

so in gear acceleration rondo might be the best.

and i dont think i dont understand what to imagine by looking at the table.

• naz3em on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:16 am

it is a great mpv.larger than innova.but chery eastar is also a competitor.it has longer wheelbase among all with 2800mm.but the styling is bad.the price is alslo a factor why it can be a competitor.

• Littlefire on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:19 am

[quote comment="221365"][quote comment="221362"][quote comment="221340"][quote comment="221294"][quote comment="221289"]avanza is a much better car[/quote]

dude, you really have to learn to express yourself more.[/quote]

Please forgive my friend here, he's not a clever man. You see, he don't understand numbers and tables and statistics. Me and my pals always think of him as a laughing stock. We like to hear the darndest things he said. LOL[/quote]

Maybe he is a toyota avanza salesman.[/quote]

Even Avanza salesman won't say 'clever' thing like that.[/quote]

Coz Avanza is under Toyota and they don't sell by using facts but using the 'T' brand! That why branding is important right?

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:23 am

[quote comment="221305"]kang letak enjin besor harga mahal… korang bising plak.. haihhhh .. serba tak kena…[/quote]

Honda Stream 2.0 without Tax is around 80K (not really talking about price before tax here). The reason I mention price before tax is to say that Honda managed to buy the material and turn it into an MPV with 2.0 engine plus some profit and price it at around 80K (before tax).

My point is. Why can't Proton design and equip Exora with the same standard as Honda Stream and Put in Modern 2.0 engine and price it at say, 84K? and 1.8 Version at 78K? Don't tell me they need to price Exora over 100K++ for doing just the same thing as what Honda did with 80K?

I know about economy of scale. That is why I give Proton a leeway up until 84K as oppose to Honda 80K.

• frederick teng on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:24 am

Well done Proton. I only have a Kancil now but I have 4 kids. Just wish I can really get my dream car………….My PROTON EXORA……………..but I just don't have the money…………….YET! I'll pray hard so I can get one from Proton one day. I TRUST YOU PROTON.

"People who learn from mistakes are better people" just a reflection for all who likes to look negatively about anything.

I believe when we look into the negative things in life for a day, we've actually missed all the wonderful things the past years.

I salute Proton.

True Malaysian.

• hybriddust on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:24 am

Tap feature for the signal indicator stalk. This is similiar to alot of modern cars – you just have to tap the indicator stalk (not press fully) for the signal to flash 3 times to indicate a lane change and stop automatically, no need to press fully to turn on and reach for it again to deactivate it.

– Another good feature from all the carmakers, except that I notice that most of us drivers just don't bother to tap on the signal stick whenever they are changing lane, entering a junction.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:26 am

[quote comment="221369"][quote comment="221365"][quote comment="221362"][quote comment="221340"][quote comment="221294"][quote comment="221289"]avanza is a much better car[/quote]

dude, you really have to learn to express yourself more.[/quote]

Please forgive my friend here, he's not a clever man. You see, he don't understand numbers and tables and statistics. Me and my pals always think of him as a laughing stock. We like to hear the darndest things he said. LOL[/quote]

Maybe he is a toyota avanza salesman.[/quote]

Even Avanza salesman won't say 'clever' thing like that.[/quote]

Coz Avanza is under Toyota and they don't sell by using facts but using the 'T' brand! That why branding is important right?[/quote]

Brand is important but any in their right mind would go for Exora instead of Avanza. The problem is, we don't have that much of a user who is in the right mind. :D

• freddo on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:28 am

Can't wait for the launching.

Can't sleep well at night. Too excited i guess.

• Ariefin on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:28 am

Maybe just to give some overview of the Toyota Innova, Avanza and Grand Livina.

However Paul mentioned that the CPS engine of the Exora is a little bit lethargic, I do like to know how it rates here in Indonesia. and I am curious about the power delivery of the Exora. Just for information I have driven these three cars in full passenger mode and what I can say is that the Innova has a greater capacity but has a very lousy Fuel Consumption. Power wise it is not really that great either unless, it is smooth however but it lacks the punch of a 2 liter engine. The Avanza has great power delivery for city driving but going to the Toll Road it is crap, it revs to high for my personal view. 100 km/h at 4000 rpm??? The final gear has been very large to compensate the 1.3 L engine, unless you drive the Avanza 1.5S

The Grand Livina we have in Indonesia is the 1.5 and 1.8. I have driven the 1.5 and I can say that it handels little bit better than the Innova, more saloon like and power delivery is adequate. Fuel consumption is way better.

But downpart is that all three of them lack the equipment for their price range.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:33 am

[quote comment="221372"]Well done Proton. I only have a Kancil now but I have 4 kids. Just wish I can really get my dream car………….My PROTON EXORA……………..but I just don't have the money…………….YET! I'll pray hard so I can get one from Proton one day. I TRUST YOU PROTON.

"People who learn from mistakes are better people" just a reflection for all who likes to look negatively about anything.

I believe when we look into the negative things in life for a day, we've actually missed all the wonderful things the past years.

I salute Proton.

True Malaysian.[/quote]

4 kids? You are a luck guy. I also want to have 4 kids (2 + 2) but need to get married first at the end of this year. Would consider to get my self an MPV sometime next year. (Quite) Ugly Honda freed is one of the candidates.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:36 am

[quote comment="221379"]Maybe just to give some overview of the Toyota Innova, Avanza and Grand Livina.

However Paul mentioned that the CPS engine of the Exora is a little bit lethargic, I do like to know how it rates here in Indonesia. and I am curious about the power delivery of the Exora. Just for information I have driven these three cars in full passenger mode and what I can say is that the Innova has a greater capacity but has a very lousy Fuel Consumption. Power wise it is not really that great either unless, it is smooth however but it lacks the punch of a 2 liter engine. The Avanza has great power delivery for city driving but going to the Toll Road it is crap, it revs to high for my personal view. 100 km/h at 4000 rpm??? The final gear has been very large to compensate the 1.3 L engine, unless you drive the Avanza 1.5S

The Grand Livina we have in Indonesia is the 1.5 and 1.8. I have driven the 1.5 and I can say that it handels little bit better than the Innova, more saloon like and power delivery is adequate. Fuel consumption is way better.

But downpart is that all three of them lack the equipment for their price range.[/quote]

Since Innova is ladder chassis MPV, that is why it is so heavy and return worst FC. I think we can safely rule it out from the comparison.

Personally, I don't think Avanza is fit to face Exora.

• stanley on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:47 am

[quote comment="221323"][quote comment="221309"]but thanks to Proton introduce this name "Follow-me-home headlamps",[/quote]

the follow me home lights are actually a very common feature in many European cars.

stanley, the feature basically leaves your headlights on for a short duration after you've turned off the engine and exited the vehicle. its supposed to give you some light to go to your front door and get inside your house.[/quote]

Thanks, and i think it was first used in citroen DS

• keretakura on Mar 17, 2009 at 2:56 am

1.8 or 2.0 for EXORA …. would be just nice.

• If Indonesians can accept EXORA; DSZ and Proton will be the happiest person on earth as they easily can sell over 100,000 per year. Enough said.

By the way, another version of higher end EXORA (like Alphard-Velfire) with everything customize would be better. Cool rear and front end design will help to boost sale (especially with more torque).

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:06 am

Personally,i think,this Exora is well compared to Glivina 1.6..(in term of eng displacement,mid size, practicality and pricing)..for me,its NO WAY to compare with avanza..for me,avanza is overated as a ppl choice..(just bcoz mostly msian hv no choice to buy an mpv at affordable price)

but frankly,'T' hv made big money bcoz of this scenario..

• Kevin on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:09 am

uhmm… this is really promising feature so called an Intelligent Module System. Very impressive indeed!

This car will sell like hot cake even in this crisis economic.

• infinite on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:53 am

"If you perform any sudden braking at speeds of at least 96km/h, the hazard lights will flash automatically. "

isnt this quite weird? I mean sometimes we do sudden braking on the fast lane on highways when further front is having traffic jam (take for example the mahameru highway – some blindspot corners on fast lane)

does it flashes permanently or just a few times? or the sudden braking here means brakes slammed to the extreme?

• 7213209 (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:55 am

orang yang ada ramai anak e.g 3-5 orang rasa-rasanya tak pikir sangat pasal power. lagipun bukan hari2 kena panjat genting or karak highway. janji selesa boleh muat semua orang. so those yg can't afford for estima or alphard, i think exora is a good choice. lain orang lain yg dicari. so it"s up to individu to decide.

• TheOne on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:56 am

hey… wth is an MPV that seats 7 and weighs about up to 1.9 tons doing with a 1.6 engine????? shld be more of a 2.0…. malaysia always gets cars with smaller engines compared with other countries… :(

• r iskandar on Mar 17, 2009 at 4:14 am

anyone know where to buy and fix a low pressure turbo unit ? and how much is the price. looks like with enough torque at the low end, the exora is almost perfect. good size, handles well, quiet interior.

• gopotter on Mar 17, 2009 at 4:17 am

body looks like taken Mitsibishi Grandis but inside dashboard is normal only. until now dont know the actual price from RM ?k, at least anounce it from 1.6L RM 6x,xxx to 7x,xxx k.

if really 1.6 with the heavyweight body + campro engine + 7people seats inside = what do you think ? ? ?

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 4:37 am

it seems proton has put a lot of effort to make this one of the best MPV that u can get in Malaysia ..

good job Proton !!

• [quote comment="221371"]

Honda Stream 2.0 without Tax is around 80K (not really talking about price before tax here). The reason I mention price before tax is to say that Honda managed to buy the material and turn it into an MPV with 2.0 engine plus some profit and price it at around 80K (before tax).

My point is. Why can't Proton design and equip Exora with the same standard as Honda Stream and Put in Modern 2.0 engine and price it at say, 84K? and 1.8 Version at 78K? Don't tell me they need to price Exora over 100K++ for doing just the same thing as what Honda did with 80K?

I know about economy of scale. That is why I give Proton a leeway up until 84K as oppose to Honda 80K.[/quote]

This is because Honda Stream price 150K in Malaysia, it cant makes lower to 80K here. Ppt so pain to spend 150K to own a 80K staff. Only Avanza and upcoming "Myvi Panjang" could compare with Exora in Malaysia, AND ONLY IN MALAYSIA. Look at below, you think Exora will success in oversea with those staff? Proton should do more.

A Japan minivan price in Japan including jp tax in Ringgit Malaysia exchange;

Toyota Passo Sette 56K~77K

Daihatsu Boon Luminas 58K~78K

Toyota Sienta 59K~74K

Honda Freed 62K~85K

Toyota Wish 65K~89K

Mazda Premacy 67K~89K

Honda Stream 68K~96K

Toyota Isis 68K~104K

Nissan Lafesta 72K~95K

Subaru Exiga 75K~105K

Toyota Voxy 75K~106K

Toyota Noah 75K~106K

Honda Step Wagon 75K~128K

Nissan Serena 82K~117K

Mazda Biante 83K~101K

Mitsubishi Grandis 83K~107K

Suzuki Landy 84K~106K

Toyota Ipsum 85K~114K

Mazda MPV 94K~135K

Nissan Presage 97K~118K

Toyota Markx X Zio 97K~126K

Honda Odyssey 98K~136K

Mitsubishi Delica D:5 99K~138K

Toyota Estima 103K~190K

Honda Elysion 110K~143K

Toyota Vellfire 113K~176K

Toyota Alphard 113K~176K

Honda Elysion Prestige 119K~173K

P/S: The Toyota Avanza is an Indonesian designed mini MPV produced in Indonesia and also assembled in Malaysia, with supervision from Toyota. Avanza didnt sold in Japan, Its target to Asia and other county.

• So is it avanza for 3rd world ppl maybe? downgraded with its so branded 'T' Badged? its my opinion…no offense…

• Y still compare the spec ?? Even all the reader also know the Proton Exora expensive then Nissan Livina or others cars, if government dint extra charge for import car.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:19 am

[quote comment="221421"][quote comment="221371"]

I know about economy of scale. That is why I give Proton a leeway up until 84K as oppose to Honda 80K.[/quote]

This is because Honda Stream price 150K in Malaysia, it cant makes lower to 80K here. Ppt so pain to spend 150K to own a 80K staff. Only Avanza and upcoming "Myvi Panjang" could compare with Exora in Malaysia, AND ONLY IN MALAYSIA. Look at below, you think Exora will success in oversea with those staff? Proton should do more.[/quote]

Agree with you bro. With current specs technology, Exora's price should be at least 10K lower.

• [quote comment="221289"]avanza is a much better car[/quote]

you're a perodua salesman or something?

Drive the car first bro…if u feel the same way,then by all means restate your opinion

Unless the car is not out,let's bite our tongue.Takut kena telan ludah sendiri

• nabill on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:23 am

before u know it , he owns a Rusa !

• nabill on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:36 am

there are taxes here so LIVE WITH IT….u cant say if no taxes then estima or stream worth less…its redundant….applicable in fantasy world or wen taxes are totally abolished which is hard to believe…so lets not dwell

• infinity (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:50 am

my family owns an avanza 1.3 A/T..and ever since we got this MPV, my family loves MPVs..(of course not because of its handling..avanza’s handling very bad and sometimes scary)..we love the space and practicality..once we transported one washing machine from my hometown, taiping to KL with 5 ppl (including driver) on board..FC also not bad..

i believe in terms of performance, this exora will be much better than avanza 1.3..since my family feels avanza 1.3 is ok, adequate power, thus i dun see any problem with exora..and we r really looking forward for it..cant wait for a test drive!!

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:09 am

[quote comment="221435"]there are taxes here so LIVE WITH IT….u cant say if no taxes then estima or stream worth less…its redundant….applicable in fantasy world or wen taxes are totally abolished which is hard to believe…so lets not dwell[/quote]

I think you missed the point. The point is people want something worth the money from Proton. If Honda can sell Stream 2.0 for 80K (before tax) then we want something more or less like that for our 80K from Proton. Its not like we are dream of something like the G abolish the tax overnight.

Currently what we get is something worth around 60K at most, at the price tag of a little below 80K

• upinipin on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:18 am

[quote comment="202894"]Si-fu said,

cars-addict,

if u feel this looks good, wait till u see the other 'side' of this baby….btw just to remind u, this MPV has nothing to do with the grandis ya!!! Regarding the engine, it wont be as u expected, but be prepared for a suprise!!!!

Cheers![/quote]

I quoted sifu's comment on 20/1/09. It gave me the impression that the engine will be more than 1.6 Campro CPS , perhaps it comes light turbo or something like it.

Test drive by journalists have been done, seems the powertrain is still an issue here. I wonder whether that's the final engine we'll get or there will be a surprise during the launch, as stated by sifu?

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:24 am

But from what I heard it will take quite sometime before the Turbo version makes its debut.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:26 am

"If in SLOW mode, the front wiper changes mode to INT mode when you bring the MPV to a complete stop, let’s say in a traffic jam in the rain. "

is the SLOW mode the 2nd fastest mode??if yes, i dun think it's so good…there are times when the rain is heavy but not tat heavy tat u need to use the fast mode…at the same time, using INT will be too slow…so when u stop, the wiper slows down to INT mode, and making u unable to see clearly..can these BCM be personalised??or is it set by PROTON?

the rest of the BCM seems good and useful!!

btw paul, will there be a GPS device for the H-Line?

• infinity (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:34 am

wat all of us hope:

now proton sengaja let those journalists to test and say the power not enough etc etc…then when launch, Proton will surprise us with a better engine, perhaps SC or TC..or anything else…

i know this is very unlikely as already printed on the newspapers the power and torque at 125hp and 150Nm respectively…but no harm hoping right?hahaha

• carman on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:39 am

i see some comments that say Proton r good.. i think they r

damn rite and spot ON. so, it bout time for the govt to reduce the

tax rate for non-national cars.. make it an equal playing field..

any seconder?

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:43 am

[quote comment="221456"]i see some comments that say Proton r good.. i think they r

any seconder?[/quote]

I second that. But surely Proton will die overnight and Proton fanboys will not second your suggestion unless they are thinking of abandon ship. :D

• KickingDust on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:59 am

Dear Paul.

Please note the table calculation for Brake Horse Power of the Exora and all the other vehicles are incorrect calculations.

The Exora is using BHP (125) * commonly used in UK & US for Power Output and all the other Japanese makes Outputs are in PS (This unit is in German: Pferdestärke = horse strength) are note the same.

Hence, the figures in the table need to recalculated to either BHP or PS for a direct comparison. The average weight Kg / BHP is also incorrect.

1PS = 0.9863bhp @ = 0.7355kW

Cheers

• Paul Tan on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:02 am

It's only meant to give a rough idea and the figures are rounded up to two decimal points anyway.

• kelvinL on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:05 am

i read proton exora review from cbt, they mentioned among other features are keyless entry. paul, can explain that for me, thks

• Paul Tan on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:10 am

keyless entry is when you open your car without using your key, but just press a button on the remote. normal remote unlocking :) afaik it does not have a proximity sensor like on the high-end latio.

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:14 am

I LOVE MALAYSIA! I LOVE ALL MALAYSIANS. I LOVE and SUPPORT all things MALAYSIA, but sometimes I do criticize, CONSTRUCTIVELY! Certainly NOT BLINDLY as many has done here, for it shows their own ugly lack of self-confidence, unsecureness and selfishness in themselves. They are the ones who would shoot their own foot, just to get some attention. So to you all, I have this to say,"Think, and think thoroughly, before you pull the trigger and hurt yourself".

Chiao!

• gattaca on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:27 am

and there's again about the price without tax??? aiyohhhh please.

its not about dreaming or what u should have with that kind of price at overseas..but… mmg dah kena tax… live with it.

n for people that can afford Estima, Alphard or whatsoever, please give some fair comparison. dont make people laugh at u until the jaws drop…

• S-Vee-four on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:30 am

Seems to be putting quite a lot of things in one basket with this BCM.

Hope there is sufficient fail-safe modes in the module in the event of failures.

• KickingDust on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:52 am

Paul,
    The figures may look small, but if you were convert Exora's 125BHP to PS, the Exora will end up being closest to 127PS and the Innova will drop by 134BHP instead of overstating it as 136BHP. (there is actually a discrepency of 2BHP)

The Exora results is actually better of with correct tabulations.

Cheers,

• evilunatic on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:10 am

Proton Exora HL (A/T) (Tentative) RM 76,000.00

Proton Exora ML (A/T) (Tentative) RM 72,000.00

• proton lover on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:13 am

Cool…sounds interesting….juz cant wait for it to be released…

there are so many functions for a MPV……good job Proton!!

• [quote comment="221459"]i see some comments that say Proton rrrrr good.. i think they r

any seconder?[/quote]

i doubt our G will do that.. since it lessen their income by reducing the taxes…

anyway, i think if u guys familiar with purchasing, the more item u buy, u eventually get those cheaper, if ur terms are longer, so the cost will be higher. u pay peanut, u get monkey. thats what it is about in malaysia.

some items or spare parts cant get from local supplier, even there's 1, they will mark the price up. malaysian style. Anyone know the profit margin of each proton cars? proton tag their line up with their own reason.

anyway, im kinda out of the topic.

i just wanna say if the car is ok to u, u think its reliable and useful compare with other models, go ahead no one force u. if u think this car sux for some reason, please comment here, but remember to test drive before u guys comment. its to show some fairness to proton.

comment without try = blind basher = blank brains

back to exora,

Good comparison with other Mpvs.

every car with full load will expect low-power. even my persona with 5 adults with full luggage also hard to climb genting. 2nd gear- 3rd gear. 3k-4k rpm.

MPV are meant for safe family mover, powerful or not, isnt an issue.

even some say G-livina underpower while full load, i still seeing alot G-livina on the street of KL. meaning, power not the 1st thought for most MPV buyer.

peace.

• shahzane on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:37 am

IMHO, whatever it is, Proton is definitely going in the right direction. I for one support them fully. I bought a Savvy as a second car and have so far been very happy with it. it's simply a joy to drive and own. heck.sometimes, i think it even beat my vios in some areas. this is not to say that the car is perfect. I've heard stories of nightmares other savvy owners had to endure. but that is the QC issues which I think Proton should and is improving right now. I've had the chance to compare drive naza suria and myvi and i think savvy is way better than these cars….

my point is, proton is definitely not perfect. there LOTS of improvement to be made to improve on the overall ownership experience of Proton buyers. but seeing them try to come out with a good product such as the Exora is great. it gives us more option to choose from and the other manufacturer will then also have to buck up in order to compete. this is great for us, the end user, isn't it?so, instead of mindless comments, I think we should give them a PAT in the back whenever they're going in the right direction or a SLAP in the face whenever they forgot that we, the buyers, are the one who will be providing the money for their monthly paycheck. What say you?

• now we know why the livina rarely feels underpowered despite having only 109 hp. its power to weight ratio is the best in the class!

• [quote comment="221459"]i see some comments that say Proton rrrrr good.. i think they r

any seconder?[/quote]

wow , good suggestion , since many ppl are supporting proton

i think reduce some tax can make the market more active ,like reduce 10% of excise duty

• muryadi on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:09 am

[quote comment=”221381″]
    4 kids? You are a luck guy. I also want to have 4 kids (2 + 2) but need to get married first at the end of this year. Would consider to get my self an MPV sometime next year. (Quite) Ugly Honda freed is one of the candidates.[/quote]

No wonder your views, expectations and priority of this MPV are slightly different from others.

You are still not married and that’s mean you also be able to wait at least for another 5 more years for a MPV.

For you, perhaps a powerful or much more power type of engine for a MPV will than be enough rather than an adequate engine one.

Sorry, for dislike your style before.

• mystvearn on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:21 am

# All doors unlock automatically upon a crash via a signal coming from the airbag control unit.

should be changed to When put to Park then doors are unlock. What happens is, people get agitated having to wait for the driver spending time to remove the key from the ignition. Honda now uses this feature.

I can say that most of the features are almost similar to honda, and some are even better. Looks like this car is really setup for comfort and not power.

• darkwizard on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:27 am

Its purely marketing strategy. Launch the lower power model at best price as possible..next time when bigger power engine out then can position it at more expensive price. Just like Waja Campro VS Waja Campro CPS price. So if customers complain too expensive then there is a cheaper alternative (lower power version).

• menawan on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:45 am

# Front and rear wiper washer drip wiping – automatically wipe to remove excess water. What happens is when you operate the front washer, it will wipe 4 times and then pause for 5 seconds and then wipe one more time, to remove all the excess water effectively. This is because some of the washer liquid from the top of the windscreen will slowly drip down after the initial wiping, so the last wipe completely removes the washer water.

# Programmable front wiper interval. This can be anything from 1 seconds to 25 seconds. The default is 4 seconds. This is how you program it – you put it into INT and then back to off. Then you wait for the duration you want and turn switch it to INT again. The time duration you waited will become the new interval, up to a max of 25 seconds.

Y so long to describe this inteli things

• [quote comment="221495"][quote comment="221459"]i see some comments that say Proton rrrrr good.. i think they r

any seconder?[/quote]

i think reduce some tax can make the market more active ,like reduce 10% of excise duty[/quote]

Protron is the best. woooo… Forever Protron. You have smart kid Saga, cue baby Sarvy, handsome boy Persona, speedy cat Neo, family lover mother Exora… coming soon with big brother Waja… And father still in hiding Perdana… Yeah, all the best you have. So proud with Proton.

• si-fu (Member) on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:00 pm

Just to add some more info on the BCM….

1) when u enter the keys an turn on, apart from the remote batt, the screen will also display the car batt indicator. A low batt, for either will be indicated with the word 'LO'. This is on the right LCD screen on the meter cluster.

2)About the unlocking the drivers door only, by default the alarm will unlock all doors. To program to unlock the driver door only, one must press the both lock and unlock button together, until the car signal lamp flashes once. When this happens, it means, the programming is succesful, and when u press the unlock button, it unlockes the driver's door only, and when u press it again, it unlockes all the doors. To set back to default, simply press both the lock and unlock button together again until the signal lamp flashes once. This feature was programmed, so that when u drive ur car alone, it will reduce the risk of theft and intrusion into the car via passenger doors.

3) On the left LCD display on the meter cluster, there are 4 menu's

– Time travelled

– Distance to empty

– Average fuel consumption

– Instantenous fuel consumption (u can know exactly how much fuel u r using at a particular instant, good for practising eco driving habits)

By default, the screen will display the time travelled, to toggle better the menus, first press the button until the right hand LCD displays the ODO. Then hold it until the left LCD blinks, once it starts blinking u can toggle between all 4 menus by just one press. The right LCD displays the gear postion for auto, ODO, Trip A and Trip B. And as i said be4, for the first initial few seconds when u turn ur key on, it displays the car battery and remote battery level.

4) The demister and the fog lamp indicator is placed on the meter cluster, so u can always check without looking at the buttons on the center dash.

5)The meter combi itself illuminates (all the time its on) when u put ur keys into the barrel, an it illuminates by fading in and fading out so that at night it will be easy on your eyes.

6) Usual stuff – there will be a buzzer sound if the keys are in the barrel, and the driver door is open, and the engine is not started.

7) Usual stuff – there will be a buzzer sound if the head lights are on when the key is taken off the barrel. If this is ignored, and the car is locked, then the BCM kicks in the batt saving mode, where ur lights will be off 30 seconds after u lock ur car.

Ok now, enuf with the BCM, lets go the weight….looks like many of you still skeptical about the engine and the performance. Some info:-

1) The weight qouted, 1380kg is for H-Line AT (including leather seats, dvd, etc, etc). The point is, the other lower versions will be lighter.

2) The gearbox final drive ratio (both AT n MT) is tweaked to give good low end performance for the car.

3) The ECU + TCU has been programmed to use its AI capibilities to the best to cater for all sorts of driving style, especially in the normal driving RPM region (2000 to 3500 rpm)

4) The throttle and throttle body is programmed to give the best response and the sensivity changes to the load and needs of the driver and engine. Again the AI working here.

I would suggest everyone, rather then just cakap kosong, once the car is launched, book a test drive and try it yourself! Everyone has a definition of 'underpowered'. If you compare it with a sedan or a saloon, ur might get different perception, if you compare it with a sports car, then you get a different perception also….and if you comapre it between MPV'S!!!!….u will get a different perception also…..i think u guys shud understand what i am telling here……HOW MANY OF US HAS ACTUALLY EVER DRIVEN A MPV? AND HOW MANY OF US HAVE EVER DRIVEN A MPV WITH 7 ADULTS????…..So what i would suggest here, go to Nissan, bring along 6 friends and together with you, test drive the Livina with 7 onboard….then go to Toyota, with the same frens, test drive the Avanza 1.3, 1.5 and the Innova. Then go to KIA showroom, with the same frens, test drive the Rondo. Then when the MPV launches, get a test drive, with the same frens, test drive the Exora. Then MAKE A JUDGEMENT! Dont simply come in here, bark like dog at a tree when you have never even driven a MPV in your entire life, more over with 7 ADULTS onboard! If you ever want to give a fair comment, do what i have suggested, then give your opinio. An APPLE has to be ALWAYS compared to AN APPLE! Dont be foolish Malaysian's, try to change….be smart in comparing, choosing and deciding. Be analytical, dont always think with ur EMOTIONS, think with ur BRAINS!

Cheers!

• kucau on Mar 17, 2009 at 3:50 pm

I strongly believe proton intentionally gave journalist 1.6 CPS to toy with. I believe they will surprise the consumer with CPS 1.8 . A good marketing strategy, let the journalist say something about under slight underpower and boom the sales with 1.8 CPS. I smell something fishy on si-fu stament. Anybody wanna bet with me??

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 17, 2009 at 4:25 pm

I don't know.

On paper it looks really underpowered. I test drove the Rondo when it launched and it felt sluggish. And we had only 3 in the car (Wife, Me and the Salesman). I would say power from the 2.0L is marely adequate.

I would suppose you wont enjoy driving it very much equipped with an auto. Top speed is inconsequential here, sometimes you will need the power to pass safely or merge into highways and fast traffic.

I think the rumoured turbo version would be a better bet.

As for the BCM, it might be fine and dandy if everything was working right, but these control units are prone to reliability issues no matter who makes them – so i'm tarring every one with the same brush, extremely difficult to troubleshoot (you will need a certified diagnostic computer), and expensive to repair. Most of these issues are intemittent possibly from bad grounding that would have your local mechanic tear his hair out.

This is the bane of most Continental marques. Do we really want this in a simple Proton?

• barca on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:12 pm

[quote comment="221206"]First!!!…ahahahhaha…..[/quote]

[quote comment="221208"]Second….anyway, good preview! So many features![/quote]

just wondering, are you guys getting any prizes for posting first and second?

grow up. seriously.

anyway, back to the topic at hand.

#The doors will lock automatically once you reach a speed of 20km/h. i consider this feature as long overdue and should be a standard on future proton models. i reckon this is a cue from continental cars (peugeot 206 comes to mind!) for the safety of occupants from unwanted opening of doors, especially when the car is stationary.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:24 pm

[quote comment="221448"]

Test drive by journalists have been done, seems the powertrain is still an issue here. I wonder whether that's the final engine we'll get or there will be a surprise during the launch, as stated by sifu?[/quote]

did you actually read all the reports properly including paul's?

it doesn't really give me the impression that the powertrain is a real issue at all. my own personal experience with mpvs, was driving a 2.0 wish to genting, and with only 4 adults, and 2 children. the car was also sluggish. 1st and 2nd gear was the order of the day. does that mean the wish has serious powertrain issues? I dont think so. it still got me up and down safely at a consistent pace. definitely not flying up like in my car, but it did the job adequately.

• newbie on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:24 pm

[quote comment="221542"]I don't know.

On paper it looks really underpowered. I test drove the Rondo when it launched and it felt sluggish. And we had only 3 in the car (Wife, Me and the Salesman). I would say power from the 2.0L is marely adequate.

I would suppose you wont enjoy driving it very much equipped with an auto. Top speed is inconsequential here, sometimes you will need the power to pass safely or merge into highways and fast traffic.

As for the BCM, it might be fine and dandy if everything was working right, but these control units are prone to reliability issues no matter who makes them – so i'm tarring every one with the same brush, extremely difficult to troubleshoot (you will need a certified diagnostic computer), and expensive to repair. Most of these issues are intemittent possibly from bad grounding that would have your local mechanic tear his hair out.

This is the bane of most Continental marques. Do we really want this in a simple Proton?[/quote]

Bane of most continental marques?…hmmm I wonder why the european still using it. I know why!! because it is so unreliable, that why they kept using it!

• Kevin on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:25 pm

[quote comment="221519"][quote comment="221495"][quote comment="221459"]i see some comments that say Proton rrrrr good.. i think they r

any seconder?[/quote]

i think reduce some tax can make the market more active ,like reduce 10% of excise duty[/quote]

Protron is the best. woooo… Forever Protron. You have smart kid Saga, cue baby Sarvy, handsome boy Persona, speedy cat Neo, family lover mother Exora… coming soon with big brother Waja… And father still in hiding Perdana… Yeah, all the best you have. So proud with Proton.[/quote]

You kinda right. But what about Proton Arena/Jumbuck? What they should called? Mr.Uncle? By the way, are they goin to do the facelift version?

• zanggief on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Huhhhh…a good explain.

On the topic of power output, I believe it will be more powerful if [email protected] engine can be installed. If not, quite exhausted for the power block to pull such a heavy fully loaded mpv.

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:29 pm

i just bought a vios spec S. before i made my decision, i have done my survey and have test drived on city, sentra, vios. Also proton but wihout test drive ( (gen2-persona, waja).

Then, I have found that the proton car gives more goodies inside the car (i read the spec) with a low price such as auto cruise or HID lamp (waja). auto cruise in vios and city like a diamond to them, susah sgt nk kasi kat spec murah.

But finally, i choose vios because:-

1. City – City has good look and specs, but due to its 'cekik darah' and stuck up price and no any special promotion, i think to buy city is 'tidak berbaloi' and 'buang duit saja-saja'. dalam pun biasa2 saja such as no optiron meter, old look center dashboard, no remote trunk and high revs while u driving. yang best pun hanya ada paddle shift and AUX hole in the radio for Ipod and USB.

2. Proton – we can see persona like 'lalat hurung najis' on the road (so many), waja with old face with botox (outdated design) and the gitu-gitu jer. (no refreshment).

3. sentra – very smooth and good looking, but it like an old man with rugged clothes. nothing new and old design for interior and exterior. i was offered by the saleman to have RM 7000 discount + free tinted …hehe..

4. vios – i get rebate rm3500, voucher tinted film RM100, with S spec i hv full bodykit, optiron and leather furnishing inside. I am feeling very cool when i am driving vios because its clear dashboard rather than city which has dahsboard yg garang.

So, i decide to buy vios sebab untung banyak, puas hati, selesa, a branded name and jarang-jarang nampak the vios S in white color…huhuhu..

to relate with exora, memiliki Proton tidak menjadikan diri kita begitu istimewa dan unik kerana ramai yang pakai proton dan too typical. kalau u all duduk dalam kereta proton rather than u duduk dalam kereta continental or japan, duduk pun dah rasa lain.

i bukan tak patriotik and sombong diri, tapi kalau proton produce car like VW with special gov discount, I am the first one to get it walaupun ramai beli macam lalalt hurung najis.

good luck to proton and let the consumer choose and decide which one is the best product.

• DjVanilLa on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:33 pm

It worth having all the improvement car spec with the right price..furthermore,it's a car build with knowledge..not chopping like the other dude said..

Proton,now..i can accept this Exora as a car for rakyat..

ermmm…but after it's launch;)

Happy Motoring

• Some people hardly can admit if they're blind. Facts is not an option for them. I used to have over 20 Koreans friends during my uni days, none of them blame Korean's cars. I went to all of their rooms (except the girls') and all of them have Hyundai, Kia or Daewoo poster(s). Some you can find on wall, some inside the locker. The story happen in 1999.

• kayly on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:41 pm

too many comment here even before the product launched…it shows how excited it was for malaysian waiting for 1st national car mpv…

• gattaca on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:42 pm

[quote comment="221533"]I strongly believe proton intentionally gave journalist 1.6 CPS to toy with. I believe they will surprise the consumer with CPS 1.8 . A good marketing strategy, let the journalist say something about under slight power and boom the sales with 1.8 CPS. I smell something fishy on si-fu stament. Anybody wanna bet with me??[/quote]

i wanna bet with u there is NO 1.8 CPS..what say u?..

• Tiadaid on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

Malaysians don't buy according to quality, they buy according to brand name…not equal. You could slap a Proton badge on an M5 and still no one would sokong…

• madimat on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:47 pm

bravo,… Go Si-Fu go ! :)

This one makes me want to sell my car today and place my booking on Exora right now! But my wife is wiser …… she asked me to be relax, and wait one or two more years for Exora SE full specs,.. .ada ka ..?

.peace!

• initial R on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:51 pm

Guy's… be nice ok… for me base on the table exora still competetive intem of over all. Even the BCM feture also don't have on some MPV in the table. Remember… this is Exora MPV, not Evora Sport. Nice for family and group travel. Why need more power if the power that campro CPS have enough to pull the load. Even so, i remember that nither si-fu or PT said that engine bay have planty more room that can stock bigger engine. Do you all remember that what Toyota do for avanza ?. They lunch 1.3L engine, but after some of T user ask need more power, they came out with 1.5L. U all know new saga ?. Now came with 1.6L engine install in all taxi. So mean they have more room for proton to improve. However, my point is we have own selection. No point if the tax reduce, but still price are same. Talk about the tax, if gov reduce tax for those car, so G also have to reduce tax for P1 also. Kita rakyat malaysia patut bersyukur coz at malaysia you pay tax for car & can used until became "besi buruk". Our jiran have to pay high tax for car but can used until 5 years only, after that it be scrap, export to 3rd world or charge high road tax, u choose. It's fair enough exora with 1.6L that used by average family for traveling balik kampung, jalan jalan cuti sekolah or send they kid to school on the way go to work (can be mommy or daddy taxi)… :)

Give chance for ppl test drive first after lunching in this mid april. Then we can hear + or – from rakyat coz this P1 are malaysia ppl car. :)

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:56 pm

LOL…

Tiadaid, malaysians jadi macam itu kerana proton dulu tipu malaysians…that is why most of malaysian dont want proton…the price for proton is not equal to the quality that they shouldl get…and most malaysian dah serik dengan proton….

it takes time to get the malaysians heart to the proton, and Proton laku dalam malaysia ni sebab harga murah kerana cukai tarak…kalau nak tgk macam mana nasib proton hari ini kalau semua brand kereta di Malaysia ni duduk sama rata, berdiri sama tinggi dari segi cukai dan segalanya, kita boleh tengok keputusannya di Thailand. Itulah proton di Malaysia..huhuhu..

korean n japanese buy their national car sebab diroang puas hati dng spec n quality..with new innovation…di samping bahasa kebangsaan mereka digunakan di dalam kereta nasional mereka..mudah untuk mereka pakai..

diorang beli sebab suka, bukan sebab nasionalisme or a brand reason

• farghmee on Mar 17, 2009 at 5:58 pm

good suggestion by si-fu.

no harm in trying (full load test drive) right?

*what to expect from an mpv.

driving style, comfort vs sportiness, space.

*fixed variable during test drive.

no. of people in test drive, location of test drive.

as consumers, we have the choice whether "to buy" or "not to buy".

if i can only afford this, i should buy this.

if i cannot afford that, i should save more to buy that.

nobody forces us to buy this and that.

:)

>>for average family only<>economy of scale<>safety first<>

it's not nice to say other is stupid.

• initial R on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Thats right. I have try other MPV already even with full load. I know apa yg beza base on my experiance. Now wait for test drive exora to see it if fair or beyond my expectation. PT have try it with prototype, the comment most are fair. So mean that all P1 boys at garage still have 1 month to improve. :)

• gattaca on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:08 pm

[quote comment="221578"]LOL…

Tiadaid, malaysians jadi macam itu kerana proton dulu tipu malaysians…that is why most of malaysian dont want proton…the price for proton is not equal to the quality that they shouldl get…and most malaysian dah serik dengan proton….

it takes time to get the malaysians heart to the proton, and Proton laku dalam malaysia ni sebab harga murah kerana cukai tarak…kalau nak tgk macam mana nasib proton hari ini kalau semua brand kereta di Malaysia ni duduk sama rata, berdiri sama tinggi dari segi cukai dan segalanya, kita boleh tengok keputusannya di Thailand. Itulah proton di Malaysia..huhuhu..

korean n japanese buy their national car sebab diroang puas hati dng spec n quality..with new innovation…di samping bahasa kebangsaan mereka digunakan di dalam kereta nasional mereka..mudah untuk mereka pakai..

diorang beli sebab suka, bukan sebab nasionalisme or a brand reason[/quote]

most malaysian? r u sure? n then why still new proton cars keep coming on the road?

thailand? if u checked previous post by PT proton is doing quite well there. please do some in depth study before commenting. i'm not saying proton is perfect, but they're improving. give them some space la…

korean n japanese: how sure r u? are they really like that? is there any formal surveys done to back up your statement? if any please put a link here. if not, just put the comments in your brain.

• aenz81 on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:29 pm

[quote comment="221460"]
    I second that. But surely Proton will die overnight and Proton fanboys will not second your suggestion unless they are thinking of abandon ship. :D[/quote]

that thing will happen with Perodua oso.. die overnight and P2 fanboys will force them self to abandon the ship…. naza oso die la…..

• initial R on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:31 pm

LOL…

Nak tambah… sapa kata P1 x kena tax… pegi study balik kat jabatan perdagangan pastu dtg balik kat sini tunjuk bukti kata P1 x kena cukai. Prove to me. Kalau nak kerajaan hapuskan tax maksudnya P1 pun still murah lagi dari import. X caya cuba la…..

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:31 pm

heehee…i dont know why this morning i spend more time in paultan..

i admit proton are improving…but for me it is still not enough yet…

yea..we can see lot of proton cars on the road now..but they bought it because it low price…not a truly suka…like saga and persona…diorang beli kerana budget..and kalau the same spec with the imported car..saga n persona takkan penuh di atas jalan malaysia nie… and if suzuki sx4 sedan 1.4 tak kena cukai, dah tentu ramai akan ambik that suzuki rather than the saga.

kat malaysia ni, rakyat malaysia mana ada pilihan lain untuk dapatkan sedan 1.3 murah melainkan saga jer..sebab tu belambak..and mentaliti orang sekarang nk kurangkan duit untuk kasi makan kereta..huhu..

nama proton masuk ranking thailand hanya dalam jumlah jualan kenderaan sahaja…dan savvy dijual tinggi..diulang..savvy sahaja walaupun ada gen2 cps…itu sahaja…kalau keseluruhan…proton tak mengejutkan apa2 pun..

own observation is one way to get the survey result..go to japan and see yourself what the japanese owned for their car…personal observation is not like the formal research…but still can be used…at least as an opinion..and personal observation also uses brain..

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:35 pm

dah tentu la proton sbg sebuah syrkt berdaftar di Malaysia turut dikenakan cukai untuk product…yang I maksudkan..cukai yang berkaitan dengan industri permotoran ni especially cukai untuk product local and import…hihi..sorry la…i ingat org faham cukai yg i maksudkan tu..sbb tu tk explain details..

• eVilsin on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:40 pm

Do u know in South Korea if u use foreign car the IRS will come and kacau u… and that is a lot of hassle, thats why they prefer to use local made

• madimat on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:49 pm

[quote comment="221595"]dah tentu la proton sbg sebuah syrkt berdaftar di Malaysia turut dikenakan cukai untuk product…yang I maksudkan..cukai yang berkaitan dengan industri permotoran ni especially cukai untuk product local and import…hihi..sorry la…i ingat org faham cukai yg i maksudkan tu..sbb tu tk explain details..[/quote]

We don't need a national automotive policy and a national car industry to put tax on foreign cars my dear friend. Look at Singapore, they dont even have a national car industry but still they imposed a fairly high tax on all cars. Please go and make a comparison. Apa yang ingin hamba perkatakan kepada tuan hamba adalah bahawa cukai ke atas kenderaan luar memang diamalkan di mana mana negara pun di seluruh dunia. So why blame on Proton alone? Why you're so quite when the G impose the tax on the foreign brands to keep Perodua, Naza nad Inokom alive? Why dont you blame them all…? Is that because you're driving a Myvi and dislike Proton cars so much makes you a biased person and giving a biased comment? Tuan hamba,.. Andaikata basahnya badan, usah cuma salahkan pancuran, salahkan sekali ribut dan hujan yang mencurah turun.

.peace!

• scottloeb on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:51 pm

alo kawan,

on tax, every car pay Excise Duty (including Proton). Sales tax? all cars as well. Import tax? not for proton but Proton still pay tax on imported components (which tax refund applicable should it comes via ckd/module pack instead of per item basis) or via IAF (Industrial Adjustment Fund) which applies to all car co who did their assembly here. Why is Toyota & Honda is so sexpensive (its like sex, every time you drive you will get sexcited)? Care to check their profit margin per car? and how much is the accessory being declared in the brown form? Who the hell in the world wants to pay for Accessory wajib in the price of 25 K (which consist of aircond, rims and some petty items that I cant remember)? Honda pay bonus twice a year to its staff (which earn slightly lower than/around industry average of monthly salary at the rate of 70:30 pay ratio) and Toyota, well. 6-9 months is a norm (but the basic salary is like lowest in the industry but the managers is well paid). Who fund this? And both Japs manage to con the public that they do this to protect their customer's interest (so that the 2ndhand price did not fall much and the spec is crap, very rip off). Mazda & Suzuki have good product and a competitive pricing, pity Malaysian is blinded by brands. Worst happen to the conti brands like Ford & Renault (which is the most reliable of French). Nissan is catching up with the big boys and well TCM are lucky the new product generate enough cash for them to challenge the Toyota-Honda axis. The Koreans? they cheat on tax (everywhere – Samsung RAM fiasco as well by tipu Toshiba and others and press the market). Now they offer competitively price product but the after sales still left much to be desired.

Exora will bring numbers to the books for Proton based on the spec and pricing alone (even the engine is debatable, the improvement spec comes with 4B10, GEMA 1.8 in the near future). If Proton's memories serves them well the after sales will need to work harder, else the same cycle of arrogance will kick in and we will start to curse again once Proton name is being mentioned.

• Alifz on Mar 17, 2009 at 6:52 pm

Anyway glad to hear the platform deriviation. At last P1 make something from Proton Saga.
    The BCM looks interesting. I think even Estima doesn't have much of this feature, except Sonar sensor and reverse camera..

• CRUDE on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:15 pm

[quote comment="221599"][quote comment="221595"]dah tentu la proton sbg sebuah syrkt berdaftar di Malaysia turut dikenakan cukai untuk product…yang I maksudkan..cukai yang berkaitan dengan industri permotoran ni especially cukai untuk product local and import…hihi..sorry la…i ingat org faham cukai yg i maksudkan tu..sbb tu tk explain details..[/quote]

We don't need a national automotive policy and a national car industry to put tax on foreign cars my dear friend. Look at Singapore, they dont even have a national car industry but still they imposed a fairly high tax on all cars. Please go and make a comparison. Apa yang ingin hamba perkatakan kepada tuan hamba adalah bahawa cukai ke atas kenderaan luar memang diamalkan di mana mana negara pun di seluruh dunia. So why blame on Proton alone? Why you're so quite when the G impose the tax on the foreign brands to keep Perodua, Naza nad Inokom alive? Why dont you blame them all…? Is that because you're driving a Myvi and dislike Proton cars so much makes you a biased person and giving a biased comment? Tuan hamba,.. Andaikata basahnya badan, usah cuma salahkan pancuran, salahkan sekali ribut dan hujan yang mencurah turun.

.peace![/quote]

bila ada level playing field baru ade competition untuk menghasilkan yang terbaik… tanpa buatan Korea yang memasuki pasaran malaysia dengan harga yang jauh lebih rendah daripada buatan Jepun mahupun Eropah, adakah anda pasti Proton akan menghasilkan kereta yang lebih baik?

Singapura negara kecil…walaupun begitu dengan cukai sekalipun harga sebuah Proton Persona cuma max 44k….dengan Coe yang turun mendadak harga kereta cuma lebih kurang 60k SGD…

So jikalau anda lihat dari segi One to ONE…. singapura walaupun dikenakan tax yang amat tinggi, keretanya mampu dibeli… SAVVY cuma 30 SGD… mahal ke tu?

Kalau Gaji kita RM2000…gaji mereka lebih kurang SGD2000 juga…. so kita beli Savvy pada harga RM40k di bawah…dia orang beli pula pada harga SGD30k…. mana lagi mahal?

Honda Stream di singapore pada harga SGD84k…..

• gattaca on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:15 pm

[quote comment="221593"]heehee…i dont know why this morning i spend more time in paultan..

i admit proton are improving…but for me it is still not enough yet…

yea..we can see lot of proton cars on the road now..but they bought it because it low price…not a truly suka…like saga and persona…diorang beli kerana budget..and kalau the same spec with the imported car..saga n persona takkan penuh di atas jalan malaysia nie… and if suzuki sx4 sedan 1.4 tak kena cukai, dah tentu ramai akan ambik that suzuki rather than the saga.

kat malaysia ni, rakyat malaysia mana ada pilihan lain untuk dapatkan sedan 1.3 murah melainkan saga jer..sebab tu belambak..and mentaliti orang sekarang nk kurangkan duit untuk kasi makan kereta..huhu..

nama proton masuk ranking thailand hanya dalam jumlah jualan kenderaan sahaja…dan savvy dijual tinggi..diulang..savvy sahaja walaupun ada gen2 cps…itu sahaja…kalau keseluruhan…proton tak mengejutkan apa2 pun..

own observation is one way to get the survey result..go to japan and see yourself what the japanese owned for their car…personal observation is not like the formal research…but still can be used…at least as an opinion..and personal observation also uses brain..[/quote]

people will not satisfy until the price as cheap as EX5 with quality like X5

the price is one thing. but last time during TM era, proton price is considered cheap. (iswara, wira PECA, gen-2) but the sale is not good because of the quality n design issues.. and now with saga & persona, sales is good because of the improved quality. this shows that people also considered quality not just the price…

n myvi also considered in saga price range. y still some people buy saga?

n let proton have their slice of pie in Thai auto indusry. T n H brand are already established there. what do u expect?. all thais suddenly change their car to proton? give them some chance la..

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:16 pm

Doing quite well? Do you call hardly 1% of TIV as 'quite well'?

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:23 pm

[quote comment="221591"]

that thing will happen with Perodua oso.. die overnight and P2 fanboys will force them self to abandon the ship…. naza oso die la…..[/quote]
    Agree with you on P1 and Naza but not quite with P2 since they have the scale. Remember, they have Daihatsu and Toyota. Their economy of scale is better (directly or indirectly) than any other local player.

P/S: Please don't label me as Perodua Fan just because of this post.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:29 pm

Bro, you don't compare a country like Malaysia to a small puny country like Singapore. Why don't you pick Thailand or at least Indonesia?

• madimat on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:33 pm

Allright then,

So let us imagine starting from tomorrow morning you wake up and realise there is no Proton at all. But there will be Perodua, Naza, inokom and all the china made cars plus all those T, H, N, M, B, C etc etc cars.

I hope you will get your Civic at RM30K, and P2 Mvi at RM10K, and Lancer Evo 10 at RM50K etc etc. Semua harga mampu milik, 0% tax, semua orang happy. Hooray..! Even better all the Chery can be priced at RM7K (no quality ma! cant priced so high )

OMG we're in heaven !

;)

• madimat on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:37 pm

[quote comment="221617"]
    Bro, you don't compare a country like Malaysia to a small puny country like Singapore. Why don't you pick Thailand or at least Indonesia?[/quote]

because we already know its a small country with all the big cars terrorising all our long highways and pushing aside all our small junks in the process.

that is why.

;)

• Great job P1….this mpv will surely sell like "goreng pisang panas" if the price is right….preferably cheaper than advanza (hehehe..pushing my luck) but most prob will be btw advanza and livina/rondo pricing

My wish list for its nxt improvement :

1) TDI – need extra grunt & will improve FC

2) sliding door.

anyway, congrats P1 for its 1st mpv….

• answerdicj on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:41 pm

[quote comment="221609"][quote comment="221599"][quote comment="221595"]dah tentu la proton sbg sebuah syrkt berdaftar di Malaysia turut dikenakan cukai untuk product…yang I maksudkan..cukai yang berkaitan dengan industri permotoran ni especially cukai untuk product local and import…hihi..sorry la…i ingat org faham cukai yg i maksudkan tu..sbb tu tk explain details..[/quote]

.peace![/quote]

bila ada level playing field baru ade competition untuk menghasilkan yang terbaik… tanpa buatan Korea yang memasuki pasaran malaysia dengan harga yang jauh lebih rendah daripada buatan Jepun mahupun Eropah, adakah anda pasti Proton akan menghasilkan kereta yang lebih baik?

Singapura negara kecil…walaupun begitu dengan cukai sekalipun harga sebuah Proton Persona cuma max 44k….dengan Coe yang turun mendadak harga kereta cuma lebih kurang 60k SGD…

So jikalau anda lihat dari segi One to ONE…. singapura walaupun dikenakan tax yang amat tinggi, keretanya mampu dibeli… SAVVY cuma 30 SGD… mahal ke tu?

Kalau Gaji kita RM2000…gaji mereka lebih kurang SGD2000 juga…. so kita beli Savvy pada harga RM40k di bawah…dia orang beli pula pada harga SGD30k…. mana lagi mahal?

Honda Stream di singapore pada harga SGD84k…..[/quote]

What rubbish you are talking about? Most singaporeans buy cars on hutang, how to survive? buy a hyundai at $58,000 and then hutang the car price is$99,000 (incluse interest payment and admin fee) have to pay the road tax, insurance premium, gst , my friend, COE is another matter, have to pay ERP yet, so what crap are u explaining? How long have u been staying singapore? In addition, COE is determined by the government, nobody knows their mathematical formula to drive the COE up and down, it seems that suka2 …happy COE is price can go up to $64k, my friend tell me where u can buy a $30k car price or Honda Stream $84k in Singapore? Where at mamak shop or mustafa shopping centre? You guys are bunch of idiots

trying to justify your answers and comments without facts, pundeh! It is like saying fish drop from sky and not need to work!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:41 pm

[quote comment="221609"]

Honda Stream di singapore pada harga SGD84k…..[/quote]

i really find it annoying when people start comparing prices in other countries.

its just not the same. cars "look" cheap to us, but we dont factor in other reasons at all. buying power is the main thing. because there is a huge disparity in buying power of the RM compared to SGD, you cannot do a so called "one to one" comparison. in a non-scientific way, if proton pays 100 euro for the renault engine in the savvy, the malaysian is probably paying RM476 for it, and the singapore is only paying SGD 199. It is impossible for the malaysian to buy the engine at RM199.

even then, do you think everyone in singapore can afford a stream at SGD84k? if what you say is true, would'nt every "kiasu"(no offense meant, i have many good singaporean friends) singaporean want to buy a stream, or a car? and please dont say they dont buy a car coz they have good public transport. everyone wants a car in singapore.. who doesnt?

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:44 pm

I don't think people want to see Proton die. Deep down we are still have some kind of patriotism. I think what they want is a level playing field so that Proton and other so-called local player will move their @ss quicker and release a better product.

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:53 pm

apa yang I harapkan dalam industri automotif malaysia, let the consumer choose their preferred car fairly.

keadaan pada hari ini, rakyat tertekan di dalam mendapatkan kereta pilihan mereka kerana dibataskan oleh perbezaan harga yang tidak munasabah mengikut brand.

today, the rakyat especially who makan gaji monthly hanya mampu beli kereta proton, padahal kalau ikut keadaan yang fleksibel, mereka ada hak dan mampu untuk beli kereta jenama lain.

i tak percaya yang Hon dapat beri bonus 2 bulan kepada staff kerana semata mata harga kereta mereka mahal. walaupun mahal, i rasa setting margin untung antara proton dan Hond berada pada paras yang sama, cuma harga kereta Hon tinggi kerana terlalu banyak di marked up. itu saja. macamlah proton tak kasi bonus 2 bulan kepada staf dia?

rakyat hari ini bukan buta ilmu dan buta mata. rakyat hari ini mahukan hak mereka. mmg proton hak malaysia, tetapi rakyat tidak kan pertikaikan kredibiliti proton kalau proton itu mempunyai cukup kemampuan untuk memberi kepuasan kepada pembeli. itu saja.

rakyat macam I nie, takkan bising kalau proton produce his car same quality n services like Hon and toy, masalahnya proton banyak kekurangan dan disebabkan keurangan itu, ia diberi keistimewaan melampau, sehingga rakyat dipaksa secara senyap untuk membeli kereta proton.

• madimat on Mar 17, 2009 at 7:58 pm

[quote comment="221626"]
    I don't think people want to see Proton die. Deep down we are still have some kind of patriotism. I think what they want is a level playing field so that Proton and other so-called local player will move their @ss quicker and release a better product.[/quote]

exactly..! And I strongly believe that is what Proton is doing with their ALL THEIR LATEST products like Exora, Persona, Saga BLM, Satria Neo CPS, Waja CPS and all the stuffs they are now doing in their RnD labs!

And there is where we should at least appreciate all their hard work to come out with some very decent products lately. But some people for some reason are just very hard to accept all that.

One thing Proton is not in the same league as all other local players. In my opinion P2 should be badged back to T or D, Nz should be changed back to their K and Pg and their other original brand. They shouldn't hide behind their 'National Status' and doing nothing other than pasting emblems and fattening their @$$ and waiting for money to roll in.

For some reasons, people tend to blame Proton more for whatever bad things. And spare the other so called National Car makers (read : assemblers) .

:(

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:11 pm

[quote comment="221636"][quote comment="221626"]exactly..! And I strongly believe that is what Proton is doing with their ALL THEIR LATEST products like Exora, Persona, Saga BLM, Satria Neo CPS, Waja CPS and all the stuffs they are now doing in their RnD labs!

And there is where we should at least appreciate all their hard work to come out with some very decent products lately. But some people for some reason are just very hard to accept all that.

One thing Proton is not in the same league as all other local players. In my opinion P2 should be badged back to T or D, Nz should be changed back to their K and Pg and their other original brand. They shouldn't hide behind their 'National Status' and doing nothing other than pasting emblems and fattening their @$$ and waiting for money to roll in.

For some reasons, people tend to blame Proton more for whatever bad things. And spare the other so called National Car makers (read : assemblers) .

:([/quote]

To some extend I agree with you regarding the other local player.

As for the models (with reliability aside). I believe Saga and Exora is the improvement in Proton that we can physically see. Persona is also quite decent car but they back seat need to be reclined a bit to at least Wira's level to make long travel less painful. Neo for me is a failure. They should have done something more like WV polo/golf instead, because I believe people here like 4 doors better. But instead they go for 2-doors-only model.

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:13 pm

[quote comment="221636"]exactly..! And I strongly believe that is what Proton is doing with their ALL THEIR LATEST products like Exora, Persona, Saga BLM, Satria Neo CPS, Waja CPS and all the stuffs they are now doing in their RnD labs!

As for the models (with reliability aside). I believe Saga and Exora is the improvement in Proton that we can physically see. Persona is also quite decent car but they back seat need to be reclined a bit to at least Wira’s level to make long travel less painful. Neo for me is a failure. They should have done something more like WV polo/golf instead, because I believe people here like 4 doors better. But instead they go for 2-doors-only model.

• madimat on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:27 pm

[quote comment="221644"][quote comment="221636"]exactly..! And I strongly believe that is what Proton is doing with their ALL THEIR LATEST …

things. And spare the other so called National Car makers (read : assemblers) .

As for the models (with reliability aside). I believe Saga and Exora is the improvement in Proton that we can physically see. Persona is also quite decent car but they back seat need to be reclined a bit to at least Wira’s level to make long travel less painful. Neo for me is a failure. They should have done something more like WV polo/golf instead, because I believe people here like 4 doors better. But instead they go for 2-doors-only model.[/quote]

bro, if Neo is to have 4 doors then that will kill P2 Mvi la bro ..;)

I think being a responsible 'elder brother' P1 is also looking at P2's back when they are studying the market. If big brother bully little brother then nanti the 'Papa n Mama' will scold them la.

;)

• wiraperkasa on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:38 pm

just make neo 4 doors, scrap gen2, retain pesona…

• MyBoy on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:42 pm

[quote comment="221648"]
    I think being a responsible 'elder brother' P1 is also looking at P2's back when they are studying the market. If big brother bully little brother then nanti the 'Papa n Mama' will scold them la.

;)[/quote]
    P2 is basically a Daihatsu outpost in Malaysia lah bro. So what the hell. :D If that is what you need to do to capture more share out of our local pie (at the same time keep P1 in black) so be it.

P/S: Sorry for being honest about P2. To P2 fans, please don't flame me. Just telling the truth here.

• Jared on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:47 pm

innova looks the better option..

• Littlefire on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:47 pm

Daihatsu, is 1 of the largest Kcar's companies in Japan. Which is also own by Toyota. So actually it is a different market compare to Proton.

Proton MPV is againts G.Livina 1.6L on the market currently. Even someone here compare to Avanza, Wish, Innova & even Rondo. These engine category is totally different!

• Jared on Mar 17, 2009 at 8:51 pm

and to continue..

blower only blow to your face.. no option to direct the air to your kaki ..

blower setting at number 1 blows like no 2 in other cars.. troublesome during rain when it colds inside and you only need a very little air..

horn is stiff like s&*t…

Proton please fire your stupid designers/testers… they not S&*t about making a good car..

• Jared on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:04 pm

go GOOGLE how much price of Stream RSZ in singapore.. and now COE is how much…? Your saying COE can go up to 64K is total rubbish.. now very2 cheap la bro and it is based on bidding not suka suka letak like you said.. .. dont just agak.. agak.. most people in singapore can take MRT to work not like here.. ERP is used to prevent jams during rush our in certain areas.. not for collecting revenues like toll here…

• [quote comment="221577"]No point if the tax reduce, but still price are same. Talk about the tax, if gov reduce tax for those car, so G also have to reduce tax for P1 also. Kita rakyat malaysia patut bersyukur coz at malaysia you pay tax for car & can used until became "besi buruk". Our jiran have to pay high tax for car but can used until 5 years only, after that it be scrap, export to 3rd world or charge high road tax, u choose. It's fair enough exora with 1.6L that used by average family for traveling balik kampung, jalan jalan cuti sekolah or send they kid to school on the way go to work (can be mommy or daddy taxi)… :)

Give chance for ppl test drive first after lunching in this mid april. Then we can hear + or – from rakyat coz this P1 are malaysia ppl car. :)[/quote]

If gov reduce tax for oversea car, how much should reduce for ourland car? Lets see maybe reduce 3% to be 2%. Which means ourland price will have 3% less, a 50k will sell 48.5k. We could own a car until besi buruk or plastik buruk, than get discould to 5k to buy new one, 50k will come to be 43.5k!!! Thats why our road full with junk car and new homemade one. Wooow, nice move gov, truely know rakyat needs.

• [quote comment="221653"][quote comment="221648"][quote comment="221644"][quote comment="221636"]exactly..! And I strongly believe that is what Proton is doing with their ALL THEIR LATEST …

things. And spare the other so called National Car makers (read : assemblers) .

As for the models (with reliability aside). I believe Saga and Exora is the improvement in Proton that we can physically see. Persona is also quite decent car but they back seat need to be reclined a bit to at least Wira’s level to make long travel less painful. Neo for me is a failure. They should have done something more like WV polo/golf instead, because I believe people here like 4 doors better. But instead they go for 2-doors-only model.[/quote]

;)[/quote]

P2 is basically a Daihatsu outpost in Malaysia lah bro. So what the hell. :D If that is what you need to do to capture more share out of our local pie (at the same time keep P1 in black) so be it.

P/S: Sorry for being honest about P2. To P2 fans, please don't flame me. Just telling the truth here.[/quote]

Thats why our little brother P2 didnt re-barged sedan car Altis from Daihatsu, it will kill Persona and Waja.

• Jared on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:27 pm

R3 – Race Rally Rosak

• answerdicj on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:29 pm

[quote comment="221667"]

go GOOGLE how much price of Stream RSZ in singapore.. and now COE is how much…? Your saying COE can go up to 64K is total rubbish.. now very2 cheap la bro and it is based on bidding not suka suka letak like you said.. .. dont just agak.. agak.. most people in singapore can take MRT to work not like here.. ERP is used to prevent jams during rush our in certain areas.. not for collecting revenues like toll here…[/quote]

go to the car showrooms and then u know the price….on what you paying… what bidding u talking about?, go n check what formula they use? nobody knows …. ERP to prevent jam…are u sure? got high road tax, why need ERP? ERP is used to pay fat bonuses for the G….

• scottloeb on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:31 pm

Honda bagi bonus 2 kali setahun, total arn 6 bulan gaji. Size co dia kecil (compare dengan Toyota), dia tak ada branches, just dealers. Spare part warehouse pon tak besar gila mcm UMWT kat Sungai Buloh. For Honda, you screw-up, kita kasi potong dealership. And Proton no angel either. Last time they expect RM 1000 engineers to do RM 5000 job. They pay 3-5 months bonus with increment of RM 50 and the engineer tak boleh blah sbb nak buat national service and co lain kat malaysia tak buat specialized job unless they move to Japan, Korea, Europe or Australia. yg kenyang dlm Proton is the vendor, but with DSZ, thay are having hard time.

I'm not saying we all should support Proton blindly, but stupidly supporting H & T bring arrogance to them and I dont want them to simply put crap specs for malaysian at rip-off price at the expense of the consumer (with the other finger pointing at M'sian Govt giving tax as an excuse and shouting no level playing field). Bring on any car that can compete with Saga at that price/spec and then we will talk business (and they willingly talked about reduction in brand value crap and market forces, perception and yen-ringgit exchange not forgetting Euro, USD and sometimes SGD!)

• I'm never buying a Proton BUT l can't understand some people will think like this. VIOS is sub-Corolla car and before this (Soluna/Corolla II/Tercel) sub-Corolla never sold by UMWT. Toyota force them to offer the entry level car. That explain why Vios got "expensive" looKING central meters. Imagine Altis, Camry also use that expensive layout.

Persona better equipped than Vios.

• initial R on Mar 17, 2009 at 9:53 pm

[quote comment="221595"]dah tentu la proton sbg sebuah syrkt berdaftar di Malaysia turut dikenakan cukai untuk product…yang I maksudkan..cukai yang berkaitan dengan industri permotoran ni especially cukai untuk product local and import…hihi..sorry la…i ingat org faham cukai yg i maksudkan tu..sbb tu tk explain details..[/quote]

That why i said, u just see the surface. U yang tak paham apa yg I maksudkan. Bukan Cukai syarikat berdaftar tapi product tu sendiri. Fikir sikit ok… simple aje nie… Harga P1 sebenarnya telah termasuk Excise Duty, sales tax, Import tax. Walau pun buatan dalam malaysia, P1 still have to pay tax on imported components. Even AFTA have been impose but did u know that proton have to suffer on that even the other car maker make profit on it. Now Simple math… kalau sesuatu product tu dikeluarkan secara pukal, harga boleh kurang tak ?. Kalau product tu terkenal dan dikeluarkan secara banyak, harga boleh kurang tak. Yang penting kalau semua tax yg U cakap tu takde, harga P1 bleh kurang banyak tak ?. Dan yang paling penting sekali, kalau org like u support malaysia product, it's the price can reduce. Please do some study about buiseness and product first before make stupid comment.

p/s. Did u know Bonia product malaysia ?. Mentality malaysia perlu diperbetulkan. banyak yg dah tersimpang jauh.

• farghmee on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:07 pm

[quote comment="221689"]

Persona better equipped than Vios.[/quote]

xkesahlah, asalkn hati hepi :)

• initial R on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Many of my friends used Saga BLM still the best FC after savvy. Some have moded to look sporty and retune engine but still best in his class. Please la… not to mention innova ok. My brother want to ramp his innova to sales service. Always have problem after service, FC bad, Floating, even the interior he said not as his expected. maybe my brother get the bad apple from T badge. how's know. but must of T user always keep the secret and tell the liar. How sad it is (i meant not all of T user).

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:19 pm

its not about malaysian product bro..

its about PROTON.

i owned proton before. i bought the new wira. masa baru keluar kedai, wira baru i tu dah calar. nak tukar dah tak boleh kerana dah siap diregistered.

kemudian, engine sensore rosak tak sampai 6 bulan. lepas tu water pump bocor tak sampai setahun. lepas tu power window jahanam. semua masa under warranty. yg paling bodoh sekali, masa tukar power window tu, siap pasang yang baru, selang dua hari tak jalan jugak.

i dah bosan, i biar cam tu ja.

lepas tu meter gauge kat dashborad jahanam. aircond compressor jahanam.

bayangkan kereta baru, u dah sakit jiwa nak pergi repair. lepas tu pergi service center, kena Q panjang, dah masuk port, dpt technician bodoh. tak tahu itu, tak tahu ini. lepas tu kena order barang lama giler baru nak ada.

apa punya service?

sekarang ni pun, pusat service proton pun cam cib*i jer….semua nk duit, caj sana, caj sini, tapi service cam hampes…

i tak puas hati kat proton sebab bagi I, proton dah tipu I. malaysian made konon, tapi dalam masa yg sama, used malaysian for its own pocket. ambik duit orang, tapi kasi susah org.

I bantai PROTON bukan sebab I pro Hon or Toy, but I know that PROTON penipu. bukan I sorang rasa tertipu, bahkan ramai lagi. cuma tak tahu nak luah kat mana jer. (actually, semua car manufacturer kat mesia banyak tipu, tapi i bantai proton sebab i beli produk dia)

consumer like me doesnt care about the politic inside the proton. We as a consumer want the best product that we get from our owned money.

• Exora Livina 1.6 Avanza 1.5 Rondo Innova

MPV+7 kg per Nm 12.53 11.60 11.48 10.91 11.40

On paper, This area is slightly disadvantage to Exora. Its competitors have matured VVTi and CVT that taking care of low end where most regular operating range use… Hopefully, Proton could reflash its updated ECU mapping from time to time.

ps: Vios is just a regular car, nothing special.

• akupunya on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:32 pm

i hanya percaya exora is berbabloi jika ccnya 2.0.

lepas tu, dari segi design, proton patut tuakr muncung depan tu dari prototype gen2. bosan giler…the headlamp tu design ler kasi elok sikit..

design kat belakang tu kira ok la…tapi kat depan tu..tak naik nafsu nk tgk…typical jer..

letak ler BCM ke, DVD ker, tapi i tak percaya engine cps 1.6 boleh well running 7 passengers untuk naik bukit specially kat highway jelapang…silap haribulan…lori balak boleh potong exora masa naik bukit…huhu..(jgn silap haribulan, kerana Exora, proton dilabel sbg penipu lagi)

• initial R on Mar 17, 2009 at 10:53 pm

Sbb tu le aku cakap… bagi new managment nie peluang betulkan kesalahan. Segala kerosakkan dulu bukan boleh satu atau 2 hari nak perbetulkan. Betul cakap nie… aku pun pakai iswara dulu. Sbb nak ikut sangat dia punya waranty tu antar aje ke PSC. Memang pengalaman buruk kat situ waktu tu. Rasa serik plak nak pakai Proton… tp lepas abis warenty terus pegi pomen aku skarang kat wangsa maju, terus sihat je iswara aku tu, dekat 10 tahun gak le iswara aku tu sayang kat aku. Owner baru iswara aku tu pun suka sangat ngan iswara tu sbb well maintain walaupun 1.3 manual tapi rasa cam drive 1.5L & still dia gi kat pomen aku. Tu cerita 5 tahun lepas. Skarang pakai accord. Wife aku pakai savvy, sekali je kat PSC biasa pastu ke mutiara damansara sbb service kat situ bagus. Skarang imej proton dah makin pulih, memang betul ramai yg dpt mimpi buruk proton lalu. Bagi je peluang new managment baru nie. kalau x improve gak dlm jangka masa 5>6 thn akan datang bru kasi antam cukup2. Fair or not. Exora nie aku tengok testemoni diaorang nak improve lagi kualiti proton.

• [quote comment="221736"]why some of us labelled some other?

haih..[/quote]

those who comment here are those who have the power purchasing a car.

thats mean most of us are mature enough not to label others.

its a disappointment to see such attitude appeared even in a car topic.

grow up guys. when u guys label each others. we laughing at u.

sry paultan bcos off topic here

=x

another 1 month to release date.. cant wait.

cheers!~

• Keep thinking positive, if Proton start at the same level playing field early, with the hole rakyat support and help from oversea trainer, Proton should be top 3 team in the world.

• nazri on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:27 pm

the BCM module really look promising to me.. i hope proton can come BCM module with improvement each model as standard in every proton car just like they doing it with CPS engine. What i heard the alarm for exora comes with more than 30 input that can programmable… quite useful and decent.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:30 pm

[quote comment="221745"][quote comment="221743"][quote comment="221714"]

1. you or your wife or your in-laws work for proton; or

2. those who made a mistake of buying a BLM will never have the balls to admit that they made a huge mistake and eat their humble pies. They are malu to admit that their cars are below pars. And I have big enough balls to admit that I made a mistake by buying the BLM solely based on reviews by some idiots in a local daily weekend pullout (you know wat paper).

I stand by my claim above about BLM and proton can sue me upside down if they want because I have the BLM to prove.[/quote]

you are totally in your right to make your complaints, no doubt about that.

but you also cannot deny the right to people who actually have a good experience with the car to say so. but instead, you accuse them of lying.

if you have problems, go make a big noise to proton.[/quote]

don't ya think this is one way of making noise? i know many from proton are reading this..[/quote]

still doesnt give you the right to condemn those who say they have no issues with their car right?

have you made official complaints to proton? sure, many read the forums here, and many of them engineeers.. but they dont know who you are, what is your car number plate, etc. etc.. how can they help you?

• osh_kosh on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:33 pm

[quote comment="221731"]

Hahaha… you are totaly wrong… i'm accord owner and ex-iswara owner 1.3 manual. My wife own savvy. Her savvy was good for my pocket. I have my ball to tell the truth. However… u can show your saga BLM in news paper or if you got very big ball show your saga in TV3 with KSW. Sure get DSZ attantion. :) peace nor war…[/quote]

why saying 'peace no war' after daring him to show how big his ball is by showing his saga in tv3? plus with a smiling face? sigh, pathetic…

it was not like i believed SAGA r piece of sh*t junk… didn't own one but never heard any bad thing about it from a few ppl/friends who own one… but it doesn't mean that SAGA is trouble free car..

the problem with some of u guys here was that every single person who talk bad or raise any doubts about P1 product will be called bashers or P2-fanboy etc… etc… it's ridiculous… think lah.. listen…open your heart & if u really work for P1 accept your bad & try to improve it (if u can)… no point denying what is true, u can't improve in anything… & if u not related to P1, pls stop whatever u r doing here coz it doesn't help P1 ppl at all… u only make matter worse & reflect that P1 ppl r a bunch of arrogoant good for nothing ppl!

• nazri on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:34 pm

Jared said :"kerja proton department mana bro? hehehe bahagian surf internet?"

nope aku bukan keje kat kilang proton, but kilang semiconductor tuk automotive cam GM, BMW… tapi keje biasa2 je… pembancuh kopi… =D

dan aku keje nite shif this week that why u see me online siang2 hari… time keje mana boleh online selalu bro…

• Jared on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:39 pm

i think "peace no war" gesture kinda sweet..

btw my balls are big.. so are the accompanying trunk..

there are proton lovers/fans and there are proton haters

i'm just in the middle and i really wish proton could improve…

• [quote comment="221741"][quote comment="221735"][quote comment="221714"][quote comment="221704"][quote comment="221683"][quote comment="221655"]my BLM saga has got many problems.. wonder why proton dont publish fuel consumption.. of coz they will tell how much the exora drink, but it's their figures not from independent testers, or like Japan 10-15 cycle figures… my saga after one year ++: buttons for windows on both doors mampus, ignition key takes quite an effort to put in, no damper for rear trunk.. a slight incline and it shuts by itself, drinks petrol like S%*t, fuel gauge meter (increasing bar like handphone signal bar) not accurate and this is the most shitty part and shows how stupid proton engineers are, remote opening and locking is no longer remote, have to sit within 5 meters only can work, button on the remote is very sensitive and not covered, lost count how many time I accidentally pushed the alarm button while the key is still in my pocket… 5 star for stupidity.. will buy proton again..ermmm.. let wait and see.. but innova looks the better option..[/quote]

you are liar.

youre not even own a proton![/quote]

Liar alyaws a liar… even his a lawyar. Many of my friends used Saga BLM still the best FC after savvy. Some have moded to look sporty and retune engine but still best in his class. Please la… not to mention innova ok. My brother want to ramp his innova to sales service. Always have problem after service, FC bad, Floating, even the interior he said not as his expected. maybe my brother get the bad apple from T badge. how's know. but must of T user always keep the secret and tell the liar. How sad it is (i meant not all of T user).[/quote]

only two explanations for this

2. those who made a mistake of buying a BLM will never have the balls to admit that they made a huge mistake and eat their humble pies. They are malu to admit that their cars are below pars. And I have big enough balls to admit that I made a mistake by buying the BLM solely based on reviews by some idiots in a local daily weekend pullout (you know wat paper).

I stand by my claim above about BLM and proton can sue me upside down if they want because I have the BLM to prove.[/quote]

u guys are old enough to not to mention names or by saying" u or ur wife work for who" please stop being childish… by saying others is someone dont make u look nice. making no-evidence assumption are not acceptable.

this is Proton Exora comparison topic. Please stay as close to the topic.

BLM is 1 of the lowest spec car in the market. proton's quality might not as good as those T, H badge, thats why proton offer 2-3 years of "warranty period" for any claimable items. Proton even offer 5 years engine + transmission using buyer's insurance to claim any damaged or breakdown engines. i hope Exora can get such insurance also.

and for the underpower part, its very subjective.

some find it ok and some find it not. most of us still guessing is this car able to claim Genting with full load. Since the paper/ engineer say with 2nd gear able to climb Genting.(saw exora climb genting with my own eye).

i don't think it should be any problem.

those who still living in the past of proton please update urself.

Quality problem of new model is getting lesser and lesser. atleast better than wira era. u guys look at Hyundai, last time alot ppl scare to buy korean cars. now Hyundai make a very good reputation internationally.

time will tell how proton improve in years.[/quote]

and you are not that old enough to tell that item 1) was just a poke..[/quote]

im a person who own 2 car, and got a decent job. u think i not old enough..

of cos, if u guys are 30-50s im of cos younger.

but if this thing mention by a younger person…don't u old people feel shame of it? need younger people to tell u how to behave?

come on… don make urself a joke.

paiseh to paultan.

doesnt meant to spoil ur car topic..

gd luck to proton new MPV release.

• osh_kosh on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:44 pm

[quote comment="221747"][quote comment="221745"][quote comment="221743"][quote comment="221714"]

you are totally in your right to make your complaints, no doubt about that.

but you also cannot deny the right to people who actually have a good experience with the car to say so. but instead, you accuse them of lying.

if you have problems, go make a big noise to proton.[/quote]

don't ya think this is one way of making noise? i know many from proton are reading this..[/quote]

still doesnt give you the right to condemn those who say they have no issues with their car right?

have you made official complaints to proton? sure, many read the forums here, and many of them engineeers.. but they dont know who you are, what is your car number plate, etc. etc.. how can they help you?[/quote]

bro…to be fair, they also don't have the right to call him a liar! pity him..

• 4G63T DSM on Mar 17, 2009 at 11:46 pm

[quote comment="221552"][quote comment="221542"]I don't know.

This is the bane of most Continental marques. Do we really want this in a simple Proton?[/quote]

Bane of most continental marques?…hmmm I wonder why the european still using it. I know why!! because it is so unreliable, that why they kept using it![/quote]

Sarcasm don't work well with you.

LOL do you even own a continental marque?

I don't own one either. But I fix them when I was moonlighting as a mechanic. I tell from experience.

The average car ownership here is waaay longer than the typical European or American car owner. Give and take those few years, and you will run into very difficult to fix electrical problems (that goes for the engine electrical as well)…granted we don't use salt on our roads, but still bad grounding will do you in.

• mye71 on Mar 18, 2009 at 1:23 am

Paul correct me if i'm wrong but based on the numbers above, Exora will lose to Livina in a drag race due to the difference of about 0.93 kg/nm.

• initial R on Mar 18, 2009 at 1:24 am

Normaly ppl take this as joke among friends. However please forgive me for my bad mouth peace no war :) … but this is the truth & what i said base on my experiance. Even i'm working in S'pore. So most of my view base on malaysia & s'pore hype. So sorry for cross behind the line. Hope my next comment a bit softer. once again PNW :)

• newbie on Mar 18, 2009 at 1:27 am

[quote comment="221756"]

Bane of most continental marques?…hmmm I wonder why the european still using it. I know why!! because it is so unreliable, that why they kept using it![/quote]

Sarcasm don't work well with you.

LOL do you even own a continental marque?

I don't own one either. But I fix them when I was moonlighting as a mechanic. I tell from experience.

The average car ownership here is waaay longer than the typical European or American car owner. Give and take those few years, and you will run into very difficult to fix electrical problems (that goes for the engine electrical as well)…granted we don't use salt on our roads, but still bad grounding will do you in.[/quote]

Yeah I know, its hard isn't it to work in local workshop, fixing continental cars. As you already know, modern cars nowadays is very advanced with lots of electronics stuff that I myself cannot keep up with. and so proton wants to join the bandwagon into this so called BCM system. I'd say this is a good time for proton to implement. If not now, when will proton starts to do it?

All electronics component have something in common in which we called "lifespan". Meaning, at certain time, the components will stop working. I doubt even my pc to last over 20 years. So what do you expect from cars?

• initial R on Mar 18, 2009 at 1:40 am

[quote comment="221800"]Paul correct me if i'm wrong but based on the numbers above, Exora will lose to Livina in a drag race due to the difference of about 0.93 kg/nm.[/quote]

After this we can see drag race among MPV, new era has came that MPV in drag race. After that we can see MPV drifting competition.. hehehe PNW :)

• my conclusion i think exora has a good offering. its more airy, good design.

engine wise its not too bad. everyone has to understand what 1.6 has offer, everybody can live with it even not too spritely. its an mpv need a proper drive.

for the future enhance the campro, i think supercharger is one good idea for proton to develop in it house togather with lotus, and recalibrate the transmission ratio set to regain economical drive. thats my thinking.

or a light turbo it they want to.

or a bit new invention on supercharger feature thats very unique by proton/lotus and might sell the technology. or become part of the R3 equiepment.

but i think proton already have some bluprint of powerplant development its just that not now instantly,..

• Cross polo on Mar 18, 2009 at 2:26 am

[quote comment="221807"]

After this we can see drag race among MPV, new era has came that MPV in drag race. After that we can see MPV drifting competition.. hehehe PNW :)[/quote]

Pergh… MPV drifting sure make debut. Location, Genting sempah or up & down hill Ipoh highway.

• This is ridiculous. Dump some of this nonsense and put in proper safety in this car like that child seat lock thing that Paul highlighted in the previous review post.

Yeesh. Where are their priorities? Didn't they promote the car naming thing as a "family" car?

• waahh…there r ppl who thinks this exora is the very very n very uggliest mpv he ever seen… but still spend his time kat exora nyer update n post commentssss……what does it mean? 'takleh tdo mlm kalau tak tgk berulang kali miss exora ni ker?'….lol…why still looking for new updates about this exora?if not interested why still bother to post comment?

about ISOFIX thing…maybe p1 should put into consideration….

• Si-Pu on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:37 am

tak paham tol la… banyak-banyak thread yang Paultan buat, Proton jugak jadi tempat korang nak bash… kalo kritik takpe… ni bash without concrete facts.. hampeh..

Exora is quiet ok what… The only issue is because it is 1.6cc and most of u consider underpower… kamon la brader… test drive dulu nanti… baru bising…

anyway.. any new leaked picture? ermm..maybe accesories? GPS or DVD player, what brand that proton used?

• Si-Pu on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:40 am

Ikan said,

March 17, 2009 @ 8:34 pm · Reply with quote

waahh…there r ppl who thinks this exora is the very very n very uggliest mpv he ever seen… but still spend his time kat exora nyer update n post commentssss……what does it mean? ‘takleh tdo mlm kalau tak tgk berulang kali miss exora ni ker?’….lol…why still looking for new updates about this exora?if not interested why still bother to post comment?

about ISOFIX thing…maybe p1 should put into consideration….

————————————————————–

HAHA.. betul tu ikan.. diorang ni kata Exora ugly..underpower… tapi keep posting in this blog..haha.. diorang JEALOUS sebenarnya… interview nak keje proton tak dapat..so diorang bash proton la..hahaha.. kesian

Cheers!!

• freddo on Mar 18, 2009 at 4:42 am

Keep our fingers crossed and have FAITH in Proton.

There will be surprises that you all haven't seen or heard yet!

Just wait lah and keep your comments till the real thing is out.

Give comments and not criticism.

Peace Malaysia.

• Wisdom on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:18 am

I still spare my faith to Proton. Do you guys remember that Mitsubishi has signed an MOU with Proton Dec last year?

Some of the content would be to rebadge Lancer as Waja replacement and the story of Mitsubishi to rebadge Exora as their budget mpv model.

Mitsubishi has a complete line of engine in their stock. I'm more than glad if one of their turbodiesels goes into Exora engine bay. Or maybe one of their higher cc Mivec. That would explains the postpone of Exora launching from March to April at least.

If that is so, not only public got teased. The journalist too. Right Paul?

Been reading comments like 'there will be a surprise' etc here. Make sure you guys have a better surprise for us (especially on engine department) besides these BCM thingy. We really expect that.

Regarding Proton crap, barking here and there for a car that still under warranty just shows us the foolishness of the owner. And its indirectly reflects all of us, malaysian who only know to complaint, moans, grumbles and murmurs without any effort to correct the problem/s.

• Wisdom on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:35 am

[quote comment="221891"]Sibuk-sibuk citer pasal keluaran Proton MPV terbaru,aku pulak tak habis-habis menderita dan merana disebabkan Gen.2 yang aku beli 3tahun yang lalu.Bukan aku nak buruk-burukan Proton ni,tapi aku tension sangat ngan Proton ni…Proton ni tangkap muat ajerrr,indah kabar dari rupa dan yang menderita pengguna macam kita ni…Nak pakai brand lain tak mampu…Mula-mula beli Gen.2 engine jam tiba-tiba,masuk hari ini cermin tingkap dah empat kali jatuh.Yang terbaru exzos pulah jatuh….ArGGhhhHHHH………..Dulu kata engine tahan lebih 10tahun kalau pandai jaga,Dare To Change lah…..Nak jual tak ada value langsung…..So aku nashihat kan korang and bro2 terhomat "PULAUKAN PROTON JANGAN BELI PROTON" dan "PROTON NI KENA AJAR SIKIT,KALAU TAK DIARANG RASA PRODUCT DIARANG NI HEBAT SANGAT"…Terus terang aku kata aku terlalu bershukur bila terbaca dalam surat khabar bila Lapuran Kewangan Proton rugi 60%……"Alhamdulillahhhh…inilah balasan tuhan kerana mengabai dan menganayai pengguna macam aku…Gen.2 aku bila naik bukit engine dia semput dan tak berdaya…..TUHAN BAGI MAKNUSIA AKAL DAN FIKIRAN,JADI FIKIRKANLAH APA AKAN TERJADI KALAU ENGIN 1.6CamTakPro ni kalau diguna pakai kan dalam Exora??????Fikirkan lahrhhh…[/quote]

you and DAPATKAN SEGERA sounds like a same person. Its heaven when we can change nick just like that right? If only we have those abilities in the real world.

I share my sympathy with u, for having problems with earlier batches of Gen2. Thats indeed was a fact. U're the victim of Proton throughout their learning curve.

However, i believe they keep updating many things on the Gen2 including parts, electronics and software (tuning). I still remember they gave free replacement for weather strips for first batch owner or something last time. What you can do is try to penetrate their line of service to the furthermost achievable. The best if you can contact Syed Zainal yourself. Write a letter. List down your problems. If he is a man of his word, i'm sure he can do something for example, replacing your window mechanism to the one on Persona. Its pretty reliable i guess.

But if those shortcoming was originated from your negligence, u should sympathize yourself too.

• Wisdom on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:40 am

[quote comment="221903"]DUIT SENDIR,DUIT SENDIRILAH NAK BELI APA…..TAPI KALAU ADA DUIT LEBIH BELI KIA RONDO…..JANGAN PIKIR BARANGAN MALAYSIA,KALAU BARANGAN MALAYSIA TAK NAK SUPPORT PENGGUNA MALAYSIA.PROTON TANGKAP MUAT JERK,INDAH KABAR DARI RUPA!!!!!!!BELI AVANZA ATAU RONDO,ENGINE SMOOTH DAN TAK BISING.EXORA ENGINE SURE BUNYI MACAM LORRY MACAM ENGINE GEN.2 AKU……..JANGAN BELI,JANGAN BELI,JANGAN BELI,AKU BERCAKAP ATAS HAK AKU SEBAGAI SEORANG PENGGUNA……JANGAN MARAH NANTI CEPAT TUA……[/quote]

While i'm busy typing to motivate you, you're busy barking the whole thread. We are the man in the mirror….

• carman on Mar 18, 2009 at 5:47 am

i own a satria.. and yup, it comes with all the features.. that even BMW

pung cannot imitate.. … cruising at 120km.. suddenly, some bunyi come out from the front end.. know what? my signal light tercabut.. hanging to the car by only the wires.. fuh, must b some safety feature lah.. dun exceed speed

limit.. or isn't it about to transform? bumblebee..

not forgetting.. that my car also have this special function.. dunno what for

lah.. oo.. fyi my car is 5 speed manual.. so one day speeding on the

highway.. on 5th gear.. tiba2…….. it went to neutral… F1 style? dunno..

but it hell scared me .. tiba2 no power..

not to kutuk proton.. but, u guys need to really improve on quality.. copycat

mitsubishi models.. lancer.. etc.. do with their quality in mind, do what perodua r doin.. good Q&C..

• [quote comment="221903"]DUIT SENDIR,DUIT SENDIRILAH NAK BELI APA…..TAPI KALAU ADA DUIT LEBIH BELI KIA RONDO…..JANGAN PIKIR BARANGAN MALAYSIA,KALAU BARANGAN MALAYSIA TAK NAK SUPPORT PENGGUNA MALAYSIA.PROTON TANGKAP MUAT JERK,INDAH KABAR DARI RUPA!!!!!!!BELI AVANZA ATAU RONDO,ENGINE SMOOTH DAN TAK BISING.EXORA ENGINE SURE BUNYI MACAM LORRY MACAM ENGINE GEN.2 AKU……..JANGAN BELI,JANGAN BELI,JANGAN BELI,AKU BERCAKAP ATAS HAK AKU SEBAGAI SEORANG PENGGUNA……JANGAN MARAH NANTI CEPAT TUA……[/quote]

Again….Waahhhhh…

what is your 1st attention? to make ppl bycott p1 so that p1 will die..

its like…die p1…die..!! plss……lol…n u will live happily ever after..

hurm..isnt that sweet….

hopefully ppl here more wise than what u think…

pls put some faith…p1 pls learn from mistake…there r ppl outhere still put some faith in u…if not…dunno what will happen next…

since it has shown that p1 is improving not still living in their own world n di takuk lama…ppl can do more proper judgement..

• not-a-coward on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:35 am

maybe proton should build a forum site for the owners or future owners to express their credits / depression over proton's quality/ performance …. in dad way…. they would be listening to us… and hopefully build a car that fit with malaysian style + euro/japan qualtiy …. proud to be Malaysian coz have own national car… but so sad….

proton does not emphasize on the safety aspects…. give people especially bashers …. bad review on it….

it is not too late to change…. believe it in urselves…

always hoping for safety features and engine new technology besides competative price….

hope proton will swell its quality and technology to same level as T,H, etc……

so that peoples would not justify proton just based on minor faulty on its products… like old saying goes " Kerana nila setitik , rosak susu sebelanga"

lotus ….please help proton more… proton is too young to survive in d world market…. p1 should derive more technology from lotus…

who doesn't proud if their national product can compete in international arena…..

proton …. do not easily satisfy with ur efforts… lots more things need to be improve….. so there will be no basher for proton products… keep up a good work….

:) peace…

• gen2lama on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:58 am

cant wait to add Exora on my garrage….but hold my booking for the manual trans. H-line 72K maaa..cant use my gov. loan…65K..just pay some deposit..low interest…don't really worry about the 2nd value…coz i want to apply for 4-5 years loan…mampu apa…but still choose PROTON…

and i hope my contribution can give proton the chance to improve…

• [quote comment="221932"]maybe proton should build a forum site for the owners or future owners to express their credits / depression over proton's quality/ performance …. in dad way…. they would be listening to us… and hopefully build a car that fit with malaysian style + euro/japan qualtiy …. proud to be Malaysian coz have own national car… [/quote]

actually proton have the forum thinggy u try to talk about..

its the proton i-care… they have online e-services u can talk to them smthg like MSN style… buyers and consumers' complaints, feedbacks are welcomed..

but is there anyone using that thing?? how many really feedback?? how many really made an official complaint..

no one knows…

safety requirement doesnt mean u have 2 airbags with abs will make ur car super safe. the body structure design and momentum/force absorption to lower crash impact more and more. i think someone posted a picture new proton saga bang by avanza, and avanza is badly kemek. that means, proton really put effort in body structure designing, strengthening the body and increase impact absorption.

i think those who following proton's news knew that proton is getting less and less QC complaints and problems. i cant say proton is good.. but atleast they tried to improved. improvement is all proton need to focus for years to come. good quality car doesnt come in days or months, it uses years of research and money dump in to design 1 good car.

compare to others.. proton doesnt make any concept car since few years back…not even a target future concept unlike BMW getting new high tech engines, Honda going for new powered engines and some going for advance turbos and so on.(money concern)

anyway…as malaysian we should support proton, but if proton doesnt improve in another few years… who the heck gonna buy from proton again.

but again…the truth is..proton is indeed improving.

the new MPV is another new step to proton to move forward. althou this MPV might missed some safety features but proton took their chance to try out new features like BCM which is new to all proton line up. 1 step by 1 step.

Rome doesnt built in 1 day. i just hope proton keep up the good work and keep on focus on the right thing.

gd luck.

• dzulx on Mar 18, 2009 at 7:33 am

When can proton use DSG in their car. hahah or at least 5AT or 6MT.

Exora certainly something that people are waiting for. But too bad it only has 1.6CPS.

I think proton should think about making overpowered car not cukup makan car. Somehow overpowered cars mark less fuel consumption in real life..

Just imagine satria neo with 2.0T.. hmm can compete with golf gti perhaps.. but 5mt is too old skool.. heheh

Well as Malaysian, I eager to see the best product ever from proton as they claimed… but dont think I will put my money in proton yet.

• jl@ipl on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:54 am

Sifu,

Thanks for the BCM update,very impressive. Congrat proton.

Strongly agree with you, most of the basher here never experience driving or even riding any MPV, regardless of brand.

I experience driving my company's Mit Space Wagon before. Fist time i drove it, i never exceed 110kmh, handling so bad, every time i turn, macam nak terbalik! Acceleration also bad, FC? forget about it. From KL to JB, need to fill up halfway (and i drive only 110kmh – Company car, kene saman kalu, perit nak menjawab, aku tak confirm lagi time tuh………) But then it was almost 3 yr back. Forgot to mentiond, 3 adult on board including me at that time. After that, i never drive the car long distance, i just don't like it, prefer Ford Ranger (another company car) instead.

Citra, experience as passenger, sit in 2nd row, sweating! Ride, not bad.

Grand Livina 1.6, as passenger also, sit in front, HRS not so bad, notice the driver had to rev high before cruising steadily. I notice the door was very thin, compared to Gen2,

I certainly look forward to test drive Exora, may be bring along 6 friends as you suggest. I was thinking P. Edar at BBK, got step hill nearby, wanne see by myself how Exora perform climbing it. Any one form Klang should got the idea, very step hill close to traffic light.

I got one suggestion, 'Dugong's ' ECU will cut off the A/C when the acc. pedal push hard, why don't Exora's ECU do the same? Can free extra power/Nm when overtaking.

I was thinking about electric power steering, like the Juara, but after some reading, i doubt that it'll do any good to Exora.

BTW, Sifu, how EVE doing? You know what i mean……………

• Kristopher on Mar 18, 2009 at 6:06 pm

how come the Exora look like Ford Focus Wagon? the front, side and the rear. But neverless, it might be a good car.

• initial R on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:58 pm

[quote comment="222050"]P1 are at least 30% more cheap than import car price here, import car need to down 30% quality to less 30% price to make sure at least it have same level price with P1. Out of oversea, P1 need upgrade 40% quality plus 10% cheap price to make sure it have 20% better than others car. UK didnt blind.[/quote]

Hah… sekurangnya ada gak yang paham keadaan. Hope Exora nie qualiti sama kita dapat dengan UK spec tanpa perubahan harga (kecuali naik taraf enjin bagus gak tu). Ruang enjin exora tu dengar kata luas lagi. Jadi ada harapan nak tengok exora 1.8L. Tu pun dah cukup, tapi aku rasa mungkin dalam 5>6 tahun lagi kot. Sapa tau… (Harga 1.8L tak sama tau. Jangan perasan nak dapat sama harga ngan harga 1.6L skarang). Emmm… Exora 1.8L Spec R. Nice. Siap moded lagi… Target 3 tahun lagi sbb anak ada 2, cukup le ngan accord aku & savvy wife aku. :)

• B33M3R on Mar 18, 2009 at 10:23 pm

1) when it will be launched officially?

2) what kind of 'surprise' that so called 'Si-Fu' mention previously?

3) can Proton create MPV for Executive ? Err.. look as exclusive as Estima..

• irfandanish on Mar 18, 2009 at 10:28 pm

ermmm…look like other contender dah mula goyang. keta lum keluar dah ada complain macam2. tnggu launching je….

• initial R on Mar 18, 2009 at 10:32 pm

[quote comment="222113"]1) when it will be launched officially?

2) what kind of 'surprise' that so called 'Si-Fu' mention previously?

3) can Proton create MPV for Executive ? Err.. look as exclusive as Estima..[/quote]

Lunching middle of april, Si-fu said just wait maybe 1.6 with light presure turbo, Exora executive maybe if P1 have 1.8 or 2.0 engine in line.

• panmerit on Mar 18, 2009 at 11:14 pm

I am driving Proton Wira 1.5 (Auto), as far as the under-power of Exora is concerned, if the power feeling of driving Exora (Auto) with 7 adults loaded is similar to or slightly better than Wira (Auto) with 5 adults loaded, then it should be acceptable to me.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 19, 2009 at 12:11 am

Nice features Paul. Thanks Sifu for highlighting more about BCM. Looks promising this lady Exora from P1. Well, hopefully the 'surprise' that being mentioned by Sifu will be a real surprise when the launching date comes.

• ys (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 1:09 am

Exora is a huge MPV. Much bigger compare to Innova.

only slightly short than I but E has a lower ground clearance (160 vs 200mm)

i am just wondering what tyre size will be selected? 195 or 205 on 15in rim?

personally, i am looking forward for at least 1.8l engine or "surprice" as mentioned by Sifu earlier.

I am sure Exora will bring a new era to Proton. good job proton. best wishes from us malaysian.

• off topic:

Paul

Nice icon, good job.

• initial R on Mar 19, 2009 at 1:48 am

Think that exora will have enough power since kia ceed 1.6l get good review from UK car mag. even only have 108bhp with 148Nm.

• jl@ipl on Mar 19, 2009 at 2:03 am

Sifu,

Any news on EVE?

• [quote comment="221972"]Sifu,

I certainly look forward to test drive Exora, may be bring along 6 friends as you suggest. I was thinking P. Edar at BBK, got step hill nearby, wanne see by myself how Exora perform climbing it. Any one form Klang should got the idea, very step hill close to traffic light.

I got one suggestion, 'Dugong's ' ECU will cut off the A/C when the acc. pedal push hard, why don't Exora's ECU do the same? Can free extra power/Nm when overtaking.

I was thinking about electric power steering, like the Juara, but after some reading, i doubt that it'll do any good to Exora.

BTW, Sifu, how EVE doing? You know what i mean……………[/quote]

I also from klang. I know the BBK hill there. go up hill n then make a U turn there .can test the turning radius as well.

• jl@ipl on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:23 am

Fufu,

Not exactly i had in mind. I plan to go all the way up and all the way down. I wanna see how it negotiate the bent just before reaching Fed. HIway

My gen2 do well overthere.

• madboy on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:54 am

[quote comment="222153"]…personally, i am looking forward for at least 1.8l engine or "surprice" as mentioned by Sifu earlier….[/quote]

I think what ever the surprises are already out la. Engine will remain the same CPS 1.6. So don't hope to high la bro..

• infinity (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:59 am

hey…we forgot something..will there be NGV tank installed??it should be great..even though now petrol price came down, but it doesn't hurt to have cheaper alternative right??

• Rulered on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:09 am

The details that Proton put their mind in Exora is actually quite impressive, somewhat like those that you find in continental cars. Hope that it works and lasts or else the 'unreliable car' cliche will crop up even stronger again.

I really hope that Proton would emphasize on quality and really put their mind on it, so that we don't have to deal with the Proton service centre uncessarilly too often.

• acerman on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:17 am

Haven't U guys notice?

CPS is more suitable for manual?

I've read most comments, bloggers and some car editors; manual CPS drives better?

How about it Si-Fu?

• upinipin on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:33 am

Proton Edar salesman (whom I booked the Exora with) called me up this afternoon. He told me one more color will be available for Exora – White!

• acerman on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:43 am

White?

Looks like Proton do have "ears" after all…they listen to customers now.

• initial R on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:51 pm

[quote comment="222293"]White?

Looks like Proton do have "ears" after all…they listen to customers now.[/quote]

yup… some of them also in this blog.

• hai, its been a long time. regarding the throttle response, yes, of course it will be better than auto, but it doesnt mean that the auto is not good. its already been explained earlier in the neo post that the auto torque converter sap too mush power so the improvement almost unnoticeable in the begining, meaning that from standstill acceleration (1000rpm-2000rpm)but after that it will be smoothly.(2000rpm and above). between the auto tranny and manual tranny, of course u will feel the initial acceleration of manual is better. but i think i still need to remind u that during the test, all 7 occupants are adult. i think all of u still remember the test mule (toyota wish 1.8), it is proton benchmark and they already test the wish together with exora in the same condition and same occupants on board. fYI the exora performs very well indeed, the time of arrival also nearly identical with the wish. maybe some of u did not satisfy and saying that wish is superior, but it is not that superior compare to exora, it only have a little edge compare to the auto exora in term of performance but in manual tranny, it is on par, but auto exora shine during the cornering to the way to genting. thats why the time is almost the same. if u not satisfy, try it urself by driving wish 1.8 full of load with 7 adults to genting. to remind u, the wish also need to rev it high to get to its powerband and above 5000rpm,the engine feel harsh but it doesnt mean that it is not a good engine because different engine have different characteristics.

the only mpv that doesnt feel strained is the one equip with turbo charger. but as u can see, for budget and midrange mpv, all the mpv's use na engine. when car manufacturer benchmark the other car, meaning that they are trying to make their car al least nearly identical to the benchmark or better. same as proton but please remember,eventhough we benchmark the wish, but our mpv segment is one level below. why proton benchmark wish, not grand livina? it is because if u want to build a car that may be can be one of the best in its segment, it is better to benchmark one level higher.

one more info, regarding safety, 80% of the chasis made of uhtss and htss. even the side impact beam made of htss including door catcher. thats why proton cars nowadays their doors are quite heavy. and they are also soft trim in the dashboard…

chow…………

• hi madboy,
    i just hope for extra surprise from proton.

by the way, still no news on what tyre size they use huh…?
    195/65 R15 maybe? anything from Paul or Sifu?

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 9:37 pm

Inilah dia Typical Malaysian…pandai bercakap,pandai komplen,pandai bashing…

i feel this forum turn to 'a place to speak as tong kosong'.many ppl give comment with no research,no revise,no FACTs at all.

Rakyat Malaysia masih belum ubah cara mereka berfikir.So Proton,pls add to your assignment,"The Rebadging of Malaysian Mentality"…

• aenz81 on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:54 pm

[quote comment="222158"]Think that exora will have enough power since kia ceed 1.6l get good review from UK car mag. even only have 108bhp with 148Nm.[/quote]

Good point initial R…

KIA Ceed kerb weight is 1355kg, power 120@6200 bhp/rpm, torque 114@4200 lb/ft.

http://www.carpages.co.uk/guide/kia/kia-ceed-1.6-…

Exora kerb weight is 1380kg, power 125@6500 bhp/rpm, torque 150Nm@4500rpm

so who still gonna say Exora will underpower?

• aenz81 on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:02 am

Good explaination mr x… :)

• kruzer (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:52 am

If you perform any sudden braking at speeds of at least 96km/h, the hazard lights will flash automatically.

IMO, this should be calibrated lower. Note that most of our accidents occur on trunk roads, where the speed limits are between 60 – 90kmh. And this is where some nuts will actually come out of small junctions, or suddenly turn without using their indicators. So, there would be more emergency braking happening here. At speeds of at least 96kmh, it will mean the expressways only. Even Fed Hwy is 80kmh only.

• zulomar on Mar 25, 2009 at 12:35 am

I’ve been reading comments here on Exora.

IMHO, performance of MPVs would be better evaluated by person who has experience driving or owns MPV. One should also understand the purpose of a MPV and what we should look for in a MPV.

I own a Naza Ria which I bought in January 2006 and thus far it serves the reason why I bought it in the 1st place i.e. ferrying my families including extended families in comfort (with AC for all 3 rows and spacious for all), DVD entertainment system especially for long distance travel.

Before I opted for Naza Ria, I’ve booked Toyota Innova. But after test drived it, I cancelled and chosed the Naza Ria (MPV in similar price bracket and can accomodate 7 people -adults at that time). For me Innove is overrated as its has poor ride quality with body roll/floating feeling which can make the passengers dizzy. It is a substandard Toyota product for 3rd world market.

For those who commented that Avanza is a better car than Exora, I bag to differ. If Innova ride is worse than Ria, than Avanza will be even worse. Trust me, I’ve been in Avanza. When it was introduced, it was the only affordable MPV around. But with the introduction of Exora (based on the reviews that I gathered from the test drive by various medias including PT), Avanza sales will be affected badly. Even people who don’t just go for the brand will skip Innova for Exora.

Avanza is bumpy and very uncomfortable.

On the safety and underpower issues, MPV is not for racing. The driver must be responsible to ensure that their passengers have a safe and comfortable journey

The only issue is, Proton must ensure that the quality issue is taken care of. All service centres must be trained well, and their personnel no longer passing comments like “Biasalah bang, Proton”. This is very damaging to the brand and will make all the good effort by DS Zainal thus far go to waist.

On issue of winning at traffic lights, my 660 Kancil always moved faster than other cars when the light is green. The secret is always be prepared when the light is green, not to race.

Given the proposed price range and the gadgets BCM and all fitted, this Exora will be a seller.

As commented somewhere, Proton should highlight all the gadgets/extras/facilities in their promotions. Malaysian will look for these.

BUT MAKE SURE QUALITY IS UP TO MARK. The rests will take care of themselves.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:53 pm

MPV is for people mover, not for racing. The choice is up to you.

P1 please make sure that the quality is better and better and up to date, so that you can attract more and more people to buy your product and build trust to the P1 brand.

All the service centre whether its operated by Edar or EON or even the Proton authorized service centre should be a step ahead from others in terms of service time, facilities, quality of service, knowledge etc….

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 27, 2009 at 6:41 am

Dudes…. this is Exora laa…Keriangan Keluarga ….

If u expect GTI spec for this MPV.. just go get her sibling now…Evora … Peace..:)

• I,m here not talking about exora.I,m just want to share with all ppl about my Gen2(2005).tak sampai sebulan kuar kedai, ada bunyi kat belakang.Bila antar SC dia org kata besi keselamatan dalam bumper belakang berlaga.So nak mengatasi, kena buang lah besi tu.Now my Gen2 takde safety belakang.Tingkap jatuh,pintu terkunci n takleh buka tu dah biasa ngat jadi to my Gen2.N now kalau saya balik keja baru sampai simpang wife dah tau saya balik, punyalah kuat bunyi enjin.But i,m still waiting for exora (dah itu yang mampu).Harap2 exora tak der masalah cam tulah.

• jl@ipl on Mar 31, 2009 at 9:51 pm

kay said,

March 31, 2009 @ 12:38 pm · Reply with quote

now kalau saya balik keja baru sampai simpang wife dah tau saya balik, punyalah kuat bunyi enjin.

Same thing happen to my wife'car.I thought it was a lorry stopped in front of my house! Turn out to be just the drive belt, the sound reduce after i spray it with silicon spray. May be you should try, or, may be consider renew the belt.

• [quote comment="225753"]kay said,

March 31, 2009 @ 12:38 pm · Reply with quote

now kalau saya balik keja baru sampai simpang wife dah tau saya balik, punyalah kuat bunyi enjin.

Same thing happen to my wife'car.I thought it was a lorry stopped in front of my house! Turn out to be just the drive belt, the sound reduce after i spray it with silicon spray. May be you should try, or, may be consider renew the belt.[/quote]

tq for ur advise but the belt n timming already changed.u know dah sebotol silicon spray i used.It not a belt coz bunyi belt n bunyi engine ofcourse lain bro.maybe i should change the car key to settle this.but im worried if exora have the same problem coz the same engine is used.sorry if i,m wrong

• Sttuupeed on Apr 01, 2009 at 12:41 am

Hello proron guys…

I dont have any experiences in driving MPV but my fingers you know very ithchy-ithchy to bash you guys..

You know aaa…your MPV design is sooo teribble one you know..Myvi lagi cantekk, avanza lagi cun…compared to BMW 3 series wah soo damn fugly lor.

Why do u use 1.6 litre engine aaa? Cannot even move on, have to tarik pakai itu kereta lembu you now. Please laa use 3.0 liter engine plus supercharger, sure can play corner one..then I can use this to race 1-100km/hr in 5secs. If cannot what is the purpose you built this MPV maa.

Wahh lucky u copy that cherrie MPV platform one, then I can bash you even more. If you use Fortuner or Vios how can I bash you, japan cars all good one…never in a history they make a single mistake tau. I wish I can got to Japan, buy their very cheap and mighty car and sleep in it..so comfortable.

Your car are soo bad in quality laa, not even improve even 20+ years of manufacturing cars. You better just rebrand other car laa…easy one you know..just change the name and buang some parts and sell it cheaper…People will love you then, like "I just buy Mitsibushi Exora, cool man".

Why all the fuss putting all the BCM? you guys cannot handle it maa…to young, even europe cars have prblem you tau kaa. Just stick to old technology…then I can bash you even more for not developing..hahahah!!!

Last thing aa I want to bash, why your price soo damn high? sell cheap2 sudah laa, how about timbang kilo? 1 ringgit for kilo?ok what…I dont care laa about your 500mil investment in one new platform, you dont even pay tax what. I demand you to make a greatest car in the world wiht the cheapest price. I deserved that. I am an ignorant, I am not selfish… I just want all to suit what I want, and sometime I just like to bash without any reason

Thank you and a very nice day

• SwiftMatrix on Apr 01, 2009 at 7:18 am

[quote comment="225823"]Hello proron guys…

I dont have any experiences in driving MPV but my fingers you know very ithchy-ithchy to bash you guys..

You know aaa…your MPV design is sooo teribble one you know..Myvi lagi cantekk, avanza lagi cun…compared to BMW 3 series wah soo damn fugly lor.

Why do u use 1.6 litre engine aaa? Cannot even move on, have to tarik pakai itu kereta lembu you now. Please laa use 3.0 liter engine plus supercharger, sure can play corner one..then I can use this to race 1-100km/hr in 5secs. If cannot what is the purpose you built this MPV maa.

Wahh lucky u copy that cherrie MPV platform one, then I can bash you even more. If you use Fortuner or Vios how can I bash you, japan cars all good one…never in a history they make a single mistake tau. I wish I can got to Japan, buy their very cheap and mighty car and sleep in it..so comfortable.

Your car are soo bad in quality laa, not even improve even 20+ years of manufacturing cars. You better just rebrand other car laa…easy one you know..just change the name and buang some parts and sell it cheaper…People will love you then, like "I just buy Mitsibushi Exora, cool man".

Why all the fuss putting all the BCM? you guys cannot handle it maa…to young, even europe cars have prblem you tau kaa. Just stick to old technology…then I can bash you even more for not developing..hahahah!!!

Last thing aa I want to bash, why your price soo damn high? sell cheap2 sudah laa, how about timbang kilo? 1 ringgit for kilo?ok what…I dont care laa about your 500mil investment in one new platform, you dont even pay tax what. I demand you to make a greatest car in the world wiht the cheapest price. I deserved that. I am an ignorant, I am not selfish… I just want all to suit what I want, and sometime I just like to bash without any reason

Thank you and a very nice day[/quote]

Are you drunk dudes???

• kenzoenzo on Apr 01, 2009 at 11:37 pm

the fuel consumtion of this mpv/exora ???

the performance????

torque????

• filixku on Apr 04, 2009 at 11:41 pm

yeah i also concern about the fuel efficiency… if saves fuel like my myvi i will consider to buy one because need more space like exora have. anyway proton have a good move by introducing this model as i think many users need a MPV with all modern features but with competitive price. i think the price quite accpetable by me and others but not for mr. swiftmatrix haha

• freedom on Apr 07, 2009 at 8:34 pm

if u nk beli exora ni. dont be a first person, coz pada awal production, there have some problem. after 1-2 years, improvement already make. so, wait lar.. jgn nk cpt2 beli.. nti nyesal, klu dpt kete yg ber problem…. tat my xperience in automotive industry lar..

• HaNaBiShI on Apr 16, 2009 at 6:47 am

WaAaA~So Big AnD FaBoUlOuS 2 SeE!!So MaNy SpAcE AnD CoMfOrTaBlE~DaT BiG SpAcE CaN AlSo ElAkKaN oRg MaBuK JaLaN JuSt LiKe MeE..HeHe,BoNgKaR RahSiA…AnD tHe PrIcE ArE So ReAsOnAbLe~WaAaA…CaNt WaIt 2 TrY!!!

• Proud Citizen on Apr 16, 2009 at 7:54 pm

Dear Sifu,

I have read most the the comments on Proton Cars from your site. Some are good, some are interesting, some wrote with brains and some are pure idiots.

To those idiots: If your drive any car or MPV like you moronically expressed your views, then nothing will fits you. Drive a tank…you morons!

To those who complained so much about your cars you bought, drive and still own it: Take a class about the mechanics of automobile, take a class on how to maintain, take a proper driving lesson. If that failed, take a bus you morons!

To those who never be grateful of what this country did for you: Think about it, this humble developing nation called Malaysia did produced an auto industries in a very short time, most developed countries ever dream of. Aren't you not proud of it? Thousands of engineers and ordinary people get jobs, make living out of it. To bash takes nothing, to curse take nothing, to grumble takes nothing but to do the impossible take guts! If you don't want to be be proud as a citizen, at least be proud that you are moron, morons!

• Banyakkan body kit dan side skrit R3 ke…sport rim pun bagi la yang menarik dari biasa,yang 5 batang ke 6 batang ke…tambah dengan sun roof ke,sekarang nie orang suka kereta ke mpv ke nampak simple tapi menawan.audio yang menarik seperti swift.Biar nampak sporty dan garang

• mangkok on Apr 18, 2009 at 4:11 am

pada aku, betapa canggih dan cantek sekali pon keta tu tak ada makna kalo asek problem aja. udah la asek problem, sparepart plak mahal…

ada keta berkilat, powerful dan canggih tak guna bro kalo ko kena berdiri kat tepi jalan berpeluh panas mentari ataupun dalam gelap gelita dekat ngan kubur di malam hari kena tunggu towtruck bila keta breakdown…

walopon keta iswara aku udah dekat duaploh tawun umornye, masih reliable. yg penting aku sampai ke destinasi tanpa masalah. petrol pon jimat, utang tarak, sparepart pon murahhhh… mana ceruk kampong pon ada sparepart… bukan aku tak mampu nak angkat keta baru, tapi nak watpe buang duit bayar utang keta sedang keta yg ada takde masaelah langsung?

That's why I love my Proton Saga… biarpon lobang karat pada pintumu di sana sini tidak ku hiraukan, kau tetap menjadi pujaan hatiku… ahahhahaha

• hari ni aku baru je pergi tempah toyota innova G spec.harga 109k…terkilan dgn proton sbb keluarkan exora 1.6cc..sepanjang pencarian aku mencari mpv ni..dah byk aku cuba bermula dr livina,rondo ..ternyata apa yg proton tawarkan spt dvd dan sbgainya tidak dpt menyakinkan aku utk membelinya.Bagi aku 1.6cc walaupun cps tak cukup utk aku puas hati krn waja yg aku gunakan skrg ni pun nk panjat genting highland(bukan genting sempah) begitu terseksa..

proton dah rugi satu lagi pembeli..kalau lah ada exora 1.8cc kan bagus…

• [quote comment="225823"]Hello proron guys…

Thank you and a very nice day[/quote]

yeah…quite good thoughts for a stupid moron!geez..how come you said like that?!who said that japan made cars never being criticize in their history??

even manufacturers like toyota and nissan used to be called crappy tins in their early times!!but the important thing is they're constantly improving and u can see at what level they're now.

this is what proton is constantly being doing now!!keep improve until they reached the desired level.

i think you should revised on your history knowledge more!!!

• lin_melaka on Apr 20, 2009 at 10:57 pm

[quote comment="221240"]so fast already got exoraclub.com :p[/quote]

whatever….

i was a supporter of proton…

mine waja…enough touching…8 years bithday recently..

but my life is haru biru…with this proton product

…year one power window…jammed..( i cant remeber going to workshop how many times)

…year 2…oil..connecter..burst..and oil spillout in highway while we re in the car..my god..wht type of car did they produce

…water tank..leaking at year 4

hei..my life miserable with this proton product

sayonara proton

…year 3..

• PROTON EXORA agak baik,tapi bayar tak utk GPS itu

• Aggronax on May 16, 2009 at 6:48 am

Interesting list of BCM, So Proton have notice a lot mid-income earner would like their car have similar features of a luxury car.

My main concern still is Quality issue not the features.

Honestly, Exora look are not a good looking type of MPV.

• erail on May 21, 2009 at 4:57 am

i feel kia rondo is my best choose

because it base very big and beautiful,the power is 145ps and 189NM……..

the price is cheap lol….i think lah!!!!!

• erail on May 21, 2009 at 4:59 am

i think the kia rondo is the best because it engine is 2.0cc 145ps…

so good!!!!!!!!!!

and the base same exora lah…

• Looks like an MPV dr on Jun 07, 2009 at 6:30 pm

I dont want to downgrade proton since I used to drive around in a Saga and a Wira..but due to the expansion of my family members, I decided to have a bigger car..my choice? Well, I bought a Livina 2 months ago.

People ask me why I dont wait for Exora or bought an Innova or Avanza for that matter…..well here is my answer :

1. Power. The moment I test drove a Livina, Innova and Avanza (since there is no Exora to test drive at that time)..i fell in love straight away with Livina and place my order immediately.

2. Handling. There is nothing compared to Electronic Power Steering and Ripple Control Suspension. Absolutely no match.

3. Luxury. Well, if you choose Livina Luxury model, it gives you luxurious sensation.

Then when an exora was available to be test drove, I test drove the car and I am relief because……

I made the right decision!

• sukatikolahhh on Nov 01, 2009 at 6:58 am

that day I smoked a grand livina on a windy road with exora… superb lotus handling even in extremely wet condition. no other MPV can match its road handling…

• exora" fans on Dec 11, 2009 at 6:53 am

salam sume…..neh aku nk britahu yg proton patut cipta sebuah enjin bru untuk proton exora…aku dgar cite proton nak letak turbo…aku rse tak sesuai lah psang bnde tuh kat base 1.6 campro cps tuh…kalu mcm tuh msti kuat makan minyak punye….aku nak cite kat korang..ari tuh kawan aku die bli proton exora h-line(auto)..die g genting highland ngan family die nak brcuti..mse nak naik tuh die kate kte very underpower smpaikan die kene main gear 3 ke 2…akhirnye smpai gak…tpi ble smpai korang tau die bukak hood enjin tuh brasaplah sket2…so die kate kat aku menyesal gile bli proton exora tuh….so aaku nak cdangkan baik proton buat stu enjin 1.8 litre kat proton exora tuh…ape pndangan korang???????email aku kat…[email protected]….

• ExoraOwner on Feb 01, 2016 at 1:20 pm

wow.. looking back at these comments

It is a decent car. But the only problem I had was with 1.6 CPS engine. Really, Proton?