Proton Exora set for 15th April 2009 launch!

Proton Exora

Proton’s first 7-seater MPV the Proton Exora will be launched on the 15th of April 2009, if everything goes well. That is very close, less than a month from now!

Proton has pulled many unexpected but welcome and pleasant moves with the launch of this MPV. The first is of course letting a few journalists try the MPV out. Another is actually letting customers who have taken the leap of faith and placed a RM1,000 deposit for the MPV without even seeing it yet, actually see it!

[zenphotopress number=99 album=189]

Yes, a few customers who have placed bookings were invited to Proton’s test track sometime ago for them to sample the MPV that they will soon own. One such customer had a very amusing reason for buying the MPV, as can be read in Business Times interview with some of the buyers:

“I originally wanted to buy a Proton Satria Neo CPS for my wife, who likes driving fast. But to curb her interest for her own good, I decided to get her an Exora. She doesn’t know that I’m buying her the car. If she doesn’t like it, I may have to buy her the Neo CPS,” said T.K. How from Puchong.

Anyway you can check out the rest of the comments here.

Proton Exora Prototype Test Drive Experience
Proton Exora MPV: Body Control Module and more juicy details
Proton Exora features list teaser scan
Proton Exora MPV meter panel and dashboard textures in high resolution
Proton Exora MPV teaser scans: flat-folding seats
Proton Exora 7-seater MPV interior details revealed

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• cant wait anymore :p

• gattaca on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:58 am

for proton, now people start to look up at you. Never, never and never let them down even for single inch. Because if you do, people will not even remember who are. I hope every effort has been done to make proton in better perspective.

Best of luck proton.. Long live TJCC!!

• atieus on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:59 am

cant wait to see the actual car!

• gattaca on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:02 am

one more thing, make sure all this BCM thingy and extra features in Exora are well plated in every salesman brain, if not, people start asking n u guys cant afford to answer it correctly, the good impression in first place will just go down to drain…

• catdeco on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:10 am

huhuhu.cant wait for it.

• irfan on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:13 am

the wife might just "drive fast" with exora instead, which would eventually prove to be the exact opposite of "her own good"! ahahaha…

• Cutester on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:18 am

I think the showroom is going to be even more crowded this time compared to the launch of Saga. Squeeze here and there to get a glimpse of the MPV…. hehe. Can't wait for the launch! Hope there's a surprise for everybody….

• hope exora will as 'beautiful' as it's name.. ^-^

• newbie on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:34 am

should have bought her wife neo cps, if she likes to drive fast . haha.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:46 am

NGV anyone??will proton include an NGV tank in this exora??even though petrol price came down, but it doesn't hurt to have a cheaper alternative right?

• Superman on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:48 am

If I'm not mistaken, the early rumor said that Exora is powered by a 2.5L V6 engine. But now, it's disappointed me with a 1.6L Campro…

• NGV or no sure jual punyalah

• nabill on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:53 am

ya i wanted to buy a tractor for my farm bt ended up buying a caterham !

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:59 am

15th is Wednesday. Hm….. anyway, surprise me, Proton ;) Long live TJCC ahaha!!

• fastcx (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:08 am

[quote comment="222266"]If I'm not mistaken, the early rumor said that Exora is powered by a 2.5L V6 engine. But now, it's disappointed me with a 1.6L Campro…[/quote]

wow ur "wind" blows till so kencang hahaha 2.5l v6?! LOL where u get that from?

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:14 am

I like the marketing strategies used by P1 to promote this MPV, it gives us a rough idea of how the MPV would be.

Hope this Exora live up to our expectation. Good job! Keep it up P1.

• Wisdom on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:19 am

Those live in Subang or Batu Tiga can start setting up tripod and cameras. Proton will start shipping Exoras to showrooms throughout Malaysia in a short while. Some glimpse of the whole car, especially three rear three quarter, could give us further exposure to Proton Exora.

Looking back at the design, yes Exora didn't have any extreme lines but i guess the design wont aged that fast. Example; the new Saga. Looks like a normal sedan during launching without any special design cues but until now the design still look fresh.

• WinterAngeLs on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:20 am

[quote comment="222266"]If I'm not mistaken, the early rumor said that Exora is powered by a 2.5L V6 engine. But now, it's disappointed me with a 1.6L Campro…[/quote]

2.5L V6? Wow! If P1 has that engine they could have build it in the new perdana instead of in a MPV i guess, just my thoughts =)

• gattaca on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:24 am

[quote comment="222275"][quote comment="222266"]If I'm not mistaken, the early rumor said that Exora is powered by a 2.5L V6 engine. But now, it's disappointed me with a 1.6L Campro…[/quote]

wow ur "wind" blows till so kencang hahaha 2.5l v6?! LOL where u get that from?[/quote]

i think he'd got it from naza ria..hehe

• Paul Tan on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:36 am

That speculation may have found its roots in rumours that Proton was talking to SAIC about using the Rover 75 as a new generation Perdana. The Rover 75 is powered by the 2.5 liter V6 also found in the Naza Ria.

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/01/25/proton-sai…

• Well what that t.k. chong's point is "if u want fast and powerful, get the neo cps. But if u wan slow and underpowered, get the Exora"…

• ali38hak on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:45 am

bring a 1.6L diesel engine

common-rail turbo diesel ! ! ! !

Exora TD :)

• Goniothalamus on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:52 am

Wait, see and comment. After that just buy or just drive your current MPV/car.

• aliBaPa on Mar 19, 2009 at 9:28 am

i want reliable quality !!

or buy foreign cars

• Bodow on Mar 19, 2009 at 9:33 am

Despite the continous bashing , many Grandis -stream-wish users would flock at Proton showrooms to catch glimses of Exora …i'm one of the ones hik hik

• the bitter part is still the engine, hopefully UK version boost the availability of the turbo SE version

• mystvearn on Mar 19, 2009 at 12:03 pm

Wishing a 2.0L campro engine is in the works somewhere there in proton.

• kimi_ on Mar 19, 2009 at 2:36 pm

Where is osh-kosh ???

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 3:42 pm

really cant wait for the new exora ..

well done proton, dun let us down ..

• mohdjiman on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:35 pm

arghhh…still cannot remember the BCM thingy…have to write down la…i'm getting old…

• [quote comment="222309"]Despite the continous bashing , many Grandis -stream-wish users would flock at Proton showrooms to catch glimses of Exora …i'm one of the ones hik hik[/quote]

hahaha u should go to a proton showroom wearing a mask!

cheers!

long live… TJCC!

• initial R on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:37 pm

Business Times interview with some of the buyers:
    http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/arti…

• aMoei on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:43 pm

… go!!

• Paul Tan on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:45 pm

Please try to keep this comments section related to the Proton Exora only.

• madboy on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:46 pm

did anybody cancel their order? Hopefully none..

• torque (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 4:59 pm

Hahaha…another news which will hit more than 100 post of comments!!! :-) Good job Proton…looks like you have create a ripple in the water I see…can't wait to see it in person. Cheers!

• azrai on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:11 pm

Finally Proton dare to change, hear, make studies, and give what the rakyat want actually want from the national carmakers. Hopefully they will improve a lot in coming years and give us a new good experience choosing Proton not like during the 90's.

• muryadi on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:31 pm

http://www.btimes.com.my/Current_News/BTIMES/arti…

Company officials, meanwhile, said orders for some 1,500 units of the 1.6-litre MPV were already secured since unofficial sales kicked off on February 21.

————————————————————

Not bad, belum launch pun sudah ada 1500 booking.

• Kevin on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:31 pm

nice already have 1,500 of booking during prelaunch…

• droll on Mar 19, 2009 at 5:56 pm

wife who enjoys driving fast?? faster, introduce her to me! LOL.

anyway, it seems proton is finally growing up. kudos! now it remains to be seen if the Exora can stand-up to the test of quality.

• the stik on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:07 pm

later they'll produce a 1.6 turbocharge campro, am i right paul?

• osh_kosh on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:13 pm

“I originally wanted to buy a Proton Satria Neo CPS for my wife, who likes driving fast. But to curb her interest for her own good, I decided to get her an Exora. She doesn’t know that I’m buying her the car. If she doesn’t like it, I may have to buy her the Neo CPS,” said T.K. How from Puchong.

–>Wow! i bet his wife gonna pissed off with his desicion hehehehe… if she is what he said she was…

• aenz81 on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:15 pm

[quote comment="222291"]Well what that t.k. chong's point is "if u want fast and powerful, get the neo cps. But if u wan slow and underpowered, get the Exora"…[/quote]

so, do u think citra 2.0 or can smoke neo cps?

• Littlefire on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:25 pm

WTF… Neo CPS also come in to fight Citra 2.0?!?

The right competition is Citra 2.0 vs Evora 1.6L, which 1 smoke first?

Anyway that stupid guy who said want to buy Exora for his wife, i think the wife will sure pissed off if she found out. Exora is totally different compare to Neo! If her wife like speedy car, Exora will the the total opposite of it! LOLZ… I am thinking of that guy kena bash by his wife if found out..

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:37 pm

Less than 1 month from only. Hopefully P1 will come up with a real surprise as mentioned by Sifu in previous post. 1500 booking untill today. Not bad for a prelaunch model. Build more and more quality cars P1.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Sorry.. typing error "Less than 1 month from launching date'

• Tiadaid on Mar 19, 2009 at 6:56 pm

[quote comment="222407"]“I originally wanted to buy a Proton Satria Neo CPS for my wife, who likes driving fast. But to curb her interest for her own good, I decided to get her an Exora. She doesn’t know that I’m buying her the car. If she doesn’t like it, I may have to buy her the Neo CPS,” said T.K. How from Puchong.

–>Wow! i bet his wife gonna pissed off with his desicion hehehehe… if she is what he said she was…[/quote]

If I'm the guy, I'll say to my wife if she's pissed off, "Shove off! It's my money, my decision" :-D

• scottloeb on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:06 pm

For Proton to do well, I think what matters most is to give what the market wants. The market wants:

Cheap, low maintenance car

Big enough and should be class leading space

good quality (relative to class but class leading material and texture are welcomed)

High spec (all acronyms in the world should be included, esp on accy so the neighbors/colleagues will jealous )

Safety (cukup makan will do, additional is a bonus)

Non Proton Badge (common man badge)

Exora seems to fill all, except the last one. Face it, 1.6 is good enough, powerful enough and maintenance wise is cheap enough. The moment you put turbo, people will start questioning on the maintenance. Toyota Camry first venture into 2.2 cc resulting the market shying away from the car due to odd cc. Should the public argue about quality, Chips & Paul already agree on the quality is improved based on prototype model but on the production model and long term, only time will tell. Spec wise, Exora seems to be top of its class and we can safely say this model will bring the numbers to Proton books at least for the next 2 years. With the introduction to 1.8 in the near future, they will able to rope in more customers who is sceptical abt 1.6 CPS

• many people come to me asking about exora, normal people dont really know about this ,they dont read, they dont know what is new in campro like iafm, cps, what it does to your car, many dont know the change of persona and gen 2 interior, they dont know what is satria neo cps,

i think proton should emphasis on how thing works,

because for toyota or honda even they dont know what is vvt or v tech, but they talk mouthful with that word.

so proton shoul be wise in promoting the iafm or cps, so that every average person know that.

thats what i think ,

on my side i tell people what i know about proton cars, some of them enlightened, not that yet i ask them to drive proton cars while they actually drive a toyota. i admit toyota engine a bit more refine, but i insist them to drive a proton , let them geat a feel of proton.

• Zaff1984 on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:22 pm

do we get LCD monitor at front dash (replacing the huge waja player) also beside having LCD monitor mounted on the roof? Touch screen front LCD would be very nice. "small touch big impact"

• alvin_chan88 on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:30 pm

Currently, I do feel that the design is good and the interior is acceptable with its price. "What you pay is what you get" should be a common understanding among us. (Although the tax system here is not really acceptable here). My first impression towards it is positive despite the inferior quality I had with my Gen 2. It is undeniable that Proton is improving and I also do hope Proton can be 1 competitive enough to compete with other brands. As for the underpowered issue, try to be optimistic abit that when you are bringing your family and friends along with you (6 of them some more), you are responsible over their safety, so if it is underpowered, I think it should be ok because for the sake of their safety (and yours too), drive safely and be very much alert and careful. So it is a good thing that the engine is just ngam ngam enough. hehe. Sorry if I have offended anyone. Cheers

• madimat on Mar 19, 2009 at 7:35 pm

The current specs looks promising but I would like to propose some additions. Hope Si-Fu and his boss/bosses will take into consideration :

+ Sunroof

+ Full Skirtings and bodykits

+ Bigger wheels

+ White body color

+ Anti-Theft + Satellite Tracking System

+ 1.8 engine

+ stricter quality control

+ and what else …

..and price it to some RM85K and i believe we got a winner in the MPV segment !

.peace!

TJCC rocks!

• aenz81 on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:09 pm

[quote comment="222410"]WTF… Neo CPS also come in to fight Citra 2.0?!?

The right competition is Citra 2.0 vs Evora 1.6L, which 1 smoke first?[/quote]

that because BW giving a stupid comment.. "But if u wan slow and UNDERPOWERED, get the Exora"…he still not test drive it yet but already know Exora is "underpowered"… even if T.K How buying citra 2.0 for his wife, the power will never be same as Neo cps…. MPV is always MPV eventhough it's 2.0cc…

evethough citra can smoke Exora, i will think twice before i put my money on carens/citra 2.0…

• lancer4064 (Member) on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:20 pm

yes… white colour body would be nice…

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:34 pm

[quote comment="222385"]did anybody cancel their order? Hopefully none..[/quote]

Still sticking with my 5 orders (to make profits).

Chiao!

• Lady Exora fans on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:35 pm

Damn Cool !!! dun forget 1Terabyte free external storage to watch DVD in the Lady Exora… Cool babe!

• runnerup on Mar 19, 2009 at 8:52 pm

[quote comment="222410"]Anyway that stupid guy who said want to buy Exora for his wife, i think the wife will sure pissed off if she found out. Exora is totally different compare to Neo! If her wife like speedy car, Exora will the the total opposite of it! LOLZ… I am thinking of that guy kena bash by his wife if found out..[/quote]

Aiyoh, it's not exactly nice to call that guy stupid. He did that for a reason, and i think it's quite a valid one. After all, he did mention he'll buy the Neo CPS anyway if his wife doesn't like the Exora =P

BTW, if that's the case, then does that mean he'll buy both the Neo CPS and the Exora or he'll just cancel the Exora booking. hmmmm…

• see-see only on Mar 19, 2009 at 9:51 pm

hmm…just my 0.2cen idea…why not we list down or make a checklist of what to inspect in the show room and/or in test drive session. At least we have something to jolt down..

Showroom:

1. Overall look ( x point of 10)

2. Overall space (x / 10)

3. Third row space ( x / 10 )

Test Drive:

1. Handling alone ( x / 10)

2. Handling with 7 ( x / 10)

3. Comfort alone (x / 10)

4. Comfort with 7 (x / 10)

• Shank on Mar 19, 2009 at 10:04 pm

ayo Proton wat uve done!! no legenday Mit's V6?

should put dat…wuuuuu

proton proton, hopefully they cme out wit dat baby.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 19, 2009 at 10:13 pm

Hopefully this addition can be take into consideration by P1 top management for the future of this lady Exora.

• yup..would luv to see 1.8 campro cps or 2.0 campro cps in Exora.. if not, Exora will be underpowered… Hope P1 upgrade Persona IAFM to Persona CPS..felt underpowered a little bit..

• henryee on Mar 19, 2009 at 10:47 pm

[quote comment="222440"]yes… white colour body would be nice…[/quote]

Personally, I would have some hold back on white colour vehicle in Malaysia, especially Wira and Waja. Coz if u buy a colour like this, it will look like u r driving a Policce car. (No offence on white colour car owner)^v^

Since white colour becomes popular nowadays, I think ppl will will still buy white colour cars.

• there another ads in The Star……one of it features say that, "the body was designed to meet euro ncap 4star rating"

• Kevin on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:01 pm

[quote comment="222471"]there another ads in The Star……one of it features say that, "the body was designed to meet euro ncap 4star rating"[/quote]

wah… which day is the star paper got the ads? If your said is truth… haha Proton is no longer called so-call a milo tin car.

• Arise on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:02 pm

Why only NCAP 4 star ?

• Kevin on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Except Proton savvy… which has the strongest body compare to other proton cars.

• muryadi on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:05 pm

[quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

For me it's more than good enough.

• The Star today laaa…..errr, i thought Savvy only 3star.

• scottloeb on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:26 pm

To get Euro NCAP not necessarily need to have tough shell. Restrained system, crumple zone, hazard information and such need to be in place. Most of Renault cars got 5 star due to additional touch like annoying seatbelt indicator beep that volume goes up in related to time (that wont go off until you wear one), ting-tong if you exceed the speed limit, 6, 9 to10 airbags to protect face, fingernails and c*ck and such. Those additional touch have prove to help increase the EuroNCAP ratings. Good body dynamics is help by these but what most important is after the collision (in the required speed range), the driver & passenger can escape unscathed (like the ever famous Waja vs European Toyota top gear vids) and minimal deformation in the cabin.

• Kevin on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:30 pm

[quote comment="222482"]To get Euro NCAP not necessarily need to have tough shell. Restrained system, crumple zone, hazard information and such need to be in place. Most of Renault cars got 5 star due to additional touch like annoying seatbelt indicator beep that volume goes up in related to time (that wont go off until you wear one), ting-tong if you exceed the speed limit, 6, 9 to10 airbags to protect face, fingernails and c*ck and such. Those additional touch have prove to help increase the EuroNCAP ratings. Good body dynamics is help by these but what most important is after the collision (in the required speed range), the driver & passenger can escape unscathed (like the ever famous Waja vs European Toyota top gear vids) and minimal deformation in the cabin.[/quote]

Yup… i've seen the video on youtube. But waja/impian only rated 3/5.0.

• initial R on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:32 pm

[quote comment="222475"][quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

For me it's more than good enough.[/quote]

that good enough already… for first local design and R&D to get 4 star rating. Even stream have to evole first to get good NCAP rating.

Syabas Proton :)

• Arise on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:36 pm

thought designed by LG studio just like BLM ?

• initial R on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:37 pm

[quote comment="222482"]To get Euro NCAP not necessarily need to have tough shell. Restrained system, crumple zone, hazard information and such need to be in place. Most of Renault cars got 5 star due to additional touch like annoying seatbelt indicator beep that volume goes up in related to time (that wont go off until you wear one), ting-tong if you exceed the speed limit, 6, 9 to10 airbags to protect face, fingernails and c*ck and such. Those additional touch have prove to help increase the EuroNCAP ratings. Good body dynamics is help by these but what most important is after the collision (in the required speed range), the driver & passenger can escape unscathed (like the ever famous Waja vs European Toyota top gear vids) and minimal deformation in the cabin.[/quote]

now i remember… did any remember for PT last post that said BCM also control the central lock that unlock when the collision happen so the passanger can escape easy & easy for rescuer to safe life… smart…!. other point for Exora.

• initial R on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:39 pm

[quote comment="222494"]thought designed by LG studio just like BLM ?[/quote]

design by Proton with consaltancy LG. u think our designer can't do they work.

• Arise on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:39 pm

[quote comment="222471"]there another ads in The Star……one of it features say that, "the body was designed to meet euro ncap 4star rating"[/quote]

Will have to wait and see the real scoring result if it ever reach UK for NCAP test to confirm the 4 star rating.

• Arise on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:41 pm

[quote comment="222496"][quote comment="222494"]thought designed by LG studio just like BLM ?[/quote]

design by Proton with consaltancy LG. u think our designer can't do they work.[/quote]

Of course can. Can do a lot things, no sweat.

• Arise on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:43 pm

Yup… i've seen the video on youtube. But waja/impian only rated 3/5.0.[/quote]

Was published in the major paper saying that it was designed and firstly built by us when it was launched.

• Kevin on Mar 19, 2009 at 11:47 pm

[quote comment="222495"][quote comment="222482"]To get Euro NCAP not necessarily need to have tough shell. Restrained system, crumple zone, hazard information and such need to be in place. Most of Renault cars got 5 star due to additional touch like annoying seatbelt indicator beep that volume goes up in related to time (that wont go off until you wear one), ting-tong if you exceed the speed limit, 6, 9 to10 airbags to protect face, fingernails and c*ck and such. Those additional touch have prove to help increase the EuroNCAP ratings. Good body dynamics is help by these but what most important is after the collision (in the required speed range), the driver & passenger can escape unscathed (like the ever famous Waja vs European Toyota top gear vids) and minimal deformation in the cabin.[/quote]

now i remember… did any remember for PT last post that said BCM also control the central lock that unlock when the collision happen so the passanger can escape easy & easy for rescuer to safe life… smart…!. other point for Exora.[/quote]

cant wait for Exora send to EuroNcap for the test. See how is the exact result as expected or maybe not…. Latest car with 5 star are Toyota IQ, M.Lancer, Mazda 6 … so far only Waja/Impian listed there on the website. So hurry send the new born car for test. It will be amazing.

• [quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

To answer your own question, you need to read how NCAP classify the vehicles.

For adult occupant, from Europe NCAP website :

Honda Stream = 4

Toyota Estima (Previa) = 4 (2004)

Mazda Premacy = 3

Daihatsu sirion (MyVi) = 4

BMW X3 = 4 ( X5 = 5)

Merc Vaneo = 4

…. you look up yourself lah… http://www.euroncap.com

Honda only got Accord and Legend at 5star.

Toyota got Prius, Corolla, Yaris, Avensis, auris at 5star

For me, it is a step forward. Probably, they could get NCAP 5star in the near future.

RT

• [quote comment="222501"]

cant wait for Exora send to EuroNcap for the test. See how is the exact result as expected or maybe not…. Latest car with 5 star are Toyota IQ, M.Lancer, Mazda 6 … so far only Waja/Impian listed there on the website. So hurry send the new born car for test. It will be amazing.[/quote]

seems euroNCAP got new rating system that include "safety assist"
    that would be plus to Exora?. -no speed limitation device and seat belt reminder. Probably only those destined for Europe should got these "goodies".

• stroller on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:09 am

aiya… delay again… so long hv to wait i get it to drive…

• initial R on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:11 am

[quote comment="222512"]
    seems euroNCAP got new rating system that include "safety assist"
    that would be plus to Exora?. -no speed limitation device and seat belt reminder. Probably only those destined for Europe should got these "goodies".[/quote]
    "safety assist" is to us also. but what i concern is even good ppl in malaysia will turn evil when they behind the wheel. so scared.. however exora must have this for reminder the driver. Hope meet the rating… :)

• initial R on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:17 am

[quote comment="222500"]Yup… i've seen the video on youtube. But waja/impian only rated 3/5.0.[/quote]

Was published in the major paper saying that it was designed and firstly built by us when it was launched.[/quote]

time tu proton dah sendiri dah, blajar buat kereta yang selamat. tu keluar waja. tapi ok apa dapat 3.5 rating… ingat senang ke ?.

• osh_kosh on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:22 am

[quote comment="222359"]Where is osh-kosh ???[/quote]

here bro… anything?

[quote comment="222475"][quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

For me it's more than good enough.[/quote]

there's a considerably big different between 4star & 5star Euro NCAP rating… i believe u can find out youself in the net but for P1 first mpv, 4star wasn't that bad.. they r moving forward for sure :)

anyway, Paul, i've noticed that partial of the panel around 3rd row seat window is white.. diff calour tone from the rest of the interior… how about your TD exora? same ka? sure hate white coz easy get dirty mah…

• memememe on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:53 am

Read in utusan malaysia today, about 1 driver who got frustuated with her proton persona. Y proton always got problem here n there?

What sadden me most is that, I heard people say proton practise double standard. For local sales, they give low quality cars. good quality r for exports.

If this is true, pls CHANGE! It's sooo dissappointing that we Malaysians always get to buy bad Q proton cars. IT"S SOOOOOO UNFAIR !!!!!!!!

-adalah sgt geram, okkay! tak boleh ke kalau persona/gen 2 sama baik dgn city atau vios. kalau tak in terms of performance, at least jgn la kasi power window nye, (etc. etc) cepat rosak dll.

Oh ya. All d best for Exora. (still hoping for good quality proton in domestic sales)

• muryadi on Mar 20, 2009 at 12:58 am

Saya tak pasti dari mana "mememememe" dapat cerita GEN2 powerwindow cepat rosak? Saya pakai GEN2 h-line 2005 sampai sekarang ok je..

• eagle707 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:39 am

you are right muryadi..

memememe don't know how to take care of his car properly. That is why his/her car always gives him problems. It is the owner of the car should be blamed not the car.

• Dauglas on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:46 am

He just ex spm student who just waiting for university.. he knows nothing.. PLEASE go n visit proton showroom in shah alam next time okay..

• initial R on Mar 20, 2009 at 1:52 am

[quote comment="222549"]you are right muryadi..

memememe don't know how to take care of his car properly. That is why his/her car always gives him problems. It is the owner of the car should be blamed not the car.[/quote]

Ada dlm utusan ari nie. Tapi tu woman driver. Selalunya woman driver nie jarang nak jaga kereta diaorang. Wife aku dah kena train ngan aku camna nak jaga Savvy dia tu. Tu yang dia sayang sangat ngan savvy tu. Sekarang basuh kereta pun nak buat sendiri , tu x masuk regular check.

• bmpower on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:25 am

[quote comment="222508"][quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

RT[/quote]

Sirion / passo = yes 4 star.

myvi no. it all slashed out by twice due cost factor. maybe left only 2 star.

– the body thinner metal, no frontal big bar behind the bumper, etc etc.. you can compare real passo/sirion vs myvi by yourself.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:26 am

[quote comment="222508"]

Honda only got Accord and Legend at 5star.

Toyota got Prius, Corolla, Yaris, Avensis, auris at 5star

For me, it is a step forward. Probably, they could get NCAP 5star in the near future.

RT[/quote]

dont forget, adding on items is part of the 5 star rating.. if maybe exora gets 4 stars now, and in future they add 2 more bags, maybe curtain bags, the rating can improve further.

• madboy on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:30 am

[quote comment="222359"]Where is osh-kosh ???[/quote]

Aiya, first the "I'm first comment" now the next trend is "Where id osh-kish" coment. Hofully this is not a permanent.

• seat-belt on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:31 am

checkout this.

stupid myvi

http://www.euroncap.com//carimages/236.jpg

• Kevin on Mar 20, 2009 at 2:53 am

[quote comment="222568"]checkout this.

stupid myvi

http://www.euroncap.com//carimages/236.jpg[/quote…

where u got it? not to mention the pic. i went to the euroncap website i didnt see any test result on myvi or any other perodua car. Only Proton Impian.

• arulkay on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:17 am

stupid myvi

wah it like previous post that show blm accident with avanza………..wah that myvi look like similar with that avanza hehe……..

Wah can't wait this Miss Exora cruising in da road! hehe Gud luck Proton!

• Fridz (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:58 am

[quote comment="222576"][quote comment="222568"]checkout this.

stupid myvi

where u got it? not to mention the pic. i went to the euroncap website i didnt see any test result on myvi or any other perodua car. Only Proton Impian.[/quote]

Wah…this so called 4star?…

Q=Does Perodua make a car?

thats why u dont see any myvi there…

• acerman on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:18 am

Why Si-Fu haven't answered my question about the dash-mounted LCD display?

PLZ Si-Fu…explain…PLZ…

p/s TMNET is so damn slow. I can't even view some pictures in this blog.

Money sucker TMNET CEO.

• Gaban on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:44 am

stupid myvi

haha.. if this happen to your myvi, just find any kereta potong and weld it… settle.. but this test ok what…can u see the door opened? so the trapped passanger can easily move through this damn stupid crash..

• stroller on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:12 am

3rd time already p1 delay launching this EXORA… hope it wont happen again… tired la waiting 4 so long… almost "berjanggut" la p1….

• Sexythang on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:36 am

what an idiot. if u wanted to drive fast. the last thing you would think of is the neo cps.

• hm..other carmaker didn't practice double standard Q for malaysian market meh..?why ppl didn't questioned it lar?

for them its acceptable?

if p1 did as mentioned by someone(i didnt remember who was it) said that to comply that country regulataion but in malaysia didnt have such as standard . it has been very visible n being cursed doing very bad double standard to malaysian ppl…why arr…?

confuse….not saying dat what proton do is always right..but we should also question n cursed whoever also doing the same thing…isn't…just my opinion..

correct me if im wrong..

TQ

• aenz81 on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:44 am

[quote comment="222565"][quote comment="222508"][quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

RT[/quote]

– the body thinner metal, no frontal big bar behind the bumper, etc etc.. you can compare real passo/sirion vs myvi by yourself.[/quote]

yes, u r right bro… the same case happen with chevy spark and chery qq… same (copied) cars but with different strength… different meterial…

• alan6113 on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:00 am

Arise wrote:

Why only NCAP 4 star ?

no abs,no traction control cant get 5star in euro ncap lo ..hehe

• Kevin on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:32 am

[quote comment="222622"]

Money sucker TMNET CEO.[/quote]

You rite… i wonder why Proton can improve their product … why tmnet cant….

• john mclane on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:11 am

I believe most Msian are very tolerant to our country products and patriotic.

Now would you buy a 4 years old AP imported Wish or a 3 years old Inova or an Exora…mmh…a 3 years old Alphard in Japan cost RM70K…anyhow, Msian Auto is marvelous for money making.

• Paul Tan on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:27 pm

I don’t know since I did not pay attention to the interior trim much, it was very shabby because it was a prototype hand-made interior.

But I think you can see some of it in this picture:
    http://gcdn.paultan.org/images/proton-exora-prototype-2.jpg

• nss (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 3:28 pm

[quote comment=”222760″][quote comment=”222677″][quote comment=”222622″]
    p/s TMNET is so damn slow. I can’t even view some pictures in this blog.

You rite… i wonder why Proton can improve their product … why tmnet cant….[/quote]
    that be’coz, TMNET is a dail-up connection with 65kbps speed…. meanwhile, the upgrade is STREAMYX is a broadband connection with 100mbps (1000kbps) of speed… that was i’m using right now.. u want fast, get a STREAMYX broadband connection la….[/quote]
    Damn slow with Celcom 3G too on the blog, Money Maker Celcom CEO.

• aenz81 (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:02 pm

[quote comment=”222872″][quote comment=”222760″][quote comment=”222677″][quote comment=”222622″]
    p/s TMNET is so damn slow. I can’t even view some pictures in this blog.

You rite… i wonder why Proton can improve their product … why tmnet cant….[/quote]
    that be’coz, TMNET is a dail-up connection with 65kbps speed…. meanwhile, the upgrade is STREAMYX is a broadband connection with 100mbps (1000kbps) of speed… that was i’m using right now.. u want fast, get a STREAMYX broadband connection la….[/quote]
    Damn slow with Celcom 3G too on the blog, Money Maker Celcom CEO.[/quote]
    Hahaha… Celcom Company are a money maker… :)

• farghmee on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:27 pm

stupid myvi

offtopic>>

err..what "stupid" thing comes with the pic?

i'm clueless.

crash pic should be like that, right?

• memememe on Mar 20, 2009 at 4:28 pm

muryadi said,

March 19, 2009 @ 4:58 pm · Reply with quote

Saya tak pasti dari mana “mememememe” dapat cerita GEN2 powerwindow cepat rosak? Saya pakai GEN2 h-line 2005 sampai sekarang ok je..

—> owh, that statement is in general for proton cars. i've an iswara. power window rosak in early years of usage. also, central locking rosak juga. well, maybe iswara is murah car, hence so. haha, whatever pun, i still lov my Iswara bcoz it's my 1st car.

–>Aiyoo..semua condemn my statement. Hehehe…

–>good to know that people more people r giving +ve comments and r backing up proton. It's a sign that proton is geting better. Cool.

• aenz81 on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:14 pm

[quote comment="222677"][quote comment="222622"]

that be'coz, TMNET is a dail-up connection with 65kbps speed…. meanwhile, the upgrade is STREAMYX is a broadband connection with 100mbps (1000kbps) of speed… that was i'm using right now.. u want fast, get a STREAMYX broadband connection la….

• initial R on Mar 20, 2009 at 5:34 pm

[quote comment="222659"]hm..other carmaker didn't practice double standard Q for malaysian market meh..?why ppl didn't questioned it lar?

for them its acceptable?

if p1 did as mentioned by someone(i didnt remember who was it) said that to comply that country regulataion but in malaysia didnt have such as standard . it has been very visible n being cursed doing very bad double standard to malaysian ppl…why arr…?

confuse….not saying dat what proton do is always right..but we should also question n cursed whoever also doing the same thing…isn't…just my opinion..

correct me if im wrong..

TQ[/quote]

Most imported car have reduce they quality for malaysia market by 20% to 30% but still sell same price before tax. so if plus tax they still can make lot's of money so then at the end of the year they can give bonus to they staff by 4 to 5 month. The reality is out there but ppl still blind of this. Proton in other hand have improve a lot. Our export & overseas assamble are same quality as we get in malaysia in term of quality (wear & tear not include coz i don't have any data yet). Why Proton sales a bit slow at UK ?. It coz of spare part available, also the brand lacks credibility. However Savvy & Neo get good review in term of handling, FC & also horse power. Savvy get good review also in term of safety even the crash rating (4 star what i been info). My friend stay in UK (Malaysian). He used savvy for daily comute even he can used his VW Jetta 1.4 TSI 170. He said nice drive & not much diff from his Jetta. Hope this new exora girl can shine and outstand in world market. :)

• farghmee on Mar 20, 2009 at 6:42 pm

[quote comment="222760"] connection with 100mbps (1000kbps) of speed… .[/quote]

offtopic>>

100 Mb/s = 100 000 000 b/s

1000 kb/s = 1000 000 b/s = 1 Mb/s

100 mb/s = 0.1 b/s

sharing is caring :)

• osh_kosh on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:34 pm

initial R,

*out of topic* just wondering how much Proton give their staff bonus? anybody work there?

• thanks proton edar giving be a valuabe test drive of a satria neo cps,

my next visit is for an exora.

• initial R on Mar 20, 2009 at 7:58 pm

[quote comment="222809"]initial R,

*out of topic* just wondering how much Proton give their staff bonus? anybody work there?[/quote]

Some said that they get at least 1 1/2 month bonus but not very sure, ask Si-fu lah coz he work at SA plant. Aiyah.. half to 2 month bonus are standard what. most of company just give like that even they get clean profit more then they target. My late company even get profit 3 time than target, but we the hard work staff just only get not even half bonus. It considered like token. :(

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 20, 2009 at 10:18 pm

It seems that of lately, there're a lot of mud-slinging between Proton's supporters and detractors. Going by all the comments posted about Proton's vehicles – past, present and future (?) – it looks like a turf war is taking place. Are they on the warpath? They never learn, do they? Comments are vulgar, obscene and childish, but then, all's fair in love and war. Hopefully, all these would positively help Proton to steal a march on its' competitors and regains its' No1 status in the local automotive industry, thus having the biggest share of the cake vis-a-vis its' competitors, and not finding itself ending up at the cul-de-sac.

Chiao!

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 20, 2009 at 11:20 pm

ic.. nomal2 only loh.. thanks 'initial R'..

btw, PAUL… u didn't answer me yet.. need to know something, I'VE NOTICED THAT PARTIAL OF THE PANEL (AROUND 3rd ROW SEAT WINDOW) IN EXORA IS NOT THE SAME COLOUR TONE AS THE REST OF THE INTERIOR.. IT'S WHITE, WHILE THE REST ARE GREY/DARK TONE COLOUR. IS IT THE SAME IN YOUR T.D EXORA?

• initial R on Mar 21, 2009 at 12:12 am

[quote comment="222871"]I don't know since I did not pay attention to the interior trim much, it was very shabby because it was a prototype hand-made interior.

http://gcdn.paultan.org/images/proton-exora-proto…

Paul, i rasa P1 pilih warna cerah sebab nak bagi passanger blakang rasa luas. Selalunya kalau warna cerah ni akan buat sesuatu ruang tu rasa luas cerah dan selesa. Satu lagi mungkin tak nak bagi penumpang 3rd row rasa pening2 & mabuk. Rasanya tu yg buat you tak rasa pening & selesa sedikit. Tapi tu pendapat saya… tak tau plak kalau ada fungsi lain pulak. :)

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 12:21 am

thanks Paul, but can't be sure with your linked pic.. doesn't look like white but it's surely light colour… hmmm.. but maybe the 'real' one will be different from your TD vehicle as your's a prototype… hoping that it'll not be white..

• off topic..
    If u use maxis 3G… slower and more sucker..damn maxis

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 21, 2009 at 12:45 am

Just send e-mail (latest of countless) to Celcom, bashing them. Learnt from Proton's bashers. LoL.

Chiao!

• repet on Mar 21, 2009 at 12:58 am

THIS WILL DENINITELY GIVE IMPACT AVANZA 1.5

WHAT IS THE DIFFERENCE>?

• slimershine on Mar 21, 2009 at 1:10 am

im using iswara a/b thou.. from year2000 untill now, central lock – no problem at all. power window? no prob also. maybe im lucky. or maybe i think my car have soul. have to take care and i dont think my car is cheap car. heh..

• nss (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 1:23 am

[quote comment="222775"][quote comment="222659"]hm..other carmaker didn't practice double standard Q for malaysian market meh..?why ppl didn't questioned it lar?

for them its acceptable?

correct me if im wrong..

TQ[/quote]

Most imported car have reduce they quality for malaysia market by 20% to 30% but still sell same price before tax. so if plus tax they still can make lot's of money so then at the end of the year they can give bonus to they staff by 4 to 5 month. The reality is out there but ppl still blind of this. Proton in other hand have improve a lot. Our export & overseas assamble are same quality as we get in malaysia in term of quality (wear & tear not include coz i don't have any data yet). Why Proton sales a bit slow at UK ?. It coz of spare part available, also the brand lacks credibility. However Savvy & Neo get good review in term of handling, FC & also horse power. Savvy get good review also in term of safety even the crash rating (4 star what i been info). My friend stay in UK (Malaysian). He used savvy for daily comute even he can used his VW Jetta 1.4 TSI 170. He said nice drive & not much diff from his Jetta. Hope this new exora girl can shine and outstand in world market. :)[/quote]

Visit to toyota.com or honda.com.my, compare the price in Peninsular Malaysia and Langkawi(tax free zone), will know that how many tax including the price in non-local car. Not like local car only have 5% tax in the price. Its meas what? Bying oversea car just wasting your maney, you need to pay monthly loan at least 1~2 years for those G Tax. Better choice local car.

• nss (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 1:34 am

[quote comment="222889"]nss said,

March 20, 2009 @ 3:28 pm · Reply with quote

Damn slow with Celcom 3G too on the blog, Money Maker Celcom CEO.

Just send e-mail (latest of countless) to Celcom, bashing them. Learnt from Proton's bashers. LoL.

Chiao![/quote]

Off topic

I didnt bashing, I just go to Celcom central and ask why. Maybe line tak tetap coz 3G bukan line tetap, no 3G there it bring you GPRS. Even some of the staff dont know what meaning about the monthly unlimited use with limited usage. Sure some of them want hire something.

On topic

Proton need learn something from this case. Dont walk forward with those staff.

• osh_kosh (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 1:55 am

[quote comment="222882"][quote comment="222871"]I don't know since I did not pay attention to the interior trim much, it was very shabby because it was a prototype hand-made interior.

http://gcdn.paultan.org/images/proton-exora-proto…

Paul, i rasa P1 pilih warna cerah sebab nak bagi passanger blakang rasa luas. Selalunya kalau warna cerah ni akan buat sesuatu ruang tu rasa luas cerah dan selesa. Satu lagi mungkin tak nak bagi penumpang 3rd row rasa pening2 & mabuk. Rasanya tu yg buat you tak rasa pening & selesa sedikit. Tapi tu pendapat saya… tak tau plak kalau ada fungsi lain pulak. :)[/quote]

warna cerah tak apa… still acceptable, just please don't use white… senang sangat kotor.. lagipun mpv suppose to be a 'family' transporter so u know lah when sumbat kids etc. etc… if exterior white ok but interior i hate… just my opinion.. maybe other ppl like white very much.. hmmm

• memememe on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:03 am

slimershine said,

March 20, 2009 @ 5:10 pm · Reply with quote

im using iswara a/b thou.. from year2000 untill now, central lock – no problem at all. power window? no prob also. maybe im lucky. or maybe i think my car have soul. have to take care and i dont think my car is cheap car. heh..

–> Yep, u r lucky.

–>Hey, btw, in Utusan Malaysia today (20/3/09) in Forum section got a guy user complaining about his persona. Mybe he doesnt know how to take care of his car. Also, on d same page, got a lady (in sms section) compalining about her waja. Another lady user. Also dont know how to take care of cars, myb.

–>Yup, again. I guess it's common. Some people r lucky, and some arent.

I rest my case. :D . So, after this, all comments must be related to the above topic, the Exora. Hey, why some people call it Lady Exora, anyway?

• BRAZBUZ on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:08 am

can't wait by my own eyes

hope the quality is good at all…..

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:22 am

I will miss this exora since I already bought Suzuki Swift Premium last november…. sigh… Same price bracket someore….. If I can go back to the future.. :)

• seat-belt on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:42 am

the pic i posted earlier is a daihatsu sirion. it is a 4-star ncap rating. but myvi is not.this is bcoz :-

[quote comment="222565"][quote comment="222508"][quote comment="222473"]Why only NCAP 4 star ?[/quote]

RT[/quote]

– the body thinner metal, no frontal big bar behind the bumper, etc etc.. you can compare real passo/sirion vs myvi by yourself.[/quote]

thnx to bmpower 4 explain bout it. so, for me, better buy savvy rather than buy the stupid myvi. n for those who r do not understand why i said "stupid myvi", i think u just get the answer..

• seat-belt on Mar 21, 2009 at 2:46 am

sorry paul, quite offtopic.

he he he…

• seat-belt on Mar 21, 2009 at 3:30 am

[quote comment="222535"]Read in utusan malaysia today, about 1 driver who got frustuated with her proton persona. Y proton always got problem here n there?

What sadden me most is that, I heard people say proton practise double standard. For local sales, they give low quality cars. good quality r for exports.

If this is true, pls CHANGE! It's sooo dissappointing that we Malaysians always get to buy bad Q proton cars. IT"S SOOOOOO UNFAIR !!!!!!!!

-adalah sgt geram, okkay! tak boleh ke kalau persona/gen 2 sama baik dgn city atau vios. kalau tak in terms of performance, at least jgn la kasi power window nye, (etc. etc) cepat rosak dll.

Oh ya. All d best for Exora. (still hoping for good quality proton in domestic sales)[/quote]

its not proton double up standard for export market. i think it is the Malaysian mindset who cannot accept the quality serve by proton even tough the quality for domestic is same with the export 1…u cannot compare a person who have 3rd class mindset with 1st class mindset person….

correct me if i wrong….it is just my opinion…

btw, let me quote what the women driver complain bout her persona in Utusan today :-

"Bukan Persona saja bermasalah, Waja saya cermin tingkap sudah 4 kali rosak. ikutkan hati memang nak tukar kereta tetapi hendak membantu industri kereta nasional, saya bersabar. Sampai bila?"

btw, this women is kinda nasionalis…hehe…

• seat-belt on Mar 21, 2009 at 3:35 am

and one more thing:-

si-fu, can u tell us more bout the Hydro Foaming Sub-frame technology?

as it stated in the exora teaser image in Utusan (20/3/09)today?

• Hehe the rear pic of the Exora if we zoom to the biggest view we can see the rear lights clearly… :D

• – hm…may i say, since more malaysian ppl use p1 car compared to others carmakers, i think the price would be the reason..let say..if u bought a very2 expensive watch, would u wear it everyday? would u let other ppl wear it? u will take care of it n make sure it will not have even any scrath..u would take care of it with your full heart to make sure its last long…so if its vice versa..maybe u wouldnt care so much about it since u feel u can afford a new one if the current broken…or maybe dont think much or take care much about it..unless something bad happen to it…

so,if u bought cars with price 100K above would u use like gorrilla saeting indside cars? push every button with harsh way?drive daily like crazy ppl..?i dont think so..maybe who afford to buy very expensive car didn't use his car very often n will feels like 'syg nk pakai sgt…nnti cepat rosak' ins't?

so.. this is totally my opinion only…. hahaha…

• [quote comment="222902"][quote comment="222775"][quote comment="222659"]hm..other carmaker didn't practice double standard Q for malaysian market meh..?why ppl didn't questioned it lar?

for them its acceptable?

correct me if im wrong..

TQ[/quote]

Most imported car have reduce they quality for malaysia market by 20% to 30% but still sell same price before tax. so if plus tax they still can make lot's of money so then at the end of the year they can give bonus to they staff by 4 to 5 month. The reality is out there but ppl still blind of this. Proton in other hand have improve a lot. Our export & overseas assamble are same quality as we get in malaysia in term of quality (wear & tear not include coz i don't have any data yet). Why Proton sales a bit slow at UK ?. It coz of spare part available, also the brand lacks credibility. However Savvy & Neo get good review in term of handling, FC & also horse power. Savvy get good review also in term of safety even the crash rating (4 star what i been info). My friend stay in UK (Malaysian). He used savvy for daily comute even he can used his VW Jetta 1.4 TSI 170. He said nice drive & not much diff from his Jetta. Hope this new exora girl can shine and outstand in world market. :)[/quote]

Visit to toyota.com or honda.com.my, compare the price in Peninsular Malaysia and Langkawi(tax free zone), will know that how many tax including the price in non-local car. Not like local car only have 5% tax in the price. Its meas what? Bying oversea car just wasting your maney, you need to pay monthly loan at least 1~2 years for those G Tax. Better choice local car.[/quote]

-So actually ppl cannot la compare other carmaker car price in malaysia n in other country since usually we get not fully same spec. so the price should be much lower. so..we also cursed them for what they have done to us…moral of the story..dont buy any car…jalan kaki sudah..hehehe

– why

• Tenang on Mar 21, 2009 at 4:44 am

Sayang sekali, lambat sangat nak kuar MPV ni. Krn tertunggu akhirnya dah ramai org malaysia dah beli "MPV luar" termasuk sy, keluarga dan kekawan. Dengar cakap2 org, MPV ni "still expensive". Reka bentuknya pula kurang menarik ditambah dengan masalah yang mungkin dihadapi berpandukan keluaran proton yang lepas-lepas. Jd, proton kena buat sesuatu untuk melariskan MPV ni. Sy cadangkan proton beri rebat ataupun subsidi untuk mengurangkan kadar pinjaman sekitar 2.0% bagi menarik pembeli memandangkan keadaan ekonomi sekarang. Good luck…..

• acerman (Member) on Mar 21, 2009 at 5:25 am

[quote comment="222760"][quote comment="222677"][quote comment="222622"]

that be'coz, TMNET is a dail-up connection with 65kbps speed…. meanwhile, the upgrade is STREAMYX is a broadband connection with 100mbps (1000kbps) of speed… that was i'm using right now.. u want fast, get a STREAMYX broadband connection la….[/quote]

Aiyoo…I am using streamyx. I had this problem for about three month. mine is 512kb. I'd call the technician and they will come to replace the copper wire with the fiber one.

Anyway, that's way out of the topic, where is Si-Fu? Haven't heard from him lately, maybe busy perparing for the "new born baby"?

p/s not "born" yet, already got a name…:)

• [quote comment="222622"]

p/s not "born" yet, already got a name…:)[/quote]

Its already "born" hehe, try spying at Proton SA factory.

Sure can see lots of this mpv there. :)

Peace…

• KickingDust on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:33 am

seat-belt said,

March 20, 2009 @ 7:35 pm • Reply with quote

My understanding on Hydro Foaming Technology – strong but light weight metal tubing that is constructed from 1 piece and its curved without welding points for the required design.

Sub Frame – is referred engine cross member (a strong platform where engine is placed on top with the rubber mountings)

This is an advance technology, which is light weight and strong and has excellent ability in torsion & bending rigidity. It is normally used in race cars constructions.

Cheers

• KickingDust on Mar 21, 2009 at 10:01 am

seat-belt said,

My understanding on Hydro Foaming Technology – strong but light weight metal tubing that is constructed from 1 piece and its curved without welding points for the required design.

Sub Frame – is referred engine cross member (a strong platform where engine is placed on top with the rubber mountings)

This is an advance technology for engine platform, which is light weight and strong and has excellent ability in torsion & bending rigidity. It is normally used in race cars constructions.

Cheers

• Swoosh3553 on Mar 21, 2009 at 3:45 pm

[quote comment="222982"][quote comment="222622"]

Peace…[/quote]

Hehe..where is the best "spying spot"? Like someone posted before, we should stalk the entrance/exit of the SA plant, as truck loads of the MPV would be leaving the plants to be sent to dealers all over the Peninsular for display. I wonder what is the best time to stalk the trucks? Do they roll out in teh wee hours of the night? or subuh2 pagi? Night is safer as there are less papparazzi's waiting around… wah ha ha.

• osh_kosh on Mar 21, 2009 at 4:58 pm

[quote comment="223022"][quote comment="222982"][quote comment="222622"]

Peace…[/quote]

Hehe..where is the best "spying spot"? Like someone posted before, we should stalk the entrance/exit of the SA plant, as truck loads of the MPV would be leaving the plants to be sent to dealers all over the Peninsular for display. I wonder what is the best time to stalk the trucks? Do they roll out in teh wee hours of the night? or subuh2 pagi? Night is safer as there are less papparazzi's waiting around… wah ha ha.[/quote]

maybe u guys can see Exora when it being load & unload to trailers but i doubt u can see it on road coz it'll be fully covered…

• KickingDust on Mar 21, 2009 at 8:40 pm

seat-belt said,

My understanding on Hydro Foaming Technology – strong but light weight metal tubing that is constructed from 1 piece and it’s curved without welding points for the required design.

This is an advance technology, which is light weight and strong and has excellent ability in torsion & bending rigidity. It is normally used in race cars constructions.

Cheers

• [quote comment="222957"]Sayang sekali, lambat sangat nak kuar MPV ni. Krn tertunggu akhirnya dah ramai org malaysia dah beli "MPV luar" termasuk sy, keluarga dan kekawan. Dengar cakap2 org, MPV ni "still expensive". Reka bentuknya pula kurang menarik ditambah dengan masalah yang mungkin dihadapi berpandukan keluaran proton yang lepas-lepas. Jd, proton kena buat sesuatu untuk melariskan MPV ni. Sy cadangkan proton beri rebat ataupun subsidi untuk mengurangkan kadar pinjaman sekitar 2.0% bagi menarik pembeli memandangkan keadaan ekonomi sekarang. Good luck…..[/quote]

Saya rasa awak ni tak baca komen yg dah ada…jangan speculate dulu dan bersandarkan kepada kata2 orang…siasat dulu dan tunggu produk akhirnya baru komen…. ramai yg dah komen membina tentang Exora dan even PT pun dah bagi komen yg tulus…. apa kata tukar mindset sikit dan uji Exora bila dah keluar? Kalau setakat dengar kata2 org yg tak tentu betul/salahnya, baik duduk rumah dan jangan buat apa2. kalau dan test drive dan still rasa tak ok then komen, baru orang boleh terima.Ni setakat dengar berita 'sipi2' ni, rasanya tak bijaklah

Expensive?Nak murah mana lagi saudara? Big Giants dalam automotive bolehlah keluarkan kenderaan dgn harga murah kerana volume besar dan vendor2 mereka very competitive dan berkeupayaan. Kita? Ramai vendor2 bila hantar sample parts memang excellent tapi bila mass-produce?Harammm…. proton pulak yang terkejar2 cuba tolong improvekan barangan vendor2 ni. Mereka sekadar puas hati dgn dapat mengeluarkan barang tapi quality dan technical knowledge tak kuat. No sense of improving and disregarding RND. Typical local business yang nak kaya cepat tapi kurang pandangan jauh

Reka bentuk is subjective…. saya mungkin kata Persona lawa tapi org lain mungkin tak setuju n I can live with that because each person has his/her own taste n expectation…. mana ada design dalam dunia ni yg dapat 100% org kata lawa

Kadar pinjaman bukan dalam kawalan Proton…tu semua bank yg control… ntah kenapa bila Proton aje, bank bagi rate tinggi… mungkin past experience kot….. dengar khabar ramai yg beli kereta proton ni sering tak bayar ansuran so bankers dah buat assumption kena berhati2 dengan org yg nak beli kereta proton

• [quote comment="222941"]and one more thing:-

as it stated in the exora teaser image in Utusan (20/3/09)today?[/quote]

As far as i know, there are foamy thing which is put inside front/center pillars and wheelhouse of the metal body frame called pillar filler ((?)-not sure its name) for expensive cars (because it`s expensive), in order to reduce noise and vibration. This pillar filler will be "bake" in the painting oven and expand to close empty space inside the pillars to stop air to get into car to reduce noise and vibration. As for proton cars, i heard that this thing had been put inside Perdana and Chancellor. Btw, "Hydro Foaming" might be a new technology to be introduced in Exora to have this basic function and maybe with additional function, e.g. for good result in crash test?

Good luck Proton. Exora might be another thing which will impress us after what u had shown to us in Technology Week 08.

• KickingDust on Mar 22, 2009 at 12:16 am

Dear PT,

i've treid to upload a reply to this message 3 times since yesterday but it failed to upload. Is there a problem with the system or something else ?

seat-belt said,

My understanding on Hydro Foaming Technology – strong but light weight metal tubing that is constructed from 1 piece and it’s curved without welding points for the required design.

Cheers

• seat-belt on Mar 22, 2009 at 12:26 am

thnx Max 4 the info:-]

• masami ihara on Mar 22, 2009 at 1:06 am

heard not so good news somewhere.. that the tentative price has been revised upward by 4k to 5k. sigh..

• initial R on Mar 22, 2009 at 3:53 am

[quote comment="222941"]and one more thing:-

as it stated in the exora teaser image in Utusan (20/3/09)today?[/quote]

Hydro foaming tu kalu nak ikut dah dekat 2 tahun dah. Tapi dengan teknologi terkini, harga boleh dapat murah. Fungsinya :-

1. menyerap getaran yang berlaku atas kerangka.

2. Menyerap bunyi (sound proff).

3. Sama fungsi dengan safety bar yg selalu pasang dlm kereta lumba.

4. Mengurangkan kos bahan mentah.kerana kalau keluli untuk kerangka terlalu tebal, badan Exora jadi terlalu berat. Harga mahal.

Cara pemasangan dengan suntikkan kedalam kerangka yg lompong dan biarkan sehingga ianya mengeras dalam 1>2jam.

Hydro forming nie kalau dah mengeras, ikut info sekeras keluli dan tahan impak selaju 80km/h. Teknologi nie dah keluar berita lama dah. Satu lagi, jangan takut form nie tak rasa berat pun, cam styroform je beratnya tapi keras. Ianya salah satu ciri keselamatan juga. Serap impak yang kuat kalau jadi kemalangan.

(komen dalam bahasa kot ada yang tak paham plak). :)

• initial R on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:07 am

Hydro forming sebenarnya ada kuar artikel dalam majalah Traffic (dah takde dlm pasaran dah) tapi x ingat issue brapa. Tapi time tu diaorang claim harga mahal lagi. Ada beberapa kereta wira dah test pakai time tu, result body x rasa goyang, stabil atas jalan sebab struktur dah kuat. Tak rasa berat sebab benda tu ringan je. Last dengar, ada salah satu wira tu kemalangan tapi body tak rosak teruk (tak macam yg kebanyakkan tahu kalau kemalangan teruk). Dengar forming nie dapat sijil sirim dan lulus ujian keselamatan. Baru ingat, tebat haba & tak mudah terbakar. Tu yang saya ingat lagi le. :)

• initial R on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:11 am

kereta lama kalau trade in dengan new proton dapat rebat RM5k. cuba cari berita tu dalam bulan lepas kalau tak silap.

• initial R on Mar 22, 2009 at 4:15 am

[quote comment="223117"]heard not so good news somewhere.. that the tentative price has been revised upward by 4k to 5k. sigh..[/quote]

go to http://www.proton-edar.com.my/ klik xchange.

• masami ihara on Mar 22, 2009 at 5:21 am

i was referring to exora tentative price of 72k and 76k for m and h line respectively been revised to 77k and 81k. hope it is not true though..

• upinipin on Mar 22, 2009 at 6:06 am

[quote comment="223169"]i was referring to exora tentative price of 72k and 76k for m and h line respectively been revised to 77k and 81k. hope it is not true though..[/quote]

Where did u get this news? I don't think it's a wise move… or is it because of an upgraded powertrain?

Check proton's website… no changes in tentative price… yet…

• 4stars not bad..d….not to mention the latest chevrolet aveo only scores 2stars and possibly 1star cause some serious injury from the steering wheel..
    http://www.euroncap.com/tests/chevrolet_aveo_2006…

hopefully proton gonna put all their cars in to euro ncap for testing

• kelvinL on Mar 22, 2009 at 7:47 am

is it true that the price for H-Line for exora will be RM81K? If it is true, i may cancel my booking. And another thing is that somebody mentioned there is white colour exora. Is it true cos i may change d colour that i booked if the price is still below RM80K for H Line

• awak (Member) on Mar 22, 2009 at 3:44 pm

i hppe proton will able to knock down the price, because competitor is working hard doing so. 10k 9k discounrting is what they do.

• Wisdom on Mar 23, 2009 at 7:14 am

Bad move if Proton are to increase the prices..

Remember Proton, Perodua MPV…the successor of Myvi is just around the corner…

• bmpower on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:04 am

[quote comment="223201"]is it true that the price for H-Line for exora will be RM81K? If it is true, i may cancel my booking. And another thing is that somebody mentioned there is white colour exora. Is it true cos i may change d colour that i booked if the price is still below RM80K for H Line[/quote]

is that your perodua salesman giving information?

am i right?

• Yes I agree that Proton should talk about the benefits of IAFM and CPS. I don't think the Campro 1.6 CPS is underpowered to pull a family of 7. Is the CPS similar to the Vario Cam in Porche?

• If the MPV can move well. Its good enough for me. Nak speeding laju camno kat Hway Msia nih. Pass 120KMH sure kena saman punya.

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 23, 2009 at 9:35 pm

I respect to all the bashers as well as supporters who give their comments @ verdicts on Exora heart Campro 1.6 CPS. For me its just adequate… For me, this is people mover and not a sport car. For family oriented man or woman, when they bought MPV, its merely to suit their need to carry his or her spouse plus their 2-4 kids.

And if its me who buy this MPV, safety is my priority. When Paul mentioned that the power just enough to carry 7 people at 140km/hour speed (though a bit underpower during iddle start/overtaking)… what else we want from this Exora.. Enough looo… afterall our highway speed limit is still at 110km/hour…

Peace no war, I'm not potential buyer for this Exora coz I'm still not decided which MPV suit me best…. Freed? Exora?Mazda5? or Recond Caldina? Hmm… :)

• Arise on Mar 23, 2009 at 10:52 pm

tak payahlah susah susah nak cerita pasal 1.6 CPS under power tak atau power. Tak yah kasi bikin 1.6CPS turbo charged jugak pun, apa nak susah kalau 1.6cps ramail sudah kata cukupo power. Jimat kos sudahlah dalam zaman gawat ni.

• Price dah fixed maa….. ni la rakyat Malaysia…dengar rumours lebih…kasi check dulu tuan2 dan puan2…telefon Edar dulu ke…apa ke… kalau MD dah declare that price, do u seriously think he'll change his mind and set a higher price? Itu serah tengkuk sendiri utk kena potong tu

Kalau politik Malaysia ada rumours,nampaknya Exora tak terkecuali

• upinipin on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:03 am

Just got back from Proton showroom. Shown Exora's color chart… earlier I booked Blue Haze color but now changed my choice of color to Black.

And yes… solid white is available.

• acerman on Mar 24, 2009 at 4:37 am

Also got back from Eon service center. Yes, the exora is slightly smaller than the Grandis, but it is a mix of Wish and Stream. One true fact about the Exora is the FC. I won't tell it here whether it has good FC or not but once U drove it you'll feel similiar like diving a Waja CPS. The different thing is,it can carry seven adult in comfort.

ASK FIRST, BASH LATER.

• [quote comment="223684"]Just got back from Proton showroom. Shown Exora's color chart… earlier I booked Blue Haze color but now changed my choice of color to Black.

And yes… solid white is available.[/quote]

did they mentioned interest rate for this mpv??

any manual available???

adios!!

• silvercam on Mar 24, 2009 at 6:03 am

I wish well for this MPV but…

I just got my company's brand new waja for only 2 days when..

1. The wiper water pump stop working.

2. Noise coming from the front left wheels

3. Tha alarm not working and giving false alarms

4. Whenever I brake there's a loud mechanical sound coming from the left passenger door.

I hope they will resolve this issues in the coming service…

• [quote comment="223730"]I wish well for this MPV but…

I just got my company's brand new waja for only 2 days when..

1. The wiper water pump stop working.

2. Noise coming from the front left wheels

3. Tha alarm not working and giving false alarms

4. Whenever I brake there's a loud mechanical sound coming from the left passenger door.

I hope they will resolve this issues in the coming service…[/quote]

Aiyo… this is not a pleasant news to hear…buck up Proton! If these kind of issues keep popping up,how to make buyer confident with Exora?

• for silvercam,please refer to the nearest servise centre as soon as possible. it shouldnt happen like that. the dealers should send proton cars to pdi first before they handout it to the customers. i hope that silvercam should lodge a report to the service centre urgently….em,back to exora, after this, i will explain a little bit on the safety aspect on exora generally proton cars and also about its fc, power and so on. its not only about power to weight ratio only or the torque only, they are many things u need to count for. chow…………..

• For all readers info, all proton cars (starting waja) must undergo some test before made into production including exora. In Malaysia only, the mules (prototypes) have covered more than 300,000 km of test on the road. Besides, proton also send exora to Thailand, Indonesia, china for climate and road test. This is known as General durability test. Let me list out the test that proton had done before launch this exora.

1)General Durability Test. This is to test the overall vehicle durability and reliability on the road, either at a simulation track or on public roads throughout Malaysia, Indonesia, China andThailand. The mileage accumulation target varies from 30,000km to 300,000km depending on the predetermined targets and objectives.

2)Stone Pave Circuit Test (SPC). This is to test the vehicle's structural durability and is a mandatory test in any vehicle development programme. The test is usually conducted at the Millbrook circuit in the United Kingdom and at Idiada in Spain. Corrosion testing also takes place at both circuits.

3)Power Train Durability (PTD). This is to test the vehicle power train unit up to 800 cycles or to a minimum of 600 cycles of pre-determined cycles at the PROTON proving ground. The power train must survive at least 200,000km without succumbing to any major failure. A 50,000km high-speed test is also conducted at Millbrook in the UK and a 150,000km suburban and Autobahn test is conducted in Germany. The Idiada circuit in Spain is also utilised for both purposes.

4)Accelerated Durability Test. This is again conducted at Millbrook or Idiada, where a test car is run on a predetermined track and pattern. Factor of severity is based on the proving ground designated pattern. The test is to simulate that the vehicle must survive at least 200,000km before requiring the customer to conduct a major service.

5)Hot Climate Test. This is to assess the vehicle's survival in high ambient temperatures of up to 50 degrees celcius. The favourite spot is at the Alice Springs proving ground in Australia and in Saudi Arabia. The objective of this exercise is to ensure that the vehicle will not succumb to any major problems when exported to Gulf countries or countries that have a hot climate.

6)Cold Climate Test. Tests are conducted to minus 30 degrees celcius at the Arctic Fall proving ground in Sweden and in Hokkaido, Japan.

For those who think that proton engineers never test the cars and Malaysian people are the guinea pig for proton, u r wrong. All the engineers and technician are work hard especially the HNT unit (for this area) except that the vendors had tarnish all of their hard works. Chow…………….

• Tassadar on Mar 24, 2009 at 11:15 pm

How come the 5k rebate for scrapping cars >10year old is not given if buying the Exora! The government already announced the car scrapping policy for all Proton and Perodua cars, but Proton is not following it. Anybody care to explain?

• [quote comment="223897"]For all readers info, all proton cars (starting waja) must undergo some test before made into production including exora. In Malaysia only, the mules (prototypes) have covered more than 300,000 km of test on the road. Besides, proton also send exora to Thailand, Indonesia, china for climate and road test. This is known as General durability test. Let me list out the test that proton had done before launch this exora.

1)General Durability Test. This is to test the overall vehicle durability and reliability on the road, either at a simulation track or on public roads throughout Malaysia, Indonesia, China andThailand. The mileage accumulation target varies from 30,000km to 300,000km depending on the predetermined targets and objectives.

2)Stone Pave Circuit Test (SPC). This is to test the vehicle's structural durability and is a mandatory test in any vehicle development programme. The test is usually conducted at the Millbrook circuit in the United Kingdom and at Idiada in Spain. Corrosion testing also takes place at both circuits.

3)Power Train Durability (PTD). This is to test the vehicle power train unit up to 800 cycles or to a minimum of 600 cycles of pre-determined cycles at the PROTON proving ground. The power train must survive at least 200,000km without succumbing to any major failure. A 50,000km high-speed test is also conducted at Millbrook in the UK and a 150,000km suburban and Autobahn test is conducted in Germany. The Idiada circuit in Spain is also utilised for both purposes.

4)Accelerated Durability Test. This is again conducted at Millbrook or Idiada, where a test car is run on a predetermined track and pattern. Factor of severity is based on the proving ground designated pattern. The test is to simulate that the vehicle must survive at least 200,000km before requiring the customer to conduct a major service.

5)Hot Climate Test. This is to assess the vehicle's survival in high ambient temperatures of up to 50 degrees celcius. The favourite spot is at the Alice Springs proving ground in Australia and in Saudi Arabia. The objective of this exercise is to ensure that the vehicle will not succumb to any major problems when exported to Gulf countries or countries that have a hot climate.

6)Cold Climate Test. Tests are conducted to minus 30 degrees celcius at the Arctic Fall proving ground in Sweden and in Hokkaido, Japan.

For those who think that proton engineers never test the cars and Malaysian people are the guinea pig for proton, u r wrong. All the engineers and technician are work hard especially the HNT unit (for this area) except that the vendors had tarnish all of their hard works. Chow…………….[/quote]

Very good info..Cheers to all hardworking proton's engineer.

• Nakal on Mar 25, 2009 at 12:53 am

460…

thats why i want to be at H&T..amazing career…

but i think…u reveal to much..

bit its ok..since most of malaysian didnt know what actually proton did..

• Nakal on Mar 25, 2009 at 12:53 am

460…

but its ok..since most of malaysian didnt know what actually proton did..

• Just wanna add some comment..

Actually i've been following paultan.org since feb 2007 as a silent reader. Kudos to paultan for being able to post a good knowledge and latest info regarding the motorsport news and hopefully these good effort will be continuing as time goes by.

For the proton's basher out there, please read for what i am going to post.

For the info, i've owned 2 proton cars which is proton persona and both are the HLine auto. The first one is the first persona model (light gold) which i bought it on sept 2007 and the second one (tranquity black) i bought it on early of january this year. Although the first model has no IAFM installed, and has what we call it "lag of low torque" but overall i am very satisfied with the car and up until today, i have no problem with the car at all. It has some minor problem such as blown bulb and back seat sound but after i sent to proton sc, the prob has settled. I am a heavy footer on the paddle and when i drove this car, the best moment is when i took the corner. The steering is very precise and the car is very stable. Thanks to proton for being able to produce a good car. Last time i travelled from s.alam to penang with other 4 of my friends and amazingly, the car's speed can reach 170km/h easily and sometimes it can reach 180km/h! Just imagine with 5 people in the car and with the speed of 180km/h yet the car is quite stable and only my right hand on the steering.

For the IAFM model, i bought it for my wife and what suprised me, the acceleration is very good and the FC also noticeable if compared to the first model. It is quite improvement from proton. I tried to install my first model persona to IAFM system but when i ask the SC, the answer they gave is that i cannot do that because there are no such modification exist . Quite sad.

So, that is my experience with proton's car. For those who want to buy this Proton Exora, my advice is that when it is launch, go to the Proton Edar, test drive the car and then make your decision. Please don't make some decision based on rumors.

P/S: I am not a proton salesman. Just wanna share my experience only. Cheers.

• acerman on Mar 25, 2009 at 4:30 am

Is it true that Proton Cars that are sold locally are not up to the standard sold outside malaysia? For example the quality of Persona at Bahrian and Persona which are sold in Malaysia. Is it true that the parts used in cars that is exported have higher qualities than the one that are sold in Malaysia. In which all the parts Malaysia version have less quality standards?

One more thing, is Proton sold in such countries are more expensive than the one sold in Malaysia?

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 4:36 am

[quote comment="223930"]460…

but its ok..since most of malaysian didnt know what actually proton did..[/quote]

Normal malaysian. Always bashing with out take any port first. Sebab tu ada pepatah "malu bertanya, sesat jalan", "kera dihutan disusukan, anak di rumah mati kelaparan" & "kacang lupakan kulit". Banyak rakyat Malaysia suka dengar cakap orang dari selidik dahulu, yang kesian tu nama je pelajaran tinggi tapi jadi banggang sebab dengar cakap orang. Kesian. Anyways, hope proton can be like hyundai that can built the quality car. :)

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 4:41 am

[quote comment="223966"]Is it true that Proton Cars that are sold locally are not up to the standard sold outside malaysia? For example the quality of Persona at Bahrian and Persona which are sold in Malaysia. Is it true that the parts used in cars that is exported have higher qualities than the one that are sold in Malaysia. In which all the parts Malaysia version have less quality standards?

One more thing, is Proton sold in such countries are more expensive than the one sold in Malaysia?[/quote]

What i know is that Quality that exported are same that we get right now in malaysia. Even the price are equal. Don't just hear what rumors said. Just Google by your self. :)

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 4:57 am

Good news for who wnat cheap car that less then RM9k. Compact, cute and most of all are people mover. klik link below :
    http://tatanano.inservices.tatamotors.com/tatamot…
    :)

• acerman on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:06 am

I'm not listening to rumors. An EON representatives told me that the Proton that are exported are more high quality standards because in such countries quality is always at higher par.

Does anyone know, I just received a letter from the bank that I must renew my car insurance. It stated that my car which is 4 years old and when I bought it was about 62,xxx, the bank gave a 43,xxx insurance cover? Is my car decreased very fast?

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:30 am

[quote comment="223974"]I'm not listening to rumors. An EON representatives told me that the Proton that are exported are more high quality standards because in such countries quality is always at higher par.

Does anyone know, I just received a letter from the bank that I must renew my car insurance. It stated that my car which is 4 years old and when I bought it was about 62,xxx, the bank gave a 43,xxx insurance cover? Is my car decreased very fast?[/quote]

You ask from EON ppl, thats why. They knowlaged are not up to date, way behind 4 to 5 years back. Pity. Go to proton edar to get up to date info. About the bank, you also can ask them about this. Normaly to minimize them to pay the insured claim, they will discrease the insurance cover. Alah.. buisnes.. sapa nak rugi. Tu yang salah kat malaysia tu. Even bank also do double standart. Proton have to see about this. Whare i get this info ?. I have friends work at Local Bank. Satu lagi… sebab rakyat malaysia x nak bayar premium insurance. So sebab tu bank dicrease insurance cover… tak caya ?. tanya diaorang. :)

• awak (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:31 am

proton sold outside malaysia has the same quality,

its just the spec might be different,

saga for example, sold as proton mpi, have cat converter, sun roof, and injected engine. at that time multipont injection is made in japan, and also they have lower spec 1.3 with roll up window. dash and steering is different,

for wira / persona most engine is injected, interior has a bit different fabric design and 4 spoke with air bag, also have the lower spec 1.3 injected with roll up window,

and some of the model with sun roof pop up type,

in general the quality is the same. but features might differ,

and waja / impian has lesser in difference,

engine wise these car is considered reliable round about. cheap to maintain.

• acerman on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:40 am

OIC. Okay then, tomorrow better go to Proton Edar showroom first thing in the evening. Better have correct info.

• awak (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:44 am

and also some car sold outside have immoblizer, rear fog light,

many has no air con.

for satria gti its already near export spec, with rear fog light bulb is in there.

satria neo is almost the same, just need front and rear fog light, no ac and everythig else is the same,

so its hard to double standard between local and export.

• infinity (Member) on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:52 am

from wat i heard from industries sources (not proton or any automotive industry), export items uses the same materials, but different quality in terms of assembling, as recalls oversea costs a lot..

• silvercam on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:30 am

[quote comment="223873"]for silvercam,please refer to the nearest servise centre as soon as possible. it shouldnt happen like that. the dealers should send proton cars to pdi first before they handout it to the customers. i hope that silvercam should lodge a report to the service centre urgently….em,back to exora, after this, i will explain a little bit on the safety aspect on exora generally proton cars and also about its fc, power and so on. its not only about power to weight ratio only or the torque only, they are many things u need to count for. chow…………..[/quote]

I have supported Proton and for 460 said comment I have no choice but to refer to them. But unfortunately I have lost some confidence in them. My friends Sawwy that is suppose to have TUV or something had also this sort of problems.Proton survives due to it being protected. If not dah lama wrap up.anyway this Waja is not my first Proton but it might be my last at this rate.

I hope the test being done on the test subject are being carried through the cars that reach the real consumers.

• upinipin on Mar 25, 2009 at 3:29 pm

hmmm… I smell negative propaganda here. Try harder. Brand new car with so many problems? Naah!

Proton edar salesman gave me a copy of 'facts comparison' between Exora & Avanza produced by Toyota sales people (his wife is a toyota salesperson, haha). I found it very amusing. They used every info gathered here in paultan.org to slander & condemn Exora even before its launching.

Seems like they make an early preparation. Obviously, they're terrified with Exora.

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:11 pm

normaly wear & tear are base on the user. Not mean that u are woman driver that not take care your car. Even man driver also some time more worse than woman driver. If u take care your car, your car will be ok. Take like this, my wife and his friend purchase savvy and get the same batch at same proton edar (same day Proton delivery). my wife savvy still in good condition with minimum maintanance. Have travel to perlis, kelantan & johor but still FC very good, condition excelance just change tyre, battery, brake pad and normal maintanance. But vice versa to his friend, his savvy have lot problem. u know why ?. Maintanance always skip, some time go to ah seng workshop that used "celup spare part", even don't even care if there have any water in radiator. Free body kit ?. sumbing sana sini. Just good thing that handling, engine & FC still in good condition. It base on how u take care your car. some care like second wife even like they baby, but most used it as salve that "lenjan tak ingat dunia". Even the best construc car ever built also will damage if "lenjan je tau". :)

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:16 pm

[quote comment="224051"]hmmm… I smell negative propaganda here. Try harder. Brand new car with so many problems? Naah!

Proton edar salesman gave me a copy of 'facts comparison' between Exora & Avanza produced by Toyota sales people (his wife is a toyota salesperson, haha). I found it very amusing. They used every info gathered here in paultan.org to slander & condemn Exora even before its launching.

Seems like they make an early preparation. Obviously, they're terrified with Exora.[/quote]

yup.. dah goyang dah kat toyota tu bila dengar exora nak keluar. Time mpv lain sama cc kuar tak plak kecoh. diaorang akan korek sampai ujung skru pun nak buat kisah… sian. impak exora melebihi dari jangkauan. taniah proton.

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 5:18 pm

[quote comment="224051"]hmmm… I smell negative propaganda here. Try harder. Brand new car with so many problems? Naah!

Seems like they make an early preparation. Obviously, they're terrified with Exora.[/quote]

bro… ada copy tak ?. nak tengok gak apa yang diaorang dapat. hehehe… :)

• upinipin on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:14 pm

quote]

bro… ada copy tak ?. nak tengok gak apa yang diaorang dapat. hehehe… :)[/quote]

ada copy tapi x terang sgt sbb photostat. Sy dpt dr proton edar Giant Puchong. Takpun cuba pegi mana2 toyota outlet menyamar nak beli Avanza, dia bagi la kot:)

• gen2lama on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:34 pm

[quote comment="224070"]

bro… ada copy tak ?. nak tengok gak apa yang diaorang dapat. hehehe… :)

ada copy tapi x terang sgt sbb photostat. Sy dpt dr proton edar Giant Puchong. Takpun cuba pegi mana2 toyota outlet menyamar nak beli Avanza, dia bagi la kot:)[/quote]

just list some of the 'fact' they got..

but won't change my mind…booked solid white already….hmmmm..no info for the mannual…..so decided H-line auto…

• Prismo on Mar 25, 2009 at 6:51 pm

Hi initial R, gattaca, awak, and the others TJCC members.. apa kabar, sihat ker?

upinipin, his wife need to work harder to convined peoples to buy avanza.. if not she will be sack.. if unemployed, apa mau makan? siapa mau tolong husband bayar itu Toyota alphard?.. but it's really a bad way to improve avanza sales… everytime peoples want proton to be fair… now proton produced a good quality mpv then, toyota salesperson pulak main kotor… initial R, upinipin… kalo dpt, aku pun nak tgk jugak… mungkin kat swak ni, toyota salesman xder buat mcm tu…

• upinipin on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:17 pm

I quote some defensive comparison from the toyota's 'EXORA PRE-LAUNCH ATTACK DIRECTION' here:

1. eventhough Exora is 1.6, it's underpowerded due to its size & weight (300kg heavier). Avanza will outperform Exora in fc, engine response & hill climbing.

2. Exora is big & heavy. Avanza's compact & light body translate into easy manouevaribality especialy into tight spaces, whether during parking or u turn.

3. Exora is too low. Avanza's high ground clearance provides advantage on rough terrain & rural roads especially in East Msia.

4. even higher price OTR, Avanza cost of ownership is low due to better FC and lower interest rate = lower mthly installlment

5. Toyota Avanza quality is far more superior than proton.

Cukup le, penat nak taip.

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 7:23 pm

[quote comment="224090"]I quote some defensive comparison from the toyota's 'EXORA PRE-LAUNCH ATTACK DIRECTION' here:

1. eventhough Exora is 1.6, it's underpowerded due to its size & weight (300kg heavier). Avanza will outperform Exora in fc, engine response & hill climbing.

2. Exora is big & heavy. Avanza's compact & light body translate into easy manouevaribality especialy into tight spaces, whether during parking or u turn.

3. Exora is too low. Avanza's high ground clearance provides advantage on rough terrain & rural roads especially in East Msia.

4. even higher price OTR, Avanza cost of ownership is low due to better FC and lower interest rate = lower mthly installlment

Cukup le, penat nak taip.[/quote]

hahaha… Thanks bro… that was defensive from toyota for they avanza. however we wait exora lunch and ppl can test drive so after that they can compare about that… sweet.. :)

• To silvercam, like my comments before,the product is actually the as what prtn tested, the only problem is the materials from vendors and qc problems and also the sales dealers. It is out of the technician and engineers power to select the vendors and do the qc on mass production vehicle, but rest assure, the new management has promised especially dsza, he promised not to waste all the hardwork of the engineers and technician and will do what ever it takes under his power to fulfil all the requirements. I believe he is the man of word. Let us pray together, shall we. All of protonians hope that their new baby will be a stepping stone for them to leap forward.

Lets me continue my explanations, this time is on the engine and aerodynamic. These two things are one of the important key on the performance and handling of the car. Today, car manufacturers embrace aerodynamics as a significant reference point to ensuring a vehicle has better directional control, driving safety, fuel consumption and top speed. Aerodynamics forces also vary with speeds, and in the context of vehicle stability, these forces not only change the loading pattern on the vehicle but also changes the ride attitude, suspension geometry and vehicle characteristics. In the case of a performance car, the most ideal aerodynamic performance is zero lift balance on both front and rear axles together with progressive build-up in yaw parameters to give good cross wind and tracking stability. This essentially increases a vehicle's top speed as well as reduces fuel consumption. In developing the all proton cars for example exora, engineers and aerodynamicists at PROTON's Research and Development Division were out to create a car with the lowest drag coefficient. In short, what it means is that the less drag, or wind-resistance, the better the car's performance, elements that helped to decide on the exora more sleek and a little bit sporty appearance. Tests were conducted at MIRA in the United Kingdom and at the Volvo wind tunnel facility in Sweden. The aerodynamics targets set for the exora were to develop a car with a drag coefficient not exceeding 0.33, and to identify a design that would have sufficient air supply to cool the engine and one with progressive buildup of forces at various yaw angles.

Engineers tinkled with more than 20 sets of configurations and clocked up to 240 test runs experimenting with different designs for the front bumper lips, tailgate lip spoiler, tailgate wing spoiler, frontal opening and brake cooling ducts with the car tested up to air speeds in excess of 200km/h.

In general, both designers and engineers managed to come up with a good frontal area that extends all the way to the windscreen area with no separation found in the airflow. This also means it helps to keep a driver's vision clear as long as water flow is not excessive. The area of disturbed airflow at the rear of the wheel arch is also not big in comparison to other cars. Test results also showed sufficient air velocity behind the radiator core to cool the CAMPRO and CAMPRO CPS engine.

I give u one of the results or example that end users benefit from these costly testing is the fins found at the leading edge of the GEN.2's wing mirrors. The fins deflect the air so that rainwater does not swirl around behind the wing mirror. And for ur info, GEN.2's respectable drag coefficient figures of 0.30 Cd was achieved without the use of a spoiler with 0.01 Coefficient lift. The figures were much lower with a tailgate spoiler added on. (By the way, for satria neo, without spoiler, it achieve 0.33 Cd oppose to old satria 0.41 Cd, but neo CPS achieve lower than 0.30 Cd with the spoiler, air dam, wheel arch and rear diffuser and almost zero Coefficient lift) These findings were later validated conducting on-the road tests at the Alice Springs proving ground in Northern Australia.

The exora manage to achieve the targeted of 0.33 Cd and 0.01 Cl. The campro and campro cps engine that cost nearly rm 1 billion started on year 2000. It has been tested for 1.5 Million Kilometers in the lab and on the road testing in extreme weather conditions, from -30 degrees celcius in Sweden to above 40 degrees celcius in Australia and Saudi Arabia. For ur info, 1.5 million KM equivalent with 25 times around the world. I think that’s all for now. For those who think Power to Weight ratio is the only method to judge the performance of the car, u r wrong. It is not just a simple calculation of power to weight ratio, it involve everything including aerodynamic of the vehicle, the engine tuning and characteristics and power, vehicle weight distribution and also gear ratio. I will not touch on gear ratio since sifu already explain on that previously. Chow………………………

• ANTIKIMI on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:38 pm

Let us start BOIKOT AND BOO Avanza 1.5

• ANTIKIMI on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:43 pm

[quote comment="223974"]I'm not listening to rumors. An EON representatives told me that the Proton that are exported are more high quality standards because in such countries quality is always at higher par.

Does anyone know, I just received a letter from the bank that I must renew my car insurance. It stated that my car which is 4 years old and when I bought it was about 62,xxx, the bank gave a 43,xxx insurance cover? Is my car decreased very fast?[/quote]

yes, true.. event avanza 1.5, car value decreased very very fast, if you dont believe, go to ask second hand car salesmen..

• initial R on Mar 25, 2009 at 8:53 pm

Wahh.. thanks 460 for info of aerodynamic. that give some more info for those who want to buy exora. that's why PT can crusing up to 140>160km eazy with 7 ppl in exora. tambah pulak stabil atas jalan. :)

• Arise on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:17 pm

Can someone tell me why there were cases of engine burnt in the initial GEN.2 ? I personally encountered one unit, 1.6 manual. Sand colour. Year 2004.

• i think, what i am revealing is not that much secretive, it is more on informative explainations. i'm sure that prtn did not intended to put all of these information as secretive but since not everybody will understand what i just post, but no offence, it is hard to explain to a normal user by using layman term. automotive engineering is very complicated thing, even a simple nut need to be calculated and tested thoroughly because all the technicians, engineers and designers know how important it is because many lives depending on them. they cannot afford to do any mistake. a simple example is for a piza hut waiter, u only serve the pizza to the customer,it does not link on how much degree of oven temperature they need to set for a pizza because it is the cook work, not the waiter. even they cook it well, but if the supply of piza from piza hut franchise is not good, u cannot blame the cook or waiter. if the cook overcook the piza, u cannot blame piza hut eventhough the supply the best material for their piza. i hope that all of u understand. it is quite sad for the technician, engineers and designers when some of u accusing them as stupid and ignorance, syok sendiri, tak maju, ketinggalan and many more….next time is on safety aspects. a brief explaination on safety aspect,some of u ask why exora dont aim for 5 star euroncap? the answer is because prtn aim to get exora at least 4 star only by supplying two airbags, a rigid body, a good crumple zone and distribution,abs,ebd,bmc and etc. to get 5 star euroncap nowadays, a vehicle should be equip at least 6 airbags(front, side and curtain),this is not including the knee airbag. not to mention even the seatbelt alarm for each sit also score a point to get 5 star euroncap.

kia rondo or carens also achieve 4 stars euroncap with 4 air bags and multiple isofix,(5 star for nhtsa not euroncap) because the test include occupant, child and pedestrian safety. it is not an easy job especially on pedestrian safety. and u cannot compare a small car 5 stars with big suv 5 stars because it is access according to different category. so, if exora manage to seal 4 stars with only twin airbags, it should be consider a good sign. prtn can make 6 or 8 airbags in exora, but will people pay the price because airbags cost around RM 1k – 2 k each. please think about it, should prtn lie by saying prtn aim exora for 5 stars euroncap but only supply two airbags??? it cannot be done. so thats for now,chow………………………..

• not only prtn engine burn, any engine in the world can burn down. in manufacturing, they are margin of errors or defect products. they are not a single engine in the world that are 100% perfect and bullet proof.normally it is around 0.05%. so, count it your self. but it seems that prtn nowadays are aiming for 0.01% defect rate. chow…………

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:43 pm

Nice info 460. Much appreciated. Also to sifu, PT and those who working with P1 that give info regarding this lady Exora.

• Prem3377 on Mar 25, 2009 at 10:57 pm

good info by 460…i didnt know proton gen2 has a cd of 30..

proton should put all this info on its brochure..

people wont know all this if its not told or shown…

• gen2lama on Mar 25, 2009 at 11:50 pm

nice info 460…..

my 'sluggish campro 1st batch' have done 300 000 km for 5 years…average of 160km per day for 30 days/month for 5 years!

so far, just replace – radiator fan, air pump, speed sensor (RM400+) timing belt (3x), absorber (recall after one year)..that's all..

so who said the sluggish campro not good….FC so far ok…4 years petrol + 1 year NGV….so no more FC issue.

yes..the built quality suck. but who cares. no more monthly installment. so i can use the money to get a pair of recaro bucket seat, trim the door panel and dashboard.

well i rather buy proton and spent some extra 10/20k for 1 acre of kebun sawit…at the end, i have a proton + kebun…..if i choose H or T brand for the same spec of car, what i got after 5 years? …..only a car…

btw, just went to PWTC. sat on the seat of exora frame…..hhmmmm very nice for me. cant wait to drive it.

• Arise on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:27 am

[quote comment="224150"]not only prtn engine burn, any engine in the world can burn down. in manufacturing, they are margin of errors or defect products. they are not a single engine in the world that are 100% perfect and bullet proof.normally it is around 0.05%. so, count it your self. but it seems that prtn nowadays are aiming for 0.01% defect rate. chow…………[/quote]

Thanks 460 for the input. I hope to get more infor from you about this Exora. Thanks again.

• initial R on Mar 26, 2009 at 1:53 am

[quote comment="224148"]Can someone tell me why there were cases of engine burnt in the initial GEN.2 ? I personally encountered one unit, 1.6 manual. Sand colour. Year 2004.[/quote]

any engine can get burn out if u dont take care of radiator water. please regular check by once a week at lease…

• Prismo on Mar 26, 2009 at 4:48 am

[quote comment="224148"]Can someone tell me why there were cases of engine burnt in the initial GEN.2 ? I personally encountered one unit, 1.6 manual. Sand colour. Year 2004.[/quote]

So far until now, none.. still never see any burnt gen2… about 5 years ago, i've seen a burnt BMW 3 series… "tgk dgn mata kepala sendiri"… that happen in a hot day afternoon on 1pm… that BMW stuck in a traffic jammed… suddenly, a smoke is coming out from it's engine bay… 2 minutes after that, fire coming out…then, the car is on fire… i ran to the nearest building and came back with a fire estinguisher… hahaha… until now i still remembered the day i becoming an instant fire fighter… :)

• very good info 460..thank you.

• awak (Member) on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:07 am

im suprised that proton is good at seat for their car,

drivers seat are designed solid, in saga ,gen 2, persona, neo and savvy,

saga and savvy have a good side bolster, it hold your body almost like bucket seat, your back lay on a flat solid back support so that your body is always stay facing the front without feeling wobbled,

and the neo is a near bucket seat in design is good especially in the cps.

unlike myvi or avanza,

myvi is soft and curved back, avanza as well, it hard to find a good direct position when driving, soft curved seat surface makes you constantly feel displaced, at the end it feel uncomfortable,

• acerman (Member) on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:32 am

[quote comment="224090"]I quote some defensive comparison from the toyota's 'EXORA PRE-LAUNCH ATTACK DIRECTION' here:

Why are they saying like this. How about their big models like the alphard and the estima? These models are like moving ice-box. Big and bulky and how says they have lower monthly installment. For an Avanza you have to pay almost 700++ a month with that space. Face the facts. Avanza is the most simplest MPV ever built. It has the most simple gadgets. Even GL is better than the Avanza.

Avanza can climb the steep roads easily because it's a RWD. The method between pulling and pushing is different. Just think for a minute if Avanza uses the FWD.

Exora is big because its purpose is to fit 7 adults and not 4 adults and 3 children.

"Avanza's high ground clearance provides advantage on rough terrain & rural roads especially in East Msia" – yeah, like driving a van.

Underpowered? Cannot decide yet, cause? Has anyone even driven it for the first 500km or going to work everday as far as 80km perday five days a week like me?

Their facts are too obvious. Revealing their own weakness.

p/s Viva. A washing machined Avanza. Masuk mesin basuh keluarlah Viva.

• i think 460 is si-fu.. si-fu missing already.. hahaha..

• Arise on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:40 pm

[quote comment="224198"][quote comment="224148"]Can someone tell me why there were cases of engine burnt in the initial GEN.2 ? I personally encountered one unit, 1.6 manual. Sand colour. Year 2004.[/quote]

any engine can get burn out if u dont take care of radiator water. please regular check by once a week at lease…[/quote]

My Gen.2 was brand new with mileage less than 800km when it burnt ! Not even first service yet. Many cases of first batch Gen.2 engine burnt.

• Arise on Mar 26, 2009 at 5:42 pm

[quote comment="224242"][quote comment="224148"]Can someone tell me why there were cases of engine burnt in the initial GEN.2 ? I personally encountered one unit, 1.6 manual. Sand colour. Year 2004.[/quote]

So far until now, none.. still never see any burnt gen2… about 5 years ago, i've seen a burnt BMW 3 series… "tgk dgn mata kepala sendiri"… that happen in a hot day afternoon on 1pm… that BMW stuck in a traffic jammed… suddenly, a smoke is coming out from it's engine bay… 2 minutes after that, fire coming out…then, the car is on fire… i ran to the nearest building and came back with a fire estinguisher… hahaha… until now i still remembered the day i becoming an instant fire fighter… :)[/quote]

Prismo,

It is good to be honest here and supportive at the same time. Ask any mechanic around…..

• madimat on Mar 26, 2009 at 6:17 pm

Sounds like some Avanza dealers are becoming more nervous of not achieving sales target coming April 14,….

Yea la Avanza is the bestest van on the planet. All hail avanza! hip hip horey.

Anyway, Long Live TJCC!

.peace!

• Wisdom on Mar 26, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Can see Proton engineers and Toyota salesman playing catch-up here. So far Proton engineer wins. Well what can i say… seldom found any salesman with proper knowledge base in Malaysia….

There's a news about Exora at center page in CBT quarterly review today (NST). Can see the blower & controller for 2nd & 3rd row seat. I'm not an NST salesman ok!

• gen2lama on Mar 26, 2009 at 8:20 pm

[quote comment="224411"]Can see Proton engineers and Toyota salesman playing catch-up here. So far Proton engineer wins. Well what can i say… seldom found any salesman with proper knowledge base in Malaysia….

There's a news about Exora at center page in CBT quarterly review today (NST). Can see the blower & controller for 2nd & 3rd row seat. I'm not an NST salesman ok![/quote]

go to PWTC….there is a exora frame with the seat arrangement…u can try the seat…feel wide.

u can see the blower also plus the led brake..go lah…u can get the whole picture on how big it is….

• With loads of kids and also the wife in the car, don’t get a mini car! That will so put your family to suffer every time you travel. If you need to transport at least 5-6 people daily, then you should get a van or a mini van, or a bigger car. The Toyota Avanza is a not good bet, not affordable and yet not roomy enough to fit six people comfortably

• Hi, now I think I should continue with the safety aspects of proton cars especially exora. For ur info, the internal crash is being done in Proton's Safety Lab, a division in the Component, Materials, Strength and Safety Laboratory. On average, this section performs 20 tests per year in terms of assessing passive restraint systems (that's seatbelts, airbags, seats etc) depending on the stage of progress and whether or not it has been developed from scratch or carried over from another vehicle platform. Whichever, this division is ultimately responsible for ensuring occupant protection should a vehicle be involved in a collision. The lab is divided into four main areas: crash testing,

in-house testing, the sled and the dummy calibration lab.

It is a task made twice as challenging as standards are frequently amended, improved or enhanced, and new ones are introduced. For example, in addition to passing front, rear and side intrusion impact tests to be eligible for sale in the United Kingdom and in Europe, proton cars must also be able to endure a roof crush test if they are to be sold in the Middle East or Gulf countries.

For sales in Europe, a directive was issued outlining additional tests to be carried out by car manufacturers relating to the protection of pedestrians and other vulnerable road users before, and in the event of, a collision with the front of a motor vehicle. This requires car manufacturers to conduct Lower Legform to Bumper Tests, Upper Legform to Bumper Tests, Upper Legform to Bonnet Leading Edge Tests, Child/Small Adult Headform to Bonnet Top Tests, Adult Headform to Windscreen Tests, Child and Adult Headform to Bonnet Top Tests.

At the end of the day, actual testing is still needed to validate the design, but the number of prototypes being tested and used for this purpose is greatly reduced when proton done some of the crash test internally. Simulated and physical crash tests at PROTON are conducted to Gulf State (GS) 40 and GS 37 for Rear Impact and 96/27/EC for Side Impact, and Euro-NCAP rating for Frontal ODB Impact. Extensive crash testing has been performed in IDIADA, at 64 km/h, according to euroncap standards for example 40% offset crash, side crash, pole crash and underride crash.

For example, for front bumper system, proton cars including exora has been built to meet UK’s Thatcham insurance requirements, it uses a foamless bumper beam system. It is made from high modulus poly propylene for good surface finish, structural rigidity and build quality. It also durable, gives solid protection against bumps and scrapes. For rear bumper system, it is built to pass GCC rear impact test (48 km/h) with no fuel leakage. The hydro foaming subrame technology is not the foam filler. It is as “kicking dust” explain earlier on unified frame for exora front in order to reduce weight but in the same time increase the car structural rigidity for front impact beam. Yes, proton use foam filler in strategic are to minimise noise and it is widely used by continental car. That’s why u have a continental feel when u r driving prtn cars, but in exora, it was used extensively.

There are different type of uhtss and htss. For example in neo, the htss use has torsion torsion rigidity of 13300nm/degree while bending rigidity of 14000 nm. Meanwhile in savvy, torsion rigidity is 17000 nm and bending rigidity of 14000 nm. That’s why neo is said twice stronger than the old satria because the old one only has 7000 nm torsion rigidity. It is the same for wira. Savvy it nearly tree times stronger than wira. For exora, it is a little bit rigid (about 10% more rigid and 10% reduce weight) than savvy because its uses uhtss and htss. Uhtss is stronger but lighter material compare to htss. Maybe one will ask why neo did not use the same htss as savvy. It is because of weight penalty as u can see, even a small car as savvy can weight nearly 1 tonne (953 kg to be precise) even with a lot of weight shredding has been exercise in making of savvy. Even the bigger high end version of Myvi Se auto has the same weight as savvy. Satria neo is a performance oriented car for proton, so it should not be too heavy. But rest assured, even lotus cars only has 9500 nm rigidity but it still consider as a safe and strong body car. The use of uhtss and htss on its chassis because it is strong and resilient in critical ares, where it acts as a protective cage which resists collapse and keep occupants safe. Another benefits of using uhtss and htss for the chassis is it helps in ride and handling department. The higher torsion rigidity of the chassis, it will give excellent vehicle control and handling for example cornering, winding roads, swerving and evasive manoeuvring. Meanwhile, the higher bending rigidity of the chassis, it will give excellent ride comfort and control example damping of road bumps.

For side impact beam, proton has been upgrading its side impact beam starting with gen2 with using standard dual impact beam for front and single for rear doors but since the development of satria neo, nowadays, all proton cars using what we call as double impact trapezoidal bars made from htss which offer better side protection than before. These including an additional door side impact catcher which helps to prevent doors from being forced into cabin. It is the same for exora. That’s why proton doors this day is quite heavy compare to the old days. Even the new neo cps doors are heavier than the standard h-line neo because more rigid htss has been used as impact beam compare to previous htss. Not only neo cps, waja cps, gen2 doors are also heavier than the previous one.

The body and the chassis of proton cars including exora have been treated by using advanced electro-deposition total immersion anti corrosion treatment for 7 years anti-corrosion warranty to outstanding durability and rust resistance.

I think this should enough to clarify any doubt on the safety of proton cars especially exora. If u think proton cars are made from tin milo, u r totally wrong. Even some of the Japanese cars did not have the came safety measure as protons in the same or one level higher class cars. I’m not saying that japs car are not safe, but I want to emphasise that proton never disregard all the safety aspects in proton cars.

Before I forget, all proton cars have a 3-point collapsible mechanism in the steering column to protect driver by absorbing impact energy in three ways during collision. By the way, si-fu and I are a different person. Chow…………………….

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 27, 2009 at 12:01 am

To 460/KickingDust, it's not Hydro Foaming but rather Hydro FORMING. This is a very, very expensive process and had been in use for quite a while in the manufacturing of monocoque chassis. In simple layman terms; a solid piece/sheet of metal is placed into a specific mould and formed into required shape using very high water pressure compression. No welding/cutting is involved, and as no heat is involved in the process, the original strength and rigidity of the metal are maintained even when deformed on impact. In conventional subframe process, metal pieces are welded together, and in the event of an impact, the welded points would split open thus open to various safety issues. There is also another process called Hydro Cutting, but that's another story for another day.

Chiao!

• wow..panjangnya. to TJCC, i dun think proton really dat junk. hehe.

• Tengokaje.. on Mar 27, 2009 at 12:49 am

Nice info again 460. May be P1 can put some publicity placement in mainstream newspapers so that people will notice about it. It will shows that P1 are not play-play in term of safety of their products. Try to put as simple so that people could understand.

• please la dont buy avanza 1.5

• not a good bargain avanza 1.5

• Arise on Mar 27, 2009 at 1:31 am

Can I safely assume that things only get better after Gen.2 and above up to Exora in what you have just explained ? I do not see this in Wira, Saga or Waja. Correct me if I am not right here. Thanks.

• KickingDust on Mar 27, 2009 at 2:17 am

NutzeyWagen said,

March 26, 2009 @ 4:01 pm · Reply with quote

To 460/KickingDust, it’s not Hydro Foaming but rather Hydro FORMING. This is a very, very expensive process and had been in use for quite a while in the manufacturing of monocoque chassis. In simple layman terms; a solid piece/sheet of metal is placed into a specific mould and formed into required shape using very high water pressure compression.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

NutzeyWagen-san,

Arigato Gonzaimas,

Cheers.

• NutzeyWagen on Mar 27, 2009 at 2:26 am

KickingDust-san, anata wa irashaimase! (you're welcome!)

• KickingDust on Mar 27, 2009 at 2:31 am

460 said,

March 26, 2009 @ 1:40 pm · Reply with quote

……. It is as “KickingDust” explain earlier on unified frame for exora front in order to reduce weight but in the same time increase the car structural rigidity for front impact beam.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Hi 460,

Apa kata kita kena teh tarik satu hari…. @ jumpa kat bist.. aja ?

• SwiftMatrix on Mar 27, 2009 at 6:22 am

Perhaps Proton will introduce Exora SE by end of the year…. To outperform P2 Sette perhaps :)

• gen2lama on Mar 27, 2009 at 6:58 am

[quote comment="224625"]Perhaps Proton will introduce Exora SE by end of the year…. To outperform P2 Sette perhaps :)[/quote]

hmmm…before the SE, can anyone give me some info regarding the manual version. will it be launched together with auto? really hope that i can drive the manual.

• awak (Member) on Mar 27, 2009 at 7:02 am

just to tell the story how proton exel with other car, i use to drive myvi and compare to proton saga blm,

of course myvi dvvt is responsive at the very bottom of rpm, yes that alone but driving a car is a different story, i not satisfy with the control of the car thin steering, interior is simple but toyish you can see how large is the switches and with large number at aircon dial in myvi.

handling is not to my like, it does feel like a quick body roll probally when 4 on board the rear center gravity is higher due to high rear seating position,

for saga it has the quality of 'handling' and at the same time it ease up the road patch irregularity very ok, and with 'thud'. its a good combination of a good handling and comfort, it a well balanced car.

seating good well fit, feel direct, small thick steering some say high position ,

if people understand a car control this position is at best for hand to manipulate the steering effectively and quick, and a bit weighted to center steering makes the car points it direction without wander like the light steering car.

some say lack of power, the proton transmission setting is in sport mode actually, kick down is quite sensitive, once its takes on ,it surge constantly where you can feel the long runner of the iafm does give a solid push ,

of course vvt react earlier punch, but not too long after, then iafm show its superiority, its quite effortless up to a higher powerband even 4 in the car.

proton did makes a good car, if you really know how to appreciate cars and its character,

• KickingDust on Mar 27, 2009 at 7:03 am

NutzeyWagen said,

March 26, 2009 @ 4:01 pm · Reply with quote

To 460/KickingDust, it’s not Hydro Foaming but rather Hydro FORMING. This is a very, very expensive process and had been in use for quite a while in the manufacturing of monocoque chassis.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

You are getting closer to the answer NutzeyWagen, for your info .. Lotus monocuque chasssis is designed using Hydro Forming technology too. Proton owns Lotus and perhaps Lotus owns company with the technology.

Cheers.

• dear 460,

thanks for the detail explaination.

well, i cannot be much agree with u. Proton has done a great job.

i am one of the potential buyer for Exora.

cant wait for its official launch.

• kelvinL on Mar 27, 2009 at 8:05 am

proton should announce the actual price by now so that ppl who booked the car earlier can start applying for loan. 15 apr is near. Dont u ppl agree?

• awak (Member) on Mar 27, 2009 at 12:55 pm

at PE,

an avanza owner cant wait to settle his avanza..placing his booking for exora.

• tq for nutzeywgn to correct my spelling error. nice explaination :-). to kicking dust, well, tq 4 ur invitation, maybe someday we can have a tea together, quit bussy right now. to arise, for old wira and old saga, there is nothing much can be done because it were from mitsu. the alteration can be made to a certain aspect only for example exterior and interior cosmetic,suspension tuning and engine tuning. as we all know, the newer, the better. waja is the first platform built by prtn, and its already nine years old. it is better for proton to focus more on the new platform because in order to enhance the old platform for example using uhtss (same platform, only change the material use), the r&d cost is high, it almost as the same as built a new one because all the test must be started from ground zero. but from gen2, prtn get better and better because prtn learning from all the strength and weakness from the previous platform and enhanced it to create a new one. the example is the new saga from savvy platform. eventhough it just a stretch platform, it can be consider a new one. it cost nearly rm 500 million to create saga. for ur info, prtn exercise building modular platform, so waja platform can be consider as the mother of all platform. but as i said earlier,there still some enhancement in waja cps such as enhance the side impact beam, noise insulation, engine, gear ratio, all the equipments such as hid lamp and many more. hope that all of my explaination will clear all ur mind.

em, regarding exora acceleration to century mark, as we all know, it sprint from 0-100 around 12 scnd (manual) around 14 scnd (auto). it is achievable for average driver, but if u r a good one aka pro driver, u can achieve around 10-11 scnd for manual and 12-13 scnd for auto. the century sprint stated in prtn brohures are achievable for average driver. one example is gen2 cps,eventhough the century sprint stated 10.5 scnd but actually, if u r an excellent driver, u can achieve below 9 scnd 0-100 sprint. i think thats all the info that i can give u, so if u one more info, just wait for the launch and test drive ur self ( p/s : neo cps century sprint to century is faster than satria gti time in pros' driver hand)

• initial R on Mar 27, 2009 at 5:04 pm

[quote comment="224664"]proton should announce the actual price by now so that ppl who booked the car earlier can start applying for loan. 15 apr is near. Dont u ppl agree?[/quote]

go to nearest proton edar or proton edar website & u get the price so u can book and apply loan. Proton eder open booking now….

• Arise on Mar 27, 2009 at 5:37 pm

Thanks 460 for your clarification on the chasis built up. When you are free for teh tarik, dun forget to include yeah. Must let me know in advance.

• farghmee on Mar 27, 2009 at 6:42 pm

WAH~~

very nice on-spot info from 460! i like it 8-)

proton should ADVERTISE their KNOWLEDGE in order to promote sale!

proton should do different marketing for different customer.

e.g.

family oriented-exora is spacious, comfortable.

techies-all those engineering terms e.g. Cd, crash test, handling etc.

passo sette?

avanza?

• cross polo on Mar 27, 2009 at 7:19 pm

i just make some comment on this….

upinipin said,

March 25, 2009 @ 11:17 am · Reply with quote

I quote some defensive comparison from the toyota’s ‘EXORA PRE-LAUNCH ATTACK DIRECTION’ here:

1. eventhough Exora is 1.6, it’s underpowerded due to its size & weight (300kg heavier). Avanza will outperform Exora in fc, engine response & hill climbing.

comment= Avanza FC still good meh ?. suck like staw when climbing genting sempah. still fill underpower even 1.5.

2. Exora is big & heavy. Avanza’s compact & light body translate into easy manouevaribality especialy into tight spaces, whether during parking or u turn.

comment= who said easy parking ?. compact right… but cramp inside.

3. Exora is too low. Avanza’s high ground clearance provides advantage on rough terrain & rural roads especially in East Msia.

comment= u want high clearance, go buy SUV. when come MPV can transform to SUV. nonsence.

comment= haiyah… i blind already with interest rate… at the end i have to paid more on petrol. who said Avanza safe petrol.

comment=Exora just been test drive by several ppl that booking the MPV & media. What i know, dashboard feel plastic also, confort… emmm exora batter (i try the frame with interior at PWTC. comment= nice, feel confort).

Actually that all base on the proton product past 4 to 5 years back. Salesman toyota worried that they can't sold avanza since lots ppl (1500++ already) put booking on Exora even cencel order for avanza….

• Arise on Mar 27, 2009 at 7:36 pm

For example in neo, the htss use has torsion torsion rigidity of 13300nm/degree while bending rigidity of 14000 nm. Meanwhile in savvy, torsion rigidity is 17000 nm and bending rigidity of 14000 nm. That’s why neo is said twice stronger than the old satria because the old one only has 7000 nm torsion rigidity. It is the same for wira. Savvy it nearly tree times stronger than wira. For exora, it is a little bit rigid (about 10% more rigid and 10% reduce weight) than savvy because its uses uhtss and htss.

From your statement, is Savvy stronger than Neo ?

• initial R on Mar 27, 2009 at 8:10 pm

[quote comment="224771"]460,

For example in neo, the htss use has torsion torsion rigidity of 13300nm/degree while bending rigidity of 14000 nm. Meanwhile in savvy, torsion rigidity is 17000 nm and bending rigidity of 14000 nm. That’s why neo is said twice stronger than the old satria because the old one only has 7000 nm torsion rigidity. It is the same for wira. Savvy it nearly tree times stronger than wira. For exora, it is a little bit rigid (about 10% more rigid and 10% reduce weight) than savvy because its uses uhtss and htss.

From your statement, is Savvy stronger than Neo ?[/quote]

Among Proton family, Savvy are built with stronger chasis, new saga chasis built base on savvy platform. Because of the small size and compact, it design for purposely to protec all passanger even for rear passanger. they have link in PT for this savvy :
    http://paultan.org/archives/2007/05/24/proton-sav… http://paultan.org/archives/2005/08/12/proton-sav…

this are some of sample that savvy built strong… :)

• initial R on Mar 27, 2009 at 8:29 pm

i saw 1 funny tv commercial about savvy enjoy :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XXcCxhht-y4

• Arise on Mar 27, 2009 at 9:20 pm

[quote comment="224780"]i saw 1 funny tv commercial about savvy enjoy :

:)[/quote]

Thanks intial_R. Where does the platform of Savvy come from by the way ?

• initial R on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:11 pm

[quote comment="224787"][quote comment="224780"]i saw 1 funny tv commercial about savvy enjoy :

:)[/quote]

Thanks intial_R. Where does the platform of Savvy come from by the way ?[/quote]

this savvy base on renault clio. even the engine also. :)

• madboy on Mar 27, 2009 at 10:57 pm

460, can you make your comments into para. Diff to read especially when it a bit technical…poning kepolo eden eh…..

• Arise on Mar 27, 2009 at 11:37 pm

this savvy base on renault clio. even the engine also. :)[/quote]

Thanks initial_R. Meaning Proton strengten the chasis further ?

• Nahar ARS on Mar 28, 2009 at 12:58 am

Considering the safety aspect of Exora, as highlighted by Paul Tan recently, why Exora is not fitted with ISOFIX points as standard? Even though most Malaysian may have little idea on its use, maybe Proton can start educating Malaysians and also tie up with child seat makers and sell Proton branded child seats. Is it very costly to fit?

• KickingDust on Mar 28, 2009 at 1:05 am

Guys,

Pls read the below link for a better understanding on Hydroforming.
    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hydroforming

Cheers

• On the Proton website, the tentative price are..

Proton Exora HL (A/T) (Tentative) RM 76,000.00

Proton Exora ML (A/T) (Tentative) RM 72,000.00

• [quote comment="224843"]this savvy base on renault clio. even the engine also. :)[/quote]

Thanks initial_R. Meaning Proton strengten the chasis further ?[/quote]

The Savvy is not based on the Clio. It is a new platform. The engine however is an award winning small engine (read somewhere) from renault.

• tokmoh (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 9:36 am

[quote comment="224728"]tq for nutzeywgn to correct my spelling error. nice explaination :-). to kicking dust, well, tq 4 ur invitation, maybe someday we can have a tea together, quit bussy right now. to arise, for old wira and old saga, there is nothing much can be done because it were from mitsu. the alteration can be made to a certain aspect only for example exterior and interior cosmetic,suspension tuning and engine tuning. as we all know, the newer, the better. waja is the first platform built by prtn, and its already nine years old. it is better for proton to focus more on the new platform because in order to enhance the old platform for example using uhtss (same platform, only change the material use), the r&d cost is high, it almost as the same as built a new one because all the test must be started from ground zero. but from gen2, prtn get better and better because prtn learning from all the strength and weakness from the previous platform and enhanced it to create a new one. the example is the new saga from savvy platform. eventhough it just a stretch platform, it can be consider a new one. it cost nearly rm 500 million to create saga. for ur info, prtn exercise building modular platform, so waja platform can be consider as the mother of all platform. but as i said earlier,there still some enhancement in waja cps such as enhance the side impact beam, noise insulation, engine, gear ratio, all the equipments such as hid lamp and many more. hope that all of my explaination will clear all ur mind.

em, regarding exora acceleration to century mark, as we all know, it sprint from 0-100 around 12 scnd (manual) around 14 scnd (auto). it is achievable for average driver, but if u r a good one aka pro driver, u can achieve around 10-11 scnd for manual and 12-13 scnd for auto. the century sprint stated in prtn brohures are achievable for average driver. one example is gen2 cps,eventhough the century sprint stated 10.5 scnd but actually, if u r an excellent driver, u can achieve below 9 scnd 0-100 sprint. i think thats all the info that i can give u, so if u one more info, just wait for the launch and test drive ur self ( p/s : neo cps century sprint to century is faster than satria gti time in pros' driver hand)[/quote]

Ooo, that explains…… my fren demonstrated he can sprint v quickly with his kelisa manual, so when I saw n told him d official figure for S Neo CPS, he was feeling funny. How come 10.5, so slow one meh? Bt I guess it's answered edi, thnx 460 :)

Nvrtheless, he still likes it, went for a test drive, felt v awesome abt the Neo CPS, bt due to budget constraint, had to settle for Neo lite manual lol.

Bt 460,

I thought the Waja is based on Mitsu Charisma/Volvo S40 platform?

[quote comment="224494"]wow..panjangnya. to TJCC, i dun think proton really dat junk. hehe.[/quote]

Of cuz nt, bt hey, we're an honest lot n hv some sense of humor :) Unlike T fanboys, if we kutuk skit they say jeles la since we oni drive "junk". Ye la ye la, they soooooo awesome, toyota mar…… so malas edi la wanna debate n if they say we drive junk, then a junk it is lol.

Now they seem to play dirty. Instead of being honest that their avanza is rubbish (wanna say junk bt hey, edi chopped by them 1st lol), they've talked sheez at exora. Poooooorah. This oni makes it more suspicious that majority of those that said exora underpowered in the past are a bunch of T salesmen.

That shows, they're not kami-sama (God). Minna wa yappari ningen desyo? (everyone's human after all, rite?)

• Prismo on Mar 29, 2009 at 6:51 pm

[quote comment="225171"]Of cuz nt, bt hey, we're an honest lot n hv some sense of humor :) Unlike T fanboys, if we kutuk skit they say jeles la since we oni drive "junk". Ye la ye la, they soooooo awesome, toyota mar…… so malas edi la wanna debate n if they say we drive junk, then a junk it is lol.

Now they seem to play dirty. Instead of being honest that their avanza is rubbish (wanna say junk bt hey, edi chopped by them 1st lol), they've talked sheez at exora. Poooooorah. This oni makes it more suspicious that majority of those that said exora underpowered in the past are a bunch of T salesmen.[/quote]

I second that, even P2 owners will say we drive junk since "P2" are son's of "T"….poooraaaah!! (pinjam ayat kejap :) ) hahahaha!!!

With Exora this time, They need to play dirty, "maruah dah hampir tercabar".. (since a lot ppls cancel their avanza bookings and book for Exora). And if Exora already hit showroom.. avanza "dah boleh bungkus".. i think Proton need to work harder, proton need to send T,H,N and yg sama waktu dgnnya, send back from where it's belong…. :) …am i too offensive with this? lol….

• stroller on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:32 pm

no… u'r not too offensive Prismo…. it sound quite fair as all the japs, conts or any other country car manufacture in the world would defense their own industrial… even GM also got protectedby U.S gov…

• initial R on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:49 pm

[quote comment="225169"][quote comment="224843"]this savvy base on renault clio. even the engine also. :)[/quote]

The Savvy is not based on the Clio. It is a new platform. The engine however is an award winning small engine (read somewhere) from renault.[/quote]

They do study on Clio Williams S1for they base, so they came out with savvy with totaly new platform for proton compac car. klik link below for more info..
    http://www.289cobra.com/cliowilliams.html
    However savvy used 1.2L renault powerplant to burn the road since JPJ regulation not allowed overpower engine in small car. However this savvy was the safety car ever built by Proton. Reborn from rallies model. Remember, Proton study & developed the new platform, not ceduk, copy paste or even change the badge. That why i said before "base on Renault Clio". :)

• initial R on Mar 29, 2009 at 7:52 pm

[quote comment="225169"][quote comment="224843"]this savvy base on renault clio. even the engine also. :)[/quote]

The Savvy is not based on the Clio. It is a new platform. The engine however is an award winning small engine (read somewhere) from renault.[/quote]

They do study on Clio Williams S1for they base, so they came out with savvy with totaly new platform for proton compac car. klik link below for more info..
    http://www.289cobra.com/cliowilliams.html
    However savvy used 1.2L renault powerplant to burn the road since JPJ regulation not allowed overpower engine in small car. However this savvy was the safety car ever built by Proton. Reborn from rallies model. Remember, Proton study & developed the new platform, not ceduk, copy paste or even change the badge. That why i said before “base on Renault Clio”.

• acerman (Member) on Mar 29, 2009 at 11:38 pm

[quote comment="225044"]On the Proton website, the tentative price are..

Proton Exora HL (A/T) (Tentative)

RM 76,000.00

Proton Exora ML (A/T) (Tentative)

RM 72,000.00[/quote]

Is "Tentative price" means "harga sementara"? Will they change the price in the future?

• Prismo on Mar 30, 2009 at 4:59 am

yes… u r right, stroller…. :) but the annoying thing is, a "malaysians fellas" who work with "T" as salesman and they are too defensive and "sanggup" condem proton. geeezzz….. (ibarat, kera dihutan disusukan, anak dirumah kelaparan)

Hmmm, when manual tranny will be available? i hope at the end of this year.. so i can buy Exora since my Waja 02 loan payment settle on this november.

• Actually Proton did a good job with the Exora, being a true MPV and people carrier while others brought over vans that initially are for carrying cargoes (barang) and not humans (manusia).

• Arise on Mar 30, 2009 at 5:59 pm

The front door design and shape of the Savvy is exactly the same as the Reanult Clio, scong generation back in 1993. Can someone elaborate on this ?

• to Nahar, when proton did their study mpv, proton need to understand the target market, it is the middle income. ISOFIX is alternative for seatbelts when you tied ur child seat. yes, of course it is costly because when u fix isofix to the car, u also need to send the seat and of course the car for verification and testing. this will incur cost and absorb into car price. i think that if the mpv price is higher than 80k, people will turn away from it (malaysian). it can be seen in the sales of h-line, m-line and b-line. the sales of h-line prtn model is only a small margine compare to h-line and m-line/b-line. it seems that price is the most important area that malaysian people will look at the car, not the accessories list. u can count how many h-line neo,savvy,gen2 and persona on the road. but for the persona, the number has been increasing, thats why exora even the m-line will be equip with the air bags.but dont worry, maybe prtn will insert this feature in its future model since protn did listen to its customer, 4 airbags anyone :-). yes,savvy is stronger than neo in according to the type of htss material use but please remember, savvy is a compact car, the front end is shorter than neo, so the impact beam, thats why it need a chasis that a little bit stronger than neo. neo has a longer front end, so the impact beam is longer also the crumple zone. in worst case senario, neo and savvy has nearly identical result in crash worthiness. by the way, neo chasis comply with euroncap 4 stars requirement.

for ur info, not many childseat come with isofix in malaysia, if any, i think not many of average malaysian people will afford to buy it because it is very expensive. u can get almost 5-7 good childseats just for one isofix childseat.. isofix serve a same purpose as seatbelt. u can strap u child seat using seatbelt because nowadays, the seatbelt is come with pre tensioner and load limiter. so,rest assure. the isofix is only the alternative way and it is easier to fit and unfit the child seat to the car seat. it is the same as digital and manual operated aircond, it serve the same purpose, but it just for easier to use and look a liitle bit elegant.

a question will arise why neo come with isofix? neo is a 2 door car, it is hard to strap the seatbelt to the child seat because of its two door, so to make it easier, prtn install isofix to rectify that problem. so it is easier to fit your child seat that come with isofix in neo compare to a normal one that need to use seatbelt.

to tokmoh, waja is a new platform. yes, prtn indeed use mitsu and volvo as their benchmark to develop waja platform. please remember, mitsu never give proton any platform in the old days, so proton have to come up with their own.

to arise, it is as same as waja. savvy is the different platform. the door is only the design, not the platform. yes, prtn did use clio as benchmark and the real answer why proton use renault engine despite campro, the normal answer is the engine bay cannot fit campro engine. that is true but the reason the engine bay is small because to reduce weight and weight distribution of the car to ensure safety and performance. renault engine is compact and light compare to campro engine. this is different with saga where it has longer wheelbase to help the weight distribution across the platform. maybe in the future, savvy replacement model will use new campro engine.

i think thats all, chow………………

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2009 at 7:39 pm

Please show me proof that an equivalent quality ISOFIX child seat costs 5-7 times more than a regular equivalent quality child seat? ISOFIX is simply a point to secure the child seat proper to the chassis, it won't cost that much to put in until it pushes the price over 80K.

From my sources in Proton the decision was mostly because it is not a law in malaysia to have ISOFIX and no one is asking for ISOFIX, which is because the public is not educated on why ISOFIX is important, which I feel is irresponsible!

I have already suggested many solutions on how the seats can be made more affordable via packaging together in hire purchase etc, if Proton can do it for the Thule stuff why not child seats!

Don't talk about R&D costs because the Exora has to come with ISOFIX for many other countries because its a regulation, so the R&D has already been done for the ISOFIX which fixes the seat securely to the car chassis. It's purely to save a couple of hundred ringgit at most and only omitted for Malaysian buyers, it will definitely not push the car's price up by even RM1k!

• Arise on Mar 30, 2009 at 7:44 pm

Thanks 460.

• dont be mad pt, it is up to your opinion. i'm never oppose any of ur opinion. just wonder why u really mad about this isofix things even in other car post, u never give a damn about it. ur opinion about the implementation of isofix is good, i respect that, maybe prtn will cnsider it in proton future model. but not now. em, i think that u know that even for a child seat to fit with isofix capabilities, they must also send it for testing for verification. i think u already know about it. yes, u can get a cheap one with isofix, but is that childseat design has been comply with the rules and been tested? it just the same as original product and a cheap local spare parts product. for example, for oil filter, it looks the same, even every sticker and design is the same,but have it been tested?. u need to buy a good one if u love ur kids but it comes with price.

and same again, i did agree about the implementation, the time will come, so be patient. So, it is up to you. its ur opinion. i just answer one of the readers questions, not arguing with u. so peace k pt. i respect ur opinion.

yes, isofix will be install for other markets such as europe, so that 4 airbags. this has been implemented years ago. even the old waja(mitsu) cames with traction control. of course it will incur cost but it is up to management whether to reduce profit margin to be competitive. about the price, i cannot give u the real price of exora. Since dsz already state that the exora price will be below 80k, it justify if i said if put that exora will price above 80k if include all the accessories including isofix.

So, happy motoring pt. chow……….

• alias on Mar 30, 2009 at 8:52 pm

wow, pt get mad. peace. em, paul, since u said that isofix is cheap and easy to fix to the car, em,so can we d.i.y? if yes, maybe u can suggest which shop that can carry out fitting the isofix in car. tq

• em, pt, why my comments is not being posted? just asking.

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2009 at 8:58 pm

You are ignoring the fact that Proton has already spent the necessary money for the Exora to be ISOFIX-ready but omitted the points for Malaysian spec cars. Export market Exora will have ISOFIX because it is a regulation in certain countries, and it is already ready, according to the engineers.

Your arguement is that R&D may be expensive but the fact is actual material cost to put the points in is cheap. Since the R&D is already done and the money has already been spent why not just put the points for the Malaysian spec cars?

About the seat price thing – why does a customer care about how much a car seat manufacturer spends to get their seats equipped with ISOFIX, when all that matters is how much they have to pay at the end of the day? I am asking you to show me where is it ISOFIX seats cost 5 to 7 times more than an equivalent seatbelt child seat, not to explain to me how much the seat companies need to spend?

It all boils down to Proton treating Malaysians as second grade once again and there is really no way to justify that other than "we didn't ask for it so no need to put in lah".

If everyone keeps making excuses for why Proton's inadequacies and why they do this and that and not the better way, there is no reason for them to improve!

• alias on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:03 pm

hai, em paul, what is the price for isofix baby car seat in malaysia. i try to browse it but cannot find it. any suggestion?

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:08 pm

If Proton omits features and says Malaysians don't use them, but gives them to foreigners, and we all smile and say "okay lah nvm what I not using it anyway", we will forever have Protons that only have airbags on highline model, no 4 airbags, no stability control, no ABS as standard, while the R&D for these safety features continue and end up on export models only.

And that is why I am stressing on these features. In the end it will benefit the consumers. In the end Proton should be making better cars for consumers, not consumers just accepting whatever Proton dishes out in the name of national pride.

• Paul Tan on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:13 pm

[quote comment="225467"]hai, em paul, what is the price for isofix baby car seat in malaysia. i try to browse it but cannot find it. any suggestion?[/quote]

alias, some baby seats can be used both with seatbelts and isofix. basically you add an isofix base to a normal seatbelt seat. the isofix base can cost anywhere between 400 ringgit or even up to 1k. this means if a baby seat is 1.5k, for isofix you probably pay 2k to 2.5k. it is nowhere near 5 to 7 times the amount!

as i have mentioned previously proton can easily package isofix seats or even normal car seats at least into the hire purchase loan just like they are going to do with the Thule roof racks.

• just i mentioned before, prtn did thank u for pointed out the isofix point. i'm sure that will be taken into account in the future. i'm also already mention about the exported will have more equipment list compare to the local wise. it is not double standard as all manufacturer practice this according to different markets and needs include the price. but i never bash any other manufacturer that sell their car in malaysia without ISOFIX. i think u should propose to the government that the ISOFIX to be compulsory in Malaysia.

about the baby car seat, why i mentioned it because exora is target market for the middle income. so, do you think they will buy baby car seat that are pricey? em, do you think a normal baby seat non-isofix is too bad because it using seatbelt despite isofix point?

Maybe ur perception to prtn that they are making an excuse, so it is up to you. i will not further commenting this isofix things since i already explained. it is up to u or the readers want to accept it or not.

chow……………….

• alias on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:29 pm

tq paul. i thought that a normal price for baby seat around rm 200-400 because my sister bought it for rm 339. and she said the price for for recaro babyseat with isofix is around rm1899. i just to buy an isofix baby seat, but since your stated price is around 2k-2.5k, i think, i should consider a normal one only around rm400 since it fit my budget. tq paul. highly apreciated

• Arise on Mar 30, 2009 at 9:30 pm

Are all the seats equipped with 3 point seatbelts ? What about pre-tensioners ? Active head restrains and whiplash lessening seats ? Are all these safety features incorporated into by Proton ? There are features that the driver and passengers will appreciate when accident occur. What about 2 stage air bags ?

• upinipin on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:26 pm

[quote comment="225471"][quote comment="225467"]

as i have mentioned previously proton can easily package isofix seats or even normal car seats at least into the hire purchase loan just like they are going to do with the Thule roof racks.[/quote]

So Paul, indirectly u're saying Proton will include Thule roof racks/box with every Exora purchase? Optional maybe?

• stroller on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:34 pm

i bought the child seat RM4++… kinda branded from branded baby store in KL… the problem is…. there is not ISOFIX bracket attached to it… it still from branded store + branded accessories…

• stroller on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:45 pm

i bought baby seat at RM4++ from a brand store with branded brand… the problem is it has no ISOFIX bracket attached to it… still has to use seat belt to tighten it… so, how much anyway it will cost if the baby seat fix with this ISOFIX thing??? tell me, educate me coz i'm juz the middle income family who not affort enuf to buy the baby seat which is cost more than another 1k++… i'm not offensing anybody here…

• KickingDust on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:49 pm

Dear PT & 460,

I think your messages are very clear with the detailed explanations from both parties.

It still ends up with the consumer in the first place, as they must be prepared to purchase a ISOFIX approved child seat which cost in the range (RM1000 >) at the moment. The normal child seat that cost between RM300-RM400 is not meeting the ISOFIX requirements. The govt must also find away to make the seats more affordable.

As for the suggestion of incorporating the ISOFIX seat with the loan of the vehicle is a noble idea. As i've said before, other Auto Japanese makes in Malaysia has tried it and success rate is very low. But, it must continue on….

I would like to share an experience learnt from a snr. mgmt. German automotive chap as he promoted this child safety device for vehicles when he was assigned in Dubai, and the comment from the Arab gentleman was "if GOD wants to take my child away, HE will still accomplish it" but if my child has a longer life…. he can even linger his head out of the vehicle, and nothing would happen". I was totally shocked! I believe GOD is almighty, as he has created us to think for safety and survival. And not to live on ignorantly when we have the chance to make the difference in the first place.

As I’ve said earlier write-up, when you drive your car down the road in our country, you can still notice most vehicles with kids in the lap of their parent's (front passenger seat that has airbags!!#@**?) & how many parents take the trouble to ensure even the grown up child is safely locked in the Standard Safety Belts in the rear of their vehicles. It’s sad indeed. I will support for the ISOFIX awareness campaign nationwide. But first of all, get the rear passengers to be buckled up.

Cheers

• Arise on Mar 30, 2009 at 10:55 pm

I bought my Graco. It has isofix attach.

• [quote comment="225444"]

the isofix is only the alternative way and it is easier to fit and unfit the child seat to the car seat. it is the same as digital and manual operated aircond, it serve the same purpose, but it just for easier to use and look a liitle bit elegant.[/quote]

should be no arguement since it serve d same purpose..just use seat belt…murah. cuma leceh SIKIT je.

• madimat on Mar 31, 2009 at 7:31 am

ISOFIX or no ISOFIX I'm still going to buy this damn car!

long live TJCC!

• Thinker on Mar 31, 2009 at 3:48 pm

Simple problems only..

Just make the Isofix installation as "aksesori tambahan" when the customer want to book the car..

if the customer dun have baby, the ISOFIX thing just a wastage!!

but if they have baby, they just add it lah..simple la..aiyooo.. no need to be mad about isofix PT.. not all malaysian need isofix.. and if we installed ourself, we can choose the best brand based that we can afford it..

• stroller on Mar 31, 2009 at 6:24 pm

yesterday i went to another branded baby store in kl… i asked them is there any baby seat already fix with the ISOFIX thing… guest wat??? they said it was not available in Malaysia!!! i check 1 famous bucket seat for racing with "R" name… it was tag at RM1,5k++ also not dont have the ISOFIX thing… any clue y?? since this is 1 of the issue here… thank you

• madimat on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:07 pm

Mr Paul,

Just wondering, why of all the flaws ONLY the Isofix thing is being highlighted so very err.. seriously ?

Does it means that Exora is virtually flawless in other areas (of course the 1.6L engine is still doubtful to some of us) and could be the best MPVs in its segment (Avanza/Livina/Rondo) ? Do you personally think that it can also eat into the Wish/Stream/Grandis/Mazda5 territory as a worthy contender?

This kind of thinking made me restless and sleepless to wait for that official launching date to see and feel it for myself,.. i might even bite the dashboard top and just to literally get a taste of it..! he he

.peace!

(TJCC Life-Time Unofficial Member)

• Lan B on Mar 31, 2009 at 11:16 pm

Paul..

err.. u got new baby? i just guest.. because it seems that ISOFIX is the most important for you.. as a father, of course you will think and do the best for your new baby..hehe..

if we cannot get ISOFIX.. get ISO9002 pun ok what Ini Susah Orang..hehe..

Cheers!!

• SwiftMatrix on Apr 01, 2009 at 7:06 am

Paul,

Its good that you stick to your principal pertaining on this Isofix thing…

We respect you on that.. at least we know that you are consistent in your view…

Your explaination is acceptable to me.. Perhaps Proton will take Paul' suggestion seriously….

But personaly I feel that even without ISOFIX, people will still buy this MPV.

Better still if it surprisely come with Isofix…

Paul will be happy man by then… :) Sorry Paul… he he he

• Thinking on Apr 01, 2009 at 6:16 pm

to me ” it’s not a regulation” is quite fair explanation… i think almost all car manufacturer develope their car based on regulation of their target market…. since isofix is not a regulation m’sia… we can see a lot of imported car without isofix… be it T, H, M, R, etc etc…. what is your justification for that… ?

don’t give me the ” Proton should/ can be the leader on this issue etc ” sh*t… why is it forgiveable to other car manufacturer but not Proton? been reading ur blog since long ago… haven’t seen u barking madly on other manufaturer posts when they don’t have isofix…. but when it’s proton somehow it become something like life n death situation…. if it is not exist in exora ppl will die…

btw… isofix is not a really really important thing… it is important, i agree… but there are alternatives… cheaper n yet can provide quite same level of safety …..

• alias on Apr 01, 2009 at 9:10 pm

i think 460 has justify the fact that the isofix baby seat is 5 to 7 times more expensive than the normal one. if we count the normal one price is around rm 300, the isofix one is rm 1500(5×300). it does showed that it is 5 times more than the normal one. i think isofix based that sell that we can change our normal to isofix one is only for certain model model and certain brand. it is not a universal one eventhough it only price around rm 400. because if i not mistaken, recaro babyseat is around rm1600, and to buy a separate isofix base maybe it cost around 400, so we need to spend around rm2000. no offence paul, it just my humble culculation and opinion. i only afford to buy a normal malaysia brand costing around 400 compare than branded normal one that even cost rm 1600. anyway, i love to read your blog because u give much auto info. bye

• Paul Tan on Apr 01, 2009 at 9:59 pm

the rm400 seat is not of same standard. an equivalent standard non-isofix chair is only a few hundred cheaper than an isofix chair. the cheaper seats are of a lower standard. you can look at the prices of a non-isofix chair of a good standard at honda malaysia's website, they sell it there.

when you fix isofix points to a car it gives someone the option to use both isofix and nonisofix car seats. who says u cannot continue using the rm400 seats if you want to? just like the exora wont stop you from not using baby seats at all. or even using your seatbelt as an adult.

so equipping isofix points to a car will not prevent people from using non-isofix baby seat if they cannot afford isofix baby seats.

but why deny people the choice to use isofix seats just because they think we dont know how to use and its not a regulation? when i asked proton about it, first thing they said was "it is not a regulation".

i am bringing this up here so that proton takes notice and in the end all MALAYSIAN CONSUMERS benefit. unlike the international consumers which will have isofix in their exora as standard.

when you keep trying to make excuses for proton, what good does it do for us, malaysian consumers, the rakyat of malaysia?

• Arise on Apr 02, 2009 at 12:55 am

is it good to see ppl are supporting Proton. Anything wrong with that ? But, not to the stage where positive comments on shortcoming of the product are not welcome anymore or not taking heed or not receptive anymore. Err, arrogance creeps in at this early ? Please be honest on the falws and shortcoming.. When you built MPV, the utmost importance of the passengers are both active and passive safety features. Wonder what's the rationale of the lap belt for middle passenger.

460 has not decided to answer my questions posted a few days ago.

• to arise, i'm not avoiding your questions but quite busy right now, do not have time even to switch on my lap top. for ur first question, i answer it by question, are u sure that the middle seats using lap belts, not three points belt? try to zoom to the picture, u will find the answer.

do you mean active headrest? for the moment, no,may be in the future if the market change but for ur info, even when proton make a car seat, all the things has been taken into account such as comfort, safety, crash condition, how the seat react to different situation and weight, they test everything using software and data from hnt people and also do the live test using dummy. it is not as simple as buy a ready made seat. protn use multi hardness technology when inventing the seat. thats why even oem seat are quite expensive because it is customise and unique to the specific car only.

all seatbelts have pretensioner and for front row include load limiter. the airbags are the standard one but because the seatbelt incorporated with pretensioner and load limiter, it help to cushion the effect of airbags deployment.

it is hard to please malaysian people. normally they want a highline equipment but comes with baseline price.

like i said before, prtn do listen to their customers. chow…………

• Thinking on Apr 02, 2009 at 5:18 pm

about the seat belt…. both front seat (driver n passenger) use 3 point ones, 2nd row two seat at both side left and right use 3 point ones whilst the middle use lap seat belt. 3rd row both seats use 3 point seat belt. if i'm not mistaken…

and i believe all MPV is using this kind of configuration since it is impossible u make 3 point seat belt for the middle seat for 2nd row or 3rd row unless they somehow introduce a pillar at the center to accomodate the anchor point for the seat belt…and that would be like a house "tiang seri" maybe… =p

• Arise on Apr 02, 2009 at 5:51 pm

[quote comment="226336"]about the seat belt…. both front seat (driver n passenger) use 3 point ones, 2nd row two seat at both side left and right use 3 point ones whilst the middle use lap seat belt. 3rd row both seats use 3 point seat belt. if i'm not mistaken…

and i believe all MPV is using this kind of configuration since it is impossible u make 3 point seat belt for the middle seat for 2nd row or 3rd row unless they somehow introduce a pillar at the center to accomodate the anchor point for the seat belt…and that would be like a house "tiang seri" maybe… =p[/quote]

It is possible to have the center seat to be equipped with 3 point seat belt confifuration. I previous mpv had that. Some of the MPVs in town also have this set up.

• Arise on Apr 02, 2009 at 6:05 pm

[quote comment="226320"]to arise, i'm not avoiding your questions but quite busy right now, do not have time even to switch on my lap top. for ur first question, i answer it by question, are u sure that the middle seats using lap belts, not three points belt? try to zoom to the picture, u will find the answer.

do you mean active headrest? for the moment, no,may be in the future if the market change but for ur info, even when proton make a car seat, all the things has been taken into account such as comfort, safety, crash condition, how the seat react to different situation and weight, they test everything using software and data from hnt people and also do the live test using dummy. it is not as simple as buy a ready made seat. protn use multi hardness technology when inventing the seat. thats why even oem seat are quite expensive because it is customise and unique to the specific car only.

all seatbelts have pretensioner and for front row include load limiter. the airbags are the standard one but because the seatbelt incorporated with pretensioner and load limiter, it help to cushion the effect of airbags deployment.

it is hard to please malaysian people. normally they want a highline equipment but comes with baseline price.

like i said before, prtn do listen to their customers. chow…………[/quote]

Hi 460,

Thanks for your reply. Hope I didn't offend you in any way. Just that I would like to gain as much information and understanding about the development of Exora from you since you are from Proton itself to start with. I appreciate your responses to my questions. Thanks once again. Really would like to meet you in person one day. I had three Proton in my life thus far, started with Saga 1.3S, Wira 1.6XLi, and Gen.2 1.6M which was a disaster. Hopefully, with this Exora, my perception towards Proton will change forever. Do you mean all the 7 seven seat belts are equipped with pre-tensioners and load limiters ? Or, just that for the front seats only ? It will be the first in market if all the seats are equipped the same. Technical term it is called head restrain not head rest as most of us called it. No pun intended. Hope to hear more from you, bro. Cheers.

• tigris_malayensis (Member) on Apr 02, 2009 at 9:59 pm

[quote comment="223897"]

For those who think that proton engineers never test the cars and Malaysian people are the guinea pig for proton, u r wrong. All the engineers and technician are work hard especially the HNT unit (for this area) except that the vendors had tarnish all of their hard works. Chow…………….[/quote]

yes we knew for gen 2 the distance covered is 25X round the world and yet a auto that downshift for no reason were on the market,now we knows we should blame mitsu instead.

as for the waja platform we have some other source said it was a direct clone one though.they claimed to quote from prtn insider,hope you can clarifiy this long standing disputation.

• veetek on Apr 04, 2009 at 10:52 am

[quote comment="226190"]

don't give me the " Proton should/ can be the leader on this issue etc " sh*t… why is it forgiveable to other car manufacturer but not Proton? been reading ur blog since long ago…

btw… isofix is not a really really important thing… it is important, i agree… but there are alternatives… cheaper n yet can provide quite same level of safety …..[/quote]

So you honestly think that its fine for Proton to deny its own people safety features that will be STANDARD on export models? The difference between Proton and the other manufacturers you talk about is that Proton is MALAYSIAN and exists only because of the money and support of the Malaysian people. If Proton refuses to take the lead in protecting their so-called "own people", who else will? Do Japanese/Euro/American carmakers remove safety features for their home market while including it in export versions? Nope, but Proton has always done it this way, to their eternal shame. It really says it all about your attitude that you think people actually expecting Proton to lead the way in its home market is "sh*t"

Look, it's clear that you're ignorant about what ISOFIX is by saying there's some magical alternatives that provide the same level of safety. You're wrong again because seat belts alone simply don't, especially if they're improperly fitted, a common problem which ISOFIX prevents. If you don't mind paying nearly 80k for your family to be treated as second class, that's your choice but kudos to PT for standing up for this matter, nice to see some more fire in his opinions lately and hope it continues.

• Thinking on Apr 06, 2009 at 7:26 pm

am not saying that proton shouldn't take into consideration about this isofix thingy nor that i'm saying that proton shouldn't take lead for this matter…. what i'm saying is… why is it forgiveable for other manufacturer but not for proton… no one ever barking mad when other car manufacturer did not put isofix on their mpv or family car…. BTW if PT doesn't even mention about this isofix no one including u, i believe, will not even commenting about it… right?

about why i'm saying the excuse given by proton engineer is fair is because he/she is right…. isofix is NOT a regulation in malaysia that is why it is not included… i believe that will also be the reason why other car manufacturer is not putting it into their car…. simply because it is not a regulation…

• sulong on Apr 07, 2009 at 12:07 am

good point about avanza 1.5

bad point about avanza 1.5

???

please help me

• CRUDE on Apr 09, 2009 at 1:05 am

good point about avanza 1.5

bad point about avanza 1.5

1. third world product

• good?

-7 adult ok

-ground clearence ok

-turning circle is small

-fuel not too bad

-engine ok but harsh sound

-alarm ok

bad?

-seat less comfort ,infront like leaning to a ball, rear flat and upright

-drivers foot well's narrow

-high geared steering, need lots of turn

-long travel stiff spring makes bouncy

-scarry at speed

-gear change not smooth.

-uneasy for a small kid to get in

-creamy interior makes marks clearly seen

-no flat fold for 2nd and 3rd seat.

-dash is tasteless.

• rotan on Apr 14, 2009 at 7:02 pm

Hi 460,

Nice and well written summary. You seem very familiar with the internal workings of proton, especially in the passive safety aspects. Do you work for Proton?

You mentioned a combination of double HTSS trapezoidal bars and side impact catchers for side impact protection – is this also used in the exora? I'm pleasantly surprised that proton are still using these concepts – I was the engineer and designer of these structures. Good memories. :)

• KLMAN on Apr 15, 2009 at 2:22 am

It is few more hours to go before the planned official launching of the Exora. Hope there is no last minute change! Expectation is high for the official launch. Dont dissapoint us, proton!

• moutain on Apr 15, 2009 at 7:22 am

Just now go to Proton Edar show room Batu Pahat, Johor.

Very lucky I saw the Exora, but stopped by the salesman inside, but can view outside showroom.

Exora is huge, i saw 2 salesman step in 3rd row very easy and have enough head space.

When someone go inside the car, the car no "Goyang Goyang" i think the suspension is good, not like my last Unser very "Goyang Goyang".

But very sad that my handphone just broken down by last week so cannot take photo from there.

Surely no need to test drive, just prepare your cheque book tomorrow night.

My first car Proton Wira, before launching i have book already, "blind marriage"? ( after 4 year i sold it and have a book value gain RM5,000)

But in Paultan here, no more "blind marriage" again, right? we can even have test drive report before a new car launch.

ps: sorry for my broken english.

• zaidi m.nasir on Apr 24, 2009 at 9:46 pm

still not impress me.

price considered expensive for local car pricing.

the price suppose around rm40k to rm45k.

the engine cc also small for that size, fuel consumption will be high. 1.8 ~ 2.0cc is recommended for mpv.

if you wana test drive, pls get it fully loaded with passengers and stuffs.

feel it & think it your self.

• blueboy79 on Apr 30, 2009 at 9:27 am

hope after drive 3years …dont hear ring ring at all the body..aha aha aha aha…all proton r like that..after 3year to 5year..the car body so bising..macam tu kereta mau terbelah dua saja…aha aha aha aha …..!!!!if buy exora how about people thing buy rav 4…same price too and1.8cc…so nice so cute…thing it….!!!!aha aha aha aha aha aha

• Reasonably Insane on May 06, 2009 at 3:55 pm

[quote comment="234898"]hope after drive 3years …dont hear ring ring at all the body..aha aha aha aha…all proton r like that..after 3year to 5year..the car body so bising..macam tu kereta mau terbelah dua saja…aha aha aha aha …..!!!!if buy exora how about people thing buy rav 4…same price too and1.8cc…so nice so cute…thing it….!!!!aha aha aha aha aha aha[/quote]

1: it's "think" not "thing"

2: any car if u lanyak like hell of coz la after 3-5 years bunyi mcm2… wonder why happen a lot to p1 car? bcoz when u buy p1.. it's dirt cheap… so u dun care n lanyak like hell… but when u buy H or T… it's expensive so u drive carefully, if possible a bump on the road oso dunt want to hit… of coz la p1 car deteriorate faster if like that….

• Deal All,

I would like to know if any 1 know about the abs & ebd system in Exora. My question is… the abs & ebd is only for front Disc brakes or for all 4. I would sincerely appreciate answer for the above question from anyone… also it would b great if u can explain ur ans.

Need Help!!

• Min Pg on Jun 07, 2009 at 8:12 pm

I'm from Penang. Just took delivery of my Exora on Thurs. M-Line Gaia Blue.

What I like:

– Spacious and comfortable

– Good handling

– Very good suspension – no problem going over bumps

Problems I noticed:

– Took the car on first day up the Paya Terubong hill road. I put on 3rd Gear. When going up hill (with 4 adults and 4 children), car felt underpower. Stepped very hard on the pedal. The RPM shot up to 6000 plus. Then we smelt a burning smell like rubber burning. We all got so worried in the car. The smell went away as soon as the RPM went below 4000. When we came home I read in the owner's manual the smell could come from the Catalytic Converter, because of excessive engine operation. Took the car back to SC the next day. The technician took the car out for a drive. Came back and recommended I should use Drive. Cannot put to 3rd Gear once the engine has picked up. I tried this on the same hill road. When in Drive, the RPM would only go up to 5000 for a short while. There was still the burning odour once RPM hit 5000. I want to know if this is normal.

– Creaking sound from the passenger side of the dashboard at low speed.

– engine very hot and noisy (when RPM goes above 4000)

Will be driving the Exora with my family to Kuala Terengganu this coming Monday. So I hope there is nothing seriously wrong with the engine and catalytic ocnverter.

• habah on Jun 09, 2009 at 10:28 pm

Semalam 8 Jun, 6.30 pm saya ada nampak kat haigway SP- Pendang ada Exora buka bonet depan, kenapa rosakka? atau saja rehat kot. However better be carefull with that problem. Sebab bila pi servise dia orang akan kata "BIASALA PROTON"

• Min Pg on Jun 14, 2009 at 8:37 pm

Came back from KT. No problem with the car. The overheating smell is not there anymore, even when the RPM went up to 5000. But I did not step so hard on the accelerator as the car was still below 1000KM.

Overall, quite happy with the car, except going up hill. It was a bit slow. Other cars (including old Saga) were overtaking me.

IAfter coming back, went for first 1000KM service. Was told that I would have to bring back the car another day and leave it there whole day if I wanted tohave the creaking noise from the dashboard fixed.

• KickingDust on Jun 16, 2009 at 4:22 am

SLK said,

May 6, 2009 @ 10:51 am · Quote

Deal All,

I would like to know if any 1 know about the abs & ebd system in Exora. My question is… the abs & ebd is only for front Disc brakes or for all 4.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The Proton Exora Anti-locking Brake System (ABS) uses for 4 independent sensors at all 4 vehicle wheels. It will prevent the front wheel with the 15" Disc and the rear drums 9" from locking up and allow steering wheel control while emergency breaking.

The Electronic Brake-Force Distribution work in hand with the ABS and balancing the brake force applied between the front & rear wheels. example, with full load 7 occupants or ven when single occupants. This will also prevent the vehicle from oversteering while applying the brakes hard with full load.

The Exora is also equipped with a Body Control Module (BCM) that will automatically activate its Hazard lights while sudden braking at the speed exceeding 96kmph. This Active Safety feature will warn other motorist tailing the Exora and to prevent rear end collision.

Cheers