Thai-assembled Toyota Camry Hybrid unveiled!

Toyota have previewed the Toyota Camry Hybrid that will be assembled in Thailand. The Thai-assembled Camry Hybrid will be the first Camry Hybrid to be based on the Aurion-based Camry body. Currently the Camry Hybrid sold in countries such as the US are based on the JDM Camry, which to me looks more funky and sporty, somewhat like an overgrown Altis.

As the Camry sold in Thailand and the rest of the ASEAN region are based on the Australian Toyota Aurion, it only makes sense that Toyota bases the Thai Camry Hybrid on the Aurion body. The Thai assembled Toyota Camry Hybrid features its own front grille and rear tail lamp design as well as a front bumper that looks similiar to the one found on the facelifted Toyota Camry, but with some differences in the fog lamp area.

The Australian-assembled Camry Hybrid will likely continue to be based on the JDM Camry body, as indicated by the Toyota HC-CV Hybrid Camry Concept displayed at the 2009 Melbourne Auto Show.

Toyota Motor Thailand president Mitsuhiro Sonoda says the Camry Hybrid will be priced quite closely to exiting petrol-powered Camry models in Thailand, predicting a premium of not more than 100,000 Thai baht. This is because the Camry Hybrid is subject to an excise duty of only 10% instead of 35% in Thailand.

Since a top of the line Camry 2.4 can go for over 1.7 million Thai baht (it starts from about 1.5 million for the cheaper 2.4G), the Camry Hybrid would likely be priced at about 1.8 million Thai baht. I don’t think he was referring to the 3.5Q which retails for nearly 3 million Thai Baht.

The warranty for the Toyota Camry Hybrid will also be extended to 5 years or 150,000km, which is longer than the regular 3 year warranty that you get with Toyota cars there. This is to help ease public acceptance of the relatively new technology which many fear will be expensive to maintain once the warranty period ends. Toyota has also partnered with insurance firms there to offer the same premiums as the regular models despite the Camry hybrid having more expensive parts.

I am not sure whether the Thai Camry Hybrid will share the same hybrid powertrain as the US market Camry with different styling, but under the US car’s hood is the 2.4 litre Atkinson cycle 2AZ-FXE engine producing 147 horsepower at 6,000rpm and 187Nm of torque at 4,400rpm, paired to a 30kW (40 horses) electric motor with 270Nm of torque. These two are combined and send power to the front wheels via an E-CVT transmission. The Thai Camry Hybrid should use something similiar.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• parthiban on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:24 am

Nice car .. ugly rear lights

Wonder when it is going to be launched here & at what price..

• prodas_afiq on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:26 am

cunn

• kington on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:28 am

Good effort to promote hybrid cars in Thailand. Sadly, it's very unlikely that this will make it here. The Prius seems more likely to.

• And Malaysia will wait until the polar ice is completely melted. Come on people, demand change. Malaysian motorists are stuck in the mindset the Americans were in during the 70's. Time to do something to make our lives better. Have you looked out the window lately. Can't see F#&% all. Still no explanation in the news. ?????

• Ariff on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:30 am

cooler than normal aurion!!will it be coming here,Paul??lolz,the backlight seems like a toyota hybrid's trademark..look at alphard hybrid and harrier hybrid.

• zx4948 on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:31 am

i would prefer Honda Insight or Toyota Prious, rich pp where needs hyrid to save petrol ….

• Nutty on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:31 am

Will it comes to Malaysia?

• zx4948 on Jun 02, 2009 at 2:32 am

I WANT MY INSIGHT >>>>>>>>>

• We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…

• cyrus on Jun 02, 2009 at 3:10 am

like the front but hate the back light…

• mitlanevo on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:30 am

looks slightly better than the "normal" Camry here…

backlights and front bumper are the only nice things to see…..

• 20v_ke35 on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:46 am

what with the honda city grille??? My prince charming now become the hideous ..

:(

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:15 am

is the girl real one or the fake one?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:42 am

[quote comment="242685"]And Malaysia will wait until the polar ice is completely melted. Come on people, demand change. Malaysian motorists are stuck in the mindset the Americans were in during the 70's. Time to do something to make our lives better. Have you looked out the window lately. Can't see F#&% all. Still no explanation in the news. ?????[/quote]

whether hybrids will sell or not depends on the consumer.. its not about people demanding change..well, sort of. if its proven that people in malaysia want hybrids, or alternative powered vehicles, car companies will definitely sell them here.. but its all about whether people want to buy them.. toyota is expected to launch the prius soon.. so far, the civic hybrid, although priced the same currently with the 2.0 civic, isn't selling at all..

any opinions why you think people prefer to buy the 2.0 civic over the hybrid? or better still, what would you do if you were a car company? bring in a whole lot of hybrids, and hopefullly be able to educate the public about why they're good for them, and then sell all your cars so you dont lose a whole load of money ? thats the tougher question.

• Gajen on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:06 am

wow..nice..looks awesome…thailand always get better stuff than here…=(

• myviRS on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:12 am

[quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

Totally agree with you bro!

• arcryliss on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:28 am

looks cheap!

• Littlefire on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:55 am

[quote comment="242748"][quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

Totally agree with you bro![/quote]

Double Up for you!

• Tiadaid on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:04 am

[quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

Yeah, change the government and every single problem will disappear…or NOT! Changing governments won't do jack!

• [quote comment="242748"][quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

—————————————

really? How?

no more AP? no more tax? then how new G will suffer? new G will inrease income tax maybe..so same thing happen will current G.. so, what is ur point to change G?

• KitKat on Jun 02, 2009 at 7:26 am

[quote comment="242758"][quote comment="242748"][quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

—————————————

really? How?

no more AP? no more tax? then how new G will suffer? new G will inrease income tax maybe..so same thing happen will current G.. so, what is ur point to change G?[/quote]

Then V for Vendetta got a new mission, YEAH!

• afezi on Jun 02, 2009 at 9:08 am

Nice front grille! rear lamps doesnt suit d front..some pp talking camry facelift in july..but now camry already hybrid launch in Thailand..since our ckd camry from thailand..is it possible in July? just wonder what d price for this new camry..

• [quote comment="242756"][quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

Yeah, change the government and every single problem will disappear…or NOT! Changing governments won't do jack![/quote]

He is saying IMPROVEMENT…OK? why so sensitive?

• turboKEV on Jun 02, 2009 at 1:10 pm

I feel it looks more 'ah beng' … doesn't have the Classy feel that Camry should have…

• Luqman on Jun 02, 2009 at 3:08 pm

[quote comment="242778"]Malaysia could use more cars like this. With the Prius, Civic Hybrid, Insight, Civic CNG, and this Camry Hybrid… these 5 cars have an avg of 4.7 tons of CO2 emission per 15k miles of driving. Most other land vehicles emit almost 3 times of that!

The polar bears in the North Pole would be very grateful to Toyota and Honda for their pursue of green energy cars.[/quote]

If you drive a hybrid on the North-South Highway, it will need *MORE* petrol and emit *MORE* CO2 than a average car. Reason: It have to carry the additional weight of the batteries.

It only makes sense in Bangkok traffic jam, but not for actual driving.

• lazyf on Jun 02, 2009 at 4:03 pm

the front grille is similar like All New Honda Accord Modulo version…

• tikus on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:27 pm

It sure will coz a bom in boleh land "Toyoto mah".

• sick and tired on Jun 02, 2009 at 5:44 pm

Hybrid cars not for actual driving?

Malaysian's drive mostly on highway?

Hybrid cars emit more CO2 then petrol based cars?

Are you high?

[quote comment="242809"][quote comment="242778"]Malaysia could use more cars like this. With the Prius, Civic Hybrid, Insight, Civic CNG, and this Camry Hybrid… these 5 cars have an avg of 4.7 tons of CO2 emission per 15k miles of driving. Most other land vehicles emit almost 3 times of that!

The polar bears in the North Pole would be very grateful to Toyota and Honda for their pursue of green energy cars.[/quote]

If you drive a hybrid on the North-South Highway, it will need *MORE* petrol and emit *MORE* CO2 than a average car. Reason: It have to carry the additional weight of the batteries.

It only makes sense in Bangkok traffic jam, but not for actual driving.[/quote]

• barca on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:37 pm

better chuck the camry and take the two ladies for a night out. ;)

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 02, 2009 at 6:38 pm

Hybrids are never meant to be a long term solution. However, competing tecnologies are still some ways further. The future will be polarized into full electrics and Hydrogen fuel cell powered cars.

Malaysian's can ill afford to be environmentally friendly when it comes to cars. The reason cost. Other reason, no education and self awareness.

• [quote comment="242731"]is the girl real one or the fake one?[/quote]

hmm… hard to say. sometimes the fake one can be more beautiful than the real one. scary~

• BRAZBUZ on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:17 pm

hmm when will UMW sell it at m'sia

hope the prices will be reasonable…

anyway the rear lights is really ugly

the normal Camry are much better

• BanyakMasukWorkshop (Member) on Jun 02, 2009 at 10:39 pm

i am thinking hypothetically, if the govt ever changes, and cars become dirt cheap (wishful thinking), everyone who is talking about hybrid cars now will be the first one in line for some high powered turbo, or N/A sports type car.

• mystvearn on Jun 03, 2009 at 2:44 am

Gov will reduce tax, but will never make proton suffer.

Biar rakyat suffer as long as proton lives

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 03, 2009 at 7:15 am

[quote comment="242917"]Gov will reduce tax, but will never make proton suffer.

Biar rakyat suffer as long as proton lives[/quote]

you do realized that Proton provided more than 10,000 (that's TEN THOUSAND) people JOBS, do you?

• nafiiio on Jun 03, 2009 at 8:44 am

[quote comment="242943"][quote comment="242917"]Gov will reduce tax, but will never make proton suffer.

Biar rakyat suffer as long as proton lives[/quote]

you do realized that Proton provided more than 10,000 (that's TEN THOUSAND) people JOBS, do you?[/quote]

yeah agree .. not only those who work in proton .. but what about the other manufacturers that supply to proton .. that's more than 10000 dude .. always mention for rakyat but never think those who hardly to get a bowl of rice .. politic shit again ..

• [quote comment="242862"][quote comment="242731"]is the girl real one or the fake one?[/quote]

hmm… hard to say. sometimes the fake one can be more beautiful than the real one. scary~[/quote]

fake or real doesn't matter….as long as they look more beautiful than this fugly camry.

• [quote comment="242682"]cunn[/quote]

u mean the girls rite? ehhehe

• Luqman on Jun 03, 2009 at 3:38 pm

[quote comment="242834"]Hybrid cars not for actual driving?

Malaysian's drive mostly on highway?

Hybrid cars emit more CO2 then petrol based cars?

Are you high?

[quote comment="242809"][quote comment="242778"]Malaysia could use more cars like this. With the Prius, Civic Hybrid, Insight, Civic CNG, and this Camry Hybrid… these 5 cars have an avg of 4.7 tons of CO2 emission per 15k miles of driving. Most other land vehicles emit almost 3 times of that!

It only makes sense in Bangkok traffic jam, but not for actual driving.[/quote][/quote]

'Cars promoted as eco-friendly were criticised yesterday for pumping out up to 56 per cent more carbon dioxide than the manufacturers claim.

Three models, including the Honda Civic hybrid, performed so badly in tests that their environmental claims were dismissed as a gimmick.'

Source: http://www.timesonline.co.uk/tol/news/environment…

Where is your source ? Maybe the Camry sales docs ?

• afroiq on Jun 03, 2009 at 6:58 pm

lol..the 1st pic..look like new subaru impreza grille..

• Nieto on Jun 03, 2009 at 8:24 pm

dont just simply say when malaysia got this hybrid technology, technician to repair hybrid technology also few only. if problem, cari siapa??

• To Jealous guy on Jun 03, 2009 at 8:53 pm

change the government, you will get better cars coming to malaysia.

NO worry about the price, We use the most powerful VOte to vote against tax structure.

• To Jealous guy on Jun 03, 2009 at 8:54 pm

NO worry about the price, We use the most powerful VOte to vote against tax structure.

• harry77 on Jun 03, 2009 at 9:29 pm

the body shape not much different with current camry. just change to Hybrid system and modify some lightning only. for me, w'll choose Prius Hybrid.

• mitlanevo on Jun 04, 2009 at 1:43 am

[quote comment="242758"][quote comment="242748"][quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

—————————————

really? How?

no more AP? no more tax? then how new G will suffer? new G will inrease income tax maybe..so same thing happen will current G.. so, what is ur point to change G?[/quote]

maybe should change mentality, not G….

• ignas on Jun 04, 2009 at 2:00 am

backlights are so ah bengish…

• Well I would get a hybrid now.. anyway how, soon we all have to use alternative energy so why not get it running now?

• hate the front grill facelift design.. huhu

• shoryuken on Jun 07, 2009 at 2:27 am

The automotive industry can only improved with competitive edge. With Japan/Euro and US shifted to environmental friendly or strict carbon obmission control in the cars, you think Proton can sell to their market as claimed? I was in Japan 2 months ago, and many Hybrid Pruis on the road than others, and with introduction of Hybrid Camry, Estima and others in the Toyotas showroom I seen, I wont surprise in 5 years time it is all hybrid in Japan. In Euro i went lately, it's all diesel. And Diesel Hybrid will be the future. And Obama gave new CO controlled in cars lately, low tech car can say sayonara…

For those who think current Proton can sell any unit in UK, a new Toyota Celica cost 14,000 pounds, you think they care about Proton will such low safty features? check out the famous autotrader dot co dot uk yourself.

• Tiadaid on Jun 07, 2009 at 4:21 am

[quote comment="242799"][quote comment="242756"][quote comment="242693"]We have to change the government for the improvement in our automotive sector…[/quote]

Yeah, change the government and every single problem will disappear…or NOT! Changing governments won't do jack![/quote]

He is saying IMPROVEMENT…OK? why so sensitive?[/quote]

I doubt there'll be any improvement. It's an illusion to think that by changing governments there will be any change.

• Anyway with the bad times, recently in our local newspaper, the total output of vehicles in Malaysia is the highest among ASEAN nations.

• Looking at the Toyota website in UK, they don't seem to sell Celicas? Grey importers probably are selling them and probably without accessories.

• alldisc on Jun 08, 2009 at 5:53 am

the current camrys are all from Toyota Motor Thailand (TMT). we could expect something as they will share the same assembly line.

i am thinking that it is possible that the Hybrid will be a part of the facelift models coming soon.

UMWT need this Hybrid to steals the sales from Honda with their very good and big Accord.

• Proton who? on Jun 12, 2009 at 1:43 am

hybrids are better cars than pure gas or pure electricity. because electricity does create pollution as well (from generation)..

i am working in toyota thailand as the Test Engineer. Toyota materials are at least 3 grades higher than protons materials. (upholstery and fabric). It is on par with Honda cars except honda cars uses 1 grade lower upholstery for their City. You can argue otherwise (if you want)

Engine-wise

I agree that Honda have is one step ahead in the sense power but in reliability Hondas and Toyotas are on Par. Measuring tools which are used to quantify variance in parts and etc. are the same.

Protons? their engine is just a duplicate version of Mitsubishi but tuned for higher performance. Hence they're guzzlers..

Body:

both Toyota and Honda uses the same materials (in grade as well) for their cars. But proton would use 1 grade lower. though i expected them use 2 or more grades below as their costs can be high.

Overall, i think proton should buck up their standards and learn (not copy) from these japanese folks. I love Malaysia, but their cars? Maybe next time

• hybrids are better cars than pure gas or pure electricity. because electricity does create pollution as well (from generation)..

i am working in toyota thailand as the Test Engineer. Toyota materials are at least 3 grades higher than protons materials. (upholstery and fabric). It is on par with Honda cars except honda cars uses 1 grade lower upholstery for their City. You can argue otherwise (if you want)

Engine-wise

I agree that Honda have is one step ahead in the sense power but in reliability Hondas and Toyotas are on Par. Measuring tools which are used to quantify variance in parts and etc. are the same.

Protons? their engine is just a duplicate version of Mitsubishi but tuned for higher performance. Hence they’re guzzlers..

Body:

both Toyota and Honda uses the same materials (in grade as well) for their cars. But proton would use 1 grade lower. though i expected them use 2 or more grades below as their costs can be high.

Overall, i think proton should buck up their standards and learn (not copy) from these japanese folks. I love Malaysia, but their cars? Maybe next time

————————————————-

do u have any proof?give me some testing report..jgn ckp saja..

• when it sell in malaysia??

• Hisham on Apr 02, 2010 at 7:40 pm

AS usual Malaysia will get this camry in the next 2 or 3 years la…When the model change only then it will arrive.