Proton readying Exora B-Line Manual for launch?

Proton Exora B-Line

Proton will be attempting to stave off Perodua’s attack with a smaller but cheaper Perodua D46T MPV combined with a more desirable Toyota-associated brand because of the original model (it will be derived from the Toyota Passo Sette) this coming November.

The D46T is no secret, we’ve already seen the exterior and interior of what the Perodua version will look like, and the Toyota Passo Sette has already been around for quite sometime for all to see. In fact, one of the Passo Sette we’ve seen on Malaysian roads on road tests may in fact be likely to be owned by Proton.

The weapon of choice will be a cheaper version of the Exora. Right now the Exora is only available in M-Line and H-Line variants, with the only differences between them being creature comforts and minor styling differences.

A cheaper Exora will be further downgraded in terms of equipment, and will likely feature a manual gearbox, which actually could be more of a blessing for the Exora, as the auto while capable of taking the vehicle up to cruising speed and keeping it there, is rather sluggy to move around at city speeds.

Reader Kenneth spotted this Exora on the Penang bridge. It has light disguises on but we all know it’s an Exora. The LED tail lamps are still there but if this is a version of the production B-Line or manual model, we can see some evidence of downspeccing in the form of steel wheels with a cover instead of proper alloy wheels.

Look after the jump for the rest of the spy photos and a video.

Proton Exora B-Line

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• beedeen on Jun 22, 2009 at 11:02 am

Alamak. Au tak jadi beli perodua mpv la. alau harga lebih kurang sama baik beli proton . Labih space ma. Bila boleh order yang versi ini.

• hm , i think proton really buy an passo sette to test it .

because if perodua used it , why would it have private glass ??

1 important thing , if a car manufacture want to test their new car on the road , they would heavily tap it instead of tap slightly.

bact to the topic , this exora is almost undisguised ! it even have an exora emblem at the back …. but could proton be kind a bit ah ,take away those black colour bumper . it looks awful on car . i prefer the one used in older proton wira or kancil . Finally , if the car going to strip down on spec , what thing could it possible strip ? i saw some photo on net showing the intrument panel for b line exora , it does feature the auto light up and it looks a bit dated ( same design , but the red colour outer ring was gone and make it kinda simple and dated ). airbags and abs is another option to make the car cheaper i believe . in my personal view , proton would take away abs rather then airbags . they done the same thing in saga . give airbags instead of abs .

• below100k on Jun 22, 2009 at 11:12 am

1st.

Good job. If sell at 65k (obviously feasible), sure Perodua Mpv will die.

Lets the battle begin.

• aliBaPa on Jun 22, 2009 at 12:24 pm

so this is exora?

my first image is soso leh

hope feedback from owners

• KitKat on Jun 22, 2009 at 12:26 pm

Seems that the competition is getting hotter and hotter, just hope the launching of the diesel variant in the future which is gonna kill off the competitors instantly…

• summerglory on Jun 22, 2009 at 12:32 pm

great.now where can i buy a good exhaust system?…hehe

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 22, 2009 at 1:10 pm

the front design is nice but I hear people said the PROTON MPV EXORA is underpower because of its engine is 1.6 litre, usually MPV with this capacity of engine should be turbocharged at least.. MPV 2.0 engine and above is the best.

hope next time we can see a video of PROTON EXORA climbing the hill.. waiting it to feature in Top Gear.. what Jeremy Clarksson want to comment? must be very harsh one.

GOOD LUCK PROTON on MPV development, hope next time Malaysia can build own tank, own hummer, own jet fighter, own helicopter, own lorry, own bus, own van, own aircraft carrier.. really wish a very good fortune for MALAYSIA ENGINEERING and AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRY ^^

• this P2 MPV will cannibalize avanza??

I'm waiting for P2 rebadging any toyota sedan (dugong-VIOS maybe) to cannibalize VIOS and other P1 sedan also :-D

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 22, 2009 at 1:29 pm

a big question is can PROTON MPV EXORA (with full load, whole family which is a very big size) climbing the hill to GENTING HIGHLAND?

everybody want to enjoy in GENTING HIGHLAND, nobody want to left behind.. can 1.6 CAMPRO CPS engine (fit in PROTON EXORA) handle the load to climb the hill smoothly? and when it going down after enjoy in GENTING HIGHLAND can this PROTON MPV EXORA handle the load without damaging the gearbox and other components related to engine braking system?

I suggest PROTON MPV EXORA compete in Dakkar Rally, test this MPV EXORA to solve the this mathematics engineering problem with the best racing motorsports, Volkswagen (VW), Mercedes, BMW test their cars MPV look alike at that Dakkar Rally.

• mystvearn on Jun 22, 2009 at 2:34 pm

Perodua will not win this tine around like they did on the myvi. Everyone wants size. Bigger=better.

Myvi bigger than savvy.

Exora bigger than some passo. Bring the price down and you will see this the vehicles of choice for the pasar malam hawkers.

• Encikkaripintar on Jun 22, 2009 at 2:35 pm

dakar rally u say? do you even know that dakar rally cars are just spaceframe chassis with carbon-fibre/fibreglass/aluminum body wrapped around it? it is not even the real thing…

such comment are showing the knowledge level of the writer. please, be careful of what you are trying to write. do some research please.

• Proton is definitely growing, in terms of 'maturity'…now they're trying to do wat those japanese car makers have done in the past to boost the sales..by taking away costly equipment 2 bring the price down,offering more flexible choice for the consumer..well done!..

Go Proton!!!…Do watever u can to fight back n the best of all, win the race n b Malaysia No. 1 again…

• I already saw the b-line model last month and what l say: it look better with other color than white. Imagine b-line persona. If you have big family to ferry around then go for b-line. Otherwise p2 mpv seems better choice if you have merely three kids.

Next time l upload the photos taken.

PS: Unlike Viva highest variant and lowest variant, the Exora only omitted few things. If the price RM59k why not?

• insanbiasa on Jun 22, 2009 at 3:38 pm

Hayya Bro, when it came to Proton Exora, then the most question was 'is this big thing can climbing the hill, underpower??? ..etc @%$#$$!&&. And you acted like you have powerful engineering knowledge than Proton engineer. What a suck question…

Come on la machai, did you asked the owner of Proton Exore, then you will know the result. One more thing, how stupid you are to compare P1 to BMW, Merc… VW. Thats ridiculous judgement. Ok machai, did you ever compared the bullshit Toyota passo sette a.k.a perodua chameleon with these 'glamorous' car manufacturer??? Oh, Toyota participated in Dakkar Rally???? You tell me…

At last but not least, what car type did you used?… Merc, BMW, VM… or kancil, kelisa…. etc.. Be honest.

Proud to be what we have is better than nothing…

Adios…

• mohd hafizzul on Jun 22, 2009 at 3:40 pm

semua nya sama je…perodua MPV kalau keluar sebiji macam toyota passo sette tak apa…ini tidak…keluaran untuk Malaysia tidak sama yang keluaran di Jepun….Bagi aku patut keluaran di sini sama yang JDM…tengok indonesia Toyota Passo Sette tidak berubah sama sekali dgn yang JDM. Barulah ramai pengikutnya…..

• tkaira on Jun 22, 2009 at 3:43 pm

dakar rally?? haha…that made my day lol…

• Never write off D46T mpv, who know they'll come with Toyota emblem too? In fact Avanza manufactured by Daihatsu assemble by P2 and sell by mighty name Toyota, huh?

I bet they'll do this if competition too stiff. BTW I don't think so. Even with P2 moniker they'll survive and beat Proton easily.

Two reason:

1-Toyota dna

2-A potent 1.5 engine from the group

UNTIL Proton come out with turbo-engine little bit unwise to but this mammoth but merely with so so Newton (torque). Sorry Proton, so far you're not worth it. Not because 1.6 engine as many European had 1.6 engine in their mpv as weight as Exora BUT no reasonable torque to tap.

• adibmuhammad on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:11 pm

and last i checked, the dakar rally doesn't include MPVs in the races.

SUVs, yes, but not MPVs.

to add the to topic at hand, i think a manual version of the exora will definitely sell.

it's just what people wants, although proton might be better off with colored bumpers, while maintaining the stripped down specs (steel rims with covers, no abs, etc.).

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:21 pm

mystvearn said,

June 22, 2009 @ 6:34 am

Perodua will not win this tine around like they did on the myvi. Everyone wants size. Bigger=better.

Myvi bigger than savvy.

Exora bigger than some passo. Bring the price down and you will see this the vehicles of choice for the pasar malam hawkers.

——-

I don't think so. Price still does play a role. Until we know how much this B-line we can't write off the D46T. That extra 10k might still mean a lot to some people looking for a smaller car. 10K = $200/mth for 60months. Not an insignificant sum. Even disregarding the size, I know a lot of people that would liek the smaller car, I know for one, a lot of homemakers that are used to Kelisas/Kenari/Myvis might be apprehensive suddenly jumping to an Exora sized car. Ultimately, you have to see the market demographics this is aimed at. Perodua is playing thier cards very well I'd say.

As for Pasar malam sllers, they wont even think about the Exora, with the C22 being evergreen.

As per the Myvi/Savvy case, you can blame Proton for its own bad reputation and USPD's own folley in the other French powered car – the Tiara. The Myvi was there just to reap from the mistakes proton made.

I will say this though, that Manual might be what this Exora needs. I test drove them and find the power lacking, might wait for the turbo version, but then again i would expect it to be in the 80K+ range….(remember the Waja 1.8 problem?)

The market although still protected, is no longer the market void that Proton used to enjoy. The important thing is, that there are alternatives for consumers.

• darenpg on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:24 pm

Very easy to choose between Proton MPV or Perodua MPV

1. If you need to fetch 7 persons everyday or 5 days per week, pls go for proton. It is worth it to move around with all the heavy steel. Total petrol cost devided by 7 person = cheap.

2. If you just want a bigger sedan car that can sometimes(once or twice a week) fetch 6 to 7 persons with 2 kids, pls go for perodua. If you are in this category but you insist to choose proton, you will end up with frequent visit to petrol station. light body weight mpv = cheap petrol cost

• gen2lama on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:28 pm

got someone here just came back from space i guess….

wake up please….got many exora on the road now…

i went to cameron already…..5 adult + 2teens + luggage for 4 days trip for 7…..no issue for me….

do some research please – PUG 5008 – got 1.6 , caren also got 1.6 version….

want more power wait for the turbo version or 2.0 petronas engine…

• Jeffrey Chew on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:35 pm

Question is why Proton intended to color the B-line bumper (front & rear) into solid black??? I feel that is disgusting, it seems like the bumpers have been crashed and installed with chop shop bumper, which in different colour, not match at all. I believe the bumper originally is white like aftermarket fiber bumper color, why don't keep as matt grey which the car company usually did?

• zaff1984 on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:40 pm

good video quality.

• Rdley on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Anybody here ever heard about MPV participated in Rally Dakar?? Funny lol!!!! Even Wish, Stream, Grandis did not participate in rally… hohohohoho.. this basher must be very desprate to kutuk proton….

Bro, proton already participate in various rally competition… but they are using diff car….

alamakkkkkkk….. dia buat hal daaah…!!!!

• JULIAN_LEE on Jun 22, 2009 at 4:55 pm

hahaha… perodua kerusi papan will die!

but proton also sux because bmw always win

• JKucing on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:02 pm

A manual transmission make more sense…good… P2 will hv hard time…

• farhitech on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:09 pm

PROTON MPV EXORA underpower?? said,

June 22, 2009 @ 5:29 am

a big question is can PROTON MPV EXORA (with full load, whole family which is a very big size) climbing the hill to GENTING HIGHLAND?

everybody want to enjoy in GENTING HIGHLAND, nobody want to left behind.. can 1.6 CAMPRO CPS engine (fit in PROTON EXORA) handle the load to climb the hill smoothly? and when it going down after enjoy in GENTING HIGHLAND can this PROTON MPV EXORA handle the load without damaging the gearbox and other components related to engine braking system?

I suggest PROTON MPV EXORA compete in Dakkar Rally, test this MPV EXORA to solve the this mathematics engineering problem with the best racing motorsports, Volkswagen (VW), Mercedes, BMW test their cars MPV look alike at that Dakkar Rally.

————————————————————-

Apo la mamat ni bagi bangang punye idea . Keto kancil 660 bapak aku pun dah berkali2 naik GENTING HIGHLAND dgn full kapasiti … tak pecah gear box pun … inikan pulak EXORA 1.6 . Akai ada ka ?

Ni nak test EXORA dalam Dakkar Rally plak … Toyota pun tak pernah hntar Wish , Vios masuk rally . Nissan pun pak pernah hntar Grand Livina , Murano masuk rally , Perodua pun tak hantar Kancil , Viva , Passo Setan masuk Dakkar Rally .

Aku tunggu hang dgn keto kobau hang kat Dakkar Rally .

• Proton, Truly a Malaysian Car Manufacturer

• Calvin De La Rosa on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:17 pm

As some commentators said above, it;s an interesting period of marketing and sales pitch time between P1 and P2.

P1 most likely will match P2 price for price after P2's MPV launched. P2 responds most likely by offering more premiums and longer warranty.

Whatever it is… customers will (should) win.

• Engineer on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:28 pm

PROTON MPV EXORA Underpower?? said.

The more you talk. the more u look DUMB.. Sorry to say that.

U not even test drive or own one. Why don't u said A Van Za underpower coz it 1.3 cc or perodua MPV 1.5cc. Why don't u ask Korea or Japanese MPV maker to test their MPV in Dakar Rally.

• Prismo on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:41 pm

below100k said,

June 22, 2009 @ 3:12 am

1st.

Good job. If sell at 65k (obviously feasible), sure Perodua Mpv will die.

Lets the battle begin.

——————————————————————

Err… i think Rm65k is a price for M-Line manual as we know that M-Line auto is RM69.9k.. this one (B-Line manual) should be priced below RM60k… P2 D46T lower spec will be priced at RM56k.. the competition is become interesting…

• normal_user on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:49 pm

===================================

U suggest that Exore compete dakar rally?

Are u insane? Please don't post rubbish here.

• Muhandis on Jun 22, 2009 at 5:56 pm

Persoalan tentang kemampuan Exora untuk mendaki dah lama terjawab. Hanya yang TAK PERNAH MEMANDU EXORA SAHAJA yang mempertikaikannya. Saya cadang bagi sapa yang masih nak complain tanpa hujah sila pergi ke Blog Pemilik Exora. Jangan bagi pendapat sebarangan……

• farghmee on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:37 pm

what are the specs. of this b-line?

• tonton on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:39 pm

what in the world do a mpv competing in dakar rally?

even caldina not enter the dakar rally, eventho it featuring turbocharge. what's the point?

before proton solving the mathematics engineering problems, fix your logics problem pls

• squall_shinoda on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:42 pm

Looks like in terms of performance, the Exora B-Line manual is a lot better than the current automatic Exora. 4-speed auto with the power loss of about 20% (it is common for auto gearboxes to lose more power than manual) is definitely less suitable for a 125bhp engine to carry the 1400+ kg Exora plus 7 full-sized adults without the addition of a turbocharger.

• nahar79 on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:45 pm

Read yesterday's CBT.

Word has it that Petronas has developed a new production-friendly 2.0 liter engine and Proton is currently testing it in the Exora.

• bmpower on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:52 pm

you better update your knowledge lah bashers!.

it's already tested several times!.

It's NOT underpower. It's ADEQUATE!

• insan on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:53 pm

any idea, when proton will launch the manual version?

• lazyf on Jun 22, 2009 at 6:54 pm

Finally…Exora Manual will hit the market…i like!!! ;-)

• Whats the big deal bout this? Its alredy stated on proton website that there b

launching d manual exora on July as i hv expected b4 just like saga.

A B-line p1 mpv vs H-line p2 mpv price, interesting to know who will win…

Even the new saga vs the 3+years old myvi sales almost on par.

• Goniothalamus on Jun 22, 2009 at 7:04 pm

no more talk nonsense. it's already hot discussed.

the related question, what is the price for basic spec exora? should be entertaining…

• peroduasaupei0 on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:07 pm

this is wat i hv been waiting for.

exora manual .

but do they need to make it less premium cause it is manual?

Cant manual version hv rims ,arirbags etc?

• roti naan1 on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:11 pm

Perodua and Proton……FIGHT!!!!

and better deals for consumers….yay!

• madimat on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:28 pm

"…bla bla bla …can PROTON MPV EXORA (with full load, whole family which is a very big size) climbing the hill to GENTING HIGHLAND? "

How many times in a year a family go to Genting. ?

"… bla bla bla ..everybody want to enjoy in GENTING HIGHLAND, nobody want to left behind.. can 1.6 CAMPRO CPS engine (fit in PROTON EXORA) handle the load to climb the hill smoothly? and when it going down after enjoy in GENTING HIGHLAND can this PROTON MPV EXORA handle the load without damaging the gearbox and other components related to engine braking system?.."

What so special about Genting anyway? I'd rather go to the beach instead, and I think most other families also prefer the beaches than that lousy crowded Genting. ptffhhh. BTW are you sure that P2 MPV can handle Genting as well? With all the same pre-conditions ??

".. bla bla bla….I suggest PROTON MPV EXORA compete in Dakkar Rally, test this MPV EXORA to solve the this mathematics engineering problem with the best racing motorsports, Volkswagen (VW), Mercedes, BMW test their cars MPV look alike at that Dakkar Rally. .."

Stupid suggestion for an MPV to compete in Dakar rally. Go ask your Livina or Avanza or Innova first to compete. They have been in the scene far longer than Exora.. then only come back here begging for Exora to take part.

pfrthhh stupid .. stupid .. stupid..!

• TL Square on Jun 22, 2009 at 8:56 pm

I wonder how many of us drive up to Genting Highland daily?? I noticed that many have commented on the "under-powered' Exora but have they really driven one before to comment? I am an Exora owner and uses it on a daily basis for my work. For my weekend family outings, I have been to Melaka, Ipoh and Sungkai over the month to "test" and "enjoy" the MPV with my family. My family enjoyed ourselves in the ride with the help of the auto-cruise, dvd player, GPS etc.

For me, the "power" is not much of an issue now as I do not need to rev up my car to speed whether on regular roads or on highways. After a month, I have grown accustomed to the Exora and adjusted my driving style. Like most "family" men, I'd rather to have an easy cruise; and if others are in the hurry or need to reach their destination earlier, just let them overtake! I'd rather be "late than dead". Don't get me wrong, I have tried speeding at 140kph at the highway and if not for the reminder from the GPS and the 'even stronger" reminder from my better half next to me, I could have gone faster. The drive uphill just need drive adjustment and patience for an smooth cruise.

However, it is still the nitty gritty things that irritate me particularly, the strap at the wiper reservoir that keeps breaking. This is my second time replacing it and the Service Advisor at Proton cannot assure me that it will not break again. Another area is the creaking noise front left suspension/shock absorber that cannot be resolve immediately according to the same Service Advisor. I truly hope that someone somewhere in Proton is heading a project to overcome these concerned areas and other related issues especially if they are looking at introducing a lower priced manual Exora model. This would certainly raise the confidence level of Proton cars and assure the public that Proton has truly changed since DSZ took over as MD and strengthened with the recent advent of a new chairman.

For "Rush Lee", I am not a Perodua salesman nor their representative/agent in any form. I think it is strange for someone to buy and use a competitor's product on a daily basis and giving feedback unless the person uses the product for benchmarking exercise. As both makers (Proton and Perodua) are national projects, I don't think that a strong rivalry is prefered as they must be sharing many challenges commonly. I am just of the view that Proton must continue find innovative ways to extract feedback from its customers to progress in a competitive environment. Have you donated to MAB yet?

• perolapan on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:12 pm

Yoh, finally ProtonExora also need to downgrade to empty Milo tin.

MPV – MP = V, Van ~XXD

The competition is very interesting…

Yah, those competitors are Nissan Vanette, Toyota Hiace… and PERODUA VIVA VAN EDITION aka. Vivan or P2 VVE).

Frankly speaking, RM 60k below is quite cheap to buy instead a foreign van. Pasar Malam will be the next show room of Exovan later. PLEASE BUY OUR OWN PRODUCTS.

Sadly speaking, Exovan still underpower (some say full taking) to climbing the hill to Cameron Highland to delivery vegetables, but to Kampung nelayan that's GOOD ENOUGH.

• Black Dog on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:23 pm

I'm sure P1 have tested it in Genting b4 launch so no problem. Even Avanza with 1.3L can also go up.

The issue this time is quality. Unlike during Myvi/Savvy time when P1 management is so out in touch with the motoring world (the whole world is producing cars Taller & Bigger ala mini mpv style yet P1 comes out with low stance boy-racer style, I guess they don't even bother to study closely the Malaysian Auto show 2005 back then to see new trends).

MPVs & SUVs have been the rage for so long but all they are producing is hatchbacks & sedans that compete against their own line up. What a pity! Malaysians have been waiting for affordable MPVs & SUVs for so so long…

• farghmee on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:27 pm

Nahar79 wrote:

Read yesterday’s CBT.

Word has it that Petronas has developed a new production-friendly 2.0 liter engine and Proton is currently testing it in the Exora.

——————————

WoW !

..lotus handling, petronas engine, malaysian price..

i'm waiting :)

• magnum on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:32 pm

cheapest MPV in Malaysia…..cheers :D

• nabill on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:35 pm

why so many idiotic comments here , exora in dakar and so on….i tink it makes sence this manual exora…have thy shortened the gear ratioes as the auto for extra pick up?id rather have the exora manual….it will be lighter , more pick up,mite be uglier abit bt bumpers can be sparayed,rims can be changed…bt i stil tink thr are ppl wil go for the daihatsu passo (i refuse to say perodua D46T !) simply bcos its smaller and i see some ppl see the smaller size as more practical around town…

• Tengokaje.. on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:41 pm

Hopefully P1 can make it M Line & H Line (Manual version). For B Line, no to black bumper please P1. It's look awful.

• sutheshkumar on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:42 pm

i wont be surprised if this will be the better seller. a proton insider told me that from exora onwards, safety kits like airbags and abs will be standard.

and yes, a possible manual version too but most probably for L-Line only, as most of the mpv market is automatic.

• Jeremy Clarksson on Jun 22, 2009 at 9:48 pm

can exora climb everest???

• Littlefire on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:00 pm

Anyway guys… I dont know is real or not, as i heard a lot of ppl ditch Proton exora and went for G.Livina after test driving it… Hmm…

• mr smart on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:06 pm

proton exora is a copy cat of mitsubishi grandis… hahahahahahah…

• knight_templar on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:17 pm

4G63T DSM said,

June 22, 2009 @ 8:21 am

mystvearn said,

Myvi bigger than savvy.

——-

I don’t think so. Price still does play a role. Until we know how much this B-line we can’t write off the D46T. That extra 10k might still mean a lot to some people looking for a smaller car. 10K = $200/mth for 60months. Not an insignificant sum. Even disregarding the size, I know a lot of people that would liek the smaller car, I know for one, a lot of homemakers that are used to Kelisas/Kenari/Myvis might be apprehensive suddenly jumping to an Exora sized car. Ultimately, you have to see the market demographics this is aimed at. Perodua is playing thier cards very well I’d say.

As for Pasar malam sllers, they wont even think about the Exora, with the C22 being evergreen.

As per the Myvi/Savvy case, you can blame Proton for its own bad reputation and USPD’s own folley in the other French powered car – the Tiara. The Myvi was there just to reap from the mistakes proton made.

I will say this though, that Manual might be what this Exora needs. I test drove them and find the power lacking, might wait for the turbo version, but then again i would expect it to be in the 80K+ range….(remember the Waja 1.8 problem?)

The market although still protected, is no longer the market void that Proton used to enjoy. The important thing is, that there are alternatives for consumers.

————————————

4G63T DSM said,

June 22, 2009 @ 8:21 am

mystvearn said,

Myvi bigger than savvy.

——-

I don’t think so. Price still does play a role. Until we know how much this B-line we can’t write off the D46T. That extra 10k might still mean a lot to some people looking for a smaller car. 10K = $200/mth for 60months. Not an insignificant sum. Even disregarding the size, I know a lot of people that would liek the smaller car, I know for one, a lot of homemakers that are used to Kelisas/Kenari/Myvis might be apprehensive suddenly jumping to an Exora sized car. Ultimately, you have to see the market demographics this is aimed at. Perodua is playing thier cards very well I’d say.

As per the Myvi/Savvy case, you can blame Proton for its own bad reputation and USPD’s own folley in the other French powered car – the Tiara. The Myvi was there just to reap from the mistakes proton made.

—————————————————————

Very, very well said

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:30 pm

Seriously, why does some people here have to be so bloody defensive when people say the Exora is a little underpowered? Proton Salesman? work for Proton? Hired cybertrooper?

Sure if you drive like uncle at your own pace blocking everyone or taking forever to pass on the fast lane, then maybe its not underpowered for you. Try the 100-140kmh accereration/pass which is normal for highway runs without downshifting to 3rd.

And yes I have driven it, and yes, it does feel underpowered. You are not kidding anyone, moving a 1500kg body with an auto powered by 150Nm of torque is not easy. Saying is "adequate" is just polite word play…like good enough, or pretty enough. hehe

Sure give the Exora enough lead feet and it will still go pretty well, but then, what happens to your fuel consumption? Anyone posted real world city use consumption numbers yet? I for one would be interested to know.

Can someone post a link to that "blog pemilik exora". I want to read what they saw about the Exora's fuel consumption.

• peroenam on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:32 pm

This is Exora van edition.

• azrai on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:36 pm

Malaysian still be blinded by T badge. So this will be the end for Avanza. As for the Exora in spyshot, it has Persona's wheel hub. I do think so it is a manual tranny. Most people will opt for P2 since they can even afford the high tax on T badge MPV.

• lazyf on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:54 pm

Proton…pls introduce Exora Manual wit M n H-Line version instead of B-Line version (but pls dont produce the B-Line version wit black bumper) ;-)

• peroenam on Jun 22, 2009 at 10:59 pm

It should be the most safely van also handling/engineered by Lotus in Malaysia, it must introduce to ppl in UK to competing Toyoya Hiace UK and Japan to competing Daihatsu Mira Van.

• what happen with this tread actually ?

when 1 ppl say exora underpower

there must be some ppl come out and say why would you say

avanza 1.3 is underpower , why dun say perodua mpv also underpower 190

now here the fact

avanza 1.3 12.2kgm 1085kg

exora 1.6 15.3kgm 1440 kg

try calculate see , each kgm of exora have to pull 94kg

each kgm on the avanza only have to pull 88kg

do these made change ? think your self pls

and

d46t 1.5 14.4kgm 1190kg (estimate, this is the heaviest weight on passo sette ) 1 kgm have to pull 82 kg .

see the different ?

i know the formula can't work on real world math(the way obtain torque is different) but this give an idea to those who really confuse .

show another exp

civic 2.0

19.2kgm 1280kg , 1 kgm need to pull 66kg only .

• prolever on Jun 22, 2009 at 11:53 pm

I LOVE this car. if the car price below 65 k. i dont think twice to buy it.

for EXora underpower, where are u from. the topic is old allready. have u see exora on the road a?????? haiya….. get a test drive a…than u know..

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 22, 2009 at 11:56 pm

so many PROTON supporters here.. LOL

I have read Paul Tan comment about PROTON EXORA.. can't you all notice alot of "UNDERPOWER" word in his article? although he try to write positive comment but the words underpower is quite frequent (that's paultan review.. if Jeremy Clarksson review in Top Gear, you guys can't stand the terrible of his words..LOL)

at least you guys can come up with a video of PROTON EXORA MPV climbing the GENTING HIGHLAND with full load of capacity, show me the meters, clear sound of the engine.. then maybe I can believe your words that PROTON EXORA MPV is not underpower. Do you dare?? don't just talk alot la, show it, can upload in youtube.

even PROTON come up with manual it can't overcome underpower problem, must be at least turbocharged..

ok.. why Dakar Rally? because the terrain the competitors traverse is much tougher and the vehicles used are true off-road vehicles rather than the modified sedans used in rallies. Most of the competitive special sections are off-road, crossing dunes, mud, camel grass, rocks and erg among others. The distances of each stage covered vary from short distances up to 800–900 kilometres (500–560 mi) per day. It is the best racing motorsports event to test the pickup, agility of the vehicles.. that's why la so many German engine manufacturers test their product in Dakar Rally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dakar_Rally

PROTON, do you dare to enter Dakar Rally or not?

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:14 am

PROTON need to produce Sport Utility Vehicle (SUV) and enter Dakar Rally compete with other experienced manufacturers especially the Germans.. produce a very good durable engine that later can be used in other product that need to carry alot of people, alot of stuff..

you know la Malaysian, want car cheap2 but want to sumbat everything in that car.. when the car damage, they complain the manufacturer (usually PROTON).

At least when PROTON produce SUV and enter Dakar Rally, Malaysia citizen level of confidence will go up, then they will concern about automotive technology.. and support Malaysia automotive industry in a good manner.

PROTON produce a very big MPV to meet the Malaysia customers demand, but PROTON still have the problem with underpower.. before this the German Volkswagen want to cooperate with PROTON produce Diesel Engine, with turbocharged this EXORA MPV should not be underpower. But it is very sad Volkswagen and PROTON cannot reach understanding.. PROTON really need German best engineering to progress in the future, need to invest in Diesel engine, turbocharged system and wankel/rotary engine.

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:21 am

perolapan, this is not called a downgrade. It's a lowering the Specs, from alloy wheels goes to steel wheels, maybe use manual windows nor reducing some juicy BCM features etc but it's still tough as M-Line & H-Line… But when goes to toyota and P2, it's called downgraded & lowering the Specs.. from a big front & side crash bar, when goes to P2, it's become puny.., thinner body sheet metal, no dash mounted lcd screen, no reverse camera etc… and pls wrong me if i'm correct….

—————————————————————-

mr smart said,

June 22, 2009 @ 2:06 pm

proton exora is a copy cat of mitsubishi grandis… hahahahahahah…

——————————————————————-

Mr Smart, hahahaha…. P2 D46T is a copycat of Toyota Passo hahahaha….

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:57 am

Did a bit of googling after my last post and found the Exora owner's webforum.

FC seems to be about 16s/L (9L/100kmh) driving at a very careful 100ish on the highway constantly, probably in good traffic. Quite close to the advertized figure.

Not bad, but the real kicker is, in city driving, there were reports of anythign from 23s/km (13l/100) to 30s/km (17L/100), so it depends a lot on the terrain and how much the owner "tekan". Less power tekan more. This concures with my own observation of 2 different Exora test car with had 15 and 16L/100 on the fuel computer, mostly driven on city roads (we don't have serious jams in Ipoh…YET…so it could possible be worst in jammed up places).

So my conclusion is, on highway this is not a problem if you control yourself, but the auto + small engine + big car combination is murder in city driving. This is where the Manual comes in….and I'm sure the Turbo wont do much worst given the extra low end torque. But driving the Exora in town will need a lot of self control and plenty of time.

Now, that said, comparing with the Wish 1.8 that my buddy has, he gets 13s/L (7L/100) on the highway driven at the speed limit and 19s/L (10L/100km) in the city. We get about the same numbers from our Accord 2.0 driven the same way partially due to the 2nd overdrive giving better cruising FC making up for the larger engine.

• farghmee on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:25 am

i have this 1 simple question:

each time before taking the FC, do the exora owners reset the last FC reading?

i notice in my mom's gen2, as to get accurate reading, i need to reset the FC meter.

i'll wait for proton to enter paris-dakar rally.

4the moment, i prefer proton to invest more in R&D.

u know la, later some1 will say "haiya, buat kete pn xreti, lg nk membazir masuk paris-dakar rally, bodoh".

dakar…?

• kodok on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:29 am

need a future perodua mpv to wake proton up that their underpowered mpv really needed a manual tranny!

• eezarm on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:35 am

i thought the exora looks similar to the Mazda MPV…

• ManBelonPunya on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:56 am

4G63T DSM said,

June 22, 2009 @ 4:57 pm

Did a bit of googling after my last post and found the Exora owner’s webforum.

FC seems to be about 16s/L (9L/100kmh) driving at a very careful 100ish on the highway constantly, probably in good traffic. Quite close to the advertized figure.

Not bad, but the real kicker is, in city driving, there were reports of anythign from 23s/km (13l/100) to 30s/km (17L/100), so it depends a lot on the terrain and how much the owner “tekan”. Less power tekan more. This concures with my own observation of 2 different Exora test car with had 15 and 16L/100 on the fuel computer, mostly driven on city roads (we don’t have serious jams in Ipoh…YET…so it could possible be worst in jammed up places).

So my conclusion is, on highway this is not a problem if you control yourself, but the auto + small engine + big car combination is murder in city driving. This is where the Manual comes in….and I’m sure the Turbo wont do much worst given the extra low end torque. But driving the Exora in town will need a lot of self control and plenty of time.

Now, that said, comparing with the Wish 1.8 that my buddy has, he gets 13s/L (7L/100) on the highway driven at the speed limit and 19s/L (10L/100km) in the city. We get about the same numbers from our Accord 2.0 driven the same way partially due to the 2nd overdrive giving better cruising FC making up for the larger engine.

———————————————————-

macha, how long T an H developed engines? When P1 start to develop their own engine?

How much T and H spend for RnD? and How much for P1?

T and H have their own people(Japanese) who support them but some our Malaysian?

be rational when compare CPS with i-VTEC or VVT-i.

P1 still young in car development(dulu diarang cuma pasang je!). saba la beb. they're learning..improving…

• Fridz (Member) on Jun 23, 2009 at 2:04 am

hallo PROTON MPV EXORA underpower??, are you trying to TUKAR TOPIK?..

You seriously hv no standing and didnt know what is ETIKA BERFORUM..

• ManBelonPunya on Jun 23, 2009 at 2:04 am

June 22, 2009 @ 3:56 pm

so many PROTON supporters here.. LOL

I have read Paul Tan comment about PROTON EXORA.. can’t you all notice alot of “UNDERPOWER” word in his article? although he try to write positive comment but the words underpower is quite frequent (that’s paultan review.. if Jeremy Clarksson review in Top Gear, you guys can’t stand the terrible of his words..LOL)

at least you guys can come up with a video of PROTON EXORA MPV climbing the GENTING HIGHLAND with full load of capacity, show me the meters, clear sound of the engine.. then maybe I can believe your words that PROTON EXORA MPV is not underpower. Do you dare?? don’t just talk alot la, show it, can upload in youtube.

even PROTON come up with manual it can’t overcome underpower problem, must be at least turbocharged..

ok.. why Dakar Rally? because the terrain the competitors traverse is much tougher and the vehicles used are true off-road vehicles rather than the modified sedans used in rallies. Most of the competitive special sections are off-road, crossing dunes, mud, camel grass, rocks and erg among others. The distances of each stage covered vary from short distances up to 800–900 kilometres (500–560 mi) per day. It is the best racing motorsports event to test the pickup, agility of the vehicles.. that’s why la so many German engine manufacturers test their product in Dakar Rally.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Dakar_Rally

PROTON, do you dare to enter Dakar Rally or not?

————————————————————–

shit..another dumb suggestion. what for? for wasting money?

I thing those money can be use for another benefit purpose.

all those german companies are big big one and already in automotive market for dacades. how long P1 start their development?

• tayar kitar semula on Jun 23, 2009 at 2:11 am

mr smart buat lawakhahahahahaha..

• the auto while capable of taking the vehicle up to cruising speed and keeping it there, is rather sluggy to move around at city speeds.

under power issue is still a problem and is a fact,

even PaulTan mentioned in this article.

why don't u taruh PaulTan for making such a statement?

P1 is still lagging in terms of their packaging and choice for its customers.

On one hand they claim to make the best MPV but on the other

they tell people that a better 'turbo"/2lt version is in the works.

How to sell your present car when people know there is another

"better" version coming up.(hopefully)??

P1 shd be like 3/5series/ Myvi/Civic etc offering its customers diff.

engine capacity and specs.when lauching their new range of cars.

• 20v_ke35 on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:39 am

Hey, guys!!! What with the white satria neo infront of the black Exora? Gti model?

• roti naan1 on Jun 23, 2009 at 3:42 am

ayoyoyo…..everytime proton articles comes around, sure argue here and there….

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:33 am

for anyone asking exora to rally.

such a blatant childish!

do your beloved one overpriced overated Toyota Alphard enter rally?

no? so dont buy alphard.. coz they're not in rally. Dakar rally!

• Niv86 on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:35 am

I have read Paul Tan comment about PROTON EXORA.. can’t you all notice alot of “UNDERPOWER” word in his article? although he try to write positive comment but the words underpower is quite frequent (that’s paultan review.. if Jeremy Clarksson review in Top Gear, you guys can’t stand the terrible of his words..LOL)

at least you guys can come up with a video of PROTON EXORA MPV climbing the GENTING HIGHLAND with full load of capacity, show me the meters, clear sound of the engine.. then maybe I can believe your words that PROTON EXORA MPV is not underpower. Do you dare?? don’t just talk alot la, show it, can upload in youtube.

Read more: http://paultan.org/archives/2009/06/22/proton-rea…

i personally thinks that all mid price MPV will have underpower issue with genting climbing with "full load" don tell me ur avanza can climb with 2k rpm and not even grandlivina can go uphill without touching 2nd gear 4k rpm uphill….(fully loaded)

underpower or not isnt really a big issue for a car pricing at RM100k below.

because all car will underpower with "full load"

only compare MPV with 1.5 to 1.6L range.

Innova and Cherry Easter is out of the league(2.0 L+)

There's no car thats perfect that give u what u want, what u need, in such a price in msia.

even the upcoming new Perodua MPV have its weakness( tight third roll )

proton offer more space But lack of power with such price is reasonable enough.

• Bibby on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:41 am

Wah…feel ugly ith this base line…Really dunnno what proton designer doing =.=''

at least have color sense la…proton still dunno learn from mistake =.=''

What I can guarantee…sure a lot people buy Perodua MPV, why?

1st…all people listen Perodua (The Name, sure feel it is better than Proton)

like the QC, interior design sure pretty n nice than Proton.Even both also same plastik material, but Perodua good in color match.

2nd…the Engine, all people sure think Perodua engine is better than Proton. like pick-up…Feul Consumption.

SO many years already, proton sill didnt learn from mistake…like the power windows switch…can be say more than half proton face this problems also.

Beside that, the paint Proton use is very lousy…very very thin…like my New saga BLM as example, 1 year only…Front Bonnet there have some paint is start drop down =.=''

The door handle, break when i open car….a lot new saga BLM face this problems also…

What proton nid to do to boost the sales…is their QC…Interior design (This is wat I cannot tahan…Exterior look nice…like NEO CPS…Gen2 CPS…but interior design…too simple…cannot follow up the modern already…)

Another last important thing…choice better quality material supplier…many of the material Proton use is too lousy…low in quality… =.=''

Why I know this,because the place I work, beside is the Factory provide some of the spare part to Proton…like door handle…and etc…all is damn low in quality…(Maybe Proton interior department rasuah too much already…with pay high cost but get the lousy spare part to install Proton Car..) …like example…you pay Rm 1.00 but get the thing worth Rm 0.20…where the Rm 0.80 gone? in someone pocket already.

Why Japan car with so low cost can made a quality car…why Proton cannot…somemore Proton have Lotus…Mitsubishi help…take Toyota Vios..or City as example…if without all those Tax…Vios…Jazz…City just sell Rm 5x – Rm6xk…Other country all sell in this price only…Toyota..Honda..sell in this price can earn so much…but why Proton cannot? If Vios..City..Jazz…price is same with Persona…or Gen2…which car you will choice? (Say true from your heart)…I quite like Gen2 exterior design..but..the Quality…QC..interior design…color match for interior…I really dunno how to comment…

(I'm a Designer)

This is why more people choice Perodua than Proton…On road you can see Myvi already…More than Gen2…Persona…Saga BLM…even Myvi SE price is near with Gen2…Persona…even Gen2 CPS…just few thousand different…1600cc vs 1300cc…why they still choice Myvi? You ownself think why….

What I can guarantee say…if Perodua have new Sedan Car with 1500cc…even the price sell Rm 65k..Rm70k…sure a lot people will buy Perodua Sedan..rather than buy Waja…Gen2…Persona..This is what I can sure…

P/S: I not stand at Proton or Perodua Side…Im middle…Myself…also using Proton Saga BLM…why? because of no money..no choice…If I have money…i sure wont buy Local Car…I more prefer Euro car….

• perolapan on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

Prismo said,

June 22, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

But when goes to toyota and P2, it’s called downgraded & lowering the Specs.. from a big front & side crash bar, when goes to P2, it’s become puny.., thinner body sheet metal, no dash mounted lcd screen, no reverse camera etc… and pls wrong me if i’m correct….

———————–

According to Motortrader about safely of Perodua Myvi,

http://www.motortrader.com.my/NUS/articles/0/arti…

"Perodua models are small and the laws of physics do indicate that a small car would fare less well than a bigger one in an accident. However, drawing on the long experience in the Toyota Group, the body design of the Myvi has been constructed to maximise the protection for the occupants. Many of the structural elements have been designed to absorb and dissipate impact forces so as not to cause harm to the occupants. There are now sturdy transverse beams in the cabin floor which increase resistance to side collisions (besides the beams in the doors).

According to H. Hirata, the Chief Engineer/Senior GM in the Product Planning Division at Perodua, the Myvi had undergone extensive crash testing in Japan and met the required levels of performance well. He added that the car had also been subjected to a dissimilar crash test, meaning that it was crashed against a car that was bigger (a Toyota Celsior which is the equivalent of the Lexus LS430 sedan) – and it passed the test. "

———————-

Based on JNCAP about Passo/Boon,

http://www.nasva.go.jp/mamoru/english/2005/type/0…

Do you dare to belive H. Hirata that Myvi got 5/6 Stars?

P/s, wikipedia don't known what is *downgraded*, it should be *lower spec*.

• perolapan on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:50 am

Prismo said,

June 22, 2009 @ 4:21 pm

But when goes to toyota and P2, it’s called downgraded & lowering the Specs.. from a big front & side crash bar, when goes to P2, it’s become puny.., thinner body sheet metal, no dash mounted lcd screen, no reverse camera etc… and pls wrong me if i’m correct….

———————–

"Perodua models are small and the laws of physics do indicate that a small car would fare less well than a bigger one in an accident. However, drawing on the long experience in the Toyota Group, the body design of the Myvi has been constructed to maximise the protection for the occupants. Many of the structural elements have been designed to absorb and dissipate impact forces so as not to cause harm to the occupants. There are now sturdy transverse beams in the cabin floor which increase resistance to side collisions (besides the beams in the doors).

According to H. Hirata, the Chief Engineer/Senior GM in the Product Planning Division at Perodua, the Myvi had undergone extensive crash testing in Japan and met the required levels of performance well. He added that the car had also been subjected to a dissimilar crash test, meaning that it was crashed against a car that was bigger (a Toyota Celsior which is the equivalent of the Lexus LS430 sedan) – and it passed the test. "

———————-

P/s, wikipedia doesn't known what is *downgraded*, it should be *lower spec*.

• for those still dunno ppl – produa memang adalah toyota/daihatsu. and they never spend ,such money and 23 yrs to develop one enjine only. listen is one jenis enjine only, this national car project is a failure since day one. becuase we do not have inteligent ppl like japanese and german lagi pun kalah kepada korea and china…..

• Bibby on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:47 am

Ya…Perodua…like Myvi = Passo = Sirion….Toyota/Daihatsu…Thats why Perodua save alot of cost to manufacturer the car…like the mold…engine…and bla bla bla…

What I can say is Proton have the intelligent with Lotus help alot..and working partner like Mitsubishi……Proton is better than Perodua..but Proton…they dunno how to learn from Mistake…QC…quality…

There is 1 the best example…new Proton Saga BLM…Manual one…

WHAT I CAN Say is…they forget to put Lubricant Oil on Clutch Rod…If you not believe..u can take to outside experience foreman..ask them check..This kind of mistake also can =.=''

For Engine part (fuel consumption) Proton cannot compare with those Japan car like Toyota..Honda..because Japan they have a long history for research & made their engine…

So in engine part Proton cannot compare with Toyota..Nissan..Honda..but in this below few thing…I think can rite??? Not very hard rite???

So for Proton what need to improve is Material Quality…QC..and interior design & color match also..please update n modern abit…now is 2009…near 2010 already…not still in 199x….design nid update..modern..like that only can follow others…

• Exora_Owner on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:03 am

Kereta mahal boleh beli takkan minyak mahal sikit tak mampu nak isi.

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:29 am

haha wrote..

for those still dunno ppl – produa memang adalah toyota/daihatsu. and they never spend ,such money and 23 yrs to develop one enjine only. listen is one jenis enjine only, this national car project is a failure since day one. becuase we do not have inteligent ppl like japanese and german lagi pun kalah kepada korea and china…..

—–

if that so why not give NAZA, Hong Leong, Boon Siew, UMW a Malaysia national company car status? just to rebadge and to little modify on the body kit (what an easy job la)..

better Malaysia produce more engine tuners that involve extremely in international racing motorsports event and produce new engine technology (without engine any car is USELESS).. that's why I like to focus on the engine development.

what is PERODUA long term plan? forever want to be dog of TOYOTA/DAIHATSU? gain very easy money on Malaysia tax regulation? SHAME ON YOU PERODUA IF YOU HAVE A VERY UNCLEAR FUTURE PLAN!!!

please la.. we as citizen of Malaysia really need a very competitive price, that is our money, we all pay tax money, if Malaysia want to produce great cars.. we need to learn from the real masters.. Germans and Japanese have a very good future plan for their automotive industry.. there is only 2 company compete PROTON vs PERODUA (as national car maker) but quality is still in doubt, price not very competitive yet.. what to expect from only 2 company? Is it a very healthy competition for Malaysia Automotive industry?? why not create another one.. Malaysia have alot of OEM company what?

no wonder Jeremy Clarksson blow up PERODUA KELISA in his show Top Gear!

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=w94mDtBJ4ns

• Exora underpower? As an exora owner, I probably qualified to answer this question. Recently I went back to Johor with 4 adults, 3 kids. At certain stretch where hill climb is long (eg. after Yong Peng heading towards KL), my exora changed gear twice when set it in auto cruise at 110kmh. Yes it feels a bit underpower during hill climbs at highway speed.

However I went to Genting last weekend with my wife and three kids and got picture to prove it at http://exora-experience.blogspot.com. As with other vehicles, it will crawl at two third of the journey without any hiccups or dramas. Slow but steady.

Other problems? AS pointed by other exora owners, minor issues like creaking sound which has been fixed during 1000km service.

Overall, it's a good vehicle and definitely value for money. What can I say? I've got two protons that serve me well so far.

Azmi K

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:19 am

ManBelonPunya said,

shit..another dumb suggestion. what for? for wasting money?

I thing those money can be use for another benefit purpose.

all those german companies are big big one and already in automotive market for dacades. how long P1 start their development?

do you know why they create racing motorsports event?

why the German BMW have M division brand that stands for MOTORSPORTS?

BMW win alot of international best engine award..

do you know that BMW already won 43 award on best international engine?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nttyrIG2eiM

why HONDA create Mugen Motorsports?

what does MITSUBISHI do to raise its image in high performance car market,

the MITSUBISHI LANCER EVOLUTION project, isn't it to enter World Rally Championship (WRC)? when did the TOYOTA involved heavily in racing motorsports.. isn't it after 20 years after creating the company?

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aXgj9e1tXq8

why does SUBARU enter World Rally Championship (WRC) if it is a waste of money?

what impact that SUBARU and MITSUBISHI get after involved heavily in WRC?

if you want to say that german companies are big big one already in automotive market for decades..

so why TOYOTA after just 20 years of the company establish they set a goal to involve heavily in racing motorsports..

isn't that TOYOTA now is #1 biggest automotive company (beaten the germans in sales revenue already)?

MALAYSIA HAVE ALOT OF POTENTIAL TO WORLD AUTOMOTIVE GIANT, but the strategy need to be wise,

if you said involve in racing motorsports is only waste of money, why so many companies have a great success after

involve heavily in racing motorsports a very good example is TOYOTA.. before they want to enter any automotive market in this world they create a big branding name by involve heavily in racing motorsports like WRC, SUPER GT, Nurburgring, NASCAR, V8 SUPERCARS

TOYOTA PHILOSOPHY IS THIS

????????????????????????????????

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

?????????????????????????????????8????????????????????????????????????????F1?????????????????????????

?????2???????NASCAR?????????????????????SUPER GT??????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????TDP???????????????????

???????????????????????????????????????????????????????

????

do you know how many technologies come out from racing motorsports, why LOTUS very famous in the early days?

do you know how to produce high level of safety if not test in extreme condition (racing motorsports)?

involve in an extreme racing motorsports like Dakar Rally is waste of money?

surely the automotive giants will laugh at you.. do you know how to create branding image or not?

look at SAAB, once a greatest company A LEADER IN TURBO TECHNOLOGY, create so much new technology and win so many rally international competition.. but after SAAB don't want to involve in any racing motorsports event, look what happen to its brand, now bankcrupt already, although the design is quite nice, but like nobody want to trust it.. and tell me why people say Ferrari is great?? don't we have any other supercar brand? that's show how big racing motorsports to create a very big image and to produce more new technologies for automotive industries plus it challenge the highest level of engineering skill!!!

PROTON must look forward to future, you can't forever depend on domestic Malaysia market only.. PROTON need to create a big branding image.. racing motorsports is one of the way on how to achieve it.. wasting money?? LOL

PROTON MPV EXORA need to be at least turbocharged, it is such a small engine for MPV market.. if something terrible happen to the engine due to overload, extreme usage, then the PROTON brand image will suffer!

• THIS IS PASAR MALAM VAN NOT MPV….ANY MORE IN HIS CLASS…

NEW PERODUA MPV SURE HAVE ITS OWN CLASS…

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:36 am

Paul Tan, your blog don't support japanese kanji writing?

so read the TOYOTA PHILOSOPHY here

http://www.toyota.co.jp/ms/philosophy/message.htm…

racing motorsports is not wasting money la wei..

furthermore it invents so many technology for automotive industry, making the human more creative and inovative.

watch this, why BMW can make great engine.. how many inventions that BMW made from extreme involvement in racing motorsports, and how they transfer the technology from racing motorsports to BMW commercial cars.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9Uqh6cArfoc

PROTON need to achieve the next level of automotive industry, be a Malaysia proud, take care of the quality.. don't depend so much on domestic market..

need to invent new technology.. we have alot of universities IPTA and IPTS in Malaysia who take engineering study, why do you guys cannot believe that we have the ability to defeat the germans and japanese in automotive industry?

PROTON EXORA is an achievement but must improve la.. eliminate that underpower problem.

• Mula2 nak beli exora. Bila tengok yg sebenar, design belakang tak lawa. x jadi beli… tengok kete lain

• There is already one is phileo damansara 1, near bananaboat cafe.. I thought it was out already. While you guys are still peeking on spyshots? lol, didnt pay much attention coz I m not interested.

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:28 am

ManBelonPunya said,

June 22, 2009 @ 5:56 pm

4G63T DSM said,

June 22, 2009 @ 4:57 pm

———————————————————-

macha, how long T an H developed engines? When P1 start to develop their own engine?

How much T and H spend for RnD? and How much for P1?

T and H have their own people(Japanese) who support them but some our Malaysian?

be rational when compare CPS with i-VTEC or VVT-i.

P1 still young in car development(dulu diarang cuma pasang je!). saba la beb. they’re learning..improving…

——–

So you got one yardstick for your weakpoints and another for your strong points?

You are competing in the same market segment. When people compare you to your benchmark, you say unfair lah, this and that, and nothing but excuses. Wasn't the Exora benchmarked on the Wish?

I will buy a Proton if they make a good car comparable to what I can get elsewhere. I do not feel I should subsidize proton just because I am Malaysian. What has proton done for us anyway? Given us cheap good cars? i think not. If thats what they have done I will buy them no matter what, but unfortunately, thats not the case.

I'm not a hardcore basher, but then reading comments like the like of yours, you are just plain asking for it. I do like the Exora, but due to certain half baked product planning, it didnt turn out as good (ie. with the right engine). Why does bringing up those issues offends the likes of you in such manner that you would make excuses on Proton's behalf? If you work for proton I can understand and accept, but if not, you are talking out of your arse. This is no different launching a premature engine (Campro without CPS) and now again, the suposely turbo powerplant for the Exora, well without the turbo. To me thats a half baked product.

If Proton ever wants to succeed, they will have the learn and stand toe to toe with the best of the industry has to offer.

In fact if anything, I'm pro Proton, I'd always maintain that if Proton can make good cars at cheap prices, there will be better cars for everyone, even if they don't buy Proton. If proton does well, there wont be likes of your often made fun off dugong, city and the likes. Thier existance is solely due to Proton's failure to deliver its promise.

Maybe you forgotten, but when the Saga first launched in 1985, it was supposed to go against the Corolla and Civic. Now people are paying more money for inferior products that are one class down just to have the previlage of not owning a Proton. Seriously how bad do you have to screw up for people to do that?

Read my statement about the Myvi/Savvy. To me the Myvi is a POS. Overpriced, underpowered, cheaply built car. But why did so many people buy them? Only one reason, because Proton did even worst…both in reputation (damage control) and product planning/marketing (they didn't make what people was looking for). And till today, thier ghost of folleys past is still haunting them.

The Exora was always meant to have the Turbo campro, but Proton can't get the engine ready yet. They KNOW they are loosing market share and with the launches of the Rondo and Perodua D46T, they have to act. So they launched it with the normal engine. Isn't this what happened with the CPS-less Campro engine? The product planners willingly risked worst reputation of high FC jsut to gain some market share. Putting a small NA engine in a heavy car is going to be murder on in town FC. Wasn't the lessons learnt by the Unser bad enough? I would think they would be smart enough to figure that out.

I wish Proton the best, hopefully they would learn from thier mistakes. People would take a rather dim view of you if you get all these help, and still screw up.

• PROTON MPV EXORA underpower??

To some points I agree with u. U just give a good constructive bash there.

I agree that when an automotive industry involve in racing motorsports their RnD and brand image will improve alot. And I'm also agree with u that P1 need to focus more on RnD in new tech of engine.

But, I did not very agree with the opinion to bring Exora to rally bcoz the main reason other automotive companies competing in racing motorsports is they want to improve their brand image, they also want to test their engines and chassis structure in extreme condition, in this chassis structure its not involving mpv bcoz an mpv is not build for racing, the main job for an mpv is to bring more than 5 people comfortably. So, the chassis structure that they are testing in rally of course are sedan, hatchback, truck and SUV.

Thats why P1 starting to enter rally by using Satria neo chassis as a starting platform. So, about the engine their RnD will make it soon or later.

when did the TOYOTA involved heavily in racing motorsports.. isn’t it after 20 years after creating the company?

Ok, i agree TOYOTA starts entering in racing motorsports earlier than P1, but we all know that they start from scratch unlike P1 entering auto industry by rebadging MITSU car same like wat P2 is doing now. And P1 RnD only starts from the year 2000(correct me if I'm wrong), if P1 start RnD from the year that its establish(1983), I have no doubt that them can compete to Japanese and Korean but sadly they don't, that is bcoz MITSU wont let P1 RnD to gain better tech than them. This is why TOYOTA don't let p2 to have their own RnD, it is like fighting with their own boss. So, from that year we see Campro engine, Waja and Gen 2 offcourse. So, it must be -+10 years for P1 RnD and this make them have a hard time to catch the Japanese, Korean and European. We must give at least 10 more years for P1 RnD to prove themself they are not dumb. Next year turbo is coming out, so P1 RnD are catching the big guys, the only barrier now is time.

Nevertheless, -+10 years of P1 RnD have a very good job there, this are the list of their achievement:

– Waja

– Campro engine

– Gen2

– Savvy

– Satria Neo

– Saga BLM

– Persona

– Campro CPS

– MPV Exora (Start from scratch, build platform)

Next year(2010) Campro Turbo and the unknown Campro FE ?????

So, this achievement is quite good isn't, its maybe not the best but they are truly changing time-to-time and I hope P1 concern more on this three points:

-Keeping up more on QC, no compromise

-Improve Customer Service and Service Centre

-Need a better system for delivery of their products(first book, should get first) and must cut the long time for waiting (The ppl that book Neo CPS facing this problem)

All da best for P1(I'm apologise if there's got a typo or wrong facts)

• err… dunno Exora have power windows problem not?

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 12:40 pm

Exora underpower? As an exora owner, I probably qualified to answer this question. Recently I went back to Johor with 4 adults, 3 kids. At certain stretch where hill climb is long (eg. after Yong Peng heading towards KL), my exora changed gear twice when set it in auto cruise at 110kmh. Yes it feels a bit underpower during hill climbs at highway speed.

However I went to Genting last weekend with my wife and three kids and got picture to prove it at http://exora-experience.blogspot.com. As with other vehicles, it will crawl at two third of the journey without any hiccups or dramas. Slow but steady.

Other problems? AS pointed by other exora owners, minor issues like creaking sound which has been fixed during 1000km service.

Overall, it’s a good vehicle and definitely value for money. What can I say? I’ve got two protons that serve me well so far.

Azmi K

——

your problem especially about engine can be solve if PROTON have official high performance tuners.. like BMW have Alpina (for germany market), DINAN for USA market, TOYOTA have official high performance tuners TOM'S and special division called TOYOTA RACING DEVELOPMENT (TRD) [TOYOTA generate so much money by creating this division], HONDA have MUGEN for high performance tuning job, MERCEDES have AMG and HAMANN, NISSAN have NISMO

http://www.alpina-automobiles.com <– BMW
    http://www.dinancars.com <– BMW
    http://www.hamann-motorsport.de <– MERCEDES
    http://www.mercedes-amg.com <– MERCEDES
    http://www.mugen-power.com <– HONDA
    http://www.tomsracing.co.jp <– TOYOTA/LEXUS
    http://www.nismo.co.jp <– NISSAN

all of this division was specially created or authorized by the giant automotive makers from Germany and Japan.. they offer high performance product for customers, consult the problems, direct link with the engine manufacturer.. they can make your engine turbocharged, supercharged with full success.. no more underpower problem

but PROTON doesn't have one.. R3 division don't do tuning for engine because PROTON not involved heavily in racing motorsports, PROTON need to learn from the German and Japanese how to have a high quality products and also make profit from high performance product, PROTON at least should do a TOYOTA like TRD!

http://www.toyota-ttc.co.jp/trd/ http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Toyota_Racing_Develo…

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=a0xbZR0xC3c http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=boESmJq9FqU

the tuners can give good advise how to overcome the engine problem due to their deep experienced in high level involvement racing motorsports, PROTON need to look forward.. involvement in racing motorsports is not waste of money but it create more creative solution and new technology, especially about engine parts (the most critical part of a car).. business and management strategy does matter.

do MEM which want to help PROTON in WRC next year establish workshop in Malaysia? maybe they can help and give solution about PROTON EXORA MPV underpower problem because they have experience in racing motorsports. But the engine use for PROTON WRC project is not CAMPRO but RENAULT engine.. how PROTON want to explain this? CAMPRO engine can't compete and qualify to be use in WRC?

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 1:29 pm

4G63T DSM, you have good review.. actually Malaysian don't have so much choice.. and really damn PERODUA make easy money because they get national car status but in reality is TOYOTA/DAIHATSU dog.

how come PROTON can come up with MPV with small engine 1.6 litre with no turbocharged?? PROTON want to compete in WRC but using RENAULT engine.. cancel the Volkswagen partnership..

both company, PROTON and PERODUA is still very unclear about their future to compete in international market.. for how long PROTON and PERODUA want to duduk bawah tempurung? for how long Malaysian need to pay higher price for cars? We support Malaysia automotive industry.. but please la PROTON don't do half-baked product and PERODUA don't always depend on others.. what is PROTON and PERODUA long-term goal?

Hyundai from Korea is already top 5 company in international market, currently Hyundai operates the world’s largest integrated automobile manufacturing facility in Ulsan, which is capable of producing 1.6 million units annually. In year 1999 Hyundai added a 10-year or 100,000-mile (160,000 km) warranty to cars sold in the United States and launched an aggressive marketing campaign. For the 2002 WRC season, Hyundai hired the four-time world champion Juha Kankkunen.. from here we can see they keep improving time to time.. but PROTON.. especially PROTON Wira.. how many time want to recycle that kind of car, especially the design, engine also from Mitsubishi? PROTON.. please don't repeat your mistake.. remember that PROTON was built by Malaysia tax payers money, starting year 1983, all imported cars are about 200% more expensive than its original value to support PROTON national car project.

PROTON MPV EXORA need to be turbocharged at least!

• hantu_malaya on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:20 pm

apa la korang suma… barang buatan malaysia korang kutuk, hina. pas tu dok megah2kan barangan luar. kalu rasa korang dah hebat sangat, pasai pa tak ja datang kat proton atau perodua buat tawaran diri untuk bagi cadangan, idea, perancangan, rekaan atau pun binaan yang menarik. supaya orang jepun pulak yang jadi gila pada barangan made in malaysia ni.

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:25 pm

perolapan said,

“Perodua models are small and the laws of physics do indicate that a small car would fare less well than a bigger one in an accident. However, drawing on the long experience in the Toyota Group, the body design of the Myvi has been constructed to maximise the protection for the occupants. Many of the structural elements have been designed to absorb and dissipate impact forces so as not to cause harm to the occupants. There are now sturdy transverse beams in the cabin floor which increase resistance to side collisions (besides the beams in the doors). bla bla bla….

—————————————————————-

Even Chery can make this such of statement with their car… Even as assembler, P2 also can

when we talk about MYVI safety feature, why must u giving me a JNCAP Passo/Boon crash test result???? where goes Myvi JNCAP, ENCAP, CNCAP crash test result?????

• Lakers 09 Champion.. on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:40 pm

lol i find it funny when ppl talks about proton plans or action like they actually proton itself… such as exora was meant to have turbo campro but forced to use cps… bla bla bla….. lol..

btw… manual tranny for exora already been in proton plan since exora was designed… not it's not because of perodua mpv that trigger proton to produce manual tranny for it… lol.. it's launch was delayed due to some tests yet to be finished… u don't want to buy a vehicle that is not completely tested… do you?

• gen2lama on Jun 23, 2009 at 4:51 pm

bad fc?…..i dont care….

and if u guys say that exora bad in fc, do 13000 exora owner to be care about it?…

let do some comparison calculation here…..the different between 0.17 per km and 0.15 per km….

my daily city driving distance – 80km….so total 1600km per month (20 days working days)…

my EXORA …..0.17 x 1600km = RM272

other good fc cars …0.15 x 1600km = RM240….

WOW !!!!!!!!!!!!!….

but i drive my NGV GEN2 to work…..HAHAHAHAHAHHA…..so cheap maa…

• bmpower on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:03 pm

so many PERODUA SALESMAN here!.

oh.. i wonder.. they scare to death they can't sell their SATE!..

I see.. instead of that.. it's a nice marketing strategy by proton.

This cheapest Baseline is their final weapon to fight the sate. ops.. i mean sette wannabe.

All the best proton!.

as the defender of Japan money sucker proxy. .

• sadin on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:08 pm

PROTON MPV EXORA underpower?? ,

I think u hit the right point there. Proton shud not repeat the same mistake, producing half baked product like previous g2 just to gain some mkt share while stand to lose more. Although the 1.6 cps is just as capable as other modern engine, but the perceived underpower might just affect it. I think that's why otner car co s launch a model with various engines to give more options and some "mental satisfaction" to the customers.

• srwkfren on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:26 pm

wat 4 65k…..

tehn it looks very weird with black bumpers….

not nice looking…

• gen2lama on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:27 pm

Another comparison….some say GL 1.8 fc really good….12 sen per km

so based on my example given before….1600km x 0.12 = RM192 per month…..different RM80 if compared to EXORA…..RM 80 ringgit only????

and then compare the price…1,8 NGL – 97k, Exora H line RM75…so 22k different…..what can u get from that 22K ?…….it can cover up the different in the FC (RM80) for 23 YEARS!!!!!!….

then if u compare against Based line EXORA…..let say the price 65K….32k different from NGL……SIGHHHH…….

if u can buy cars more than 70K …..minyak pun jadi issue ka?

• insanbiasa on Jun 23, 2009 at 5:36 pm

PROTON MPV EXORA underpower??

Hayya, this man again.. We can never stop ppl talking to much.. @%#$#$!

You have a very high ambition but with the lack of respect, honor, humble..

Try to be a smarter without planning is worst than a dump.

Tired la heard somebody to 'Tegakkan benang yang basah'.

• i heard Exora Manual will sell below 65K (wont be that far from that ugly crampy P2). the manual version should overcome the so called slight "underpower" of the auto version that some perceived. Bear in mind the top speed for manual is more than 180kmh.

• raies on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:11 pm

How worst is consider worst? The way I look at it the RM20k++ price difference will compensate that. Let say you drove 3k km per month, and assuming the FC for EXORA is RM0.17/km while the other car is RM0.15/km, the saving will just be RM60. Thus the RM20k will last more than 15years… (assuming no fuel hike)

• Prismo on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:25 pm

srwkfren said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:26 am

wat 4 65k…..

tehn it looks very weird with black bumpers….

not nice looking…

—————————————————————–

with RM65k, perhaps u can get a nice looking body colored bumper M-line spec with manual tranny.. as i explained before that M-Line auto is priced RM69k… with this B-Line spec, if there have auto tranny, it's would be nice to set the price around RM59k and for manual tranny RM55k would be sound delicious… yummy…

• 4G63T DSM on Jun 23, 2009 at 6:31 pm

gen2lama said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:27 am

then if u compare against Based line EXORA…..let say the price 65K….32k different from NGL……SIGHHHH…….

—-

My point exacly. if Proton was good (as a manufacturer) do you still think Nissan can sell the GL at a 32K premium over the Exora? Who in the right mind would do that? That just proves the point that people are willing to use hard earned money to not drive a local marque. Just shows how badly the public perceives Proton and also in a way, Perodua (which is excusable since they dont have an MPV yet, which also means it might actually do well).

If Proton launched the more powerful Turbo at under 80k, I would be first in line to buy it. Any more and it would be repeating the mistakes of the 1.8 Waja. Proton has got to remember it doesn't have a very warm fuzzy place in peaple's hearts, and therefore, any premium close to its "import" competitors will do it no favours. (Like what the Koreans faced 10 years ago)

I have particular interest in this segment because I'm going to buy a 7 seat mid sized MPV in the near future. The Rondo was the obvious choice until they screwed up the 2nd row seats.

—-

K said,

June 23, 2009 @ 9:59 am

i heard Exora Manual will sell below 65K (wont be that far from that ugly crampy P2). the manual version should overcome the so called slight “underpower” of the auto version that some perceived. Bear in mind the top speed for manual is more than 180kmh.

___

Thats good news, however, one must be wary quoting "top speed" as a good measure of performance. Its not v-max, but how quickly you get there which is the usual "seat of the pants" measure of performance.

And it's all relative, there's this bloke on the Exora forums that says the Exora is not underpowered, but then again, he used to drive a Wira 1.5Auto so he has probably never felt what is NOT underpowered before (and also low FC).

In the same light, if the Manual Exora is what the Manual 1.5 Wira is to the Auto 1.5 Wira, then there would be good things to be said about the Exora.

• farghmee on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:00 pm

myvi crash test mana weh? mana? mana?

passo, boon ade la. myvi mana?

hey come on la. wish was the benchmark.

but in what aspect it was benchmark?

room space, power, handling or quality?

care to explain?

i think only proton has the right to explain this.

alahai…bumper kaler itam cmtu pn dh xjd beli?

lame. ble cat sendiri la bai.

kdg2 irg bli yg murah2 ni sbb dia nnt nk make-up.

steel rim tukar sport.

bumper itam tukar custom made.

itu pn jd issue?

yg bagus kita puji, yg xbagus kita bg dorongan supaya boleh jd bagus!

sokong barangan luar…diorg bg ape blk kt kita?

• p1basher on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:08 pm

common man, exora and p2 coming mpv is in diff category, comparing them is not that fair as exora really is a standard mpv and p2 new mpv is mini mpv. ok i know it, in malaysia it is always p1 vs p2 for normal ppl, so lets continue to compare them.

and of course buying cars first is the price range, second is the reliability and for mpv is about the room to fetch 5-7 ppl. since proton is still notorious about its quality issue and fc, i am pretty sure ppl who plan to buy exora will wait until p2 mini mpv launched to do comparison and make their decision.

for p2, good things are no headache for consumer after a few years (toyota/daihaitsu rebadge), better fc compare to p1 because smaller and better power to weight ratio, and perhaps cheaper price. no bias, it looks like P2 is going to win here, it just own the categories ppl will think first.

for p1 exora, good thing is it got space. it is national made. perhaps this exora b-line with manual will share same price range between new p2 mini mpv. will these convince enough to put ur hard earn money to get p1?

proton is growing yes. but is it growing to the right direction? i suggest we put the best admin and engineers into proton (force jpa student to enter proton hahaha) if we want to continue support proton. or else it would be a big problem for us in the future as current progress will not make p1 to be a recognized good car brand even like kia? Can we compete with kia? …in the future? p1 it is time to plan to make a really sales car.

• Mufasahoo.com on Jun 23, 2009 at 7:28 pm

cakap banyak aakorang,, gi beli aa kalu brani..meluat aku baca,,cite rally dakar aa…mengarut

• Kriss Bangla on Jun 23, 2009 at 8:05 pm

diorg dah xde idea nk bash , start mengarut laa…

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 23, 2009 at 9:36 pm

whatever.. it's 111 commments already lor..

you think buying car is like buying goreng pisang ar…??

I see video about PROTON crash test..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=HGDU36NxSYQ

but better the camera show what happen to the driver foot, is the pedal terangkat or not and how bad it is.

do you know why must produce good cars.. because after the customers buy it, if the quality not good.. they will keep curse it until loan is finish to so many people (how many year it is??).. imagine how many people they do an unpredicted "marketing strategy" in a shame way. If PROTON not take care of the quality, repeating the same mistake, they will be one day that nobody want to support national car project because everybody menyampah to them already.

PERODUA is TOYOTA/DAIHATSU dog.. the japanese really happy because they got "national car" status.. easy money on tax regulation!

• g-mie on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:22 pm

AKU sokong hantu_malaya..
    …………………………………………………………………………………………………..
    hantu_malaya said,

June 23, 2009 @ 8:20 am

apa la korang suma… barang buatan malaysia korang kutuk, hina. pas tu dok megah2kan barangan luar. kalu rasa korang dah hebat sangat, pasai pa tak ja datang kat proton atau perodua buat tawaran diri untuk bagi cadangan, idea, perancangan, rekaan atau pun binaan yang menarik. supaya orang jepun pulak yang jadi gila pada barangan made in malaysia ni…

• EricG on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:26 pm

well, if exora comes with a at least 2.5 diesel turbo i will definitely buy it. im sick with petrol.

• perolapan on Jun 23, 2009 at 10:44 pm

A Myvi news on Daihatsu japanese wedsite, the Myvi was developed jointly by Perodua and Daihatsu based on the Boon,

Translated Japanese to English,

Myvi debut 26 May 2005,
    <a href="http://translate.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2F%2 Fwww.daihatsu.co.jp%2Fwn%2F050526-1f.htm&sl=ja&tl=en&hl=en&ie=UTF-8″ target=”_blank”>http://translate.google.com/translate?u=http%3A%2…” target=”_blank”>Fwww.daihatsu.co.jp%2Fwn%2F050526-1f.htm&sl=ja&tl=en&hl=en&ie=UTF-8

Minor Change of Myvi 25 August 2008,
    <a href="http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ja&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2 Fwww.daihatsu.co.jp%2Fwn%2F2008%2F0825-2%2Findex.htm” target=”_blank”>http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&s…” target=”_blank”>Fwww.daihatsu.co.jp%2Fwn%2F2008%2F0825-2%2Findex.htm

• perolapan on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:04 pm

The Viva was developed jointly by Perodua and Daihatsu based on the Mira,

Viva debut 11 May 2007,

<a href="http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&sl=ja&tl=en&u=http%3A%2F%2 Fwww.daihatsu.co.jp%2Fwn%2F070511-1f.htm” target=”_blank”>http://translate.google.com/translate?hl=en&s…” target=”_blank”>Fwww.daihatsu.co.jp%2Fwn%2F070511-1f.htm

Which means, Perodua not the only Toyota/Daihatsu badge? ;) ;) ;)

• beedeen on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:34 pm

bila nak kuar neee… Nak beli laaaa. Ketea dah ta de nee.

• beedeen on Jun 23, 2009 at 11:46 pm

kenapa proton harus kuarkan b line. tukar enjin pada 1.8 ke 2.0 adala pembeli. dia org takut nak beli pasal engin kecik aja. yg lain dah oky apa.

• Lavardo800 on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:14 am

EXORA……

Nice name……

Great space…….

Just OK fo the dashboard…….

Fit with people's budget nowadays…….

Seems like feel the upgraded quality…….

BUT…….

Nape la seat die wat kecik…kan orang asia zaman la ni kan semua besaq besaq blaka……hadui…budget punye kes la ni..

• tokmoh on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:26 am

4G63T DSM: abt underpower thingy, well, u've answered yourself. Last time I checked, the majority of motorists in msia don't use wiralution/satrialution/wajalution/subaru/evo/RX8. Nope, the majority of msians drive myvi. Get it now why many ppl think Exora is "adequate"? Where have you been all this while? Just got out of The Ring kah? Welcome to Malaysia.

• sempoi on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:55 am

MPV Perodua dijangka termurah

Oleh AZMAN IBRAHIM

[email protected]

PETALING JAYA 20 Jun – Perusahaan Otomobil Kedua Sdn. Bhd. (Perodua) dijangka membuka tempahan jualan kenderaan pelbagai guna (MPV) yang didakwanya termurah di Malaysia pada September depan.

Harga kenderaan tujuh penumpang itu dijanjikan serendah RM57,000 dan maksimum RM66,000 sebuah, akan diumumkan pada majlis pelancarannya iaitu sekitar minggu ketiga Oktober depan.

Harga yang ditawarkan itu adalah lebih rendah berbanding MPV Proton Exora keluaran Proton Holdings Bhd (Proton) yang dijual sekitar RM70,000 sebuah.

Berdasarkan perbandingan harga secara rambang tanpa mengambil kira kelebihan lain termasuk keupayaan enjin, MPV Perodua itu dikatakan menawarkan penjimatan harga berbanding dengan pesaingnya yang lain seperti Innova Toyota (RM90,000), Grand Livina (RM80,000) dan MPV Naza Citra (RM65,000).

Pengarah Urusan Perodua, Datuk Syed Abdul Hafiz Syed Abu Bakar berkata, MPV dengan keupayaan enjin Daihatsu dan kekuatan 1.5 liter akan memberi kepuasan maksimum kepada para pelanggan yang mementingkan kualiti dan penjimatan minyak.

Katanya, sasaran pelanggannya adalah golongan eksekutif yang sudah lama mengguna kenderaan Proton seperti Proton Waja dan Iswara selain golongan yang memiliki keluarga besar.

Beliau berkata, keunikan MPV Perodua adalah terletak pada saiznya yang kompak di dalam kategori MPV dan ringan dengan anggaran 1.1 tan metrik.

''Kami menyasarkan pengeluaran MPV berkenaan sebanyak 2,000 hingga 3,000 buah setiap bulan untuk memenuhi jangkaan permintaan yang tinggi di pasaran,'' katanya pada majlis Cabaran Eko Perodua di sini hari ini.

• Rdley on Jun 24, 2009 at 1:34 am

so perolapan… you r saying perodua is making their own myvi and viva laa?? not rebadging from their sister company??

i'm confused… hehehehehehe.. but i'm proud m'sian have two national car company…. even thai and indon don't have one… (do they have??)

• gugusan melur on Jun 24, 2009 at 2:47 am

wtf story about rubbish myvi here?

berambus!

• kejang on Jun 24, 2009 at 6:55 am

ramainya expert pasal kereta kat malaysia ni rupanya…

tergelak jugak baca comment kawan2 semua…

ada yang bagus..P1 dan P2, please take note on the positive by malaysian..

Exora punya depan cun..blakang..mmm..lu pk la sendiri.

P2 punya 3rd row…alahai…camtu nak jual 55K++…

Upgrade la sikit bro…kesian budak2..

• oldwira on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:19 am

I WILL NOT buy any Japs car and P2 what so ever for some reasons. If I were to buy an imported car that is affordable, its gonna be Pug 308T or else I will always stick to proton. I wanna be like Japanese, Korean, French and Germans who always support their national cars, respectively. For me (based on my experience) proton is a worth product for my money.

• tak takut kutuk buat lah baik-baik. tak suka tengok forum belah saja

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 24, 2009 at 12:19 pm

whatever.. I FULLY SUPPORT PROTON INVOLVEMENT IN INTERNATIONAL RACING MOTORSPORTS especially World Rally Championship 2010 (WRC).. bring that WRC turbocharged technology into PROTON commercial cars.. then this PROTON MPV EXORA underpower problem will be solve!

PROTON need official tuners like TOYOTA have TOM'S as official tuner!

currently TOM'S JAPAN is with PETRONAS MALAYSIA (Super GT, Formula Nippon and Formula 3 Japan, even TOYOTA YOUNG DRIVER PROGRAM (TDP) is collaboration with TOYOTA motorsports and PETRONAS motorsports).. I think PETRONAS can share their knowledge in high level of motorsports with PROTON and other malaysian automotive companies.

PERODUA must get another partner to move forward.. hopefully it will be from German, but Italy automotive company is a good choice also.. can't always depend on only one outside company lor

• why not hybrid?

Why ppl always want turbo? (hard to maintain….)

why not a supercharged hybrid (none manufacture done b4)?

Or just a 2.0 hybrid…

If Exora come with 2.0L but fuel consumption like 1.0L car, price about RM7OK with the Exora Prime (The White with body kits Exora)….

I will buy it also…. If 2.0L but fuel consumption like 1.0L…..

Then I will say, P2 U r dead…..

I say confirm sell like hot cakes….

• farghmee on Jun 24, 2009 at 5:40 pm

(thread hijacked)

hehe..kalu d46t dijangka termurah tu ape la agaknye spec dia ye?

• Lakers 09 Champion.. on Jun 24, 2009 at 7:26 pm

2.0L with 1.0L consumption????? wow… where in the world can u find that??

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:18 am

2.0L with 1.0L consumption.. in racing motorsports it can be achive, like F1 cars run at over 300km but the tank is only 35 gallons..

but we must be more realistic la.. PROTON not involved in F1.. WRC project in intial test stage, so for now at least turbocharged engine, then next time built Diesel engine..

did you know that Diesel engine consume less, more fuel efficient, longer lifetime and also more easy to do turbocharged or supercharged?

I wonder how PROTON want to compete in international market if not invest in racing motorsports like successful Germans company like BMW, Mercedes, Audi, Volkswagen and like Japanese Toyota, Honda, Nissan did. PROTON must make wise move, collaboration with other company is also important, like the japanese Toyota in early stage they collaborate with General Motors (GM) from USA and then with Citroen and Renault from France.. because of that collaboration Toyota gain USA and French technology.. same with Japan company Nissan, they collaborate with Ford from USA.

PROTON need German engineering to move forward!

• biggolowzeususe on Jun 25, 2009 at 5:55 am

Hey guys ;

Whatever it its, I still support Proton because of the cheap maintenance and after market spare-parts that I can get at anytime. But I am quite sure the MT Exora going to do well compare to the AT Exora which the AT normally has 20% power dissipation. So the MT Exora will gave you the power that you need which I am sure for the M-Line will only cost you around RM65k which for me quite a reasonable price.. I am waiting hahaha …. :)

• Cheap maintenance? so the Terengganu MB accusing the Perdana………..

• 2.0L with 1.0 Fuel consumption, that's a challenge…

Nothing is impossible….

If u want to be the one of best manufacture, u must have some strong strength right?

If Japan can make it, Malaysia can… Sure We proud with Malaysia….

Sure every ppl will say:"Malaysia Boleh!!!"

There is a small project offered by Shell (saw it from Poster in Curtin)… for engineering student…

A project about design a small car and use 1L petrol to run 100KM….. (just a small project for engineering student)

So, in future sure Proton can do it!!! if they really try….

I know diesel is cheaper only, but not sure diesel engine consume less?

U try look at Hilux, tiptron or any of them… ask the owner are their truck consumption low?

• nazri on Jun 25, 2009 at 7:50 pm

June 24, 2009 @ 9:18 pm

2.0L with 1.0L consumption.. in racing motorsports it can be achive, like F1 cars run at over 300km but the tank is only 35 gallons..

but we must be more realistic la.. PROTON not involved in F1.. WRC project in intial test stage, so for now at least turbocharged engine, then next time built Diesel engine..

did you know that Diesel engine consume less, more fuel efficient, longer lifetime and also more easy to do turbocharged or supercharged?

—————————————————————-

wow u very smart person la ….. F1 got such GOOD FC compare to proton cars?? lolz… u forget 35gallon when convert to liters is 132.5liter :) and it only can run 300KM?? (note : 1 gallon = 3.7854 liter)

so 300KM/132.5 = 2.64 KM per liter… how smart!

• Cross Polo on Jun 25, 2009 at 8:04 pm

Actually proton have involve in international race. Go look at IRC even just provide the neo body but that the small step to move big lap afterword. I remember the time that mazda introduce 1146cc rotary engine in his RX-7 back in 1978. lot are comment that it is have enough power to make this monster with small rotary engine since lots of other company have lost interest in this rotary technology. But heck, today new RX-8 was most desireble car for all sportcar lover after 1st apperance in X-man. Give time to proton to develope more R&D, even german . "1 nation can't built in 1 night, but the nation can demolish coz of shellfish though" think by your self. this are true face malaysian now days.

• yes involve in investment at China, and rugi again……………sigh

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:49 am

I said this…

June 24, 2009 @ 9:18 pm

—————————————————————-

then Nazri said this..

wow u very smart person la ….. F1 got such GOOD FC compare to proton cars?? lolz… u forget 35gallon when convert to liters is 132.5liter :) and it only can run 300KM?? (note : 1 gallon = 3.7854 liter)

so 300KM/132.5 = 2.64 KM per liter… how smart!

——

back to old F1 cars with V10 engine.. BAR Honda F1 team reach 400.459km/h in year 2005 with V10 3.0litre engine.. now F1 really boring 300km/h with so many idiot rules created by Max Mosley (that's why I wrote 300km/h).. even Ayrton Senna once called Honda "the greatest company in the world" because of Honda extreme involvement in F1 and now you see la Honda so popular, Honda start the business by making a motorcycle not cars.. but why Honda so popular now? with Honda i-VTEC engine.. where do you think Honda test their invention if not in racing motorsports such as F1.. and Honda bike also so famous the CBR make Valentino Rossi win so many title already.

Cross Polo have good point there.. the wankel/rotary engine project.. the problem with that engine is that it consume alot of fuel but the engine is really strong, powerful and light, that's why most helicopter use wankel/rotary engine.. so how Mazda want to solve the wankel/rotary engine although it have a high potential, because it is so powerful that it can make helicopter fly (mostly used during World War 2)? none other solution except heavily involve in racing motorsports, Mazda use the racing motorsports such as Super GT in Japan,24 Hours of Daytona in USA, KONI Sports Car Challenge in USA as a testbed for wankel/rotary engine R&D, they gather data, make graph, do post-mortem, do Kaizen.. and repeatedly improve the engine.

and the result Mazda RX-8 wankel/rotary won International Engine of the Year and Best New Engine awards 2003 and also holds the "2.5 to 3 litre" , Mazda see the solution on how to reduce fuel consumption of wankel / rotary engine by concept "3:1" ratio (not 3:16 Steve Austin Stone Cold in Wrestling ar!) furthermore as of October 2006 the RX-8 has won at least 37 international motoring awards including 2003 International Engine of the Year, the 2003 Japanese Car of the Year, Australia's Wheels magazine's Car of the Year for 2003, the 2004 Singapore Car of the Year, the 2004 U.S. Best Sports Car, and several UK Best Car Awards. It was named on Car and Driver magazine's Ten Best list for 2004, 2005, and 2006. It also took home 1st place on Car and Driver's "Four of a Kind" comparison test.

can you see how big the benefit you get when you involved heavily in racing motorsports to improve your product?.. MAZDA just prove it, TOYOTA also did it, BMW even make M division that stand for MOTORSPORTS (result BMW won 34 International Best Engine award already).. Mitsubishi have EVO project test the MIVEC engine in WRC!

but my big question why la PROTON use RENAULT engine to compete in IRC and WRC??.. what a waste.. test la CAMPRO engine… PETRONAS have also high performance E01 engine, can use that what… and then transfer la the technology to commercial cars just like other giant cars manufacturer did.. PETRONAS already make engine before PROTON did, the PETRONAS FP1 and PETRONAS E01 is a result of PETRONAS extreme involvement in high level of racing motorsports (and PETRONAS gain 18 new patents copyright of new engine technology).. PETRONAS said after they involved heavily in racing motorsports PETRONAS noticed that the Japanese really crazy.. company like HONDA, YAMAHA, SUZUKI already have nearly 1000 patents copyright of new technology because of their heavy involvement in racing motorsports (this is just the case of motorbike).. in case of cars.. you just imagine la how much…

you think big companies like BMW, VW, HONDA, TOYOTA, AUDI, FERRARI and others involve in racing motorsporsts just for fun.. just aim to win the championship ar… you cannot see what's beneath it.. almost everyday they keep improving their products by the involvement in racing motorsports and also do SWOT to take care of customers demand and critism.. PROTON, PERODUA and other Malaysian automotive company must learn la from the successful company in this world.. quality is very important, if you only look for better future then mix and compete with the best, explore this big world, in Malaysia different demand, other country different demand.. there is big opportunity out there la.. see la PETRONAS our Malaysia #1 succesful company (only 20% profit come from domestic in Malaysia but 80% come from outside).. I agree with PETRONAS motto "PARTNERSHIP TAKE YOU FURTHER", that's philosophy already proven!

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 26, 2009 at 12:46 pm

because Cross Polo touch about Rotary / Wankel engine.. this type of engine fit into PROTON EXORA MPV then I am 100% sure PROTON EXORA MPV will not even have one bit of underpower problem (that's the result of what Mazda gain from its heavy investment and involvement in racing motorsports.. I want to add Mazda even test the rotary / wankel engine in 24 hours race of Le Mans where the cars there really look like alien)

although the MAZDA rotary / wankel engine is very small but it is very powerful!

Mazda Renesis rotary / wankel engine 1.3L which used in Mazda RX-8 have 238 bhp, while S4PE 1.3L in PROTON SAGA can only produce 94 bhp. That's why in some country MAZDA RX-8 have tax equal to 2.6L engine although the engine actually very small one only 1.3L engine. Rotary / wankel engine was firstly invented by German engineer name Felix Wankel (GERMAN ENGINEERING IS THE BEST IN THIS WORLD!!!).. race car, jet fighter, go-kart, fast boat, helicopter use wankel / rotary engine because it is so small and light yet can produce a very great power!

the only problem before MAZDA invent RX-8 is it consume alot of fuel, but the Japanese MAZDA can see the solution after they involve heavily in racing motorsports.. now that engine already won about 37 international awards!!!

PROTON must be wise.. if you want to success you need to invest in racing motorsports, create a new technology from it, PETRONAS just did it! take care of customers need, demand and critism, always improve the product, be more creative, turn a problem into something really profitable

if you look at shit.. yeah it's smelly, only a waste.. but if you have great knowledge, you learn science, you learn from your experience then you know that shit can be make into fertilizer / baja and can make your plant grow more healthy and produce more quality fruits.

MALAYSIA BOLEH!.. but if PROTON, PERODUA and others only main2, don't want to improve, always think negative from automotive industry watcher, and ordinary car customers comments.. then nobody can help them.. a problem is not always a problem, a success can't always be a success, it depend on how you manage and creatively can survive all the hard obstacle and maintain it.

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 26, 2009 at 2:17 pm

my other critism is why la back design of this PROTON EXORA MPV really comot one.. look like roti benggali lor

Malaysia have so much Art & Design students what.. can use their talent la wei..

prefer HONDA CRV or MAZDA MPV rather than this PROTON EXORA MPV back design..

• Lakers 09 Champion.. on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:53 pm

PROTON MPV EXORA underpower?? read back what u said and pls realise how stoopid u r…. 300 km for 35 gallons???

pls… convert that to km / liter… then u'll see…

• Prismo on Jun 26, 2009 at 3:54 pm

Haha said,

June 25, 2009 @ 12:09 am

Cheap maintenance? so the Terengganu MB accusing the Perdana………..

——————————————————————–

Then u should ask the driver how their drive the MB's Perdana… err… isn't Perdana using Mitsu's engine and gearbox right?

• Prismo on Jun 26, 2009 at 4:03 pm

Even toyota, honda and the other giant car manufacturers also rugi before la.. now what happen to Ford, GM? USING THEIR "DUIT RAKYAT" TO BAIL OUT FROM COURT!!! if u don't want to rugi, don't involve in business la.. just makan gaji is enough…

• zorroxi on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:24 pm

buatlah keputusan sendiri, bagi komen pun tak guna, ada duit beli mampu beli yang cangih macam alphard, estima ke..wish ke, kalau yang rasa duit tak berapa ada tu beli jer lah kereta buruk jepun tu…seperti yang dibanggakan, yang duit sederhana tu belilah yang harga 80-100k yang kurang mampu belilah yang malaysia made je..jangan nak bertelagah …buat bodoh je…kadang tu yang tulis pandai tu jauh sekolah tak tinggi pun sekadar baca komen orang lain terus percaya, jauhlah kalau dibandingkan dengan enginear proton yang ada tu, kadang-kadang tu yang komen nak lap tayar proton kat kilang proton pun tak layak. sorry yek..

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 26, 2009 at 11:48 pm

Lakers 09 Champion….LeHype The Loser

back to the old F1 when they use V10 engine.. 35 gallons (about 132litre) that can run about 400km/h.. that's about 30cent per km.. you can't compare with ordinary car la wei.. F1 cars keep on moving like non-stop.. imagine how much the engine keep sedut the minyak la wei!

PROTON MPV EXORA must learn from MAZDA RX-8 at least, small and light engine but really powerful one!

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 27, 2009 at 12:01 am

Lakers 09 Champion….LeHype The sLoser

sorry I got some typo error.. ok correction

back to the old F1 when they use V10 engine.. 35 gallons (about 132litre) that can run about 400km/h.. that’s about 30cent perlitre (that's for about 400km/h).. imagine you drive the F1 car 200km/h maybe 15cent perlitre.. then imagine again you drive F1 car 100km/h only about 7cent per litre..

only idiot don't know what's the importance of racing motorsports to improve automotive industry… TOYOTA, BMW, FERRARI, HONDA, MERCEDES, VOLKSWAGEN, AUDI, LAMBORGHINI, PORSCHE.. waaa so many la.. they are now giant in automotive industry because they involve alot in racing motorsports..

who want to buy TATA Nano..?? you tell me.. I bet you they can't compete well in international market like Japanese and Germans companies who involve alot in racing motorsports.. PROTON must learn more la..

• Rdley on Jun 27, 2009 at 1:28 am

aku nak tergelak plak baca write-up 'PROTON MPV EXORA underpower??'.. ntah haper2 ntah… aku tak tahu samada dia ni terer gila bab automotif.. atau ba*g*ng gilerr…. hehehehe…

ni just nak bagi sakit hati proton supporter niih…

• Bibby on Jun 27, 2009 at 4:01 am

Another problems for Proton…Malaysia Government always ask Malaysia buy Local Car..Proton…But u all know Proton Interest is damn high…higher than Overseas car…

Like last time…Honda…Toyota…with 2.xx% can oredi…but Proton still with 3.88% or 3.99%….if let say installment for Rm 60k…9 years…u know the different for interest is how much? If take 2.4% compare 3.9%…1.5% per year…Rm 900 x 9 = Rm 8,100….If count with FC…compare proton car with overseas…1 month Different about Rm 100+-… 1 Year = Rm 1,200..

Rm 1,200 x 9 years = Rm 10,800…

Rm 10,800 (FC different for 9 years) + Rm 8,100 (Interest Different for 9 years) = Rm 18,900…. You all see the diferent??

If we buy Rm 60k Proton car = we can Buy Rm 79k Overseas car like City…Vios…

Another Thing..second Value…Vios..City second value is high than Proton car…

So….Proton still rasuah and cut cost for those material….spare part thing….

Proton wont improve at all….Still step the same step….

Like my New Saga BLM…1 year only…Outside Door handle Break =.=''

When open with very smooth also break…I take to Services Center claim…the Staff say…

" Ini Biasa Already…last time Many Gen2 ppl come to claim….BLM also…"

same like Power windows switch…Know have problems oredi..but Proton still want to use and take stock from same Supplier….Many material…Spare part..also too…lousy quality…but Proton still take stock from them….WHY ???

BEcause the Supplier…manufacturer spare parts to Proton…all have relationship with Proton some department high position PPL…all rasuah here…rasuah there….like example…The plastik material should be cost Rm 200 for market…but Proton…they want kopi money from that Plastik…ask the Supplier Quote Price Rm 250 – Rm 300…expensive than market…Where the Rm50-Rm100 going? all inside someone Pocket oredi…

Tats why with the Budget…Proton can get lousy material…spare parts..

I still remember read the newspaper before…The reporter ask Proton…A lot of Japan automobile Material & Spare Parts is Cheap than Malaysia one…Quality is better than Malaysia manufacturer one…Why not direct buy from Japan ?? Why take the material & spare parts which is Expensive and Low Quality from Malaysia Manufacturer ? What is their answer you know ??

We dont want to take import material & spare parts…because we want support local industries…We want use local material…. WAT THE Fxxx….

Have cheap n good quality thing dunwan use…go choice low quality n expensive than Japan thing pula ???

Like for U…If Honda Civic / Toyota Altis / Latio Sport Hatchback Sell Rm 60k…Gen2 CPS..Waja CPS also Sell Rm 60k…which one u select ?????

Consumer…we also know to choice good quality with best price one…WHY PROTON Still dunno ???

Haiz….Hyundai is start like same times with Proton…but Hyundai improve so much…so much more than Proton…like the Quality…material…soundproof…and so on…but proton..still use lousy thing…

What I hope proton improve is their QC….the material they use…put more effort on car body structure…

• sempoi on Jun 27, 2009 at 4:23 am

mmg dia bangang pun. ada ka MPV nak masuk rally dakar… apa ke jadah?

• mitsuloton on Jun 27, 2009 at 8:25 am

Prismo said,

June 26, 2009 @ 7:54 am

Then u should ask the driver how their drive the MB’s Perdana… err… isn’t Perdana using Mitsu’s engine and gearbox right?

———–

This is you know I know question ;)

WTF the G of T oredi annihilated the image of Proton…

• Bagus on Jun 27, 2009 at 9:26 am

bagus Bibby comment , beritahu tu smeua org masih budak lagi tak boleh bangun sokong sokong buta saja.

Bagus PROTON MPV EXORA underpower?? commnet, kasih tahu meraka yang tak tahu macam katak dalam perigi.

siapa yang bangan ……..wakakakkakakkakakak

• PROTON MPV EXORA und on Jun 27, 2009 at 11:55 am

Bibby, PROTON still want rasuah here.. rasuah there… quality still not very good one..

what a really bad news from PROTON customer.. how come the service centre staff said "Ini biasalah"???.. WHAT THE FXXX.. that really not acceptable, imagine someday you drive the PROTON car and then the pintu tercabut on the street.. people will die ma..

PROTON don't want to learn from their past mistake..

"Aiya scare what? Proton is protekted by gaberment because it was the Government-Link-Company kan? If Proton bankrupt then the gahmen will shame dan the only Malaysia's pride is gone lah!" – PROTON cronies… on why they don't want to improve the quality of PROTON product

"Make sure that our exported cars are well built because the Britons are very fussy. Or else, the car will be rejected and sent back to Malaysia. Car for Malaysia market? Tak apa lah, no need quality control since poor quality will make sure they always replace and service their car. More profit for us. ”

~ actual quote from the PROTON management team

PROTON enter IRC and WRC also use RENAULT engine why so scare to use CAMPRO engine with what they called CPS technology?? I wonder why la..

• PROTON WAJALUTION WR on Jun 27, 2009 at 3:02 pm

Bibby.. how come PROTON SERVICE CETRE can said "ini biasalah" to their precious customer??. do they have feeling or not, car is not something RM1-RM2.. with that amount of money can save it to buy house which the value will never decrease like buying car.

PROTON need to take care of the cars quality.. the service centre need to be more helpful not just said "ini biasalah"

• KimiBongok on Jun 27, 2009 at 9:02 pm

bangang giler la budak tu… takkan nak bawak mpv pi rally dakar? dan campro ada 1.6 je.. sdangkan rally yg proton masuk sekarang ni kategori s2000…. hang bongok kot ?

• Lakers 09 Champion.. on Jun 29, 2009 at 7:21 pm

PROTON MPV EXORA underpower?? lol…. u dun calculate FC just like that meh… if 400 kmph 30 sen… so if 200 kmph divide by 2… 15 sen…. then 100 kmph divide by 4… 15 sen…. lol… makin ur stupidity known by everyone… lmao…

still… i still waiting for ur example of 2.0L engine with consumption of 1.0L engine…. tik tok tik tok… time is running out…

btw dun make a quote like this… “Make sure that our exported cars are well built because the Britons are very fussy. Or else, the car will be rejected and sent back to Malaysia. Car for Malaysia market? Tak apa lah, no need quality control since poor quality will make sure they always replace and service their car. More profit for us. ”

~ actual quote from the PROTON management team "

u might get sued later… lol

• Hassan on Jun 30, 2009 at 11:30 am

Haha said,

June 25, 2009 @ 12:09 am

Cheap maintenance? so the Terengganu MB accusing the Perdana………..

hahahahahaha…u really make me laugh..hahahaha… :D

• haiya…why prtn used renault engine because it can be modified to become 2 liter engine while campro is only 1.6. it is the maximum if u know what i mean. s 2000 competition is for 2000 cc displacement engine…dont just barking here and there like u know everythiing by reading wikipedia. wokeh, and perdana engine and gearbox 100% made in japan, so blame the nippon….adios…..

• Bagus on Jul 01, 2009 at 6:49 am

alamak , people sell the cheap 15 yrs old to prton lah….takan dia jual mivec…dia beli engin lupa beli kursus how to repair and maintain….wakakakkakaka

• BUKAN BELI LUPA KURSUS MAINTAIN ENJIN, TAPI KAT JEPUN, GEARBOX XDA PROBLEM, DAH TEST KAT MALAYSIA PUN OK, CUME KEKADANG OWNER LUPE NAK PATUHI TEMPOH SERVIS DAN SERVIS KAT KEDAI LUAR, BUKAN PROTON, PASTU GUNA PART BUKAN ORIGINAL…ADIOS

• Tengokaje.. on Jul 01, 2009 at 10:14 pm

Hopefully the B Line can be sell below the 65k. For rear and front bumper can be repaint later. Please P1, make sure that the quality of your product will be better and better, and also after sales especially SC.

Salam..

• proton plz surprised on Jul 01, 2009 at 11:42 pm

tu la.org nk pkai kete dia nak pakai kete tp x reti nk servis.susah r.kete ferrari pun rosak kalo x pandai jage.haha.

IMO proton entering irc,wrc

(someone mention about this so i just followup n i know this p.exora thread but it still related to proton right.dun blame me.haha)

or any motorsport is a good move.a lot improvement that proton can get from there.but why in the world that our engine still old tech.motorsport is an expensive place to be in and i hope proton dont waste any money and i know motorsport is good ad for car company.even we win any motorsport but in reality proton street car still not improve with lousy engine or someone say underpower,nice exterior,lousy interior like exora,QC,after sale service,bla,bla,bla still suck.it doesnt go anywhere.trust me,when u see how automotive world going this day.maybe u can survive in here in malaysia,but how long.people get smarter n smarter this day..if u proton still not improve,we will see what will happen.

• Elvis on Jul 02, 2009 at 2:24 am

Many hardcore proton fans here that maybe never actually bought any Proton cars or too stupid to believe that supporting Proton is being Malaysian. Read what Bibby said which is very true. I wont add anything to Bibby statement. WISE UP HARDCORE FOOLS!!!

• Azmi K on Jul 02, 2009 at 5:43 am

Hi Alvis,

Do you call Japanese and Korean as FOOLS as they are hardcore supporters of their own cars' brand? How about US President, Barak Obama who wants American to buy US brand FIRST? If Malaysian don't support their own car's brand then who will? Jeremy Clarkson?

• Elvis on Jul 02, 2009 at 6:39 am

Bro Azmi, first thing, you spelt my name WRONG. it's ELVIS not ALVIS. GM and CHRYSLER already BANKRUPT in US. You talk about supporting own brand? Americans are buying Toyota brands in US. My relative there also talked about the inferior quality of GM and CHRYSLER cars which finaly resultant these companies to bankrupt. In fact many Koreans and Japanese brand cars have gone due to customer preference. What we see now are brands that keep up or listen to their customers. Bro Azmi, too many corruptions in Proton has leave me feeling very dissapointed. I have supported Proton from the very beginning. From the first Saga until current BLM which has SO MANY PROBLEMS that one time i almost lose my life due to faulty part. TAYAR CABUT TIME I WAS DRIVING BRO!!!!! I tell you what, you keep buying proton since you are so stupid. Gob bless…..

• anybody read metro today? it is confirmed that proton is developing turbo engine for this mpv..

http://www.hmetro.com.my/Current_News/myMetro/Thu…

• Stupid on Jul 03, 2009 at 5:58 am

MPV berturbo? alamak turbo kan untuk sportcar? buat lah lebik kuasa……sigh masih belum matang lagi…

• farghmee on Jul 03, 2009 at 8:05 am

hmm…

i shouldn't call u mr. "stupid"..

but ur comment does reflect ur knowledge.

open ur mind by reading paultan's post on peugeot mpv.

then tell us here, things that u have learnt :)

• Rdley on Jul 03, 2009 at 8:03 pm

btw, he/she really admit that he/she is stupid by putting name like that… hehehehehe

• Then go ahead buy the peugeot lor…this is a blog , not a show to reflect knowledge..XXXX

• Yus kl on Jul 04, 2009 at 7:18 pm

Last time when I read comment written here ,it is full of information but now it is full of stupid comment wrote by either stupid people or stupid salesman that did not achieve their target sales .

• you also same comment something useless….wkakakak

• deeen on Jul 07, 2009 at 2:21 am

kat mana boleh beli chrome untuk blkg exora ek, sy beli yg b-line punya

• kucau on Jul 07, 2009 at 4:00 pm

EXORA 1.6 MT to be unveiled by YAB PM at Hari Peneroka in Felda Moakil, Segamat, Johor today!!

• donny on Jul 07, 2009 at 9:09 pm

macm ni…proton hanya untuk yang tidak mampu beli kereta luar.

• Rdley on Jul 07, 2009 at 10:20 pm

yeap!!! proton truly for m'sian people… (as you said, 'yang tidak mampu beli kereta luar')…

Donny ni orang kaya, banyak duit, bleh beli kereta luar (but, why you are here??) kalau tak salah aku kat sini org dok citer psl keta proton kaan??

• Getting more Exora on Miri, Sarawak road these days….

Hope can keep on improving and Malaysian can have cheap and good quality cars!!!

(Maybe one day with 2.0L engine but 1.0L fuel consumptions, sure the imported cars can’t beat Proton when those days come)

• segalanya nampak ok bagi exora tapi tayar nampak macam tak balance dengan body keta da…harap bleh pertimbangkan dengan saiz sportrim.

satu lagi kenapa sportrim yang lubang 5?

• iyeke on Nov 01, 2009 at 7:44 am

MPV masuk dakar rally? nak mampos namanya tu…

yang aku tau, exora ni MPV terluas dlm kelasnya. so no hal kalau nak buat zakar rally kat dalam keta tu…

• ejal. on Nov 07, 2009 at 11:24 am

stupid , dumb , moron , fool…what else….???that's to potray the con-exora here…yg memberi pandangan negatif terhadap usaha negara sendiri….

kalo nk beli kereta luar,sure…beli la..tp buat apa duduk kat Malaysia kalo anda semua (yg buta n xtahu menilai) tak menyokong usaha negara kita sendiri…kalo banggakan kereta luar,maknanya minda anda semua masih dijajah oleh orang asing,negara asing..tak payah berkumpul dekat dataran merdeka n nyanyi lagu Negaraku..anda siapa??..anda tak diperlukan la kat sini kalo hanya tahu memberi komen yg negatif…ape yg bagus sgt dgn kereta luar??…engine??..mewah??…dorg punya kereta nampak gah , nampak mewah , berkualiti coz of rakyat dorg menyokong buatan tempatan dorg..KORANG APE ADE????…korang la manusia2 yg paling bodoh ak tgk dr segi komen2 korg…huhh…dasar rakyat berhati penuh virus ar wei..bla ar dr Malaysia nie…Malaysia tak nak simpan virus2 dlm negara die..sebab virus2 nie tak tau menilai n buta serta tuli…

• Betullah donny, terlalu banyak rasuah dalam proton and perodua also. Ni semua keje org atas2 tu lah. Just nak tolong kerabat sendiri je, yg jadi mangsa… kita sebagai pembeli…. :(

• aaron on Nov 18, 2009 at 8:03 pm

sudahlah.. everyone entitled to their own opinion.. we all sound like malaysian parliment here.. i don't think anyone of us want to go down to that level.. the main consensus here is if Proton can produce quality desirable cars and can survive without crutches.. i don't think any malaysian will mind owning a 'national pride'.. proton boleh!

• terburai on Nov 19, 2009 at 1:28 am

Bodo la.. Proton dah tentu 1.6 mmg la underpower sikit. tapi dari komen orang yang dah pakai semua kata ok je..takdelah underpower sangat. For those who doesnt want to believe kene la try sendiri sbb orang lain dah cakap ok. bodo sombong sangat nape.. sengal betul. Pastu nak suruh masuk rally. ape la punye bengap. Sekarang harga dah keluar dalam 58,000. Kire bersesuaian la dengan harga die. mmg la body buruk. kalau nak cantik tambahlah 10 ribu lagi. Beli murah dapat barang murah. Tengok Perodua Nautika, Semuanya JDM, sebab tu mahal. Dahtu takde orang nak beli. sbb ape? sebab jenama perodua.. kelaka betul. padahal spec dah sama ngan toyota rush. barang semua sama. cume kecik je. Padehal lagi kecik lagi la power. But they still want to buy underpowered toyota rush. sbb ape? sbb jenama.

• wei5119 on Nov 20, 2009 at 3:33 am

sure perodua can slam exora.. everyone are waiting for it toyota base MPV..

• Proton new B-line soft lauched last two weeks sellling at 55k (manual) i heard. Watched the new spec on the showroom back @ balakong:-

– no air bag on passenger seat but still remains for driver

– no air-cond blowers for the 2nd row seater

– no sport rims

– no paint job on the door handles

– no radio controller on the steering

I think both Proton and perodua trying to kill each other on the pricing.

• jason on Jul 17, 2010 at 11:00 pm

The MPV 7 seaters should be 1800cc onward while drive on mountain area
    Rgds