20% discount for toll users who pay more than 80 times a month from September

SmartTagOur Prime Minister announced something interesting for road users in Malaysia on his 100th day as the 6th Prime Minister of Malaysia. From the 1st of September 2009 onwards, there will be a discount for frequent users of tolls in Malaysia.

Details are sketchy at the moment but here is how it works. Any user who pays toll 80 times or more per month will be given a 20% discount. This is only for users of the Touch and Go and Smart Tag systems, and not for those who use cash to pay for their tolls.

Whether the discount will be for the entire amount of toll paid or just the 81st transaction onwards is not known yet. This discount will also be a temporary interim measure while the government completes a currently on-going study on toll rates (especially their affordability) in Malaysia which would take more time.

The government is also looking to implement more incentives for users to use electronic payment systems at tolls. The cash queues are currently just too long, but sometimes the Smart Tag and Touch and Go lanes are also jammed badly especially when you already have 5 to 10 cars in the queue and the dude at the front can’t seem to get the sensor to recognise his Smart Tag.

Another motorist-related announcement on that day: class B2 motorcycle licenses learning fee will be reduced to RM211 per person instead of the current supposed RM500 to RM700, thanks to negotiations between the government and driving schools. Is this true? Anyone know how much a B2 license really costs to take currently?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• i wish on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:16 pm

i'm the one without b2 license yet… very nyum2 this infor…

• HACRSB on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:24 pm

oh, how about penang bridge toll got discount 20% too?

• first on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:27 pm

first!

• not the first guy on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:28 pm

NoooooooooooooOOoooOoo…

anyway, kudos to najib for cheaper motor license

those driving lesson really cekik darah sometimes

• metalheads on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:32 pm

1 month 30days

everyday travel back and forth from work will pass the toll 2 times a day.

2 tolls (back and forth) x 30 days = 60 times i travel toll per month..

this is a total rip off and bullcrap.. majority of people wont travel more than 70 times toll per month. unless your a sales man or a lory driver…

come on Najib, we are not stupid anymore!!

• Paul Tan on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:34 pm

if you stay in KL(cheras) and study (and later work) in PJ like i used to for a number of years – connaught 50 sen toll, kerinchi link 1.50 toll, spring rm1 toll (not on the way back), that's 5 tolls a day, and 150 tolls a month.

• SiaoLang on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:36 pm

another bullshit from G

dont hope too much for discount…

• not whatever number on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:49 pm

lol.. even give discount now called a ripoff

• antwill on Jul 12, 2009 at 11:53 pm

only a minority would enjoy this.

• Pual, that's only ppl from cheras. I don't think ppl from any other area will hav benefits from this 80 times BS.Another thing is, some people might pass less than 80 times but the amount they paying is much more than those who does pass toll 80 times.

• kamelads on Jul 13, 2009 at 12:01 am

If the G is sincere, it shld lowered the toll rates so that every1 can enjoy the rebate.

• EricG on Jul 13, 2009 at 12:08 am

Syukur ada..

• Tungkai on Jul 13, 2009 at 12:27 am

It's just some "sweets" for election in Kelantan only

• In other news, commuters who use the bus more than 4times per day, will get 20% discount.

Also, houses with more than 2 different fixed broadband services will enjoy 20% discount.

Breaking news: as the 20% discount craze is spreading, there are unconfirmed reports of 20% discounts for lucky Malaysians carrying more than 3cellphones & wearing more than 3 pairs of undergarments per day.

A protest for this coming sunday, is planned to pressure the authorities to implement the 20% discount for those wearing more than 3 pairs of socks per day. The unidentified organizer said, "We are also rakyat in need too". Please gather outside hush puppies (klcc).

• rexis on Jul 13, 2009 at 12:33 am

KS,

Such as, salesmen. And many many people who came from the south of KL such as Kajang, Cheras, etc.

• 3 analysts are weighing in on this new development of 20% discount for toll usage frequency of 80 & above.

An unidentified lady analyst comments, "The loophole is we are going to see more people using cheap tolls charges to buildup their monthly 80 trip quota.

For example, by using the "connaught" 50 sen toll, you will be able to pump your quota to 80 trips for the minimum cost of RM40. Then use the 20% discount for outstation trips of RM2000 toll for the rest of the month, thereby getting savings of RM400.

This is a very kind gesture by the Gov. to encourage the "masyarakat penyayang" concept by having a family project to reach the 80 trips quota. Families can plan to have picnics & gathering in their new Exoras, while working towards the quota."

A second local analyst adds, " There is also the opportunity for a secondary income stream for local staying nearby to cheap tollbooths. By pumping their TNG cards to the minimum 80 trips, they can loan those "pumped cards" for a 10% profit. Their customers can use the cards & share half the savings with the "Card Pumper". This is the basic trait of the resourceful Malaysian".

A third foreign analyst chips in, "A new money-making franchise system in the making! Money out of nothing!"

• katak on Jul 13, 2009 at 12:55 am

to give but u need to use more toll everyday so back to square 1 bullshit….

y not just give everyone a flat rate discount 20 % if the normal rate is RM 1.00 and now only cost 0.80 that is easy. Just like call more and pay less. why should i call more when i don't have to .

• Lolipop on Jul 13, 2009 at 1:02 am

yup.. KUDOS FOR NAJIB!!

• Salamander on Jul 13, 2009 at 1:14 am

Well its better than nothing right?

• Patriot on Jul 13, 2009 at 1:37 am

gov malaysia, give 100% free for those pay more than 800 times, much better, seriously

• Salamander said,

July 12, 2009 @ 5:14 pm

Well its better than nothing right?

http://paultan.org/archives/2009/07/12/20-discoun…

it's nothing, really.

cheers!

• Littlefire on Jul 13, 2009 at 1:59 am

I think the 80 times Toll only get 20% discount is a bit laid off… How you know that person travel 80 times? I can also share my touch n go or smart tag with my friends until 80 times only can get discount?

Somemore how many people? 10%? that are really travel 80 times a month? Even i drive around KL or Penang also around 2-4 toll payment a day. Besides that, Saturday or Sunday maybe resting. Calculate really 20 working days, u need to have at least 4 toll perday. Besides that, i think the G will only give ppl 20% discount from the 81st time. How the G pay the 20% from ur previos 80times usage? Cheque by end of the month?

I think the best way to increase touch n go and smart tag users should give them some discount for every toll. Just like Penang bridge given to the touch n go user discount 20% every time they pass the toll. This only for Penang bridge touch n go application! Not from PLUS or other places…

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 13, 2009 at 2:00 am

Paul, it works if you are passing thru lots of tolls with short lengths between them. Don't see how its going to work for those who stay in Seremban and commute to KL. Longer distance, only 1 toll booth. So most a month is 5x4x2(times a day)=40 times. So even if you pass another toll booth it will be 80 times. So ideally on working days you need to pass 3 toll booths to get the 20% discount.

So that amount is less than the 80 times. Another thing is that, which operator's is willing to give the discounted price? Since each operator is different, and make different profits.

I think it will benefit very few motorist who uses the toll quite a lot.

• droll on Jul 13, 2009 at 2:49 am

why is it based on the number of times you use the toll gate and not on the total amount you spend on tolls?

• infinity on Jul 13, 2009 at 2:57 am

yeah Salamander…i agree with u…better than nothing..as this is jz a temporary measure, so, let's hope for better announcement next!!

• in long term increase toll transaction=increase profit. how bout 20% reduction at all toll for all, now tat makes sense, adil dan saksama

• Muhandis on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:01 am

For me, this is another 'Stupid Gift' From Najib.

• i one of the person that would not enjoyed this toll discount although live in klng valley but yet im still thanks the g for dis incentives… some malaysians don know how to thanks but always komplen2 and komplen, im sick wit dis attitude..

• Bodowee on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:48 am

what better than nothing bullshit … our gomen has raped us for so long and you call this better than nothing ..you guys must be politically blind …. stop being too- forgiving rakyat for once! kick BN out next election !

• ReConX on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:48 am

hAishh.. bagi salah..tak bagi pon salah.. typical malaysian… migrate to another county lah bro..

• barca_supporter on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:50 am

BIJAN Rules

• Darren on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:52 am

it will benefit people like… having to travel 2 tolls in LDP everyday to reach office… 2 tolls return trip = 4 tolls per day x 20 working days = 80 tolls per month… some more i go out on weekends while surrounded by tolls in puchong…

on average i spent RM150-200 per month in tolls just going to work and having time off to meet my friends or shopping trips on weekends… seriously i just top up few hundred on my smartag only to last 1-2 months and i am not even a salesman… i am just a normal guy who clock around 2500 km per month…

• joe amirnor on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:53 am

Another "tremendous extra huge super mega duper beneficial gift to the people" by Najib.

Well done.

Btw,Mystvearn,

Honestly, u should be one of Najib's advisor.

Hidup Umno !!!

Lol ..

• Tiadaid on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:19 am

Bodowee said,

July 12, 2009 @ 7:48 pm

what better than nothing bullshit … our gomen has raped us for so long and you call this better than nothing ..you guys must be politically blind …. stop being too- forgiving rakyat for once! kick BN out next election !

————————————

PR is more of the same…no difference. They're only using the anger against BN to further their own political game. So far, haven't seen anything but mudslinging from both parties…

• koozold on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:39 am

it's much more better if G giv us 20% discount on petrol rate! everyone can enjoy it.. with the 20% discount, i can use it to pay toll and use the toll to the max!! not only 80 times a month rite? :P

• Bodowee on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:41 am

Ok let me recap for you youngsters …

BMF scandal

MAS scandal

Lingamgate scandal

Amin Syah Naval Ships scandal

AnwarIbrahim False Sodomy Scandal

Sabah IC scandal

Perwaja Steel Scandal

PKFZ scandal

Last but no least … our national budget has been in deficit mode for the last what ..20 yrs despite the massive oil revenue ..palm oil …rubber ..logging ….all down to mismanagement and corruption …you guys still kata BN ok haha …. read more please !

• Littlefire on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:42 am

I think now BN is more copycat of PR.. Just see all the economy measures… Like the Zamry at Perak, most of his measures are also copy from PR.. Makes me puke… So many years of ignorance and only change a bit… is that sincere? Just ask urself? And why Najib want to announce so many 'sweets'?

Remember there is another by-election coming right? So for those BN supporter, why not u gamble ur luck this time?

• Just give discount for touch N go and smarttag users… why have to be 80 times? they love to make things complicated… like the cash rebate thingy when the petrol price hike…

• kimi_ on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:11 am

another "NAJIS" gift from pm NAJIB…

• kamarol on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:11 am

bodowee, let me list down PR gate(just 16months plus form govt)

-16 sept liar gate

-kg buah pala empty promises gate

– pig abbotoir gate

– selangor incapable exco's gate

and that is only just 16 months in power….what if 600 months(50 years)…..i prefer to deal with devils that i know……..

• Patricia on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:38 am

not sure about how b2 license is. but rm700+ for car license, that i am sure.

gonna be taking mine soon :)

• SM Siddik on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:49 am

talking about toll system, i think Malaysia should take the technology i saw (and used) in Dubai. they do have toll highway but you will never see toll booth or toll lane……should Malaysia learn from them…..

• bmpower on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:18 am

WHAT 80 TIMES? B**LSH*T!

why not just 20 times?

if some1 go and back every office day, that mean at least 2 times per day. equal over 50 time already.

He should gave all discount for those using TnG & Smart Tag.

Cash are sicks.

'They try to be honest and look honest, but they (G) DIDN'T!' ..

• fazron80 on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:33 am

Alot of political analyst here. I am personally dissastisfied because I would not get this 20% discount announce by Najib. However I am still pleased to know that some people will get this benefit. One of them might be Paul Tan himself. Whether it's BN or PR is not really the matter. The grass isn't always greener on the other side. Don't be naive because in politics, all politicians only want it for themselves. No matter it's government or the opposition.

Whatever complaint we have here are nothing compared to some people who are actually struggling to even eat or to have decent shelter. It seems that most people here don't even appreciate the B2 license incentives. It's great for the lower income people. Najib should also look into seriously tackling mat rempit problem. One of it is to have lots of legal track for them to race instead of on public road.

• Very stupid. How to be 80 times per month.>

• bereasonable dumbos on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:42 am

80 times would benefit most Malaysians, particularly those who live, as Paul Tan mentioned, in the South KV. For the rest that are not, the bulk of your journey would be toll free. If you do take tolls, say RM2 per day, it wouldn't be too much to bear, now would it? So, think again la.. If you stay in PJ, do try to take the LRT as it is very accessible and most of those staying there are middle income bracket. Each of your route to KL are TOLL FREE!!

Besides, to blame the inability to reduce toll rates at current govt, I believe ppl should be more savvy and understand why this can't be done. If any, you ppl should blame those who were ruling the country when these toll concessions were given up (i.e. the ex-PM who has his own blog). So, there you go, have some sense and think. It's not easy as it may sound and please be practical with the rebates. If you can't afford, find alternative routes.. if available, these routes are even cheaper than any rebates that can be dished out..

• Calvin Foo on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:47 am

Didn't the garment learn anything from Singapore EZlink system yet?!?!

Cash, pay more.

TnG, pay less.

transit, pay even less.

• joe amirnor on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:51 am

Well, in Malaysia everything is "politic",

Either PR or BN (which is worst),

Just get used to it, live life.

Majulah sukan untuk negara.

• To those who pay cash, let govt give them promo card la. Say pay for 5 tolls, get 1 toll free. Can ah?

• henry on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:55 am

both govt & opposition are idiots.. BeEnd,DAP,PKR are bullshit.. typical politicians, if you trust any, you're a sore loser and big-time idiot!

• henry on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:56 am

SM Siddik, you go Singapore also got la, not need to go all the way to Dubai. You want free study trip ah??

In London, also they have C-charge, full with cameras around the area. I haven't pay my c-charge last time for 4.5 months, they came after me and wanna tarik my car..

• henry on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:58 am

80 times is nothing for me because on average is 100 times.. no problem, just another good benefit for me.. petrol at RM 1.75 and toll overall reduce 20%.. somemore got new job with 45% hike.. life is good.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:34 am

Nah, there is the MTEN to advise Najib. :P

The idea of having Smart Tag/TnG cards to get 20% reduction is that the gov can track the amount of times you pass through toll booths.

I personally know somoene staying at bukit antarabangsa (the recent earthquake place) and working in Penang mainland and communite daily from KL. I know it does not make sense, but there are people like that.

Users who use Smart Tag/TnG actually just topup their cards and most of them actually don't care through how many tolls/amount of tolls they pass thru to get to their destination. The only thing they do care is that they get there fast. The only time when the TnG/Smart Tag users really care is when their card amount is low, and this is excluding users of TnG which have auto-topup cards which auto-topup their cards to a fix amount the moment the amount on the card is not enough to pay for toll. So these people will never use the Tambah Nilai lane.

Those actually who do care are people who pay by cash as they set aside a specific amount for tolls. Or government agents using coupon based system. (there is a coupon based system where you just give a coupon to the toll booth and don't pay anything).

So, the more likely you are to see physical money part away from you, the more likely you are to care about your spending. Also, how do you bring your case forward to toll booth operators. I did >80 times, but no discount. No receipt. No travel log on yourside. The TnG cards have their own history, but you need to go to a kiosk to find out. What are the chances of the toll operators "withheld information reluctantly" when you come and claim because their profit is their own. Only TnG cards are streamlined not the profits.

IMO, this is actually still a half-baked proposal. Until some investigative journalism is done, (after the first month) then you will never know if it works. Also you need to keep a month's record of the roads you use. That is not an easy task.

Paul, after 1 month of this discount thing, please reopen this subject and let users who do >100 times or so tell their experience. See if they get discounts.

• For a Better Malaysi on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:39 am

What Najib has done is not a big deal. Its a basic responsibility as a PM (so why such publicity?). Most urban ppl are politically matured enough. What happened to the promise to combat crime and fight corruption ?

These are the major disease that prevent Malaysia from developing!

• solarcar on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:45 am

this is a stupid offer!… don't ridicule the people again…this is against the One Malaysia slogan as only certain people can enjoy the discount. anywhere they are catching up with the mobile companies, the more u use, the less u pay… (maybe the electricity company should practice this)

• i think they are trying to boost smart tag sales, clear some old stock, then introduce new system (MLFF)

• Black Dog on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:14 am

1st, this 'wayang kulit' offer only benefit 0.01% of motorist. (That's to cheat those not good in Maths & Science)

2nd, I don't understand why many motorist still prefer to waste their time queing to pay cash? Touch & Go cards only cost RM10. Just make all the lanes cashless! Maybe they want to touch the amoi's hand! (Many countries have tolls that you don't even know you pass thru' them).

• I paid RM598 for my B license about 3 years ago. I don't remember how much the B2 license was at the time, but the reason I took the full B instead of B2 is because the difference in cost wasn't that big.

• Littlefire on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:40 am

kamarol said,

July 12, 2009 @ 9:11 pm

bodowee, let me list down PR gate(just 16months plus form govt)

-16 sept liar gate

-kg buah pala empty promises gate

– pig abbotoir gate

– selangor incapable exco’s gate

and that is only just 16 months in power….what if 600 months(50 years)…..i prefer to deal with devils that i know…….

—————————————–

Are u still in Dinosour world?

Let me inform you that above 3 have been solved, just that the selangor exco is still pending.

Sept 16 = BN sent 50 mps to Taiwan for 'education'? Besides that who rejected no confidence vote tabled by Anwar & Wan Azizan?

Kg Pala = Go and check the agreement sign by Mr. Koh (Gerakan) with the developer! Totally a scam with such a cheap price! Did the villagers knew it before it's too late? Now they are negotiating with the developer and holding it from progressing, besides that lodged a police report which i think will be closed by the G.

Kedah Pig abbotoir = Moved to Bedung, Kedah!

Are u those blided human which follow the propaganda? Open ur eyes and listen! All the facts are in the websites!

• transformer (Member) on Jul 13, 2009 at 9:05 am

couldn't belief such discount are being announced by PM… ?

Does our PM encourage roaduser to use toll >80x monthly for the sake of getting 20% discount ?

what about those petrol subsidy use to fueling such travel…? isn't its a waste of rakyat money… and not green too!

our forrest has depleted… our animals facing extinction…

suggestion:

should introduce KGI as well, Key Green Indicator to all Electrical and Automotive related industry, all product must carry proper label/indication… (DOE and SIRIM are useless).. Electrical should use Energy Efficiency Ratio Rating(EER) and Automotive should label with Km/Litre.

• mengQ on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:48 am

Err… "GIFTs" ?

Excuse me, i supposed that's a PM 'responsibility' in reducing rakyat's burden?

" 11 GIFTS FROM NAJIB "

My ass.

and who will really travel more than 80 times toll per month??!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 13, 2009 at 2:41 pm

Lets stick to tolls and not into politics here.

I just remembered something else. You know DBKL or someone there wants to make gantry style toll like in Singapore and like congestion charge in UK. So if you use Smart Tag, I don't think it will work with the new system. I have seen the gantry in Singapore and their receivers, looks a lot different than our Smart tag.

I agree, Make all TnG/Smart Tag lanes. Just open 1 cash lane. Open 3 apply tng here now lanes. But then, some people need cash lanes as they need to claim mileage. Cannot get receipt from TnG/ST lanes

• Hi Paul,

Are those that are using Touch and Go for payment at the Johor New CIQ applicable to this rebate?I am driving a school bus in and out of singapore everyday and I am paying around RM180 per month (75 times).Do I get the discount? Could you please explain further?

Thanks

• normalroaduser on Jul 13, 2009 at 3:54 pm

wow, good news! we've got 20% discount on toll. wow, sad news! i live in east malaysia. why the pennisular brothers and sisters have that kind of sweets!

• petronasracingfan on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:11 pm

to current government..

1month have 30 days.. must use 80 times to get the 20% discount.. thats mean you must use at least 3 times toll perday.. OMG!

I AM VERY DISAPPOINTED, Malaysia government not really honest in helping Malaysian..

currently I am in Japan.. to tell you the truth in Japan, every holiday have 50% discount on the nation's highway tolls for passenger cars and motorcycles equipped with electronic toll collection (ETC) systems. The toll also have a ceiling of a maximum of 1,000 yen ($10) irrespective of the mileage driven.

In and around the major cities of Tokyo and Osaka, there will be a 30-50 percent discount on tolls but no ceiling. There are also some discounts for weekdays but no ceiling in tolls.

The weekends and holiday discount includes

* 1,000 yen all-you-can-drive in regional area (Partially starting on Mar 28)

* 1,000 yen discount rate of Shikoku-Honshu Toll Bridges and Tokyo Aqua Line Tunnel (starting on Mar 20)

* 20-30% discount for Tokyo and Osaka metropolitan highwayseffective from 1 April 2009

This japanese highway discount program is only effective if you:

* Drive regular passenger cars, or motorcycle

* Install Electronic Toll Collection (ETC) device in your car or motorcycle

* You must make at least two payments a year

same goes to shinkansen.. holiday japanese shinkansen have a special discount.. PM Najib of Malaysia must visit Japan..look and experience for yourself #1 most efficient transport in this world.. it is JAPAN!

MALAYSIA must learn from JAPAN to have a very effective transportation and really willing to help the Malaysia citizen/rakyat..

PM Malaysia, Najib.. you must be honest.. come and visit Japan, then you will know what I am trying to tell you.. please visit Japan and implement the system in Malaysia

• azrai on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:57 pm

In a week we work for 5 days. In a month there are 4 week. So 4 x 5 plus minus 20days. Go work 1 toll, back from work 1 toll. 2 tolls per day x 20 days = 40 trip on toll. Cannot get discount ma. Ok, make it 2 tolls a day = 80 tolls, still no discount. haiya. Gimmick only.

• henry on Jul 13, 2009 at 4:58 pm

JQ, please push/waste your time/money to use the toll 80times (with SmartTag or Touch'n'Go) then you will get 20% rebate. Which mean, you have to spend extra RM 12 and then you may get discount 20% in total down to RM153.6 (from initial spending of RM 192). so basically, from your current toll spending, you only get RM 26.40 discounts. not bad.. one month free roti canai every morning.

• anonymous on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:07 pm

20% discount? how much could it will benefit all of us? how much we can save from it? max oso just RM10+-….. fed up with our government…. always come out the trick with figure… come on… we are no more like last time….

this is another lame politic show

• xavier lert on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:08 pm

agree wit alot of you….yada yada…people in cheras (0.50+1.5+1=RM3) back forth 5 tols aday….but for me rawang KL (RM3.60 oneway..so 7.20 perday) consider if i travel 30days amonth isnt that gonna be RM216??…so it souldnt be 80 but 40!!!!??? sucks u G.

• bmpower on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:19 pm

it would be better and easier if they just give discount to all TnG and SmartTag user.

All tng & sT get less 10% than paying cash.. ok what?

then all people will migrate to using card instead of cash.. and told ya, using card make you more using it! just like credit card tooo…

A popular wannabe PM but sorry, it didn't works btw.. we're calculating it.

• I think the rebate will not work the way you guys are hoping, i.e. direct discount or rebate from the toll charges but when you reload the next month.

If you top-up or reload and based on their records, you have used more than 80 times in the last 30 days, you will get a 20% bonus on top-up, so say you reload RM100, you get RM120 of credit. A direct discount would create havoc to all the toll concessaion system.

A few questions must be clarified:

(i) What does Najib mean by use T&G or Smart Tag more than 80 times a month. Does this cover all Toll Plazas or just thosed owned by PLUS. Is Paul Tan's calculation correct, cos I also go through 4 or 5 toll plazas a day from Cheras to KL. Will the 80 times mean the same Toll Plaza?

(ii) How will the discount work, a direct rebate or only when top-up?

(iii) What is the cut-off period for calculating the 80 times. Will this be only on 1st or 30th of the month, it that case, the queue will be miles long.

As usual, G announce without the details…

• Muhandis on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:34 pm

Why I said This Is The STUPID GIFT from Najib ?

1) The discount is FOR TOUCH N GO AND SMART TAG USERS ONLY. How about the people who use cash to pay the toll ??

2) 20% for 80 times per month. For the person who support this, try to calculate how many person who cross the toll plaza more than 3 times per day and 30 day per month. I think majority workers in Malaysia just work maximum 6 days per week or 24 – 26 days per month.

So, last I want to said, UMNO@BN STILL WANT TO 'PERBODOHKAN' RAKYAT…

• euler on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:46 pm

Why not just give direct discount when ppl top up their TnG?

e.g. when top up RM100, then the amount debited into the TnG card is equivalent to RM120, or in other word, 20% saving…

Discount based on number of times is just not a wise way la…

Ppl could past thru many lower price tolls compare to some1 that uses lesser tolls but with higher price… But these ppl paying higher toll price get NO discount??? (I am 1 of these ppl)

What is in the G head? Can they count? Perhaps…

• droll on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:55 pm

quick question: who is paying for the 20% discount? ??? our tax money???? i don't believe things come free. the concessionaires are not just going to give up money like that.

• brutus on Jul 13, 2009 at 5:56 pm

80 transaction for sales people very easy only. just exit an every toll from KL to PG. 1 round trip easily more than 30 transactions!

• McFlurry on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:03 pm

Just get rid of TOLL roads in Msia.

Reduce car prices too.

I bet our economy will thrive !!

Touch & Go discount will only benefit

its sharesholders.

Why support them when we

can't even get our hands on a SmartTag device.

– std answer -no stock !!??

• Aper Nie on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:04 pm

Uhm..most people dont agree. It doesnt benefit most of toll users.

40 times sounds practical..

80 times sounds like $kaching$

$ or frequency visit to toll booth?

Hope to rethink the idea… for the well being of most rakyat.

• _xXx_ on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:13 pm

if u r traveling from JB to Butterworth, in and out of all exits along the way, you could hit 80 times easily…give it a try hehehe

• mayor81 on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:18 pm

When I took my B2 license 11 years ago, it costs RM300 for the whole deal. When I upgrade my driving class from B2 to B (or sometimes call 'B-FULL'), the price I paid for it almost 6 years ago was RM350, Looking at the huge difference in terms of price, I must say that, If the Government can pressure driving schools to charge at that rate for a B2 license in the current economic condition, it will be good for the people. There is a big 'IF' there though…

• i wish on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:38 pm

if at one month my in-out count is let say 75… can i go to the nearest (my home) and cheapest toll then i in and out to make it 80… can aaaa????

• _xXx_ on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:54 pm

what RM300 for the whole deal? Can u elaborate? hehe

• matahati on Jul 13, 2009 at 6:56 pm

Please dont expect too much from the government, we can see they are trying to help but of course theyll be those who are not gonna get the benefit. Cannot please all so please some la.. bear in mind 'plus' and the business is also a rakyat, not just us. Tolerance is the key, we are not communist anyway

In his speech he was saying how can those youngsters pay rm500 to rm700 for a motorcycle license… so does that mean the reduction affects all or just the youngsters ? I'm just over 30, I hope I am included…

• Lolipop on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:00 pm

Calvin Foo said,

July 12, 2009 @ 10:47 pm

Didn’t the garment learn anything from Singapore EZlink system yet?!?!

Cash, pay more.

TnG, pay less.

transit, pay even less.

—- EZIlink for public transport ma.. This t&g for both tol and public. Ezlink is microwave one. But i like singapore ERP.. good one. Only charge during Peak hour. During weekend no charge.. And no traffic jam to wait for paying tol. But i dont think malaysian suitable to do this. coz Malaysian ar, if do something new aa, they will keep bashing2 and bashing. Useless talk to arrogant ppl. Itu belom tol naik lagi. If tol naik next year, pergh, habis wooo.. comment at paul tan 1000++

• Lolipop on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:01 pm

_xXx_ said,

July 13, 2009 @ 10:13 am

if u r traveling from JB to Butterworth, in and out of all exits along the way, you could hit 80 times easily…give it a try hehehe

——

lolz. if then it will take almost 2 days to reach destination..

• Lolipop on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:03 pm

Muhandis said,

July 13, 2009 @ 9:34 am

Why I said This Is The STUPID GIFT from Najib ?

1) The discount is FOR TOUCH N GO AND SMART TAG USERS ONLY. How about the people who use cash to pay the toll ??

2) 20% for 80 times per month. For the person who support this, try to calculate how many person who cross the toll plaza more than 3 times per day and 30 day per month. I think majority workers in Malaysia just work maximum 6 days per week or 24 – 26 days per month.

So, last I want to said, UMNO@BN STILL WANT TO ‘PERBODOHKAN’ RAKYAT…

—–

Lolz.. if PAKATAN BODOHkan u, u wont realise rite? LOLZ.. Loook back what pakatan did until now, much much BODOHkan rakyat rite? LOLZ

• fazron80 on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:07 pm

Just for kicks maybe if PR did win Anwar will make everything free. No toll, free petrol, you name it, it's free. Because PR is not bs only BN is bs. Anwar is totally sincere, everything Najib do is lying to rakyat. Sorry for me both are bs, both are liars and both PR and BN is fill with scumbags.

Back to topic, our toll cannot be totally cashless. Need receipt to claim toll for those who can claim. Besides not all people in this country is urban. Maybe some people can easily get TnG cards but alot more can't.

• mayor81 on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:36 pm

"When I took my B2 license 11 years ago, it costs RM300 for the whole deal."

"what RM300 for the whole deal? Can u elaborate? hehe"

The Rm300 charge covers;

i) Registration

ii) Traffic safety objective paper test

iii) Lessons (amounting to 15hrs if I'm not wrong)

iv) Test with JPJ

v) Upgrade class or add class. (I have my car license already at that time)

Yes I think it's good for teenagers to take license before riding. It's a show of maturity and self respect whilst abiding the law. And this is a good approach by reducing the price of the process.

• apeng on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:42 pm

malaysia punya org tak akan pernah berpuas hati dgn aper jua yg goverment buat….

yang tau komplen saje….cuba yang pandai komplen tu duk dlm situasi PM kita…pandai ke dia buat keputusan yang akan mengembirakan hati semua orang…???

walau gua sendiri pun tak dpt benifit nie but i know it still give benifit to other peoples…

my fren malay said

" bersyukurlah dgn apa yg ada sebelum ia hilang terus"…..

• gen y on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:48 pm

discount on usage rather than how many times you enter in/out of the toll would make more sense? currrent 5% rebate Plusmile is OK, it' just that they should lower the RM200/month usage, and increase 5% to 20%!!

I myself travel rawang-duta every WORKING days! (that is 2 toll per day, so 22 working days * 2 = 44, not 80 yah!)

• Bodowee on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:51 pm

Why introduce something new when the gantry system is almost imminent and will make the TnG and Smartag obsolete …? Soalan CepuBerlian

• Tiadaid on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:58 pm

Bodowee said,

July 12, 2009 @ 8:41 pm

has been in deficit mode for the last what ..20 yrs despite the massive oil revenue ..palm oil …rubber ..logging ….all down to mismanagement and corruption …you guys still kata BN ok haha …. read more please !

————————————————–

Deficit for 20 years? You really are bodo…only recently the economy's been deficit, before that how many years got surplus! In economy, the best situation to be in is when your spending would neither have a deficit or surplus…cukup2 makan! And now since world economy is down, deficit spending will help spur the economy up. That's why, when economy is down, its best to spend, go buy a house since interest rates down, house prices also go down. During the booming years, save la…

• biggie on Jul 13, 2009 at 7:58 pm

The discount is for TnG only as records are available, and this can easily been implemented when topping up. Only the BODOH and DUNGU will try to implement for cash users with all the hassle of getting records etc.

Discounts is not for everybody, only for those who use toll roads extensively. If discount is for everybody then give cash upon, for road road tax renewals.

• Tiadaid on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:00 pm

Littlefire said,

July 13, 2009 @ 12:40 am

Are u those blided human which follow the propaganda? Open ur eyes and listen! All the facts are in the websites!

—————————————————-

What makes you think those website are true and not just the opposition's propaganda?

• azhar167 on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:02 pm

Well, this so called gifts from the govt to the 1rakyat looks very much like white wash to hide the many issues that have plagued us.

For example, what has come from the current pending issues?

1. The New Automotive Policy. Supposed to be announced this year but its already end Q2 still nothing.

2. AP issues. Lots of noise before the UNMO General Assy but now already senyap.

3. The Public Transport. Too much noise already but no progress lar!

4. Fuel Subsidy or should I say FUEL TAX today. If we're already paying tax for the fuel we use, then why are we still heavily burdened by sales tax, excise tax, AP tax etc etc on our vehicles? Malaysians ARE still paying among the highest prices for their vehicles in the world today. The price of our kapcais exceed those in Thailand by almost 50%!

Not a squeak on these issues. White wash. Hog wash.

• muryadi on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:11 pm

umno-bn rubish….

• bmpower on Jul 13, 2009 at 8:58 pm

B2 license is only ONCE!.. you not make it everyday or every week!.

Toll is another story.. and im still confused why people still wanna que to pay in cash. Even worst.. some queuing at cash toll are above than 15 cars!.. Just buy TnG la aiyaa…

Another thing is..

DO NAJIB'S PAID FOR TOLL?

80 TIMES PER MONTH?

hahahaha.. silly him.. if he paying 80 times per month.. i bet he not gonna make this…. so called gift. (Election Gift?)

Regards.

• mythbooster on Jul 13, 2009 at 9:17 pm

I stay in Sg Petani and work in Penang Island. Each trip to work costs me Rm 13 (RM 3.7 from SP to Sg Dua, RM 5.6 for Penang bridge and RM3.7 from Sg Dua to SP). That's RM325 per month (25 days of work per month).

3 x 25 = 75 days. Still short of 5 days to get the discount. I pay substantial amount for toll (that's excluding fuel – mind you) yet still not elligible for discount.

NOT FAIR!!!!!

• K Tan on Jul 13, 2009 at 9:49 pm

Gov should make the discounts multi-tiered

20 times / month – 5% discount

40 times – 10%

60 times – 15%

80 etc etc

Toll operators save on labour cost for Smart Tags, T N G, so I assume that's the reason why the discounts are for these users only.

• zairy on Jul 13, 2009 at 9:56 pm

i know the price for b2 license. the price is about rm550++ in penang.

• Littlefire on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:03 pm

Tiadaid said,

July 13, 2009 @ 12:00 pm

Littlefire said,

July 13, 2009 @ 12:40 am

—————————————————-

What makes you think those website are true and not just the opposition’s propaganda?

———————

Give u one of the best evidence of the century, saiful medical report. Still the G want to press charges on Anwar?

Besides that, i am asking u to see those independent website, not those from opposition. If the people is smart, why support opposition? Just think about it, there is no good and bad from both sides, but which serve the people more better n sincere?

• Bodowee on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:05 pm

Another CepuEmas question ,

Why lopsided toll concessionaire agreement details are kept under Official Secrets Act and for so long ?

• makan-makan on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:14 pm

wow..

so many Political Party BLIND SUPPORTER here..

my friend, get life lah…

• food_lover on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:30 pm

for those whose saying need to pay cash because u required a receipt, you can obtain your transaction list from the touch n go website in the registered card section.. With this transaction record, you can still print and use it for claim purpose..

Well the "80 times" is not practical for all. Only if you live in PJ and work at Putrajaya or vice versa, then you need to travel two toll booth. But if you take the Jalan Duta NKVE to Bukit Raja everday, even though the toll is expensive, you wont get the 20% discount.. SHIT rite..????

• Blatz on Jul 13, 2009 at 10:48 pm

alamak.. lesen B2 turun harga?.. hmmm… bagus bagus.. support la rempit di malaysia… MAKIN seronok la rempit…

• or can the G try this to give FOC a smart Tag & a RM50 card for all new cars buyers, then may be down the years every 1 will hv a TnG tag??? as all the toll can hv the Tag lane then all can past fastter then make a big jam @ the Toll gate??!!

• victor lee the stupi on Jul 13, 2009 at 11:12 pm

I not bashing or agreeing but…oh why not just reduce all the toll prices (to begin with)…I think that makes rakyat happy at some level…

• ahmad on Jul 13, 2009 at 11:31 pm

need more than 80 times eh? what a bullcrap.. why not just give everytime 10% or even 5% discount to smart tag user to encourage ppl using it? its not like they gonna lose profit by doing so..

• If one commutes from Kajang to KL using the Cheras road, one goes thru' between 2 to 4 toll booths (SILK Hway, SAGA 2X, Cheras) i.e. 8x a day;

If u use the SMART tunnel, then add another 2X.

If one commutes from Kajang to KL via KL-Seremban Hway, then, there is the SILK, PLUS and SMART/NPE (optional); On the return trip, we have MAJU/SMART/NPE, PLUS, & SILK. So anywhere from a minimum of 4 to 6 a day.

On the other hand, if one commutes from Klang, u have between 2 a day (NKVE), 4 a day (KESAS), or if u work in Jln Tun Razak, 6 a day (inclusive of SMART).

Of course, you can avoid the toll and get stuck in traffic, but if u r running late, or dont want to burn too much fossil fuels, then you opt for the tolled road. One burns less fossil fuels on the tolled roads, becoz they too are congested.

Anyway the signs are clear that these are treats (gula-gula) to reduce our anger at these highway robberies. At least lets be grateful/thankful to our elected representatives for remembering us.

Our PM is doin the right things, pressing the right buttons. He is doin a decent job, whilst he has his good cop/bad cop partner in that chap from Muar who is running roughshod. I m happy if my total toll bill is reduced by 20%, and still happy if the 81st toll onwards is reduced by 20%.

This is a fantastic way to get people to change their voting pattern from Green back to Blue (especially the way the Greens are behaving in Trengganu & Selangor).

Just wondering how fast TouchNGo can get the software done.

Vic Lee, agree with u. Just reduce the toll back to the original amounts when they initially started tolling the roads. The sheer volume increase should cover the initial cash flow projections. No way, any of the concessionaires can say that they expected these volumes, as their highways were not built to handle these incremental volumes as proven by the congestions at the toll booths and the tolled highways.

• You can register your touch n go card on the touhngo website, and ask for e-statement. You can see how much and which toll you are going through everymonth. At the end of every month you can see how many toll you'd paid and from there on Gov could provide the 20% discount.

they already has systems in place. they can send you check every end of the month also. its does not matter if you share if with your friends and families, because each touch n go card has its own serial number. if any of face problem by double charge or extra charging before, and make complain to them, touch n go will send a cheque for refund.

Now, if more people using touch n go, every reload, touch n go will charge user RM0.50. Imagine if you have 100,000 users, used it actively every month and minimum reload of 1 time, touch n go, will get RM50,000 per month already. that's not including what they get from toll operator. Wow, at the end some people will be have broad smiler (that would not be you and me ).

• petronasracingfan on Jul 14, 2009 at 1:57 am

this "20% discount for toll users who pay more than 80 times a month from September" is really like the story of PUTERI GUNUNG LEDANG..

Sultan of Malacca sent a messenger Hang Tuah to pinang Puteri Gunung Ledang but she asks many unreasonable gifts..

Malaysian pay tax to current government, we also have so much natural resource.. and we must thanks alot to our almighty god that give us oil and gas (the thing that is most valuable in the whole world).. please travel, especially go to Japan (#1 most efficient transportation in this world)..

Japan can give reasonable highway toll discount to their own rakyat (almost everybody can tastes it on holiday, 50% discount on the nation’s highway tolls for passenger cars and motorcycles equipped with electronic toll collection (ETC) systems.. same goes to Shinkansen (bullet train) users.. do you know that Japan area is almost the same as Malaysia? do you know that Japan only have 12% of their land available for plantation? do you know Japan do not have many oil and gas like Malaysia?

current Malaysia government must make wise choice la.. this really look like political motivated, because of election in Manek Urai right? at least more reasonable la, don't be like PUTERI GUNUNG LEDANG la..

it is so little Malaysian travels at 80 times per month, please be more rakyat thinking, not only business thinking, come visit Japan and see it for yourself.. I am not kidding in Japan in holiday have 50% discount and maximum ¥1,000 (about RM39) for the ride in weekend.

because of that move in holiday.. people in Japan go shopping alot, you just see the current figure of Japanese economy.. Japan is on the rise, it is expected Japan and China will lead the world to go out from global economic crisis.

this is the latest news about Japan economy

JAPAN CONSUMER CONFIDENCE RISE
    http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/business/8147335.stm
    —–

K Tan wrote

40 times – 10%

60 times – 15%

80 etc etc

Toll operators save on labour cost for Smart Tags, T N G, so I assume that’s the reason why the discounts are for these users only.

that's more reasonable to help Malaysian during this global economic crisis rather than only 20% discount for toll users who pay more than 80 times a month (only some can make it).. PM Najib of Malaysia must be more wise, Malaysian are judging the current government action.. this action is really un-wise decision!

PLEASE VISIT JAPAN, see how efficient the Japanese transportation system and their reasonable discount rate.. if want to encourage others to buy the Touch n Go or the Smart Tag device then must have a very reasonable discount rate..

• Student on Jul 14, 2009 at 3:04 am

TOTALLY AGREE WITH COMMENT THAT:

40 times – 10%

60 times – 15%

80 etc etc

Toll operators save on labour cost for Smart Tags, T N G, so I assume that’s the reason why the discounts are for these users only.

• roti naan1 on Jul 14, 2009 at 4:15 am

Damn bardy stupid idea.

Do you think ppl will use the more of the toll (example the dreaded LDP toll) just to save 20% of the expenditure? Would ppl want to line up like 2km long jma just to "enjoy" the discount??

in the first place, I believe majority of ppl WOULD NOT want to use this toll at all. But the location of their home and offices forced them to use this toll.

With this kinda of shitty toll, which ppl had to pay and still get stuck in the jam, the better option is to REMOVE the damn toll. LDP toll is the world's first toll where you "pay and get stuck in the jam".

Najib, just make a trip to the LDP toll and please "enjoy" what the rakyat have to go thru everyday during peak hours. Please do that without your police escort, kay?

I travel thru the LDP toll twice everyday. The jam is damn terrible. Because the place I'm staying, I have bo choice to use the LDP and had to pass by the LDP toll.

Given the choice, I prefer not to use the toll.

• mofaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 4:37 am

See.. whatever someone give anything, it will never be enough.

When in trouble, will ask government to help (like DAP in penang).

But, people will never appreciate any good deeds, any help.

Tak malu kah? Orang dah bagi hadiah but u still asking for more?

Dah diberi betis nak peha pula…

Then everyone should stop working, ask everything for free from government-lah!

Since you’re Malaysian, you’re entitled for everything, right?

Like Metallica said: You greedy bastards!!!

• Topper on Jul 14, 2009 at 5:38 am

just imagine the opposition come up with this offer. im sure people will treat it like a gift from god..

• xavier lert on Jul 14, 2009 at 6:02 am

oh yae..fogat to mention here….KTM(komuter) TnG makan all my balance(rm40 maybe…)…then i hav to buy the manual ticket….i call TnG on the next day..then they say thell check the history then thell refund….,wanna know how long it take to gimme the refund?….10month+++….i already fogat bout this thing when suddenly i got cheque from them…,so i jus wonder how they gonna implement this thing….

• Exora_Owner on Jul 14, 2009 at 6:08 am

The toll prices should be reduced because:

1. Number of car using highway keep increasing.

2. Road making cost only one time, the rest only for maintenance.

• perosembilan on Jul 14, 2009 at 6:24 am

Wah, our beloved troll also got promotion ah, don't miss the change, we should use it kaw-kawh.

• mofaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 7:23 am

last time i heard people complaining about pakatan's water rebate…

'super duper rich' in bungalows can enjoy the rebate, but poor & middle income families staying in apartment can't, because they use bulk water meter…

and yet, people fail to see that eventhough the intention is good, it might be hard to reach the target group…

most jam at toll are because of cash transaction, so the toll discount was given to encourage people to use automatic lane more. the TnG is much more efficient:

1. No need for toll attendants

2. Fast and convenient (no need to wind down for SmartTag)

3. No cash means no need for security van to transfer money (reduce risk of robbery)

4. definitely reducing jam at tolls.

• drMvsPakLahvsAnwar = on Jul 14, 2009 at 8:02 am

"20% discount for toll users who pay more than 80 times a month from September"

3 words to describe this in Bahasa Malaysia

HATI TAK IKHLAS!

—-

the the commentators here like mofaz, Topper.. I want to ask you a few question

1)are you malaysian?

2)do you pay tax to Malaysia government?

3)do you own a car? vehicle?

4)do you use toll?

5)if you use toll how often.. can reach it 80 times per month?

6)do you own Touch and Go card or Smart Tag?

7)if your answer in no.6 is NO then why??

answer all the question first then think back la.. is it practical or not.. is it achieveable to you or not.. so don't be fool by any marketing strategy that will not benefit you (especially if you fail to answer all my 7 questions)

… KEGAWATAN EKONOMI akan berakhir dalam sekelip mata O_o …

funny propaganda that mofaz and Topper already believe!!! LOL

• droll on Jul 14, 2009 at 8:40 am

harlo, don't be silly. encourage people to use TnG and Smarttag?! the FIRST and foremost reason is – how the heck are you going to track people who use the toll more than 80 times a month IF THEY PAY BY CASH?? ask them to keep 80 receipts and then submit it for discounts at the end of the month?

it should be painfully obvious, right? encouraging people to use TnG and SmartTag is besides the point.

• fazron80 on Jul 14, 2009 at 9:18 am

If want to get quick 80 travel from JB to Bukit Kayu Hitam exit and enter highway again at all exits. OMG what I'm talking about and how many exits actually are on the PLUS highway.

Giving TnG users income tax rebates can be useful too. Can reduce our amount of yearly income tax.

LDP toll are weird. From the times using it I can sum it up that you pay tolls to enter jams and also see accidents or get into one.

• BrakeFader on Jul 14, 2009 at 3:00 pm

Mofaz, you’re comparing a business with public utility. If what you say is true, government is only helping the rich. How many % of the rakyat can buy 2 pants just to get the 3rd one free?

Highway agreement of 30 years is as good as license to print money. With increase of vehicles on the road, the collection will increase over time and surely will cover their cost of construction way before 30 years is completed.

It is cheaper if government buy back and maintain themselves.

• the whole toll idea is crap in the first place with stupid concessionaires agreements and all.since we already have it,the best they can do is at least lower the rate.and round up the figure to the lower ringgit from rm1.30 to rm1.it'll speed up the cash lane definitely!this 20% discount is just a gimmick

• BrakeFader on Jul 14, 2009 at 6:39 pm

Another half baked plan by government. It is like buying last minute presents to give away to the rakyat. How many people would use more than 80 tolls in a month?

If they are sincere, just reduce the toll rates NOW and everybody gets to benefit.

• mofaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 7:36 pm

I do believe that it could be more ‘receivable’ if the discount were to be given depending on the amount spent, not by how many time you pass the toll.

But then again I do believe that government has already done their research. Or this could be just temporary until they get more feedbacks.

This would help business to keep on going, and bring up economy in the long run.

If you’re not ‘lucky’ enough to enjoy the benefit, try imagine this:

You went to shopping mall to buy shoes, but discount were only given to pants, would you make a fuss about it and complaining about it to the management until you get discount for shoes?

For those who still argue about the need for receipt for claim, which one you prefer?

1. queue for long time while drive to the toll, wind-down and pay, wait for balance and receipt, and drive away… or,

2. drive to the toll and pass thru in less than 10 seconds, and print out the toll record at the end of the month for claim purposes?

why do you asked me about paying tax? tolled highway is not built on tax money, but it will become toll-free at the end of the concessionaires. you pay for what you use. i'm not shocked that if all roads become toll-free, later people will ask Sunway Lagoon to be 'free for public use' also. everyone will think sunway lagoon was built from taxpayers money…

that's the 3rd world kind of thinking! greedy bastards!

• drMvsPakLahvsAnwar = on Jul 14, 2009 at 8:10 pm

mofaz is a real bastard here..

highway, roads, public facilities actually is government responsibility!

mofaz, YOU WANT TO SHIT.. you make your own blog la!

people are judging PM Malaysia decision and also crappy mofaz comment.. we are not talking about Sunway Lagoon here (mofaz really have no idea now he/she try to relate highway toll issue to Sunway Lagoon LOL)

what kind of research is that?? it look like benefit the toll operators more than it benefit ordinary citizen of Malaysia.. mofaz the real loser!

• mofaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 9:20 pm

what's the benefit you get by attacking me here? that is a perfect example of a person who believe he/she is always right and never want to hear other opinions.

yes, gov has done their responsibilities. if you think tolled highways are too expensive, please use free public roads which are provided by gov. end of stories!

of course i'm not talking about sunway lagoon, it's just another 'business' example. tolled highways are business, not charity. who's doing business just to break even or just to get back their invesment only? toll operators definitely want profit. gov has already paying subsidy for the tolls and now giving more discount. please, try to appreciate!

• bmpower on Jul 14, 2009 at 9:32 pm

mofaz said,

July 14, 2009 @ 11:36 am

You went to shopping mall to buy shoes, but discount were only given to pants, would you make a fuss about it and complaining about it to the management until you get discount for shoes?

—-

The problem.. is… In THIS story.. (as your story version)..

Everybody is going to buy a pants! and they should get the discount..

unfortunately… YOU HAVE TO BUY PANTS FOR 80 TIMES to qualify for the discount!

Doesn't that sound…… stupid?

Got that?

• optimistprime on Jul 14, 2009 at 10:05 pm

haiya apa mau bising saya duk kelantan.tak pakai toll.reducing toll rates is not benefiting us at all.what you all city people like to complaint ah?

• Maserati on Jul 14, 2009 at 10:32 pm

Absolute rubbish again by G.You have to use it 80 times a month and then u get only 20% discount?

Rubbish! Why dont they G just pay of the Concensionaire ,and make all roads toll free??

And by reducing the fees for the motor license,wont there be more REMPITS ON THE ROAD? NOT ENOUGH REMPITS ON THE ROAD NOW IS IT?

SUMMORE CAN MAKE IT CHEAPER AND ALLOW ALL THOSE MORONS TO RULE THE ROAD AND CAUSE MORE JAMS ??

WHAT RUBBISH IS THIS?!!!

• howitzer on Jul 14, 2009 at 10:45 pm

now its become a political debate in here… let judge this on the real situation which does this decision did or not benefit the people.. well somehow it did, but in a really minority placement, but to the gov please do the math more logic which more people will benefit and less complain.. hey, im on the neutral side here.. and on the commentors, please dont be buyers when commenting, either you on which either side.. hate to see all the trash talk here over something like this…

peace… :)

• mofaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 10:47 pm

bmpower said,

July 14, 2009 @ 1:32 pm

mofaz said,

July 14, 2009 @ 11:36 am

—-

The problem.. is… In THIS story.. (as your story version)..

Everybody is going to buy a pants! and they should get the discount..

unfortunately… YOU HAVE TO BUY PANTS FOR 80 TIMES to qualify for the discount!

Doesn’t that sound…… stupid?

Got that?

——————–

yeah, i know. but, have u ever come across with 'buy 2 and get 50% for 3rd item' or something like that?

you're not forced to buy 3 items, but if you want discount, then you have to.

well, most people are business minded. surely you can understand.

• bmpower on Jul 14, 2009 at 11:23 pm

mofaz said,

July 14, 2009 @ 2:47 pm

yeah, i know. but, have u ever come across with ‘buy 2 and get 50% for 3rd item’ or something like that?

you’re not forced to buy 3 items, but if you want discount, then you have to.

well, most people are business minded. surely you can understand.

YES!.. that's why some of us here said too…

IF 20 – 30 times to get discount… it's OKAY!

not 80 times… because 80 is RIDICULOUS!!!!

Buy 80 get 20% less.. Hahahaha

lame!.. just like someone here said.

TAK IKHLAS.

• Malaysian ordinary c on Jul 14, 2009 at 11:34 pm

K Tan wrote

K Tan give opinion..

40 times – 10%

60 times – 15%

80 etc etc

petronasracingfan give opinion..

currently I am in Japan.. to tell you the truth in Japan, every holiday have 50% discount on the nation’s highway tolls for passenger cars and motorcycles equipped with electronic toll collection (ETC) systems. The toll also have a ceiling of a maximum of 1,000 yen ($10) irrespective of the mileage driven.

both comment is more better than mofaz comment (maybe he is too rich to travel 80 times per month.. from the comments it look like mofaz is a toll operator because he mention the word "business") and like to use nonsense example like pants and Sunway Lagoon.. WTF!

Pants and Sunway Lagoon is NOT PUBLIC ROADS, NOT PUBLIC TRANSPORTATION!!

I think we better have mentality of the japanese, almost every 2 years japanese change their Prime Minister! sometime every year (non-perform PM will get no chance to lead Japan).. I think Malaysia must be wise.. WTF 80 times a month use toll only have discount so biased! (maybe some cronies of current government ask that because they do business and already calculated they travel more than 80 times.. you think Malaysia citizen is idiot?? hah… like the idiot mofaz here!!)

It's time to move forward.. every non-perform or any politician in Malaysia who like to fool Malaysian will never get the chance to lead Malaysia again

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_Prime_Minist…

see above link.. Japanese change their government (Prime Minister frequently.. average every 2 years.. and now #1 biggest economy in whole Asia region.. you fool others then you get no confidence from rakyat, that's what happen in Japan.. hopefully Malaysia also have the mindset like Japanese)

• mofaz on Jul 14, 2009 at 11:45 pm

it's not cheaper for gov to buy and maintain the highways;

1. why should you pay billions of ringgit to buy it now, while you can get it free after 30 years?

2. if it become public roads, gov will not gain tax from toll operators profit (which now used to subsidies the tolls)

3. gov roads are not properly maintained. the best example is MRR2. road tax alone is not sufficient to maintains thousands km of roads, let alone to build them. 1km of road = RM1million = road tax from 10,000 cars

4. it's better to spend tax money on hospitals, schools, police/fire stations, which will benefit all people insted of highways which the poor will hardly use at all!

• Malaysian ordinary c on Jul 15, 2009 at 1:20 am

1. do you have proof of what you said?

2. another nonsense from mofaz.. there is alot more thing to take tax other than highway tolls.. just look at Singapore, although Singapore is only about 700km, with almost no natural resource but still they are more advance than Malaysia.. Singapore is developed nation, Malaysia is developing nation.. you think Malaysia citizen is so idiot la.. only can gain tax from toll?? NONSENSE

3.gov road not properly maintained? that's because they not concern of ordinary citizen comments.. Example like highway toll in Jelapang, Perak.. so many comments that the location is so dangerous…. but the gov and also toll sucker have blind eyes, deaf ears.. only after an incident occurs where UMNO VIP people involve in accident at that toll then only gov concern about it.. WTF!.. there is many road in Malaysia which not properly maintain because politician didn't do their job well!

4. simple economy mathematics.. if everybody happy, have more money to spend rather than just throw the money to toll sucker.. then the rich and middle class people will go shopping and other economy activities (increase economy, and also gov tax in other ways).. you must be wise la (at least toll rate must be reasonable, in current situation where everybody hardly hit by global economic crisis, you still want to suck citizen money?? it is like year want to increase toll!).. Japan already implement the system to reduce their citizen spend on toll, give loans to other economy activities where everybody can benefit from it..

mofaz is the real toll operator money sucker.. real loser!

• actually 1km of highway = 10 million..

• bmpower on Jul 15, 2009 at 1:51 am

RT said,

July 14, 2009 @ 5:38 pm

actually 1km of highway = 10 million..

Actually, all by BN gov.. you should multiply it by 3 times.

that are their common practice.

well.. you know where the money will go. surely not rakyat's pocket loo

• bmpower said,

July 14, 2009 @ 5:51 pm

RT said,

July 14, 2009 @ 5:38 pm

actually 1km of highway = 10 million..

Actually, all by BN gov.. you should multiply it by 3 times.

that are their common practice.

well.. you know where the money will go. surely not rakyat’s pocket loo

——————–

bmwpower,

to tell you the truth, based on what I see and heard ( from other alternative media ), it would seem that PR and BN are the same dimwit hooked politicians… The difference is just that BN's are rich and the PR's is not rich (yet)

• bmpower on Jul 15, 2009 at 3:22 am

you don't have to worry that RT.

IF once when the time PR gov did the same as BN did now. (maybe next 50 year)… we just have to swap back to the 'opposition' on the General Election.

That's GE and democracy for…. power to the people.

just like Japanese did.

If their PM not perform, vote for another side one… huh!

• tidurhospital on Jul 15, 2009 at 7:03 am

Yeppy, enjoy every weekend to the TOLL TRIP with 20% discount.

• this is good 4 G… u'kno y? Cos it'll b more jobs and tasks for Toll Collectors/G ppl to calculate d so called rebates!… yeah… tat's how u menambahkan peluang pekerjaan!…. malaysia boleh!…… ridiculous!..they shud jus lower d toll prices n let all d Rakyat njoy d benefits! so much more simpler and straightforward!… y d twists n turns??!!

• to G(non related to the TNG matter)

notice that any news / updates regarding Proton / "goodies" manage to rake in so many comments.. if Paul got 5 sen per comment he would be rich.

what im trying to say is… ur educational system / upbringing is horrible, self concern and simple minded.

i for one see there is no cure to this mater… its juz to wide to repair.

and yes i believe ppl will start targeting me.

but lets face it.. its fact not fiction

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2009 at 5:11 pm

bmpower said,

July 14, 2009 @ 7:22 pm

you don’t have to worry that RT.

IF once when the time PR gov did the same as BN did now. (maybe next 50 year)… we just have to swap back to the ‘opposition’ on the General Election.

That’s GE and democracy for…. power to the people.

just like Japanese did.

If their PM not perform, vote for another side one… huh!

————————————————

Yeah, by that time the country will be in ruins…

• bmpower on Jul 15, 2009 at 6:27 pm

you can see the future huh!???

• Tiadaid on Jul 15, 2009 at 7:04 pm

bmpower said,

July 15, 2009 @ 10:27 am

you can see the future huh!???

—————————————

Seeing what I've seen now, it's a sure thing…why wait until 50 years to vote them out…just don't vote them…or BN for that matter…don't vote!

• Syn Lee on Jul 16, 2009 at 1:00 am

anyone who believe that the tolled highway concessionaire will easily hand over the highway without some form of compensations are a moron. track record has already shown that they repeatedly request for extension after extension and rate hikes after rate hikes by citing terms and conditions in contract that made national secret by the OFFICIAL SECRET ACTS. if it is clearly beneficial, if there is no hanky-panky, if the calculations are fair and transparent, there is absolutely no reason for the highway concession contract to be made official secrets. the only reason who bought this crap is mofaz, the high priest of stupidity and ignorance.

• fazron80 on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:02 am

Congratulations for Manek Urai rakyat that made their choice. This is democracy. Big or small majority, a win is a win.

I agree that a lot of people only care for themselves. Whatever gift given is only fair if they get it too. Even at the expense of poorer and unfortunate people. Example is like the previous petrol rebate that doesn;t discriminate anyone. Everyone gets it so everyone's happy.

• peroempat on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:03 am

Just like Japanese did, vote for another side one then country will be in ruins… what?

Just like the Japan everywhere AV… huh? Wah!

• peroempat on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:09 am

I am simple, I will vote the side that can help me get the BMW, if Julian Lee give me one, i will vote him/her forever.

• Leonardo on Jul 16, 2009 at 6:59 am

Bring down the price of the 'reader/tags' or give it out for free if the G really wants more people to use the touch and go lanes. Hence will reduce jams.

• Diablo on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:01 pm

how to promote smart tag usage (got 2 lanes some more compared to 1 touch n go) when the smart tag devices are always out of stock??

• Lolipop on Jul 17, 2009 at 2:42 pm

drMvsPakLahvsAnwar = 1Malaysia Najib said,

July 14, 2009 @ 12:10 pm

mofaz is a real bastard here..

highway, roads, public facilities actually is government responsibility!

mofaz, YOU WANT TO SHIT.. you make your own blog la!

people are judging PM Malaysia decision and also crappy mofaz comment.. we are not talking about Sunway Lagoon here (mofaz really have no idea now he/she try to relate highway toll issue to Sunway Lagoon LOL)

what kind of research is that?? it look like benefit the toll operators more than it benefit ordinary citizen of Malaysia.. mofaz the real loser!

———-

Y so mean to him? Everyone has their own entitle to post a comment here. This is not a politic blog anyway and i dont see any GOV supporters should not be here. Oh, nway, u statement was merely an assumption, and bullshit so much which show u how shallow ur mind is.

• Lolipop on Jul 17, 2009 at 3:15 pm

Malaysian ordinary citizen vs mofaz (highway toll sucker) said,

July 14, 2009 @ 5:20 pm

1. do you have proof of what you said?

~First,Do u have proove for what ever u claim to mofaz or GOV?

2. another nonsense from mofaz.. there is alot more thing to take tax other than highway tolls.. just look at Singapore, although Singapore is only about 700km, with almost no natural resource but still they are more advance than Malaysia.. Singapore is developed nation, Malaysia is developing nation.. you think Malaysia citizen is so idiot la.. only can gain tax from toll?? NONSENSE

~much2 nonsense than mofaz for u. Why look Cingciapor? More advance from what? They paying tax like shit GST, road tax which can buy another set of car. Of coz they advance so much because they knew if they dont advance, they will become a stupidiest island in the world. Stupid asshole, god the lee kwan yew.

3.gov road not properly maintained? that’s because they not concern of ordinary citizen comments.. Example like highway toll in Jelapang, Perak.. so many comments that the location is so dangerous…. but the gov and also toll sucker have blind eyes, deaf ears.. only after an incident occurs where UMNO VIP people involve in accident at that toll then only gov concern about it.. WTF!.. there is many road in Malaysia which not properly maintain because politician didn’t do their job well!

~ WTF, another stupid comment! Why blame gov and politician? This is not their work. This is engineer. Do u think they are god? Know everything? This all should be done to those who is an expert at that particular specialties. Of coz a leader should be responsible for everything but hey, why make stupid comment. This ppl are the one that are willing to take that post because they think the one like u are only brave to comment here but so coward to took this job. Those bashing is much2 worser than the one doing. See PP and selangor, that's the example.

4. simple economy mathematics.. if everybody happy, have more money to spend rather than just throw the money to toll sucker.. then the rich and middle class people will go shopping and other economy activities (increase economy, and also gov tax in other ways).. you must be wise la (at least toll rate must be reasonable, in current situation where everybody hardly hit by global economic crisis, you still want to suck citizen money?? it is like year want to increase toll!).. Japan already implement the system to reduce their citizen spend on toll, give loans to other economy activities where everybody can benefit from it..

~ Where have u been?? U went to pluto? Yeah simple math, but soooo materialistic. That's y GOV still subsidice the TOLL in the current economic downturn.Do u think gov do any decision without WISE? Do u think all this idea was from Stupid statement from najib just for POPULAR? Oi. Najib got so many economy experts behind him la. See MTEN or EPU members, Do u think they are some dropout like MB khalid or some pathethic lawyer who don't know ECONOMY? Beside, giving this 80% toll to the one really benefits like PAUL TAN, so if u're not in this category, just accept the fact, it's not for u and don't blame politician.

mofaz is the real toll operator money sucker.. real loser!

~ actually, to think about it again, it's not mofaz a real loser, u're the one.

• can i don't does it works beside than toll ?

eg, LRT and Buses ?

many thanks..