Home   Help Login Register  
Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?

Login with username, password and session length

News: Welcome to the forums!
Search
Pages: [1] 2   Go Down
Print
Topic: Thailand Gasohol Petrol For Malaysian VIOS  (Read 4868 times)
« on: December 28, 2006, 11:00:01 PM »
yeikloen Offline

Hi Guys,

I drive into Thailand often and this has been bothering me all the time with the fuel prices in Thailand, are Malaysia VIOS made to use GASOHOL 95 (10% Ethonol and 90% Petrol). Been doing some reading and understand that it could damage some seals?

I have called Toyota Malaysia to check on this but the customer service do not seem to know and say it is better not to use it since it is not printed on the car manual.

The save is about RM0.20 per litre, thats why it concern me when I drive in Thailand. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks guys.

Cheers,
Loen
« Last Edit: December 28, 2006, 11:35:29 PM by yeikloen » Logged
« Reply #1 on: December 28, 2006, 11:30:28 PM »
CON Buster!!!
Mai Ah Boi Offline

I think E10 is a good start.

Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you, that's the killer.
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2006, 11:35:00 PM »
yeikloen Offline

sorry but whats an E10?
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2006, 11:42:52 PM »
CON Buster!!!
Mai Ah Boi Offline

sorry but whats an E10?
E10 is 10% ethanol and 90% unleaded gasoline.

Speed has never killed anyone. Suddenly becoming stationary, that's what gets you, that's the killer.
« Reply #4 on: December 28, 2006, 11:54:33 PM »
yeikloen Offline

oh... okay,... so I guess it should be fine..... thanks.....
« Reply #5 on: December 29, 2006, 09:16:23 AM »
lowprofile Offline

problem with our local service advisors is that they normally dont even know their facts. if this is the case, how to advise confused customers? the least that the toyota sa could have done is to say he or she will check and get back to Loen.
« Reply #6 on: December 29, 2006, 11:05:27 AM »
admin Offline
Administrator

if im not mistaken, while the engine might be able to run the mixed fuel, other parts like the fuel tank, fuel lines, etc might not.

« Reply #7 on: December 29, 2006, 11:16:09 AM »
lowprofile Offline

yup. thats why it is important for the sa's to know all this info so that customers will be able to know more about their cars.

by the way, we still lag in bio fuel technology. so far behind even thailand and singapore which are probably using euro4 diesel already (notice a lower number of new bmw and benz diesel cars on the road these days). please correct me if i'm wrong here. in europe, thay are already using ethanol based fuel (like the fuel used for the saab bio-power). when will we ever see this? and will we be willing to pay for the technology? or, i think a better question would be whether we will ever be able to afford that technology? Wink
« Reply #8 on: December 29, 2006, 12:11:38 PM »
yeikloen Offline

Thanks guys...

that is my concern as I am not sure if the parts which the petrol passes is made to accept this petrol. I know the Thai Made Vios are alright but I am afraid that the parts use in Malaysia is not.

I have called and also sent an email to Toyota but till now I have got not reply from them. So it is better for me now to pump the normal petrol instead of Gasahol.

*Sigh*
« Reply #9 on: December 29, 2006, 10:25:58 PM »
sureshn Offline

i drove in thailand for 2 weeks a year ago and used gasohol most of the time. like u, i was attracted to the cheaper cost. I checked the thai shell website first, which was very informative, and decided to use it. my car ran well despite it being a 1969 car. so far, no problems have surfaced. with a modern car like your vios, i would say no problem, more so since they have vios there and not much is different between their car and ours.
« Reply #10 on: December 31, 2006, 11:41:31 AM »
Head Hunter Offline

Hehehehe i guess other car is ok, but i doubt the msian campro can use that type of fuel  Roll Eyes hehe

[/URL]
« Reply #11 on: January 09, 2007, 12:40:13 PM »
raj Offline

loen... do u over cum any type of prob afta using d gasahol? i mean afta u came back 2 my n pump back normal petrol... n how did u feel abt the gasahol in term of fuel efficientcy and acceleration power or pick up? thx

rajchawala
« Reply #12 on: January 10, 2007, 01:42:54 AM »
LANDROVERING IS A LIFETIME PASSION
unclelandrover Offline

Grin Grin Grin SHOULD BE OK TO USE THAILAND 95 OCTANE FUEL....more over...vios and others toyota cars are thailand make.......lots of toyota are assamble in thailand,export to malaysia......if so many vios and altis in bangkok got no problems.......see no reaon it had......problems..

LANDROVER FOR LIFE
« Reply #13 on: January 20, 2007, 12:06:17 AM »
yeikloen Offline

Hi Raj,

The accelaration is quite good for 95 I think but hard to tell on the fuel consumption because I drive above average in Thailand (no speed traps).

So far no problem but I am not sure what is the effect in long run as I can feel now my car fuel consumption is not very good anymore.... full tank, like really full I can only get around 450-470km.

Cheers,
Loen
« Reply #14 on: July 28, 2007, 06:49:17 PM »
Peace Through Tyranny
Decepticon Offline

Should be no problem.. If u pour Diesel, then u will in trouble.. the molecules in the E10 seems ok (90% unleaded fuel + 10% ethanol) this should be more environment friendly compare to 100% unleaded fuel.. The  ethanol have proven to reduce carbon in engines, and the octane i think is higher ron95 right? So normally cars on the road today are made to run from Ron92 above..

I think the seal problem only occur on diesel engines cars..  Since our country only using Euro2 recently.. The sulfur content are still a lot in the fuel.. sulfur are acidic if i not wrong.. So when combine heat + acidic, this will fasten the rust effect and eventually will damage the injector, oil, valve seal, engine seal casket, piston ring and worst is the fuel pam n filter.. That why a lot of Thailand or Singaporean people who pam diesel in our country always complain of black smoke.. (Sulfer is the cause of this.) And merc starting from this year wont sell any CDI diesel car in Malaysia, due to low quality diesel fuel..Coz most Car developers already used Euro4 diesel based engine.. 

Think twice before making a decision, the smart one will always survive in the last! Tongue
Pages: [1] 2   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

© 2006 Paul Tan's Automotive Forum