Badawi: “Proton CEO to be Malaysian”

Hopes of Malaysians for a foreign CEO to steer Proton into a better era is dashed with this statement which our PM gave to Malaysian press during his 3-day visit to South Africa.

On Tengku Mahaleel’s successor, Abdullah said that the new CEO would be experienced and one who had served about 12 years with Proton.

“We’ll see who’s going to be the CEO. It will not be a foreigner. Don’t start speculating,” he said when asked to comment on talks that a foreigner might be appointed to replace Tengku Mahaleel.

Served 12 years with Proton? Fits Norzahid’s profile. Norzahid joined Proton in 1993 as regional manager for Europe. I am not sure when he left Proton as he is Hicomobil Sdn Bhd’s chief executive now, but 1993-2005 is equal to 12 years. Hicomobil Sdn Bhd distributes the Chevrolet make in Malaysia.

Norzahid Mohd Zahudi
Norzahid Mohd Zahudi – Next Proton CEO?

Mahaleel had done good, transforming Proton from a rebadge assembler into a manufacturer that makes it’s own models. Now what remains to be done is to market the cars and increase sales. I doubt strategies like “My First Lotus” for the Savvy is doing it any good locally and internationally.

Norzahid seems to fit the marketing man profile well. Some of his tasks included implementing international marketing strategies for Trisilco Sdn Bhd, a company dealing mainly with telecommunications engineering-related products and services.

Could he be the next person in the Proton CEO hot seat?

Source: Bernama

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• napps on Jul 28, 2005 at 4:22 pm

i think norzahid could be a good appointment. he could bring a down-to-earth sensibility back to proton. like u said paul, despite his shortcomings, he did steer proton into a full-fledged carmaker, although most of the foundations were actually already there, laid out by nadzmi salleh (now head honcho at public transport company nadi corp (u know, the one providing transnasional inter-city express buses) and badminton assoc. of m'sia). mahaleel was also a marketing man, but he has no auto background except as a race car driver. driving well don't make u a car expert, man. anyways, norzahid did a commendable job in building the chevy franchise from scratch and when he was head of proton europe, protons were actually being sold in western europe. somehow, proton didn't build on the european foothold, so now it's only in the uk u can find protons. i think he's also not as confrontational and dictatorial as mahaleel was. a good ceo has to be decisive and give good orders, but IMHO, good orders come from listening to what his customers, managers and underlings have to say. well, that's my dua sen ;-)

• I think you are right. What Proton needs now are marketers and not engineesr at the top. Revamping the brand image should be the top priority.

Marketer would be better at translating what consumers want and not vice versa.

• AlexC on Jul 28, 2005 at 6:47 pm

First they say it could even be a foreigner… now no… so, national or political issue now??? i guess there is limited reform here for proton, in terms of protecting the vendor of cheapskate quality products…

• holy_cow on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:38 pm

First and foremost, I want to state clearly and unequivocally that this is not meant to be a complaint about racial politics in Malaysia…it's just a curious fact that I noticed, and would like other people's opinions on.

I don't think Proton could ever have had a foreigner at the helm, and the reason for that is that before considering a foreigner, shouldn't the government consider local non-Malays? So it wasn't surprising when Pak Lah came out saying the new person would be a local. How to justify handing the reins to a foreigner when you haven't given all of your own people a chance to run the company yet?

Once again, this is not a lament or a complaint, just something I noticed, and I think it turned out to be true, which is why there'll be no foreigner at the top of Proton. That's all. Please don't lose your temper, anybody.

• Verne on Jul 28, 2005 at 8:51 pm

It is a pretty sad thing to hear, no foreigner CEO. So we just look at what we have now locally, even if that person is just 'good enough' he could be the TM's successor. So much striving for excellence eh?

What kind of criteria is "… experienced and one who had served about 12 years with Proton."?

Baffling.

Down-to-earth sensibility? What does that mean? Less BS marketing?

But we'll see won't we? I just hope this isn't a facade for yet another one of those famous Malaysian politically-linked agendas from the top dogs. If it is, it's gonna be another great Malaysian story. Which usually ends up being sad.

• wa sea hokkien lang on Jul 29, 2005 at 7:32 am

see what i told you all are right… yahuuuuuuu

i win i win

i told you it will be local…….. always local….

even if this guy still fail to bring up proton….. it always… local… i repeat local