Singaporean bloggers charged under Sedition Act

A small follow-up post related to the announcement I made previously. Should let you understand why I decided to do what I decided to do.

Anyway, it’s the Frankfurt Motor Show this month and I’m really excited for photos to start appearing on the internet. Alot of manufacturers are revealing new models and new concepts. I’ll be blogging about them here.

SINGAPORE : For the first time in Singapore, two bloggers have been charged under the Sedition Act for making racist remarks.

They are 25-year-old Nicholas Lim Yew and 27-year-old Benjamin Koh Song Huat.

A subordinate court was told that both their blogs had content that cast aspersions on the Malay community.

This sparked off a heated discussion online.

Both men are out on bail of S$10,000 each.

The case will be heard again on September 21.

A person is deemed to have committed an offence under the Sedition Act if he does, or conspires with any person to do, any act which has a seditious tendency.

It is also an offence to utter any seditious words or to print, publish, sell, distribute, reproduce or import any seditious publication.

Among others, a seditious tendency is defined under the Act as one to raise discontent or disaffection among the citizens or residents and to promote feelings of ill-will and hostility between different races or classes of the population of Singapore.

First time offenders can be fined up to S$5,000 or jailed up to three years or both fined and jailed.

For subsequent offences, they can be jailed up to five years and have their seditious publications forfeited and destroyed. – CNA /ct

Malaysia has a Sedition Act too.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:22 pm

yay to paul ;)

• yeap.

a great decision.

if not you might end up in ISA

• Kenneth on Sep 12, 2005 at 10:38 pm

Here you are posting about Sedition Act. And there it is a comment from "Stupid Rafidah". Kinda struck me as hillarious

• December on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:08 pm

Yeah, that Rafidah dude made me laugh as well..*rofl*

• eRis-Aeir4s on Sep 12, 2005 at 11:50 pm

Waiting anxiously for the Pics Paul!

I wanna see the new models , Should be nice =)

• rafreez on Sep 13, 2005 at 12:19 am

paul the man…hope to see more sport/futuristic cars

• napps on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:16 am

the rafidah in stupid rafidah can be any rafidah….-wink, wink, nudge, nudge-

• armandd on Sep 13, 2005 at 1:22 am

no more racist remarks after this.

• Marmitecrab on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:14 am

What happened to freedom of speech??

Or is that only applicable to the USA?

• Ir Entau on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:19 am

meet the crab

• E-Nabill on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:30 am

making racist remarks are NOT freedom of speech , its pure stupidity n brain-less-ness….bt thr are alot of morons out thr,the best thing,once anybody talk crap,jus dont reply his comments,otherwise it will ignite the whole ting…jus ignore…its so easy to be out of topic…jus concentrate on wateva paul provides us with topics to discuss….noting more n nothing less

• MutantTomato on Sep 13, 2005 at 2:50 am

Oh…My…GOD!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I am going to echo and modify what Paul said in another post earlier… Freedom of speech?!?! That is a stupid, overrated, Yank principle!!!

Guys, look, freedom of speech is good and all but there has to ba a limit to what anyone can say or do! Here's a scenario:

I decide to wear a T-shirt with "K*lings go back to K*ling land!" or "Ch**ks back to the pig sty!" or something so stupid and utterly racist like that. Someone who is of that race takes offence and decides to "hantam" me. I decide to carry a knife to protect myself. That fella decides to carry a parang to protect himself from me. I decide to cary a gun… And so on and so forth. Oh! But you must remember! We are all expressing our "Freedom" to do any damn thing we please right? So it should be ok right?

And also, if you don't know about the US of A, then don't make comparisons with it. Although the First Amendment states that freedom of speech is guarranteed for every American citizen, it ALSO STATES that you are accountable for anything and everything you say and do. So, if you came up to me and told me I am a stupid darkie Asian sh*t, then you'd bloody well better be prepared to be sued by me for slander!

So, to all those here who want "freedom of speech," are you ready to be sued for slander/libel if any of the things you say/do are considered offensive by anyone else?

Freedom of speech….. PTTTTTTUUUUIIIII!!!! HUMANITY IS NOT READY FOR FREEDOM OF SPEECH!

And the most important point our "main man" Paul made; this is a blog for CAR RELATED STUFF! How does racism fit in here?!

• moo_t on Sep 13, 2005 at 3:44 am

English definition for sedition :

1. Conduct or language inciting rebellion against the authority of a state.

2. Insurrection; rebellion.

I have no comment. Perhaps Singapore are TOO FRAGILE. Even two individual blog detroy the country ;) This is nothing to do with freedom of speech, but some power abuse.

Nothing new. Whenever a government are feel insecurity, they will use sedition to mute(or nulify) people.

• even though malaysia criticise the war on iraq,

the USA is better in terms of freedom of speech.

how "democratic"…

• AsapMan on Sep 13, 2005 at 4:00 am

racism=losers talk when they have nothing else to say when they lose.

LOSERS!

• Jason on Sep 13, 2005 at 4:18 am

Hmmm, too bad Singapore can't do anything about this stupid b*itch, Xiaxue. So typical of them saying Malaysia sucks but their holidays all spent here. Sorry for being off topic.

• stupid rafidah on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:15 am

what u people laugh at me funny

i am neutral people i just dun want see people kena hina i just underline the facts nia mah,we all malaysian must think for good of country,we must love one another because love comes from god himself,

peace :)

• Hans 'Ti&Atilde on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:26 am

If one cun't stand the heat, pls get out of the cyberspace..

• AlexC on Sep 13, 2005 at 3:48 pm

Get the title of Tun and no one could dispute what you said, whether you like it or not… Barge yourself into the any community, say for here, paul's blog and say 'where is my human rights' and just go on with whatever you have to say…

Singapore is a country where even the oppositions are keep in check and no public talks are allowed… not even the very basic of free speech is allowed… our country is not as bad, thanks to that, but I dont see our country moving any forward towards freedom of speech in this case… positive open criticism paves way for better development, but acts like ISA is abused to cover any loopholes or whatever shits that are not meant to be uncovered, just like what happened to many oppositions on our country… freedom of speech, FU*K!!!

• ah lim on Sep 13, 2005 at 4:02 pm

guys…. we talk about cars lo………

• michael lee on Sep 13, 2005 at 5:06 pm

guys …. PLEASE …. as so many of us agreed earlier, here we talk only about cars lo …..

• No comment… no comment… if I comment or everybody comments it will be a never ending story… No comment… no comment…

• SEE FU on Sep 13, 2005 at 5:41 pm

Just wondering did YOU guys LIKE mY COMMENTS OR NOT??? Speaklah I wouldn't get angry one!!…..I like jokes……But don'T said bad words OKAY!! Promise…….YAU MO KAU…….CHOR!!

• AlexC on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:03 pm

Singaporean bloggers charged under Sedition Act: cars???

well, anyway, there is something about the motorshow from paul… but anyhow, let us all stick to the heading by paul and comment what is related la ok… :)

• michael lee on Sep 13, 2005 at 6:09 pm

" A small follow-up post related to the announcement I made previously. Should let you understand why I decided to do what I decided to do………

Malaysia has a Sedition Act too. " … Paul.

We talk about cars because we love cars mah. Only sometimes some of us get a little bit distracted and Paul is saying be a bit more sensitive lah ( and careful ). That is all. Also, how to go through the day if we all don't share jokes – most people don't have the money to go for all other entertainment, and the clean fun we get here helps us as we all try to chari makan loh.

Also there are many other blogs where we can talk politics, fishing, Formula 1, mah. – Got to chabut … boss calling. Thanks.

• Qwerty on Sep 13, 2005 at 7:02 pm

Paul, I got to read somewhere vaguely that Proton is getting Kleeman's expertise in producing a 1.8 Campro supercharged engine for the SRM. Would really appreciate it if you can kindly blog some about it here. I'm not surprised if Proton is doing their best to produce the SRM as this product would be their make-or-break finale for the future of the company.

• tun-m on Sep 13, 2005 at 8:07 pm

stupid rafidah = bad username

• Qwerty: alraedy blogged about that here

• stupid rafidah on Sep 14, 2005 at 5:40 am

tun-m

im not gonna argue with you haha

i sense u only like little kid talk like kid :)

lets talk about cars

• armandd on Sep 14, 2005 at 8:17 am

anybody got any info when the SRM will come out?

• Stingray on Sep 15, 2005 at 12:13 am

Mutant & the rest: I think it's relevant — not becos it is about cars, but because this is a blog after all, its' just a caution to watch out ler!