Printing Presses and Publications Act

This is unrelated to cars, but is important for the future of any online media here in Malaysia, such as this site you are reading now. The government is going to study if the 1984 Printing Presses and Publications Act should be amended to include electronic and Internet media. These new forms of media were not around when the act was formulated, and some have accused it of having double standards, or outdated. The act also requires media to obtain a license that must be renewed annually.

Although the act being studied does not mean it is going to be change, this brings the freedom of the internet as a medium here in Malaysia under threat. Think not just of the potential of censoring online media as how the press has been censored, but think of potential discouragement for foreign investments here.

Click here, here, and here for more details.

If you want to comment, do talk about whether you think online media or the internet should be subject to the Printing and Presses Act. Please do not mindlessly bash the government for this post’s discussion. I intend to keep this site running as long as possible and I’ve heard the ISA lock-up doesn’t have much internet facilities.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• lainie (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 11:31 am

So blogs apply for license every year? Pfft. Can already think of some bloggers who won't get their license.

'They feel there are double standards, and that it is not a level playing field,'

Where is the bloody logic in that?

Did that really happen? In that case shouldn't they be trying to get it repealed / rescinded? Instead of fighting for everyone to be censored the same way?

This is irritating me.

Pengsan.

• freeze (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 11:43 am

No Way.

The Internet should be one place that is spared from all the ridiculous censoring.

• pablopabla (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 4:27 pm

I will keep it short and simple. NO!

• lance (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 4:51 pm

No.

• notorpkcuf (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:32 pm

I have a question though, does it matter where your content is hosted (e.g. offshore, or overseas) or it only applies to Malaysian content writters? I mean a Malaysian can be overseas what. Then they also cannot say that it covers all media available to Malaysian eyes cos the internet is global. I really don't know, I hope someone can shed some light on this.

• menj (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:40 pm

They can try but it won't work. And if things go their way, heck there's always the .htaccess file. I've already have a list of Malaysian IPs on standby. Do you?

– MENJ

• motorhead (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:45 pm

haiya.. it seems that gov popularity has affected so bad recently.. (Tun M issue).. so this measure wont suprise me.. but i think most of us here dissatisfied with the gov relate with NAP.. i guess anybody has the right to voice out our dissatisfication towards NAP, even auto players oso sent their letters to PM regarding our current NAP, as auto industry turns ill today, very ill… but I dont believe our gov will sumbat us into ISA, just bcoz we talk about cars, the problems relate with car & car's industry as a whole.. no? bcoz if they do, what a shame to our gov la.. malu la to the world.. auto bloggers kena sumbat dlm jail??.. unless one of us disclose gov files, that is serious la, but i dont think our members will go that far… never…

• karheng (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 5:56 pm

Like notorpkcuf said, where is the dividing line when it comes to the Internet?

I think they can try all they want. Singapore has started sentencing their bloggers who blog about crazy things. For a blog such as this, it's really an enthusiast blog. Comments can be taken with some seriousness but normally the reason to all this bashing is because we as CONSUMERS are just not satisfied with the levels of quality the local car manufacturers are offering us. It's really up to them if they want to take our comments seriously or not..

Therefore, it's really a question of whether there is a conspiracy going on. Listening to the people and improving our quality of the Malaysians lives should be the main idea. I can only suggest, but the bottom line is that decisions should be made for the better good of the community.

• scudracer (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 6:06 pm

You have to apply for KDN number if you want to publish newspapers, magazines. Tedious process. Have to send 10 copies to Arkib Negara, 10 to KDN, 10 to Perpustakaan Negara, etc. I heard.

But I wonder why there are so many ads for pawn shops, Astro, lorry sewa, etc. posted all over my housing area, on lamp post, TNB boxes, bus stop, even the dilarang membuang sampah, denda RM500 signboard, the children walking signboard, etc.!! No regulation or law enforcement for that?

• jtshin (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 6:13 pm

Internet is not a printing media right?? Hope G do the right thing for the country…. gee….

• Akazamabamaboo (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 6:52 pm

Dear God…please save our souls…

• daze (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 7:15 pm

i dont think they can do that..

else. whats is the d meaning of internet?? is a virtula without boundary..

unless the whole world only hav one country…

But…restricitng over certain sensitive issue in forum/blor/e-content are to look over.. Although laws can hardly applied on it if u know d way..

Else. worse to worse..

Paul change the web add under other country…dont show ur real identity of M'sian..and we can still keep bashing …lol

• KY (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 7:28 pm

Dongster,

this has nothing to do with religion, please do not throw a red herring

• lembagatanah (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 8:17 pm

paul, do u like ISA lock-upt to be fitted with internet facilities? the charges will not be RM88 per month hahaha…;-) just kidding.

now what are the G up to? lock all the so called wrong blogger? i don't think the idea can be implemented well. i agree with daze, very difficult one

• e-nabilll (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 8:17 pm

i think there should be an act to regulate….in almost every country there is….its impostant that some ppl dont take online media as a way to critisize or bring up sensitive issues…freedom doesnt mean u can say wat u want…u got to be resposible…and since religion is such a sensitive issues…some ppl take online to view their stupid unresposible opinion…at the same time….the G cant make online media so restricted like in china…as long as we have as much as freedom as in the printing media..i think its more than good enough…actually its nt the G's fault to amend the act if thy wil…its some idiotic ppl take advantage of online freedom to cause unrest…i tink its a sensible move…compare us to singapore and china..believe me we r in heaven wen it comes to press freedom!!

• terenceg (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 8:44 pm

they might do that to curb unwated publicity but seriously, we have forgotten what's a blog. a journal of stuff we write to keep ourselves dated. we did not do any special marketing or run any ADS to ask public to read our blogs. you happen to read it and liked my life..that's it.

Humans have gotten smarter, if tht person reads about TErence have Weapon of MASS destrucitons and ready to strike at the moon, then the believer is an idiot. No offense but my rocket is aim at something else, deka deka al jihad deka

• Joe v2.0 (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 9:01 pm

i dont really remember but there's some clause or whatever in the MSC state that internet will not be filtered or some sort like that. Thats why our ISP like TM or Jaring have to let go porn stuff, sg rated contents and so on. So by ammending this act i think it will contradict with the MSC.

• ckengyo (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 9:06 pm

My answer is NO need to include electronic and Internet media such as this Blog; cos it is not so treatening if compare to printing media, which the level of transmit is more infiltrate. This is because the hard copy of the sample can pass on to others to read. Printing media also have great network for distribution to every income group. Well, as some of you might know that web access penetrate rate in Malaysia is not so high if compare to the other so call tech savvy countries. Only certain income group could afford the access to web and their level of knowledge and judgement MAY be greater and less influence by fiction. Goverment also have other alternative rule to shut down those web which violating the 1984 Printing Presses and Publications Act.

• pirate (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 9:49 pm

To regulate and to license online media? Absurd.

Censoring them? Outrageous!!!

Bolehland oh bolehland!

• swarty (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 9:56 pm

its easy! if someone sensored local content. Hosted site else where.. host it in Russia!! :). G. been very silly, even hardcore China G. find hard to control internet growth. One advice to our G. unplug TMNET and listen to Japanese time radio channel…clear direction we are heading toward 2020.. :)

• avanza (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 10:47 pm

Well, don't host your blog on any local ISP.

• Debra on Sep 27, 2011 at 4:21 pm

Is that really all there is to it because that’d be flabbergsaitng.

• honda_driver (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 11:27 pm

Internet penetration in Malaysia is no match for print today, but as many industry experts predict, I'm sure it will eventually match, and maybe overtake print media.

I do not agree that we need something like the printing and presses act to police local internet content.

The internet community must show the government, that it can self-regulate itself.

If Malaysian internet users cannot show the govt. our level of maturity in self censorship, and responsible blogging..etc. There will definitely be a shut-down.

as discussed many times in paul's blog, just because we have freedom to say what we want online today, that's no excuse to say anything, without any truth or facts to back it up.

as in a previous thread, people were saying R3 tunes proton cars to "clear old stock". Thats very very tricky ground there. It could be enough for R3 to make life difficult for Paul if they wanted to. I'm pretty sure that R3 do not tune-up cars, or sell R3 versions of their cars to clear up old stock. If anyone can show proof of that, by all means, do it.

Things have to change, or we're going to end up getting shut down.

• szw (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 11:30 pm

haizzz , government cannot stay cool 4 awhile mer ?

• lainie (Member) on Jul 28, 2006 at 11:50 pm

beyond bloggers: what about sites like malaysiakini? kakiseni?

• familyman (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 12:05 am

there's always 2 side of a coin

there's always pros and cons

realistically speaking being a multicultural/multirace/multireligion country the G have always turned to law and enforcement do deter insidious or malicious acts.

just hope that they set their intention correctly if they do amend the act to cover internet stuff.. and not miss use the act later.

and not kacau us "kaki kereta" trying to voice out ourselves

seriously, where else do you have the satisfaction to bash cars/manufacturer like JC on top gear.. for malaysian only on paultan.org

long live pautan.orgl!!

• OtakOtak (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 7:20 pm

Seriously speaking how to enforce it, this is virtue and borderless internet technology. Even existing site like "xxx" rate which basically against the law, G unable to deal with it effectively. Just go to Google and key in "xxx" related word then come out everything for you to see. What need to be done is we as users shall have rational judgement to differentiate between the truth and big liar, what is good and bad, etc.

Talk about the act, another point to consider, do G desperately try to find another means to generate revenue if internet website/blog also have to pay annual license fee, registration fee, income tax, service tax, "excise and sale tax", etc, etc, etc, ????????? Ha ha la ni gomen sangat dahagakan wang, tak ada wang, kerajaan dulu sudah belanja semualah, tak ada wang lagi lol.

• fookeatmin1989 (Member) on Jul 29, 2006 at 8:48 pm

Days without pornography is coming!!!!!

• OtakOtak (Member) on Jul 30, 2006 at 4:57 am

I don't think it will disappear as prostitution is recognise in the world as the oldest profession, maybe can be trace as far back to our "ape ancester"!

• mystvearn (Member) on Jul 31, 2006 at 6:30 am

….1 step behind for malaysia

• jeremy on Jul 16, 2009 at 8:09 am

here i need some help, did anyonce know how can apply for the KDN No.

& how much will be charge.