Shahrir: Petrol price drop possible if crude oil averages under US$104 per barrel

Fuel Wallet GaugeMinister of Domestic Trade and Consumer Affairs Datuk Shahrir Abdul Samad says it is possible for further reduction of petrol and diesel prices in November 2008 if the average crude oil prices for October 2008 remain below US$104.

Let’s just pray that this happens! The current lower prices are partly due to the failure of the US$700 billion US financial sector bailout to pass through the US House of Representatives voting. The Bush administration is now trying to pass a revised bid and if this goes through, we may see crude oil prices go up again in anticipation of higher demand from the US, who are the biggest consumers of the commodity.

The government dropped a bomb on us on the 5th of June this year by raising RON97 petrol prices from RM1.92 per litre up to RM2.70 per litre. It then reduced prices to RM2.55 in August and RM2.45 in September.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 6:34 pm

drop to rm 2.00!!!

• chee89 (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 7:02 pm

i dont mind paying RM2.70 per liter.
    but wtf is the imported car taxes still so high?

• Roti Naan (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 7:58 pm

tak nak!! ……Percaya lagi

• afkar (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 8:32 pm

down,down,down and away….!

• khengyi82 (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 9:09 pm

goverment is stupid enough the petrol price going up, imported cars price going up, local lousy proton =potong cars price going up and did not improve public transportation just thinking about how to take money and suck money from us. That would such a stupid goverment for just thinking $$$ only and does not help people. Anything just know how to tax tax tax but does not know how to improve or better. LIVING IN MALAYSIA IS JUST SAME AS LIVING IN HELL !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• rodimus (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 9:22 pm

On one hand they said will consider it would drop the oil price; then wat bout our car prices………???

• ignas (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 9:58 pm

americans again…haih…

• MAJUPERAK (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:07 pm

Too late already ….. all the prices, food etc has already gone up – you think the price will come down ?? The damage is already been done to the people ….. but any reduction is better than none.

• mystvearn (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 10:32 pm

Yes, that is the problem with Malaysia, lower petrol prices everything else still same price, then what else. Nothing else changes. You pay cheap petrol, but goods still remains high. Other people must lower prices too

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 01, 2008 at 11:29 pm

khengyi82,

Malaysia is not the same as living in hell, it’s WORSE! haha. I can imagine even in hell they have better public transportation.

• 9166 (Member) on Oct 02, 2008 at 2:16 am

a reduction will be welcomed. But isnt he just saying the obvious. A ten year also can say that. He should talk a bit on the taxes on cars or some other minister should. Please la mr. Minister, report something more intelligent and meaningful.

• abtm (Member) on Oct 02, 2008 at 7:53 am

well i don’t know what you’re all complaining as we’re the ones who put the present govt in the driving seat (and they’re driving us to the nearest tree)- or i guess we’re the minority which is paying the price

• ignas (Member) on Oct 02, 2008 at 11:04 am

thats why we cant do anything until a new driver takes over. for now we can do is share our dissatisfactions….at least i know i wont quietly stomach the carsick of the lousy bumpy ride. i voice up whenever get the opportunity. peace.

• e-nabilll (Member) on Oct 02, 2008 at 1:26 pm

we dowant any drop in petrol prices…i wil trade that for political stability and peace…i hope everyone up there stops the bickering…

• n8cky (Member) on Oct 02, 2008 at 1:59 pm

2009 financial report is out..standard report> fill up the necessities, budget, subsidies, expenses, everything, then final balance and how much left…(best, Sg balance gave back to citizens)

M G report> fill up how much ‘I’ need to earn, fill up how much to sustain in the government fund, fill up how much need to sponsor anything, then fill up necessities, budget, expenses, lastly subsidies..

• dr_carz (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 1:15 am

BERSYUKUR LAH………………….

• rexis (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 8:01 am

Guys, gov did not drop the petrol price, it is the fact that crude oil price has fallen, gov just barely giving a penny back to us.

• rexis (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 8:02 am

Lets not forget that gov also told us the same thing that they said not gov raised the price but it is the world market, why should they take any credit when the petrol price is reduced?

For being mercy?

• jackyyong (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 11:32 am

The price of petrol seems to be directly proportional to the popularity of the ruling government. The lesser its popularity, the lower the prices of fuel…. so…

… let’s hate the government some more!! Hehehe!!

• dodgeviper88 (Member) on Oct 03, 2008 at 3:50 pm

Price of oil has been hovering around 90USD/barrel for a few days now. Better make sure they really reduce the prices.

• aliBaPa (Member) on Oct 06, 2008 at 12:20 pm

He is more and more unfriendly.
    more and more talk like a lousy gov.
    Die, is it everyone will end up like that.?

• torque (Member) on Oct 07, 2008 at 12:57 pm

chee89,

I’m with you dude! Pay RM3.70 also I don’t mind ler if import car were tax less than it should, no ridiculous toll booth here and there and public transport are up the standard.

ignas said,

americans again…haih…

Hahaha…ya la ignas, those americans memang la mau conquer the world punye economy. No money, then act like no money la. Hutang sana sini. Bikin kereta enjin besar2…muscle ini la, muscle itu la. Aiya, diaorang tu guna minyak ke, ‘makan’ minyak?! Dah la consume more than 25% world oil punye reserve…sigh! :-(

• ALPINA BMW (Member) on Oct 15, 2008 at 3:16 pm

talk only