2010 Toyota Camry (US market) get a facelift and new 2.5 liter VVT-i engine

Toyota Camry
Click for enlarged image

The American’s 2010 model year cars are here and it’s time for the Toyota Camry to get a facelift. Both the Camry and Camry Hybrid facelifts made their debut at the 2009 Detroit Auto Show at the same time, so let’s look at the car’s features.

The Toyota Camry 2.4 has been replaced by a Camry 2.5, using the same 2.5 litre inline-4 VVT-i engine that was introduced with the Toyota RAV4 facelift. This engine is available in two states of tune in the Camry – 169hp in the LE and XLE models while the Toyota Camry 2.5 SE gets a unit that produces 179 horsepower. This engine is mated to either a 6-speed manual or a 6-speed auto, which is another upgrade over the 2.4 litre engine which was matched to an automatic transmission that only had 5 gears.

The Camry Hybrid and the other engines/models of Camry stay largely the same, and the only other differences are a redesigned grille and front bumper with new fog lamps, new wheel cover and wheel designs, larger projector headlamps, and restyled tail lamps. The Camry Hybrid has additional differences on the inside, namely a new instrument cluster and a new material for the seat trim called Fraichir, which is said to be a combination of silk protein and synthetic fiber.

Look after the jump for more photos of the new Camry facelift. Please note this is not the same car as the Camry we get here. Our ASEAN Camry is actually the Australian Toyota Aurion, which has yet to be facelifted. Hopefully our facelift gets the new 2.5 litre and 6-speed auto too.

Toyota Camry
Click for enlarged image

Toyota Camry
Click for enlarged image

Toyota Camry
Click for enlarged image

Toyota Camry
Click for enlarged image

Toyota Camry
Click for enlarged image

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• pakleh (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 12:31 am

i the first………… its awesome … hope malaysia also like that in this year facelift

• Capt Shopalot (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 12:45 am

Fugly!

• Dr. K (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 3:29 am

the rear lamps look a bit like the new upcoming E class…

• mytouch (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 8:40 am

OMG,what a fugly color…& whats the huge Dugong doing in the bottom photo?keke… :p

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 9:25 am

It seems like the only way to improve power for Toyotas is to increase its engine capacity. It’s a relative easy way to getting more power while maintaining its emission control but looking from the industry’s players, many can extra a lot more power in the 2.4 NA form and yet still keep its emission control under check. With todays environmental issues on stack, I cant stop wondering if we should boycott these manufacturers who took the easiest way out without concerning of their responsibility the mother nature. The only thing here that I think they’ve got it right is to have one additional gear ratio to its 5 speeds transmission. This additional ratio should keep the engine’s rpm within minimal fluctuation hence contribute to better fuel consumption.

Well, Toyotas, I know you have Lexus to take care of hence launching all the hybrid application to the Lexus 1st is the way to create its market niche but that doesnt give you any excuse of delaying environmental friendly application to the rest of your range. Not to forget in the beginning it’s the Toyota that created the Lexus instead the other way round. Now, shouldnt you be looking serioulsy at some new design teams, Mr Toyota?

• n8cky (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:08 am

Creepy, I’m driving a pre-facelift Camry!!! Instead of Altis..
    look like Altis..- -‘

• DRC (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:11 am

Uglylah. Malaysian’s one better looking. Usually facelift means no change in engine or major structure eg 4-speed to 5-speed or ordinary steering to telescopic. So I do not expect our Camry facelift will have 5-speed 2.0G nor facelifted Sylphy with telescopic steering. Right?

• kobealex (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:34 am

is the blue one a grown-up Altis?

• Wisdom (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:53 am

“while the Toyota Camry 2.4 SE gets a unit that produces 179 horsepower.”

Paul, wasn’t it suppose to be called 2.5 SE?

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:01 pm

I think the extension of facelift is very much market and situation dependent. If the existing spec is very well received, then the facelift will likely be limited to comestic changes. Else if the existing spec isnt receiving well or because the competitors have moved on dramatically, then a more extensive facelift is required.

However, given UMW Toyota’s style with its most current facelift to the models, it looks like they’re shifting into reverse gear going towards Proton’s trick, ie. creating one edition and called it “S” which stands for…well… you guess it and add on all the plastic you can find in the local accessories shop with no changes to whatever that matters. As well purposely holding back a passenger’s airbag and then add it when facelift is a kid’s trick.

I dont know what get into UMW Toyota’s mind to think that adding a few plastics while charging premium to improve the profitability is the way to go while offering OUT OF DATE engines and conservative design is the trend but it certainly does give me a different “oh…what a feeling” impression on Toyotas these days.

For example, if a customer wants to get a Toyota Vios with black trim, he/she can only have the J/S to consider. One is too basic while the other is loaded with unuseful plastics. One who doesnt want those plastics but in full equipment has to opt for the G variant with Beige Trim. No doubt the targetted main buyers of these segment are young chap who like sportiness hence the S variants fit them (sporty looks, black interior and also most pricey as younger chap follow their heart to buy without too concerned of the budget)while for those who looks for a reliable car can opt for the E/G variants which doesnt have the body kits installed and warmth interior to suit them but what abou those in between? Those who want the full equipment in black trim with a budget in mind? They’re stucked in between.

The intention of a family car is to carry ppl around and certainly a beige interior isnt as practical as black. A family car has to serve its purpose with the right ingridient, ie. practicality. For that, a telescopic steering wheel is NOT a luxury item that only the more expensive cars should have. A proper driving position help to keep the driver in good shape and condition. As for now, Malaysia car manufacturers have moved from inflexible to rigid model variants and who knows what’s coming next? We have to thank our government for their major contribution to this as well and for making many more “genius” planning in the years to come (just look at the rational of proposing to increase the movie ticket price for foreign movies and it wont be hard to see how many genius are at work!!).

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 1:45 pm

as ugly as ever

• mits27 (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 4:50 pm

I think this facelift will only apply to US and HK market…

• charles27 (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 4:53 pm

the 2.4 already selling expensive.
    wondering the 2.5 will reach the 190-200k price tag.

• mystvearn (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 6:59 pm

Car design looks a bit weird. Don’t know why, just weird.

• king (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 9:04 pm

say whatever you like but (sadly) the sales figure shows malaysians don’t give a damn about having outdated and stone age engines/gearboxes.

they love it actually…”simple to maintain” is the hottest phrase here. other cars ( especially european ) are too complex n expensive to maintain.

thats why toyota can engage reverse gear and keep “Moving backwards”

• kei9 (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 10:12 pm

king said,

January 12, 2009 @ 9:04 pm

“…simple to maintain “

Second that. :D

• csv (Member) on Jan 12, 2009 at 11:44 pm

yucks. this is the other version right, not our local shore version.

• WilliamSmith (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 5:18 pm

Undeniably that tested and proven technologies are stable and definitely easy to maintain but what’s holding back the progress? Have us ever wonder why the next logical update of technologies like 5 speed automatics took years to appear in Toyota’s range of vehicles sold locally while overseas’ Toyotas already seeing 6 speed auto as standard? Is it because our local suppliers unable to innovate and progress to supply the changes or because our after sales technicians are just too lax behind to learn how to fix newer things? It is the consumers that drive the manufacturers to offer better specs in order to sell and if the consumers are just ignoring this very simple fact and keep buying that’s given to them, the progress to the next technical updates will be slow.

The question to ask is does a Vios owner likes to see that the Vios comes with 5 speed automatic and a more quiet and powerful engine rather than just an exterior changes and maintain very dated 4 speed transmission and no improvement to the engine as well as deteriorated interior quality with higher selling price?

• Sex is wonderful, but it's like champagne.If you're forced to have four glasses at every meal you start to fantasize about water. (Member) on Jan 13, 2009 at 6:48 pm

cars like the mazda 6, opel insignia and citroen c5 can sticktwo fingers in this camry’s nose

• thomas on Jun 09, 2009 at 1:24 am

very poor lah….i so dissapointed……..the camry look fool…..i like the new sonata.

• elmerdumandan on Sep 03, 2009 at 8:38 pm

i have the new altis and as well as the previous one model.problem i got from the new one the dashboard seems not perfectly fit i always bring it to it's service center but useless always bring back the noise on it.hello toyota wake up in this problem..

• andrew on Sep 19, 2009 at 3:18 am

hot pap, this is the feature we need in this car and it giving every one interest in Toyota Camry

• Cheap used cars on Sep 24, 2009 at 11:18 pm

Although I do not own one, I have ridden in one and it is a pretty smooth ride. However, I could never get over the styling of the nose cone. It looks ok in dark colors, but it's one of those situations where the lighting can make it ugly or beautiful. The rest of the exterior styling is not so bad

• jimmy on Dec 19, 2009 at 9:23 pm

this style singapore already have not new