Honda Freed Indonesian production for ASEAN

Honda Freed

Honda used to have a compact MPV called the Honda Mobilio which was similiar to the likes of the Grand Livina and the Toyota Passo Sette, where a B-segment monocoque car was stretched and made into a 7-seater compact vehicle. The Mobilio was based on the Honda Jazz/City platform but its styling was just too Japanese and model clinics conducted in this region resulted in not too favorable responses.

Now with the Honda Freed, there is a product that could be suitable for this region. I know alot of you have also noticed this when it was unveiled last year and many speculated that it would eventually end up on Malaysian shores, and now there is a strong possibility that might just happen! This is because Honda has announced that it will be building the Honda Freed in Indonesia at its plant in Karawang beginning June 2009, and exports to multiple Southeast Asia countries will begin by the end of the year.

Parts and components for the Indonesian-built Honda Freed will be procured from multiple ASEAN countries including Malaysia, which could be plastic components according to sources. Parts will also come from the Thailand and Philippines, making this a truly made in ASEAN car. We could see the Freed introduced in Malaysia next year or even by the end of this year, but that all depends on market conditions and the results of studies by Honda Malaysia’s product team.

In fact, if you look back not too long ago we see the Honda Stream getting a minor makeover with a small bump in price, that could be to make way for a new Honda Freed MPV inserted right below it in the product range.

With the MPV segment here so crowded and the Proton Exora and Perodua MPV all set to take a huge chunk of the segment, and combined with the recession, Honda may be entering the game too late, but in small numbers it will fulfill the niche of those who want a Honda-branded MPV and the typical associated values that Honda applies to its products.

What we know for sure is if it comes, it will be a Honda, so it won’t be cheap. Anyway please check out our previous coverage on the Honda Freed when it was first unveiled to see more photos of it including shots of the interior, or look after the jump for a few videos.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• MisterBenjo on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:12 am

any specs yet Paul?

• Slum in bolehland on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:18 am

1st impression ugly…

• pro-ton on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:30 am

im 1st…

erm..nice like merz B class

• pro-ton on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:32 am

erm..nice like merz B class

• the stik on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:40 am

look huge..

• Arise on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:43 am

It is wide by nature like Honda Edix. Seen them on the road.

• Paul Tan on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:44 am

It uses the same engine as the City and Jazz. Full details here: http://paultan.org/archives/2008/06/02/new-honda-…

• bmpower on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:44 am

1.5 idsi? or 1.6 vtec?

the front design is okay, the 3rd row window screen is weird. :D

• Arise on Mar 12, 2009 at 12:44 am

It is as wide as Honda Edix. Nice design, iVTEC engine. Seen them on the road.

• lambov12 (Member) on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:02 am

[quote comment="219668"]erm..nice like merz B class[/quote]

agree .. really looks like mercedes b class ..

• mkrafz on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:15 am

sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

i wonder.. who will the winner..

the survive of the fittest..!

• muryadi on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:35 am

In Japan the OTR price is nearly RM95 K…in Malaysia maybe RM120 K ??

• HENRYEE on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:46 am

WOW, the seat is quite attractive, innovative and creative.

Malaysian really needs an affordable but not inferior quality MPV.

Its price is set below Stream?…..Lets see, how about RM 100k-RM 105k???

this price is quite high, I wish they could propose the price at below RM 100k, then It'll be as attractive as the Nissan Grand Livina, WOW!!! (If HONDA MALAYSIA ever Introduce it here.)

Come on la, HONDA MALAYSIA, faster introduce the Honda FREED here, if not the biscuit of MPV in Malaysia will be eaten by PROTON and PERODUA oledi o.

Don't let this 2 company dominate the MPV section.!!!

• nazri on Mar 12, 2009 at 2:07 am

any crash test report? the rear so ugly

• tansri on Mar 12, 2009 at 2:32 am

[quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

the survive of the fittest..![/quote]

how??

the freed price might be 20k higher..

i predict the price is 100k++..

• Coyotito on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:18 am

The back of the car looks 'square-ish'…But one thing I like about this car, you can actually move from passenger seat to the third row seat…haha! But it just look too small for a huge size family (as in body size)..like mine (exclude me) XD.

• Coyotito on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:19 am

The back of the car looks 'square-ish'…But one thing I like about this car, you can actually move from passenger seat to the third row seat…haha! But it just look too small for a huge size family (as in body size)..like mine (exclude me) haha..!

• CRUDE on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:33 am

sat in one here in singapore..used as Taxi..hehe… its small guys…

but interior like the dashboard is very nice….

• Just-once on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:45 am

It have been intensively discussed in
    http://www.shc-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=139509&a…

The price tag would be between Toyota Rush and Nissan Livina.

This MPV is not wagon based segment as Toyota Wish and Honda Stream.

• If Thai's Honda Fit/Jazz become 110k, i guess Freed around RM120K++

• fantausy on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:43 am

If this car want to sell it at the right price, please sell below 100k…but the Jazz itself already more than100k…that why Jazz not that HOT …

• hazxkh on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:58 am

'estima' Honda Version…

1st look — box-ish city

2nd look– bad rear lamp & rear windows design

3rd look –aaaaa….

• dhairaz on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:11 am

Look nice. Another alternative for MPV user in Malaysia. Hopefully with resonable price.( Gawat maaa)

• Tiadaid on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:21 am

[quote comment="219674"]It uses the same engine as the City and Jazz. Full details here: http://paultan.org/archives/2008/06/02/new-honda-…

What's the kerb weight? Is it lower than the Exora? If almost the same, then, is it as 'underpowered' as the Exora?

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:24 am

1.5 L engine? Damn underpower! Lucky CVT can improve its drivability to some extend. Exora should employ Mitsu (Jatco) CVT.

• boying on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:00 am

honda freed launched in Indonesia
    http://www.mobilku.com/cgi-bin/index.cgi?p=9003&a…

• hazxkh on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:08 am

lower floor … x tahan banjir la

• bmpower on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:28 am

[quote comment="219756"]lower floor … x tahan banjir la[/quote]

better driving experience ma…

• eVilsin on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:55 am

UNDERPOWERED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

• Underpowered?????test drive please…you will know the power from Vtec….

• boying on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:56 am

[quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

i predict the price is 100k++..[/quote]

you must be kidding me.

exora is only avanza level

this honda freed is BEYOND that level.

honda freed will be THE BEST 1.5 Litre van car.

exora is only for cheap skate.

• eVilsin on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:02 am

[quote comment="219775"]UNDERPOWERED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/quote]

Well it's a Honda, not a proton…. People wont bash

• boying on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:03 am

Paul,

from the Indonesian press, I see that the car is being build as we speak.

It will be sell at june in Indonesia

and will be exported to malaysia/singapore latter….

• eVilsin on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:08 am

[quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

exora is only for cheap skate.[/quote]

Told you so…..TYPICAL hahahah

• leonardo on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:13 am

Boying – people like to live beyond their means or rather, dream beyond their means. Many people want Odessy, Stream, Wish, etc, etc. So they will get the biggest branded MPV they can afford, be it Avanza, Exora, Livina, Freed, whatever. So before you give demeaning statements like 'exora is for cheapskate' not to mention idiotic, understand what is 'market segmentation'. If you are so rich, why bother with this blog? Get yourself a Maybach and go away.

• Wisdom on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:56 am

[quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

Since Exora for cheap skate, Freed for stupid rich lo. They will say its a wise 'investment'. Been wondering since when buying cars (depreciating asset) considered 'investment'.

Design wise, this Freed should be comparable to Juara.

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:22 am

Honda Freed got no third row aircond vent. What a shame.

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:24 am

[quote comment="219777"][quote comment="219775"]UNDERPOWERED!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!![/quote]

Well it's a Honda, not a proton…. People wont bash[/quote]

Who cares! Under power is still underpower no matter what badge it wears. But the use of CVT is commendable.

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:28 am

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

Proton Exora is not a great MPV plus an underpowered engine, but to say it is at the same level as Avanza is a flat out lie.

• CocoBear on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:29 am

I don't care how others perceive this car as long as I love the car in every single way. It has the most innovative interior and exterior design which incorporates usability and functionality. With this car, I can drive easily in the city, enjoy the view, fetch lots of ppl and go for a weekend activity. Good job on Honda for bringing Freed to ASEAN.

Let's be freed from conventional sedans and SUVs!

• base weight of this car is about 1250kg which is quite heavy for such small vehicle , this car length is only like 4.2m but its interior length have 2.625m and it beats stream in term of interior length and the up coming produa mpv only measure at 2.55m ,but surprisingly them both beats mazda 5 which interior length is only about 2.52m

its have cvt trust i don't think i will be underpower as cvt have wide range of ratio which can provide best of both world . i heard exora is going to change final gear ratio to make it move better, consequences is high rpm on highway which mean noisy and higher fc , but if the car with cvt , i think it can solve the problem as cvt able to have a very low gear ratio which make it could cruise at a lower rpm and saving fuel and the final gear ratio of cvt is big also , so it could deliver power and fc . IF cvt cannot make it to our shore , it sure will used a 5 speed automatic which still , the 5th gear can have a much lower ratio compare to 4 speed auto and help to save fuel although it would not be as efficient as cvt

• [quote comment="219784"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

Since Exora for cheap skate, Freed for stupid rich lo. They will say its a wise 'investment'. Been wondering since when buying cars (depreciating asset) considered 'investment'.

Design wise, this Freed should be comparable to Juara.[/quote]

you should see the interior first b4 you comment like this .

this car interior can be consider as big and it will have side aircond vent for the passenger as well

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:18 pm

[quote comment=”219912″]estimation to be hovering around RM100K to RM105K. Not sure whether can say value for money or not for a 1.5litre vehicle… but on the other hand, there is a price to pay for high technology used!…[/quote]

it will priced more..
    jazz it self priced around 100K +,
    this fella will priced around 110-130…
    i think…

• osh_kosh on Mar 12, 2009 at 1:46 pm

[quote comment=”219885″][quote comment=”219884″]beli proton mpv lebih baik beli honda mpv,mahal sikit tak pe yg penting tahan dan berkualiti[/quote]

buy a bmw 3 series. you will have more fun. trust me ;)[/quote]

or more better buy an alphard.. you’ll have lotsa ‘fun’ in it (if u know what i mean) LOL ;)

[quote comment=”219871″][quote comment=”219864″]nway i dont think freed going to be cheap. sure the price going to be the same as jazz. kinda expensive actually.[/quote]
    Whether or not the price will be more, same or less than Jazz is to some extend depending on they target sales volume for Malaysia. The exterior design is quite good and the interior is spacious for its class and even rival some of the model one class above.

But the let down is 1.5 engine. The good thing is, CVT offers some consolations. As what I said earlier, Proton should employ Mitsubishi (Jatco) CVT on their Exora.[/quote]

yo bro.. agreed with u that the interior is spacious plus nice design but exterior just… erghh.. expecially side profile… exora look better in my eyes…

anyway, sure about no CVT here for Freed? gosh, what a let down…

• Farhat Haniff on Mar 12, 2009 at 3:16 pm

Freed is litterally Juara of Proton from Honda. It's suppose to be an affordable minivan, i mean MINI van thus no need for back air-cond, it does not have specs like the Viano or the Alphard, or even Exora, its a Jazz with sliding doors.

Price wise, i guess in between City & Jazz, if this is locally assembled ofcourse. But just to let you know, in Japan, this is a low-end mini van, nothing close to Estima, Alphard etc. So just like low-end models, features are limited.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:02 pm

[quote comment="219791"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

Proton Exora is not a great MPV plus an underpowered engine, but to say it is at the same level as Avanza is a flat out lie.[/quote]

are you kidding me?

EXORA not a great MPV?

i tell you what,

you look at the engine size, you wud say its too small for an MPV. But in terms of Horsepower 125 hp… this car have lots of ponnies, at least more than Freed 1.5, Livina 1.6, less a ponny than Livina 1.8.

sir, you know nothing about exora, please don talk shit about it, you havent even drive it yet.

and sir, please dont think you are so clever.

if you think H, T, S, D, N so great, y my fren uses his Estima, latest version,and sudenly its shaft broken? y my fren using Stream he said, this car when it goes beyond 140, it drinks petrol like hell? Nissan Serena, this another moving fridge, that craze bout petrol, less than stream.

Am not only hearing from others, infact, i experienced it.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:04 pm

[quote comment="219784"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

and…fridge with tires

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:05 pm

[quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

it will compete in two different segments, mid size mpv for freed, and maybe, full size mpv for proton.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:07 pm

[quote comment="219745"][quote comment="219674"]It uses the same engine as the City and Jazz. Full details here: http://paultan.org/archives/2008/06/02/new-honda-…

What's the kerb weight? Is it lower than the Exora? If almost the same, then, is it as 'underpowered' as the Exora?[/quote]

Exora is not underpowered. it may have lil engine for an mpv, but it has more ponnies.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:09 pm

[quote comment="219703"]any crash test report? the rear so ugly[/quote]

yes…

it crush like cans…

hahaha

kidding…

no official report yet..

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:13 pm

[quote comment="219779"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

Told you so…..TYPICAL hahahah[/quote]

true…

they either being a singaporean.. or actly they just hate being malaysians…

• azrai on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:24 pm

Malaysian will buy anything with a T or H badges.Trust me.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:25 pm

[quote comment="219843"]Malaysian will buy anything with a T or H badges.Trust me.[/quote]

they will think twice to buy p1 or p2..

Naza…

we'll see…

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:29 pm

[quote comment="219776"]

you must be kidding me.

you are 100% right with your comment that the freed is "THE BEST 1.5 litre van car", it will definitely not be on the level of the exora, which is a full sized MPV and definitely not a van, or a car.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 4:31 pm

[quote comment="219791"]

Proton Exora is not a great MPV plus an underpowered engine, but to say it is at the same level as Avanza is a flat out lie.[/quote]

you are also 100% spot-on. no way the exora is on the same level as the avanza. for a start, the exora has a larger engine, larger dimensions and promises car-like handling.. definitely putting it a step above the avanza.

• Honda Freak…yeah i like it like that huh baby…

• farghmee on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:04 pm

offtopic>>

why at the 1st place some of commentors compare exora with freed?

if for info sake, the should be statistical data.

if for "bashing" sake, that actually what i see in many comments.

for me, freed exterior looks is okay, interior dashboard looks ok.

regarding underpowered or not, there should be a test drive result.

or may be it's only me whose don't have the ability to feel the car whether it's underpowered or not by looking at the pics? ;)

be fair in giving opinion ok? 8)

• theanswer on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:45 pm

[quote comment="219834"][quote comment="219791"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

are you kidding me?

EXORA not a great MPV?

i tell you what,

you look at the engine size, you wud say its too small for an MPV. But in terms of Horsepower 125 hp… this car have lots of ponnies, at least more than Freed 1.5, Livina 1.6, less a ponny than Livina 1.8.

sir, you know nothing about exora, please don talk shit about it, you havent even drive it yet.

if you think H, T, S, D, N so great, y my fren uses his Estima, latest version,and sudenly its shaft broken? y my fren using Stream he said, this car when it goes beyond 140, it drinks petrol like hell? Nissan Serena, this another moving fridge, that craze bout petrol, less than stream.

Am not only hearing from others, infact, i experienced it.[/quote]

hahaha we got proton SA here.

• theanswer on Mar 12, 2009 at 5:46 pm

nway i dont think freed going to be cheap. sure the price going to be the same as jazz. kinda expensive actually.

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:12 pm

[quote comment="219864"]nway i dont think freed going to be cheap. sure the price going to be the same as jazz. kinda expensive actually.[/quote]

Whether or not the price will be more, same or less than Jazz is to some extend depending on they target sales volume for Malaysia. The exterior design is quite good and the interior is spacious for its class and even rival some of the model one class above.

But the let down is 1.5 engine. The good thing is, CVT offers some consolations. As what I said earlier, Proton should employ Mitsubishi (Jatco) CVT on their Exora.

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:39 pm

[quote comment="219871"][quote comment="219864"]nway i dont think freed going to be cheap. sure the price going to be the same as jazz. kinda expensive actually.[/quote]

But the let down is 1.5 engine. The good thing is, CVT offers some consolations. As what I said earlier, Proton should employ Mitsubishi (Jatco) CVT on their Exora.[/quote]

However Asean version made in Indonesia will likely equipped with 5-Speed AT instead.

• ROBERT on Mar 12, 2009 at 6:54 pm

beli proton mpv lebih baik beli honda mpv,mahal sikit tak pe yg penting tahan dan berkualiti

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:00 pm

[quote comment="219884"]beli proton mpv lebih baik beli honda mpv,mahal sikit tak pe yg penting tahan dan berkualiti[/quote]

buy a bmw 3 series. you will have more fun. trust me ;)

• andre on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:14 pm

[quote comment="219834"][quote comment="219791"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

are you kidding me?

EXORA not a great MPV?

i tell you what,

maybe you are right, but… exora still not launch… how many minute you have drive the car? how you know the car not drink petro like hell, will not break down… and other problem?

what car dont have problem? exora look like shit! give me free i also don't want!!!

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:23 pm

[quote comment="219890"]

maybe you are right, but… exora still not launch… how many minute you have drive the car? how you know the car not drink petro like hell, will not break down… and other problem?

what car dont have problem? exora look like shit! give me free i also don't want!!![/quote]

funny thing is, the very same reasons you criticise him, is the same reasons people can criticise you as well..

you also havent driven the car, you dont even know if the car drink petrol like hell.. you dont even know the car will breakdown or not, no one has actually seen the final production model except for some prototypes..etc, and i'm guessing you haven't as well.. so how do you know the exora looks like shit?

and lastly, i dont believe if someone give you the car for free, you wont take it. because, even if you hate the car, you will take it, and sell it and buy a freed or something. unless of course you are wealthy beyond any of us here, and you dont need the money.

• gattaca on Mar 12, 2009 at 7:44 pm

[quote comment="219893"][quote comment="219890"]

what car dont have problem? exora look like shit! give me free i also don't want!!![/quote]

funny thing is, the very same reasons you criticise him, is the same reasons people can criticise you as well..

you also havent driven the car, you dont even know if the car drink petrol like hell.. you dont even know the car will breakdown or not, no one has actually seen the final production model except for some prototypes..etc, and i'm guessing you haven't as well.. so how do you know the exora looks like shit?

and lastly, i dont believe if someone give you the car for free, you wont take it. because, even if you hate the car, you will take it, and sell it and buy a freed or something. unless of course you are wealthy beyond any of us here, and you dont need the money.[/quote]

if u dont want it free, give it to orphanage. they might need it more..

• Zaff1984 on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:07 pm

hate the exterior, like the interior… very innovative and practical.

• Swoosh3553 on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:13 pm

estimation to be hovering around RM100K to RM105K. Not sure whether can say value for money or not for a 1.5litre vehicle… but on the other hand, there is a price to pay for high technology used!…

• Apsal Freed nih buruk sangat. Korang asal keta jepun je cantik, moden, innovatif, kreatif. Baru nampak seat dia pun dah kate inovatifla, apala. padahal kotak je keta nih. Cantik sikit dari kangoo je. Betull buyers le bile korang wat komen. kalu H ngan T kuar model baru. Buruk pun leh jadi cantik.

• andre said,

what car dont have problem? exora look like shit! give me free i also don’t want!!!

Why are you sooo…. negative about Malaysian product. Freed don't even look like a car. It's look like your shit.

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 8:57 pm

[quote comment="219912"]estimation to be hovering around RM100K to RM105K. Not sure whether can say value for money or not for a 1.5litre vehicle… but on the other hand, there is a price to pay for high technology used!…[/quote]

I thought the technology employed is just normal and not that high by today's standard. Of course there are some so-called GOOD MPV that employed a bit below par technology for almost all of its component, manufacturing process and design.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:10 pm

[quote comment="219863"][quote comment="219834"][quote comment="219791"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

are you kidding me?

EXORA not a great MPV?

i tell you what,

hahaha we got proton SA here.[/quote]

hahaha…

i got nothing to do with proton. just that sometimes, ppl exaggerating what's lack bout proton. and what makes this Freed so great? becuz its H, i've went to japan, it is as not as good as airwave, stepwagon even stream.

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:11 pm

[quote comment="219898"][quote comment="219893"][quote comment="219890"]

and lastly, i dont believe if someone give you the car for free, you wont take it. because, even if you hate the car, you will take it, and sell it and buy a freed or something. unless of course you are wealthy beyond any of us here, and you dont need the money.[/quote]

if u dont want it free, give it to orphanage. they might need it more..[/quote]

thanx gattaca.

TJCC for life!

• micheal on Mar 12, 2009 at 9:17 pm

[quote comment="219884"]beli proton mpv lebih baik beli honda mpv,mahal sikit tak pe yg penting tahan dan berkualiti[/quote]

hahaha..

y it's more "berkualiti"… becuz its H?

and what makes you think proton doesnt?

proton cars latly having less and less problems…

• Tiadaid on Mar 12, 2009 at 10:48 pm

[quote comment="219806"]base weight of this car is about 1250kg which is quite heavy for such small vehicle , this car length is only like 4.2m but its interior length have 2.625m and it beats stream in term of interior length and the up coming produa mpv only measure at 2.55m ,but surprisingly them both beats mazda 5 which interior length is only about 2.52m

its have cvt trust i don't think i will be underpower as cvt have wide range of ratio which can provide best of both world . i heard exora is going to change final gear ratio to make it move better, consequences is high rpm on highway which mean noisy and higher fc , but if the car with cvt , i think it can solve the problem as cvt able to have a very low gear ratio which make it could cruise at a lower rpm and saving fuel and the final gear ratio of cvt is big also , so it could deliver power and fc . IF cvt cannot make it to our shore , it sure will used a 5 speed automatic which still , the 5th gear can have a much lower ratio compare to 4 speed auto and help to save fuel although it would not be as efficient as cvt[/quote]

Is the CVT used here the same as on the old City? Coz if so, then be prepared for a lot of trouble…

• MyBoy on Mar 12, 2009 at 11:50 pm

[quote comment="219968"][quote comment="219806"]base weight of this car is about 1250kg which is quite heavy for such small vehicle , this car length is only like 4.2m but its interior length have 2.625m and it beats stream in term of interior length and the up coming produa mpv only measure at 2.55m ,but surprisingly them both beats mazda 5 which interior length is only about 2.52m

its have cvt trust i don't think i will be underpower as cvt have wide range of ratio which can provide best of both world . i heard exora is going to change final gear ratio to make it move better, consequences is high rpm on highway which mean noisy and higher fc , but if the car with cvt , i think it can solve the problem as cvt able to have a very low gear ratio which make it could cruise at a lower rpm and saving fuel and the final gear ratio of cvt is big also , so it could deliver power and fc . IF cvt cannot make it to our shore , it sure will used a 5 speed automatic which still , the 5th gear can have a much lower ratio compare to 4 speed auto and help to save fuel although it would not be as efficient as cvt[/quote]

Is the CVT used here the same as on the old City? Coz if so, then be prepared for a lot of trouble…[/quote]

Not its not. Its an improved version. But you know what? Asean version from Indonesia might not come with CVT. They go for 5-Speed AT instead.

• Littlefire on Mar 12, 2009 at 11:58 pm

The problem that a lot of CVT Honda user found, most of them service the gearbox improperly..

I found out this last year when a Honda customer which always went to service at the official center complain a lot about CVT gearbox.

What i know from him is that, CVT is very sensitive gearbox. You must change only Honda CVT transmission oil and not others! Beside that, recommended to change around 20,000km! If you service your gearbox like what recommended above, no problem.

Mostly CVT in Japanese car didnt use metal to drive it, that why u felt rubber band feel.. That why changing it more early and annually will help save your gearbox from failing easily.. Why a lot of people dont know, coz they are scared about this CVT and if you guys do some research, CVT is cheaper and easier to operate compare to traditional 4-speed auto.

• MyBoy on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:12 am

If you ask me, I love CVT (especially the one by Jatco) but sadly even latest City and Jazz for Asean has abandoned CVT. Damn I love CVT.

• MyBoy on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:18 am

[quote comment="219994"]Mostly CVT in Japanese car didnt use metal to drive it, that why u felt rubber band feel.. That why changing it more early and annually will help save your gearbox from failing easily.. Why a lot of people dont know, coz they are scared about this CVT and if you guys do some research, CVT is cheaper and easier to operate compare to traditional 4-speed auto.[/quote]

They do user metal, bro. Please check your fact.

• MyBoy on Mar 13, 2009 at 12:49 am

[quote comment="219994"]Mostly CVT in Japanese car didnt use metal to drive it, that why u felt rubber band feel.. That why changing it more early and annually will help save your gearbox from failing easily.. Why a lot of people dont know, coz they are scared about this CVT and if you guys do some research, CVT is cheaper and easier to operate compare to traditional 4-speed auto.[/quote]

They do use metal for CVT.

• andre on Mar 13, 2009 at 2:20 am

[quote comment="219893"][quote comment="219890"]

i never said about exora FC, i just said every car got their problem he said stream "like" drink petro, and i wonder how he know exora not "like" drink petro? how many "minute" he test the car? read my post carefully

everyone here i believe they have drive proton before, we all know what the PROTON cars, if proton give me free, i can give you :D

cos proton look like shit cos every model can sell up to 10 years just change grill, headlamp….,

qc bad than perodua

i believe if you got money you wont buy proton, if you support proton… go ahead… non my business

• mohd osman on Mar 13, 2009 at 3:35 am

if Juara was sold by Honda, no will ever said it as a moving fridge …. this thing if rebranded as a proton, in a split of a second millions of Malaysia will say it's ugly and the worst car ever being designed …

• raybrig85 on Mar 13, 2009 at 5:09 am

[quote comment="219780"]Boying – people like to live beyond their means or rather, dream beyond their means. Many people want Odessy, Stream, Wish, etc, etc. So they will get the biggest branded MPV they can afford, be it Avanza, Exora, Livina, Freed, whatever. So before you give demeaning statements like 'exora is for cheapskate' not to mention idiotic, understand what is 'market segmentation'. If you are so rich, why bother with this blog? Get yourself a Maybach and go away.[/quote]

oo..i tot this blog is 4 everyone…did i miz sumting or did paul told us b4 that this blog is belongs to certain ppl??

• raybrig85 on Mar 13, 2009 at 5:10 am

[quote comment="220030"]if Juara was sold by Honda, no will ever said it as a moving fridge …. this thing if rebranded as a proton, in a split of a second millions of Malaysia will say it's ugly and the worst car ever being designed …[/quote]

haha…i still say that thing is crap eventho merc or beemer produce that thing

• kruzer (Member) on Mar 13, 2009 at 7:32 am

[quote comment="219661"]1st impression ugly…[/quote]

Saw this car in JB with a SG plate. Rear is very ugly.

Didn't bother to continue looking at this car

• boyong on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:05 am

[quote comment="219784"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

I think this post really showing the quality we should expect from exora. A quality that a stupid rich won't even look…. look.

seriously,

do you all malaysian thinks proton cars really good?

Why proton in a really monetary deep s**t?

Why it has to put Lotus name in proton badge?

Does putting lotus name make proton name better?

Or it make proton doesn't have a self confidence?

And why proton cars in another asian country is just a laughing matter?

I seen some proton cars, and I don't like the plastic they were using,

and the dashboard also looks cheap, like the avanza from toyota.

• MyBoy on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:07 am

[quote comment="220092"][quote comment="219661"]1st impression ugly…[/quote]

Saw this car in JB with a SG plate. Rear is very ugly.

Didn't bother to continue looking at this car[/quote]

Agree with you. The rear end is very ugly.

• boyong on Mar 13, 2009 at 8:10 am

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

are you kidding me?

EXORA not a great MPV?

i tell you what,

Cars is not only engine.

To enthusiast, you only see how many horse power it can deliver with that cc.

But to others,

interior beauty/quality,

fun to drive,

and others aspect also count.

And I do feel that the plastic material used in proton doesn't as good as the one used by honda.

I'm not saying that japanese car better, because I also hate the plastic that avanza and vios used. That's really looks cheap too.

• [quote comment="220116"][quote comment="219834"][quote comment="219791"][quote comment="219776"][quote comment="219708"][quote comment="219689"]sure its going to compete with

the new proton exora…

how??

you must be kidding me.

are you kidding me?

EXORA not a great MPV?

i tell you what,

Cars is not only engine.

To enthusiast, you only see how many horse power it can deliver with that cc.

But to others,

interior beauty/quality,

fun to drive,

and others aspect also count.

And I do feel that the plastic material used in proton doesn't as good as the one used by honda.

I'm not saying that japanese car better, because I also hate the plastic that avanza and vios used. That's really looks cheap too.[/quote]

i dun think horse power is a important thing in an mpv , torque is much much more important and usefull .

• mct said,

i dun think horse power is a important thing in an mpv , torque is much much more important and usefull .

—————————————————————-

SPOT ON!….yeap, for MPV/heavy vehicles, torque is more imortant to move all those weights…preferably at low rpm say btw 1.5k – 3k so that FC won't suffer, hence turbodiesel would be more appropriate….example those toyota's D4D, Captiva 2.0D, santa fe 2.2D, starex 2.5D or those excellant citroen/VW/peugeot/renault TDI….

• Stupid ugly car

• gattaca on Mar 14, 2009 at 8:43 pm

[quote comment="220563"]Stupid ugly car[/quote]

u sounds like julian-lee…

• Arise on Mar 18, 2009 at 8:40 pm

Anymore new news on this Freed ?

• David on Mar 20, 2009 at 8:58 am

Crap!!! I'm Indonesian, and I think this silly MPV will cost a fortune… Like any other honda products here…

Kalian tau enggak, berapa harga All New Jazz, All New City, atau bahkan All New Civic???

For example : the new honda civic cost approximately 390 million Rupiahs… a little below that numbers, you could get a fresh-sporty-fast Mitsubishi Lancer 2.0 EX, or a Mazda3, or even a slight conservative yet elegant Toyota Corolla Altis…

And you know what, these car offers a lot more of stuffs, compared to the Civic…

Di kelas SUV, honda CRV menjadi yang paling mahal harganya… padahal kompetitor lainnya, contohnya : Nissan All New X-Trail, Chevrolet Captiva, Suzuki Grand Vitara (the 2400cc trim will be launched at the end of March), atau bahkan Toyota Fortuner, bisa memberikan harga yang lebih masuk akal dengan fitur-fitur yang lebih banyak daripada CRV… The CRV had nothing to proud with… I'd prefer the Hyundai Tucson or KIA Sportage, better than CRV…

one thing about Honda : OVERPRICED!!!

kalian tau enggak berapa biaya maintenance dari sebuah mobil Honda tipe apapun??? Craptacular!!!

Just my 2 cents….

Greetings from Indonesia…

• The Mugen Design look like little Estima.

Some shot:
    http://img514.imageshack.us/img514/230/clipboard0…

Mugen Design:
    http://www.mugen-power.com/street/freed/wallpaper…

• New Maths Formula:

Compact car + Room = Freed

Minivan – part of piece = Freed

The Answer:

Compact car + Minivan – part of piece = Honda Freed

• honda freed on Mar 29, 2009 at 10:46 pm

brand new honda car, based on civic type :) great car

• it's costly but resale value is also high.. so overall it's cheaper than other brands..

• Zambug Bazuga on Jul 04, 2009 at 9:09 am

The freed is similar size like the Suzuki ER-V, its smaller than Avanza

• In Indonesia auto market Honda Freed already delivered 340 units to dealers (wholesales) after launch on June 29, 2009.

http://indonesia-cars.com/518/honda-delivers-340-…

• zulib on Dec 15, 2009 at 11:22 am

Bila nak masuk malaysia market ni?…. ada dengar khabar tak? anyone…

• My friend at Honda Indonesia said they will deliver to Malaysia at least April or May 2010. They has exported one thousand units of Freed to Thailand on monday (14/12/09). also you can read more detail at http://indonesia-cars.com/1329/honda-export-1000-…

• Suits me, need car that can transport people when I need it. Wife driving a City now and own a 20 years old Civic. Honda has always been my brand. Need a 7 seater. Honda better bring Freed soon, else I will go for Wish. Never own a Toyota before, maybe for a change. Honda website not friendly and do not have segment for queries. Want to know more also do not entertain. Have to log on to Paultan. Hey…your site doing good job. Keep it up.

• malaysia memang bole on Jan 18, 2010 at 5:35 am

1.5 engine+ugly design?

when it comes to HONDA and others japanese brand

nobody cares about the design

when proton design such a car like this

every body BASH!

this is a common scenario in malaysia

prove is,we can see alot of toyota's dugong on the road.