Can Proton cars run RON95 octane fuel?

ProtonI sent a query to Proton when the RON95 introduction was officially confirmed on whether their engines would be compatible with the new fuel. From what I understand from reading some comments on this site and on other forums apparently there are some Proton manuals that call for RON97 fuel to be used. So I think it’s best to get an official answer from the manufacturer.

Proton’s powertrain department have tested all of their engines including the Mitsubishi models and have stated that all Proton cars can run on RON95, despite what they’ve stated in their manuals (why???). This includes the old carburetor cars, the Renault engines, and the new Campro CPS engine.

There is only one issue. They acknowledge some of the old carburetor cars may experience knocking depending on the condition of the engine and needs to go into the Proton service center to adjust the engine’s ignition timing.

This happens to carburetor engines because a carburetor cannot inject fuel as accurately as a fuel injection system, thus sometimes the air-fuel mixture is too rich. All the unburned fuel results in lots of carbon deposits, which change the shape of the combustion chamber and causes pre-mature ignition, which results in engine knock. Any high mileage engine may also have the risk of carbon deposit build up.

So if you have an old Wira or Satria with a carburetor, you are at a higher risk of engine knocking if you use RON95, if you didn’t have it already with RON97 of course. Any other high mileage car is also at a risk because of carbon build-up that can happen over time, even with a fuel injection system. For those that are a little adventurous, RON95 is now available at the Petronas stations in Precinct 9 Putrajaya so you can go try it out.

And of course, saying your cars can run on a certain fuel octane grade without knocking is one thing, but it’s another to say it would run at the same level of performance and fuel economy because of the ignition timing adjustments, whether manual or automatic.

If you would like to learn more about what RON really is, read the related link.

Related Post:
What is RON (Research Octane Number)?

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• First! Hehe..

Nice info, Thanks Paul =)

• scgtimk1 on May 15, 2009 at 12:23 am

I have alrady ran my savvy with RON92 many moons ago. seems like RON95 is an overkill.

• what about perodua engines?

• My 15 yrs old Wira 1.5GL states that it needs RON97. Come sept if my engine knocks when i fill up with RON95 i have no choice but to:

(1) Buy RON97 which is much more expensive; or

(2) Upgrade to a new car which is even more expensive.

Who was thinking about the low-income earners like us who can neither afford (1) nor (2) above when they came up with this decision?

• madboy on May 15, 2009 at 12:59 am

tried using RON92 with my 9 years old Iswara. Knocking problem was obvious. Reverted back to RON97 without any problem. Have not test RON95 yet. Better do it now.

• azrai on May 15, 2009 at 12:59 am

I think why they stated RON97 in their manual because it is the only petrol grade we can get at that time of the manual publishing. Am I right Mr. Engineer?

• rexis on May 15, 2009 at 1:03 am

So I am in the high risk catergory who drive a luxury old Wira.

• Tan Yee Hou on May 15, 2009 at 1:06 am

Hey Paul,

On the subject of fuel, was wondering if fuel additives like commercially available cleaners are effective?

Have read some very general write ups on forums about the engine feeling smoother, with better fuel consumption; but are there any quantitative studies done?

Thanks Paul!

• dcwhz83 on May 15, 2009 at 1:26 am

I agree with the govt becoz many european countries alrdy use RON95 as minimum grade fuel… and RON98 as luxury alternative… almost all cars can run RON95 here, and the fuel tanks are even designed to have stickers that say minimum RON95 unleaded…

what is more important to ppl on the street is the food/consumer products dont increase price as if the consumer are idiots… some traders will use that 20 sen increase as a reason to increase price, rather than saying its a reduction of 5 sen (to RON95)… and not to mention, transport industry uses diesel mostly, but they might increase product price even if petrol price is increased…

• infinity on May 15, 2009 at 1:34 am

for older cars, i think it would be better to use octane booster 1st when using RON95…let ur engine slowly familiarise with RON95..jz like how u change the milk for your baby..haha

• Good day folks

Can anyone enlighten me with what is the impact of engine knocking?

How serious is it?

• bmpower on May 15, 2009 at 1:37 am

do perodua care?

what about 1st model kancil?

• xstan on May 15, 2009 at 1:43 am

What the heck..we rakyat already paying TAX for current fuel ..now increase price for ron 97..which means Govt earn more from tax loh…what happen to the subsidy.

Now I know ..one can claimed & boost for RM60Bil stimulus package..but where is the actual funds to fund it…probably from the high fuel tax ah?

• My 98 Iswara definitely cough when I tested with RON92 before. Hopefully it can cope with RON95. Hopefully the smart guy who came up with this idea goes bit further with free tuning or warranty for this group of motorist.

• theanswer on May 15, 2009 at 2:10 am

[quote comment="238399"]what about perodua engines?[/quote]

myvi/avanza k3-ve can run ron92.

• xoomie on May 15, 2009 at 2:14 am

yaa…. what about Perdana V6, can it run RON95?

• What the hell. Die lor lidat. if i pump RON95, and suddenly the engine jus die off how?? can i claim for an engine swap from the G??

• don't think there's gonna be knocking problem for any high mileage engines, despite the higher compression ratio compared to a new engine, i ran my 240,000km 95' 1.6 Corolla on RON92 and there's no problems…only less power but you get what you pay for

• SXtrail on May 15, 2009 at 2:30 am

I think its not fair asking us to use RON95 as my MYVI should run on RON92.

It's nonsense to say we are getting higher grade fuel at lower price.When RON 97 is priced so high,and RON95 is useless for my usage!

• can saga LMST runs wif RON 95?

Anyone use RON 92 on their saga?

Is knocking obvious?

• jhj249 on May 15, 2009 at 3:55 am

Totally agreed with SXtrail. My Viva can run smoothly with RON92. Even the manual said it only require RON91 above. Now I have to pay extra when I'm filling up my Viva tank. Extra 5 cents per liter is a lot for low income rakyat like me!!

• xzibit on May 15, 2009 at 4:24 am

can 1.6 engines run on RON 95?

• khimfoh on May 15, 2009 at 5:09 am

"scgtimk1 said,

May 14, 2009 @ 4:23 pm · Reply with quote

I have alrady ran my savvy with RON92 many moons ago. seems like RON95 is an overkill. "

Er….I don't think the Renault D4F of the Savvy can take octane lesser than RON 95. If you open the fuel lid cover, it's stated that the minimum octane is RON 95.

• 4G63T DSM on May 15, 2009 at 5:46 am

[quote comment="238434"]don't think there's gonna be knocking problem for any high mileage engines, despite the higher compression ratio compared to a new engine, i ran my 240,000km 95' 1.6 Corolla on RON92 and there's no problems…only less power but you get what you pay for[/quote]

It might be likely that your SEG has a knock sensor.

While for the rest of us, running RON95 might be a problem.

• Aman Shah on May 15, 2009 at 6:01 am

Oh damn my satria neo cps have to use RON97? damn..i thought i could save on fuel after RON95 is being introduced

• bugbear1986 on May 15, 2009 at 6:02 am

hehehe… so thse who still arrogant one..

go and kill ur underpowered proton engine by using ron95…

hahaha XD

• shah333 on May 15, 2009 at 6:23 am

In my GEN2 CPS manual state:

Recommended fuel: Unleaded Gasoline only (minimum RON95 or higher).

• triplew on May 15, 2009 at 7:06 am

Im driving a wira 1999, can anyone tell it's a carburetor or fuel injection? highly appreciated as this is going to worrying me…

Paul, not sure is that possible to get a list of RON95 compatability for all Proton models, not only a single model name specified but with different engine and manufacturing years. I believe it would be a relief for such big big question mark in many ppl's head now… many thanks.

• Miss Janet on May 15, 2009 at 7:15 am

QUOTE FROM PAULTAN:

All the unburned fuel results in lots of carbon deposits, which change the shape of the combustion chamber and causes pre-mature ignition, which results in engine knock.

UNQUOTE.

Pre-ignition is not the same thing as Engine Knock.

QUOTE FROM WIKI

Pre-ignition (or preignition) in a spark-ignition engine is a technically different phenomenon from engine knocking, and describes the event wherein the air/fuel mixture in the cylinder ignites before the spark plug fires. Pre-ignition is initiated by an ignition source other than the spark, such as hot spots in the combustion chamber, a spark plug that runs too hot for the application, or carbonaceous deposits in the combustion chamber heated to incandescence by previous engine combustion events.

ENGINE Knocking (also called detonation) in spark-ignition internal combustion engines occurs when combustion of the air/fuel mixture in the cylinder starts off CORRECTLY in response to ignition by the spark plug, BUT one or more pockets of air/fuel mixture explode outside the envelope of the normal combustion front.

Effects of engine knocking range from inconsequential to completely destructive. It should not be confused with pre-ignition (or preignition), as they are two separate events.

ABOUT OCTANE RATING:

The octane rating is a measure of the resistance of gasoline and other fuels to detonation (engine knocking) in spark-ignition internal combustion engines. High-performance engines typically have higher compression ratios and are therefore more prone to detonation, so they require higher octane fuel. A lower-performance engine will not generally perform better with high-octane fuel, since the compression ratio is fixed by the engine design.

Higher octane ratings correlate to higher activation energies. Activation energy is the amount of energy necessary to start a chemical reaction. Since higher octane fuels have higher activation energies, it is less likely that a given compression will cause detonation.

It might seem odd that fuels with higher octane ratings are used in more powerful engines, since such fuels explode less easily. However, an explosion is not desired in an internal combustion engine. An explosion will cause the pressure in the cylinder to rise far beyond the cylinder's design limits, before the force of the expanding gases can be absorbed by the piston traveling downward. This actually reduces power output, because much of the energy of combustion is absorbed as strain and heat in parts of the engine, rather than being converted to torque at the crankshaft.

UNQUOTE…

Now I am more informed. :)

• tricycle on May 15, 2009 at 7:20 am

I don't think adjusting timing will help much. Theoretically if the timing is retarded, it will be good for the high revving. Since more air flow into the combustion chamber at high RPM. But at lower RPM the engine feels like having a swine flu. The engine feels like dying.

If you advance the timing, the engine will be good at low RPM. At higher RPM, performance will be less since less air gets into combustion chamber.

My honest solutions.

1. The best option, is to lower the Compression ratio by replacing the gasket with the thicker one. Shorten the Connecting Rod. Grind the Piston so that it is shorter or you could also cut it down. (Though I'm not sure how it will affect the performance)

2. Change the incompetent Government. How come during the bad economic period, they still thinking of filling up their pocket with our hard earned income. So many things to attract the investor but they resorted to the difficult one. What investors want are business friendly environment, trustworthy judicial system, low cost of doing business and the Rakyat with huge purchasing power. Increasing the price of Petrol will only damage the Rakyat purchasing power. The U.S. is still using RON 91+92 for their cars. Gas in the U.S. also is very cheap if you convert it to RM. If you dont convert it to the RM, it is even cheaper.

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 15, 2009 at 7:30 am

[quote comment="238499"] The U.S. is still using RON 91+92 for their cars. Gas in the U.S. also is very cheap if you convert it to RM. If you dont convert it to the RM, it is even cheaper.[/quote]

erm.. how do you calculate the fact that the price of Gas in the US is cheaper than Malaysia ? do you even know the prices of gas there?

• BanyakMasukWorkshop on May 15, 2009 at 7:45 am

[quote comment="238499"]The U.S. is still using RON 91+92 for their cars. Gas in the U.S. also is very cheap if you convert it to RM. If you dont convert it to the RM, it is even cheaper.[/quote]

what i meant is, please explain, coz i dont have any idea on the gas prices there.

thanks.

• EnochKeng (Member) on May 15, 2009 at 8:00 am

Anyone tested on Iswara? Can it be use? This is bad news, i just bought a 2nd hand Iswara SE now this news break out.

• chanel on May 15, 2009 at 8:11 am

iswara can't be use for ron 92 that for sure…tested with caltex ron 92 (claimed to have same additive as ron 97)…the moment i drove off can clearly heard the knocking sound…..

• tokmoh on May 15, 2009 at 8:44 am

Good one, Paul :)

Just my personal opinion, the new minister shud maintain the price at RM1.70/L for RON95, just as promised by Shahrir previously.

• I drive kenari with 130 000 km clocked. RON 92 user. Knocking can be heard at 4800 RPM – Red line. Hope this new RON95 will be good for the car.

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on May 15, 2009 at 2:04 pm

[quote comment="238403"]I think why they stated RON97 in their manual because it is the only petrol grade we can get at that time of the manual publishing. Am I right Mr. Engineer?[/quote]

Wrong. At that time already have RON92.

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on May 15, 2009 at 2:06 pm

[quote comment="238407"]Hey Paul,

On the subject of fuel, was wondering if fuel additives like commercially available cleaners are effective?

Have read some very general write ups on forums about the engine feeling smoother, with better fuel consumption; but are there any quantitative studies done?

Thanks Paul![/quote]

Watch 5th gear Gear (Viki) done an intensive Fuel Additive experiment. You can search at you tube if you want to know the results.

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on May 15, 2009 at 2:20 pm

[quote comment="238520"]Good one, Paul :)

Just my personal opinion, the new minister shud maintain the price at RM1.70/L for RON95, just as promised by Shahrir previously.[/quote]

Better get that old minister back to office in charge. Else we all know what to do in the next Exxxxxxx.

• Reasonably Insane on May 15, 2009 at 3:57 pm

[quote comment="238553"][quote comment="238403"]I think why they stated RON97 in their manual because it is the only petrol grade we can get at that time of the manual publishing. Am I right Mr. Engineer?[/quote]

Wrong. At that time already have RON92.[/quote]

Duh!! try to understand ppl's comments first -.-, Campro requires minimum RON 95… since last time only RON 92 n RON 97 are available, they put RON 97 as minimum requirement in the manual… eventhough RON 92 available, they can't put it as minimum requirement…duh!!! Stupid…

• azrai on May 15, 2009 at 4:05 pm

[quote comment="238553"][quote comment="238403"]I think why they stated RON97 in their manual because it is the only petrol grade we can get at that time of the manual publishing. Am I right Mr. Engineer?[/quote]

Wrong. At that time already have RON92.[/quote]

Yes, but proton maybe cannot get less than RON95? So that's why it is stated RON97 min. You can buy ocatane booster at Jusco. Find it.

• tricycle on May 15, 2009 at 4:12 pm

[quote comment="238506"][quote comment="238499"]The U.S. is still using RON 91+92 for their cars. Gas in the U.S. also is very cheap if you convert it to RM. If you dont convert it to the RM, it is even cheaper.[/quote]

what i meant is, please explain, coz i dont have any idea on the gas prices there.

thanks.[/quote]

To BanyakMasukWorkshop,

Here is the link to the gas prices in the US that I just checked. http://www.tucsongasprices.com/ At the time of checking the price was 1.83USD/Gallon US. A month ago I checked, it was even lower. Two months ago was even lower. More than 3 months ago it was about 1.60 USD/Gallon US.

How do I calculate? 1 Gallon US = 3.785 Liters

Current exchange rate is 3.54RM/USD . I use the figure from www.xe.com

So based on current price at Tucson, and the current exchange rate, the gas prices at Tucson is RM 1.71/ liter .

Maybe some of you might say that the price in Tucson is the lowest at the moments. But I need to stress out 2,3 months ago the average gas price in the US is about 1.80USD/US gallon. They are using Ron 91+92 at the US. US is the NET IMPORTER also.

Since the Rakyat there in the US got more power, so they got their basic need at the competitive price. Since we the Rakyat are brainless collectively so that's why our G can rape us again and again and again and so many agains.

Thanks for asking!

• scgtimk1 on May 15, 2009 at 4:16 pm

[quote comment="238469"]"scgtimk1 said,

May 14, 2009 @ 4:23 pm · Reply with quote

I have alrady ran my savvy with RON92 many moons ago. seems like RON95 is an overkill. "

Er….I don't think the Renault D4F of the Savvy can take octane lesser than RON 95. If you open the fuel lid cover, it's stated that the minimum octane is RON 95.[/quote]

Err… my fuel Lid cover indicates only Unleaded Fuel Use only. Maybe yours savvy is the pre face lifted model. My car is 2008 savvy lite. I have been using RON92 and no issue of pinging or knocking.

• KeithDuckworth on May 15, 2009 at 4:30 pm

The Wira 1.5 injection already knocking when using RON97 (esp going uphill). I know becos I owned one before (now sold). I have my doubts whether it can run RON95 properly. Maybe becos it doesn't have a knock sensor, even though its fuel injected. Proton should not make a sweeping statement that ALL its engines can run RON95 when its not true. Perhaps its true that the car will RUN, but NOT run PROPERLY, and what is the long term effect?

I am very surprised that the govt did not consult with Proton on this matter before its introduced since we all know that this move affects thousand of users, including the lower income rakyat

• King Samurai on May 15, 2009 at 4:40 pm

Thank you Paul for the info. I've also checked with my contacts in Proton R&D asking about RON95 in Campro engines. It's compatible to run on RON95 and thank god…I can still keep my Gen2 running until become junk (cannot sell due to the horrendous resale value).

Tokmoh, you're right bro…campro engine can run on RON95..whatta relief. Hope the price to maintain at RM1.70 when it's finalised. And also hopefully Proton R&D people meant their words. I'll run to Putrajaya this weekend and pump RON95 for test run.

• King Samurai on May 15, 2009 at 4:50 pm

[quote comment="238512"]iswara can't be use for ron 92 that for sure…tested with caltex ron 92 (claimed to have same additive as ron 97)…the moment i drove off can clearly heard the knocking sound…..[/quote]

Bro, fuel additive wont change the RON numbers…as the octane level still different. That's why you still here the engine knocking. Same goes to V-Power, still RON97 with additives. Pump into performance engine like Type R or any V6 or V8 engine it cannot achive the optimum performance. Only those high end engines have knock sensors..so the knocking sound is almost gone….my 2cents

• rexis on May 15, 2009 at 5:04 pm

Time to install NGV now, methene is RON107, confirm no knocking.

• off cause the RON 95 can used on most of the porton car, if not what on earth the G will issue this Bill to hv the RON95.

• Shell Malaysia has reveal that their fuel is above RON97, it is up to other fuel suppliers in Malaysia to challenge it, if it is not true. Octane Booster does help in achieving higher octane per tank, but then the cost in long run does not justify normal usage on road cars as compare to race cars. You can choose between increase of 1-15 RON.

The regular on the shelf here is less than 1. The higher number cost more. Most modern passenger cars have knock sensor these days, even campro has knock sensors I heard. =)

• Littlefire on May 15, 2009 at 6:33 pm

Any fuel also can run in ur car… Even in some country they still have Ron88 selling…

The problem is will ur car run in optimum performance?!? Just like paul want to mention knocking… When ur engine knock it means that ur engine is reaching it's limit too early & no performance.

Anyway i heard someone here mention about US fuel system.. In US different states have different figure.. Most of them calculate by Gallon (Middle-east also using it) 1 Gallon almost 3.785Liter+ of our fuel…

http://tonto.eia.doe.gov/oog/info/gdu/gasdiesel.a…

Currently now in US average (all ron) of 1 Gallon of Petrol is around USD2.2*3.6 = RM7.92/Gallon divide 3.785 = Is around RM2.09/Liter.

Remember in US is floating system & besides that is average of all ron fuels. I believe some state which still selling Ron88/ron92 will be even cheaper rate.

So i can believe that in US it is cheaper compare to us, if you work n live there. As ur earning power in US for sure is cheap for you to buy car n fuel it in US.

• shoryuken on May 15, 2009 at 7:33 pm

I think many people forgotten we are paying tax for the oil instead of so call subsidy for the past months since it drops, and the G increasing the price without any hesitate. Where is the Economic Committee? where is the so called people's leader? Common, you can replace the Ron92, but not in the expend of people by increasing the Ron97 (which we already paying tax.) Again, only know how to earn people's money in monopolized items by abusing the legislation.

• rexis on May 15, 2009 at 9:09 pm

[quote comment="238597"]off cause the RON 95 can used on most of the porton car, if not what on earth the G will issue this Bill to hv the RON95.[/quote]

Thats the thing, it is "on most of the proton car", not "on all the proton car" and there are a lot more old protons then new one running on the street.

• cyberkayu on May 15, 2009 at 9:10 pm

can quote link?

• cyberkayu on May 15, 2009 at 9:11 pm

[quote comment="238555"][quote comment="238407"]Hey Paul,

Thanks Paul![/quote]

Watch 5th gear Gear (Viki) done an intensive Fuel Additive experiment. You can search at you tube if you want to know the results.[/quote]

link for this 1?

• kemosabe on May 15, 2009 at 11:20 pm

September is still quite a long way, we'll see if the 1Malaysia concept stands till then. If not it'll be 1MalaysiaN concept.

In the US and many other countries, fuel and car prices compliments each other. Over here is lopsided to the other(non-rakyat) side.

Don't see why the Gov have to increase the RON97 prices just to introduce RON95 petrol.

I'm wondering how the petrol stations would clean their tanks of RON92 to fill in RON95 petrol…… anyone any ideas?

• want cheap petrol on May 15, 2009 at 11:40 pm

why there is no more ron92. we only want cheap petrol. why cant sell ron95 at ron92 price? cheap petrol for people who got cheap salary .

• ariefin on May 16, 2009 at 3:06 am

Weird, here in Indonesia we have the Premium gasoline which is RON 88 and I see a number of Proton Savvy's or Gen2 use that gasoline and there seems to be no problem at all.

• Tiadaid on May 16, 2009 at 3:24 am

[quote comment="238630"]I think many people forgotten we are paying tax for the oil instead of so call subsidy for the past months since it drops, and the G increasing the price without any hesitate. Where is the Economic Committee? where is the so called people's leader? Common, you can replace the Ron92, but not in the expend of people by increasing the Ron97 (which we already paying tax.) Again, only know how to earn people's money in monopolized items by abusing the legislation.[/quote]

And then again, you forgot about the RM625 that they gave to you last year when fuel prices went up the roof! Come on la, everything also want the government to pay! Subsidize fuel, subsidize food, subsidize health care, subsidize higher education, if everything subsidize then where the hell should the money come from? Let them recoup the money spent giving out the RM625 la!

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 16, 2009 at 7:36 am

I been reading all the comments posted here so far… and I came up a disturbing conclusion… most of you posted without knowing the whole story… in another word… you guys tend to jump to conclusion.

RON97 – Rm 2.00

RON95 – RM 1.75

RON92 – RM 1.70

Ok, now look closely at the price. You should notice the difference ie RON97 will cost 25cent more than RON95. So a full tank of 60 liter will bring a difference of RM15.00 between those 2. So if you fill up your 60 liter with RON95, you would be paying RM105.00 whereas with RON97 it will cost you RM120.00. But now, who, in their right mind, would pay something more for the more or less same thing? People with money and ego to show that they can afford the expensive stuff. Are you this people? If yes, then you shouldn't make any noise about it. The rest of us who can't afford to splash our moeny on excessive thing would settle for the cheaper alternative. Thats where the RON95 come into place. Remember, it is subsidized by the government. If you opted for the RON97 for whatever reason, just pay up the extra 20cent per litre and go showing off to anybody that would be interested. And I'm not interested by how much you spend your money on fuel. And think, the difference is 25cent. How many people are going to use the RON97 to enable the government to fully subsidized the RON95? Because majority of Malaysian will use the cheaper alternative. End of the day, the government still have to fork out some (billions maybe?) money to enable us, the less fortunate not to have a few hundred thousand ringgit laying somewhere in the house, to drive to and from work.

The problem is Malaysian never learn. When the fuel price goes up, go the whole kampung shouting about it. When fuel goes down, still shout not enough. But the biggest wasting of tax money is not by the government but by the public. Go and search, how much money the government have spent on subsidizing our appertite for cheap fuel?

And the best part is, you are worried more about engine performance than about your enviroment… what a pity lot you guys are. Nevermind, when all the forest is gone when the weather gone kaput, either we are under the sea or under ice, it wont matter, as long as you can buy cheap fuel. But then again, where can you drive your precious cars? :D

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 16, 2009 at 7:38 am

I been reading all the comments posted here so far… and I came up a disturbing conclusion… most of you posted without knowing the whole story… in another word… you guys tend to jump to conclusion.

RON97 – Rm 2.00

RON95 – RM 1.75

RON92 – RM 1.70

Ok, now look closely at the price. You should notice the difference ie RON97 will cost 25cent more than RON95. So a full tank of 60 liter will bring a difference of RM15.00 between those 2. So if you fill up your 60 liter with RON95, you would be paying RM105.00 whereas with RON97 it will cost you RM120.00. But now, who, in their right mind, would pay something more for the more or less same thing? People with money and ego to show that they can afford the expensive stuff. Are you this people? If yes, then you shouldn't make any noise about it. The rest of us who can't afford to splash our moeny on excessive thing would settle for the cheaper alternative. Thats where the RON95 come into place. Remember, it is subsidized by the government. If you opted for the RON97 for whatever reason, just pay up the extra 20cent per litre and go showing off to anybody that would be interested. And I'm not interested by how much you spend your money on fuel. And think, the difference is 25cent. How many people are going to use the RON97 to enable the government to fully subsidized the RON95? Because majority of Malaysian will use the cheaper alternative. End of the day, the government still have to fork out some (billions maybe?) money to enable us, the less fortunate not to have a few hundred thousand ringgit laying somewhere in the house, to drive to and from work. But I do agree that RON95 should be kept at RON92 price but then again more money is needed to subsidize that.

The problem is Malaysian never learn. When the fuel price goes up, go the whole kampung shouting about it. When fuel goes down, still shout not enough. But the biggest wasting of tax money is not by the government but by the public. Go and search, how much money the government have spent on subsidizing our appertite for cheap fuel?

And the best part is, you are worried more about engine performance than about your enviroment… what a pity lot you guys are. Nevermind, when all the forest is gone when the weather gone kaput, either we are under the sea or under ice, it wont matter, as long as you can buy cheap fuel. But then again, where can you drive your precious cars? :D

• chap_de_x on May 16, 2009 at 7:39 am

funny…..nobody ask about perodua cars or naza or other so call "national" car about this issues…paul maybe you should also ask other "national" car about this and let see how they respond …proton test their powertrain in various country in the world to make sure it can adapt to any environment…..indonesia running on Ron88…. no issues till now for various of proton models.

• Littlefire on May 16, 2009 at 4:20 pm

[quote comment="238687"]September is still quite a long way, we'll see if the 1Malaysia concept stands till then. If not it'll be 1MalaysiaN concept.

In the US and many other countries, fuel and car prices compliments each other. Over here is lopsided to the other(non-rakyat) side.

Don't see why the Gov have to increase the RON97 prices just to introduce RON95 petrol.

I'm wondering how the petrol stations would clean their tanks of RON92 to fill in RON95 petrol…… anyone any ideas?[/quote]

There is a quite idea from those Petrol station… With the remaining Ron 92 mix with Ron 97 = Ron94.5 LOL~!

But i dont think those Petrol station so stupid to mix the expensive with the cheap 1 to get the nearest Ron95… Anyway dont be so hopefull as most of the Petrol station wont even reach near the Ron figure also… I think some station even they sell Ron97, but when test result came out is around Ron95-96…

• tokmoh on May 16, 2009 at 5:49 pm

[quote comment="238737"]Weird, here in Indonesia we have the Premium gasoline which is RON 88 and I see a number of Proton Savvy's or Gen2 use that gasoline and there seems to be no problem at all.[/quote]

If I am not mistaken, Proton tuned their cars down for Indonesian market so that it can use RON88. But that would mean a loss of power ie it won't achieve its full potential.

I read somewhere saying Proton is preparing Exora for Indonesian market, n they had to tune down the Campro CPS. Which means the Exora your country is getting won't achieve max 125bhp, but maybe 124, 123bhp at most.

Premium is RON88 eh? If I remember correctly, its rp.4500/L, right?

• Tiadaid on May 16, 2009 at 6:31 pm

[quote comment=”238865″][quote comment=”238762″]
    The problem is Malaysian never learn. When the fuel price goes up, go the whole kampung shouting about it. When fuel goes down, still shout not enough. But the biggest wasting of tax money is not by the government but by the public. Go and search, how much money the government have spent on subsidizing our appertite for cheap fuel?[/quote]

O really??

How much money we spend on SUBSIDIZING the government through highest car tax in the world? Through most number of toll plaza in the world? How much money Gahmen spend on useless project to enrich their own crony at highly inflated prices?

Plz lah don’t give me the BS. I don’t mind paying high price for petrol, tolls if I can see the G is using the money properly. But as I can see, they are not. Malaysians getting poorer and poorer (salary increase much slower than inflation).

You damn right Malaysian complain about G. Actually, they have a right to![/quote]

Hello, the G also subsidize food, health care and higher education as well. People always conveniently forget about that when talking about fuel prices. The tax paid surely will go into those as well!

• Haji Bakhil on May 16, 2009 at 8:03 pm

Older Proton manuals state min RON97 because it was written and compiled by arrogant 'engineers' from Bolehland thinking that higher is better and lebih canggih. Like those 'go-fast, add 10HP' stripes that they charge us for those old Iswaras. Proton were never able to solve the knocking problems of Iswaras over the years. I believe it happens to older 4g13 and 4g15 Wiras as well.

Coming back to this RON thing, it all depends on the driver's preference actually. For an average family car to just move from point A to B or C, RON 95 should be sufficient. For some obvious reasons, my family 'proudly' owns 3 national makes from P1 and P2. Have tried RON92 on all 3, and they run OK. I am no chemical or automotive engineer, so it's all based on my butt feel. My gripe is P1 and P2 and the Govt should make proper tests and thorough tests on all common vehicles before giving a blanket statement that all cars can run on RON 95. To argue, even putting kerosene in your tank also your car can run la.

• crappyblog on May 16, 2009 at 10:15 pm

your neighbours such as Singapore and thailand are not using RON 92 anymore..what's the fuss about?… if you want cheap go and buy diesel and pour into your proton..also can move what..!! apa dah..cheap skate!

• not_ah_beng on May 16, 2009 at 10:28 pm

[quote comment="238762"]

The problem is Malaysian never learn. When the fuel price goes up, go the whole kampung shouting about it. When fuel goes down, still shout not enough. But the biggest wasting of tax money is not by the government but by the public. Go and search, how much money the government have spent on subsidizing our appertite for cheap fuel?[/quote]

O really??

How much money we spend on SUBSIDIZING the government through highest car tax in the world? Through most number of toll plaza in the world? How much money Gahmen spend on useless project to enrich their own crony at highly inflated prices?

Plz lah don't give me the BS. I don't mind paying high price for petrol, tolls if I can see the G is using the money properly. But as I can see, they are not. Malaysians getting poorer and poorer (salary increase much slower than inflation).

You damn right Malaysian complain about G. Actually, they have a right to!

• Tiadaid on May 17, 2009 at 2:29 am

[quote comment="238865"][quote comment="238762"]

O really??

Plz lah don't give me the BS. I don't mind paying high price for petrol, tolls if I can see the G is using the money properly. But as I can see, they are not. Malaysians getting poorer and poorer (salary increase much slower than inflation).

You damn right Malaysian complain about G. Actually, they have a right to![/quote]

Helo, wat about food subsidies, health care subsidies and eduaction subsidies. People always conveniently forget about that when talking about fuel prices. The tax paid surely will go into those as well!

• B16a VTEC& 4G92 on May 17, 2009 at 2:50 am

[quote comment="238656"][quote comment="238555"][quote comment="238407"]Hey Paul,

Thanks Paul![/quote]

Watch 5th gear Gear (Viki) done an intensive Fuel Additive experiment. You can search at you tube if you want to know the results.[/quote]

link for this 1?[/quote]

Here it is :
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2jbcCr2ll3c

• leonardo on May 17, 2009 at 7:10 am

I use Ron 92 for my 10 year old 1.6 Satria with injection engine – no problems.

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 17, 2009 at 7:26 am

not_ah_beng said,

May 16, 2009 @ 2:28 pm · Reply with quote

O really??

Plz lah don’t give me the BS. I don’t mind paying high price for petrol, tolls if I can see the G is using the money properly. But as I can see, they are not. Malaysians getting poorer and poorer (salary increase much slower than inflation).

You damn right Malaysian complain about G. Actually, they have a right to!

—————————————————————-

You shouldn't make comments on things you do not know. You only make a fool of youself.

Malaysia only has 23 tolled highway… which is still small no matter what you think. Compared to USA which has 184, England 31, Norway 35. Heck even New York has 26 and Florida 24. So how can you claimed Malaysia has the highest number of toll plaza in the world??? Maybe only in your small world under the coconut shell? :D

http://articles.gourt.com/en/toll%20road – links for you to look up…

What do you mean BS? And what do you mean the government wasting money? Government enriching cronies? Do you have the proof? If you have, why don't you make it public… call AFP, Reuters… heck you can even called up DSAI… he will be happy to get this kind of information. It's people like you who spread disease among others with your illusions and fantasy. No proof but talked like you are the expert. NO… I'll called you BS!

And as Tiadaid said, what about all the facilities you enjoyed for free or with minimum payment? Is the money used for this fell from the sky or growing on trees? Even our mighty neighbor across the causeway don't give this for free and yet you are asking where are the tax money gone to?

• Prismo on May 17, 2009 at 9:57 am

kingburtal, u r correct.. and Tiadaid was absolutely right..

A frog under coconut shell thinking with a small hole it's peeping out.. For it, it's real world and that world must obey… don't be worry, i do believe this kind of peoples is a minority group in Malaysia.. ;)

I'm not a pro BN or either con BN, but as long as them can run our country properly (no G in this world can run their country perfectly), i've no problem with them.. hell, just because of RON95 was introduced to replacing RON92 with RM1.75/liter and increasing RON97pricing to RM2.00/liter, we must avoid them in next GE and will vote for PR.. I'm still monitoring what've PR's doing in this 4 years of rules until next GE.. is they really stick with their manisfesto? and is they really have perform/doing what've they promises to rakyat? i'm also not a con PR either a pro PR.. as long they can make their job properly, i've no problem with them.. ;)

• Prismo on May 17, 2009 at 10:00 am

[quote comment="238992"]as long they can make their job properly, i've no problem with them.. ;)[/quote]

as long they doing their job properly, i've no problem with them.. ;)

• truthwontdie on May 17, 2009 at 12:53 pm

KingBrutal,

even if what not_ah_beng said is baseless and factless..

i do not agree with what you have said too..

even if other countries has more toll we have to consider the rate per km..quality of the road and etc…

the G only claims that it has spend so much on subsidy…but who is benefiting from the subsidy price??u,me?the general public??on the few who has all the power and connection to make money out of those subsidies..

let me tell you why..lets look at our toll rate..its has been increase all this while…and why the increase??why should G pay those private company money if they cant manage those companies well??why the G made those agreement when they know it wont benefit anyone??why there is no ceiling price for the toll rates??

secondly..food and other consumer products..there is actually no active monitoring in our country..only during campaign time they will work hard..and the G made certain company monopoly certain business like for example sime darby has because such a huge player in our palm oil supply which they will be able to control the price in the near future..

and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth…

but i dont see many benefiting from it…we dont ask much…if you want a real world petrol price..give us real world salary,real world car price and interest rate plus acceptable alternative transportation…

but instead we are lowly paid..price of consumer product is high..our NAP benefiting so AP owners and rich who can save more in buying cheaper luxury cars and we end up paying high tax..high petrol price… and lacking of a proper public transport!!

so no point if the G pay subsidy on thing which the people wont benefit and someone there making huge profit…

and about PR..they are not given any opportunity to serve the people..whatever they are doing are being sabotaged by BN..its too obvious…

giving cow to people is a form bribe??..but going for holiday with G money is call official duty…there is where u see our money is mostly going…

our some of the G staff coat,or jacket is made by Hugo boss..and other big brands..there where our money going to!!

• NgvUser on May 17, 2009 at 3:10 pm

KingBrutal,

Do u know why we complain…it's because the very money that Government is spending to enrich others and not for our subsidies are our own taxes, most of our taxes : incomes tax, car taxes, …etc we have been taxed out from our own pockets to "subsidize this and that" …so don't give us BS about not knowing anything…please don't be arrogant bout the facts that you 've googled enough information and start challenging…your own presentation with baseless information is also equally hypocritical .

Money dropped from our hard earned money …the government are managing it…we are ultimately the major stakeholder who have a right to complain…u wanna see this major complainers stop paying out taxes….be my guest.

• Rush Lee on May 17, 2009 at 7:04 pm

Ahh.. i guess i know why we are still living in the 3rd world country.. org Malaysia, setiap kali bercakap pasal keta, petrol, mesti kaitkan dgn politik. Our hard earned money lah, where did that tax payer money go lah.. subsidies this not enough la.. Proton tipu rakyat lah.. Perodua is the best la.. bla bla bla.. last2,org akan merusuh pasal politik.. pembangunan teknologi dan inovasi diketepikan.. bila nak maju.. kalo nak tahu mana pegi duit kita, baik korang join politik.. jadi ahli politik.. jadi wakil rakyat… no offense u guys..

tax keta di SG lebih tinggi.. tapi bila diaorg cakap pasal keta, xder pulak kaitkan pasal politik.. xder pulak tanya "where did our hard earned money go"?

• crappyblog on May 17, 2009 at 7:51 pm

[quote comment="239014"]KingBrutal,

even if what not_ah_beng said is baseless and factless..

i do not agree with what you have said too..

even if other countries has more toll we have to consider the rate per km..quality of the road and etc…

the G only claims that it has spend so much on subsidy…but who is benefiting from the subsidy price??u,me?the general public??on the few who has all the power and connection to make money out of those subsidies..

let me tell you why..lets look at our toll rate..its has been increase all this while…and why the increase??why should G pay those private company money if they cant manage those companies well??why the G made those agreement when they know it wont benefit anyone??why there is no ceiling price for the toll rates??

secondly..food and other consumer products..there is actually no active monitoring in our country..only during campaign time they will work hard..and the G made certain company monopoly certain business like for example sime darby has because such a huge player in our palm oil supply which they will be able to control the price in the near future..

and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth…

but i dont see many benefiting from it…we dont ask much…if you want a real world petrol price..give us real world salary,real world car price and interest rate plus acceptable alternative transportation…

but instead we are lowly paid..price of consumer product is high..our NAP benefiting so AP owners and rich who can save more in buying cheaper luxury cars and we end up paying high tax..high petrol price… and lacking of a proper public transport!!

so no point if the G pay subsidy on thing which the people wont benefit and someone there making huge profit…

and about PR..they are not given any opportunity to serve the people..whatever they are doing are being sabotaged by BN..its too obvious…

giving cow to people is a form bribe??..but going for holiday with G money is call official duty…there is where u see our money is mostly going…

our some of the G staff coat,or jacket is made by Hugo boss..and other big brands..there where our money going to!![/quote]

what so good about the PR, these fellas has managed to put 2 tenaga cable on my land and we get no compensation…. where is the money? maybe it is spent on their mercedes…! they are just another bunch of corrupters.!!!

• not_ah_beng on May 17, 2009 at 10:29 pm

[quote comment="238967"]

You shouldn't make comments on things you do not know. You only make a fool of youself.

Malaysia only has 23 tolled highway… which is still small no matter what you think. Compared to USA which has 184, England 31, Norway 35. Heck even New York has 26 and Florida 24. So how can you claimed Malaysia has the highest number of toll plaza in the world??? Maybe only in your small world under the coconut shell? :D

http://articles.gourt.com/en/toll%20road – links for you to look up…

What do you mean BS? And what do you mean the government wasting money? Government enriching cronies? Do you have the proof? If you have, why don't you make it public… call AFP, Reuters… heck you can even called up DSAI… he will be happy to get this kind of information. It's people like you who spread disease among others with your illusions and fantasy. No proof but talked like you are the expert. NO… I'll called you BS!

And as Tiadaid said, what about all the facilities you enjoyed for free or with minimum payment? Is the money used for this fell from the sky or growing on trees? Even our mighty neighbor across the causeway don't give this for free and yet you are asking where are the tax money gone to?[/quote]

Hahahaha……..pls…….the only person looking like fool here is yourself.

Did you even read your own sources? LOL! 1st, notice all the countries you listed are 1st world developed countries. 2ndly, almost ALL of this countries are bigger than Malaysia. New York STATE alone is almost same size as Peninsular Malaysia………..LOL. As for China and India, no need to compare.

When I said Toll Plaza, I mean it for ROADS not bridges or tunnels. For Malaysia, it's HIGHWAYS. For smaller countries like UK and Norway, the toll roads are tunnels or bridges – not highways.

From your OWN source:

"Today, the only tolls on roads in the United Kingdom are mainly tolled bridges and tunnels…."

Also, the total number of "toll roads" also inclusive of "Congestion Charge" in city like NYC or London, which is actually not tolls, but a move to encourage people to use public transport.

So as you can see, Malaysia is certainly 1 of the highest in number of toll roads in the world, and possibly highest for 3rd world countries.

As far as frog beneath the coconut shell, I think that's the people still believe in the Gahmen. There is a good reason why so many toll concession agreement is kept under OSA for so long, unlike in countries like USA and UK. Understand?

• Tiadaid on May 17, 2009 at 11:42 pm

[quote comment="239014"]

[/quote]

People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?

• Automotive_Critics on May 18, 2009 at 4:39 pm

Sir your are right. Yesterday i filled my car with Ron 95 at Putrajaya Petronas Station at RM1.75/Litre. I got better volume but after use for some miles, i felt the fuel gauge moving very fast and car was underpower too. I drove 2002 Kembara. With the RON97, i never had those problems so i can say my Kembara can't properly run some more become fuel guzzler. Once again our government will collect huge money from the rakyat as rakyat will not have choice to use RON97 at RM2.00/litre. I believe this is last try to make money before very expected changes in next GE.

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 18, 2009 at 4:49 pm

Paul, what happened to my comment in respond to truthwontdie?

• kingbrutal (Member) on May 18, 2009 at 5:08 pm

not_ah_beng said,

May 17, 2009 @ 2:29 pm

Still at it, I see, making a fool of yourself, again. :D Now you are changing your statement. You said 'the highest number of toll plaza in the world'. Did you mentioned highway? Did you mentioned 3rd world? And Malaysia is not a 3rd world country! We are a NIC.Called yourself Malaysian? A simple fact like that also don't know.. :))

http://www.thirdworldtraveler.com/General/ThirdWo… – please go here and maybe you could learn something.

With your reply, you are contradicting yourself. Just like a politician.

• many saga/iswara even with ron97 the engine knocks like hell.my house located by the junction and everytime those cars pass by i hear notorious knocking sound when they are pulling away from the junction.i cant imagine those cars running with lower ron

• truthwontdie on May 18, 2009 at 11:52 pm

not_ah_beng,

this time i agree with you…

the fact is we are paying all those tolls,tax and etc but not enjoying much of the benefit..

even to watch a movie in cinema you have to give the G minimum rm 2 as a form of tax..what da hell right??

even if you wanna eat in your favourite fast food restaurant you have to pay 2 taxes..

you are taxed basically on everything but they are talking about huge losses on subsidy..

on dont need subsidy..let us enjoy a minimum tax country,real world salary..and price of property and land…plus real world car price..simple as that..

or provide us alternative to driving and using fuel..such a good public transport!!!!

or just let other rule the country and let people choose their true leader..if they cant lead..then follow

the G is choosen by people..we gave them power so we should also decide our the G is spending our money…

how can they decide everything for themselves??they why must we choose them to work for us??

• truthwontdie on May 18, 2009 at 11:55 pm

[quote comment="239078"][quote comment="239014"]

what so good about the PR, these fellas has managed to put 2 tenaga cable on my land and we get no compensation…. where is the money? maybe it is spent on their mercedes…! they are just another bunch of corrupters.!!![/quote]

wei tenaga nasional is not controlled by state G la..its controlled by central G which is BN…so ask BN for compensation..why asking PR???this also you dont know then why complain here??people will laugh at you!!you never get your compensation cause you were asking the wrong person!!

• truthwontdie on May 19, 2009 at 12:07 am

[quote comment="239110"][quote comment="239014"] and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth… [/quote] People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?[/quote] _______________________________________________________________________ 625 was peanut for them la…it was just a gimmick..rm 2.70 was a ridiculous price for fuel..we are a petroleum producing country..more petronas earn..more tax and royalty they pay..and when world price go up..the G makes more income..so why shift the burden to people?? just simply calculation will show rm 625 as a stupid amount…each liter u use u pay rm 0.78 more.. and each month our average malaysia consumer use about 150 liter per mth..if before it went to rm 2.70..150liter times rm 1.92 per month we spend rm 288 on fuel…after the increase..150 times rm 2.70 its rm 405 if rm 405- 288=rm 117 per mth…and if times 12 the price will be rm 1404.. so we still rugi rm 1404-625=rm779!!! so how the rm 625 gonna help us??tell me and what happen to those money when the G saved on subsidy??tell me?? what they wanna recoupe??they are already stealing from us already.. now they are making rm 0.50 cent per liter via tax…tats about 150 x 0.50=75 per mth…and it has been 7 mth since they reduce the price..so they G can make about rm 75 x 8mth= rm 600 dy..and by end of the year they will start making profit..

tats from each and every car owner..but rm 625 was given only to car owners which the CC is 2000 and below!!so what is rm 625 compared to the profit they are making now..and we dont even know where is the money going into!!!

• Prem3377 on May 19, 2009 at 12:14 am

Guys why politics when we are talking about Ron95??

simple..if you dont like whats going on..make changes when you have the chance.

here politician think they have super power..they even defy the constitution and law so what can we do by merely writing in this blog??

do you want them to block paultan's blog?just punish those people when the time is right!!

• Tiadaid on May 19, 2009 at 3:01 am

[quote comment="239405"][quote comment="239110"][quote comment="239014"] and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth… [/quote] People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?[/quote] _______________________________________________________________________ 625 was peanut for them la…it was just a gimmick..rm 2.70 was a ridiculous price for fuel..we are a petroleum producing country..more petronas earn..more tax and royalty they pay..and when world price go up..the G makes more income..so why shift the burden to people?? just simply calculation will show rm 625 as a stupid amount…each liter u use u pay rm 0.78 more.. and each month our average malaysia consumer use about 150 liter per mth..if before it went to rm 2.70..150liter times rm 1.92 per month we spend rm 288 on fuel…after the increase..150 times rm 2.70 its rm 405 if rm 405- 288=rm 117 per mth…and if times 12 the price will be rm 1404.. so we still rugi rm 1404-625=rm779!!! so how the rm 625 gonna help us??tell me and what happen to those money when the G saved on subsidy??tell me?? what they wanna recoupe??they are already stealing from us already.. now they are making rm 0.50 cent per liter via tax…tats about 150 x 0.50=75 per mth…and it has been 7 mth since they reduce the price..so they G can make about rm 75 x 8mth= rm 600 dy..and by end of the year they will start making profit..

tats from each and every car owner..but rm 625 was given only to car owners which the CC is 2000 and below!!so what is rm 625 compared to the profit they are making now..and we dont even know where is the money going into!!![/quote]

Halo, u know how much fuel we use and how much fuel we produce? The difference is small, unlike other oil producing countries like Saudi Arabia! Sooner or later we're gonna use more oil than we produce! So what then? Still call for subsidies?

• Tiadaid on May 19, 2009 at 3:02 am

[quote comment="239405"][quote comment="239110"][quote comment="239014"] and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth… [/quote] People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?[/quote] _______________________________________________________________________ 625 was peanut for them la…it was just a gimmick..rm 2.70 was a ridiculous price for fuel..we are a petroleum producing country..more petronas earn..more tax and royalty they pay..and when world price go up..the G makes more income..so why shift the burden to people?? just simply calculation will show rm 625 as a stupid amount…each liter u use u pay rm 0.78 more.. and each month our average malaysia consumer use about 150 liter per mth..if before it went to rm 2.70..150liter times rm 1.92 per month we spend rm 288 on fuel…after the increase..150 times rm 2.70 its rm 405 if rm 405- 288=rm 117 per mth…and if times 12 the price will be rm 1404.. so we still rugi rm 1404-625=rm779!!! so how the rm 625 gonna help us??tell me and what happen to those money when the G saved on subsidy??tell me?? what they wanna recoupe??they are already stealing from us already.. now they are making rm 0.50 cent per liter via tax…tats about 150 x 0.50=75 per mth…and it has been 7 mth since they reduce the price..so they G can make about rm 75 x 8mth= rm 600 dy..and by end of the year they will start making profit..

tats from each and every car owner..but rm 625 was given only to car owners which the CC is 2000 and below!!so what is rm 625 compared to the profit they are making now..and we dont even know where is the money going into!!![/quote]

Halo, u know how much fuel we use and how much fuel we produce? The difference is small, unlike other oil producing countries like Saudi Arabia, where they can afford to subsidize since they produce oil output is much much more than their oil usage! Sooner or later we're gonna use more oil than we produce! So what then? Still call for subsidies?

• truthwontdie on May 19, 2009 at 6:18 am

[quote comment="239434"][quote comment="239405"][quote comment="239110"][quote comment="239014"] and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth… [/quote] People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?[/quote] _______________________________________________________________________ 625 was peanut for them la…it was just a gimmick..rm 2.70 was a ridiculous price for fuel..we are a petroleum producing country..more petronas earn..more tax and royalty they pay..and when world price go up..the G makes more income..so why shift the burden to people?? just simply calculation will show rm 625 as a stupid amount…each liter u use u pay rm 0.78 more.. and each month our average malaysia consumer use about 150 liter per mth..if before it went to rm 2.70..150liter times rm 1.92 per month we spend rm 288 on fuel…after the increase..150 times rm 2.70 its rm 405 if rm 405- 288=rm 117 per mth…and if times 12 the price will be rm 1404.. so we still rugi rm 1404-625=rm779!!! so how the rm 625 gonna help us??tell me and what happen to those money when the G saved on subsidy??tell me?? what they wanna recoupe??they are already stealing from us already.. now they are making rm 0.50 cent per liter via tax…tats about 150 x 0.50=75 per mth…and it has been 7 mth since they reduce the price..so they G can make about rm 75 x 8mth= rm 600 dy..and by end of the year they will start making profit..

Halo, u know how much fuel we use and how much fuel we produce? The difference is small, unlike other oil producing countries like Saudi Arabia, where they can afford to subsidize since they produce oil output is much much more than their oil usage! Sooner or later we're gonna use more oil than we produce! So what then? Still call for subsidies?[/quote]

we are still net exporter..which means we still sell more than we use..our population is very small and our annual consumption is very little..

and petronas sell our fuel and buy cheaper fuel because our petroleum has higher value!!

so it show petronas is making more profit!!!!

and now they are not giving any form of subsidy..they are taxing us…

fuel price low means why must tax us??if you want to eliminate subsidy…then eleminate all unwanted taxes..NAP,entertainment tax,and etc!!and increase our pay!!

let us live in real world situation..then i dont mind if no subsidy!!

and if no subsidy improve public transport!!remember..the G must serve the public need..not their own greed!!!

you are one of the stupid blind supported who dont have your own brain to think!!sorry bout my harsh manner but thats the fact and i dont know how to put it in a better way!!!

petroleum its not the G's money to use..its for the people and we deserve the subsidy!!

petroleum in Saudi is way much cheaper than us!!!and they wages are 10 times more than us!!!!!!and their car is tax feel!!!

even country which are producing similar amount of petroleum are wat much better than malaysia and their people are enjoying more benefits!!!!

name me one other benefit that malaysian people enjoy besides the subsidy????(which is now at the minimum level which only for diesel and some consumer goods)

just name me one!!!

are we getting free education??no

are we getting free medical benefits?no

are we getting cheap public transport?no

are we getting good public transport?no

are we getting high wages?no

are we getting first world facilities?no

are we getting world class education?no

are we getting cheap fuel?no

are we getting cheap electricity?no

cheap water and clean water?no

cheap food and consumer goods?no

cheap and reliable internet??no

even to watch movie in cinema we pay the G about RM 2 via entertainment tax…even fast food we are paying service tax!!!

wat crap are you talking about the G??tell me!!!think properly la man!!!

• truthwontdie on May 19, 2009 at 6:21 am

and do u know..indonesia has 10 times more population than us..which is about 270 million compared to our 27 million and yet their petrol is same price like us..imagine how their G is subsidy their G paying for fuel!!!!are they producing fuel like us??

we can survive with 27 million ppl mean all i can say is we have incapable G!!!!!

• is it our RON95 or RON97 is accurate or really as the petrol company provided??

how can prove it………

• tokmoh on May 19, 2009 at 5:02 pm

[quote comment="239482"]and do u know..indonesia has 10 times more population than us..which is about 270 million compared to our 27 million and yet their petrol is same price like us..imagine how their G is subsidy their G paying for fuel!!!!are they producing fuel like us??

we can survive with 27 million ppl mean all i can say is we have incapable G!!!!![/quote]

Hang pi contest jadi PM la GE13 nanti… cakap nak lebat je, cuba hang jadi org yg kene buat kerja sendri… tgk la sama ada hang bole tahan dugaan wang berbilion-bilion bukan milik hang berada di depan mata hang…

Tak pun, pi try kerje kat indon ke. Minyak sana murah, keter sana murah (toyota kat sana da mcm proton + perodua kat sini), tak pun australia ke, UK ke, US ke, berlambak-lambak 1st world country hang boleh pilih. Nak duk tercegat jadi loser kene liwat ngn negara ni buat apa? cinta tanah air? cinta la sgt…

• Reasonably Insane on May 19, 2009 at 9:31 pm

[quote comment="239480"][quote comment="239434"][quote comment="239405"][quote comment="239110"][quote comment="239014"] and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth… [/quote] People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?[/quote] _______________________________________________________________________ 625 was peanut for them la…it was just a gimmick..rm 2.70 was a ridiculous price for fuel..we are a petroleum producing country..more petronas earn..more tax and royalty they pay..and when world price go up..the G makes more income..so why shift the burden to people?? just simply calculation will show rm 625 as a stupid amount…each liter u use u pay rm 0.78 more.. and each month our average malaysia consumer use about 150 liter per mth..if before it went to rm 2.70..150liter times rm 1.92 per month we spend rm 288 on fuel…after the increase..150 times rm 2.70 its rm 405 if rm 405- 288=rm 117 per mth…and if times 12 the price will be rm 1404.. so we still rugi rm 1404-625=rm779!!! so how the rm 625 gonna help us??tell me and what happen to those money when the G saved on subsidy??tell me?? what they wanna recoupe??they are already stealing from us already.. now they are making rm 0.50 cent per liter via tax…tats about 150 x 0.50=75 per mth…and it has been 7 mth since they reduce the price..so they G can make about rm 75 x 8mth= rm 600 dy..and by end of the year they will start making profit..

Halo, u know how much fuel we use and how much fuel we produce? The difference is small, unlike other oil producing countries like Saudi Arabia, where they can afford to subsidize since they produce oil output is much much more than their oil usage! Sooner or later we're gonna use more oil than we produce! So what then? Still call for subsidies?[/quote]

we are still net exporter..which means we still sell more than we use..our population is very small and our annual consumption is very little..

and petronas sell our fuel and buy cheaper fuel because our petroleum has higher value!!

fuel price low means why must tax us??if you want to eliminate subsidy…then eleminate all unwanted taxes..NAP,entertainment tax,and etc!!and increase our pay!!

and if no subsidy improve public transport!!remember..the G must serve the public need..not their own greed!!!

you are one of the stupid blind supported who dont have your own brain to think!!sorry bout my harsh manner but thats the fact and i dont know how to put it in a better way!!!

petroleum its not the G's money to use..its for the people and we deserve the subsidy!!

petroleum in Saudi is way much cheaper than us!!!and they wages are 10 times more than us!!!!!!and their car is tax feel!!!

even country which are producing similar amount of petroleum are wat much better than malaysia and their people are enjoying more benefits!!!!

name me one other benefit that malaysian people enjoy besides the subsidy????(which is now at the minimum level which only for diesel and some consumer goods)

just name me one!!!

even to watch movie in cinema we pay the G about RM 2 via entertainment tax…even fast food we are paying service tax!!!

wat crap are you talking about the G??tell me!!!think properly la man!!![/quote]

yada yada yada yada… we all know you want EVERYTHING CHEAP… cheapskate… work little talk big.. u think everything is as simple as ur calculation? no mate sorry you r wrong..

what? u want to live in a real world?? u r living in the real world.. unless u thinking u r dreaming… slap urself once or twice if u feel hurt… then accept it, u r living in a real world…

• crappy on May 19, 2009 at 9:38 pm

[quote comment="239480"][quote comment="239434"][quote comment="239405"][quote comment="239110"][quote comment="239014"] and for petrol..no subsidy for the current rate of petrol and they are taxing us now..and where the money went??i dont see any improvement is our public transport or and new project that benefits the nation..petronas is a malaysian company..but every malaysians have rights on the petroleum produce by petronas…but its to help our people and accelerate growth… [/quote] People keep forgetting about the RM625 that they get last year. When the fuel hit 2.70, it's still subsidized, plus they give extra RM625. So, is it wrong for them to recoup the money given?[/quote] _______________________________________________________________________ 625 was peanut for them la…it was just a gimmick..rm 2.70 was a ridiculous price for fuel..we are a petroleum producing country..more petronas earn..more tax and royalty they pay..and when world price go up..the G makes more income..so why shift the burden to people?? just simply calculation will show rm 625 as a stupid amount…each liter u use u pay rm 0.78 more.. and each month our average malaysia consumer use about 150 liter per mth..if before it went to rm 2.70..150liter times rm 1.92 per month we spend rm 288 on fuel…after the increase..150 times rm 2.70 its rm 405 if rm 405- 288=rm 117 per mth…and if times 12 the price will be rm 1404.. so we still rugi rm 1404-625=rm779!!! so how the rm 625 gonna help us??tell me and what happen to those money when the G saved on subsidy??tell me?? what they wanna recoupe??they are already stealing from us already.. now they are making rm 0.50 cent per liter via tax…tats about 150 x 0.50=75 per mth…and it has been 7 mth since they reduce the price..so they G can make about rm 75 x 8mth= rm 600 dy..and by end of the year they will start making profit..

just name me one!!!

wat crap are you talking about the G??tell me!!!think properly la man!!![/quote]

Dear Asshole

Better you get your facts right before churning bull shit cut and paste stories. let me answer your questions

are we getting free education??

Yes, free education in primary and secondary

schools, no need to pay a single cent, unless the school itself charges miscellanous fees must be less than $10 ringgit, subsidised tertiary fees

We getting free medical benefits?

Yes, you just need to pay $2 ringgit to give birth as many as you can or the medication. In comparison to your Singapore or Phillippines, you need a couple of thousands of medical fees to give birth, so you want free panadol and not giving back to the society? dumbass

are we getting cheap public transport?

Yes, it cost RM$30 ringgit to go from JB to Kl, the cheapest rate by distance in Asia. Even you go to Old Shanghai to New Pudong City, it costs twice the amount you pay right now…

no are we getting good public transport?

Yes,LRT works fine but sometimes too crowded, but yes better than China, India, Phillippines, but i do not expect because Malaysians are not willing to spend more on public transport but splurged obscenely on their personal transport but will sigh even if there is a one cent increase in public transport.

Are we getting high wages?

Reasonably yes and then why these Myanmmar, Indonesia, Filipinos come sibuk to work in our country and but sad thing, there is open secret the wages are given based on discriminatory policies, it is widely known that yellow skinned ppl will get more wages than a dark skinned ppl even though both ppl have the same qualifications and experiences….

no are we getting first world facilities?

Yes, the NSE highway and airports are world class sometimes better than Singapore, also at cheaper price, you go india and china, doubt so you find this in rural areas.

are we getting world class education?

Yes. we have a variety of foreign universities courses at here at cheaper price and our universities in top 100…so get read a proper newspaper instead of Harakah or Suara Keadilan, fucking bullshit paper

are we getting cheap fuel?

cheaper than thailand and the rest of south east asia, you can see flock of Singapore and Thai cars pumping in our petrol station by the way, we are net importer of oil and not a net exporter oil, so get you facts right fucking idiot, our g has subsidised this a lot for us benefits, whereby indonesia and thai does not subsidised heavily the fuel as us, even worse phillippines and singapore no subsidy at all…

are we getting cheap electricity?

Yeah the cheapest in Asia Pacific, your thailand and singapore neighbour buy electricity from us because we can produce electricity more cheaper than them and of course than the saudi arabia… if you want cheap buy your own generator … asshole

cheap water and clean water?

Yes, the most cheapest and clean water rate in South East Asia, even singapore is buying from us and making a big clean profit by selling our cheapest water to the rest of the world at exorbitant price. So u want free water, go and drink your urine lah…

cheap food and consumer goods?

A packet of maggi here cost less than in Indonesia, Singapore and Phillippines

Hordes of filipinos and singaporeans come to here to buy groceries because it is the cheapest in the region, so you want free food..swine?? Yes, the food and consumers are cheap here

cheap and reliable internet??

Yes, the cheapest and reliable in Asia Pacific, how cheap you want? free internet access at the expense of other taxpayers, motherfuckers!

• crappy on May 19, 2009 at 9:44 pm

just name me one!!!

i think you need to go Tajung Rambutan, because there is common saying if you cheat ppl before, you will afraid with your own shadow and always thinking that ppl around you are cheating you…!! assholes freak!!

• weretiger on May 20, 2009 at 12:49 am

My 5 yrs old Waja how???

• mohammad suhaimi on May 22, 2009 at 12:39 am

I'm right now enjoying ron95 in 1991 carburator proton saga oto. No knocking what so ever. Engine running smooth and silently. My exhaust fuming less un-burnt petrol compare ron97 which is last time I still can smell petrol come's out from exhaust nozzle.

Vote for ron95

• actually how engine knocking feel, is it like use fifth gear at speed 10km/h……..that engine is in shaking??

• mdazhar on May 22, 2009 at 3:51 pm

I have use ron95((in sg) on my kia carens aka rondo citra II. No dip in performance compare to using ron97 (in malaysia). Sometime use ron98 fuel (esso) in sg and can feel the increase power compare to using V-power shell (both malaysia and singapore). We should test first the fuel before making any comments. cheers

• WiraKeretaRakyat on Jun 18, 2009 at 3:53 am

hi,

Sad news for me, tried RON95 – Putrajaya PSS – test run from Putrajaya to Gombak, check engine menyala non stop, have to restart my car each time check engine is light. send to workshop test diagnosed found KNOCK SENSOR rosak. Not sure is this cause by the fuel itself or my car already want to kaput. I just major overhaul it and just do 330km only (before tried the RON95). So now have to get a new knock sensor, for you guys out there if u got money problem don't simply try without checking your car throughly. I guess if using carb engine sure no problem cause i tried again with my Kancil ok, try with our track car which is Proton Iswara also no problem.

• aspire on Jun 21, 2009 at 3:31 am

minyak ron95 boleh dipakai oleh semua kereta proton.

kalau x mampu…pakai basikal.

• bootogo on Aug 21, 2009 at 7:20 am

salam..why compare our facilities with singapore,indonesia,myammar,thailand..etc?we are net exporter..compare with saudi arabia laa..

• whatever on Sep 04, 2009 at 11:59 pm

good day guys,

what the heck you people talk about politics…come on la …malaysia is still the cheap and cheap country …transportation, education, medical…etc thinkla…whoever said that itu la ini la actually did not know or understand why the gov doing all that..if you at their side..also do that la..PR also same..what ever la…as long our country is ok..then okla…you want our country like others?everyday car bombing…killing…what the fool u always complaining things…praise to God la ..we still can manage and get rich everyday…what else u want…i know some of u earn more than RM3k per month..doing business la..when u get tax by gov u complaint everything…come onla…what we can do?just adjust our lives to become more wise…how to spend money on petrol..buy things…whatever..

• Daniel on Jan 11, 2011 at 4:22 am

so how ah?

I am using a 15 years old Proton Wira 1.5GL(A). It is using a carburetor engine.

Can the car use RON95 or not?

Will my engine damage due to the engine knocking?

Please let me know as I no longer can stand(TAK BOLEH TAHAN) the rapid rise of RON97.

Thank you.