Isuzu comes out tops in J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2009 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index Study Results

The J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2009 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index Study results have been released today, its 7th installment so far.

It tracks sales and delivery experience of most car brands in Malaysia and takes into account 7 key factors over a 1,000 point scale – delivery process; delivery timing; paperwork; dealer facility; salesperson; deal and sales initiation.

Publisher: J.D. Power Asia Pacific Source: J.D. Power Asia Pacific 2009 Malaysia Sales Satisfaction Index (SSI) Study

The average SSI score is 3 points higher this year compared to last year. Car manufacturers may be putting extra effort to ensure their customers are satisfied, especially during these times of a lower Total Industry Volume.

The biggest increase in satisfaction is in the area of delivery timing. The “national” brands (Proton, Perodua, Naza and Inokom) have improved by an average of 6 points, however they still trail the non-national brand average by 16 points. This gap is closer compared to 2008 though, where it was a 29 point difference.

Look after the jump for the full JD Power report.

After dabbling for years in the IT industry, Paul Tan initially began this site as a general blog covering various topics of personal interest. With an increasing number of readers paying rapt attention to the motoring stories, one thing led to another and the rest, as they say, is history.

• Lee Callan on Aug 29, 2009 at 2:18 am

Paul, you said this is the 7th installment. Can I know where are the earlier installments. I think I missed them on your blog. :-)

• rally_fan on Aug 29, 2009 at 2:21 am

paul, typo? 16 and 16?

"however they still trail the non-national brand average by 16 points. This gap is closer compared to 2008 though, where it was a 16 point difference."

• seat-belt on Aug 29, 2009 at 2:33 am

wtf….p2 is higher than p1…ni rasuah ni…hehehe…just kidding…

• Paul Tan on Aug 29, 2009 at 2:35 am

So sorry, fixed.

Lee Callan: My blog is younger than 7 years old ;)

• Harris Iskandar Taib on Aug 29, 2009 at 5:15 am

three top selling national brands find themselves rated below average.

how ironic and sad is that.

• KitKat on Aug 29, 2009 at 5:32 am

I'm wondering where are the p1/p2 bashers.

• izaman on Aug 29, 2009 at 5:48 am

how bout conti brands?

• painsama on Aug 29, 2009 at 6:24 am

For me I had better experience in P1 showroom than P2. That should account for "salesperson; deal and sales initiation" part.

• willpower on Aug 29, 2009 at 7:43 am

agreed. P2 salesperson more arrogant. the same goes to Dugong Car sales person. Maybe can highlight is smartwheels.

• Quick question: Is the graph linear?

• Budak IRB said on Aug 29, 2009 at 6:38 pm

to me the survey not mean anything because our level of education.

The survey also should to include education level as benchmark due

because I believe for renowned brand like toyota and honda have the high educated person compare to local manufacturing…and of course their thinking so different…

That way when people who qualifications just PMR and SPM can't give accurate data when survey did and one more either emotional took as tool for decision or intelectual side …That IS……

• fauzi on Aug 29, 2009 at 8:46 pm

KitKat said,

August 28, 2009 @ 9:32 pm

I’m wondering where are the p1/p2 bashers.

………………………………………………………………………………………………….

Now is Ramadhan, cannot bash others.kurang pahala.

• Black Dog on Aug 29, 2009 at 10:23 pm

Should bash Naza lah!

Stuck-up AP king!

• mystvearn on Aug 30, 2009 at 3:11 am

Naza has good service…if you buy a Ferrari :P and not their Naza Brand

• jamsbong on Aug 30, 2009 at 5:39 am

hehe… This is humourous! The Msian Brands Proton, Naza and Perodua are ALL below average.

• Jimmy Ng on Aug 31, 2009 at 1:21 am

You mean you are actually surprised ???

• Leo Lim on Sep 01, 2009 at 12:07 am

What u pay is what u get, =D

• Budak Pandai on Sep 01, 2009 at 6:30 am

those top 6 car maker just make small volume sales,of course they can entertain customer which paid extra vanganza RM for their car :) it is a surprise if those 6 car makers below average

ps: merdeka!

• azrai on Sep 01, 2009 at 3:55 pm

Hahaha..P2 is under average?

• sell less have less complaint? Total respondents to this test were unknown. Not realistic statistic.

• nizam on Sep 03, 2009 at 11:05 pm

Hi,

There's a new poll by new Honda Civic owner – which shows almost 78% of Honda customer were unhappy with the Honda Service Center.

You can read the post and the view poll result (still ongoing – for Honda Civic owner, you can register in the forum and vote in your satisfaction level)

I myself wonder, how Honda can get no.4 spot with the level of service quality given by their SC.

quote 1 of the user : If you discover or prove the problem area, SC automated answer is : Its normal. All honda car like this. You have to bear with it.

Hopefully Paul Tan can give some coverage to this issue. Honda Malaysia hardly listen to their customers.

• Sulaiman (Member) on Dec 08, 2009 at 8:32 am

Malaysian car Seller need Big Time Surgery>>> Spoofed>> The Engine Sold in Malaysia are 4 years backward, How come>> Malaysia Boleh??? Hahahaha